Why I could never vote Labour

Posted on April 12, 2011 by

Pictured below: Shadow Chancellor Ed Balls and the leader of Labour's MSPs in the Scottish Parliament, Iain Gray, at a campaign event earlier this week.

Have you spotted it?

0 to “Why I could never vote Labour”

1. Dr Octagon says:

at least it's honest.

2. Tom Feilding says:

Spotted what?

And what happened on Sat?

3. Scarysheep3000 says:

Man, you really hate diet soft drinks.

4. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

"And what happened on Sat?"

Busted out the first time I got my chips in with the worst hand (K4c shove called by A9o, 4 hit but then the 9 did), in 37th place. Didn’t have a single hand over 1 pair all day.

5. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

"Man, you really hate diet soft drinks."

They're all right if you're a girl or a homosexualist. If you’re a straight man who isn’t diabetic and you’re drinking Diet Coke, I wouldn’t trust you to hold my wallet while I sneezed, never mind run a country.

6. Matt Smith says:

Worse still is Coke Zero. Those who claim that wretched drink possesses "Real Coke Taste" (clearly implying that it tastes the same as real proper sugarfied Coke without actually saying that, for obvious trading standards reasons) are in dire need of a high-velocity knee to the ghastliness.

7. Anonymous X says:

I've been on a sugary drinks binge today following an encounter with norovirus, and I swear that regular Coca-Cola has gives you a 'kick' that Pepsi doesn't. Pepsi is just watery, sugary, it has none of the edge. And it seems to be either too carbonated or flat seconds after opening the bottle. Pepsi is basically own-brand cola with a marketing budget.

8. daneel says:

In fairness, Ed doesn't look like he actually has his mouth open.

9. The problem, obviously, is that they're both drinking from tiny soda bottles.  Real American Men drink from large, enormous, kidney-bursting Mega Super Ultra Gulps!!1!
    Aside from the fact that they're politicians who look like they're cloned from a factory, that's all I got.  Do I win a prize?

10. Darren says:

I've spotted it, yeah.  They're at The Haçienda.

11. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

Arf!

12. aerisdead says:

Wait, what we were supposed to spot was that they're drinking diet? I thought it was that they're obviously not drinking it, instead holding it to their lips. I thought this was a commentary on how false Labour are. Confused now.

13. Irish Al says:

And they’re really tiny little bottles.

14. Captain Caveman says:

I didn't think the anomaly was their selected beverage; my money was on their apparently being somewhere industrial, given that when these people were in charge of the Country, they destroyed most of it?
    Perhaps it's a 'post industrial' call centre or nationalised bank branch or something. Frankly, I'm only surprised that the aptly named Messrs. Gray/Balls didn't reverse their caps in a crass attempt to get down with the (unemployed, unemployable, uneducated) kids.

15. No Name says:

I vote for the fuchsia baseball caps. As well as everything mentioned above.

16. Dr Octagon says:

I thought it was the blue tie !

17. Tom K. says:

It’s as simple as this:

They look like a pair of prats.

18. Nitpicker says:

They were wearing coke-branded caps which were hastily photoshopped by the Labour PR team?

19. Rory says:

Is it not more the fact that it isnae made in Scotland fae girders?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,968 Posts, 1,249,129 Comments

