Late delivery

Posted on July 18, 2013 by

We blame the inefficient private-sector monopoly (ie me). But we think we’ve finally ironed out various technical and procedural hitches, and are finally ready to send out the special rewards for the most generous contributors to the excitingly successful fundraiser we ran back in, er, well, let’s call it “Spring”.

If that wasn’t you, don’t click below or you’ll only be sad.

wingslandbigshieldnews2athumb

Above is the special custom design for Hero- and Saviour-level donors. You can have any item you fancy from our shop range with said design on it. If you like you can also have it with an H or S added:

wingslandbigshieldnewh2athumb

For details of how to claim your reward and let us know which item you’d like, drop us a line via our Contact form with the subject line “REWARDS”. Please include the email address you donated with for verification purposes.

Sorry it took so long.

24 to “Late delivery”

1. scaredy cat says:

Just a quick question. Why isn’t the web address on any of the merchandise? 

2. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

Because web addresses on t-shirts and stuff look tacky.

3. Robert Bryce says:

What was the criteria again? I made 4 separate contributions but not sure if I qualify for anything.

4. David Smith says:

Don’t you mean independent contributions, Robert? 😉

5. ianbeag says:

Rev,
    Have you included supporters who contributed by monthly direct debit?

6. Robert Bryce says:

Ahhh good one David 🙂

Yes these were independent contributions.

7. velofello says:

To repeat myself, I don’t want anything BUT when will will you and Chris Cairns get your act together over our wee lion and get some merchandise for sale? A picture paints a thousand words and oor wee lion says it for me.
    Keep up the good work Rev.

8. ianbrotherhood says:

For other non-Twitterers, I copied this from Rev’s feed:

Check out the size of David Cameron’s heid. He’s standing next to Murray, perhaps very slightly closer to the photographer, and his napper must be a good third again as big as Murray’s.

Does Murray have an unusually small head, or is Cameron’s huge? Is it an optical illusion? Has anyone here ever seen Cameron’s heid in real-life?
    twitpic.com/d3bi0b 

9. CameronB says:

@ ianbrotherhood
    Bigger isn’t always best, or so I have be told. 🙂

10. AlexMcI says:

@Ian brotherhood, looking at it I think that the technical terms for cranium sizes are Murray=pea heed. Cameron= baw heed. At least that is my west of Scotland understanding of odd shaped nappers. Maybe some better informed heed explorer on here could correct me if I have missed the proper description of heed classification.

11. ianbrotherhood says:

Perhaps we’ll never have a proper classification of heid sizes, all things being relative etc, but at least we know that Cameron’s is connected to his body by a neck made of solid brass.

Anyone see him on CH4 News tonight, being lightly grilled and tossed by Gary Gibbon? 

link to channel4.com

IMO, Gibbon’s a classy interviewer, but his eyebrows and forehead-crumpling are classier still – that’s perhaps why he made sure he had two cameras – his facial responses when Cameron is delivering replies are more eloquent than Cameron’s verbal cartwheeling: ‘You’re a fucking liar, and I know you know I know it.’

12. Robert Bryce says:

I would class Cameron as a dick heed myself.

13. AlexMcI says:

Yep mate we Scots are pretty Champions League at reading facial expressions. We have a frightening ability to spot a wanker at 100 yards. This is illustrated beautifully in the chewin the fat sketch. Wank wank good guy wank.

14. Doug Daniel says:

Oh well, time to pack up our keyboards and just give up, folks. Never mind being ruled by a government we didn’t vote for, having policies imposed on us that were overwhelmingly rejected by Scottish MPs or the years of Scotland’s resources being stolen to pay for shiny things in London and Tory social engineering experiments.

SUBO SUPPORTS THE UNION!!!!

link to twitter.com

How can we compete with that?

15. Stuart Black says:

<Careers off topic> I have posted this before at the tail end of some thread that was petering out, but I am still intrigued as to what happened to the campaign that rose without trace.

12th May: Gordon Brown will announce the launch of his United with Labour campaign.

13th May: Gordon Brown announces the launch of his United with Labour campaign.

14th May: Gordon Brown yesterday announced the launch of his United with Labour campaign.

Since? Well, not very much at all, or more accurately, nothing.

16. TP says:

I saw an article today on Sky news saying that the opposition in Russia were stamping banknotes to get their message out. Found it on RT
    link to rt.com

“  Russian blogger-cum-opposition leader Aleksey Navalny has called on his supporters to troll the authorities by stamping slogans on banknotes, suggesting that with due effort the medium could provide contact with each and every Russian citizen.

Navalny wrote in his blog that at first he considered political ads on the money little more than a joke – it seemed funny, but not very effective. However, after studying the statistics of banknote circulation he changed his mind.

