Portrait of the future

Posted on September 19, 2012 by

31 years ago, when Alan Grant wrote "Strontium Dog: Portrait Of A Mutant" for 2000AD, the notion that the father of a "mutant" child might become Prime Minister and oversee a programme of astonishing, vindictive persecution of the disabled by tormenting them with "work capability" tests and forcing them out of their homes (supported by "scrounger"-hating newspapers published on thin electronic tablets) was a crazy, dystopian sci-fi fantasy for kids.

Today, David Cameron presides over a government set implacably on slashing £30bn from the welfare budget (to pay for tax cuts for millionaires, obviously) by cutting housing and disability benefits for the profoundly handicapped and the terminally-ill, ingeniously saving more money by driving many of them to suicide as a result of measures even the Daily Mail is forced to decry as inhuman.

Enjoy watching "Dredd" this weekend, viewers. Keep telling yourself it's only a movie.

0 to “Portrait of the future”

1. Erchie says:

Here's a wee thing for those with Maths skills

If DLA fraud is 0.5% (DWP figures) & DLA cuts are 20%

Where is the fairness?

2. League Against Internet Mentalists says:

Indeed Erchie. The same DLA benefit that Cameron himself claimed for his deceased child – presumably as his child is no longer alive, he sees no reason for anyone would need that benefit, displaying his supreme lack of empathy.

3. joncfc says:

If half of the people now complaining bothered to vote at the last election these bastards wouldn't have got in.

4. Marc Forrester says:

Hey, enough of us voted to give the Lib Dems (rip) the power to decide the government and share power.  Seemed like a victory for about five minutes.

5. Rowan says:

On the plus side, Dredd is pretty good

6. League Against Internet Mentalists says:

I ordered cinema tickets for Dredd earlier in the week, and then I go and leave my glasses on the bus. Bah, no Dredd for me until I can get a bloody opticians appointment…

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,872 Posts, 1,235,637 Comments

• James Cheyne on A Stitch In Timing: “North code, Depends on wether you are perverted cretin looking and aiming for State control over the people? never had…Feb 7, 15:08
    • Charles Findlay on A Stitch In Timing: “Has anyone who reads this site ever wondered if Common Purpose might have something to do with the way things…Feb 7, 15:06
    • TURABDIN on A Stitch In Timing: “It is the American obsession with English history that is truly perverse and queer. For a modern country of non…Feb 7, 14:20
    • James Cheyne on The Marshalling Plan: “If one can’t do the job you were set up to do by the moneyed perverted pedo ring cretins then…Feb 7, 14:01
    • Young Lochinvar on A Stitch In Timing: “Who is the producer(s)? Kenny Everett’s “Tinsel Man”?Feb 7, 13:41
    • Hatey McHateface on A Stitch In Timing: “MSM reporting the six hammer wielding activists will be indicted for re-trial on February 18th. Gives them ample time to…Feb 7, 13:37
    • Aidan on A Stitch In Timing: “Look everyone, another interesting and insightful comment from our finest intellect “James”Feb 7, 13:29
    • Hatey McHateface on A Stitch In Timing: “Only a matter of time until Burns gets the treatment: https://unherd.com/2026/02/was-shakespeare-a-black-woman/Feb 7, 13:25
    • Hatey McHateface on The Marshalling Plan: “Have you verified they’re not driving automatics?Feb 7, 13:22
    • Hatey McHateface on The Marshalling Plan: ““If you’re going to do murder en masse” Never under-estimate the appeal to many ordinary people of any political policy…Feb 7, 13:18
    • Northcode on The Marshalling Plan: ““Personally though the monyed people are actually scum and perverts…” I’m a multi-millionaire, James… I don’t think we can be…Feb 7, 13:17
    • James Cheyne on The Marshalling Plan: “When you see it, you can not un-see it, When you live it, you can not deny it. This is…Feb 7, 13:10
    • Sven on A Stitch In Timing: “Fearghas MacFionnlaigh @ 12.35. Absolutely beyond irony !Feb 7, 13:09
    • Northcode on A Stitch In Timing: ““Mulvaney, a man who identifies as a woman, has been cast as Anne Boleyn… ” Holy Mary mother of Christ…Feb 7, 13:07
    • James Cheyne on The Marshalling Plan: “The moneyed people think of themselves as Elite, Personally though the monyed people are actually scum and perverts, I think…Feb 7, 13:02
    • James on A Stitch In Timing: “Goose-stepping clown looking for a circus.Feb 7, 12:51
    • The Flying Iron of Doom on The Marshalling Plan: “I’ll never comprehend how mentally ill depraved cretins could exert control over so much as a fast car with a…Feb 7, 12:49
    • James Cheyne on The Marshalling Plan: “Finances for the lobbyists for purpose to gain inroads to politicians to alter laws of the Country cannot derive from…Feb 7, 12:42
    • Northcode on The Marshalling Plan: “Stay away from fascism folks… it’s an ugly and destructive creature – although its clothes designers came up with some…Feb 7, 12:37
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on A Stitch In Timing: “‘ALL-FEMALE’ HIT MUSICAL ‘SIX’ BLASTED FOR CASTING A MAN AS ANNE BOLEYN The musical ‘Six’ has cast controversial transgender comedian…Feb 7, 12:35
    • James Cheyne on The Marshalling Plan: “Fearghas, Remove the funding that arrives on government doorsteps and re-instate law and real judges, To much paid for funded…Feb 7, 12:28
    • Hatey McHateface on The Marshalling Plan: ““mentally ill depraved cretins seeking ultimate power and control over mass populations” Hmmm. I’ll never comprehend how mentally ill depraved…Feb 7, 12:17
    • Hatey McHateface on The Marshalling Plan: “Aye, Northy, the Wehrmacht used to have “Gott mit uns” inscribed on their belt buckles. I’ll leave you to translate.…Feb 7, 12:06
    • James Cheyne on The Marshalling Plan: “The control, the propaganda, net working, the funding, the imposed immigrations, the taxes on land and property, reduced control of…Feb 7, 11:57
    • Northcode on The Marshalling Plan: “I don’t know whit tae tell folk whin thae frunch and girn aboot aw the evil bairgin roond the world…Feb 7, 11:34
    • Cynicus on A Stitch In Timing: “MR SWINNEY GOES TO WASHINGTON Absolutely correct, Willie. This is a tawdry attempt to equate his residence at the British…Feb 7, 11:27
    • James Cheyne on The Marshalling Plan: “Sometimes you need to hold your nose and engage your brain.Feb 7, 11:02
    • James Cheyne on The Marshalling Plan: “What the Epstein document files release overall has done is shown the depth and lowly depraved nature of those whom…Feb 7, 10:59
    • PC Foster on A Stitch In Timing: “Perhaps you or Stu could do a FOI request. Some poking around is needed.Feb 7, 10:42
    • Hatey McHateface on A Stitch In Timing: ““‘rudimentary understanding’ of the colonial condition” Aye, Alf, we’re just too thick to understand. When we travel abroad, we’re all…Feb 7, 10:10