Wishing for swans

Posted on December 01, 2025 by

For lack of anything more interesting to write about, we thought we might do a monthly rundown of polling in the leadup to next year’s Holyrood election, with seat projections from a neutral source, in the shape of the newish Devolved Elections website.

And very quickly, things got a bit weird.

Our original thought was that at the start of every month, we’d average all the polls of the previous month to get our starting figure – an idea which immediately collapsed because there were NO proper Scottish election polls in November.

But just to get us started, we fed in the results from the most recent, which was the Survation poll from 14 October.

This was the outcome:

It delivered a quite plausible-looking result: a big win for the SNP (with – surprise! – zero list seats), Reform as the largest opposition party mainly at the expense of the Tories, and the Lib Dems more than doubling their representation while the Greens lost a couple of seats but still got enough to create a slim pro-indy majority of 67.

But the most interesting aspect of the election – an extremely low bar – is whether the now-officially-named Your Party, which held its inaugural conference at the weekend, will stand and make any sort of headway.

The likelihood of that happening now looks very significantly lower – social media was overflowing with mockery of the shambolic event, and members (albeit not many of them) voted to have the party led by a committee rather than by anyone voters might have heard of. At this point, frankly, we’re not even sure it’ll survive until next May.

But solely to introduce a little jeopardy, let’s imagine that it does, and let’s give it a very modest return of 4% (not enough to win any list seats), by taking 1% off each of the SNP and Labour, and 2% off the Greens, since the Greens are the closest match for Your Party’s policies and therefore most likely to be in competition for those votes.

(We’ve plucked the 4% from the number saying they were exclusively considering YP.) Here are those amended figures:

And here’s what Devolved Elections gives us for those numbers:

Wait, what? The only change is that the SNP lose two seats to the Greens, even though we took twice as many points off the Greens. That makes no sense at all.

So what happens if we double the Your Party vote to 8%, on the same formula, which ought to take it over the list-seat threshold?

At this point, and wildly implausibly, Your Party picks up a CONSTITUENCY seat (seemingly from the SNP, who swap it for a list one), but also, and much more logically, win half-a-dozen on the list. Labour drop three but the Greens get absolutely minced, dropping to just two while the Lib Dems and Reform pick up one each, and the pro-indy majority is toast.

Other than the absurdity of that Your Party constituency seat on 8% of the national vote, that all makes pretty good sense, and indeed is in line with our multiple previous analyses saying that 6% of the list vote in this particular election will struggle to get any seats, because the intense competition for them if the SNP sweep up most of the constituencies will push the threshold up nearer to 8%.

Now, our hypothetical 8% for YP is just loaded with caveats. We know that people saying they’d CONSIDER voting for a party doesn’t tend to translate into actual votes, and the farcical slapstick of the conference exceeded our wildest dreams.

But then again, those YouGov numbers from last week were asking people about a UK election under First Past The Post, where voting for fledgling new parties is a fool’s pursuit. It’s very different in a D’Hondt proportional election, where tiny numbers of votes can get you not only some seats but into government, as proved by the Lib Dems in 1999-2007 and the Greens in 2021-24.

We have absolutely nothing to go on in terms of YP’s prospects in Scotland. As far as we know they haven’t been included in a single Scottish poll (which is fair enough as they haven’t properly existed until now), but these numbers do support our theory that they could have a potentially slightly interesting impact on an election which otherwise looks set to be a surefire cure for insomnia.

(And the Scottish Greens are a VERY unhappy party at the moment.)

There are other elements to consider too, of course, but we’ll take a look at those in January’s piece, because goodness knows we’re going to have to stretch out the few thin threads of anything approaching intrigue over the coming six months.

But as things stand, those projections from the site tally pretty precisely with what we’ve been telling you for most of the year, and reinforce the view that even if you think the SNP offer any sort of route to independence, voting for them on the list in 2026 is for idiots only.

0 to “Wishing for swans”

1. desimond says:

What constituency is voting Alba?, Kennys?

• Skip_NC says:

On those numbers, no constituency is voting Alba. The 1 and 2 represent the percentage share of the national vote, leaving Alba with no seats. Recent council by-elections do give some hope though. Hopefully that will be reflected in the national polls before too long.

2. Captain Caveman says:

Will be great to see Reform taking on the mantle of the official opposition in the Scottish Parliament. We can rely on them to (finally) ensure the SNP gets a rough ride and is called to account, especially on some of the crazy stuff.

Bring it on.

• mike cassidy says:

Until they realise they’re expected to do some work

Then most will resign

• Captain Caveman says:

Yeah, because the workrate of the SNP drones has been nothing short of magnificent…

• Southernbystander says:

And when they do try and do anything, it turns to chaos, not least because they keep fighting among themselves. Several examples now where they do have some power in local councils.

This is not surprising though when a party is based on creating division as a fundamental principle, is infested by ex NF and BNP racists and their leader is a patently nasty piece of work, a hypocrite and blatant liar.

