Off-topic
Posted on
January 02, 1968 by
Rev. Stuart Campbell
For off-topic chat. Duh.
Here is a wee Drinking Song. And Apparently A True Story. link to youtube.com Brilliant Lyrics.
@Paula Rose –
Well, Italian stuff, if you scrape the surface.
Stu if I promise to be good do I get back on Twitter? I didn’t know, honest guv..
@ Bdtt, 12:59pm
Aye, Brian, there was a piece on tv about Surkov recently. Mind you, it has long been obvious that our government and others have been playing both ends against the middle and nobody knows which way is up!
Sergio Leone, Ennio Morricone, Claudia Cardinale et al – Italian? I’d never have guessed (where’s that winkie smiley thingie).
Ian Brotherhood honey – you’ve learnt some more big words! Isn’t he doing well Natasha?
@Paula Rose
I haven’t had time to finish it yet, but some of the words are quite long. I though armistices was pushing it a bit, myself.
Tartanarse @3.26
Weeellll?
WHAT DID YOU DO?
DONT LEAVE US IN SUSPENDERS!
John
I used 247 characters to fill up a tweet with HAHAHAHAH. I didn’t know, seriously.
I’m new to twitter
@ tartanarse
Tell Stu you were having a convulsion! He might forgive you. 🙂
OK you lot
Lets not “Look back in anger”, Let it be”, just take a walk around the “Streets of London” and have “PUFF” Lets just think we’re “Down Under” and lets get those Men at Work, meanwhile we could “GO West”,But remember, “No Woman No Cry”.
Tartanarse says
“I used 247 characters to fill up a tweet with HAHAHAHAH. I didn’t know, seriously.”
Tartanarse, or can I call you arse, what did you think was happening when the writing went pink?
titter. 🙂
Political Compass..
Your Political Compass
Economic Left/Right: -9.13
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -7.23
Two squares up and one from the left.
Am I an anarchist or is it continued exposure to radical Wings Over Scotland folk that is having an effect?
Any closer to the lower left I’d be out the box. Oh, wait..
I have been doing this test for a number of years, and I did it again yesterday.
Economic Left/Right -9.13
libertarian/authoritarian -8.36
A slight move to the left and to libertarianism over my score in November 2013
But I must say that the idea of using it to score political parties, as Rev Campbell has done, had never occurred to me. That is a far more interesting and useful thing to do. Once again I am impressed by his intelligent use of information resources.
Can I just say that I’ve always thought, since I discovered it, that ‘circumjacent’ is a very handy word.
No?
Oh, please yourselves. I will make a point of dropping it into the crack at Invergowrie.
So there.
8=)
OK very important post.
Cearc, Natasha and Paula are all staying here. I’d love that and it is still possible.
Things have changed since we first talked. My brother will be staying with me now.
Here is a nice wee tune for this time of day. link to youtube.com
I don’t understand what you’re typing, Thepnr. Mind you, it’s early in the morning…
Thepnr,
So what is it that we need to know about your brother?
Severe flatulance? OO member? Unrepentant bum-pincher?
Political Compass
Economic Left/Right: -3.5
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -1.54
From the middle, I’m four squares to the left and one down!
Well, that’s a bit of a surprise! 🙂
Still sneaking about here and keeping an eye on you folks occasionally. 😉
Hi TT, good to see you’re keeping a watch.
So, a closet leftie too! That is a surprise 😉
Sorry to see Charles didn’t make the cut. Not my fault, I voted Yes. He earned my vote.
Instead of fresh air, we have now got a young, inexperienced career politician who spent the whole hustings spouting SNP soundbites at a rate that a labour politician can spout labour party mantra, Poor and disappointing in my view.
Hi Colin
I’m very glad that Charles didn’t make the grade. All is not what it might seem there and I can assure you that he has never been interested in the common good. Yes, he wants independence, but aside from this, he has far more in common with Mr Osborne than Mr Swinney!
My vote went to Bill Duff, followed by Geva Blacket. A third option didn’t exist for me. As for Stuart, my kilt is older than he is! He is from a political dynasty as his mother is an MSP and his grandfather was an MP. He’s a very capable and likeable young chap, but he’s never heard of a ‘Spam Fritter’! Fresh out of university and currently ‘working’ for an MSP whose constituency borders his mother’s.
Representative democracy, it seems, is an illusion. Three of the candidates in this area have never struggled to find a job, never struggled to find a home, never struggled to put food on the table (or have it put there for them), nor can they possibly understand the lives and concerns of the vast majority of their would-be constituents, many of whom struggle on a daily basis.
Worst of all, I’m expected to knock on doors and ask people to vote for someone who didn’t even get my third preference in a ballot. 🙁
Hi Tartan Tory.
Good to see you back!
Are you coming out to play at Invergowrie a week on Saturday?
Hi Thepnr
I’m very honoured to be in with the in crowd!
What is this Political Compass thingy? And what does bfh mean? I keep seeing it on people’s posts and I can’t work out what it stands for.
By the way, had ANY of you ever heard of caesuras? Rabblach has GOT to be Ian Brotherhood; he’s the only one with the nerve to try and get away with stuff like that! (Anyway, apparently the plural of caesura should be caesurae, so that was stretching it a bit!)
I’ve found the Political Compass and I’m economic -9.15 and social -8.15, right there with Gandhi! Yippee!
Morag is being interviewed about Lockerbie on Independence Live at 7pm
link to new.livestream.com
Okay, I’ve been ill and I missed that thread about The Great Narrowing. Just want to make clear that I’m not completely thick.
Natasha honey – as well as that I believe he was the same height as you!!!
Hi Brian. At this point it looks unlikely. Too many pots spinning here I’m afraid, but if one looks like it’s not on a shooglie peg, I might manage. 😉
Oh Tartan Tory please do (be still my beating heart), I will never forget the way the room went silent in Edinburgh when you sauntered in dressed neck to toe in black leather. If you do come and feel a strange sensation around your knees, that’ll be Natasha.
@Paula Rose
That had me laughing out loud!
Hi TT.
But it’s a Saturday night
And we’ve just got each other.
No unionists at the Wingers’ do.
Now how you wish you had someone to talk to,
You will, if you’re coming too.
@Natasha –
Rabblach asked me to post this for you.
link to poemshape.wordpress.com
We all know Tartan Tory would love to come, it’s just a matter of how he spins it (titter).
(Natasha – they’re all our wee sweet Ian)
@Ian Brotherhood
Oh he did, did he? Do you often talk to yourself? 🙂
Natasha honey – I’m going to wear a splendiferous Barbie pink number, what about you?
We could cicumjacentise!
Natasha sweetest – have you ever met Ian Brotherhood?
He’s huge!
Paula Rose,
Wrapped in a pink jacket, lying around on the floor or both you will get trodden on.
eek misspelling of circumwotsit!
cearc hen – cruel honey cruel.
Any excuse – I just don’t know…
@ Natasha, asking ‘what does bfh mean’?
There’s a poster here on Wings by the name of Bookie From Hell, i.e. BFH. He often puts his initials at the bottom of his comments. Maybe this is what you have seen.
@Paula
Kate Moss is good, but not a patch on you after a couple of cocktails 😀
@TT
Ah, TT is that brotherly love I detect there. I thought Charles came over very well at the hustings. My second choice was Bill.
Like you I feel some reticence at having to canvass & leaflet for someone that I wouldn’t have chosen, but I’ll hold my nose and get on with it. The game’s still afoot.
@ X_Sticks
Allegedly, we are identical twins. However, the same coin can have two very different sides. He has, in the past, used the term ‘cooncil hoose quinne’ to describe my wife in a derogatory manner and his love of Deeside springs from an innate desire for social climbing. Always the type to discover what kind of home, car and employment position you have before spending time with you. More importantly, he had little or nothing to do with the campaign publically before the 19th September. His neighbour had a huge YES sign at the side of the A93, but he could only bring himself to put a wee yes badge in a side window, in case it were seen from the road by his ‘society chums’. Brotherly love indeed. 😉
@Paula Rose
I will wear whatever is clean and still fits me. It will not be exciting.
Natasha honey – the very idea that you would turn up in something dirty that is too large for you suggests you are being sardonic (new word alert Ian Brotherhood) and the idea that you will not create a ripple of excitement upon your entrance, is quite honestly below the belt.
What I heard of Eck on R4 tonight was pretty damn good. The people of Scotland will owe a massive debt to Alex Salmonds constituency if they elect him to go down to Westminster.
Hi Bob Sinclair.
Yeah, he performed well; a good mix of humour and serious points.
And, like Nicola on Wednesday, he seemed to have the audience with him.
@Natasha –
I’m sure whatever you choose will be worn with aplomb and typical WOS chic. Wish I could be there to discover for myself just how small you are, but it’s not going to happen…(sniff)
Feels like yonks since I’ve been able to sit and read WOS (especially this wee snug) for more than ten minutes, so, if you don’t mind, I’m going to settle meself down, post links to some tunes, and get quietly pished.
Slainte!
So, when are we gonna change the SNP’s constitution (or whatever) to allow us to put up candidates in England?
Berwick, Liverpool, Newcastle, Cornwall, London, Bath…
Alvin Stardust, ‘Pretend’ (Live) –
small thingies to a big mannie
Okay, hands-up – who knew this song was written by Elvis Costello? (Just found out a minute ago via the YT comments…blimey.) Makes sense right enough, you can imagine him singing it…
Dave Edmunds, ‘Girls Talk’ –
Heads up to the Wingers who will be at Invergowrie next weekend…
Had to visit my ex at work, at teatime tonight, for reasons associated with my son.
Onnyhoo, my ex introduced me to the underling chef, a guy called Bruce, who asked me if it was ok if he came along to the Wings get-together.
I said “OF COURSE!” – wirra Jock Thamson’s bairns. Onnyhoo, he’s around 6 fut plus, presentable, and canvassed for a YES vote during the campaign.
