1. 23 04 16 08:56

On thee our hopes we fix | speymouth

35 to “On thee our hopes we fix”

1. theMadMurph says:

Says it all really! Nice one Chris.

2. jimnarlene says:

Nail, rammed home.

3. Stoker says:

That’s me, my weekend can get started now, thanks Chris!

4. Bugger (the Panda) says:

Tomkins

Do as say, not as I do.

Resistence is futile.

5. mealer says:

Does the Queen get a vote? If not,why not? Can we bring it up with the ECHR?

6. defo says:

Sewell sets his feminine side loose ?

7. The Isolator says:

As we say in these parts…barrie Chris,just barrie.

Have a fabby weekend everyone.

8. Ken500 says:

Why was a kid in a robe meeting strangers? Get the social services.

The Royal Tories sanctioning the vulnerable, purring and want brexit. Impartial never. They have survived by being more liberal but for how long. The elite cover up under the Official Secrets Act.

More jobs to go on the Clyde? Osbourne just spent £1/2Billion of Scottish taxpayer’s money on Trident. Why do people in Scotland keep on voting Unionist but when things go wrong they howl for the SNP Gov to do something.

9. Richardinho says:

I think people don’t often realise that hypocrisy isn’t a bug of the British establishment; it’s a feature.

10. Almannysbunnet says:

Adoring subjects sit in mute awe of their leader.

Betty looked fabulous in her new headscarf worn in the manner of Ena Sharples. Far from making a fashion statement, Betty, ever practical, was making sure her hair would not be disturbed by the president’s chopper. The whole idea of the guest landing his helicopter on the lawn is very American. We tend no to do that in the UK…..

11. Flower of Scotland says:

So good, Chris!

12. galamcennalath says:

The UK doesn’t do leadership personality cults or nationalism. Self delusion and denial!

13. Mick DIAMOND says:

O/t i see the ebc are telling us that there will be ‘events all over’ the ‘uk’ to celebrate the 400th anniversary of shakespeare. Anyone know of any ‘events’ taking place in scotland?.

14. Ken500 says:

Plenty of choppers flighting at Balmoral. Go carts, quad bikes. It’s a wonder Obama didn’t parachute into Downing Street. The cavalcade got stuck.

Cameron takes an Airforce jet (£10000 an hour) and an Army helicopter to come up to Scotland. When he dares. To ruin the Oil sector. Osbourne sneaks in and out of Aberdeen. Cameron now has his £10Million private plane. Sam has a £57K stylist. Is that essential. Obama and Michelle outsize the Royals. Look really uncomfortable. It’s a great partnership. Johnston is the party pooper. A barrel of fun.

15. Baldeagle58 says:

To the point as usual, Chris.
    Well done!!

16. carjamtic says:

A beezer Chris 🙂

To the manor born

17. Gary45% says:

Mick Diamond@8.57.
    You mentioned Shakey Bill.
    Have a look at Punk Macbeth by Edna McSweetlove

18. Ken500 says:

All this carry on is happening two weeks before a Holyrood Election. Purdah. Not much respect.

19. galamcennalath says:

All this Royal stuff, intended to make us all feel cosy and secure in out UK-OK-ness?

Ask Clyde shipyard workers about that now!

A sad situation, but I find it astonishing that there are cries of “we were lied to” now. Why do some people find that a surprise?

The objective was to save the Union, not Scottish jobs. Anything BetterTogether said was driven by ‘end justifying the means’.

20. Scotspine says:

More Britnat propaganda by BBC bended knee this morning.

The Queen, Brexit, Shakespeare events ( wasnt he an English fellow who lived in England pre Union?), but not a peep about Scots Shipyards.

Nothing to see here…move along folks….

21. Nana says:

This should be their ‘Let them eat cake’ moment

link to facebook.com

22. mogabee says:

Every year more people get that “lightbulb” moment and realise the monarchy is overpaid and overbearing!

British Nationalists are sooo aggressive too 🙂

23. Robert Peffers says:

@Richardinho says: 23 April, 2016 at 8:26 am:

“I think people don’t often realise that hypocrisy isn’t a bug of the British establishment; it’s a feature.”

