And finally… #26

Posted on March 13, 2013 by

Alert contributor Scott Minto came across a weird little story in The Sun this week. We had a look into it and found the “Loyalist” nutcases responsible, whose Facebook page helpfully also provided us with a much more beautiful and uplifting sight.

glasgowsaltire

Flying proudly over Glasgow City Chambers, just as it should. Not long now.

Subscribe
Notify of

31 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Oldnat

That gull has to be a Nat!

Inbhir Anainn

@Oldnat
Surely, it looks as if one of its wings is dipped, pointing out that it is the Saltire flag that is flying.

Nairn

…and what percentage of the population knew it was Commonwealth Day in the first place? 0.001%? I certainly didn’t. What a bizarre non-story for The Sun to bother with.

DMyers

The ‘”Loyalist” nutcases’ link is the same as for the story, rather than a Facebook page.
On a slight comedy point, the UKIP member/complainant’s name seems like the sort of made-up comedy name seen on Newsthump or the Daily Mash.  Does this mean UKIP in Glasgow even more of a joke than they would appear to be?

lumilumi

I can see the Saltire… Maybe another rag above it.

My introduction to George Square in the early 1990s was pals telling me that that ponce always has to have a traffic cone on his poncey heid. I helped my pals to put it up their.

Aah, guid times. 🙂

DMyers

Actually, what relevance does flying the ‘wrong’ flag have to the madness happening in Belfast?  Other than to pad the story out, it has no bearing on events.

alasdair

I think this might be the nutcases in question link to facebook.com

pmcrek

Bizzare.

The Man in the Jar

Wonder what they will have to fly during the Commonwealth Games?

The Man in the Jar

This from Commonwealth Unionist Party Facebook page.                                                  “I attended a meeting tonight at which the assistant Lord Provost and 2 other elected councillors were to attend (all 3 confirmed that they would be there) Start time was 7.30pm, at 8.30pm there was no sign of them.
The meeting was one that was open to the public even though the Orange Order had arranged it.
Our elected representatives must hold the electorate in contempt to leave a large amount waiting and not have the decency to even phone!”
That has cheered me up!

peter

“UKIP member  Misty Thackeray……”
LOL

Yesitis

There is a heavy dose of twattery about this story, and I can`t quite put my finger on it?

Doug Daniel

First it’s fire engines in Aberdeen, now it’s City Chambers in Glasgow. If unionists are so proud to be Scottish, then why do they keep trying to have the Scottish national flag taken down and replaced with their precious union flag?

I thought it was Scottish nationalists who were supposed to be the flag-waving nutters? Why are over-zealous British nationalists not criticised in the same way?

(I know the answer, naturally…)

The Man in the Jar

@DMyers
at 10.42
I’m only guessing! But you are not from west central Scotland are you?

Nairn

The ludicrous thing is that the Commonwealth has its own flag (which isn’t the Union Jack) – shouldn’t they be flying that?

link to en.wikipedia.org

How are you supposed to celebrate Commonwealth Day, anyway? Steal a country?

The Man in the Jar

@Nairn
That is a new one on me. I could be wrong but according to your link that is the flag of the Commonwealth of Nations. Not the British Commonwealth.
I have been thinking about my earlier comment. What will GCC be obliged to fly during the Commonwealth games?
If they fly the Saltire will we get the usual suspects protesting in George square? That is all we need.
Or will they come out with some pish about “as host city to show unity blah blah” just to get themselves off the hook?

Nairn

@The Man in the Jar
i’ll admit, I double-checked, but the two Commonwealths are the same. Apparently, that’s the new rebranded name for the old empire.

link to en.wikipedia.org

So, what sort of Commonwealth Unionists wouldn’t which flag to ask for on Commonwealth Day, of all days?

Chic McGregor

I believe originally, there was to be a Scottish Union Flag  as in the following [aside: the red Saltire was not added until Union with Ireland.].  But this was eventually rejected.  So the UJ as used today, by that token is the English flag.

link to i51.photobucket.com

Dal Riata

“The meeting was one that was open to the public even though the Orange Order had arranged it.”

LOL! ROFL! ROFLMAO! (Oh, my poor sides!)

Tattie-boggle

Commonwealth unionist party “Douglas we currently meet in Annie Millers and welcome everyone that wishes to see the Union Flag flying over every city,tow and village in the UK” PMSL bet they have a right old piss up , ”  the turnout was plus one from the demo outside nicola sturgeons office. priceless drunken yobs

Tattie-boggle
Robert Kerr

Off thread but…..
made me smile… 
link to dailymail.co.uk
Daily mail against BBC and Dimbleturd !

Luigi

Did someone really put the saltire up, by mistake? I wonder! It is interesting that UKIP are getting involved.

TYRAN

If a union flag is ever to fly in Scotland, it should only be the Scots version with the saltire on top. No different to the unicorn and lion positions reversed if in Scotland or England. 

mutterings

Here’s a cached version of the link Tattie-boggle provided: SNP hits out at Treasury’s local income tax claim

Luigi

Nice pic: Wings over Glasgow?

Holebender

I wonder why it is the NO Scotland campaign avoids the Union Flag like the plague? What are they scared of?

Joeninho

No surprise they’re meeting in Annie Millers.