So, Paula, take him under your wing and; be gentle…
Did anyone else hear Janice Forsyth, on her Saturday morning show (approx. 8, maybe 10 years ago) interviewing Elvis Costello over the phone?
Janice was doing her usual faux swooning, OTT, voice rising with every sentence until only bats could hear her. He was in L.A. (apparently) and she asked him to describe the view from his penthouse apartment, which he was happy to do. (He was, naturally, plugging some album/tour whatever) She waxed lyrical about the ‘old days’ when she’d seen him at this or that concert. You can imagine…
So anyway, the next thing, there’s this big ‘fwwooooooosshhhhh!’ noise, and you can hear him coughing, trying to cover it up, and her voice lowers dramatically as she realises what’s been happening, i.e. where he’s been, and she utters the immortal lines:
‘Elvis, was that the toilet flushing?’
He mumbled some rubbish about there being sporadic noises in his flat due to inexplicable gushes of water from the upstairs flat, but by then the penny had dropped (because he had well and truly spent it) and she brought the interview to a curt conclusion shortly thereafter.
Have sometimes wondered whether he really was caught on the crapper unintentionally, or if he was sending some coded message back to the BBC via oor ain wee Janice.
‘Oliver’s Army’ –
Ian Youngsterish et al – I am so falling over laughing at your pathetic attempts to be punks!
sorry – tiddley
The Specials, ‘Too Much Too Young’ (OGWT 1979) –
@ beedeeteetee’s son – as you will no doubt be aware, I’m not what I seem, I’m actually rather sweet.
For Paula Rose, X
George Hamilton IV, ‘Canadian Pacific’ –
my sweet Ian Brotherhood – I shall stamp and stamp and stamp again if I cannot share a wee moment of deliciousness at Inverwotstit (13 letters) xx
Australian Copperfieldery pisstake stuff – three gags worth:
@Paula Rose –
13 letters? So, it’s Inverkeithing then?
I can’t make it, but I’ve told Rabblach all about you and he’s made an appointment for the barber’s on Tuesday – he must be keen, given that he’s bald.
James Brown, ‘Hot Pants’ (rehearsal!)
Question: Which came first? The song, or the chat-up line?
Tavares, ‘Heaven Must Be Missing An Angel’ –
@The Whole Lot Of Ye’s –
Fuck off then.
Billy Idol, ‘Dancing With Myself’ –
We all love you really, Ian.
XXXX.
Bleeeurgh – sorry for ‘swearing’ at y’all.
Peace & Love, anawthatstuff…
Ian Dury & The Blockheads, ‘You’ll See Glimpses’ –
@cearc –
Appreciated hugely.
Now, would you please give us a song? Or, at least, something to dance to?
Someone?
Anyone?
If we have no music, we are, in fact, deid.
Fact!
(Told ye’s ah wis gonny get pished…)
@ Ian Brotherhood Here is one for you to jump about too link to youtube.com
Martyn Bennett ‘doing’ Sorley MacLean’s ‘Hallaig’.
This is what we’re all about, and where we’re from – like it or not.
Here is a wee pick up for you. link to youtube.com
@Michael McCabe –
Nice one!
Then again, there’s this..
Joy Division, ‘Atmosphere’ –
@Ian Brotherhood Enjoyed that. The Drums at the start reminds me of Enola Gay. Here is another from Afro Celt Sound System. link to youtube.com Featuring Sinead.
It’s carnival time in Brazil, so here’s Sergio Mendes + Brasil 66 – ‘MAS QUE NADA’
Here is Bomb the Bass. Featuring Sinead O,Connor and everybody’s favourite Reggae Poet Benjamin Zephaniah. I am sure you can see George Osborne slowly walking through the door in the Video. link to youtube.com Love the line. From now on I will call you England. No Offence meant to any English people Tuning in.
Cheers David. That reminds me of the Football World Cup.
The real deal, two & a half minutes of Salgueiro’s drum corps, the ‘Bateria Furiosa’ performing in Rio’s Sambodromo. Turn it up to eleven!
Loved the Drums and the Dancing Ladies. But no way I am turning it down from Twelve
That’s the spirit, play it loud! Try this, Mangueira’s 200 drummers & percussionists, all wearing pink, blowing your ears off. Beat that, Labour!
Good tunes all round folks.
Ian B.?
Which came first? The song or the chat up line?
Depends on whether you could carry a tune in a bucket or no. In my case? Ah preferred shock and awe.
Hi, ma name’s Clint an ahm an astronaut.
Killer line. 😉
Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone! I wrote a wee love letter to you all:
link to wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com
(No, I couldn’t bring myself to including No activists, bloggers & politicians, I’m only a man, dammit!)
Taranaich
A lovely letter.
It made me think of Hemingway, though:
The world breaks everyone and afterward many are strong at the broken places. But those that will not break, it kills. It kills the very good and the very gentle and the very brave impartially. If you are none of these, you can be sure it will kill you too, but there will be no special hurry.
My oldest brother, a GP who died at the age of 42 from a brain tumour after living his life loving others and speaking out against injustice – this is the kind of person he was talking about. His epitaph was “James – gifted, loving and brave.”
In the end we all die – it’s the question of how we lived our lives that matters.
To all those wondering about the “bambi shoes”
I prefer heels that leave a deep impression rather than a light bruise.
@Paula Rose
I think we can all say without doubt that you leave a deep impression!
Och, Natasha, now I have a sad. Damn Hemingway always gets to me!
Oo Valentine time – love(ly) songs, the first time…
Here’s a real treat (titter)…
But this is not (a love song)…
At last all my cryptic comments make sense…
Beautifully written Taranaich.
Well said.
Right peeps.
It’s just under a week to ‘Wings Over Invergowrie 2’ (WOS 7).
Hope you’ve got your seats booked for a nosebag, pre-fun, if you want to be fed. Telephone 01382 562686 to book a seat or seats with other Wingers. Mention Wings when you book your seat(s). Last bookings, 6.45pm.
As I’ve typed to the point of boredom, we’ll be doing personalised badges for this gig, as we did for Invergowrie in September and Glasgow in November.
But…
You’ll only get a personalised badge if you’ve typed that you’re gonna join us!
The cut-off point for claiming your badge will be 11.59pm on Thursday evening. Here’s the list of Wingers who have intimated that they will be at Invergowrie.
Alex Clark (Thepnr)
Ian Clark
Natasha
Brian Doonthetoon
Hanii Puppy (my son)
Pete The Camera
Chipmonkey
Quentin Quayle
X_Sticks
Cearc
Cactus
Paula Rose
Irene King
John King
AndyC
Ronnie Anderson
Wee Jonny
Quinie frae Angus (MAYBE+)
So, who else is gonna be there?
I’ve booked my table!
Beedeeteetee – do they have those high chairs at the inverwotsit inn for those of limited stature, I’m concerned about Natasha’s ability to reach her knife and fork.
Here is my wee Valentines Song. link to youtube.com
@Paula Rose
If I were you I’d be more concerned about Natasha’s ability to reach you with her knife and fork. 🙂
@Natasha
Looking forward to seeing you dine on a Paula Rose supper.
Darlings you are so silly
You don’t have to say…
Its the way you make me feel…
Its only tomorrow…
Just a wee while…
One of my finest moments…
Nighty night…
Got my first comment deleted at the Guardian, wahey!
(I was explaining that FATCA and FBAR probably have a bit to do with Boris the Moppet’s renouncing US citizenship, and that a fair few ordinary people are paying rather more of a price than he’s going to, and it seems they didn’t like that.)
Taranaich that was brilliant.
And Natasha I love this “In the end we all die – it’s the question of how we lived our lives that matters.” So it’s not just Stu who has “it”.
Thank you Wee Jonny. I am not worthy! 🙂
cearc and natasha room and board confirmed, email me for info for saturday. Cheers.
thepnr03@gmail.com
Hi Alex / thepnr.
Will you be able to curb Paula Rose’s enthusiasm for watersports this time?
Beedeeteetee – watersports are so last year.
Oh Paula Rose!
I do believe, after that wee conversation we had at Invergowrie in September, that you are seriously thinking of investing in a pair of crotchless ear-flaps for next weekend.
Am I so wrong?
@ Bdtt
Och, I am so disappointed that I can’t come to the bash next weekend. Those Aussie impersonators at the Hydro had better be good to make up for the show Paula R might put on!
@ Taranaich
“Martyrdoms” – Love it.
You are, without doubt, a most talented writer. You express yourself with such heartfelt honesty and humanity, endearing yourself to us all. Always thought-provoking.
@ Paula Rose, 14/2/15
Thanks for Beatles, Dusty – favourites from my youth – and KD Lang with her fabulous Orbison rendition, but, Daniel O’Donnell!!! (almost too much for my sensibilities)
Anyway, lowering the tone, here is something to remind us of what we are currently up against. It is still the weekend and I am allowed to be crass…
I have heard, from sources close to the action, that Paula Rose has been known, during her Dame Edna Everage tribute performance, to have done this, so close to the original performance as to be rated “uncannily perfect”.
Only those, who were there at the time, and remember it well, can feel qualified to comment.
Briandoonthetoon, hoping to make it along for a quick visit!
Hi Lanarkist.
Your personalised badge will be produced – but you can only claim it if you make Invergowrie!
8=)
Betty Boop – I’m no fan of DO’D myself, but Ian Brotherhood and Thepnr are.
cumon folks we’ll no hiv much o a raffle wi 17 folk, there are more raffle prizes than attendees, some o its whisky mind. 🙂
wheres Bob, Geoff, Handclapping,Helena an everybody else I’ve forgotten from Fife and Dundee area, cumon folks these nichts oot are a blast, I can probably even persuade the wife tae gie us a we rendition o Lady Alba’s “Am votin no”
And Ah’ll even promise tae shut the hell up….. mibbie. 😉
@ Paula Rose
That must be a very exclusive club!
