This time next year

Posted on October 17, 2013 by

Spotted by an alert reader in the Nike shop in Livingston.

gbrw

Nice to see people getting ready.

98 to “This time next year”

1. HandandShrimp says:

LOL

It is a sign!

2. handclapping says:

I’m sure NI are comforted by that

3. Another Union Dividend says:

Our shops and supermarkets will be full of this next June as we Brits rally round David Cameron’s call to support England in the World Cup.

And Police time will be wasted by sensitive souls objecting to Anyone But England  T shirts.

I predict a rise in sales of Yes 2014 football T shirts. 

4. big_al says:

Wahey! Get in.

5. Morag says:

One of my colleagues came bouncing into my office yesterday announcing jubilantly that what we really really need is for England to win the World Cup next year, because that will so piss off everyone in Scotland they’ll all vote Yes.

It is impossible to describe how little I care about who wins the World Cup.

Slightly embarrassingly, also in my office was a schoolboy attending for a few days vocational experience.  He had already told me how he wants to go to vet school next year, then try for the Royal Army Veterinary Corps when he finishes second year, and if he’s successful, they’ll sponsor him for the rest of his training and also give him officer and management training.  One of the things he wanted to do was to go to Afghanistan and educate local farmers in livestock husbandry.

Very good career choice.  Commendable really.  The boy’s Scottish.  He’ll be looking to join the RAVC in the spring of 2016.  It had already occurred to me, I’ll bet this is one young man who’ll be voting No.

Sorry, I’m just wandering.  Sitting in a cheap hotel room in Perth tonight.  There are people whose life choices are going to be negatively affected by this.  Just not very many, and I’m in favour of the greatest good of the greatest number here.  I guess there’s always VSO, though I don’t think they pay for people to go through vet college.

6. MajorBloodnok says:

I don’t doubt he’ll still be able to join the rUK army if he wants to.

7. twenty14 says:

For sure it is a sign – and the day will cometh to pass as predicted by Nikeus Sportdirecticus

8. Morag says:

I don’t doubt he’ll still be able to join the rUK army if he wants to.

Maybe.  I’d be surprised if they were so keen to throw money at Scottish recruits after independence though, no matter how potentially high-flying (and this one is, believe me).  I just thought he seemed like a rare example of someone who really would be better off in the British army as it is.  I don’t see a Scottish army having a Vet Corps that sends people to Afghanistan to help local farmers, on officers’ pay.

Sorry, I’m not sure what’s on topic for this thread but this probably isn’t.  Kid’s got so may advantages (brainy, personable, motivated, supportive family) he’ll be a success whatever he does.  But the timing of independence is probably going to suck for him.

9. kininvie says:

As a Livi person, may I say well done to whoever runs that shop!  More interesting – I imagine they think they will sell more products that way.

While I’m at it, Yes Scotland Stall @ Carmondean/Morrisons (by Livi Nth station) Saturday 11am. You know you want to spend an hour in the drizzle, you know you do! See you there.

10. Linda's back says:

Gordon Brewer making a complete e*** of himself on Newsnight.

11. For die says:

@morag
     Thanks again for that update/sharing on your life. Was your colleague perhaps your secretary – the one who gave you a diary so that we could all share your holiday plans? Could you perhaps bore us less by not sharing this ‘stuff”. Does anyone else use WoS as a social day  diary? Can I clearly note that despite a couple of misplaced comments, that you are not the conscience of this site. IB, where are you?
    PS I’m sitting in front of my fire in my house. Not globe trotting to Perth.

12. Tinyzeitgeist says:

This time next year we will no longer have to listen to a certain G Brewer on BBC newsnight.
    He was absolutely disgraceful this evening.

13. Morag says:

No point in answering that.

14. kininvie says:

@Morag,
    Since the UK army takes plenty of recruits from Fiji & elsewhere, I doubt there’d be a problem (unless vet posts are highly competitive).

Plus, I reckon it won’t be long before Scottish armed forces are serving abroad under UN peacekeeping ops & that kind of opportunity will no doubt arise.

15. Pedro says:

That’ll have been the Nike shop in The Centre, Livingston. The town centre shopping mall that’s apparently “out of town”. 😉

16. Morag says:

That’s an interesting train of thought, Kininvie, but it seems I must desist.

17. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

For die: Was there any need at all for that?

18. Colin Duffy says:

Newsnight Scotland on the SNP conference could not be more different than the Labour love in we saw at their conference.
    They are so blatant it`s unbelievable, Gordon Brewer trying to get as little information out of Fiona Hyslop as possible.
    I don`t think they even showed one second of any speeches though I did miss the first minute or two.

