Too poor for Europe

Posted on November 09, 2011 by

The Scotsman's lead politics story today is a fairly bog-standard run through the "too wee, too poor, too stupid" routine. The line is that if Scotland was independent AND in the Euro it would be liable for an £8bn contribution to the Euro bailout fund. It's an assumption constructed entirely from individual building-blocks of nonsense piled up on top of one another (Scotland isn't going to be independent for four or five years at least, and nobody knows what the status of the Eurozone is going to be four or five days from now, never mind half a decade; the SNP have clearly stated that their policy on independence would be to retain Sterling for an inspecified period of time; the issue of whether an independent Scotland would be an EU member at all, and on what terms, is contentious to put it mildly; and so on), and indeed below the thunderous headline the piece grudgingly acknowledges them, but we should probably expect the Scotsman to keep banging away at the issue of Scotland's pathetic inadequacy as a prospective nation every day or two from now until the referendum.

Subscribe
Notify of

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Stats: 6,698 Posts, 1,210,605 Comments

• Geri on Freedom of choice: “That’s because they did. They love playing the sectarian card & arming warring factions & are still playing it today…Jan 30, 01:03
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on Freedom of choice: “Bill Rolston:IRELAND, COLONIALISM AND THE UNFINISHED BUSINESS (Vimeo, 2021) ———— Book Overview: ‘Ireland, Colonialism and the Unfinished Revolution’ by Robbie…Jan 30, 00:30
    • Geri on Freedom of choice: “‘Its not clear whether Big Lugs supported efforts to find another name’ He talks to plants & wishes he was…Jan 30, 00:20
    • Geri on Freedom of choice: “Gave a reply but it’s flown to moderation. I dunno why. Anyway, in short, it was a sticking plaster to…Jan 29, 23:55
    • gregor on Freedom of choice: “Elon Musk: “Woke James Bond”: https://x.com/elonmusk/status/1884639941046436323 #Mi6issy #QJan 29, 23:54
    • James Gardner on Freedom of choice: “RESPECT !Jan 29, 23:44
    • James Gardner on Freedom of choice: “I liked Charles Kennedy..Jan 29, 23:24
    • Geri on Freedom of choice: “Do you remember all the dumb brexshiteers crawing the EU was stealing their Sovereignty & they were going to build…Jan 29, 22:59
    • Oneliner on Freedom of choice: “And the Bengal famine killed how many?Jan 29, 22:51
    • Oneliner on Freedom of choice: “OK we’ll call it the colonial Scottish colonial imperative You confuse Pakistan with India – I suppose you think that…Jan 29, 22:50
    • Vivian O’Blivion on Freedom of choice: “Seven Scottish sub-samples available for Westminster voting intention in last ten days. Total sample population 1,054. Average results: Con 12.7%,…Jan 29, 22:42
    • gregor on Freedom of choice: “BBC: King involved in ‘woke’ name change of Agincourt submarine: “King Charles was involved in a decision to change the…Jan 29, 22:36
    • sarah on Freedom of choice: “It would be great if all the “real” Labour MPs formed a Real Labour Party leaving a rump on the…Jan 29, 22:27
    • Geri on Freedom of choice: “Yes. The USA has military bases in over 800 countries. Their NGOs are in every parliament & they have their…Jan 29, 22:16
    • gregor on Freedom of choice: “The Gov and BBC rumours I’m hearing are wild (eyes roll) #OMGJan 29, 21:40
    • Mark Beggan on Freedom of choice: “Well said Rosie Duffield MP.Jan 29, 21:22
    • gregor on Freedom of choice: “YouGov: Scottish attitudes to the British Empire: Scots are more likely to see Scotland as having been a subject, rather…Jan 29, 21:21
    • Alf Baird on Freedom of choice: “‘devolved administrations’ haund oot the wages tae the privileged elites, bourgeoisie and proletariat rinnin the colony. Hits whit thay caw…Jan 29, 21:20
    • Marie M on Freedom of choice: “Just watched a very interesting clip, Judge Napolitina was interviewing Col. McGregor when he said “What people don,t understand is…Jan 29, 20:56
    • Hatey McHateface on Freedom of choice: “I guess we have to believe that a Labour MP has only just noticed that Starmer is a talentless, unprincipled,…Jan 29, 20:35
    • Hatey McHateface on Freedom of choice: “I’ve got a wee question: Is time inside the White House different from time everywhere else? Only out here, far…Jan 29, 20:26
    • Tommo on Freedom of choice: “May I ask-for the sake of argument- what is the point of the ‘devolved administrations’-other of course than providing refreshing…Jan 29, 20:24
    • Hatey McHateface on Freedom of choice: “How many offshore windfarms has Slovakia got? Nobody is blowing up interconnects between countries? Sure? Final answer? OK, one last…Jan 29, 20:21
    • gregor on Freedom of choice: “State broadcaster BBC won’t have any integrity left. The masses are free to obtain their propaganda elsewhere. #BBClosureJan 29, 20:10
    • Hatey McHateface on Freedom of choice: “Not the first time you’ve tried to claim the Brits forced them to slaughter each other in their millions. No…Jan 29, 20:07
    • Effijy on Freedom of choice: “Rosie Duffield’s resignation letter from the Labour Party. The 53-year-old MP sent a scathing resignation letter to Sir Keir Starmer…Jan 29, 20:01
    • Hatey McHateface on Freedom of choice: “Germany’s AfD making history tonight. They’ve managed to get a majority to vote for their kind of “blood and soil”…Jan 29, 20:00
    • Dan on Freedom of choice: “You need to stop spouting pish that Scotland is only in surplus when the wind is blowing strongly as it’s…Jan 29, 19:56
    • willie on Freedom of choice: “Ah Hatey, I’m m not fooled by all this nonsense that renewable energy is a blessing or as you say…Jan 29, 19:50
    • Kit Bee on Freedom of choice: “Girls raped by men shocker!Jan 29, 19:45

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()