One million words

Posted on December 11, 2013 by

Crivvens, we do ramble on a bit, don’t we?

millionwords

For perspective:

The 670-page White Paper: 170,000 words

All seven Harry Potter books combined: 1,084,170 words

The Bible: 774,746 words

War And Peace: 587,287 words

The longest novel ever written: 1,267,069 words
(3,031 pages in seven volumes)

If you just got here recently, you’ve got some catching up to do.

Subscribe
Notify of

49 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Craig Munro

The NO campaign – feck all!

Robert Kerr

Well done Rev Stu and thank you.

These are not words of fiction but words of truth.

Keep up the good work.

Thistle

Amazing amount of work Stu!

turnbull drier

wow.. that’s just awesome… you’ll need to get a bigger keyboard 😛

Oh, link to wingsoverscotland.com is now showing as 404…

desimond

Tomorrows headlines today

“YES Campaigner compares himself with the Bible…is this the sort of person you think you can trust?” – Scottish Daily Mail

“Yes Campaigner states Harry Potter bigger than Jesus” – The Telegraph

“Johann Lamont calls for Word Discussion” – Daily Record

kendomacaroonbar

Stu,

Just out of curiosity, does the word cloud column under the facebook logo reflect the ‘all time’ most used words, or is it reset every so often ? 

Scott Minto (Aka Sneekyboy)

It resets after 1 year.

So the ‘most read’ posts are all under 1 yr old

Which is kinda good or it would be choc full of Rangers tax case posts…

Doug Daniel

Next September, we just need one word, but hopefully it’ll be repeated much more than a million times – YES!

Sorry… see you meant the Tag Cloud…

Er…. “Haven’t a scooby”

@Doug

Forget about one word… I’ll settle for one letter…

X

as long as its in the right place… 🙂

Horacesaysyes

Ah, but the big problem with the referendum campaign is the lack of information.

Clearly!

Lanarkist

Congrats Rev Stu. If words were steps we have circumnavigated  the globe already. The road to independence is an even longer one than we ever imagined when we took the first step.
Only several million more steps to take.

X_Sticks

My ‘X’ is always in the right place Scott 😉 and it sticks.

kendomacaroonbar

Thanks Scott !   Interesting to note that the larger font words are predominately of negative connotation, and I wonder when we start to see polar opposite if anything can be read into it ?

( I read somewhere yonks ago that google can predict trends ( eg flu epidemics) based on word usage. I’m curious to know if the data from the WoS word cloud can reveal anything..or maybe I just need to stay off the salmon and banana sandwiches ? 🙂 

kendomacaroonbar

I think I’ve been talking pesh here… is the TAG CLOUD showing how popular specific blogs have been viewed, as opposed to most common words generated by readers comments ?  If so, sorry for being a ricardo here…  exit keyboard left. 

Horacesaysyes

@kendomacaroonbar

I believe the Tag Cloud lets you know how many post have been tagged with those terms, the bigger the word, the more posts there are.

kendomacaroonbar

Thanks Horace

msean

I was tired of listening to the doom merchants,when i searched for a more positive message,i ended up here.Well done Rev,keep up the good work.

Helena Brown

As a comparatively new reader and contributor may I also say well done Rev and all your positive contributors, who brighten my day.

Tony Little

WOW! Kudos, Rev. Stu!!! And your contributors

kininvie

@Horace,

That’s right. If you hover over individual words in the tag cloud, you can see how many topics carry that tag. Click, and you get a list of the relevant articles.

The problem is that the Rev’s eccentric tagging methods don’t actually tell us much about the content of such articles. So you need to be something of a devotee of this site before you get an inkling of what ‘lizards’ ‘hatstand’ or ‘qft’ are likely to bring up. His category allocation ain’t much better….:(

Luckily, the search engine web crawlers like this site because so many people link to it. So if you google ‘wings over scotland currency’ you get a good list of articles where the word appears. But you have to know about the site first. ‘Scottish Independence currency’ has Wings nowhere. That’s because Stu’s categories don’t use it, and if he ever tags an article with it, it’s too infrequently. So the search engines don’t pick it up.  But google ‘Scottish politics lizards’ (category & tag that Stu uses a lot) and Wings is number 3. ‘Scottish politics analysis’ (ditto) has wings at 4 & 5. But that’s not exactly hugely helpful to undecided voters!

It’s obviously impossible for the Rev to go back over his million words and re-do all his categories and tags, but maybe a wee New Year’s resolution should be to read a couple of articles on search engine optimisation (tedious bore though that it) and then re-think how he does categories & tags in future posts….. 🙂

sionnach

Congratulations Rev and all the other contributors and commenters. A million words, wow! And far more powerful ones than anything J K R has written. D’you think that, after a YES vote in September, Scottish Labour will be advertising a “casual vacancy”? 😉

kininvie

@rev

It’s not so much the internal search function that matters, it’s getting Wings higher up on Google search results. As I demonstrated above, search engine crawlers pay a lot of attention to categories and tags, and because the site is popular, they will be visiting it frequently. If you just categorised relevant articles with ‘Scottish Independence’ and then a further one word category for the subject matter’, you would see results fairly fast I think.