But like Boris Johnson and Trump, Farage is also Teflon Man and little seems to touch him among his supporters, mainly due, I think, to the failures of mainstream politics. It will in the end though and if he gets to be PM, that is when simply brushing stuff off as lies (of the media) won’t wash any more.

This is why if at the next GE Reform get in, it really does matter how big a majority they do or do not get

• James says:

“…ensure the SNP gets a rough ride and is called to account, especially on some of the crazy stuff.”

For these Tories-on-stilts ‘crazy stuff’ means stuff like Free bus passes for the elderly, toll-free bridges, free prescritions, a free at point of use SNHS etc.
        Crazy, right enough.

I left the SNP in 2021 and will never vote for them again unless there is a proper clear out of the state agents.

However, any Scot considering voting for Fish-Face wants their fecking heid looked at.

3. Dan says:

Chortle out loud at still classing the SNP and Greens as being pro-indy…

• Nae Need! says:

Lolz, it’s a fkn BAD joke, isn’t it 😉

4. Andy Wiltshire says:

I know Your Party doesn’t actually have any policies, but what is their likely stance on independence for Scotland? And won’t that affect a lot of people’s likelihood of voting for it? Maybe it’ll be for indy in Scotland and against it down south. Or perhaps it will depend on whether you ask Leader 1, Leader 2, or the committee.

5. James T says:

D’Hondt is such a weird, complicated, counter-intuitive, incomprehensible electoral method. But I guess the system is working as intended. No wonder the parliament that actually governs the country is elected by FPTP!

6. 100%Yes says:

I still reckon they’ll be a upset for the SNP and Labour if Your party can its act together.

7. agentx says:

The stances of Your Party members for the Holyrood and Senedd elections next year will be decided democratically by members in each nation in the coming weeks, alongside the party’s structures in Scotland and Wales respectively.

• Tobias Hendry says:

I look at that list of parties and the only decision is whether I spoil my ballot paper or stay in the house.

• 100%Yes says:

You can do both, spoil you’re ballot paper and stay at home by having a postal vote.

• sarah says:

@ Tobias Hendry: that list doesn’t include the Liberate Scotland umbrella group. When/if everyone hears about Liberate Scotland, the mood of Yes voters will be lifted.

The Liberate Scotland gathering in Bannockburn on Friday had keen SNP and Alba members happy to give their votes to a grouping that is standing purely to restore independence AND restore direct democracy.

The problem for Liberate Scotland is the lack of publicity. Through a Scottish Prism on Barrhead Boy is the main source plus the Liberate Scotland facebook and website. More coverage is desperately needed so that the 2026 election can really make a difference.

• Aidan says:

What are the Liberate Scotland group currently polling at?

• Skip_NC says:

Aidan, Liberate is not showing up in polls yet. If they can get door-knockers I daresay they may get 1 or 2%. I gather they are standing in the constituencies so for those who really believe in independence there may be the option to vote Liberate and Alba. Those who want wish-washy devolution can vote SNP and see bugger all change.

8. agentx says:

“John Swinney, Scotland’s first minister, has called for Rachel Reeves to resign, saying the chancellor must “face the consequences” after she “quite clearly misled the public and the financial markets”.”
    —————————————–

Of course the SNP Government have never misled the public on anything whatsoever!

• Nae Need! says:

You’ve provided my FIRST guffaw of the BTL comments.
      You are right, AgentX.

The SNP & the Scottish Greens are a shower of unionist, maniacal, grooming, cowardly, venal horrors. Too busy modelling themselves on the worst excesses of Westminster to think of anything important to US!!!

9. Vote YP for a laugh says:

Unfortunately many SNP voters are slightly thick and will cast two votes SNP. However voting for Your Party sounds like a good way to rattle the establishment. Let’s all get behind Corbyn folks

• diabloandco says:

I suspect there are many thick voters in every party, throw in the disenchanted and the turnout could be minimal.

10. Michael P says:

I did not realise that the London Assembly building had changed – no doubt that did not come free. I think Your Party has missed its chance – being laughed at by everyone is political death.

• Cynicus says:

“…. the London Assembly building had changed…..”
      =======
      Thanks for that. I thought they still hung around in the glass testicle!!

11. Rob says:

Your Party are now doomed, which is a pity. They are a laughing stock already and if history has taught us anything lack of unity is yet another blow to getting elected.
    Tis a pity, I was hoping that they would remove the greens from the SP altogether. The only party I have more contempt for at the moment than the SNP are the greens.

12. factchecker says:

Sarah,
    Thank you for your reply to my last post, although it did not answer my question.

I see you are again in this thread claiming that ‘direct democracy’ played a part in the governance of Scotland in the pre-1707 version.

Could I again invite you to provide any example of this actually happening? there’s around 800 years of Scottish history to choose from.

Many thanks.