They might like this too in that case:
link to bit.ly
Ducks down quickly! 🙂
Hi John King.
So, are you organising the raffle on Saturday then?
We hadn’t thought about that. Feel free to organise away…
8=)
Anyone heard from Oneironaut recently? He seems to have disappeared off the radar.
@ John King, 8:26am
John, If Irene is doin’ Lady Alba, I’ll likely have to cancel Aussie P Floyd and hightail it to see the show in Inverwotsit! 🙂
Natasha doll, he’s a busy man – spotted him on various other site over the last few days.
Of course I may have been dreaming.
Betty Boop dear, Irene’s doing a greatest hits show.
Btw – a wee plug for my facebook page link to facebook.com
Songs to give you a lift!
Higher and Higher. Jackie Wilson.
A song I played here before the referendum. Man it takes you back. It is not Greece but Spain. Spain is next in line for change.
Thepnr dear – main thread, what are toties?
@Thepnr 10.10 – And Ireland is in the queue too – where Labour Party is being wiped out by anti-austerity Sinn Fein and independants (poll from anti-SF paper) link to adriankavanaghelections.org
@Paula Rose
Toties are skint Tories, did ye no ken LOL.
Ah doo noo sweetness.
Came across this tonight and would like to recommend it. It’s long but is an amazing piece of work from Adam Curtis.
“Bitter Lake is a new, adventurous and epic film by Adam Curtis that explains why the big stories that politicians tell us have become so simplified that we can’t really see the world any longer.
The narrative goes all over the world, America, Britain, Russia and Saudi Arabia – but the country at the heart of it is Afghanistan. Because Afghanistan is the place that has confronted our politicians with the terrible truth – that they cannot understand what is going on any longer.”
link to bbc.co.uk
Thought provoking stuff.
Where’s Invergowie. What time/date and where is the Wings Do?
Thought provoking stuff – at least it’s honest
Ken500 honey scroll up the thread a bit you’ll find it, just west of Dundee.
@Ken500
Would love to see you there. Invergowrie is on the outskirts of Dundee at the West end. Time around 19:00 on the 21st Feb at invergowrie Inn, hope you can make it.
Lots of friends will be there.
@ Thepnr
Thanks
Hi Ken500.
Re Invergowrie – see this post:-
link to wingsoverscotland.com
This link to Google Maps shows you the location of the Inn. You can zoom in on the “A” marker for a better look. It’s around an 8-10 minute taxi ride from Dundee’s city centre, depending on traffic.
There’s also a large car park at the rear of the building, which will take a minibus.
link to goo.gl
I’ve just heard from Chris Law, the SNP candidate for Dundee West.
He’s planning on coming to the get-together for a wee while and, with a bit of luck, should have “The Spirit Of Independence” as his chariot.
Ask Chris if there’s any chance o a lift to Invergowrie in the big fire engine 🙂
I knew if I stroked that lovely machine I’d get a ride!
Well that’s the first time anybody’s called my car ‘a lovely machine’…
Oh, you meant the big blue one.
Hi peeps.
I’ve just uploaded a couple of pics from 30th November.
You can see them here:-
link to sites.google.com
Nice pics Brian.
Is that Natasha on the right in each pic – she’s taller than I remember.
cearc darling – I seem to remember I was left holding your Vespa whilst you took a wee spin around Dundee riding pillion on X_sticks’ Matchless.
Hi Alex.
SOMEBODY took some pics of Wingers ‘n’ co in front of the goddess, outside Fat Sams. Wasn’t me. I’m sure I’ve seen at least one but can’t remember where.
BTW: Chris has been back in touch. His “truck” is off the road just now but he’s looking forward to Saturday.
Hi Brian,
Sorry the Indy live message crashed before I could read it
Hi kendomacaroonbar.
I was just asking if you were coming to Invergowrie on Saturday. See above. I’ve even provided a Google Maps link, so you can ignore your ropey sat-nav.
8=)
Hi Brian, Thanks for the invite but ah cannae make it 🙂
I’m putting the next iScot mag to bed this weekend.
Hi kendomacaroonbar.
Is that ‘Issue 3’ or the print version of ‘Issue 2’?
Don’t have much feedback for you but most recipients remarked on the “quality” feel and appearance of Issue 1.
BTW: methinks (because I did it yonks ago) that regular contributors to ‘off-topic’ should tick the wee boxes below the text box (when you’re putting together a post) that say,
“Notify me of follow-up comments by email.”
and
“Notify me of new posts by email.”
Because, methinks, peeps tend to check their emails more frequently than web sites, so you can keep up to speed with comments here, without actually having to come to the site.
Vwallah!
8=)
Brian, it’s issue 3
Is there gonna be a print edition of Issue 2?
Brian,
Yeah. Send me your postal address by e-mail and I’ll mail you one. They are in short supply tbh
Hi Ken.
Done.
Brian
Get a subscription, bunce up and share it with Pete. Between you I’m sure you can afford 10p/day.
@Paula Rose 8.14pm
Careful – with me around, no one’s kneecaps are safe.
My point of view on the iScot magazine is this.
It is the best chance of establishing a homegrown, genuine supporter of Independence in print that we have.
It has quality, unlike the National it has been created by people like us. The people producing it do it for love of the project and their support of Independence.
It is a quality mag and deserves to succeed, it will only do so though if we support it.
This is not aimed at you Brian nor anyone in particular, there are though people who can afford it who choose not to bother. That is fair enough, but they are missing a golden opportunity in my view to get a voice into the wider community.
We moaned and continue to moan about the MSM, I’m actually stunned that iScot has yet to be embraced. I believe it may be available in a number of newsagents across Scotland in the near future.
If you can’t subscribe consider buying it if it appears on the shelves of your local newsagent.
Winning Independence as has been shown will not be easy, we had better be prepared the next time there is a referendum.
I’ve never found a need to wear kneecaps.
I have been told that my knees pass muster and have no need for any sort of adornment.
Now, if you’re typing about headgear, ask Paula Rose about the crotchless earflaps. Will she bring them to Invergowrie? Heaven help us all if she does.
Thanks Alex,
btw, since I subscribed to notifications of a reply, I’m actually receiving e-mail comments before the moderation has cleared them on the forum post.
The mags will be Scotland wide in independent newsagents from the borders to Shetland – over 800 + stores. Supermarkets are an issue in as much as we need to pay to list them which can be a few grand each chain.
We’re out there and with a fair wind we’ll get some paid advertising done before the May elections which will give us some increased publicity and numbers. I keep reminding myself we only secured £ 2 grand on indiegogo where others secured 20 times more, but we still got the mag to print. Issue 3 hits the shelves on March 3rd (my birthday woo hoo ) I hope the public take to it.
@Paula Rose
Have you got a ride for Saturday?
X_Sticks,
Yes, she has and without you groping her knees all the way.
Not that she didn’t enjoy it mind!
800+ stores. Impressed, thanks for the update. I hope the magazine can now make a rock solid foundation for itself.
Good Luck.
@ kendomacaroonbar. If you can tell me a shop in Edinburgh that will be stocking it I will Definitely be buying it. Hope it is a big success.
@Michael,
If you give me the first part of your post code I’ll find out and get back to you tomorrow.
@Michael,
Just remembered that the Edinburgh YES Café/Hub has a supply. I believe that’s MajorBloodnoks local haunt 🙂
Billy Bragg thoughts on the media in song, “It says Here”.
@ kendomacaroonbar Have not been up to the YES Café/Hub. But was looking it up on the Computer just a few days ago. Now I can go up for a Coffee. let them know what a great job they are doing. and pick up your iScot Mag at the same time. I don’t get out much. so a wee day out to look forward to. Cheers. And keep up the good work.
Hey Scotland and further afar.. gonnna play this one again.. here’s a cracker from Fantasia.. it’s important, and may I say inda words of mr michael mccabe.. Ahm aye till aye die!
See y’all at Inverwotsit, U missy Quinie, ye coming doon?
Set us free
Dedication, TO YOU, here’s one for through the night, have an amazing Wednesday beautiful Scottish friends.
Love.
Playing catch-up, Mike O, he plays a mean guitar..
You know whatcha gotta do
I Am away to my bed. But here is a wee mellow tune for Cactus and anyone who is still up. link to youtube.com
I NEVER TOUCHED HER KNEES!
X_Sticks honey – I had the sweetest ride with you last November and I loved your gentle touch on the controls, but as cearc and I are booked into the same B&B, I thought it made sense to let her take me under her wing – it means we can change into our party gear without it getting creased during a long drive.
No problem Paula Rose. I know you’ll be safe with cearc even if you are staying at the point of no return B&B 😉
As yet I have no idea when I’ll be going down the road anyway, but see you at the Inn.
Good to see spikyman is coming along too 😀
I notice no one’s offered to grope my knees.
Natasha doll – we don’t have any knuckle-dragging wingers so your knees are quite safe, unless you want a wingie grope?
Who’s “spikyman”?
Right – updated list of those who will get a personalised badge, because they’ve typed that they will be in Invergowrie on Saturday…
Alex Clark (Thepnr)
Ian Clark
Natasha
Brian Doonthetoon
Hanii Puppy (my son)
Pete The Camera
Chipmonkey
Quentin Quayle
X_Sticks
Cearc
Cactus
Paula Rose
Irene King
John King
AndyC
Ronnie Anderson
Wee Jonny
Lanarkist
Shed Princess
To that, we’ll add Chris Law, SNP candidate for Dundee West, and Bob Costello, the man behind ‘Team YES Bus’.
BTW: “Shed Princess” is a lurker I know at work. Treat her nicely…
Remember, if you’re coming on Saturday, and haven’t typed so, stick a post in here before 11.59pm tomorrow night (Thursday), to book your badge.
Pete will also have a stock of badges with him, for which a donation of 50p a badge is invited, to support our badge-making endeavours.
Natasha – Paula Rose typed, more eloquently than I could, what I was struggling for in my mind.
