The Sealand Gazette

Posted on June 16, 2012 by

Alert viewers may have already noticed a new addition to the central links column: The Sealand Gazette. (If so, they should award themselves 200 Alert Viewer Points and add them to their Viewerscore card.)

The Gazette came about because I have a bad habit of using Twitter as a sort of Post-It Note for news stories I want to keep on file for future reference. It is, of course, singularly badly suited for this purpose, because finding anything you posted on Twitter more than a couple of days ago is a hideous trial and – as I learned only recently – Twitter deletes your old tweets forever when you exceed your quota, which varies according to how prolifically you tweet but can be as little as a few weeks.

So instead, now there's the Gazette, the newspaper for people who increasingly wish they lived on an isolated former gun platform in the middle of the North Sea. Published through the rather nifty Scoop.it platform, the benefits are that it's incredibly easy to use – a couple of clicks adds a story – and both persistent and searchable.

(NB To search the Gazette use the "FILTER" function below the banner, not the Search box at the top of the page, which searches the whole of Scoop.it instead.)

At launch many of the stories are old-ish, because I've been going through my Twitter account grabbing everything I've posted there since April before it gets wiped, but from now on it'll be hot-off-the-presses stuff, and there's even a Page Three girl today as an introductory bonus. (Though of course, it's a rather sinister and troubling one.) Readers can also easily suggest stories to add.

The Gazette should be a lot less trouble to maintain than the short-lived "Reasons Not To Recycle" blog, and fulfil much the same purpose. (Misanthropic nihilism, essentially.) But I'll make a special effort to throw in a few nice stories too, because mass reader suicide isn't the goal. Although in the broader sense, it is a bit.

0 to “The Sealand Gazette”

1. John says:

The little girl with the school food photoblog could have kept going with the project, substituting MSPaint/scanned crayon depictions for the photographs, if the ban had remained in place. Fortunately the PR fallout took care of things, as is nature's way.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,884 Posts, 1,236,961 Comments

• Mark Beggan on Two Men Unalike: “Tell that to the Iranians.Mar 2, 16:23
    • Geri on Two Men Unalike: “Nope! It wasn’t. I pointed out your fake concern & hypocrisy over a kidnapped child while hundreds of them lay…Mar 2, 16:19
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: ““They don’t reject Christ. Far from it.” So true, Geri. My local church is hoaching with former followers of the…Mar 2, 16:16
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: “There, there, Confused, you’ll feel better now. Ah ken it’s difficult for you when people point out you don’t have…Mar 2, 16:07
    • Geri on Two Men Unalike: “Islam has more in common with Christianity than you’d care to admit. They don’t reject Christ. Far from it. Unlike…Mar 2, 16:04
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: ““sick bastards who took out a school full of weans” I told you before, Geri, stop it! You’re making me…Mar 2, 15:59
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: ““just sailed signal intae town” If that’s the popular toothpaste brand you’re referring to, Geri, you should capitalise it in…Mar 2, 15:52
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: “I have the power to summon Implants! Currently takes a bit over an hour. But I may work on getting…Mar 2, 15:46
    • Mark Beggan on Two Men Unalike: ““Islam is as dangerous in a man as rabies in a dog”Mar 2, 15:45
    • Geri on Two Men Unalike: “Whit? You mean the great Oz didn’t have that capability either? Dinnie fash, the other Eastern friends have jamming &…Mar 2, 15:27
    • Geri on Two Men Unalike: “Listen up, fuckwit..no one in the region either likes you or wants you there. No one. The West won’t be…Mar 2, 15:23
    • DaveL on Two Men Unalike: ““Best in the world”? Is that why they’re getting beat? Big and shiny like the yanks no doubt.Mar 2, 15:04
    • Breastplate on Two Men Unalike: “Remember to check under the bed before going to sleep tonight, John.Mar 2, 15:02
    • Confused on Two Men Unalike: “I see your tics are still firing www.youtube.com/shorts/LLxS5DnPEJA SPIT IT OOT JOHN YA WANKFACEMar 2, 14:49
    • Breastplate on Two Men Unalike: “If that is true, John, what would be the point of regime change? Would it not be the exact same…Mar 2, 14:45
    • TURABDIN on Two Men Unalike: “The trouble is when you have a direct line to a vengeful deity you hear what you wish to hear.…Mar 2, 14:33
    • Young Lochinvar on Two Men Unalike: “I see being sludged in a pressure cooker is now legal here as an alternative to cremation to keep the…Mar 2, 14:33
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: “Smart move, Confused! Deny all knowledge of the magic flying carpets and live to post more shite the morra.Mar 2, 14:30
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: “MSM is reporting on how personnel from our fighting friends in the east are lending their world-leading expertise on countering…Mar 2, 14:28
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: ““you were telling folk on here to stick to hoovering” Not true, Geri. I was telling YOU to go to…Mar 2, 14:15
    • Confused on Two Men Unalike: ““friendly fire” I hope iranian F-14s took them down; tomcats are far superior to eagles. but seriously : IFF should…Mar 2, 14:07
    • Geri on Two Men Unalike: “…or maybe, just maybe, he’s a *friend* of Kid Starver sent to drum up some support & gein it laldy.…Mar 2, 14:03
    • Young Lochinvar on Two Men Unalike: “HMcH You’re projecting yet AGAIN “old boy”..Mar 2, 13:59
    • Geri on Two Men Unalike: “Get with the program, Shiteface. No one is forced to wear letterboxes. The only ones who do enforce it are…Mar 2, 13:55
    • Confused on Two Men Unalike: “there is a great photo of the knifeman grinning at his window that flat is paid for by the state;…Mar 2, 13:43
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: ““new leader appointed who didn’t share the last leaders views on not having nukes” Great news if true, Geri. Now…Mar 2, 13:34
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: “Stop it, Geri! You’re making me want to post something about you secretly desiring to be forced into a letter…Mar 2, 13:22
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: “Magic flying carpets, Confused, the radar beams go right through them. But I’m telling you this in strictest confidence. Breathe…Mar 2, 13:12
    • Geri on Two Men Unalike: “Yup. Those families drapes were already on shoogly pegs. Vassal states bullied by the emperor with no clothes on. All…Mar 2, 13:10
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: ““the main task of the liberator is ‘to unveil their oppression’” We’re all about to see in May just how…Mar 2, 13:07