19. Morag says:

This time next year we will no longer have to listen to a certain G Brewer on BBC newsnight.
    He was absolutely disgraceful this evening.

I didn’t have the TV on and I don’t think I can bear to watch on iPlayer.  Care to elaborate?

20. Pedro says:

@kininvie “While I’m at it, Yes Scotland Stall @ Carmondean/Morrisons (by Livi Nth station) Saturday 11am. You know you want to spend an hour in the drizzle, you know you do! See you there.”
    I tried to help last time/recently but the stall was nowhere to be seen. Can you be a wee bit more specific as to the location? Cheers! 🙂

21. For die says:

@Morag
    i assume that was meant for me. good decision. Don’t.

22. kininvie says:

@ For Die
    This is a free and uncensored forum. It rambles over a lot of subjects, and by and large, people listen to what others have to say. If you don’t like it, go elsewhere.

I could put this in stronger terms, but for the sake of Stu’s more sensitive readers, I’ll refrain.

23. Morag says:

i assume that was meant for me. good decision. Don’t.

I’ve learned a lot about the ordinary lives of various people on here, from their random musings.  Boorach currently tops the rankings for “absolutely fascinating”.  If you have a problem with any of that, take it up with RevStu.

24. kininvie says:

@ pedro
    Getting full details for you….watch this space

25. Betsy says:

@Morag,
    ‘It is impossible to describe how little I care about who wins the World Cup.’
    You and me both. When the subject turns to football, I get that slightly panicky ‘where is the nearest exit’ feeling. 
    As for your budding young vet. They’ll be other opportunities. At least whatever happens he’ll not be lumbered with tuition fees if he studies in Scotland. 

26. Morag says:

RevStu attracted a lot of new readers here by putting up articles about the Rangers thing, and football, so we can’t really complain.  But I have to say I fail to see the sport in it.

27. a supporter says:

Nike has got it wrong. The Union Jack without the Saltire will represent RUMP UK not Great  Britain and it should be told. Where is my Anyone But England jersey.

28. a supporter says:

FFS give us a break about the budding vet. Who cares?

29. Linda's back says:

Gavin McCrone in Scotsman again saying independent Scotland cant afford oil fund because of deficit but UK should have one despite a higher deficit.
    http://archive.is/qxWTY

30. fluffnik says:

Re: army vet corps
    An Icelandic style military free emergency response organisation seems like a much better idea for the improvement of animal husbandry in Afghanistan… 

31. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“FFS give us a break about the budding vet. Who cares?”

Is there a sponsored ActLikeADickAThon tonight or something?

32. dee says:

@for die
    You are only writing what a lot of people are thinking.  Behind you 100%.

33. Indy_Scot says:

For what it’s worth IMHO, some names do appear on here too often for the good of the site.

34. Betsy says:

@Morag,
    I must admit the whole Rangers situation became such a soap opera, even I developed an interest. 
    That aside. It’s getting a bit ill tempered round these parts all of a sudden. So with that in mind I shall be posting more often to see which huffycakes blows up first.

35. Ken500 says:

There are 15,000 Scots in the British Army, as a result of historic high unemployment in Scotland. They joined the Army to get a job/career. If they all leave the ‘what’s left Army’ will be understaffed. There will be a few nuclear subs, hovering, in the Thames parked up to Westminster to defend the Realm. Remember the Hovercraft.

The kid will never become a Vet in the Vet Corp. It depends on Mum and Dad. Dreams shattered. Try Edinburgh Zoo.

36. Betsy says:

@revStu,
    ‘Is there a sponsored ActLikeADickAThon tonight or something?’

I have a theory but I’d be violating site rules if I shared it here. So I shan’t. 

37. Gallowglass says:

We are a community, we need to tolerate each other better than this.  If you don’t like a post, or a specific poster, don’t read and move on. 

Peace and love people, let’s keep it civil and polite even if we disagree.

38. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“For what it’s worth IMHO, some names do appear on here too often for the good of the site.”

“You are only writing what a lot of people are thinking.”

I’m going to say it one last time, and then I’m going to stop talking and start acting.

ENOUGH OF THIS.

Gratuitous personal attacks on other posters are not acceptable behaviour here. Nobody has any more right to post than anyone else, and if you don’t like someone’s comments and you’re not prepared to debate their CONTENT – rather than attacking the person who said them – then ignore them and move on. I’m not taking any sides regarding Commenter X over Commenter Y, I’m pointing out the rules.

These rules are NOT up for debate. There is only one authority here.

Are we clear?

39. Ken500 says:

Not the McCrone whose Report was hidden for thirty years. Does he think anyone is going to believe him now? He has form.

