Moving in

Posted on March 06, 2013 by

So, we’ve moved. We’ve done it a couple of hours early as it was getting VERY confusing with two versions of the site live at once and people posting to the new one even though we’d EXPRESSLY TOLD THEM NOT TO 😀

Unfortunately this does mean a small handful of comments have been lost, and may not be coming back. Sorry about that. (We took a backup of them in the hopes we might be able to somehow resurrect them from the XML, but we’re promising nothing.)

Anyway, this is WingsLand’s new home (new RSS feed here). It should hopefully be more stable than the old one, better able to cope with higher volumes of traffic, and more resistant to malicious attacks and threats. There MAY be the odd hiccup as we iron out wrinkles that don’t become apparent until you’re up and running, but hopefully not. If there are, please bear with us over the next 24 hours or so.

(We especially hope Google Analytics doesn’t get screwed up. We simply can’t tell you how impenetrable and horrible Google Analytics is, and if we live to be a billion we hope we never have to try to make it do anything again.)

One bonus is that a number of people who previously couldn’t access the site because work filters blocked it for having the word “game” in the address should no longer have problems. The old site will stay in place for the forseeable future so that people’s old links will still work, but will no longer be updated and comments will be closed.

But anyway, there it is. We’re here, we’re having a beer, get used to it.

41 to “Moving in”

1. alasdair

might be an idea to make sure everyone knows to change their feeds 😉

2. Jen

Great news, well done

3. Tearlach

My handsel will be an another contribution to the fundraiser, on behalf of my youngest son, whose birthday is today, and who is an active member of an SNP branch of an ancient Scottish University.

You know when that right on Uncle gives you a present of a share of a goat in Kenya for Christmas, when you really wanted the new Halo? Well get over it, WoS is much more important. OK son?

4. Boabyfett

Champagne anyone? Or a nice malt?

Congratulations on the move.

5. ianbrotherhood

Lang may yer new lum reek.

6. Bill C

Congratulations, onwards to independence.

7. The Man in the Jar

Smells nice in here!
    Anyway trailer for Newsnicht. “Tonight secret SNP document bla bla bla” No mention of GERS.
    What else you would expect.

8. Donald Kerr

Onwards and upwards. Good luck!

9. mogabee

Yep..this’ll do nicely!! 🙂

10. FreddieThreepwood

Hullo, I’m a pal of … eh, Jimmy. Aye, that’s right. I’ll just put my six cans of Tartan Special behind the telly – naebdae touch that – they’re mine!
    Right, where’s the burdz?

11. Yesitis

C`mon Rev, we can do this!
    Let us have this covered with what we will discover 🙂

12. Jeannie

Brill – sounds like good news for your blood pressure. 

13. Morag

Hi guys!  I’ll just sit quietly in the corner with my computer and work on the current analysis of the Lockerbie evidence, as usual, OK?  If you hear any incredulous expletives, it’s just me finding yet another obvious trick the police or forensics somehow contrived to miss 24 years ago.

Feed me cake.

14. Jeannie

@Morag

Ah Morag, there are few situations that a cake can’t make better (and few situations that a picture of Margaret Curran can’t make worse) 🙂

15. Chic Macgregor

The time has come for Scots to take full control of Scotland and be the masters of our own destiny.  Not because we hate our enemies but because we care passionately about the welfare and future of our people and our country.  Let us stand strong and tall and proclaim to all the world that we are indeed Scottish and Scotland does exist.  We have given much to mankind as a people and we will give that much more as a Nation.
    Be Bold
    Be Brave
    Be Free
    Alba Gu snooker loopy!

16. cath

<nabs one of Freddie’s beers while he’s nae looking>

Aye, nice wee place you’ve got here Rev!

17. G. Campbell

News just in: Bettertogether Broadcasting Corporation declares war on terrorist-supporting magazine.

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-wqrVkg_3_jI/UTfNDVJgayI/AAAAAAAAALE/Ma_wuM5C0j8/s1600/Don't_let_them_take_away_James_Purnell's_champagne.jpg

18. Midgehunter

I like it – It’s got a nice smooth look and squeaky clean. ;-))

The new, lean, mean indy machine and he’s a-lookin fur a unionist near you ….
    Go get em Rev!

19. mrbfaethedee

Holy Shit!
    The new theme and layout is fucking AWESOME!!!!

20. Rev. Stuart Campbell

I’m putting this on again and I don’t care what anyone thinks:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wioh5qUj7fM

Next up: Kelly Marie.

21. Aucheorn

Ohh, the go-faster stripes work.
    Let’s run to the winning post.
    Hoots mon.

22. Adrian B

Well done Rev,

I know that this move has been a lot of hard work for you. Lets hope that the new place has plenty of space to accommodate the levels of growth seen over the past months. Enjoy those beers.

23. Adam Davidson

Is there a party going on? Actually, I’m off to the old gaff; Emmmmpppppttttyyyyyy! 