• Campbell Clansman says:

There never was any “Direct Democracy” in Scotland prior to 1707.
      For that matter, there was no “Democracy” in Scotland prior to 1707–at least, Democracy in the modern sense.

• James says:

“Factchecker” [lol]

Can you provide an example of when Scots last got ‘direct democracy’ post 1707?

Thanks.

• Captain Caveman says:

So the OP (let alone you) was unable to answer Factchecker’s reasonable question.
        Yeah. We’ll take that as a “no, Scotland did not, in fact, ever have ‘direct democracy’ at any time prior to 1707”.

Glad we cleared that up.

• Alf Baird says:

Scots have suffered from ‘direct rule’, which is ‘colonialism’, since 1707.

Why do you think we want independence, which is decolonisation?

• Hatey McHateface says:

If Scots want independence, why do you think we vote for politicians and parties with solid track records of not delivering it?

13. agentx says:

“Margaret Gribbon, Ms Peggie’s solicitor, confirmed on Monday that three further legal claims have been submitted against NHS Fife, its Chief Executive Carol Potter and Director of People and Culture, David Miller.”
    ———————————————

Good – hold them all to account.

14. Effijy says:

Can’t believe someone wants the new English Quasinazi Party, reform to do well.
    Nigel who used the Billionaires money to lie through his teeth about Brexit benefits and £350 million per week for the NHS.
    One of the all time greatest cons keeping the rich richer.
    Also promised to cut Scotland’s budget to encourage England to vote him in.

• Connor says:

Mmm wasn’t it Boris who promoted those things on the side of his “battle bus” when he became the front man Effijy, not so sure it was Farage, and it’s the main stream party’s who are saying “things need to change” well Reform is that change especially in england, always know what you wish for because you just might get it

• Hatey McHateface says:

Ooo, Nazi.

English tae.

Gonnay no vote for them, now you have explained why I shouldn’t.

Feck, I didn’t notice Brexit until now.

Gonnay even less vote for them.

Here! Do you think if Nige cuts Scotland’s budget, that would galvanise Scots to demand (and vote for) Indy?

Or do you think that personally losing a few miserable quid a week would be far too steep a price to ever pay? Scotland should stay in the union until you’re deid, just so long as the cash keeps rolling in to fund your leisured lifestyle that includes greeting on here.

It’s the latter one, isn’t it!

15. agentx says:

“sarah says:
    When/if everyone hears about Liberate Scotland, the mood of Yes voters will be lifted. ”
    ——————————————

Who is the Liberate Scotland candidate for Dumbarton please?

• sarah says:

@ agentx: I found a list of 21 candidates on Liberate Scotland’s facebook in a post dated 25th August. Dumbarton constituency wasn’t listed. But you could volunteer, perhaps…

• agentx says:

Thanks – but ……..

• factchecker says:

Sarah,
        Thank you for your reply to my last post, although it did not answer my question.

So, at the third time of asking.

I see you are again in this thread claiming that ‘direct democracy’ played a part in the governance of Scotland in the pre-1707 version.

Could I yet again invite you to provide any example of this actually happening? there’s around 800 years of Scottish history for you to choose from.

If you can’t think of one, perhaps it would be a good idea to stop peddling the myth.

If you can, I will be happy to acknowledge it.

16. Chris Downie says:

Good article, which makes Craig Murray’s insistence on joining Comrade Corbyn’s Workers Liberation Revolutionary Party of Soviet Britakistan baffling. What’s even more baffling to me is his belief they will be open to Scottish independence in the near future. Unless I’m missing something, Corbyn is still a selective Unionist, in other words one of many UK politicians who openly support a United Ireland, but vehemently oppose an independent Scotland. Even if he relinquishes control as indicated, I find it almost impossible to fathom the party suddenly advocating the break-up of the UK.

• Hatey McHateface says:

What’s baffling about it?

There’s far more grift in the ever-increasing and ever-strengthening Muslim vote than in the flat-lined Indy vote.

And with upwards of 4 million Muslims in the UK, and more arriving every week, there will soon be more Muslims than Scots too.

They say demographics is destiny. To a politician, demographics is also food on the table, a roof over the head, surplus spending money, and a long and comfortable retirement.

17. Mark Beggan says:

Welcome to Scotland
    Remember and wear your stab vest.

18. Al-Stuart says:

Hi Stuart,

I just read your wee stalker pal… Jimmy Kelly’s Scot-Goes-On-Holiday durge in the hope he might actually start writing something well researched and interesting. Akin ro what appears on Wings-Over-Scotland today and this highly informative and genuinely interesting “Wishing For Swans” article.

Nae prizes for what Crowdfunder addict, Jimmy Pay-My-Holiday has written about.

Politics? Nope.

Opinion Polls? Nope?

To do what wee Jimmy states his next £600 fundraiser is for… “to keep the Blog afloat.” Nope.

