Daily Express Spot The Difference

Posted on December 04, 2010 by

(Click for full size)

I especially love the line about "plunging Scotland into darkness for half the year", as if what our arbitrary human clocks say actually makes any difference to how much daylight there is.

0 to “Daily Express Spot The Difference”

1. El Stevo says:

It says most Scots are firmly opposed, which is news to me. Most of the polls I've seen have a slight majority of Scots in favour.

2. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

Yeah, same here. People seem to have been converted over the last year or two by a slew of reports saying moving the clocks forward would save lives in Scotland as well as everywhere else.

3. jerry says:

What time are kids going to school in Scotland for it still to be dark?

PS I can't post on here from my Touch, can't get text into this editor

• Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

In winter it can easily be dark beyond 8am in many parts of Scotland.

4. Probably False says:

You should have called this "Scot the Difference". Or not. I mean, whatever man, it's your blog.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,939 Posts, 1,245,893 Comments

• Alf Baird on Ping-Pong-Fiddle-Aye-No: “Given the importance of ‘cultural assimilation’ in a colonial society, also following the Rev’s remark regarding perceptions of a supposedly…Jun 29, 19:27
    • Knuckle_Heid on The Fast Track: “I hope you spent some time giving the MSM journalists tips on how to do their jobs – yourself &…Jun 29, 19:22
    • Spartan 117 on Ping-Pong-Fiddle-Aye-No: “NC @ 6:28pm Fair enough. I’m too young to have suffered the belt, thankfully that wicked and medieval practice was…Jun 29, 19:11
    • 100%Yes on The Fast Track: “twathater, well said I could agree more. When you listen to those on Scottish prism talking about brushing it under…Jun 29, 19:07
    • Captain Caveman on Ping-Pong-Fiddle-Aye-No: ““I notice you were happy to dismiss the overwhelming evidence of grooming gangs because of some weaknesses with the methodology…Jun 29, 18:56
    • Northcode on Ping-Pong-Fiddle-Aye-No: ““…minus the weird, irrelevant comment about language…” Okay, so I went a bit LOTR with the ‘foul’ in “…thon foul…Jun 29, 18:25
    • twathater on The Fast Track: “I vehemently despise the bbc and their (choke & spit) Scottish collaborators, BUT I really really hope that they can…Jun 29, 18:06
    • Spartan 117 on Ping-Pong-Fiddle-Aye-No: “From Wikipedia page “History of the Scots language”:- “Northumbrian Old English had been established in south-eastern Scotland as far as…Jun 29, 17:49
    • duncanio on The Fast Track: “It’s a slam dunk, open and shut case of financial criminality.Jun 29, 17:37
    • 100%Yes on The Fast Track: “Psychiatrist Examines Nicola Sturgeon: Why the ‘Blind Wife’ Defence Defies Human Nature, well worth a watch. youtube.com/watch?v=h2fqy6Y6NPQJun 29, 17:33
    • GM on The Fast Track: “David Harvie and Leslie Evans resigned around the same time as well.Jun 29, 17:17
    • Iain mhor on The Fast Track: “Ah but you see, they were indeed just about to pull the trigger when they stumbled on Mr Murrell’s shenanigans.…Jun 29, 16:59
    • sarah on The Fast Track: “What, the Rev interviewed by the BBC? Surely not. Oh, of course, it is Nationalist bashing, they think, so fair…Jun 29, 16:49
    • Young Lochinvar on Ping-Pong-Fiddle-Aye-No: “Cover picture of Commissioner Swinney from Police Academy “Good speech” scene. “And I.. think.. well let this slide.. speak for…Jun 29, 16:28
    • Aidan on Ping-Pong-Fiddle-Aye-No: “I notice you were happy to dismiss the overwhelming evidence of grooming gangs because of some weaknesses with the methodology…Jun 29, 16:26
    • BigJay on The Fast Track: “I see Stu quotes Sir Iain Livingstone in one of his panels above. The quote is dated the 19th of…Jun 29, 16:16
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on The Fast Track: “Just noticed that English version of above is available here: https://dasg.ac.uk/blog/enJun 29, 16:00
    • Young Lochinvar on Ping-Pong-Fiddle-Aye-No: “NC @ 3.13 Correct. Saxons spoke a Germanic from Saxony/ Holland whereas the Angles spoke a Germanic from Denmark. C3PO:…Jun 29, 15:58
    • 100%Yes on The Fast Track: “How can a party that at the time had 125,000 members and lets say they all paid £5 a month…Jun 29, 15:48
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on The Fast Track: “CÙIRTEAN, CÙISEAN-LAGHA AGUS CEARTAS (Air a sgrìobhadh le Garry Cooke air 18 an Cèitean, 2026) « Mar a tha fios…Jun 29, 15:40
    • Young Lochinvar on Ping-Pong-Fiddle-Aye-No: “C3PO @ 2.45 Is that right? Oh well other than shouldering a share of the UKs national debt (which we…Jun 29, 15:22
    • Northcode on Ping-Pong-Fiddle-Aye-No: “No – Scots is not descended from Early Middle English. It’s descended from Northumbrian Old English, which is older than…Jun 29, 15:13
    • Young Lochinvar on The Fast Track: “J-Logue of COPFS said in the interview that they looked at this initial matter and there was no evidence! Breathy…Jun 29, 15:10
    • sam on Ping-Pong-Fiddle-Aye-No: “Posted By: Scottish Financial Review January 30, 2025 Analysis published by the Office of the Chief Economic Advisor has estimated…Jun 29, 15:08
    • lothianlad on Ping-Pong-Fiddle-Aye-No: “The SNP leadership is controlled by MI5. Eventually the truth will be revealed. Keep up the Good work Stu. Without…Jun 29, 15:00
    • lothianlad on The Fast Track: “Gie it Lalday Stu!!!!Jun 29, 14:52
    • Mark Beggan on The Fast Track: “Commit a complex crime to hide a simple, in your face, bigger crime. Peter Murrell took one for the team.Jun 29, 14:45
    • Spartan 117 on Ping-Pong-Fiddle-Aye-No: “Would this be the Scots language which is directly descended from Early Middle English?Jun 29, 14:45
    • sam on Ping-Pong-Fiddle-Aye-No: “Being British. This disnae mention Norn Iron. I suppose there is just too much deviancy and cover up involved in…Jun 29, 14:34
    • Northcode on Ping-Pong-Fiddle-Aye-No: “To summarise, using thon foul Inglis tongue we Scots hiv aw been forced tae use, what Sam is saying here…Jun 29, 14:30