With each bill changing hands from one to three times per day and with average lifespan from seven months to two years, a slogan stamped on a banknote will reach from 600 to 700 people on average, Navalny estimated.
    But even with only 200 people reading the slogan, 100stamped bills will have an average audience of 20,000. Thus, if a group of 5,000 people stamped 100 bills each in just a year, the move would create enough stamped money so that each Russian citizen will have got hold of at least one.
    Navalny illustrated his post with a picture of the money from his wallet – several 100-ruble notes with the slogan “United Russia is a party of crooks and thieves” stamped in blue ink on the white section. The slogan is Navalny’s personal creation, coined in early 2011.”

Now I wouldn’t advocate doing anything illegal such as defacing banknotes but perhaps it would be nice if we all had stamps with Aye! In the same font as the Yes logo possibly with 2014 underneath, similar to this.

http://www.google.co.uk/imgres?q=Aye+scotland&safe=active&hl=en&biw=1280&bih=855&tbm=isch&tbnid=bEZQZ2PlMI5uSM:&imgrefurl=http://ayescotland.co.uk/&docid=I1SQqIT7Hvco8M&imgurl=http://ayescotland.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/aye-300×148.png&w=300&h=148&ei=SbnoUcmZDrKl4APR9oHABQ&zoom=1&iact=rc&page=1&tbnh=118&tbnw=240&start=0&ndsp=19&ved=1t:429,r:1,s:0&tx=143&ty=44

Then we could all get out our monopoly boards and stamp our pretend money.
    Where does the law stands on defacing banknotes in Scotland? It seems that not even English notes are legal tender north of the border.
    link to scotbanks.org.uk

17. Vronsky says:

Was out canvassing.  Lots of very firm ‘No’, zero ‘Yes’, about one in three ‘DK’.  Think I got landed with a street of Orangemen.  But DKs interested, intended to vote, and seemed likely to split towards ‘Yes’. 

Some ‘No’ voters clearly not strapped in at launch and likely to put their cross in the wrong place anyway – we should factor this in somehow, the Accidental Separatist Supporters (Asses).

18. scaredy cat. says:

@Stu
    Maybe so, I can’t see why myself, but it is free advertising for the website. It might send some curious people here. Unless you’re going for the secret society thing, of course.

19. Doug Daniel says:

Speaking of naff t-shirts with website addresses on them, I wore my band’s t-shirt (with our website address on it) when I went to the televised leaders debate at Aberdeen Uni before the 2007 Scottish Election. Figured I would try and get it on TV for some free advertising.

I failed miserably. Bloody BBC…

20. Bugger (the Panda) says:

Note for CameronB and Chick McGregor left in Quarantine section

21. Iain says:

@Doug Daniel
    ‘SUBO SUPPORTS THE UNION!!!!’

F***ing hell, Bettertogether (and Subo’s ‘management team’) really have the scruples of people traffickers and pimps.

‘She was briefly deprived of oxygen during a difficult birth resulting in a learning disability. Boyle says she was bullied as a child, and was nicknamed “Susie Simple” at school.’

‘In August 2010, British tabloid, News of the World, reported that Boyle was experiencing financial woes as she was unable to access her fortune, which was being controlled by her management team – consisting of Andy Stephens, Ossie Killkenny and Boyle’s lawyer and niece, Kirsty Foy. Boyle’s brother Gerry said that his sister was fearful of losing her contract and of returning to her previous financial situation and also that she has been unable to move into her £300,000 five-bedroom house in Blackburn because she does not have the cash to furnish it. He said “[Her] millions are ring-fenced but Susan has no concept of money” and that she was “extremely distressed” at having to live off £300 a week after being banned from withdrawing money from the bank or owning a credit card.’

link to tinyurl.com

22. Mosstrooper says:

Two things; the Scot’s word for head is heid not heed. As for stamping banknotes some of us were doing this back in the 60’s with the aid of a John Bull printing kit (oh the irony) I believe it is an illegal act to deface currency however it may only be that with Madge’s heid on it. Then again Hey! What ya gonna do eh?
    So, dig out your John Bull printing kit and get to it. (allegedly) 

23. Desimond says:

In an Independent Scotland, everyones heid will be wee’er.