@ Shed Princess
If you are lurking about, welcome and jump in some time and have a word with these fine Wingers.
You will surely have a night to remember in Invergowrie – I’ve heard Lady Alba is on the bill (or was it the tables?).
Anyway, fear not, they’re a friendly bunch and any trepidation will be soothed by Paula Rose with a gentle stroke. If you’ve got a shed you’ll get on fine wi’ Ronnie. 🙂
@ Bdtt
‘Spikyman’ = Cactus, don’t you think?… 🙂
Betty Boop I think bdtt has been on the “slow slow juice” tonight
@BDTT
At least Betty’s on the ball!
Please note –
No badge, no stroke.
One of these days I have to get the chance to go to one of these shindigs. I never seem to get the timing, geography or the funds together at the same time. After three or four years, it’d be a real pleasure to meet and greet, put some faces to names and shake some hands.
Maybe next time. (sigh)
Hiya , I Am Going To Come Along For A Wee While , Looking Forward to it….
Macart,
If you say what area you stay in you might be able to get a lift.
Karen,
Everyone will be delighted.
@Cearc
Opposite end of the country from me. Way out in the sticks in the south west coast.
Maybe next time it comes to Glasgow.
OK – I was slow on ‘spikyman’.
Hi Karen.
You’re now on the list!
BTW: Rev Stu is interviewed on the first episode of “Newsshaft” at:-
link to newsshaft.podbean.com
(That’s the crowd from Dateline Scotland.)
Footie link for later. STV are showing Liverpool game but for those who want to see a Scottish team 🙂
Anyhoo click and select your game here.
link to myp2p.ec
I’m seeing Alex Salmond tomorrow night! I’m seeing Alex Salmond tomorrow night! I’m seeing Alex . . . you get my drift.
I’ve promised not to be a groupie, but I had my fingers crossed behind my back. I only have to trample 250 other people to get near him.
Natasha honey – the point that matters is when the wee man wants to meet you, get my point? (chuckles)
@Natasha
You have to be on top to trample people dear.
You’d be better nutmeging them 😉
I saw Alex and Nicola in Perth the night before the referendum. Inspired, a giant in political terms. Enjoy Natasha.
I’m effing seething having read the last two posts from the Rev – I need a stroke, I need Inverwotsit.
@Paula Rose
Heres a tune to help calm you down. Also to lift your spirits.
@Natasha:
Try to bring an axe with you and hew your way amidst the ruck!
Thepnr – dearest you are so sweet
I’ve posted this before – some folk have had their land stolen a damn site more than we have – I weep when I hear this, I also rejoice.
@Paula Rose –
Don’t think I’ve ever heard you so exercised – what got your hackles up about those posts in particular? Blair MacDougall?
‘Leave it Paula! He’s not worth it!’
I love
@Paula Rose
Two good songs, thanks.
Ian Brotherhood – I love all my ancestry, yes I am one angry person – but I will share strokes soonest. Still giggling over your silly crosswordthingies xxx
Never a crossword between us xxx
For the gorgeous Ian Brotherhood and the superlative Thepnr – (usual)
I’m at a friends house – now I am livid.
@Paula Rose –
Kind words indeed.
I’m properly brassed-off that I can’t attend. I was hoping to get a ‘selfie’, sandwiched between you and Natasha.
One day…
For al my friends
One of my favourites – please listen…
For Ian and Natasha
Ian Brotherhood you naughty boy – wee Natasha would be lost between us – I’ve got a high chair for the wee lassie at Inverwotsit, an event that you have declined to attend – is that a past participle?
171 contributions, 558 shares, 947 tweets, 6376 visits, 3816 referrals… job done 🙂
And from the stats £835 from links from WoS.
Thanks for all the support.
Well done Kevin, glad you made it. You do us all proud.
So, Kevin (and Delboy).
We’ll see you at Invergowrie?
I’ll buy you a pint…
Just playing …
First column
2nd Column
1st entry
2nd one
another line
etc.
/table>
dammit, tables don’t work then … hmmm
2nd try
Constituency
Candidates
Aberdeen North
Kirsty Blackman
David Cameron
John Cook
Stepen Flynn
Gillian Martin
Gill Samarai
Richard Thomson
ah weel, just gie up, methinks.
@ Natasha, 19/2/15, 7.10pm:
Natasha, Forget trying to climb up to trample people; take a ladder so Alex can tell folks that he saw you! 🙂
I’m afraid I can’t make Inergowrie but I will see if Del can.
Any WoS events for Glasgow coming up?
Hi Kevin.
Because of events being held all over the place on the 2nd and 3rd of May, “All Under One Banner”, it could be an idea for someone in the Glasgow area to think about organising another ‘Wings Over Glasgow’ for Saturday 2nd.
Jiss an ehdee like…
Just saw Thepnr comment about iScot magazine. It is absolute quality, love it.
Darlings – just given my pedicurist a big tip for the fab nail job, should I have asked for a receipt?
Brian we could have a WoS night at Piper, George Square or YesBar downstairs. Given how much WoS donated to crowdfunder I would be more than happy to cover any hiring chargers if required.
What does everyone think?
Hi Kevin.
The last couple of Glasgow get-togethers have been at the Counting House. We just take over one of the corner “snugs” as people vacate tables.
The rule of thumb is; if you’re providing a venue with a flock of money-spenders, you shouldn’t have to pay to spend your money, ie, there shouldn’t be a hire charge for parking piles of thirsty bums (excuse the pun!) on seats.
However, if the venue is providing some extra service, like FOOD, then it’s reasonable to expect a commensurate hire charge.
For example, there is no hire charge at the Invergowrie Inn. They are making money from the Wingers who are having a meal, then we’ll be buying “DRINK! FECK! GURLZ!” for the rest of the night.
The Glasgow gig on the 22nd November was supposed to happen at the YES Bar but, those who were there right after Nicola’s Hydro gig, took the decision to move to the Counting House.
‘Twas a good night.
Maybe points to ponder…
@Thistle –
I’m sure plenty of us would be up for another social, but it would be nice to see you having a night ‘off’ i.e. without a fekking I-pad superglued to your paw!
Oh, and 22nd November…
Cactus was alive and kicking at the back of 6 – I met him outside with Dixie, I believe. But he never returned to the Counting House.
Obviously more pressing business ensued.
Kevin,
Thanks for the kind words, and congratulations on reaching your target.
There is a venue in Helensburgh (seafront) The Clyde Bar – family friends of mine that I’m hoping we can host a shindig at some point. Trying to arrange a few things, possibly a play and a fair amount of swally ? what say yeah ?
As I typed the other day, the claiming of name badges for the Invergowrie shebang closed at 11.59pm last night. Here’s the final list…
Alex Clark (Thepnr)
Ian Clark
Natasha
Brian Doonthetoon
Hanii Puppy (my son)
Pete The Camera
Chipmonkey
Quentin Quayle
X_Sticks
Cearc
Cactus
Paula Rose
Irene King
John King
AndyC
Ronnie Anderson
Wee Jonny
Lanarkist
Shed Princess
Karen Brownlee
Bob Costello
Chris Law
If anyone not on the list turns up, they will be invited to scrawl their own name on a badge, like was done at Glasgow.
I’d be in for a wee pre vote soiree at the YES bar.
I missed every meet an greet during the referendum. That is NOT happening this time round.
So long as its not a full moon of course.
So excited – going to bed early, clutching my photo album.
Good for you Macart, I hope you don’t mind but I’d like to make sure I can be there and shake your hand too.
Bee dee tee tee – honey, so excited, terrified though of tripping over Natasha.
Why don’t we just pencil-in Friday May 1st for the Counting House again – I know some folk weren’t too keen on the place, but it’s big, not too dear, has disabled access, and we know that the Wetherspoon’s boss (forget his name, you know the dude..) was pretty sanguine about the whole indy-ref thing.
It’s just a suggestion.
‘clutching my photo album.’
OMG not the wings-do photo album. Hasn’t it been classified?
Friday May 1st is ‘May Day’.
International Workers’ Day. (And a big deal if you happen to be a Morris Dancer.)
Lumilumi will be able to tell us about ‘Vappu’, which I’ve just read about here:
link to en.wikipedia.org
@Thepnr
Look forward to it.
Hi Ian.
My train of thought is that with the “All Under One Banner” events being planned for the 2nd and 3rd, there’s a good chance that Wingers will be wingin’ it towards Glasgow on either of those two days.
Thus a get-together on the evening of the 2nd could provide an evening event for those going to Glasgow for anything going on in the afternoon, or next day.
Friday’s are a ßügg€r if you work on Fridays and have to travel any distance, like from Aberdeen or Dundee to Glasgow.
BTW: Counting House in Glasgow is a fine drinking den – no complaints.
But don’t eat there – the quality control on their food is a tad askew.
Aye, Morris dancing.
Check this out – hardcore ‘extreme’ Morris dancing. Not for the faint-hearted.
You have been warned.
Hope all you lovely, lucky Wingers have a great time tomorrow night. Paula R – no dancin’ on the tables, the landlady would be annoyed about the stiletto marks.
@ Ian Brotherhood – definitely up for a another do at the Counting House. Would be great if it could be the Yes Bar but it is a bit wee and on a Friday, no doubt, it will be heaving.
Please – if you want Wingers from 80 miles away (and more), make it a Saturday.
And this is happening in Glasgow on Saturday the 2nd:-
link to heyevent.com
Fuck it.
For once in my cream-puff I’m making an executive decision.
Friday. May 1st. Counting House, Glasgow. I’m going, and inviting all my SSP comrades, AND all the Ayrshire folk I’ve met via the Yes campaign, AND all the folk who wanted to go to previous WOS Glasgow gigs but couldn’t make it, AND a’body else who’s free that night.
If ye can make it, see ye there.
And that’s that.
Sorted.
