The Unbargain Bin
Posted on
November 23, 2024 by
Chris Cairns
I think Sawar’s my favourite
Steve Clarke’s is a close second
“The Unbearable Blandness of Being” by John Swinney
Impressive array of litter-chore there , C.C , but where is John Swinney’s definitive guide to embalming …The Joy Of Formaldehyde , has it been taken out of print due to reports of narcolepsy amongst it’s seven readers ?
And what about Cole-Hamilton’s ” Gaga Saga ” short story collection…. ” How I Did It To Beth ; A Hawk For Harris ; Being A Twat & Other Tales Of The Expected ” ?
Withdrawn over claims it plagiarised the scribblings on ” Cottage ” cubicle walls ?
Holiday Boy continues to demonstrate his genius, whenever he deigns to show-up.
“In the Shadow of Giants” indeed. But it’s no joke. Anger and terror for what is happening under Forbes and Swinney is where I am – signing our wealth and freedom away. They have no idea or wish, apparently, to look after the people of Scotland. God rot them.
Yip, I’m in much the same place. Every move they make demonstrates not just a lack of concern for the people of this country, but that they are actively working against our best interests. Saboteurs.
God rot them indeed.
Don’t forget to include Angus Robertson in your ire for various reasons…
link to robinmcalpine.org
I’m not forgetting any of them, Dan, and muse daily over what can be done to free us from their clutches.
But Angus hides in the shadows hoping his influence won’t be noticed.
Oh, most excellent, Chris.
I wonder what book has caught the wee auld wummins eye – Padlocks & Polycules by P. Harvie? . . . Fun with Scooters by Humza Yousaf? Fear of Ferries by A. Robertson?
Always look forward to the cartoon, so much to see, so much detail. Who is the browser?
Val McDermid?
I did wonder, but why?
She’s a good pal of She Who Must Be Obeyed.
Wonderful cartoon that re-frames the sheer and utter shite that we are forever peddled with that masquerades as trooth.
Thank you for affording a wry chuckle at the book titles this morning, over my coffee and lemon cake. Waking up earlier in this ice cube, that was an unforeseen eventuality. The cat’s still crabbit though.
🙂 I like the sound of your cat!
Excellent Chris, I love a bargain book bin!
OT Has anyone seen the new add for Jaguar ? Find it on Youtube and have a laugh – some brilliant comments!
Yes
They are certainly having their own wee Bud Light/ Democrats/ Jaguar/ NuSNP/ S Greens (aka the Khymer Vert) moment of commercial or political suicide.
That is pure genius.
It’s pishing down here right now, but your artistry and comedic brilliance has already lifted my spirits.
Thank you Chris.
Sandy Brindley, Pride and Prejudice.
Ooft.
Some great reads there Chris.
“How to become a successful con-artist.
Manual for beginners”
Edited by Campbell & McLaughlin
“Idiocy for Dummies” by K. Starmer?
For me these cartoons are a waste of money. The money could be better spent on achieving something meaningful towards the goal and most of the time no one has a clue as to what the cartoon mean.
Is satire not meaningful ? Don’t know where you get the claim ” most of the time no one has a clue as to what the cartoon mean.” from ; they may at times require a little thought to ” get ” ( does everything have to be reduced to simpleton level before being understood ? ) but I’d be very surprised if the readership here don’t ” get ” the subjects C.C is referring to in his ( excellent ) artworks
Doubt if I am alone in appreciating the biting satire of these cartoons.
Nothing pricks the balloon of pomposity of the entitled, self centred elite who rule us like refusing to take them too seriously.
Please keep ‘em coming Chris.
Bet you’re a laugh at a party. It’s called satire. And that’s what Chris does every Saturday. it’s his job. Jeez, there’s always one…
What an absurd comment. Chris Cairns’ cartoons are frequently extremely sharp and clever and can express in a single image what might be difficult to convey in an entire series of blogs. Besides, I think it’s for Rev. Stuart Campbell to decide what constitutes the best and most effective use of his money.
Dear 100%, the point is that satire is as close to the truth as you’ll get these days by showing our grifters and the independence movement in a different light other than that which the mainstream media would have us believe. Chris Cairns is a first class cartoonist. What is unbelievable, is that I and many others here will remember a helluva lot of his work, if not every single one of his cartoons that he has produced over the past 10 years! That is the power of his work and of satire.
Well if you put your brain in gear, maybe you’d be able to work it out. You could start with the Beano and work up to these cartoons .
Trans Con Mental Journeys.
How to win enemies and infuriate people.
Snowflake Gate on the road to freedom
This is the second attempt at selling remaindered books. In the first, the table collapsed under the weight of the many unsold copies of “The Lonely Planet Guide to Every Gender Recognised in Scotland. Full descriptions in over 1000 pages”.
A Woman Called Horse
By Lorna Slater
Ooft! Harsh but true. 🙂
King Rat
By Nicola Murrell
Re. She/ Her writing a memoir.
I believe the title will be a play on a CS Lewis book.
The Lying, The Stitch (Up) and (being in) The Closet
“…writing a memoir.”
Sturgeon? A memoir?
At least it will be brief…
Suitably cryptic and pungent
“The struggle to remain relevant in adverse times”
By M. Black, A. Smith & T. Shepphard
“This Woman’s Half Of The Sky Has Fallen Down”.
Anon.
For copyright reasons published overseas as
”The Secret Diary Of A Mole, Aged 54 1/4”.