Well Kelly does admit to spending a chunk of the £6,000 cash he fundraised for polls on himself instead, so he could go on “refreshing holidays” which is NOT what he said to donors as to why he was raising funds. Though that conduct is so SNP Operation Twigform of Jimmy! Raise money for one thing and buy a holiday bus or cut price holiday with donors money when they did NOT donate for holiday videos. Jimmy Kelly is copying the big boys and girls and pronouns at Gordons Entry Grifter HQ.

For such a self-ego-massaging tower of intellect, and one of the “top read” Scottish political websites, Crowdfunder-Jimmy just does not get it.

People will NOT pay to read self-pitying grievance victim guff, where the author goes on and on and on about the nasty people who chucked him out of the SNP. Then moans for miles about how Alba dumped him. Now he creeps back to the SNP and wonders why he is less popular than a skunk at a picnic.

Mr Kelly, when you made your ad hominem attacks on anyone who upset you, don’t flounce off when readers start questioning your fundraising words and audit them to your expenditure of those funds. Honesty is like pregnancy insofar as “Ye cannle get a little bit pregnant.” You are either an honest politician, or not. Same goes for journalistic integrity.

Jimmy ya dunce, the psephological genius that you THINK you are is delusional. So for the sake of your own sanity; work out why you cannae raise £3 an hour on Griftfunder for the pi5h you write?

(a). Might your funding failure be because you are frequently wrong?

(b). Your political revenge site where all you now do is moan about everyone whin you perceive has wringed your ego, may be just plain BORING?

Jimmy La Grift, please do all 6 of your “anonymous” BTL commentators a favour… understand that the Holyrood gravy train has left your platform and you have zero chance of ever becoming an SNP MSP with a place on that juicy SNP money tree.

Jimmy, go get a job you are good at. You are every inch, the stature of a proper school janitor. Jimmy-the-Janny. Perhaps practice for that job by wafting some cleaning products on the dust infested bourach behind your Youtube comedy gold, direct from Clarty-Kelly’s-Midden-HQ.

Alternatively, if you still want to hitch your income stream to someone… anyone’s gravy train, I think Harry and Megan are looking for a suave, Sean Connery dopple ganger to write about their political successes.

Jimmy, if your writing was any good, then good people would have helped you raise funds.

Just look at the guy you stalk: Stuart Campbell. He has raised hundreds of thousands of pounds? Why? Because he has the intellect to study politics and can do his research. People put funds across to Wings Over Scotland because it is interesting and well written.

Take a hint Jimmy. Your Scot-Has-Gone-Phut website’s turgid diatribe is like eating stale squirrel turds. Your Youtube efforts are hellish cringeworthy… “Stew, make mine a double.” Seriously? All your fake head wobble/bad acting does is gie us the boak.

Jimmy, it is a harsh fact of life: your output is not valued. Literally of no value.

Stop using the precious hours of your life and thieving the oxygen out of our lives. Pull the plug. Put that putrid prose you shovel onto the manure heap of history and gallop off into the sunset..

If ever the auld Scots saying was more appropriate, it suits you…

Jimmy, “don’t let the door hit your ‘erse on the way out.”

19. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

DE VALERA SAN FHÁSACH (De Valera in the Wilderness)

Of relevance not least to women is this excellent 2-part dramatised TG4 documentary on Éamon de Valera’s role in Irish independence. Central to it is the role of many superb women who supported de Valera, but who were eventually politically betrayed by him. Such aspirational hope and unbearable disappointment. A story of Irish tragedy on so many levels. (Contributors use English and Irish – activate English subtitles via white rectangle at bottom right of screen).

DE VALERA SAN FHÁSACH (PART 1)

The first episode in this history features the political life of De Valera during the years 1924 to 1926. De Valera was in prison in 1924. Bereft of power and at a low ebb, he got support from a group of women who had taken part in the Easter Rising and the War for Freedom. These women again sided with De Valera when the Anglo-American Accord was signed by Collins.

link to tg4.ie
    _________
    DE VALERA SAN FHÁSACH (PART 2)

We see De Valera’s unprecedented political comeback in this second installment. He founds the Fianna Fáil party and somehow finally accepts the Oath of Allegience to the British monarch. The key women who had previously supported De Valera now sadly witness the country departing from the Declaration of 1916, traditional Catholic Church morality being imposed, and the role of women in politics being marginalised.

link to tg4.ie

20. Connor says:

Not much point trying to comment on the scot goes pop site, unless

you agree with his diatribe about ‘wings’ and if you try to write

something that disagrees with it then it is censored and will not

appear on his site

He doesn’t like to be disagreed with, no doubt why he fell out

with everyone in snp then everyone in Alba now everyone in snp

again ? that and wings is all he’s got to write about, it puts

folk off but he cant see it, sadly

21. Geoff Anderson says:

Young girls being mutilated for a culture. (Female Genital Mutilation)
    Over 1200 cases in Glasgow alone. What is the UK figure?
    Have the SG reviewed this data?

link to archive.ph

• Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

“Young girls being mutilated for a culture …. Have the SG reviewed this data?”
      —————
      Genital mutilation? One might with dark irony refer you back to the previous WINGS article:

THE GROOMER’S FRIENDS

link to wingsoverscotland.com

22. JScott says:

Not looking great for Alba is it ?
    After an initial promising start , it now looks like the SNP but just a bit different.
    Still my membership will continue for another year.