Just got back from our candidate’s adoption meeting; Wee Eck was AMAZING! And I got a photo with him! I didn’t even need a stepladder. You can all bask in my reflected glory tomorrow (or later today, actually).
Ian, I’ve got to ask.
Why Friday?
@BDTT –
I hear you mister.
There’s only so many days in the week, and let’s face it – come the start of May? we’ll have a pretty good idea of how things are panning out.
Some will only be able to do a Friday or Saturday. Some lucky yins will be able to do both. Let’s apportion the eggs between whatever baskets we have – no matter, we’ll have a rerr terr as and when we get together.
Canny wait!
Here is a song for all those meeting at Invergowrie later today. And all those meeting up in the Future. link to youtube.com Have a Great time.
I feel another bus from Dundee & Angus coming up for the first weekend in May. Maybe Bob Costello could help us out there?
Let’s do it one more time.
Alas as much as I would like to be there. I wont be able to make it. Hope you all have a great time though. Anyway this one is for me to cheer me up. link to youtube.com Aye till I die.
@Michael McCabe
Nice song and lovely girls. That looks to me like Riga in Latvia, couldn’t find anything on the net. Is it?
@ Thepnr I think they are a band from Slovakia. Don’t know where the Video is from. Sorry. Hope you have a great night Tonight. And all the other Wingers too Naturally.
@Ian Ok cool 1st
To every participant: enjoy your evening!
Hi Alex.
He’s hoping to be there tonight. We can have a blether about buses…
There are two events happening in Glasgow –
SEIZE THE DAY (HOPE OVER FEAR RALLY) GEORGE SQUARE GLASGOW
George Square, George Street, GLASGOW, G2 1DU
Saturday, April 25, 2015, 12:00 (4 hours)
link to indyscot.info
and
GLASGOW AUOB- PUBLIC PROCESSION
All Under One Banner
Glasgow Green to Independence (George) Square
Saturday, 2 May 2015 from 10:30 to 12:00
link to eventbrite.co.uk
Can’t find any info about what’s happening at George Square when the procession reaches there.
To all those going to Invergowrie – have a great time. Sorry I couldn’t be there – family event – but will be at the next one for sure.
A bonnie afternoon to y’all, I should be able to make it along to the next Glasgow Counting House gig on Friday the 1st May (Episode 3).
Am going to play at the Girvan Folk Festival on the Saturday, so that suits AOK.
Looking forward to the leisurely drive up to Inverwotsit this early evening to see you folks.
Chairs 🙂
May 1st?
Sounds good t’me.
Reference canvassing I have only being doing this for a weeks so this is my take on it . I am doing it in North Ayrshire for SNP .We are given a pack for a certain street.Not all house nos are on it ones that aren’t are known anti snp voters.
You only chap doors of snp voters or don’t knows.When I started chap ping doors I knocked on some I shouldn’t have and reaction showed why Fenian communist was one choice phrase. Basically you are checking core support is still with you .
I personally think it is pretty pointless and there must be a better way to encourage support and gain voters.
Woo hoo, looking forward to seeing the Wingers in the Gowrie.
Hope Paula Rose won’t be too consumed with envy when she find out I am getting a ride up there in the bold Cactus’ chariot!
That’s me showered, shaved and fed, see some of you in the ‘Inn.
Hope y’all have a blast. Raising a glass of cheeky Lambrini Rose to youse right now – slainte!
Listening to some tunes..
This is Bob Dylan’s boy you know…..
F*ck it here’s anither wan…..
You may think this is the Byrds but it’s the fantastic Jayhawks..
Looks like it’s just me & you Croompenstein, I believe the usual off topic folks are having a party elsewhere tonight.
love Creedence and John Fogerty. Actually any good guitarists.
Hope you like this
@ Croompenstein Loving your song choices. link to youtube.com
Here’s another Joe
@Nice one Michael and super stuff from Joe Nana..
I am listening to some tunes on random play here’s another..
One more. Slab gravy train coming to a halt soon I hope!
I do like Welsh folk….
Oi!!
All youse bams in Inverwotsit!!
Any chance of a photie, or an update, or SOMETHING?!?
It’s bad enough not being there, but youse don’t have to rub it in…(razzin’ frazzin’, stuck-in-the-hoose angrypants)
Here is a good Guitarist for you Nana. Sadly no longer with us. link to youtube.com
@Michael McCabe
Superb Michael. Here’s Joe at the royal albert hall playing Rory’s guitar. Nice tribute!
Here is a Joe Walsh song for the Labour party. link to youtube.com But not for much longer. Tick Tock
Here is another good Guitarist for Nana. link to youtube.com
@ Nana Smith I noticed on one of the main threads that you were finding it hard to type. So I hope you wont mind if I post up some Guitarists that you may like Hopefully. ? link to youtube.com
Oh that was terrific Michael.
Here’s a fine fellow I came across fairly recently.
That was Fantastic Nana. That young man is very talented. Here is an old Classic done Acoustically. link to youtube.com
This Guitarist Chills me right out. link to youtube.com Hope they are all Enjoying Themselves at Invergowrie
The Inverwotsians are too busy enjoying themselves to remember their old mates here in O/T.
Ach well. So it goes. (sniff…)
Tomorrow, mid-afternoonish, we’ll get effusive, transparently superficial reports about how great it all was, and then, when the guilt kicks in (i.e. after they’ve swapped notes on the flashbacks) we’ll get the awful truth…bit by horrible bit…
The mind boggles.
Please join me as I get the rosary beads out for the guid folk ay Invergowrie – bless their souls, they did no harm, but had this visited upon them…ochone, ochone…
Ian,some of the secrets of Inverwotsit will never be told. It was a great success and I don’t think we’re actually barred from having another. Nice to meet some new faces who were as well behaved (ahem) as the rest of us. There was another heels damage incident,but we managed to persuade them that Natasha wasn’t there last time so didn’t know about the promises after the Paula Rose incident (and has a demonstrable need for the heels).
The story at the B&B is still unfolding 🙂
I have found a train labour would never be allowed on. link to youtube.com
Hi peeps.
Feeling mellow now, after tonight’s shenanigans at the Invergowrie Inn.
But…
A first. We managed to capture a couple of pics of the legendary Paula Rose. Also, did a wee video of those who were there and remember it well.
Uploading will have to wait until I’m feeling a tad less mellow though. Tomorrow, sometime, sounds like a plan.
Well, hmmm. I didn’t get to bed until 5:45am. Myself and Cactus were the last two standing, and I’ll tell you what that guy can play a good tune and he can sing 🙂
Good night, enjoyed myself. Thanks Brian and thanks cearc for the eggs!
Hi folks
Thepnr, have you managed to tidy up yet, or have you had to go and lie down?
We raised £100 in the raffle at Inverwotsit, so £50 is going to Thistle and £50 to Wee Ginger Dug. Ronnie has charge of the cash.
As one of the only three sober people at the end of the night, I would like to point out that the heels incident had nothing to do with me! It was very funny though watching Thepnr telling the taxi driver the best way to drive through Dundee and then begging him to vote SNP for the sake of his country’s future.
Paula Rose, if I’d realised how much you wanted that high chair, I would have just given it to you. There was no need to stamp your foot at me . . .
@Natasha
Yes, all is tidy now. I didn’t fancy the wrath i would have to face later today if it wasn’t.
Oh and well done on staying sober, wish I had now 🙁
Cracking night last night folks.
Great seeing you all and in such good spirits.
So, if the heels incident wasn’t you Natasha, then who was the culprit?
Sorry you didn’t make it Ian, but we’ll see you soon.
Hiya Abodee, was Ace meeting You Guys n gals Last pm…Hope you all Have A Safe Journey Home x
link to facebook.com
Hope this link works , ( photos )
Great to meet so many of you last night, sorry I had to leave so early, glad I was one of the sober ones!
Great tally for the two causes who will receive the raffle money, both excellent recipients!
Thanks for the donation people 🙂
Is Paula Rose not coming out to play tonight? Maybe she has a wee bit of a headache . . .
Hi peeps.
Instead of taking loads of pics last night, I spent 3 minutes shooting a video with, hopefully, everyone in it, except yours truly.
You can see it here :-
BTW: X_Sticks. Apologies for misspelling your username in the captions. I didn’t realise I had done it till I was taking my first view on YouTube.
PS: the music in the background is “The Black Bear”, by Frank Cordell & his orchestra, which was the signature tune of the pirate Radio Scotland in the 60s.
@Paula Rose –
How did you manage you avoid being in the video? You do this ALL the time. People will start wondering if you really exist.
Here’s what the poor sowels of Inverwotsit were singing into their beer last night:
Pet Shop Boys, ‘What Have I Done To Deserve This?’ –
It’s a shame Paula didn’t turn up. I see one of her distant male relatives was there though. Looks like you all had a good night & a good turnout as well.
Seems I must of been powdering my nose when BDTT was making his little home movie.
As for the point of no return B&B – well what can I say?
When I glided downstairs this morning there seemed to be wingers sleeping everywhere including the kitchen table – but for some reason I can’t recall much about the late night events apart from Cactus’ lovely warbling.
Sorry I couldn’t make it folks..last minute hitch.
Aha!
Paula Rose has resurfaced!
(Powdering yer nose? Aye…heard it.)
Poor old Inverwotsit. The guid menfolk, law-abiding god-fearing and decent as they are, all sitting about today, wondering what happened to them, and whether she’ll ever come their way again. They sob quietly into their flat pints, the will to live draining away as they ponder the prospect of never seeing her again…
Then, one of them rises from his bar-stool, blows his nose violently, and releases a whimper before downing what’s left of his Guinness. He rakes about for some change, staggers across to the juke-box, and, through a never-ending torrent of tears, locates the following, to which all of his lovestruck colleagues sing along:
Dionne Warwick, ‘Heartbreaker’ –
A round of applause there for Ian’s prose.