Richard McHarg

The Saltire has been flying over Glasgow City Chambers for quite a few years.  

the rough bounds

I’m no lover of the Labour Party, but wasn’t it Jack McConnel when his lot were in charge before 2007 that brought about this change to prefer that the Saltire be flown above the various council chambers throughout Scotland unless an occasion was something directly specific to the UK when the Union Flag should be flown in its place?

Stats: 6,668 Posts, 1,202,163 Comments

• Lorna Campbell on The People You Most Suspected: “Very true, TW.Nov 15, 13:20
    • Lorna Campbell on The People You Most Suspected: “Anyone who is not clinically insane, driven there by an addiction to p**n and autogynephilia, should be dead set against…Nov 15, 13:18
    • Lorna Campbell on The People You Most Suspected: “Yes, I believe that is right, CC.Nov 15, 13:14
    • Southernbystander on The People You Most Suspected: “Thanks for posting this. Very fair and convincing analysis. All I would add is why would anyone be surprised by…Nov 15, 13:12
    • Lorna Campbell on The People You Most Suspected: “These girls will suffer appalling skeletal damage as they approach menopause, and, probably, well before that. Was reading the other…Nov 15, 13:12
    • Young Lochinvar on The People You Most Suspected: “Maybe he just wanted a good laugh..Nov 15, 12:26
    • Jay on The People You Most Suspected: “What about the 1997 Planning Statute ref. Listed Buildings? Is it worth campaigning for the Listing of Grangemouth Refinery?Nov 15, 12:05
    • Jay on The People You Most Suspected: “under a recent Post from Rev Stu, there were cimments from Aidan. There were some very impolite comments in response.…Nov 15, 12:02
    • Jay on The People You Most Suspected: “Use the 1997 Planning (scotland) Act instead of wasting time on capital letters.Nov 15, 11:45
    • Jay on The People You Most Suspected: “Try using existing Legislative provisions to retain the Refinery. Is there a lawyer participating in WoS and who will comment…Nov 15, 11:41
    • Jay on The People You Most Suspected: “Is there a reason why Grangemouth site should not be Listed by HES?Nov 15, 11:35
    • Jay on The People You Most Suspected: “Make many applications to Hisroric Environment Scotland for Listed status for all buildings and the industrial complex as a whole.…Nov 15, 11:33
    • Mac on The People You Most Suspected: “This is a bombshell discussion between Aaron Mate and Judge Nap. www.youtube.com/watch?v=BqbQ1B_w7OE You can see on both of their faces…Nov 15, 10:02
    • Garavelli Princip on The People You Most Suspected: “You appear incapable of serious debate – either in your present guise or your previous incarnation as ‘John Main’. You…Nov 15, 09:24
    • Rab Clark on The People You Most Suspected: “Interesting to compare two great speeches, from ‘before & after’ the North Sea oil bonanza. Does anyone know if Jimmy…Nov 15, 09:20
    • TURABDIN on The People You Most Suspected: “Roland Barthes, Michel Foucault, Jacques Derrida, Jean Baudrillard and Gilles Deleuze…..lost in translation. Few were read in original most in…Nov 15, 09:19
    • The Flying Iron of Doom on The People You Most Suspected: ““It’s been almost 275 years since the folk on these Isles actually fed themselves without imports.” Aye, but is it…Nov 15, 08:52
    • Mac on The People You Most Suspected: “We? You got a mouse in your pocket Johnicide?Nov 15, 08:29
    • Mac on The People You Most Suspected: “Wow if I’d known you were such a moron I would not have wasted a second of my life replying.…Nov 15, 07:58
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on The People You Most Suspected: “Clarification. Paul Embery’s post is dated 8 Nov 2024. The Trump footage is from Jan 2023. The TIME article (12…Nov 15, 07:27
    • auld highlander on The People You Most Suspected: “chust type it in and press enterNov 15, 07:00
    • Hatey McHateface on The People You Most Suspected: “Wow, he’s writing haiku now! Only … ach, never mind. He’s making the attempt and that’s what counts 🙂Nov 15, 06:59
    • Hatey McHateface on The People You Most Suspected: “Breaking News! Retired professor of biochemistry resorts to personal slurs during Wings BTL “serious debate”. Early retirement, was it?Nov 15, 06:54
    • The Flying Iron of Doom on The People You Most Suspected: “Besmirch his repuation? Why would Musk need to waste time doing that when Humzie did an excellent job of it…Nov 15, 06:05
    • Cynicus on The People You Most Suspected: “Sorry – the above reply is to MacNov 15, 02:21
    • Cynicus on The People You Most Suspected: ““Max Blumenthal : Trump’s Neocons” =========== You really are a sucker for sub literate headlines by sub editors to tired…Nov 15, 02:20
    • James Gardner on The People You Most Suspected: “It’s been almost 275 years since the folk on these Isles actually fed themselves without imports. Brexit was a piece…Nov 15, 01:54
    • Graf Midgehunter on The People You Most Suspected: “Wull. “Couldn’t the Scottish Government find a way to take the refinery over?” —————- Yes Wull they could. There are…Nov 15, 01:45
    • James Gardner on The People You Most Suspected: “I would not be surprised that there will be a Scottish Election before the Grangemouth closure !Nov 15, 01:04
    • tolkein on Bespoilers Of Graves: “These are vile slanderous vipers, abusing his family. I’m a Unionist, but could see that Salmond was a serious man,…Nov 15, 00:27

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()