Lost in stupid

Posted on September 24, 2012 by

The internet is, let's say, a place known for exaggeration. So while the examples of Apple Maps that have been posted everywhere in the last few days were pretty compelling evidence, we weren't going to be absolutely sure until we'd seen it with our own eyes. So once the queues of worthless human refuse had died down, we popped into the Apple Store this morning and had a look.

Readers, take everything you've heard about how bad Apple Maps is and double it.

My home town of Bathgate is slap bang in the heart of the Central Belt of Scotland. Situated almost exactly halfway in between Glasgow and Edinburgh, it straddles the country's main east-west motorway, the M8, and is home to around 20,000 people. The image above is where Apple Maps thinks it is.

Bathgate doesn't even merit being in colour when you get down below cloud level. We're not sure where you even get black-and-white satellite images from in 2012 – when were people last taking monochrome pictures from space? – but that's what Apple gives you on your £700 new phone. Zooming out on the shot above, you eventually find that the wooded area the pin is in is what the Maps app calls "Beescraig Country Park" (the name they're looking for is "Beecraigs", but hey, close enough), a picturesque activity area several miles from Bathgate and which is actually classed as part of the ancient Royal burgh of Linlithgow.

When you finally locate the town manually, it's still in black and white, at a resolution so poor I couldn't tell where I was most of the time despite having lived there for almost a quarter of a century, and several years out of date. Just about the only landmark identified was the train station, which Apple Maps thinks is in the town-centre location of the old abandoned station, not the new one a mile away which opened in 2010.

I decided I might have more luck with somewhere bigger, so started looking for my various addresses in Bath, a city of 80,000 that's one of Britain's most popular tourist destinations (and therefore habitually full of people who might not be entirely sure where they're going). Apple Maps put three of them on the wrong streets altogether, and the other one on the right street but 400 yards away from where it actually is. (The old Google Maps app could accurately identify which room of my house I was in at any given moment.) Not a single one of the few locations listed in the city that I looked at was within 200 yards of its real location – though I didn't think to check for the Apple Store, which are all apparently pinpoint.

Bath and Bathgate are both pretty substantial centres of population. For more obscure towns and villages, I imagine Maps just says "HERE BE DRAGONES". It's nothing short of mindboggling that Apple should have let its obsessive, vindictive, insane control freakery reach quite such an obviously destructive level. I felt for the poor woman working in the Bath store who came up trying to help and had to endure my ongoing astonishment at each new horror.

(I got the feeling her apologetic responses were well-rehearsed, and even during the short time I was there I heard them repeated more than once.)

The iPhone 5 itself seems lovely. It really is noticeably lighter and thinner and faster and prettier. Having skipped the 4S I'd planned to upgrade next month for my birthday, but there is no way on God's black-and-white low-res Earth I'm sacrificing the amazing Google Maps for this godawful piece of literally-unbelievable horseshit. Not even if you gave me a pound for every tree in Beescraig Country Park.

0 to “Lost in stupid”

1. Irish Al says:

Think yourself lucky – Airfield Park urban farm in south Dublin is apparently now an airport.

2. DG says:

Aldwych station in London is shown, which is a shame because it closed in 1994.
    This is ok though because it's shown half a mile from where it actually is.

3. MojoJojo says:

Pedantic point – most of the high resolution aerial photos in google maps and (presumably) in the apple map thing are actually take from planes, not satellites.
    Although I can only guess that they are in B&W because apple are too tight to license the colour versions.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,727 Posts, 1,215,178 Comments