Never mind an Oil fund. Just get out of the Corrupt, unequal Union. Never to be lectured by the Unionist crap again. That’s believable.

40. jim mitchell says:

Meanwhile back at the ranch (lol) I wonder if you can get that motif  on other items?

41. Ken500 says:

QUITE clear, Sir.

42. Indy_Scot says:

That was not a personal attack, unlike your comment, but rather a general comment, there is a difference.

43. Harry Shanks says:

@ a supporter – Exactly!

Just as Morag is not interested in who wins the World Cup, I am even less interested in some 16yo schoolboy who plans to fleece the Scottish taxpayers for the first 2 years of his study, fleece the British or RUK Army for the remaining years including free “Officer and Management” training – all so he can go off and teach the Afghans how to mate cattle (something cattle can do quite effectively for themselves by the way).
    If he intends to ponce off to England (and Afghanistan) in 2016 – my message is the same as Nike’s: Just Do It. However make him pay back 2 years tuition fees before he goes, or if he ever comes back.

44. Murray McCallum says:

Newsnicht needs a major rethink if it is ever to be a serious news programme. I caught the 2nd half. Fiona Hyslop being asked about Nicola Sturgeon’s speech and whether pensions, welfare, etc would continue to be paid in the event of a “No” vote. She did well to simply talk over Brewer.

Bloke from the Scottish Sun stating confusion over who actually heads the Yes campaign and why the SNP dictated its policies. He failed to grasp (or chose to ignore) the concept of elections in an independent Scotland after the referendum. Obviously Brewer was not seeking to clarify anything for the viewers.

If Newsnicht continue to treat YesScotland and better together as political parties (where everyone has to agree on all policies) then we need to get Alistair Darling on licking David Cameron’s arse.

45. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“That was not a personal attack, unlike your comment, but rather a general comment, there is a difference.”

If I were you, and I was deciding whether to push this point or to not push it, I’d go for the latter. Just saying.

46. Ken500 says:

Does anyone actually believe the Army sends the Vet Corp to help the local farmers? Plant heroin.

They shoot dogs.

47. Indy_Scot says:

I only see one person pushing.

48. kininvie says:

@ Betsy,
    Too much good stuff and good feeling on these threads for people of a certain tendency not to make an effort to disrupt them. Stu’s shown on Twtter that he’s not vulnerable to them, so now they are going for BTL individuals by the look of things.

Anyway, I’m immune to disruption, so, picking up on Morag’s original point, I reckon that an SDF ought to be actively looking for opportunities to do useful stuff outside theatre. We are good at it; we’ll need experience of different climates/conditions, and there will be plenty of opportunities, since the UN is usually desperate to find enough troops to back its varying comittments.

49. Betsy says:

@HarryShanks,
    Do you genuinely believe all graduates who start their careers abroad have ‘fleeced’ the taxpayer? 

50. Ken500 says:

Stop watching Newsnight et al.

No viewers. No programmes.

Boycott and lower blood pressure.

51. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“I only see one person pushing.”

Have it your way.

52. Betsy says:

@Kinivie,
    Agreed on all points. 
    It would be great to see an SDF picking up humanitarian, rebuilding work rather than 
    the current British pantomime of pretending we are still are major military power. 

53. Murray McCallum says:

Ken500
    I can’t help myself from watching Newsnicht. I’ve tried to stop. It provides next to no information on anything. It’s a no news show of random length.

The hat is a great idea and design regardless of the outcome of the referendum. Hope it sticks.

54. Ken500 says:

Vets take seven years to qualify. The Afgan invasion finishes next year. Can the kid count.

55. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“Stop watching Newsnight et al.”

I’ve already stopped bothering with Scotland Tonight 90% of the time. Newsnicht is heading the same way, and I haven’t even watched tonight’s yet.

56. Daughter of Evil Reindeer says:

New Nike slogan to go with hat – This is what democracy looks like!

57. dee says:

@Rev
    Just a quick reply to your “warning” to anyone who talks out of turn..
    Over the last few weeks there have been a number of online arguments on this site.  They all have one thing in common, I think we know who it is.
    That was the only point I was trying to make. 

58. Morag says:

I was actually going to say, is anyone else in Perth just now, and do they want to meet up?  I’m going to wear my Wings sweatshirt tomorrow anyway, so if you see me it’s up to you.  It’s the “All our base will belong to us” one.

59. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“Just a quick reply to your “warning””

I’d have thought it was more than clear by now that my warnings do not invite replies. I believe I made that point quite explicitly.

