The demonisation of Alex Salmond

Posted on November 07, 2011 by

Iain Macwhirter in the Herald with a much-needed skewering of the "cybernat myth" that Labour have doggedly been trying to make stick for a few years now, and which was escalated dramatically with Iain Gray's vitriolic and bitter farewell speech to the Scottish Labour conference. There is, of course, poison aplenty on both sides of the SNP-Labour divide, but the most immediately noticeable difference is that nationalist bile and trolling comes from a few anonymous nutjobs on messageboards, whereas in Labour's case it comes from elected members and official representatives. We don't recall any SNP MSP comparing the Labour leader to Hitler, Mussolini or Mugabe, nor calling the entire party "neo-fascists", yet those insults and more have all been made in full public view by taxpayer-funded Labour politicians. Gray and Labour's attempt to claim the moral high ground is an extraordinary piece of brass neck, and it's good to see a grown-up journalist calling it out.

Subscribe
Notify of

12 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Morag

I'm a nat, I'm a nat, I'm a cybernat….

Flooplepoop

Hello Morag from 3 years in the future, we might actually win this 🙂

Morag

One last heave…!

Brian Doonthetoon

And the interesting thing is, after 3 years, the situation is still exactly the same!

Any abuse and so on is NOT coming from the high heid yins on the YES side; it comes from a “few anonymous nutjobs on messageboards”.

The exact opposite is the case on the NO side. Their high heid yins, and their immediate sycophants, appear to treat this abusive behaviour as “normal”. Witness the Kathy Wiles escapade, as only one example.

Catherine

Plus ça change…

R-type Grunt

Well, that went well.

Mike

Thanks Stu, you have given power to the Scottish people with your insight.

Fireproofjim

And now, by the wonder of time travel, this message comes to you from five years in the future, it’s Wings fifth birthday today but disappointment reigns as promised hover boards have not yet appeared.
I blame Nicola Sturgeon. (bet you cave dwellers in 2011 never thought that would happen).

mike cassidy

And this message comes to you on Wings seventh birthday.

Cant help with hoverboards.

But we were also promised jetpacks.

A free jetpack with every ‘yes’ vote!

And we’ll be home and dry!

Cuilean

2022. We are now in a dystopian world where biological sex has been abolished in Scotland (they/them/us/thon) and we self-identify reality according to feelings. (I feel therefore I am).

Today I feel I am Eric the Red, famous Viking Berserker.

Tomorrow I will self id as a Jedi, from the rebel-held planet, Affitsheid.

stuart mctavish

Guessing, despite the relative lack of btl evidence in the excellent posts predating its birthday :), that a site like Wings had plenty receipts for decade old claims

“that nationalist bile and trolling comes from a few anonymous nutjobs on messageboards, whereas in Labour’s case it comes from elected members and official representatives”

Going on current (2022) evidence, the rate of accumulation of said receipts will not have slowed, despite the Edinburgh agreement – although it may sadly have become inverted (danger being that Nulabour think begins with detesting tories/ competitors and morphs into looking for things to hate rather than focusing on the things we like..) something John Romero inadvertently touches on when discussing recruitment policy at ID softwear in this fascinating Strangeloop talk:

If so then said receipts, whilst potentially forming substantiation in part that UK state or nefarious private interests have been actively and recklessly conspiring to undermine political agreement (jaw jaw), can also serve as a reminder for constant vigilance alongside the parable of the little engine that could -ie provided always that the giants on whose shoulders it piggy backs had the foresight, organisation, teamwork, intellect and pride necessary to lay the tracks, dig the coal, divert the water, conceive the engine and Honk the bastarding horn long and loud at every mad cow disoriented enough to stray onto the wrong path.

Doubtless the optimism of the past remains more than enough to get Scots reunited sooner than later but in interim, hope the strangeloop talk makes for a hitherto unseen but nonetheless worthy diversion and, thanks for all the hard work & accessible infotainment – not least yesterdays uplifting redirection to the archives!