24. Desimond says:

Who needs Scottish Oil? We have London Olympics!
    link to bbc.co.uk

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,761 Posts, 1,218,463 Comments

• Young Lochinvar on The shifting sands of memory: “Aidan at 2.40pm It’s bad enough that it might be the case without you wishing it so..May 25, 18:55
    • Young Lochinvar on The shifting sands of memory: “SM; Yup. Idle curiosity makes we wonder if SHE who’s name shall not be uttered is still shacked up for…May 25, 18:46
    • sarah on The shifting sands of memory: “@ Mia at 5.16: “Starmer and the three male models/arsonists”. Phil Boswell has something to say about this on today’s…May 25, 18:41
    • Northcode on The shifting sands of memory: ““a major cultural and legal difference lies between what they regarded as nations following the ‘Latin tradition’ compared with the…May 25, 18:35
    • factchecker on The shifting sands of memory: “A voice of reason.May 25, 18:29
    • Andy Ellis on The shifting sands of memory: “@Sam 5.04 pm What’s with the 3 year thing? All that’s necessary is for all pro-independence parties who support the…May 25, 18:18
    • Andy Ellis on The shifting sands of memory: “@Breastplate 3.19pm Other countries don’t care about the Treaties of Union or 300 year old history, any more than we…May 25, 17:39
    • Mia on The shifting sands of memory: “What is this thing about Starmer and the three U male models? Why is it being said that the three…May 25, 17:16
    • Hatey McHateface on The shifting sands of memory: “What do you reckon, Marie, did they have a hand in the Dandy Dons victory yesterday? I mean, why not,…May 25, 17:04
    • sam on The shifting sands of memory: “What’s the wording of a plebiscitary election to be? This is a tentative try. A majority vote by seats won…May 25, 17:04
    • Hatey McHateface on The shifting sands of memory: “Well, Mia, at least you managed to reply to Andy without blaming Da Dews. (I think. It’s next to impossible…May 25, 16:55
    • Mia on The shifting sands of memory: ““The only plausible route likely to achieve results in any reasonable timescale is to gain a majority in plebiscitary elections,…May 25, 16:27
    • Mark Beggan on The shifting sands of memory: “They are going to paragraph themselves into independence. Paragraph by paragraph.May 25, 16:02
    • SilentMajority on The shifting sands of memory: ““N.. S… has argued the law on the definition of a woman may need to be changed to accommodate trans…May 25, 16:01
    • Breastplate on The shifting sands of memory: “Andy, I agree with some of what you say and there’s room for manoeuvre on others. I think many people…May 25, 15:19
    • Young Lochinvar on The shifting sands of memory: “Over in Tranny-land SHE whose name shall not be uttered is in out of control hose mode again, wanting laws…May 25, 14:55
    • Andy Ellis on The shifting sands of memory: “Why is it “quixotic”? It’s quixotic in the usually accepted definition of the term in that it’s “extremely idealistic; unrealistic…May 25, 14:21
    • Aidan on The shifting sands of memory: “If you’re pinning your hopes on the UN enforcing a vote where only Yes voters are allowed to participate then…May 25, 14:14
    • Young Lochinvar on The shifting sands of memory: “Mia Maybe, maybe not. However it would be interesting to speculate if C3 and his progeny would show up in…May 25, 14:09
    • Young Lochinvar on The shifting sands of memory: “Well well well! Everyone is a lawyer now using Latin terms 🙂 I always wondered where the lawyers were hiding…May 25, 13:57
    • Aidan on The shifting sands of memory: “The ToU does not create any rights or obligations in international law, it is domestic law, so outwith the remit…May 25, 13:56
    • Marie on The shifting sands of memory: “No bigger fan of exceptionalism than you Mr McHasbara.May 25, 13:54
    • James Cheyne on The shifting sands of memory: “The point is that the Westminster parliament ask Scotland to set up the all the struggles for themselves, While it…May 25, 13:15
    • Lorn on The shifting sands of memory: “I would like to make it plain that I am not dissing the esteemed professor. Other equally eminent professors of…May 25, 13:09
    • Lorn on The shifting sands of memory: “Nope. Sorry to not pander to your misogyny, but it would be more likely that a clean slate would be…May 25, 13:04
    • Mia on The shifting sands of memory: “” territorial integrity of states is a key principle of international law and a legitimate reason for a state not…May 25, 12:45
    • Michael Laing on The shifting sands of memory: “I’ve no argument with the substance of this or any of your posts, Mia, but please note: it’s recoursing/taking recourse,…May 25, 12:34
    • Alf Baird on The shifting sands of memory: “Helpful theory, Northcode. Which reminds me of discussions with continental academics who stated that a major cultural and legal difference…May 25, 12:32
    • James Cheyne on The shifting sands of memory: “Willie, there is a possible third route that has not quite sunk in yet to most Scots, That arrogant self…May 25, 12:30
    • Aidan on The shifting sands of memory: “@Andy – I agree that nobody could plausibly claim that the Scottish are not a people for the purposes of…May 25, 12:14