First Minister’s Questions, 24-11-11

Posted on November 24, 2011 by

Holyrood witnessed an exceptionally dismaying FMQs this week, with all three opposition leaders embarrassing themselves to varying degrees. Iain Gray once again wasted his entire allotted time on pointlessly demanding a precise date for the independence referendum, which is still some three or more years distant. The First Minister's replies could have been provided by a tape recording and accurately predicted in advance by a primary-school child or an Old Firm supporter, and Gray was further humiliated by some stinging quotes from prominent Labour figures, including one previously highlighted by this very blog.

The Labour leader also came disturbingly close to an outright lie, in misrepresenting the views of the Parliament's former Presiding Officer George Reid by claiming that Mr Reid wanted the referendum supervised by the Electoral Commission. This was despite Mr Reid making his (somewhat different) actual position painstakingly clear in the Scotsman's letters page on the very same day.

But the real clanger was dropped by the new Tory leader Ruth Davidson, who castigated the Scottish Government for dropping legislation aimed at preventing the reduction of minimum sentences, affecting (among others) rape cases. The First Minister gently informed Ms Davidson that she had been misinformed by her researchers, pointing out that the legislation was in fact going ahead and would be brought before Parliament by the end of this month. Davidson sailed straight over the correction without a suggestion of retraction or apology, and went on to make an impenetrable point about demanding life sentences without possibility of parole for certain serious offences – seemingly asking the Parliament to do so regardless of the restrictions placed on such actions by the European Convention of Human Rights.

For the Lib Dems, Willie Rennie went for a worthless point aimed at the tabloid "Our Brave Boys" audience, demanding to know if Scottish soldiers serving in the British Army would be forced to resign and join a Scottish Army in the event of independence. Once again, an opposition leader could think of no more pressing concerns facing Scotland in 2011 than a trivial and hypothetical issue from a hypothetical future, many years away from anyone needing to worry about it.

Even when given a clear and direct answer from the FM – that no, soldiers would not be forced to do such a thing and would be free to choose which army they wished to serve in – Rennie persisted in some aimless rhetoric about soldiers currently fighting side-by-side somehow being pitched against each other and made to "choose between their colleagues and their country". Salmond slapped the line of attack down uncompromisingly with a retort about coalition-imposed redundancies among serving forces and election results in constituencies with military bases, and that was that.

First Minister's Questions is theatre, but it's nonetheless depressing to see all three opposition leaders so ham-fistedly squandering their main opportunity to hold the government publicly to account, something vital to any functioning democracy. Salmond can occasionally be made to look evasive and blustery at FMQs, but he didn't have to get out of second gear to crush his opponents today. He could have phoned it in, and that's no fit state for any self-respecting Parliament.

Subscribe
Notify of

5 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Rolf

Great summation. Surely even Labour Party members must have despaired today when Iain 'Groundhog Day' Gray asked about the referendum timing. 
Someone posted on Twitter that he's probably just repeating this nonsense as it's bound to get re-played all across BBC Scotland's news output. "Ian Gray today demanded that Alex Salmond stops dithering and names a date for his fixed separation referendum, the uncertainty around which is harming the UK economy" etc, etc, ad nauseum.

An Duine Gruamach

Yep, too late now.  He's Yestergray's man.

An Duine Gruamach

Even the Graytest leaders fall in the end, I suppose.