24. annie

Passed on newsnight to watch recording of Poor in America – heartbreaking knowng that what happens in America usually happens here eventually and with the bedroom tax coming it will be sooner rather then later.

25. Doug Daniel

I can’t believe you’ve gone ahead and SEPARATED your website from its old home.

Change is ALWAYS bad. That’s why we’re #BetterTogether.

Sorry, my mind is frazzled after witnessing the evidence on Scotland Tonight and Newsnicht – as well as the headlines in all the papers – that we truly are living in a reverse Pravda age, where the entire media is conspiring against us and giving us a relentless stream of negativity about our country.

For anyone who doesn’t know, tonight Gordon Brewer described that memo Better Together were wetting their pants over this afternoon as being “leaked” to “us”. What he held up was a copy of Better Together’s dodgy dossier, complete with the comedy cover page.

The game’s a bogey, folks. Any thoughts that we can win this by turning the media around are dead in the water today. It’s all on us as individuals to win this. 

26. Albert Herring

“Us” I suppose being the Bettertogether Broadcasting Corporation

27. CameronB

When do the flash mobs start?

28. ben leiper

OT

1st class typo at bbc scotland online – “Tory Blair”?

Last line in the article reads:

“That is why we need an independent Scotland – and the more often Tory Blair argues for ‘no’, the stronger the ‘yes’ vote will become.”

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-21686240

Please someone with computer skills get a screen shot before they correct it.

(Unless Christina McKelvie actually said it. She might of thought it but I doubt she would of said it, would she? 😉 )

29. K Mackay

Happy new home 🙂

Can we smoke in here?

30. Craig P

Uh, what? I fell asleep, and the party’s moved to a new address? How did you guys move me? Mental! Hey Cath, pass us one of those beers behind the telly will you?

31. Keef

So the seed of change has been planted.

Hope it is nurtured well enough (donations) to grow and flourish into the best site on the web for cutting through the anti-independence bullshit.

Am in the kitchen with a bottle of Lochnagar if anyone is looking for me.

32. Rod Mac

The MSM and the BBC in particular are stealing our democracy with their slanted reporting and lies.
    It truly is a disgrace, however all the blogs in the world and all the Mr Angry comments on threads like this will not change it.
    Marches by a couple of hundred wont help either.
    When the troubles in Ireland were in full flight the broadcasters were never as biased as our lot.
    For if they had been  they would have been found in a ditch with a hood on ,and their hands tied behind their back.
    Likewise the London Politicians like Dr Reid were nothing but cordial to IRA Terrorists and murderers.
    He kept his hatred of Nationalists ,and his bile for his own country.
    When McGunness and Gerry Adams were being feted in Washington and London
    The Unionist Uncle Jocks and their bosses in London were still treating the SNP leadership with contempt.
    Makes you wonder when you play the non violent democratic game. seems you are treated better when you have planted bombs in Mainland England and murdered Brits and kneecapped Quislings and informers.
    I , of course am not advocating violence ,merely drawing a comparison that our media can do, and say anything they like and there are no repercussions.
    If people feel  their democratic rights have been taken from them anything could happen, broadcasters should be very careful.

33. Turnbull Drier

ooOOOoo, how very swish.. /sticks beer in washing machine (no one ever looks in there… )

34. Xaracen

Rev, just noticed that while your Jamwatch link points to the new domain name, the explanation link in it still points to the old domain name.
    First time post, though WoS has been my favourite site for over a year.

35. Joybell

A long time lurker. Have popped in for the house warming.  That’s me over at the cheesy nibbles.
    Thanks for all your hard work, Rev Stu.

36. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Rev, just noticed that while your Jamwatch link points to the new domain name, the explanation link in it still points to the old domain name.”

All internal links do that at the moment. It’s in the process of being fixed.

37. FreddieThreepwood

Haw! Where’s a’ ma Tartan Special?! 
    Bugger. Should’ve put it in the washing machine …

38. Simon

I have a screenshot of Tory Blair… now what to do with it…

Try this

http://tinypic.com/r/xeeow7/6

39. Frances

Hi all –

Whilst popping over to Scot goes Pop I see cynicalHighlander has linked to this article in the Scotsman from 2002
    http://www.scotsman.com/news/in-the-grip-of-the-party-1-1372429?optionValueBeforeVoting=0&pollId=poll_7_43342&pollIdpoll_7_43342QuestionId0=1&vote=true&cookieSet=true&pollIdpoll_7_43342=0

It’s called ‘In the grip of the Party’ and is all about the Labour Party’s very wide influence on Scottish society.  Compulsory reading and should be sent to anyone doubting what is happening in today’s Scottish media.

40. sneddon

Nice place you’ve got here, I love what you’ve done to the kitchen (pops warm bottle of martini in washing machine, has a beer)
    and all the best people as well 🙂

41. BlueTiles

Nice digs, Rev. 
    Sorry for the sneezing, allergies kicking in.
    You don’t have a cat do ya?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.