ThePNR,
Did I leave a kangaroo’s bawbag on your kitchen table?
cearc
It was there when I left this morning, but who knows what you lot got up to after I had gone? When the cat’s away . . .
Good god, is this what it’s come to? Casual discussion about leaving ‘a kangaroo’s bawbag’ on a kitchen table has been normalised?
Did anyone have a chance of blethering with “Uncle Bill”?
If so, how did it go?
BTW: I remembered, after I had uploaded the video, that Graham from Oz is known to some as “Swannie”.
@cearc
Yes you did. email me your postal address and I’ll send it to you. The baws are still in the bag, so no harm done LOL.
Did wee Johnny get hame ok embody
When the Manny ( Ian Brotherhood ) gets roon tae taking names fur the 1st May Wingers anither nite oot, would you put my name on the list please.
@Ronnie A –
You’re aye tap ay lists, alphabetical-wise onyroad, ‘n ye ken fine ye’d tap a’ lists otherwise (looks, charm, patter, etc etc), so haud yer pish, eh?
Friday? May 1st? Glasgow?
Ye’d best be there mister!
Ah’ll be lookin’ fur ye!
For Ian Brotherhood. link to youtube.com
Thanks for posting the link ” Invergowie Nicht Oot ”
Brilliant , and nice to see all the friendly people .
The posts suggest a good time was had by all .
Hopefully there is another good turn oot @ PQ in March or doo on May 1st .
For me it’s a b@@@@@r getting time off work sometimes .
Onywy , nice to see the video , ta
Ronnie – Yes I got home safe and well thank you. My wife got oot o bed and came and picked me up somewhere along the Perth Road. Or Riverside drive (I canny mind). Great night as ab’dee has already said. Felt rough as funk yesterday though? Musta been that Stella ????.
@Wee Jonny
“My wife got oot o bed and came and picked me up”
Where can I get one like that? You lucky boy!
Counting house 01/05/15
You can add us to the list Ian. 🙂
Wee Jonny,
You’ll have to be on your best behaviour for ever now.
Your wife only needs to post, ‘I’ve kicked Wee Jonny out.’
and thousands of suitors will be tearing down the fence to get there.
@John King –
Good stuff. I’m not even keeping a list this time, but that’s a few of the usual suspects onboard already. Won’t be long coming.
I’ve volunteered for London branch canvassing team to come up the weekend before GE to either Glasgow or Edinburgh. I expect we’ll travel up on Friday 1st. If I find I’m on Glasgow team then I may be able to join you all. I hope so
It will be a few weeks before I find out but fingers crossed. It would be great to meet some of the characters I only know through these pages. 😉
@karen Brownlee. Link to photos isn’t working!
X_sticks “Where can I get one like that? You lucky boy!” Arbroath.
Cearc – Ha, Mrs Wee Jonny would never chuck me oot, we’re daft on eacother. And it was in our wedding vows (oh no not another vow) – For better or for Wings. Till Wings do us depart…….
@ Ian Brotherhood
Is Counting House bash confirmed for 1st May?
As noted before, I am definitely up for the CH as is JimT, of course! Was really disappointed when the date for Inverwotsit changed and couldn’t make that. 🙁 Glad you all had a good time though 🙂
Wee observation, Brian said he thought it should be Saturday, but, if the All under One Banner event is on at George Square on the Saturday, the Counting House will be heaving along with everywhere else around the square.
One of things that was discussed on Saturday night was the Hope Over Fear Rally in George Square on 25th April.
Looks like there may be a bus going down from the Dundee area. I’ll find out at the Team Yes Bus meeting on Wednesday.
Are we gonna have a Wings presence in the Square that day?
I’ll have to know, as Ronnie bestowed on me the honour of being Keeper of the Flags, Banner, Irn-Bru & Bottled Water, after the Dundee St Andrews Day Gathering.
hi Tackety Beets.
All part of the service!
8=)
Hi Wee Jonny.
Have you got a pic of your car uploaded anywhere that we can link to?
I forgot to take a pic of it on Saturday and some of those there didn’t see your wheels.
I’ve noticed that we are very good about paragraph breaks in here – perhaps the Rev could remove the “I will kill you” etc from this page – it’s a bit distracting…
Hi Paula Rose.
I had a bit of a disaster with the two pics I took of you posing on the table on Saturday night. (You may not recall; I believe your state, after midnight, could be described as ‘squiffy”.)
Onnyhoo, I will persevere with Photoshop and see what I can do. May take a day or three though…
Brian Doonthetoon – Yes click onto my Twitter page – Wee Jonny1 and you’ll see a photo of my car with the heading Still Yes.
Och Wee Jonny.
Some Wingers don’t do Facebook. I’m in the group that doesn’t do Twitter. I tried various permutations of Wee Jonny, WeeJonny and Wee_Jonny with no luck.
Onny risk o’ a link ti the pic?
@ Beedeeteetee
MOI!
and btw I’ll have you know that if it wasn’t for my navigational skills, Cactus’ Humvee could well have ended up in the North Sea.
BTW: I also tried:
link to twitter.com Jonny1
And got,
“Sorry, that page doesn’t exist!”
So, I tried,
link to twitter.com
and found your page! Unfortunately, we have the same problem that arises with Facebook,
“@weejonny1’s Tweets are protected.
Only confirmed followers have access to @weejonny1’s Tweets and complete profile. Click the “Follow” button to send a follow request.”
Can you email me a pic? The email address is:
brian@BUMFLUFFdoonthetoon.plus.com
Remove the BUMFLUFF to get the correct email address.
Paula Rose – Oui – Tu!
BDtt – email sent with twa foatays. Hope it works.
Oh and btw Ian Cruciverbalist –
have you mislaid your dictionary of obscure words? I couldn’t write fast enough to fill the grid today – quickie of the easiest order.
@Paula Rose
If our taxi driver had taken any notice at all of Thepnr’s drunken directions, we WOULD have ended up in the North Sea.
Hi peeps.
I’ve contacted Indy Deb and Karen Brownlee and they’ve allowed me to capture their pics of Saturday, for uploading to my webspace.
Also, Wee Jonny has sent pics of his car so I’ll upload that as well.
Could take me a day or three though; I have to earn a crust.
Tut Tut Natasha
I got everyone back in one piece.
Apart from the Kangaroo.
Thepnr
I beg your pudding. You did pay for the taxi, after all.
He who pays the piper chooses the tune for the karaoke…
@ John King
Lookin’ forward to seein’ you there fella.
So long as its not a full moon. 😮
Well the kangaroo was asking for trouble jumping onto the kitchen table with all those knives around.
Wish I’d been there for Natasha’s knife throwing act – pity about the kangaroo’s wotsit, still I hear QfA comforted the wee thing.
Though the Kangaroo’s castrati vocal did add a nice bass line to Cactus’ vocals.
The Cactus hip-hop duet. That really was something.
Natasha was jumping about like a wallaby.
@Paula Rose
Oh,is that what it was??? Now you tell me!
Of the 13 Prime Ministers since WWII, 9 went to Oxford.
Of the remaining 4, Churchill came via a military route, Harrow-Sandhurst, probably helped by actually being at war when he first got in.
Curiously, the other three, Callaghan, Major and Brown, all ‘inherited’ the position, that is they took over during administration when the incumbent stood down for some reason.
Perhaps in those circumstances the usual selection process by the men in suits was circumvented either by perceived performance or time constraints?
Good times in the Gowrie, cheers to all and to Brian Doonthetoon for organising, yer musical videos were crackin’ by the way.
Aye was lucky enough to be Miss Roses chaperone back to thepnrs most excellent 5-Star B&B. I was truly touched by her intimate presence and have learned that navigation is one of her many skills, but that’s between us. Now I know how tartan tory must have felt!
The after-show party at thepnrs was a winner, great to be there and fun to play with you all, thanks 😉
See y’all at the next event in Glasgow.
ps I found your embroidered handkerchief Miss Rose.. will return to you on our next date, honey.
EU footie link + other things.
link to myp2p.ec OR
link to crichd.tv
Fellow wingers, can somebody teach me how to create a sad Smiley, and a winking Smiley in dots and dashes? Thanks.
Morse code?
Hi peeps.
As I mentioned yesterday, I got permission from Indy Deb and Karen Brownlee to upload their Facebook pics from Saturday night to my webspace, so that non FB users could squirm as well.
Job completed.
You can see them here:
link to sites.google.com
Feel free to share the link.
GB @ 8.50
you use ; then ) for winking smiley or : then ( for sad
Cactus
you truly are a gentleman
😉 🙁
If those work I owe you a pint, John. Ta. 🙂
(Won’t know till I hit the SEND icon… )
Macart says:
@ John King
Lookin’ forward to seein’ you there fella.
So long as its not a full moon. 😮
What?
like this you mean?
I want you to know I carry silver bullets at all times 🙂
Paula Rose says
“Though the Kangaroo’s castrati vocal did add a nice bass line to Cactus’ vocals.”
how high is cactus’s voice if the castrati is the bass line, Jesus only bats will hear him!
How high is Cactus’ voice? Amongst the angels.
@ Ian Brotherhood Ur you looking fur ah job as ma agent ( looks charm ) am discounting they 1st two an the ect ect,an am deducting that fae yer fee lol.
He he, yeah I’m trying to find a new frequency.. it’s tough, but I’m getting some lessons fae an angel of another kind.. her name is Madison and she’s a mermaid 😉
Even though, you know my resistance is low.
@ Cactus
With ref to your last comment, this is for you.
Forgot all about this guy.
@ Ronnie Anderson, 10:45pm, 24/2/15
Ian forgot to mention your rather fine singing voice! 😉
Nice pic’s Brian. The last one’s a wee belter 😉
@Chic McGregor:
UK has Oxford, France has ENA. Plato, in his time was already saying this about Athenian democracy: “Then as now, and indeed always, from that time to this, speaking generally, our government was an aristocracy–a form of government which receives various names, according to the fancies of men, and is sometimes called democracy, but is really an aristocracy which has the approval of the many.” (Plato, Menexenus).