23. Mark Beggan says:

Why is Sturgeon attacking her most devoted cult followers?
    Is there a growth in young Right Wing support or is Humza telling the truth for once?

24. agentx says:

Sturgeon – The former First Minister told an audience in London that “if I’m honest, if I look round the Scottish Parliament right now, I can’t say with any certainty that there will be another female leader any time soon”.
    ——————————————-

She’d have to turn up at Parliament to have a look round!

25. Nae Need! says:

One of the worst things that can happen for the cause of Scotland regaining her status as a self-governing territory, is another SNP win.

The cruel IRONY is NEVER lost on me.

Stu’s nudge in this article (I hope I’m not heavy tripping in thinking this) towards voting for YOUR PARTY may be something for us to consider. Get them up to 8% or more. They knock out an easy SNP, SGs power sharing majority (of Unionists pretending to be the opposite).

Hmm, personally I’m sick to death of folk pretending to be the opposite of what they are.

• Nae Need! says:

And I should add that I think YOUR PARTY is utterly insane.
      But, if they can/could potentially knock out our cuckoos from the Holyrood nest, then why not vote for them?

I’m just running ideas up the flag pole.

• sarah says:

Nae Need!: why not vote for Liberate Scotland umbrella candidates? They stand for Independence, Nothing Less AND for restoring the principles of direct democracy.

For the life of me, I cannot understand why all the pro-independence sites aren’t supporting the Liberate Scotland initiative.

Their candidates can’t be as bad as many of the SNP’s and will at least not be in it for the gravy train. And some of them we already know to be intelligent and principled.

The Rev has written frequently about the need to vote for different parties on the 2 ballots. So at least 1 vote could, and should, be for Liberate candidates.

Nor do I understand why Alba don’t come under the umbrella. They show no signs of their support ballooning so what have they to lose by joining?

• Nae Need! says:

I may be wrong, Sarah, but in the shortish term I think it’s more important to get rid of the one big obstacle, the hulking and rotting monolith squatting in Holyrood . . . Stu devotes his energy to undertaking this task . . . we must bring in the wrecking ball, the demolition squad, we must create a vacuum before we can fill it with positive forces. Build upwards from the ruins.

Alba are, asides from internal squabbling, intent on electioneering, not at all interested just now in the constitutional issue. They will never come under your umbrella cos they have modeled themselves on the SNP and have therefore got unionism (they defer power to WM) in their DNA from the get go. It’s sad, but it’s true.

I already follow Liberate Scotland, Liberation Scotland, ISP, Salvo, PRISM, SCG, Common Weal etc . . . everyone who is worthwhile, basically. So many talented people working towards a point in time, a point in time when Scotland might vote to regain her Self-Governing status.

I doubt it will happen in my life time, but I HOPE it will.

• Aidan says:

@NaeNeed – the best choice (admitting that there are no good choices) for any independence supporter is probably to vote against the SNP on the constituency ballot, and then probably ALBA on the list.

The “Liberate” umbrella group could have been a good choice for the list (assuming they’ll even stand for the list) but given they’ve undertaken no serious campaigning and don’t appear to have any plans to start it’s a complete wasted vote.

• factchecker says:

Sarah, if you keep talking. about the ‘direct democracy’ myth when you cannot provide any example of it ever happening despite repeated requests, why should we believe anything else you say?

26. David Holden says:

Politics this side of the pond is a bit dull at the moment so I have been watching what is happening in the USA. While we have an iffy camper van they have potential war crimes and corruption on a scale that would make even Farage blush if reptiles are capable of that emotion. Any Indy supporter who is considering voting Reform or Your Party would be better staying at home and donating to WGD or voting SNP. As our cousins in the USA have taken to the equivalent of bayonetting the wounded after an air strike on a boat I hope that little scamp Farage is not given a chance to emulate his man crush Donald Trump.

• Nae Need says:

WE have actually participated in war crimes, thanks to being under the WM rule.
      Everything they decide to do, we are dragged into it.
      I FEEL only gut wrenching disgust and dismay.
      I THINK we should be a self governing territory, and the reasons for why we are not: We are a very tightly clasped colony and our so called Nationalist Party are in fact unionists.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Look at you, with your participating in war crimes.

If that’s your view, turn yourself in. Insist on serving the maximum sentence.

DH comes across as the virtue signalling type who would prefer to see a hundred of his fellow citizens dead through drug abuse and related violence than compromise on the due processing of one criminal.

President Trump is made of different stuff. Upwards of 100,000 US citizens succumb to drug-related deaths every year, with little pushback until now.