• Jay on Mad caps: “Vivian O’B, what is this ‘purple pish’ carry-on from you? I have read numerous comments from you but now have…Apr 7, 22:53
    • Aidan on Mad caps: “@Xaracen – you don’t personally rant and rave and that comment wasn’t aimed at you, whilst I don’t think your…Apr 7, 22:01
    • Xaracen on Mad caps: “Aidan said: “Exactly Robert – it’s full of people who rant and rave like you do. Nobody wants to be…Apr 7, 21:56
    • Aidan on Mad caps: “@Twathater (an interest way to project your self hatred but there we go) – I am delighted you aren’t responding…Apr 7, 21:31
    • sarah on Mad caps: “Crowdfunder for Independence Live – it needs a lot more donors. So far it has £900 of the £6500 target.…Apr 7, 21:04
    • Hatey McHateface on Mad caps: “Lots going on in plucky, wee Norway – the country that all sane and rational Scots hold up as the…Apr 7, 20:37
    • Hatey McHateface on Mad caps: “So you’re claiming that US soldiers on RF soil will be summarily dispatched. The RF won’t make any political capital…Apr 7, 19:53
    • PacMan on Mad caps: “The possibility might need to be considered that the higher percentage of support amongst younger voters in polls for independence…Apr 7, 19:49
    • Hatey McHateface on Mad caps: ““after 300+years of neglect and abuse Scotland and Scots are worse off than they have ever been” Here you go…Apr 7, 19:47
    • Hatey McHateface on Mad caps: “Calm down, Bob. This isn’t where you post your application for camp guard in the New Scottish Gulag you and…Apr 7, 19:38
    • PacMan on Mad caps: “To be fair, most of us where taken in by this be-Kind, inclusive, civic nationalism nonsense. Look where it is…Apr 7, 19:35
    • twathater on Mad caps: “@ Robert Hughes TBQH Robert I have more or less stopped responding tae these pricks , it is the same…Apr 7, 17:48
    • Jay on Mad caps: “I wonder what Belarusian govt would say if a US military vehicle drove across the border from Lithuania? Viv. OB,…Apr 7, 14:56
    • sarah on Mad caps: “Couch as in grass not as in putting ones feet up!Apr 7, 12:42
    • Mark Beggan on Mad caps: “Scottish media in panic about Universities and their subsequent bankruptcy. Page after page, comment after comment. Children are trapped in…Apr 7, 12:34
    • sarah on Mad caps: “The “age” question is interesting. Can you remember if younger people were very visible in the 2014 campaign? From memory…Apr 7, 12:03
    • agent x on Mad caps: “Not much in the Scottish press about Swinney’s trip to New York!Apr 7, 10:25
    • Vivian O’Blivion on Mad caps: “An excerpt from an article on the website of the Atlantic Council (see also Radio Free Europe); “Lithuanians paid tribute…Apr 7, 10:21
    • Aidan on Mad caps: “Exactly Robert – it’s full of people who rant and rave like you do. Nobody wants to be associated with…Apr 7, 08:56
    • Robert Hughes on Mad caps: “” it’s also that the campaign is too closely associated with anti-Englishness, sympathy for the Kremlin sometimes and increasingly wild…Apr 7, 08:25
    • Hatey McHateface on Mad caps: “Don’t overlook the ingrained antisemitism which a close read of the clannish, self-congratulatory backslapping posts reveals. But yes, if they…Apr 7, 07:14
    • Hatey McHateface on Mad caps: ““We voters would be in the driving seat – that would be wonderful” Would it though, sarah? In all of…Apr 7, 07:05
    • Aidan on Mad caps: “@Ian – as someone who is around half the age of the average suggested above, it’s not just that many…Apr 7, 07:03
    • Ian Brotherhood on Mad caps: “@Sarah (9.16) – Thanks for that and aye, totally agree, there’s nothing like meeting folk in the flesh. Sometimes they’re…Apr 7, 00:09
    • diabloandco on Mad caps: “IanB, I do hope so , I am definitely in need of meeting up with the cheerful , positive folk…Apr 6, 22:10
    • sarah on Mad caps: “MaryB, it is encouraging that you read para (a) the same way that I do i.e. that it empowers People’s…Apr 6, 21:27
    • sarah on Mad caps: “I miss the way btl was. It was always relevant to independence, and pleasant on a personal level. OK Robert…Apr 6, 21:16
    • MaryB on Mad caps: “Sarah @ 4.48 & Duncx I tried to post this earlier today, but it didn’t appear. So here it is…Apr 6, 21:07
    • Ian Brotherhood on Mad caps: “Hi D, Yes, it was good. Not just because the atmosphere was relaxed (because the Eagle Inn is Robert Slavin’s…Apr 6, 20:18
    • Tinto Chiel on Mad caps: “Had forgotten all about that, Robert. No idea what we were discussing. Love, Samantha 🙂 .Apr 6, 19:44