Readers! I’ve had to ban some people tonight. I really hate banning people – it only makes me cranky, and I have to be pretty damn cranky to do it in the first place, so do the arithmetic for yourself. Tonight is not the night to piss me off any further. If you have something to say about the amusing picture, smashing. If not, take your chances.

60. Ken500 says:

‘Can’t help watching Newsnight’ No switch or remote control. No winnda to throw the tele oot.

Some people need help.

61. Murray McCallum says:

Wonder if the hat design is a cunning cost cutting measure – lose a colour and save some dosh?  UK Commercial austerity. Will there only be black and white TV in the event of a”No” vote?

62. Ken500 says:

SCARY

63. Morag says:

If you have something to say about the amusing picture, smashing.

Actually yes.  I’m sort of wondering, WHY?  What was in the mind of the person who designed it?  Was it simply intended as an arty “take” on the union flag, a sort of a cross between the all-blue Olympic version and the Labour party backdrop where the blue was almost absent, without any thought of a political interpretation?

Or was it an overtly political statement, intended as a commentary on the referendum?  I can’t really quite make it out.  Does the shop ONLY sell Nike products?  Is this a Nike product?  It’s really quite curious.

64. Harry Shanks says:

@Betsy – Yes actually, I have always believed that – but realise it might be a minority view!

While we are on the subject though – teachers (just as an example) who have the state pay for their education and training and who then go to work exclusively in the private sector ought to have their training costs clawed back as well!!

65. pictishbeastie says:

I’m in Perth, but that kinda makes sense because I bide here! 

66. Ken500 says:

There will be no TV, everyone will have thrown them oot the window. Only a fetching type of hat, GB red and white with weird writing, if folk vote No. Too SCARY to contemplate.

67. Murray McCallum says:

The technical flaw with the hat is of course the words. Should be “Britain” or “Formerly Great Britain”.

68. Keef says:

Hey Morag.

I wished you had told the kid the only way he had a chance of completing tertiary education would be to vote YES. As after another year of austerity cuts and defence cuts, there will be no sponsorship there for him.

Or even if you had pointed out to him that it is a pretty sad reflection on British society when a kid has to join the armed forces in order to forge a career as a vet!

69. Morag says:

I’m in Perth, but that kinda makes sense because I bide here!

[slaps Pictishbeastie about a bit]  😀

OK, let me rephrase that.  I’ll be at conference.  Is anyone else going to be there?

70. jim mitchell says:

Of course it could be Nike getting ready for England’s appearance in the world cup finals, we all know that the terms England and Great Britain are interchangeable to some folk!

71. pictishbeastie says:

Funnily enough, yes I’ll be there too! 

72. Morag says:

Keef, I’m sorry I even mentioned the subject.  The boy only told me what his career plans were.  We didn’t discuss the referendum at all.  It was only when someone else burst into my office and started enthusing to me about how an England victory in the World Cup would boost the Yes vote, right in front of the kid (who said nothing), that I began to wonder for myself how the referendum might affect his plans.  I should have kept my thoughts to myself, obviously.

73. jim mitchell says:

Then again maybe an Better Together insider has told Nike that after a NO vote. that’s the way it’s going to be in future to reflect the reality of the punishment meted out to us rebellious scots by unionists!

74. Richard McHarg says:

@Pedro, re the Yes stall at Carmondean in Livingston on Saturday, it will be in the small square next to the entrance of Morrisons Carmondean from 11am.  You can’t miss it if you’re parked next to the store.
    For further contact, please refer to Yes West Lothian’s Facebook page.

75. Morag says:

Of course it could be Nike getting ready for England’s appearance in the world cup finals, we all know that the terms England and Great Britain are interchangeable to some folk!

Except, its really the England and Northern Ireland bits of the flag.  And Northern Ireland isn’t part of GB.  I think someone hasn’t really thought it through.  I’m genuinely curious about it.

76. kininvie says:

It’s a hat?? LF it’s a hat!
    It’s a top being pulled off to reveal the ‘tatooed’ logo, and it has distictly sexual overtones… So it’s actually ironic on several levels depending just how far down into innuendo you wish to go….

I’ll try to get round to the shop in the next couple of days and ask about it.

77. Ken500 says:

Test yersel, don’t watch Newsnight be happy.

Some people have a fatal attraction for Brewer, it must be the make-up and the strange slick back hair, that doesn’t stay down. A strange type of hat, GB red and white, might suit. Along with a shell suit. Quite stylish. Getting down with the kid.

‘When the going gets tough, the tough get going’.

Just going.

Soon Newsnight addicts all over world will be discussing how long they have been Newsnight free. Poison.