It’s long overdue for some restitution.

27. Nae Need! says:

And while I’m on a rant lol 😉

I NO LONGER like to see/hear the word ‘indy’ nor the word ‘independence’.

Those words have been bastardised.
    Through misuse and the treachery of our so-called Nationalist Party. The SNP saying one thing, whilst meaning something else entirely. Weasel words and misdirection for over a decade have eroded fundamental meaning of words.

Ring any bells?

Men are women, women are men . . . the Scottish government have FORM on all this insidious NONsense.

Our country requires a democratic vote on its own constitutional issue. Getting to that vote will NOT be easily achieved. And it most certainly WONT be achieved through the status quo.

28. Iain More says:

Meanwhile the Sassanachs and their lickspittle poodles are increasing our Lecky prices again in January.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Our leccy, Iain?

What have you got then, a turbine, an array of solar panels, or maybe a wee dam in the Ochils?

Let me guess. You’ve got a feed from the grid into your house, and you have to pay for a bit of somebody else’s leccy, just like every other consumer in Scotland.

29. sarah says:

@ Nae Need! at 8.27: we are on the same pages, I see!

But I think that replacing SNP with MSPs who actually understand our constitution, its legal status, and are desperate to restore it, is the best way to help. Not replace SNP by Unionists.

It is do-able in May 2026 IF the word is spread.

30. The Soft NO says:

I think you are VERY wrong about the greens

The media in Scotland both traditional and social media is dominated by English voices

this isn’t because the English hate scotland but because simple numbers 60 million English 6 million Scots

With that in mind I’ll point out that the English greens are expanding hugely

So this will give the Scottish Greens loads of votes

And seeing that the greens basically run the SNP

We are going to see more green lunacy in holyrood

31. willie says:

Reform are an right wing British Unionist party cresting on an anti immigrant anti foreigner sentiment.

Not at all different from the anti EU anti European sentiment that caught on down south and caused us to leave the EU with disastrous economic consequences.

Not quite the Great British Golden age with an NHS bus moreover returning weekly with tens of millions of NHS cash. And not quite the golden economy either. And the man who very much fronted that campaign, now heads Reform, a party that is committed to US style corporate privatisation of the NHS, now feeds the resentment sentiment again.

The right wing corporate elites and the right wing press certainly know how to play the resentment card. But this time it appears to have caught a bit of the Scottish public this time. of course there are many gullible Scots who like their southern cousins. Hating someone, or a group, is a tried and tested strategy the world over.

Of course anyone thinking about things logically would see through the manipulation, but we also have to add to the sorry mess the part that our corrupted woke SNP play is feeding disenchantment. Soon, like Labour, the SNP are going to reap the electoral haircut that Labour and the Tories sustained in Scotland.

A perfectly engineered storm really. A multiplicity of parties in a pretend colonial parliament designed not allow for any party to form a majority.

Yes Reform an even more right wing unionist Tory party collecting votes on the immigrant disenchantment wave here in Bonnie Scotland.

32. Colin Alexander says:

The principles of self-determination, democracy and the principle of sovereignty of the common people.

I find it very hard to reconcile voting for someone who says they share these values but, when elected, will swear fealty to the English Crown / King Charles III, so they can collect a salary for exercising English Crown in Westminster sovereignty.

33. James Cheyne says:

There has to be a better demographic all round Scotland candiates coverage standing, before they will make a dent in Scotlands political scene for 2026.
    Most areas are left wanting of a suitable representative vote. The parties have to supply them before we could vote for them,
    And considering Scotlands being chasing independence for so long I am completely baffled why there are not ample more candidates or parties on the go that have stayed the distance of time,

Then again higher politicians political parties can be bought just like in 1705/ 1706/ 1707. Scotlands upper echelons have a habit of selling Scotlands people like slaves in a sale down the river. that runs south.
    Centuries later the parties that sit in the illegal second parliament of GB legislated by Westminster
    In the Scotland act repeat history.

As a suggestion of democracy perhaps it is wiser to have a peoples parliament of ones own in Scotland. A little bit more accountable by and to the people.
    For as long as the situation remains as it is, those in that parliament rely on being paid from sources outwith Scotland,
    No different than arrangements centuries ago,
    Scottish people Sold to the highest bidders.

And when did Scotland people get a vote to join in a union?
    I believe that they decided not to ask the Scots because the Scots would probably vote No,….see, ( history, parliament UK ).

34. James Cheyne says:

The descendants of Her body Sophia Electress Duchess of Hanover.
    When did that Hanoverian dynasty end?

35. James Cheyne says:

If the two kingdoms of Scotland and England ceased to exist when one united kingdom was created,
    Then The settled crown of England also ceased to exist.

36. James Cheyne says:

If the kingdom of England did not cease and the parliament of England did not cease, then the union does not Exist in and as united kingdom.
    Unless Scotland also retains its kingdom monarch of Scotland and the union was solely a parliamentary union for the purpose of trade and commerce.

