The independent deterrent

Posted on July 20, 2013 by

Scotland doesn’t need a nuclear missile system. All we need to do is stick a few of these at strategic points around the coastline and see who wants to mess with us.

I think we all know the answer to that question.

25 to “The independent deterrent”

1. Somebody says:

Let’s just stick some Labour MPs on the coastline – their horrible ‘policies’ will scare any potential enemies away in no time!

2. scottish_skier says:

Seen this before. Quality.
    Should get him to front the rugby team and play post haka when we’re facing New Zealand. Combined with the about turn and lift kilt when finished of course.

3. AlexMcI says:

Well guys this is off topic but I’m sending out a massive respect to the SSP yes Scotland guys who set their stalls up in Ayr . Ian brotherhood And Doon footer you guys know who you are. You guys are the reason that yes will win this referendum for us. So nice to meet you and I wish I had the patience to put up with the public . big kudos to you guys that stood in eighty degree heat engaging with anyone who would talk too you. I’m proud to be part of this guys . Goan yerself.

4. Dal Riata says:

That guy’s brilliant!So, like you say, get a whole army of guys (and lassies)like that in pairs sited at strategic points along the border and the coastline.At any sign of trouble or intrusion, out of cover or from the darkness steps the two watchpeople. Background music starts up. Then the first words:The intro guy/lassie: “William Wallace is seven feet tall!”The piper guy/lassie: “Yes, I’ve heard. Kills men by the hundreds. And if he were here, he’d consume the English with fireballs from his eyes, and bolts of lightning from his arse! … I am William Wallace! “Music gets louder and piper proceeds to shoot firebolts from his pipe’s drones (If he could be even more authentic and shoot fireballs from his eyes and bolts of lightening from his arse that would be tremendous. The chances of that happening though, are decidedly slim) while jumping about like a mad thing and playing along.Now that would just make you shit yourself and say, ‘Fuck this for a caper! Let’s get to hell out of here!’ would it not?!Who would need nuclear weapons if we had that lot?!

5. Dal Riata says:

Don’t know what happened there with my last post. The formatting was all correct before posting.

Stu, you couldn’t do me a favour and do some kind of reformat of that post for me, could you? Then delete this one? If you can be bothered, then that would be great! Thanks in hope!

6. Macart says:

That’s effing brilliant.

Love the new uniform for the SDF.

Well hard.  🙂

7. James Westland says:

The video is really funny. And what is funnier is, speaking of nuclear deterrents etc, there was a cyber-attack on Iranian nuclear facilities that caused their computers to play AC/DC’s “Thunderstruck”!  I dont think it was the version that the “badpiper” in the video plays though!

link to alarabiya.net

Even funnier is the fact that Uranium is a “heavy metal”!

\m/ 🙂 \m/

8. Chic McGregor says:

Wouldn’t need any drones either 🙂

I’ll get my plaidie and tammy.

9. The Man in the Jar says:

Thought that I`d seen it all. “The Bagpiper” This guy is seriously nuts, love the pyrotechnics. An Australian I assume no sign of a Scottish cringe whatsoever. Can’t wait for “The Morris Dancer” version with exploding balloons, flaming handkerchiefs etc.

10. CameronB says:

Seriously OT, but his is the kind of Uranium rock that I like.

11. john king says:

wow now thats-one-bad-piper
    ;0

12. Seasick Dave says:

Here’s a good link to start Sunday with…

link to scotsman.com

Gaun yersel’ David!

13. Murray McCallum says:

That is brilliant.  I hope he waits till after his performance before he has a few drams though.

14. MajorBloodnok says:

I like these guys – Clanadonia.

Particularly the audience participation.

15. Atypical_Scot says:

@MajorBloodnok;
    Brilliant. Was that you dancing? Where’s the suit?

16. Davy says:

COOL VERY COOL.

17. The Man in the Jar says:

If that has put you in the mood try this bunch of “foreigners”

18. ianbrotherhood says:

@AlexMcl-

Cheers mister. Big pleasure to meet you, and hopefully won’t be the last time.

You saw how busy it was yesterday – imagine what it’s going to be like this time next year, when we’re on the home-run and the BT brigade still haven’t dared show their face anywhere that real people can ask them what they’re all about?

Slainte!

19. MajorBloodnok says:

Atypical_Scot says: Was that you dancing? Where’s the suit?

Busted!

20. Tasmanian says:

The Badpiper is an Australian resident! You can’t have him, he’s ours now 🙂

21. ianbrotherhood says:

Well, well, well – McCrone is seldom mentioned in the MSM, but he crops up today in a Jason Allardyce piece in The Sunday Times (p4):

‘…Gavin McCrone, former chief economic adviser to the Scottish Office, writes in a new book that 2014 is not the best time for independence in the wake of a recession, high public debt and an unsustainable budget deficit.
       “Scotland is a relatively well-off country and could perfectly well be independent. But that does not mean that the process of separation would be easy or painless. It would be a major upheaval with uncertain consequences,” he said.
       However, McCrone – whose advice that North Sea oil could transform an independent Scotland’s fortunes was suppressed by the UK government in the mid-1970s – warned that promises of further devolution are likely to be shelved by the UK government if Scotland votes No in next year’s referendum.
       A No vote also risks severing Scotland’s vital ties with Europe and a flight of foreign investors if the UK then votes to leave the EU in the Conservative’s in/out referendum, McCrone suggested.’

22. Andy-B says:

Well according to, Westminster guru Danny Alexander, today, Scotland will be wide open to nuclear attack if the Faslane is forced to close as a nuclear deterrent base.