The Tree of Liberty

kininvie, i know nothing about IT, but is there anything we can do to help the Rev get higher up the ratings?

handclapping

add in all the pictures which say a thousand words and you are way past Harry Potter and still accelerating 🙂

Jeannie

@Horace

I believe the Tag Cloud lets you know how many post have been tagged with those terms, the bigger the word, the more posts there are.

Do you know, I had no idea what that bit was for – thought it was just some kind of graphic design.  Every day’s a school day right enough!

A2

“but the fact is that the Search function here is really good”

Unfortunately you have to already be here to use it. While most people are using google/bing , think about the undecided, especially in the last few months when they are thinking “oh, better start thinking about this” 

It  would certainly push up the undecided visitors, which is really what’s needed, if everything was tagged with the words they are most likely to search for. (from now on)
such as

Scottish independence referendum information

Right now wings doesn’t appear in the first 10 pages (as far as I looked) using bing,  bbc and huff post are on page 1 (more than once)
It really is worth the small extra effort

A2

PS on the bright side, BT don’t turn up either.

Shaun Milne

Congratulations Rev! What are a million words between friends? 

I’ve been collating some of the info about the online side of the Independence debate for an essay and what’s been achieved really is something to be proud of.

National, Bella, yourself, Business for Scotland, Labour for Indy, BBC Scotlandshire and now The Common Weal. The controversies, the fundraisers, the polls and now we even have a film in the works which will tackle the referendum thanks to Jack Foster and Co and its funded by the people.

We should all be damned chuffed! 🙂

X_Sticks

Shaun Milne says:

“We should all be damned chuffed!”

Aye Shaun, but I’ll be more chuffed when we gain our independence. Then we’ll really have something to be proud of.

gedboy

what the hell is a tag-cloud

gedboy

thanks for nothing found it

The Tree of Liberty

gedboy, gonnie show me, please?

gedboy

tree of liberty
top of the page right hand side 
just under twitter and facebook youll see tags i think thats it if not its been moved when i wasnt looking hover over all the very big words o please let me be right if not you dont know me ok
sorry scroll down to twitter and facebook

Elizabeth Sutherland

Happy to add some more words to the pages. It has always been known that Scots could talk the hind legs of a donkey given a good subject to debate. So lets keep talking with conviction to bring home the Yes vote on Referendum Day. wee smiley thingy.

gedboy

stu 
any chance of a floorplan for idiots all these words
go here go there do this dont do that it gets to much for a wee bald eagle
im only a young wosser that needs all the help i can get

gedboy

elizabeth sutherland
leave the donkeys alone look wit happened to the donkey nicola spoke too
donkeys are not just for christmas
come on the donkeys

The Tree of Liberty

gedboy, every day is a school day, thanks.

gedboy

thanks stu 
top bar left or right 
kidding thanks again

kininvie

@rev
We’ve made a few SEO changes in the last few days,
It’s really just the posts that directly give the counter-argument to the scare stories that matter. Those are what the undecided need to find. All your ravings ( 🙂 ) about Magrit & Davidson are just an extra luxury. It may be worth drawing up a list of what you would search for if you were undecided and had been listening to the media:
oil
currency
border posts
foreigners
etc. It’s not that long a list (because there are not that many scares). Then just two categories ‘Scottish Independence’ and ‘Subject’  Google gets very pissed off if you confuse it with too many categories. Even doing a quick whip through the archive on that basis may not be too time consuming.
The point of splitting into subjects is that you are then competing for a spot on the front page on a number of different issues.
@ Tree of Liberty
The best way to help is to link to this site (a permanent link if possible) from any blog, facebook page, etc. that you or your family/friends run. Search engines count such links very highly in their scoring system.
Given how popular this site is, it shouldn’t take long before it’s on the front page of search results.

Dal Riata

“Akismet has protected your site from 1,709,384 spam coments already.”

Bloody hell, 1,709,384… !

“There are 28,751comments in your spam queue right now.”… !!

Remember now, go through them all one by one just in case one of them isn’t really spam… LOL!

Andrew Morton

Strangely enough, I don’t see ‘Racist’ in the tag cloud. That’s surprising as my Better Together loving cousin (when I told her that I got something off Wings) expressed her horror that I was going on ‘racist websites’.