78. Morag says:

I also wonder if I would wear the cap.  It seems designed for someone who identifies with the rUK, which isn’t me.

On the other hand, if I was still living in England, I’d wear it in a heartbeat!

79. Ken500 says:

Ban the Mad Hatter

80. Daughter of Evil Reindeer says:

Hat flaw: Commercial Bank of China (formerly News Corp Great Britain branch)

81. Shaun Milne says:

Well, I don’t think I’ll be wearing one. Looks pretty tacky. Maybe it’s an ironic hat.

82. Ghengis says:

Have some logins been hacked? It doesn’t take much if someone is using Gravatar for example.

83. Murray McCallum says:

The United Kingdom of Formerly Great Britain and Northern Ireland is quite long isn’t it. Somehow reminds of Macedonia.

84. molly says:

Started reading the comments halfway through and thought the ‘sponsoradickathon’ was referring to the telly tonight. Flicking the channels between BBCQT ,Newsnicht and Scotland Tonight. 

Some really scary UKIP views on QTs , Brewster seriously needs to have a think to his self if he thinks thats acceptable  and was surprised to hear Colin Radio Clyde guy, when discussing Labour as ‘we’ are against the bedroom tax’.

You know what what really disappoints me, the Referendum is probably going to be one of the biggest stories any of these so called journalists have ever been involved in.They have access to the people ,they have access to the politicians, they have the opportunity to break new information,  and really tell a fantastic story of how history could be created and they act like Kevin the inadequate teenager.

I wish someone could/would set up a local cable channel or nightly youtube thing, where not just the Referendum could be discussed but all the issues of the day that WOS discuss. It certainly would have an audience and judging by Andy Nichols uninspiring performance tonight, you’d probably find real people are much more interesting.  

85. Keef says:

s’funny as a kid, I enjoyed the site of the union flag. I even scribbled it on my jotters at school for some unknown reason. Today, even the ‘washed out’ version on this hat causes revulsion.

86. Morag says:

I wish someone could/would set up a local cable channel or nightly youtube thing, where not just the Referendum could be discussed but all the issues of the day that WOS discuss.

Have you listened to any of the podcasts LPW has been touting?  The one RevStu was in was really good.  Makes you long for that quality of debate on actual radio.

87. msean says:

Kind of reminds me of when i saw england flags during a world cup in a Scottish branch of a chain of stores based in england. At the end of the tournament there were still the same amount in the basket. I always wondered why the management sent these things to Scottish stores,either incompetence or ignorance i guess.

88. Keef says:

Molly, you are dead right when you mention that it is the biggest event that they will ever be connected with. Dead right when you say they have direct access to the people and the movers and shakers of this referendum.

They sit and dream of covering events like this in some far off land and how they would do such a great job. Yet, when they actually get the chance of a lifetime land right on their doorstep (so to speak), they all seem to have been caught with a collective dose of sustained ineptness. There wont be many more chances like this in their lifetime for them to show their skills. It really does frustrate the hell out of you.

89. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

I’m about one post away from closing comments completely after pub chucking-out time.

90. Murray McCallum says:

I really can’t see all the issue over a comment about a young lad in an army.  Good luck to the lad.

I sent off to join the army when I was 12. Recruiter turned up at the house and I hid in the shed. I passed the PRMC when I was 16-17. Loved it – like a luxury holiday compared to where I came from. Went on to university as I had to be an officer to be a helicopter pilot. View on life changed radically!

91. Keef says:

Rev can ye not ask for a lock in? 🙂

92. Clarinda says:

I’ll stand to be corrected but would it be OK to suggest a future matching t-shirt with the logo along the lines of  –  They think Great Britain’s all over ….. well it is now.

93. Pedro says:

@Richard McHarg 
    18 October, 2013 at 12:27 am

the Yes stall at Carmondean in Livingston on Saturday, it will be in the small square next to the entrance of Morrisons Carmondean from 11am.  You can’t miss it if you’re parked next to the store.

Cheers for the info.I’ll be the one not wearing the baseball cap pictured above. 😉

94. Daughter of Evil Reindeer says:

+1 for the human interest stuff on here, much to relate to and empathise with! It  kind of pulled me into the site when I first started visiting.

95. CameronB says:

msean says
    … I always wondered why the management sent these things to Scottish stores, either incompetence or ignorance i guess.

Equal opportunities? 🙂

96. msean says:

Clarinda,it would match my Germany on pens t-shirt i just thought of.

97. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“the Yes stall at Carmondean”

And now someone posts a FUCKING CITE TAG. Say goodbye to your loved ones, Pedro. That’s it – comments on this post are closed.