Perhaps, Richardinho, it may be because they do not realise that, “Establishment”, has historically been in charge of, mainly, south Britain since at least the arrival of the Romans before the birth of Christ. Nor do many realise just exactly what comprises, “The Establishment”.

link to theguardian.com

24. Onwards says:

But remember all the union jackery is patriotism. It’s that Scottish party getting involved with nasty nationalism..

25. Robert Peffers says:

@

26. heedtracker says:

BBC led blackouts on Lab and their PFI schools scandal, ongoing blackouts on reneged Clyde RN ship building for your NO, hard core mas royals grovelling. So they do earn the toryboy world keep.

In other barking mad toryboy world news-

Did you know that the new Hinkley nuke power station in Somerset, will be far and away the most expensive human structure ever built. Hope a royal can open it too. Hinkley Point costed at £24.5 billion.

Correction, Hinkley is NOT the most expensive human structure ever built. Its the International Space Station. Back on earth, second most expensive human structure ever is a new earth quake proof bridge next to the Golden Gate.

We’re shackled to maniacs.

27. Ruby says:

I was checking the front pages to see if any of the newspapers had the shipbuilding story on the front page and noticed that two newspaper had stories about council fraud on their front pages.

The Press & Journal
    ‘City Official quite after fraud probe.

Online version:
    link to archive.is

Shock report reveals Aberdeen civil servant resigned after fraud investigation

The Herald have

Labour veteran in contracts probe says: ‘I am not corrupt’

Online version
    link to archive.is
    ‘I am not corrupt’: Former North Lanarkshire Council leader insists he’s innocent in probe into multi-million-pound deals

The story about shipbuilding is on page 12 of The Herald.

There is an online version of the story but it is well hidden I doubt if many people saw it.
    ‘Unions warn of 800 job losses as fears rise over frigate orders’

link to archive.is

The Scotsman did a better job than The Herald with the shipbuilding story although it’s on page 8 with the Queen/Obama & Ruth & Her Bull being more important.

I wonder if the Bull is called John?

link to archive.is

The Courier have a ‘Ruth & Her Bull’ on their front page.

28. Ruby says:

link to scotsman.com

I thought I would have a look at the comments on The Scotsman’s shipbuilding article. There seems to be a lot of censorship going on. (Check newest first}

A long list of comments under review!

29. Right on the money, Chris.

30. Iain More says:

Spot on!

31. Mick DIAMOND says:

O/t anyhow, general consensus down here on the sunny south coast, on my travels, is for a brexit. As for which i and family will be voting for as well. Snp =2=eu. Bring on indy 2.

32. Ian Brotherhood says:

@heedtracker (10.33) –

‘…shackled to maniacs.’

So-perb.

Reminds me of this great scene from ‘The Thing’ –

33. Grouse Beater says:

The miserable faithful, rich and poor alike, cheer the Queen, while the British PR machine gets switched up to 11 to remind us WHO IS THE GREATEST PLAYRIGHT IN THE WORLD.

And on another planet…

Odd how old essays and topics are picked up and made popular while your back is turned: link to wp.me

34. Croompenstein says:

I dunno if the Brit is a guy or a wummin Chris if a wummin she has to be batshit Jill. But you know the queen brings in 20 million mate and if she didnae we’d all be living on ten pound giros.. 🙂

35. K1 says:

😆 croomp (I remember that footage….)

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,753 Posts, 1,217,467 Comments