Funny how its just Scotland thats open to nuclear attack, and not any other EU country.

23. Stuart Black says:

@ianbrotherhood. re. McCrone:

Indeed, and I was very surprised to see not one but two mentions of the original report in successive letters in the Herald on Friday, it seems it’s not only the Sunday edition that is softening their stance.

link to heraldscotland.com

24. Richie says:

Nae bad but I bet there’s quite a few Scots (me included) that can do that out of their arses on a sunday afternoon.

25. Jamie Arriere says:

I think the boy could do with a bit more training…..before he burns the rest of his hair off.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,727 Posts, 1,215,181 Comments

• twathater on Mad caps: “A shoutout for Dave Llewellyn the Indy Ninja for his info on X https://x.com/TheIndyNinja1/status/1909240792356467126/photo/1Apr 8, 02:24
    • Mark Beggan on Mad caps: “Welcome to the machine.Apr 8, 01:56
    • Dan on Mad caps: “Aidan says: at 9:31 pm “You honestly think the Rev should ban people wanting to have serious conversations about Scottish…Apr 8, 00:25
    • Jay on Mad caps: “Vivian O’B, what is this ‘purple pish’ carry-on from you? I have read numerous comments from you but now have…Apr 7, 22:53
    • Aidan on Mad caps: “@Xaracen – you don’t personally rant and rave and that comment wasn’t aimed at you, whilst I don’t think your…Apr 7, 22:01
    • Xaracen on Mad caps: “Aidan said: “Exactly Robert – it’s full of people who rant and rave like you do. Nobody wants to be…Apr 7, 21:56
    • Aidan on Mad caps: “@Twathater (an interest way to project your self hatred but there we go) – I am delighted you aren’t responding…Apr 7, 21:31
    • sarah on Mad caps: “Crowdfunder for Independence Live – it needs a lot more donors. So far it has £900 of the £6500 target.…Apr 7, 21:04
    • Hatey McHateface on Mad caps: “Lots going on in plucky, wee Norway – the country that all sane and rational Scots hold up as the…Apr 7, 20:37
    • Hatey McHateface on Mad caps: “So you’re claiming that US soldiers on RF soil will be summarily dispatched. The RF won’t make any political capital…Apr 7, 19:53
    • PacMan on Mad caps: “The possibility might need to be considered that the higher percentage of support amongst younger voters in polls for independence…Apr 7, 19:49
    • Hatey McHateface on Mad caps: ““after 300+years of neglect and abuse Scotland and Scots are worse off than they have ever been” Here you go…Apr 7, 19:47
    • Hatey McHateface on Mad caps: “Calm down, Bob. This isn’t where you post your application for camp guard in the New Scottish Gulag you and…Apr 7, 19:38
    • PacMan on Mad caps: “To be fair, most of us where taken in by this be-Kind, inclusive, civic nationalism nonsense. Look where it is…Apr 7, 19:35
    • twathater on Mad caps: “@ Robert Hughes TBQH Robert I have more or less stopped responding tae these pricks , it is the same…Apr 7, 17:48
    • Jay on Mad caps: “I wonder what Belarusian govt would say if a US military vehicle drove across the border from Lithuania? Viv. OB,…Apr 7, 14:56
    • sarah on Mad caps: “Couch as in grass not as in putting ones feet up!Apr 7, 12:42
    • Mark Beggan on Mad caps: “Scottish media in panic about Universities and their subsequent bankruptcy. Page after page, comment after comment. Children are trapped in…Apr 7, 12:34
    • sarah on Mad caps: “The “age” question is interesting. Can you remember if younger people were very visible in the 2014 campaign? From memory…Apr 7, 12:03
    • agent x on Mad caps: “Not much in the Scottish press about Swinney’s trip to New York!Apr 7, 10:25
    • Vivian O’Blivion on Mad caps: “An excerpt from an article on the website of the Atlantic Council (see also Radio Free Europe); “Lithuanians paid tribute…Apr 7, 10:21
    • Aidan on Mad caps: “Exactly Robert – it’s full of people who rant and rave like you do. Nobody wants to be associated with…Apr 7, 08:56
    • Robert Hughes on Mad caps: “” it’s also that the campaign is too closely associated with anti-Englishness, sympathy for the Kremlin sometimes and increasingly wild…Apr 7, 08:25
    • Hatey McHateface on Mad caps: “Don’t overlook the ingrained antisemitism which a close read of the clannish, self-congratulatory backslapping posts reveals. But yes, if they…Apr 7, 07:14
    • Hatey McHateface on Mad caps: ““We voters would be in the driving seat – that would be wonderful” Would it though, sarah? In all of…Apr 7, 07:05
    • Aidan on Mad caps: “@Ian – as someone who is around half the age of the average suggested above, it’s not just that many…Apr 7, 07:03
    • Ian Brotherhood on Mad caps: “@Sarah (9.16) – Thanks for that and aye, totally agree, there’s nothing like meeting folk in the flesh. Sometimes they’re…Apr 7, 00:09
    • diabloandco on Mad caps: “IanB, I do hope so , I am definitely in need of meeting up with the cheerful , positive folk…Apr 6, 22:10
    • sarah on Mad caps: “MaryB, it is encouraging that you read para (a) the same way that I do i.e. that it empowers People’s…Apr 6, 21:27
    • sarah on Mad caps: “I miss the way btl was. It was always relevant to independence, and pleasant on a personal level. OK Robert…Apr 6, 21:16