Quoted for truth #7

Posted on February 13, 2013 by

Never let it be said that Wings Over Scotland isn’t the sort of fair-minded site that would acknowledge when the Scottish press prints some reasonable and balanced commentary once in a while:

“The last time I wrote about the tone of the debate on Scottish independence, I came to the conclusion that there was little to choose between the two sides in the quality of the arguments and the calm or intelligence with which they were presented.

Since then, there has been something of an improvement on the nationalist side, perhaps through entrusting the presentation to Nicola Sturgeon rather than to other politicians I could name. But there has been an appalling deterioration on the unionist side.”

(Michael Fry in today’s Scotsman.)

7 to “Quoted for truth #7”

1. muttley79 says:

Here’s another quoted for truth, from Ian McWhirter on his blog:

“The problem is partly the sheer weight of the forces against them.  Better Together have the UK Government, the three unionist parties in Westminster and Scotland, the UK Treasury and civil service and the Scottish and UK press on their side, plus fellow travellers like Jose Manuel Barroso, the President of the European Commission. The Nationalists have Alex Salmond and a few loose cannons.”

2. Doug Daniel says:

Wow, I just left a comment praising the fact that FINALLY someone in the media was articulating the fact that the accession process is just a case of ensuring potential member states comply with the acquis communautaire, and I’ve been put under review before it can be published.

This is because I left a comment on Brian Wilson’s last article which they deemed unacceptable. Which it wasn’t, because I know better than to post stuff that’s likely to get you banned from Scotsman and Herald comments.

3. Albalha says:

On the separation issue, Cathy Jamieson has just used the term in a question during Scottish Q’s. 

So does it only apply to the framing of a debate?  

4. commenter says:

Can you imagine the outcry if an mp were censured for uttering a particular word??

5. Albalha says:

@commenter

Simply trying to undersatnd what has been decided or not  

6. Yet, in other news: NNS reports a BBC apparatchik telling a licence holder that the BBC has no duty to be impartial with respect to the independence referendum since the official campaign period has not yet started.

The viewer’s complaint concerned a Brian Taylor hosted program (The Big Debate perhaps?) in which the only Nationalist on the panel was opposed by three Unionist comprising  its remaineder.

These guys are beyond shameless. 

7. Atypical_Scot says:

The Greater Engerland Broadcasting Corp have a duty to provide a fair, balanced and completely impartial account of what they consider to be fair, balanced and completely impartial regarding Greater Engerland which is a fair balanced and completely impartial country.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,884 Posts, 1,236,904 Comments

• Mark Beggan on Two Men Unalike: “Iranian news reporting that their leader “had drunk the sweet pure draught of martyrdom” Now available in cans at your…Mar 1, 19:56
    • Mark Beggan on Two Men Unalike: “Big Satan and Little Satan go together like Rock and Roll. Clap if you agree.Mar 1, 19:33
    • sarah on Two Men Unalike: “Thank you!Mar 1, 19:19
    • agentx on Two Men Unalike: “” Alba bosses have insisted the pro-independence party is “financially insolvent” after being urged to contest the Holyrood election or…Mar 1, 18:35
    • TURABDIN on Two Men Unalike: “The media photos of the Madboy of the Western World, with custom patriotic headgear, has the vengeful look of a…Mar 1, 18:34
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: “Thanks, lorncal. No, I didn’t see Clarkson’s take on it. I’ll see if I can find it.Mar 1, 18:15
    • agentx on Two Men Unalike: “https://www.crowdfunder.co.uk/p/crowdfunder-request-alliance-to-liberate-scotlan This is the correct link.Mar 1, 18:06
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: “You’re at it again, sam, spouting stats with no context to allow interpretation. Literacy in which language?Mar 1, 18:05
    • Mark Beggan on Two Men Unalike: “He has spent the last five years spouting the same crap. Week in and week out. Never changing dribble hungarily…Mar 1, 17:59
    • Young Lochinvar on Two Men Unalike: “Dot B under the spotlight again for tipping the wink to pen pal “Honest” John over Tricky Nicky’s investigation status..…Mar 1, 17:27
    • sam on Two Men Unalike: “In education the Scottish gubmint for aw its faults seems to be doing better than England’s labouring gubmint. https://www.jrf.org.uk/uk-poverty-statistics/education That’s…Mar 1, 16:59
    • sarah on Two Men Unalike: “www.crowdfunder.co.uk for Alliance to Liberate Scotland Holyrood 2026 – target is £10,000 for all the campaign materials etc etc. Spread…Mar 1, 16:52
    • lorncal on Two Men Unalike: “I know I probably shouldn’t have, but I did laugh out loud at that, H. McH. Have you read Jeremy…Mar 1, 16:08
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: “Generous, Geri. No question about that. But the crowdfunder can’t use your number two.Mar 1, 16:05
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: “Sure, Alf, but only a few more weeks until we can all vote for this to be swept into the…Mar 1, 16:00
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: “Dinna ye tak ony lip frae God, Northy. It’s ye that tells Him, nae the ither wuy roond.Mar 1, 15:43
    • Alf Baird on Two Men Unalike: “As well as public bodies, universities etc and the NHS being “the most trans-captured organisations in the entire UK” it…Mar 1, 15:41
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: “James, ye need tae read fit happened tae Onan. Nae day like the Sabbath fir opening the Guid Book. If…Mar 1, 15:39
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: “One step back, Mark. I’m first.Mar 1, 15:30
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: “Any boady mind “Hello, I’m Julian and this is my friend Sandy”? Innocent times they were.Mar 1, 15:27
    • Young Lochinvar on Two Men Unalike: “J Good point!Mar 1, 15:10
    • Confused on Two Men Unalike: “M&S Food Hall last night, getting some of those spicy breaded chicken things. Past the checkout, the news stand -…Mar 1, 13:59
    • Sven on Two Men Unalike: “I see your “Toodle-oo the noo, the noo agin, agin…fir noo” and raise you one; “Hello, Farewell, Hello”. Kürt Vonnegut.Mar 1, 13:58
    • Northcode on Two Men Unalike: “I meant to say this tae afore I go, go, Go. “You are either with God, or against him.” A…Mar 1, 13:30
    • Cynicus on Two Men Unalike: ““Nae Hair On’t Yestreen I wed a lady fair, And ye wad believe me, On her cunt there grows nae…Mar 1, 13:21
    • Northcode on Two Men Unalike: “Oh, I forgot to post this… so here it is now. Toodle-oo the noo, agin. “The task is to explore…Mar 1, 13:11
    • Aidan on Two Men Unalike: “No wonder Geri is so salty this morning, given how badly her side is loosing.Mar 1, 12:35
    • TURABDIN on Two Men Unalike: “Remember too that the star of the Ukrainian arms industry is the drone. Drones supplied to any takers including the…Mar 1, 12:31
    • The Flying Iron of Doom on The Tactics Of Suicide: “Andy Ellis says: 1 March, 2026 at 8:40 am Of course I believe I’m a cut above the usual suspects…Mar 1, 12:24
    • Northcode on Two Men Unalike: “Well, that was a pointless, time-wasting bundle of fun. But there are too many extremely rude and childish anti-Scots racist…Mar 1, 12:17