• Jim Thomson on A Poor Example: “Expect faux queues at the GN ones. Which means there will be no TW or TM working, so that the…May 10, 00:07
    • Dan on The Last Thing They’ll Expect: “Aye, an aquaintence works in the technical design side of planning and implementing the new HVDC transmission lines from Scotland…May 9, 21:11
    • Hatey McHateface on A Poor Example: “How can the law and judiciary of Scotland and the UK be held in even more contempt? Max contempt was…May 9, 21:01
    • joolz on A Poor Example: “Anyone can have a meeting for anyone as long as you don’t misrepresent it. If she had publicised the event…May 9, 20:47
    • Vivian O’Blivion on A Poor Example: “Another double digit lead for RefUK and another breach of the 30% barrier. BMG Research, Westminster voting intention, field work…May 9, 20:13
    • Yoon Scum on The Last Thing They’ll Expect: “can the stupid English worshipper ask After Scotland leaves the union What forms of power generation will be allowed?May 9, 19:27
    • agent x on A Poor Example: “Scottish trans activists are in “denial” about the Supreme Court decision that confirmed the term ‘woman’ in the Equality Act…May 9, 19:24
    • Aidan on The Last Thing They’ll Expect: “@Anthem – the wind farms in England are efficient which is why one of the largest offshore wind farms anywhere…May 9, 19:21
    • Anthem on The Last Thing They’ll Expect: “@Dunx. That’s absolute garbage. They exist because Westminster sell the licences to American equity companies who invest for maximim profit…May 9, 19:05
    • James Cheyne on A Poor Example: “It is still obvious. Nothing has changed biological women are and always were women, the supreme court did not change…May 9, 18:46
    • Yoon Scum on A Poor Example: “You have to be a whole new level of stoopid to advertise a women’s only event in her positionMay 9, 18:12
    • Mark on A Poor Example: “Don’t think so. As explained above, biological sex is the determiner for a “same-sex” service. “Trans women” are biological males,…May 9, 17:16
    • Anna on A Poor Example: “Not for us in Scotland it won’tMay 9, 16:42
    • Yoon Scum on A Poor Example: “There is part of me that wishes the far left get their dream of Scotland becoming an islamic state Would…May 9, 16:24
    • Sven on A Poor Example: “It all just seemed so obvious only a decade ago; Biological men are men. Biological women are women. Anyone gets…May 9, 15:23
    • stonefree on A Poor Example: “It stinks like a Sturgeon-esk Franchise 34 Quid off,Decent people are not welcomeMay 9, 15:11
    • Dunx on The Last Thing They’ll Expect: “@Michael England does generate a lot of wind power. They are not helping themselves. The wind companies pay the SG…May 9, 14:58
    • Vivian O’Blivion on A Poor Example: “YouGov, British attitudes towards discrimination in the workplace, published 9th May. By group, do you think positive discrimination has gone…May 9, 14:19
    • Lorn on A Poor Example: “Don’t understand how so many people can read the ruling and still get it wrong. It is – and there…May 9, 14:14
    • Andrea on A Poor Example: “Would it be allowed to have an event that is for women AND trans woman? I should think so, but…May 9, 14:02
    • Vivian O’Blivion on A Poor Example: “As someone who lives across the road from a Mosque, I can assure you they wouldn’t admit chicks with dicks…May 9, 13:56
    • Aidan on The Last Thing They’ll Expect: “@Michael – you’re talking about the wind here, not some hugely valuable unique energy resources (e.g. oil and gas) which…May 9, 13:52
    • factchecker on The Last Thing They’ll Expect: “Wonderful to see some rationality here. Two comments. You say ‘we believe independence to be a normal situation’. I would…May 9, 13:24
    • 1971Thistle on The Last Thing They’ll Expect: “I would agree. Has there been a drop off in the number of ‘anon’ comments on blog? He seems to…May 9, 13:22
    • Stuart MacKay on The Last Thing They’ll Expect: “The Stalker probably sits all day clicking on the links, with the result that his blog is currently sitting in…May 9, 13:11
    • Michael Laing on The Last Thing They’ll Expect: “@ Dunx: So we’ve to thank England for helping itself to Scotland’s energy and selling it back to us at…May 9, 13:05
    • Lorn on The Last Thing They’ll Expect: “Also, Yon, politicians used to at least try and explain their policies to the people. Now, they just ignore all…May 9, 13:00
    • Confused on All Or Nothing: ““sons of satan” and “enemies of the human race” (*) – do you not read your bible, main? I would…May 9, 12:58
    • Captain Caveman on The Last Thing They’ll Expect: “Reform – and only Reform. Even the Tories can’t be trusted, particularly concerning “net zero” nonsense. (As for the rest…May 9, 12:57
    • Lorn on The Last Thing They’ll Expect: “Yoon, to set up a crowdfunder around like-minded people and build a case to take to the courts. Plenty of…May 9, 12:52