• Confused says:

detailed, clear – read it and weep

link to archive.ph

– pure bait and switch; you were conned and the sad thing was that our constitutional procedures were setup to prevent such shenanigans, but when your ruling class are tr4itors, nothing will stop it. Also note – it was England that had “money troubles”, its debt levels were in the shitter (as they are today)

• James says:

Come on now, you should know better; that’s all just ancient guff (like [hushed tones] “Magna Carta”) which no longer applies and must never be mentioned on Wings over Fish Face.

37. James Cheyne says:

The point is that the Scottish voting system, the branch parliament in Scotland, the MSPs, And the monarch that is settled in a kingdom of England that supposedly no longer exists. Are not scottish peoples choices,
    If you or I are hanging on to the treaty of parliamentary union, then surely we also should be able to use it and all the articles, pre- terms and conditions that apply in the same manner that is done by the other half of union, while it has a existence in Scotland,
    There should always be a plan (b) or a alternative set of back up plans in Scotland. One phase or plan at a time does not work and has never worked.

It is important to consider these issue for the benefit of all Scots with our rights being removed by Westminster and holyrood parliament without the authority to do so, as some of these pre-terms, conditions and articles favour Scotland and are subject to not being alterable or repealed if the treaty of union is as sound as Westminster parliament claim.
    They should be put to the test. By the people in Scotland, and one of the first tests is the article on Private rights,
    when it deals with ID cards in Scotland,
    Banks,
    Data collection,
    Gender issues,
    Education,
    JURIES ,Scottish law, and Scottish courts.
    FEAR, ( Fraud, Error, And Recovery ) passed in 2025.
    Discrimination,
    Hate Crime of Words,
    All these topics can be covered by “Private Rights for the evident utility of the Subjects of Scotland”

Not for use by the parliament of Scotland, not for use by the Westminster parliament,
    But for the subjects ( people ) of Scotland.
    And Public rights of government bodies cannot overrule them as they are entrenched into the treaty of union as unalterable Private Rights of the Scots,
    So in the near future with the down turn of Britain and the union in general it may be wise to re-think the treaty of union as a temporary asset to test for Scotland.

38. Confused says:

link to archive.ph

the gruadnian has unearthed damaging footage of Farage from his schooldays; seen here in full uniform with his music teacher

meanwhile …

I thought this was a spoof about tribalist finagling

link to archive.ph

– but it’s real; check the name on this fucker, you don’t need to check the early life.

Laffed when the cops took his fingerprints in case he did it himself; because it never happens … actually, there is an internet meme about this “hey rabbi, whatcha doin … ” (and a jewish stereotype is shown spray painting a swastika on a synagogue.)

Okay, ban the swastika, then ban every Mel Brooks film, and every hollywood movie made by jews, about nazis … see what happens.

39. James Cheyne says:

The question is do Scots as subjects of Scotland have a Private Right to Self Determination, to determine whom governs them and could they vote on it without the public body of government insisting that it has to go through them, and wreck the treaty of unions entrenched unalterable article XV111.

40. James Cheyne says:

Confused.

That was not the only time that part of the treaty of union disappeared,
    The other time was due to Englands error.

The treaty was signed in 1706 by England,
    The treaty was signed in 1707 by Scotland.

Calendar was changed in England in 1752 to bring it in line with Scotland,
    This meant that more than a week was p lost in Englands side of the treaty.
    Just because they changed their minds and illegally back tracked on dates signed on the treaty of union does not make the treaty dates legal in reality.

41. James Cheyne says:

England changed its Calendar to match Scotlands in 1752.

• Insider says:

How about changing YOUR bloody calendar as well !
      This is the 21st century ! NOT the 18th !

42. sarah says:

For those who would like to know what Scotland’s Constitution was – and how it operated in practice – read the documents on the Salvo.scot site. You can also listen to Sara Salyers many talks on the subject – on youtube and the Salvo facebook.

• Campbell Clansman says:

For those who would like to enter the world of imagined “constitutions,” nonexistent “direct democracy,” or listen to historical nonsense, by all means visit the sites mentioned.
      And be prepared to laugh.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Wheesht, CC.

Back in the day, there was Direct Democracy for every titled land owner and every high heid yin in the church (obviously they had to be of the correct religious “variant”).

Heck, there may even have been DD for one or two women as well, if they were related to some sufficiently important aristocrat.

• James says:

Oh look; Tory Clansman, another Yoon “name” reactivated.

Just what we need on here. Yet more Yoons.