We are no longer speaking.

gedboy

kininvie
tried doing what you said to tree of liberty
about permanent link
why have i now got windows 11 on my computer

white heather lucky white heather 2 for a £1

john king

Ah that’s what the tags link does, I must be the most incurious man in the world, see the amount of time I’ve spent looking for historic posts ,doh

Stats: 6,674 Posts, 1,203,619 Comments

• George Ferguson on What Went On: “Careful it was the heritage and skills of English craftsmen that were prevalent in the restoration of Notre Dame .…Nov 29, 23:46
    • gregor on What Went On: “The Beatnuts (Featuring Greg Nice:) Take It Or Squeeze It. No Escapin’ This: “Pass the mic to big Psych, the…Nov 29, 23:36
    • Robert Matthews on What Went On: “Seems like latent homosexuality on your part Nae Need, all your talk of “violent desires/compulsions” and “cocks in frocks”. Maybe…Nov 29, 23:05
    • Shug on What Went On: “I thought she did a good job during covid. However perjury, perverting the course of justice, cover ups lying redacting…Nov 29, 22:57
    • Mark Beggan on What Went On: “It could just be a phantom pregnancy.Nov 29, 22:47
    • SteepBrae on What Went On: “Well done to France. National pride. Time we got ours back.Nov 29, 22:39
    • SteepBrae on What Went On: “Yes, it’s a nightmare at times. Everyone is different but, from experience, I have no doubt that when someone feels…Nov 29, 22:31
    • Ian Brotherhood on What Went On: “And who’s to say they won’t find a way to stop Trump taking office? Neo-cons don’t give a fuck about…Nov 29, 22:08
    • Mac on What Went On: “Speaking to nurses in this field about that… they say that some days they think it is worthwhile and others…Nov 29, 21:51
    • Mac on What Went On: “Well as someone living this nightmare I will disagree. It starts off with you thinking this is manageable but I…Nov 29, 21:27
    • Mac on What Went On: “(Apologies mods screwed up the email address yet again) Pity I would have liked to read that. The guy Nima…Nov 29, 21:08
    • SteepBrae on What Went On: ““I support it in principle (as I do abortion) because people with severe dementia and other horrible diseases have negative…Nov 29, 21:07
    • Breeks on What Went On: “OT But something positive for once. Congratulations France, and a worthy salute to your Tradesmen and Professionals as Notre Dame…Nov 29, 21:06
    • meg merrilees on What Went On: “Naw, yir a’right BL Mac – the First Meenister says men cannae get pregnant!Nov 29, 20:25
    • George Ferguson on What Went On: “I grew up with 3 strong men ruling the street. Now anything goes or at least that’s what Holyrood thinks.…Nov 29, 20:19
    • meg merrilees on What Went On: “Sadly, Mac, what will happen is that palliative care and care homes will receive even less funding and as more…Nov 29, 20:17
    • Republicofscotland on What Went On: “Godley was akin the Val McDermid – a good buddy of Sturgeon the Judas, that’s why the foreign media in…Nov 29, 20:17
    • Nae Need! on What Went On: “I couldn’t agree more, George. Except men have been coerced (socially and legally) into feeling terrified of the consequences of…Nov 29, 20:05
    • Dan on What Went On: “Don’t be dissing Karens in Bimmer X5s too much. They do a valuable service to society as the ridiculously wide…Nov 29, 20:02
    • John H on What Went On: “And some ruthless relatives will try to use it too.Nov 29, 19:57
    • Nae Need! on What Went On: “Watched this too. I did post a very long reply but moderation gobbled it up like a hungover alkie, eating…Nov 29, 19:43
    • Dan on What Went On: “Logan’s Run Carousel managed to enthuse folk to celebrate the idea of “renewal” at a much earlier age. www.youtube.com/watch?v=bG_0hhckDSU After…Nov 29, 19:39
    • BLMac on What Went On: “I’m deeply concerned at discovering men can be come pregnant. Should I demand my wife wear a condom?Nov 29, 19:39
    • BLMac on What Went On: “Would this be a good time for the court to rule that the earth is flat, Pi =3, and that…Nov 29, 19:36
    • George Ferguson on What Went On: “A madness that nobody in Scotland can escape. For those of you that have Grandaughters. This is a big worry.…Nov 29, 19:29
    • Mac on What Went On: “It makes sense though… we have an aging population because of abortion. So the obvious solution is start killing the…Nov 29, 19:23
    • Mac on What Went On: “Assisted dying will be exactly like abortion when it was first introduced. They will say it will be highly controlled…Nov 29, 19:15
    • Mark Beggan on What Went On: “Hitler was more interested in the real prize. The shopkeepers would be dealt with laterNov 29, 19:03
    • Confused on What Went On: “assisted dying is the trojan horse for euthanasia. -let’s not be too negative.  Make some lists of people who should…Nov 29, 18:37
    • Confused on What Went On: “tell it to the micks, the wogs … er, everyone everywhere they ever where …  adolph loved lives of a…Nov 29, 18:35

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()