@AuldA
Yes. Democracy has the merit that it is difficult for the minority to justifiably reject the wishes of the majority but without genuine checks and balances (which do not exist anywhere) it rapidly degenerates into a matter of cheques and balance-sheets.
It naturally attracts the greedy and most corruptible types to seek office, furthermore, it is those whom are best at lying who tend to get in.
The SNP are, of course, the exception – for now at least.
But as Yanis Varoufakis recently said, if they do not push the Greek reforms through now, it will be too late, in a year from now the new Greek government will already be corrupt itself. Presumably without him. No doubt they are already preparing the hemlock for one so honest as he. 🙂
@Betty Boop ~
I hadn’t seen that version before, likey, especially the lady dancers, thanks. They got the groove 🙂
Still, ye cannae beat auld Hoagy on the hammers.. the musical ones that is!
X
Hi peeps.
Talked with Bob Costello of Team Yes Bus tonight. He’s amenable to providing a minibus to go down to Glasgow for the get-together on 1st May. Cost will probably be £8 a head.
The bus would probably be leaving Dundee around 5.30pm.
Can I have names of anyone interested in claiming a seat? The route will from Dundee > Perth > A9 to Stirling > Glasgow, so we could pick up at points in between.
Like November’s abortive effort, we’ll need 16 seats filled.
( @ Beedeeteetee – I got awfully squiffy on Saturday night, I’m not sure if I’m allowed out anymore )
BTW: nobody has responded to my query about ‘Hope Over Fear’ on 25th April.
Anyone going to the snp spring conference next month? X-Sticks?
Hi Everyone
We’re organising a Referendum film night in Musselburgh on Sunday (March 1st) its a premiere of a fly on the wall documentary with unique footage from the three days of the vote including the Glasgow Count and Nicola Sturgeon as well as the RIC conference in November.
Everyone is welcome (its an SNP GE fundraiser, free entry, donations requested) Theres more info on the link:
Hope to see some Wingers there!
link to facebook.com
Paula Rose,
‘A bit squiffy’, you and me both.
Life’s not fair.
You just got grounded.
I…, I lost…, I lost my …,
Oh, I can’t (sob) say (sob) it.
(you’ll have noted that I am being very, very, careful aboot they HAMMERS).
The human (although not very humane), with whom I dwell has only this night written to the proprietor of The Point of No Return B&B asking for the return of the (sob) ‘personal item’ (sob) which I left on his (sob, sob) kitchen table.
I only hop it’s not too late!
I used to be very (sob) attached to it.
HELP…
Would you know anybody who would be interested in this…
your own livestream show on runup to May elections discussing whatever you want. Would be your little contribution to OUR/YOUR citizen livestream channel. We want people and groups to start doing their own content for the channel and we are currently talking to Veterans for Independence, Comedy Stand in Glasgow, Craig Murray etc
If we can get more people producing their own content we will grow the viewers watching the citizen livesteram channel and try and create something as an alternative to the MSM.
You can be part of it.
DON’T HATE THE MEDIA, BECOME THE MEDIA
THE CITIZEN BROADCAST CHANNEL (CBC)
new.livestream.com/independencelive
Footie link for those without Sky Celtic game in half an hour.
link to myp2p.ec
Belt and braces. Second link footie.
link to crichd.tv
My darling Jumping Joe do not fret.
For the record it has been pointed out further up the thread that Natasha does like to bite and she can jump surprisingly high for her size – as if she has wings.
Now, Thepnr has safely stored your thingy in a bag of frozen brussel sprouts, so a quick stitch when you get it back should have everything back in working order in no time.
Next time don’t pat her on the head, especially not when you’re wearing boxing gloves.
PS I hope no-one from the Daily Redcoat has found this room.
@Paula Rose
PS I hope no-one from the Daily Redcoat has found this room.
Even if they had, they wouldn’t understand it; you need a brain and a sense of humour to cope with this lot.
I’m happy with this*, so it’s getting repeated here:
*(Effing difficult to quickly find rhymes for Duncan, tho!)
“A Suborner’s Love Song” ghostwritten by Slab SpAd Craig Miller for his Labour boss Doctor Dick Simpson MSP. (Based on John Betjeman’s ‘A Subaltern’s Love Song’)
Miss S. Hunter-Duncan, Miss S. Hunter-Duncan,
Furnish’d and burnish’d by Forth Valley sun,
What strenuous denials we mouthed after tea,
We in the Record – you supporting me!
Lie-thirty, lie-forty, oh! weakness of joy,
The speed of the Record, the SNP to destroy,
With carefullest carelessness, how you spoke such bunkum,
I am weak from your mendaciousness, Suzanne Hunter-Duncan.
Miss Suzanne Hunter-Duncan, Miss Suzanne Hunter-Duncan,
How mad I am, sad I am, glad that you flunk ’em,
The cold-hearted racket that is Scotland’s press,
Give my shock-troops in Labour, no need to confess.
Miss Suzanne Hunter-Duncan, Miss Suzanne Hunter-Duncan,
I can hear from Jackie Bird the truth has been found,
Oh! Clackmannanshire twilight! inebriate band!
Oh! strongly adorable actress/nurse/tennis-girl’s hand!
Around us are Hillmans and Avengers, the cars,
That are not made in Linwood -’twas shut from afar,
And here on my right-wing is the actress/nurse of my choice,
With her Pinocchio-nose due to lies given voice.
And the scent of her scrubs, and the lies Labour said,
And the ominous, ominous SNP-hating ahead.
We sat in the hospital car park till our plans came to none
And now I’ve totally dropped Miss Suzanne Hunter-Duncan.
David dear, remind me to give you a stroke next time we meet xx
well someone has to –
OMG, not merely content with sending waves of sobs up the stairs to keep me awake, that wretched ‘roo’s been on my PC!
Someone had to…
I’m hearing a train coming down the tracks…
Oohh, she called me darling!
I’ve been called darling by Paula Rose!
In response to my first post as well!
She’s much lovelier than that Quinnie frae Angus. I thought she was gorgeous,I was in lurve and then she (sob) wrote (sob),
‘Oh,is that what it was??? Now you tell me!’
Oh, my aching heart (and other bits).
PS. Girls, please note, it is semi-castrati, winky thing!
link to facebook.com
@Chic:
We’ll see. With dogged determination, maybe he will endure…
If we could devise a system where money would be banished, that would probably solve many of our problems… But we would have to significantly alter human nature first.
To donate..I still work with cheques..who do I make it out for..and where to send..sorry for this but I don’t trust these pay pal type things.
Dougie
Dougie Bee
Use the Contact page to send Stu an email asking him to confirm the address he would like mail to go to.
@ Cearc
I pledge £25 to Paula Rose,s Gold Badge.
@cearc
I’ve pledged £50 for the gold Wings.
Hi folks, can someone,anyone tell me where I can buy a Wings lapel pin/badge. Been to the wings store but no pins. Help anyone!
Cherry,
If you DM me at ken@iscot.scot I’ll arrange to send you a spare ceramic wings badge.
@kendomacaroonbar
That is wonderful will contact you soon. 😉 thanks.
Cearc
If I pledge some money towards Paula’s badge, do I pay it in on today’s crowdfunder page?
@Lollysmum
Yes just put it in the fundraiser and cearc is going to keep track. You just need to tell her how much.
Doesn’t matter when you do it as long as you keep your pledge.
cearc
I’ve just paid £10 for Paula Rose’s badge. Tell her I expect suitable stroking payment in return. Btw, my husband says one of the perks should be dinner with Paula Rose in her stilettos.
cearc
I’ve just paid in £30 towards Paula’s badge 🙂
Thanks Paula Rose!
Blame my poetic adaptation on the benefit of having a good Scottish education! For Higher English, many years ago, our class studied John Betjeman, and that poem has been stuck in my head ever since.
The similarity between the names must have clicked somewhere in my brain, and ‘forced’ me to adapt the poem. 🙂
@ cearc £25 donated credit to Paula Rose Gold badge
@ Natasha is your man moist again, through a bucket of icewatter er him .lol
Anyone see the story about the wedding dress that appears to have different colours? Sounds like it was designed by NewLabour- “Aye it’s our white and gold pattern, unless of course you want it to be blue and black, madam. We’re very flexible about colours, and truth.”
Contact Rev for bank a/c details. Can be paid in at any (sorry) HSBC over counter. It is on the funding details.
@ David is it no Magenta wie orange dots lol
@cearc
@X sticks made ah mistook
second £25 donated = £ 50 memory,s ah wisht ah hud ah memory lol anyhows sorted & I asked the Rev to add this mornings donation Cearc £100, I,ll let you know when I get a reply.
test
That dress was definitely blue and black.
Yay! First comment on a new page!
It’s a night for some funky celebrations, eh?
James Brown, ‘Think’ (1973) –
Where’s Paula Rose on this momentous night?
Here’s one that may draw her out of her den…
Dusty, ‘Son of a Preacher Man’ (live) –
@ Ian Brotherhood Sheer quality, but another casualty of the brithish media.
If no-one else is about I’ll just keep posting random stuff. Anyway, this one contains Christina Aguillera doing a cover of ‘This Is A Man’s World’, and it is well worth a watch. That lassie can sing.
I am humbled my dear friends – an hour or so back I walked barefoot around my garden with tears running down my cheeks. They are now grubby and in need of attention – form a queue.
But enough – there is a true lady in Glasgow who is a damn sight more deserving than me, so I raise the stakes – £1000 to wings and all the goodies to the lass who runs the food bank.
As an added bonus – I will drag myself over to weegie land to present the goodies in person, foregoing my loathing of publicity.
I’m going to regret this…
I gave £1 for the wonderful Paula Rose (she called me darling y’know).
That’s all the money I have ever had in the world!