[…] que foi fundada em Novembro de 2011Wings Over Scotland foi financiado exclusivamente por seus leitores. O site nunca publicou qualquer […]

Stats: 6,698 Posts, 1,210,642 Comments

• 100%Yes on Freedom of choice: “Vivian, I certainly wouldn’t call the SNP or the Greens a Nationalist party anymore. If your a nationalist seeking to…Jan 30, 10:48
    • Geri on The Silent Revolution: “They don’t. Have you been napping for the last three + yrs? I know the propaganda runs deep with you…Jan 30, 10:34
    • Robert McAllan on Freedom of choice: “Did the ALBA party MSP vote in support of this budget in capitulation to the wishes of the Unionist minority?Jan 30, 10:19
    • Hatey McHateface on Freedom of choice: “Of course, one way to encourage young people into work (for example repairing buildings at risk) would be to give…Jan 30, 09:37
    • Sven on Freedom of choice: “Lot of wrinkled, old Runrig fan(nies) out there still humming “Loch Lomond” off key as they Zimmer their way down…Jan 30, 09:26
    • Zimba on Freedom of choice: “I misread that year as 1298. And maybe that even is the actual answer.Jan 30, 09:22
    • Hatey McHateface on The Silent Revolution: “If you can’t write in Scots, YL, there’s no shame in admitting it. Nae need for bluster. I don’t believe…Jan 30, 09:22
    • Zimba on Freedom of choice: “Thanks Yoon. Pleasing lies versus salt in wounds. This article is about the choice Scots have got, and you’ve pretty…Jan 30, 09:09
    • Zimba on Freedom of choice: “Thanks Yoon. Pleasing lies versus salt in wounds. This article is about the choice Scots have got, and you’ve pretty…Jan 30, 09:07
    • Hatey McHateface on Freedom of choice: “Well now YL, y’all need to get together and make up your minds, once and for all. Is Scotland an…Jan 30, 08:56
    • Xaracen on Saying sooths: ““risking ‘the integrity of the Union” was Captain Caveman’s phrasing, but in my view that integrity ceased to exist from…Jan 30, 08:54
    • gregor on Freedom of choice: “No wonder my local area is so dilapidated.Jan 30, 08:52
    • gregor on Freedom of choice: “The Herald: Ministers refuse to name officials with access to Sturgeon probe files: “Mr Ewing told The Herald: “The Scottish…Jan 30, 08:47
    • Hatey McHateface on Freedom of choice: “#WangingOan Dinna fash, Geri, I’m the only one noticing, and my lips are sealed 🙂Jan 30, 08:46
    • Hatey McHateface on Freedom of choice: ““has been an MP continually since 7 June 2001” I’ve pointed that out before, gregor. The reason I’ve pointed it…Jan 30, 08:42
    • Hatey McHateface on Freedom of choice: ““warring factions” Listen up! An expert opines! OK, Geri, gie us 500 words on warring factions.Jan 30, 08:33
    • Xaracen on Saying sooths: ““because it makes passing laws that affect the union (as you put it) more difficult” It only makes it more…Jan 30, 08:31
    • Hatey McHateface on Freedom of choice: ““You confuse Pakistan with India” Naw. But I am not at all surprised that you do. Alert readers who know…Jan 30, 08:30
    • Young Lochinvar on The Silent Revolution: “A very poor response to an eye opening assessment. You do your cause no good with facetiousness, whatever your cause…Jan 30, 05:31
    • Young Lochinvar on The Silent Revolution: “Why? I’ll speak as my peers and neighbours do, whit do I have to prove to a feckless one like…Jan 30, 05:02
    • Young Lochinvar on The Silent Revolution: “The positive case for the Union thanks to Teflon Tony & co. and clearly worshipped by you! Would hate to…Jan 30, 04:49
    • Young Lochinvar on Saying sooths: “Ahhhh! The Crank jibe ! The last resort insult of the over qualified under experienced snob who has just lost…Jan 30, 04:26
    • Young Lochinvar on Freedom of choice: “Unfortunately no..Jan 30, 04:17
    • Young Lochinvar on Freedom of choice: “Yup. Mrs Lochinvar is something of a Trekkie so I get to see some of it whether I want to…Jan 30, 04:13
    • Young Lochinvar on Freedom of choice: “Do you really seriously see the ruskies sending Spetznatz divers to cut underwater power supply cables from offshore renewables to…Jan 30, 03:54
    • Young Lochinvar on Freedom of choice: “I shudder to say true but.. Anyway, hydros the imperative back-up we need here. However as England is “Great Britains”…Jan 30, 03:37
    • Young Lochinvar on Freedom of choice: “Yup, not forgetting Bangladesh though.Jan 30, 03:25
    • Young Lochinvar on Freedom of choice: “Apropos “my University is better than yours”.. Aye, very subjective. What a waste after all that state sponsorship you received…Jan 30, 03:21
    • Young Lochinvar on Freedom of choice: “It’s groupthink Gregor smothered in lashings and lashings of Unionist mythos and the divine state of the status quo (not…Jan 30, 03:15
    • Young Lochinvar on Freedom of choice: “Do you? Just it’s not colonialism but something akin to being an apologist for the colonisers?Jan 30, 03:11

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()