Scotland’s Most Frightened

Posted on March 04, 2026 by

This was just two months ago. (Longer version here.)

And we’ll bet you anything you like he’s already wishing he hadn’t said it.

Because a recent study suggested that Swinney might just achieve the impossible task he set for himself, and if he does then he’s REALLY screwed.

Now, we don’t actually think that’ll happen – the study makes a lot of assumptions with very little real-world basis – but on current polling the SNP are so far ahead on the constituency vote that it’s not outwith the bounds of imagination. And we think might have made him think he’s this guy:

But in the “John Wick” series, every Herculean feat Keanu Reeves’ troubled protagonist pulls off to get out of a tough spot just leaves him in even deeper trouble and facing an even harder one. And right now, John Swinney is living in the same sort of nightmare as mob boss Viggo Tarasov.

(Played with masterfully weary fatalism above by Mikael Nyqvist, confronting the consequences of the actions of his idiot son Iosef, who in this analogy is either Humza Yousaf or Anas Sarwar, we’re not quite sure which.)

The worst thing in the world that could possibly happen to Swinney is that the SNP do indeed achieve that single-party majority. Because if they do, he’s all out of excuses.

In January he left himself with no wiggle room whatsoever.

KIERAN ANDREWS: “So you can guarantee 100%, then, if there’s an SNP majority there will be a referendum?

SWINNEY: “Yes.”

And that’s a promise he has no power whatsoever to keep. David Cameron, Theresa May, Boris Johnson, Liz Truss and Rishi Sunak have all previously dismissed the SNP’s indignant claims of a moral mandate for another indyref, all made on the basis of just under 49% of the vote, so Keir Starmer will definitely (and rightly) give him short shrift for demanding one on the basis of 32% or so.

(Because previously they said all “pro-indy” votes counted, but this time they’ve been absolutely explicit that it’s only SNP ones.)

And then Swinney (and indeed all his idiot apologists) will have to turn to expectant SNP voters and say “Ehm, well, actually that was complete bullshit I was feeding you, but hold tight for five more years and we’ll have another go in 2031. Trust me!”

And readers, we’d almost vote SNP ourselves just to see that happen. But Swinney has two months left to sabotage the chances of it, so let’s watch and see what he does. He might end up wishing Peter Murrell had had to appear in court after all.

0 to “Scotland’s Most Frightened”

1. Karen says:

Ha ha, you stole my line: “Are you saying we should vote SNP1 just for the bant?”

2. duncanio says:

The dream shall never die.

But Swinney’s wish might prove to be his nightmare.

3. Mark Beggan says:

The wheels on the bus go round and round…
    All day long.

4. Hatey McHateface says:

How does the progress being made with the UN C-24 application tie in with this?

No referendum will ever be required when the UN rules that Scotland is a colony.

That ruling must occur within the next 5-year HR term.

5. agentx says:

I remember the days on here when if anybody had a negative comment about the SNP there were sarcastic cries of “SNP Baaaaad” and “yoon”.

Who was right?

6. 100%Yes says:

If the PM was to grant dunderhead a referendum he’d only F*ck it up.

John does nothing for me apart from coming across as a man who constantly has a grin on his face and is completely bold. Dull to listen too, irritating to watch and his answers to question are stale, he drains the life out of the audience he addresses.

No I won’t be voting for the SNP nor the greens.