Still anon.
Negotiations are reportedly well advanced for a Christmas 2026 sequel provisionally entitled “The Cornton Vale Years”, but that’s dependent on future events.
The Life and Times of Peter Murrell
By Nicolas Bagman
“My imaginary Y chromosome and I:
a journey from space”
By K. Blackman
Laughing out loud!
Bankruptcy Basics for Politicians by John Swinney
Sense, sensibility and GRC by Mridul Wadhwa
Jay Rayner has quit the Guardian/Observer with accusations of antisemitism.
Pity no one of consequence writes for The National.
“The Enjoyment of being Gormless and Vacuous” by Shona Robison.
Belter Chris . Had a real chuckle at their books.
“The benefits of grease” by Mhairi Black.
Kezia Dugdales aptly named book 1001 things I do to make my hair look like a helmet.
Susan Aitken hus wan tae…..
“The Grifters Almanac” by John Nicholson, Pete Wishart, Alyn Smith, Stephen Flynn, Kirsty Blackman, S.A Somerville et al
Welcome back Mr Cairns. 🙂
“The man in the back seat”
By Neil Gray
There have been some clever belters today but this one is my favourite.
Excellent, as always, Chris. Stu, could ye no hide his passport ?
My suggestions –
“My Life as a Klingon” – Sandy Brindley
“The subtle art of doing nothing” – Dotty Bain
“How to decorate your closet for Christmas” – Peter Murrell
Spilt my tea due to the Murrell title!
HOLY SHIT!
:THE JOY OF COOL
a memoir
by Jay Swinney
The Crucible, by Nicola Sturgeon featuring A,B,C,D,E,F,G and H .
The Chronicles of Roddick.
Swindler’s List – An explanation on the D’Hondt voting system and scams to gain advantage.
Distraction Techniques – Utilising fake faints or instantaneous bouts of lame as fuck break dancing moves to get yourself out of a pickle.
“Dynamic Motivations Training”
Guidelines for Success
by John Swinney
Times book editor:
“An utterly amazing chronic of wit and readability, four pages crammed full of ideas and methods to rise above the “Normal” of our political landscape.”
Das ist sehr gut.
Tightrope Dancing for Muslims
H Useless
The benefits of Snake Skin Oil.
H Useless
“We Three” by the ISP membership
‘Accountancy for Dummies’ (including bonus supplement woven through the text) by C Beattie & P Murrell
Not sure if it is great minds think alike or fools seldom differ but I was going for the lying bitch and the bald bloke for for the title of the Nicola memoir.
Scottish National Party Buffoon’s (Now Cancelled) Vacation – Camper-van Police Heist
The Six Hundred Thousand Pound Man
A short story of little mystery, yet one that intriguingly confounded a shit state of a nation’s police force for years.
The Campervan Diaries
Che Guivara
SLOW PENETRATION.
by M. I. Phibes
In certain quarters that might be a best seller.
Why Einsteins Theory of Relativity and Science is inappropriate by Nicola Sturgeon
You missed out the book titled Chris Cairns – Dodging Work on Saturday’s at Wings.
“What is a woman? A Schroedinger cervix mystery.” by Starmer
New titles from “The Mole Apprentice Series” :
“The mystery of the hacked emails” and
“The negative impact of verbal diarrhoea”
by Stewart McDonald
Liz Lloyd
Mission Accomplished
So the greedy troughing treacherous b*stard Stephen Flynn – has now ruled out sticking his snout into two troughs one at Holyrood and the other at the foreign parliament at Westminster.
Flynn is your typical SNP politician greedy as f*ck and utterly self – orientated – he and his SNP trougher fellow MSPs don’t give a toss about Scots let alone independence.
“The Ermine Scavenger”
By Iain Blackford
Why was I deported and ridiculed, by Maggie Chapman/he/her/them/those
I am really hoping that one becomes a reality.
HOW I STOPPED WORRYING AND LEARNED TO EMBRACE MY INNER UNIONIST.
Baroness STURGEON of Dreghorn.
Oy veh!
Chris another belter of a toon , but you have serious competition on the book titles ,trust WOS readers and commentators to keep you on yir toes
The disappearing magic money trick performed and written by Nicoliar Amoral
The Fundlimundals of Politics: Jim Murphy
Leak House: Liz Lloyd
The Puppeteer’s Manual: Angus Robertson
Scotland’s GDP – The Audited Accounts: HMSO
D.C. Thomson Comic Characters: David Clegg
Blair MacDougal’s Diet Plan
How To Improve Your Memory: Nicola Sturgeon
“Mission betrayal”
Series Part 1: “The Stone of Destiny giveaway”
by Humza Yousaf
from the “I do not recall” series:
“50 ways of deflecting a question”
and from the “Professional dentistry” series:
“how to remove the teeth of a party without anaesthesia”
by Nicola Sturgeon
I Vow To Thee, My Country by Murray Foote
Ouch! And true.
The case of the pregnant man.
How to be a legend in your own toilet.
And other stories
Forwarded by The Pig in Knickers
They/Them/It
Tinker, Tailor, Tr@it0r, Cunt.
By Angus Le Robertson.
Mac – Superb. Laughing my socks off.
A Tangled Web
Anonymous
O/T Has anyone seen the latest Inde-Car you tube? Someone is getting excited because apparently Inde-Car says we’ll be independent in 3-5 years. I’d like to believe it, obviously, but if it is true I think Wings would be telling us.