• And Spouse on Before Action: “What is the chance that there might be a long game here. If they, SNP, can summon up the money…Aug 21, 14:21
    • Confused on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “arday got the martyr’s death alright – he also fills a more pagan role; the “fool”, the “king for a…Aug 21, 14:18
    • Mark Beggan on Before Action: “I understand that Sarah but to ride a bike you must first posses one then you need to learn how…Aug 21, 14:15
    • Confused on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “incoherent as usual, main. I think you are in “must have a dig, because”- mode. do you have some perverse…Aug 21, 14:13
    • Mark Beggan on Before Action: “Woke ideology! As you say it is a concept, nothing more. It has no foundation or academic relevance. Professor Alf…Aug 21, 14:03
    • Confused on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “that was a fucking zinger – you should get your own slot on C4, or HIGNFY you’re yet another fucking…Aug 21, 14:01
    • Hatey McHateface on Before Action: “Relax and don’t worry. It’ll pass.Aug 21, 13:48
    • Captain Caveman on Before Action: “”You choose to ignore the content of just about EVERY article that Stu writes. Instead you continue to focus on…Aug 21, 13:41
    • Garavelli Princip on Before Action: “I find myself in the extremely unusual position of agreeing entirely with Hatey!Aug 21, 13:32
    • Chas on Before Action: “Absolute shite Alf…… as usual. I am amazed that all the faults, incompetence,sleekitness in Scotland are ALWAYS the fault of…Aug 21, 13:02
    • Hatey McHateface on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “@Southernbystander Not the least of the terrible evils of DEI is the niggling doubt, every time one encounters a burocrat…Aug 21, 12:59
    • Hatey McHateface on Before Action: “Naw, sarah, Alf is wrong. A simple majority of MSPs at HR passing a vote of No Confidence is all…Aug 21, 12:36
    • 100%Yes on Before Action: “Who are you calling the “establishment” if you mean the SNP or Scottish government then say it.Aug 21, 12:32
    • Douglas on Before Action: “Excellent response to an apparently deaf, dumb and blind organization which, in my view, is shaming Scotland. A crowd funder…Aug 21, 12:28
    • lothianlad on Before Action: “Thank you Stu for your persistance They know that the truth will expose their crimes fully. We know that sturgeon…Aug 21, 12:28
    • Anne Cowling on Before Action: “A faint cry goes up from the constabulary, ‘why isn’t this working….?’ Send up the bat signal when you start…Aug 21, 12:20
    • Hatey McHateface on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “There’s something about seeing multiple examples of Alf’s “former colonised peoples” hanging about on street corners, in pedestrian precincts, and…Aug 21, 12:19
    • Campbell Clansman on Before Action: “Spend more money on lawyers, who’ll send another demand to the government, a demand that will again be ignored? A…Aug 21, 12:13
    • sarah on Before Action: “You are correct, Alf. The Scottish establishment will always kowtow to Westminster until we manage to get out from under…Aug 21, 12:10
    • Hatey McHateface on Before Action: “That’s certainly an innovative technique for dealing with those SNP luminaries who have gone on record to state they don’t…Aug 21, 12:01
    • Captain Caveman on Before Action: “Brilliant, great news. If and when a fundraiser becomes necessary, I’ll be more than happy to chuck some quids into…Aug 21, 11:58
    • Alf Baird on Before Action: ““In the name of justice, transparency and accountability, we will continue trying to expose what all of them are united…Aug 21, 11:52
    • Nicky T Naquetti on Before Action: “Kick them in the nuts. Let’s see if they have any – or if they are simply neutered pets for…Aug 21, 11:36
    • Just Asking on Before Action: “I have a question which perhaps one of your readers could answer. Suppose a large, household-name national charity launched an…Aug 21, 11:36
    • Alf Baird on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: ““Great Scot, it is embarrassing to be British!” Indeed it is, not least because many ‘peoples’ now understand that ‘to…Aug 21, 11:36
    • Northcode on Before Action: “It’s not about the money, it’s about the principle… plus interest.Aug 21, 11:35
    • Ronnie on Before Action: “Rev, when does the 3 month clock start ticking?Aug 21, 11:34
    • Jay on Before Action: “Mark Beggan comment @ 9:32 maybe attempts to start in-fighting in this ‘thread’.. Mark, if the objective of Independence for…Aug 21, 11:25
    • ALANM on Before Action: “The fact that money was solicited from and donated by individuals who were not party members is perhaps the most…Aug 21, 11:13
    • Jay on Before Action: “Mr.n Beggan, do you want Independence for Scotland?Aug 21, 11:08