43. James Cheyne says:

I think we should put the so called union the test, cos I am sure it will fail, and the rest of the countries will witness a lie about the union in real time.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,853 Posts, 1,232,363 Comments

• Insider on The Idiot Rodeo: “Please, please post MORE !Dec 14, 16:33
    • 100%Yes on The Idiot Rodeo: “The SNP has spent 90yrs fighting for Independence and replaced it with trans rights. Just take a look at what…Dec 14, 16:15
    • 100%Yes on The Idiot Rodeo: “The tickets to the Idiot Rodeo Championship go on sale on Thursday 7 May 2026, it’ll be worth watching.Dec 14, 16:07
    • 100%Yes on The Idiot Rodeo: “But it was posted in the Sunday mail it has to be true! If the SNP had shown as much…Dec 14, 16:02
    • Sven on The Idiot Rodeo: “Alison @ 14.50. Jig away, Alison, as far as I’m concerned SNP and Scottish Independence are a contradiction in terms.Dec 14, 15:26
    • James on How Far To Go, How Far: “22% turnout. Some ‘victory’. Dinnae pish yer breeks too soon, Yoons.Dec 14, 15:01
    • Alison on The Idiot Rodeo: “I’m so fed up with this constant obfuscation & prevarication. This issue will bury the SNP & when it does,…Dec 14, 14:50
    • Stuart MacKay on The Idiot Rodeo: “> half-witted cowboys There you go again. Discriminating against horses based just on their appearance. The piece from Out For…Dec 14, 14:50
    • Young Lochinvar on The Idiot Rodeo: “Yippee kayae! Holyrood; full of steers and queers. SNPs National Council? I don’t see any horns there so I guess…Dec 14, 14:50
    • shug on The Idiot Rodeo: “It looks like the UK gov is holding back on their guidance to let the Scottish Gov make a complete…Dec 14, 14:43
    • Marie on The Idiot Rodeo: “I’m so glad that even as a bitterly disappointed “Yes” voter I still decided NOT to give the repugnant SNP…Dec 14, 14:42
    • Billy Carlin on The Idiot Rodeo: “Hi Stu They have got to keep their agenda going while keeping people steered away from what is really going…Dec 14, 14:42
    • Ronnie on The Idiot Rodeo: “This is getting ridiculous.Dec 14, 14:42
    • Effijy on The Idiot Rodeo: “Now if I ran a political party and the most popular political web site called me a liar I would…Dec 14, 14:35
    • Young Lochinvar on How Far To Go, How Far: “Will LGBT YOOF Scotland be included in the grooming gangs probe? Add in the train activists demonstrating so that they…Dec 14, 13:49
    • Hatey McHateface on How Far To Go, How Far: “Please first clarify signed by who. Or should that be whom? £40 is a fair price, though. Elvis charged me…Dec 14, 13:32
    • Cynicus on How Far To Go, How Far: “You can get 16 /1to 17 /1 against 0-0 online It might be worth a punt at such long odds.…Dec 14, 13:07
    • Mark Beggan on How Far To Go, How Far: “Hero worship is a male pursuit. Stalking is against the law now Hatey. I can get you a signed photo…Dec 14, 13:02
    • Hatey McHateface on How Far To Go, How Far: “Sandy Peggie is brave, committed, a nurse, a household name, and a popular Scottish champion for common sense and against…Dec 14, 12:15
    • Hatey McHateface on How Far To Go, How Far: “@Lorncal Thanks for your reply. Purely to be mischievous, and not because I want a rammie, I’m going to point…Dec 14, 12:08
    • James Cheyne on How Far To Go, How Far: “Sven, Thank you, Indeed been a long road, for quite A while, and you are right to state it would…Dec 14, 12:02
    • Geoff Anderson on How Far To Go, How Far: “https://x.com/ForWomenScot/status/2000165676158521801?s=20Dec 14, 11:58
    • Northcode on How Far To Go, How Far: ““Sitting at home, greeting and whining, eternally calling for somebody else that isn’t them to do something.” Well… it works…Dec 14, 11:53
    • Geoff Anderson on How Far To Go, How Far: “https://www.thetimes.com/article/608d90b4-6587-4f44-b942-e82bc49fa071?shareToken=5ced42e537780e7f15138ba275944069Dec 14, 11:44
    • Bilbo on How Far To Go, How Far: “I see that Moinbot has published an article in the Guardian the other day concerning immigration. I’m not linking it…Dec 14, 11:37
    • Hatey McHateface on How Far To Go, How Far: “It’s the work of literally seconds to discover that public spending per head in Scotland exceeds that in England and…Dec 14, 11:22
    • aLurker on How Far To Go, How Far: “I visit here a lot less often than I used to, but nevertheless I have appreciated your contributions greatly over…Dec 14, 10:31
    • Northcode on How Far To Go, How Far: “Alf Baird posted an excellent (I think so, anyway… and that’s all that really matters) comment yesterday. I feel it’s…Dec 14, 10:12
    • diabloandco on How Far To Go, How Far: “Moi aussi Madame Cheyne!Dec 14, 09:10
    • Mark Beggan on How Far To Go, How Far: “Even money that judge will be allowed to crawl away without facing the consequences of his actions. Due to the…Dec 14, 08:27