Stats: 6,672 Posts, 1,203,086 Comments

• Robert Hughes on The Unbargain Bin: “I can’t think of any reason why that couldn’t be done , D : other than the SNP’s likely selfish…Nov 24, 17:16
    • twathater on The Unbargain Bin: “If you remember Dan I posted comments on here and Barrhead Boy and Iain Lawson’s Yours for Scotland prior to…Nov 24, 17:15
    • Hatey McHateface on The Unbargain Bin: “Who?Nov 24, 17:15
    • Hatey McHateface on The Unbargain Bin: ““White! White!! White!!! Scotland’s Curse And How To Lift It” [Here’s a preview of the jacket blurb] “Written by an…Nov 24, 17:13
    • Nae Need! on The Unbargain Bin: “On a similar note: ‘A Beginners Guide to Deviancy’ by He Him.Nov 24, 17:09
    • znovak on The Unbargain Bin: ““200 quick and easy gender identity recipes for boring people” by M.Black “Three non-binary individuals in a boat (she/her) (To…Nov 24, 16:19
    • Dan on The Unbargain Bin: “@RevStu (and would appreciate comments from many others) So looking back at this article and the manifesto text pasted below…Nov 24, 15:36
    • Colin Alexander on The Unbargain Bin: “Salmond went the s30 route – upholding the sovereignty of his Queen of England in WM. Under Salmond, the SNP…Nov 24, 14:20
    • Mark Beggan on The Unbargain Bin: “One flew over the cuckoos nest By Fergus EwingNov 24, 14:04
    • Mark Beggan on The Unbargain Bin: “A Dictators Guide to the Galaxy P HarveyNov 24, 13:52
    • TURABDIN on The Unbargain Bin: “THE BIG LIE AND HOW THE F****** FELL FOR IT. a very, very, very graphic novel. by the Bute House…Nov 24, 13:21
    • stuart mctavish on The Unbargain Bin: “Greater Expectations, we the people Highland Treasure, Kate Forbes Lords of the Wings, Campbell & Cairns The illuad, Boris JohnsonNov 24, 12:50
    • sarah on The Unbargain Bin: “Excellent!Nov 24, 12:14
    • sarah on The Unbargain Bin: “All excellent, sam!Nov 24, 12:13
    • Pete Short on The Unbargain Bin: “What, no copies of The Presidency colouring book by Doald Trump?Nov 24, 11:20
    • Cynicus on The Unbargain Bin: ““The Truth About Me” by [REDACTED] Foreword by John SwinneyNov 24, 11:11
    • TURABDIN on The Unbargain Bin: “A recent survey indicates 60% of people in England are dissatisfied with «politics» but only 20% in Scotland. The Scots…Nov 24, 11:03
    • Hatey McHateface on The Unbargain Bin: “The Observer’s Book Of AlphabettiesNov 24, 10:28
    • Hatey McHateface on The Unbargain Bin: “FFS, Mia! Faced with the monstrous betrayal of Scotland’s honour, history and democracy that Yousaf as FM of Scotland embodied,…Nov 24, 10:26
    • Hatey McHateface on The Unbargain Bin: ““The Scot Abroad” That’s one of yours isn’t it?Nov 24, 10:15
    • diabloandco on The Unbargain Bin: “‘The Book Cooker , his Wife and the Yes Them’ P.MurrellNov 24, 09:59
    • sam on The Unbargain Bin: “The Imporrtance of being Honest – Nicola Sturgeon Guys and Dolls – Sandy Brindley and them others As I Lay…Nov 24, 09:41
    • Hatey McHateface on The Unbargain Bin: “That’s great news, sarah, if true. Is it clear what currency we’ll be using? I expect forwards-thinking Scots will want…Nov 24, 09:38
    • Hatey McHateface on The Unbargain Bin: “A wee birdie tells me you have a book of your own in the pipeline, Ros: “A Search For scotland”…Nov 24, 09:25
    • gregor on The Unbargain Bin: “The Who: Life House: Bargain: “I’d gladly lose me to find you I’d gladly give up all I have To…Nov 24, 08:16
    • James Gardner on The Unbargain Bin: “Susan Aitken hus wan tae…..Nov 24, 00:11
    • Astonished on The Unbargain Bin: “Mac – Superb. Laughing my socks off.Nov 23, 22:31
    • Astonished on The Unbargain Bin: “I am really hoping that one becomes a reality.Nov 23, 22:28
    • sarah on The Unbargain Bin: “O/T Has anyone seen the latest Inde-Car you tube? Someone is getting excited because apparently Inde-Car says we’ll be independent…Nov 23, 22:14
    • SteepBrae on The Unbargain Bin: “A Tangled Web AnonymousNov 23, 21:29

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()