Natasha darling – not amused honey, you are being presumptuous as regards the top spot.
link to liveleak.com
First its my heart and then…
Last time I won anything…
Let’s rock…
Let’s rock…
I so wish I could have saved this man…
@Paula Rose –
Nice to see real footage of you getting that award. I don’t know what it was for, but I’m sure you deserved it.
If you don’t mind my saying, it seems that you’ve shed a few pounds since then! And changed your hair quite dramatically – all for the good!
More power to ye!
You know you don’t have to … but
nope its non stop Dusty
lookee bigee sister –
I Would like to add my donation like everybody else. I Do not have a bank account. how do I go about donating. Help. All suggestions Accepted. Cheers.
(I’m still overwhelmed that you love me so)
@ Michael McCabe Ask the Rev via contact us, ask him for bank account number,go to any bank pay as a billing account,I had to do that the 1st time I sent money to Wings.
@ Ronnie Anderson Thanks for that Ronnie. I will do that Cheers.
The original and best (best for copying & adapting, hee hee) John Betjeman’s poem “A Subaltern’s Love Song – Miss Joan Hunter Dunn” (read by Tom O’Bedlam)
Joe Jackson, ‘Stepping Out’
Bob Marley, Coming in from the cold link to youtube.com
Ronnie, that Labour ladybus as given you Magenta fever!
Credit to OxfordsMadHattersCandidate ( on another thread )
Google / U tube. Federal Broons speech.
“Gordon Browns Better Together Speech”
Now I know it makes you sick but it should only take 10 secs
Who is sitting right behind GB between CL and JoLa. ?
Surely not ?
Gold an White for me !
Paula Rose
I think you & I need a chat. You posted Pet Shop Boys & Dusty last night & I’ve not been able to sleep with that song going round in my head.
Please behave yourself. Us oldies need our sleep & it’s now 5am & I’ve not slept a wink 🙁
Tackety Beets
It’s the dentist from the School of Dentistry who did a few speeches for NO around referendum time isn’t it? It’s not the nurse from this week’s posts.
My my! I was a wee bit tired and emotional last night wasn’t I?
I take it all back – I’m not giving anything away
I’m keeping it all.
But – as a wee incentive we’ll put all the names of those who donate into Jock Scot’s hat and the one pulled out …
I’ve never met you Paula Rose, but you seem to be a nice lady. So I’ve put £10 in towards your badge. It isn’t much but it all adds up. 🙂
Never met Paula Rose or any of you wonderful wingers, but feel like you are all my brothers and sisters in a great cause. Donated £52 yesterday, please add this to fund for Paula Rose.
I contributed £20 and took no perks. Please add to the Paula Rose Badge appeal.
I paid the above into the Rev’s appeal through Paypal. I hope whoever is in charge of Paula Rose’s badge appeal will be able to access it.
John II,
That’s fine, it has been noted.
I am doing the counting mainly from posts here (keeping an eye on ther threads). Too much to keep trawling through donations and comments on Indiegogo and lots of people miss where they can post a comment or change the displayed name.
Thanks a lot.
@cearc
Sent a tenner to the fundraiser for Paula Rose’s shoe repairs!
@cearc meant to say the tenner was added by my alter ego cailleach. Just in case you don’t find it under Nana.
Rev Stu,
can you please add my contribution to the Paula appeal. I do not need any perks.
Gold Wings – a fitting tribute for Paula.
nana smith,
Great.
I hope you are feeling a lot more well now, you were missed.
Thanks cearc!
Struggling as right hand is out of action. Typing is difficult to say the least.
Hoss,
Need to know how much it was. I’m going to hunt through 2,000+ donations to find it!
correction: Missing word.
I’m NOT going to…etc.
Paula, you are a legend!
@Ronnie
That’s another £20 added to the Paula Rose Appreciation Society funds.
Hi Ronnie, saw your comment and added a 20 pound donation to the Paula Rose fund. I’d have liked it to be more, but now in eightth month of idleness. Hope you’re well, Stuart
cearc,
£52 – donated at 20.38 last night.
Darlings (wipes away tear) I thought you might like to see the first pic of me in my nurse’s uniform – it’s being used by the BBC!
link to bbc.scotlandshire.co.uk
Ya dancer! Screen saver problem sorted. Thanks, Paula.
Quentin Quale,
I think Chipmonkey might have something to say about that!
Thanks to Stuart and Hoss, total £231 now.
@cearc just added a wee tenner to the gold thingy for the delectable Paula.
noted with thanks, Jim.
Hi cearc.
I’ve just donated another £10, a few minutes ago, specifically towards Paula Rose’s wings.
@ Cearc – you are correct – I’ll have to have a few words with Quentin Quale!
I won’t be donating to a perk for Paula Rose for wearing those heels and behaving badly!
However, I AM going to add £20 to the fund for the lovely Paula Rose who campaigned so hard and who helped me carry the Wings Banner and march on when I was flagging (literally and figuratively). 🙂
xx
Hi peeps.
I did two posts this week, asking about our possible plans for the 25th April and the 1st May.
Nobody has responded. Are we each just gonna do our own thing, or are we organising?
@Briandoonthetoon
For 1st May. Put myself and QQ down as definites for the bus.
Crossed fingers you get the numbers this time 🙂
thanks
Hi Chipmonkey.
Tonight, mostly, I will be starting a list…
Who wants to be on it?
Contributed last night but will put some more in when I get paid for Paula Rose’s gold wings.. 🙂
btw I did think she was angel without wings 😀
Don’t know if I dare presume that the bold Irene will be organising the raffle again on May 1st, but if so, I’m bringing a collector’s ‘bag’ of Nationals and Sunday Heralds.
The National, issues 1,2,4 & 5 (sadly, I’ve only got one copy of issue 3, and am keeping it!). Also, the SH of May 4th 2014, when they came out for Yes, and the May 11th issue, which has the ‘thank-you’ poster featuring the editorial from the previous week. All are mint, haven’t been opened, and include the original magazines/inserts etc.
Hi Croompenstein.
Having met her and been overwhelmed by the stories that Paula Rose relates, I have to divulge that she is one of the “Angels With Dirty Faces”.
I’ve never met Paula but if the fund is struggling,(not sure of status), I’ll be willing to go £20.
X-sticks knows how to track me down for the money!
X-sticks – you have the phone/email – let me know.
OOPS! Forgot to type…
When the 1st May get-together was set in stone, both Pete and I surmised that we wouldn’t be able to do personalised badges for the event, because no list of attendees is being collated.
If we get 15 or 16 bums on seats for the minibus from Dundee, we’ll be able to do badges for those bums. But they are the only names we’ll know, for certain, are going to be there.
Jiss typin’ like…
BTW: we have 6 bums so far…
Clootie,
it is at £271.
you just donate to the fundraiser and post here to say that you have.
I’m keeping tabs as X_sticks refused to do it again!
OK, there’s £20 chucked in towards Paula’s badge.
Bdtt, chipmonkey, Morag,
all noted with thanks,
The B52’s, ‘Love Shack’ (Live, 2013, Rewind Festival)
The King sang this but the original is best…
I heard it somewhere…
This is for a very special man, he may even be sitting next to wee Thepnr at this very moment – for the lovely John…
Hue & Cry, ‘Labour of Love’ –
I am…
Morag sweetie – I so love you xx
Jermaine Stewart, ‘We Don’t Have To Take Our Clothes Off (To Have A Good Time)’ –
@cearc
I bunged in a 100 earlier and skipped the perks. Can you add me to Paula Rose
@Brian –
another Angel song..
oh..this just came on..
We don’t Ian? That’s new.
an English rose gives Scottish guy goosebumps…
Just ride me to the junkyard in my Cadillac.. 🙂
Can’t resist…
I just love these men…
£25 donated,
please add to Paula Rose fund
thanks
sob sob so shy and demure – but – trips to Glasgae frae Dundee, Beedeeteetee add me to the list you lovely man xx (but only if hunky Pete the Camera is cuming)
I know, I know Sir Paul but hey….
Not just because he’s called Randy Vanwarmer but classic song…
@ Cearc
The Paula Rose badge ….. sorry only £31
Gonna put a bit to Paul on WGD too.
I’ll be monitoring it , may manage more later in the month .
As a paranoid, I don’t like using headphones, but I did for this, and it was, if I can nick Johann Lamont’s patter, ‘astonishing’.
Aretha Franklin, ‘Drown In My Own Tears’ –
Excuse me a moment – but I need to express something, for the love of my life, IB
@Paula Rose (12.11) –
Many people put clothes ON to have a good time.
As you well know.
(BTW, you scrubbed-up well for the Scotlandshire shoot. Respect due. I hope they reimbursed you correctly.)
Is the Daily Record still claiming that we are a bunch of women hating, nasty stuff spewing, bedroom dwelling cybernates? xxx
Ian honey – actually the cozzie is a bit tight, could you pop round and help me out of it?
Oh gosh IB I just tremble at your presence dear.
my dearest
@Paula Rose –
‘Pop round’ from Ayrshire to Fife?
I’m not Superman. Whatever weird outfit you’ve enclosed yourself in? You’ll have to get it off by yourself.
I’m sorry to be so harsh, but these are tough times we’re in – sometimes it’s cruel to be kind.
Stop trembling, and get yourself together!
Nick Lowe, ‘Cruel To Be Kind’ –
@Clootie
I think I have Jean’s email, but what do you want me to do?
You just need to add your £20 to the fundraiser for it to be added to the Paula fund.
The lovely cearc has taken on the headache of keeping track of the donations.
Just added my £50 pledge to the fundraiser 😀
Nation Libre, pgeddes, Tackety Beets,
all noted, with thanks. Total £447.
X_Sticks, is that the £50 you originally offered? If so it is already counted.
Yes cearc that is already counted. Now actually contributed 😀
Hi Paula Rose.
You’ve been added to the list. We now have 6 bums on seats for 1st May.
But peeps, what about the 25th April? Are we doing anything?