First Minister’s Questions, 10-11-11

Posted on November 10, 2011 by

One of the most dismaying aspects of the state of Scottish politics is the way that the weekly Holyrood joust between the party leaders appears to be conducted solely for the benefit of those in the chamber, with no regard at all for the watching electorate. This week's episode was a case in point.

Iain Gray chose to spend his entire allotted time battering on about whether an independent Scotland would automatically become a member of the EU, and under what conditions, particularly in terms of currency. This, we'd hazard, is somewhere near the bottom of the average voter's priorities at the moment – given that we're several years away from having to think about it, and that the way things are going you wouldn't necessarily want to bet your mortgage on the EU and/or the Euro existing at all by then –  but the opposition sense a weakness (not unreasonably) in the Scottish Government's disappointing refusal to release its legal advice on the subject, and so we get a concerted attempt to score a fairly meaningless playground point rather than usefully addressing any real-world issues of actual concern to the Scottish people.

As the session showed, the simple fact is that nobody knows what will happen with regard to Scotland's EU membership in the event of independence, not least because it's a decision wholly outside the influence of anyone in Holyrood. Both sides were able to quote a litany of sources supporting their respective views, none of them in any way definitive, and the exchange ended with nobody any the wiser, resulting only in the generation of massive heat but absolutely no light. (FMQs does seem to be a bottomless well of the former, and so is perhaps the ultimate in renewable energy sources. Who needs oil?)

Ruth Davidson's debut appearance at the front of the Conservative benches was no better than Gray's ineffectual jabbing, pointlessly repeating the futile demand that the Unionist parties have been making for the past seven months – namely that the SNP should hold the referendum immediately. It's perhaps fitting that on the eve of Armistice Day, the spiritual leader of the Union would choose to adopt the Douglas Haig approach to battle: if you've got a strategy and it's failing again and again and again, keep doing it anyway just in case the 50th time is the charm. The SNP are extremely well entrenched on the high ground here – having clearly laid out their proposed timing in the election campaign and getting an unprecedented mandate from the electorate – and Davidson's feeble shelling didn't so much as scuff the barbed wire.

Willie Rennie's question was so boring we've forgotten it already, and the entire spectacle was an unedifying waste of everyone's time. And since the agenda of FMQs is set by the opposition leaders, for that they must carry most of the blame.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,801 Posts, 1,223,870 Comments

• Mark Beggan on Rapist’s Rights: “Sturgeon’s suffering from post Colonial Stockholm syndrome Isn’t she Professor. Oh dear oh fuckin dear!Aug 12, 00:02
    • Young Lochinvar on Rapist’s Rights: “Onlooker Which actually neatly sums up the whole 2 legged walking conundrum that (the currently reinventing herself) SHE is.. London…Aug 11, 23:46
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on Rapist’s Rights: “ASH REGAN interviewed by Mike Graham (7 Aug) on subject of trans women and prison: (Please copy and paste link…Aug 11, 23:40
    • Iain More on Rapist’s Rights: “Those Quizzers that voted NO have a lot to answer for. How they and Sturgeon hated Scotland.Aug 11, 23:19
    • willie on Rapist’s Rights: “How dare you Hatey call a mobile home a “camper van ” Sturgeon and her husband Peter had a very…Aug 11, 23:00
    • Onlooker on Rapist’s Rights: “Exactly right. She finally gets tae hae the teenage lesbian fun she denied hersel oan joining the SNP it 16.…Aug 11, 22:55
    • willie on Rapist’s Rights: “Ureka – I have it now. The answer has been with us all along. And when you work it out…Aug 11, 22:50
    • Onlooker on Rapist’s Rights: “Talk aboot an admission: “I’ve always loved London.” Aye, nae doot, hen, nae doot. Says it aw, really, eh? Jist…Aug 11, 22:46
    • Hatey McHateface on Rapist’s Rights: ““named after her” Somebody needs to design a new camper van and call it the Sturgeon.Aug 11, 22:06
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on Rapist’s Rights: ““As First Minister I have many, many, many different responsibilities, but there is no responsibility that I have that is…Aug 11, 22:05
    • Hatey McHateface on Rapist’s Rights: ““an enviable period of settled prosperity and good governance under, I’d suggest, the most able and competent politician of his…Aug 11, 22:00
    • robertkknight on Rapist’s Rights: “Frankly, Sturgeon deserves the gaol.Aug 11, 21:46
    • George Ferguson on Rapist’s Rights: “Wind back to 15 years ago. Her miscarriage was the most important thing that ever happened to Scotland. Not realising…Aug 11, 21:32
    • Hatey McHateface on Rapist’s Rights: “She’d be Scotland’s Mammie for life, x, and yer mammie is niver wrang. Yoons like you (insert abusive swear terms…Aug 11, 21:16
    • Sven on Rapist’s Rights: “agent x @ 20.49. Or, Mr Salmond would not have resigned, Ms Sturgeon would not have inducted as the “Nation’s…Aug 11, 21:13
    • TURABDIN on Rapist’s Rights: “Ms STURGEON might so easily have been «the liberator», she held for years strong cards but chose not to play…Aug 11, 21:02
    • agent x on Rapist’s Rights: “If the yoons like me (insert abusive swear terms here) had not voted “NO” the Sturgeon creature would be President…Aug 11, 20:49
    • Hatey McHateface on Rapist’s Rights: “@ Alf Baird says: 11 August, 2025 at 8:29 pm If you’re paddling in the murky waters of the “class…Aug 11, 20:42
    • Hatey McHateface on Rapist’s Rights: “@Tartanpigsy says: 11 August, 2025 at 8:10 pm “You are such a pr**k” Aw, diddums. Truly the “courage” of the…Aug 11, 20:34
    • Alf Baird on Rapist’s Rights: “We should always consider first our fundamental colonial reality rather than looking at our situation as one of everyday political…Aug 11, 20:29
    • Hatey McHateface on Rapist’s Rights: ““working class interest” Ah yes, the soon to disappear, already greatly endangered, working class. Politically, replaced by the benefits class…Aug 11, 20:19
    • Tartanpigsy on Rapist’s Rights: “Hatey McNever-set-foot-in-Scotland-other-than-on-fishing-or-hunting-trips…… You are such a pr**kAug 11, 20:10
    • aLurker on Rapist’s Rights: “Captain Caveman says: Dangerous idiots who’ve disappeared so far up their absurd leftist ideological cul-de-sacs that they can’t distinguish reality…Aug 11, 19:42
    • GM on Rapist’s Rights: “I agree, there is nothing about extreme social liberalism that is left or right wing. Right wing people support right…Aug 11, 19:31
    • Andrew scott on Rapist’s Rights: “Not sure my tv will survive the interview Not sure i will watchAug 11, 19:08
    • Hatey McHateface on Rapist’s Rights: “Thanks for the reminder that as recently as 2022, CM was surprised, shocked and astonished that people would fabricate evidence…Aug 11, 18:48
    • Hatey McHateface on The Last Marble: “@ diabloandco says:11 August, 2025 at 1:51 pm “That doesn’t negate the deaths and does not excuse the priority given…Aug 11, 18:29
    • Captain Caveman on Rapist’s Rights: “On the contrary, there’s everything “leftist” about it. For the avoidance of doubt: the is nonsense harks solely from the…Aug 11, 18:26
    • David Holden on Rapist’s Rights: “I suspect we are rapidly reaching the point when it is time to stick Nicola, Pop goes the weasel blogger…Aug 11, 18:08
    • twathater on Rapist’s Rights: “TBQH I had respect for Wightman and his ideas on land reform,but IMO he destroyed any sense of credibility or…Aug 11, 18:03