7. Mark Beggan says:

Don’t you just love those missiles slamming into anything Iranian. Yum yum.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,885 Posts, 1,237,107 Comments

• Mark Beggan on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “Don’t you just love those missiles slamming into anything Iranian. Yum yum.Mar 4, 19:31
    • 100%Yes on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “If the PM was to grant dunderhead a referendum he’d only F*ck it up. John does nothing for me apart…Mar 4, 19:04
    • agentx on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “I remember the days on here when if anybody had a negative comment about the SNP there were sarcastic cries…Mar 4, 18:57
    • Hatey McHateface on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “How does the progress being made with the UN C-24 application tie in with this? No referendum will ever be…Mar 4, 18:47
    • Mark Beggan on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “The wheels on the bus go round and round… All day long.Mar 4, 18:44
    • duncanio on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “The dream shall never die. But Swinney’s wish might prove to be his nightmare.Mar 4, 18:40
    • Karen on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “Ha ha, you stole my line: “Are you saying we should vote SNP1 just for the bant?”Mar 4, 18:21
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: ““wise up to this shift in the global paradigm” You are coy on what you believe that shift to be.…Mar 4, 18:06
    • Aidan on Two Men Unalike: “That’s twice you’ve called me “Adrian”, are you illiterate as well as fat, stupid and obnoxious?Mar 4, 17:40
    • James on Two Men Unalike: “Bingo!Mar 4, 17:07
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: “Odd, isn’t it James? HR election in May. The UN supposedly declaring our Indy in June (see posts just up-thread).…Mar 4, 16:29
    • TURABDIN on Two Men Unalike: “THE «MARTYRDOM» that might signal the beginning of the end of US power? https://archive.is/WbZpc An excellent insightful text. I do…Mar 4, 16:23
    • James on Two Men Unalike: “The resident Yoons will hate this news. Excellent stuff.Mar 4, 16:02
    • James on Two Men Unalike: “Adrian; pipe down there and back to your homework, there’s a good lad.Mar 4, 15:58
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: ““History is in the making” Nice one, Geri, the “just have faith” response. Have ye made yer bed, the day?…Mar 4, 15:53
    • Geri on Two Men Unalike: “History is in the making, sunshine. A new world order beckons. Old & corrupted institutions will be having a good…Mar 4, 15:33
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: ““launch of a targeted fundraising effort” “intention to place members at the heart of the party’s next phase” No skin…Mar 4, 15:07
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: ““I’ll not embarrass you further” Why ever not? If you’re slam dunking every point in dispute? If you ever post…Mar 4, 15:02
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on Two Men Unalike: “ALBA CONTINUATION GROUP STATEMENT (4th March 2026) FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – ALBA Continuation Group Yields to MacAskill’s Unconditional Indemnity Demand…Mar 4, 14:50
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: “Do my eyes deceive me … or is that Britain’s most glamourous tawny-maned former plumber and plasterer centre stage? If…Mar 4, 14:49
    • Geri on Two Men Unalike: “‘Hoo did they dae that wi weapons that dinna work and F16s that cannae get aff the groond?’ Cause they…Mar 4, 14:25
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: “With absolutely nothing going on in the world to keep it busy, I fear the UN will have voted to…Mar 4, 14:23
    • TURABDIN on Two Men Unalike: “SEND IN THE DRONES…..i mean clowns. https://archive.is/WDIfYMar 4, 14:22
    • sam on Two Men Unalike: “Hearing in Junec, I think.Mar 4, 14:04
    • Aidan on Two Men Unalike: “Nothing – C-24 has no remit to consider territories not on the list of NSGT’s agreed by the general assembly.…Mar 4, 13:56
    • 100%Yes on Two Men Unalike: “Its now the 4th of March 2026 what’s happening with the UN-C24 and Scotland case?Mar 4, 13:23
    • TURABDIN on Two Men Unalike: “The constitution and US Presidents’ capacities to exercise office. https://archive.is/AhTjTMar 4, 13:22
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: ““The mad don will soon have to start wearing a scarf” Here’s a thought. If he wears a tea towel…Mar 4, 13:06
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: ““used to mow down over 1 million Iraqis & seize Syria” Crivens! Hoo did they dae that wi weapons that…Mar 4, 13:02
    • Geri on Two Men Unalike: “Aye, Iain.. those skin rashes & lesions look real nasty. The mad don will soon have to start wearing a…Mar 4, 12:50