Event on the horizon

Posted on September 01, 2024 by

Those of you on Twitter will probably be aware of this already, but for the rest:

It should be a bit of a lark, although the retrospective part will probably be rather more fun than the looking-forward part. I don’t get out much, so if you want to come along and throw some rotten fruit and/or say hi, tickets are here.

0 to “Event on the horizon”

1. Thomas Potter

Great stuff Rev.
    Have you seen WGD damascene post today.
    Somebody’s woke up and smelled the coffee , and it’s all Alex Salmonds fault!!!
    Allegedly lol.

2. Mark Beggan

So we can all sit and have a greet.

3. Thomas Potter

P.S. I got banned for life off Twitter after 2014.
    They never gave me the reason but I think it was Indy comments and anti-Tory related.

4. Hatey McHateface

Mark Beggan

Sure, we’re in the top flight at that, maybe even leading the world.

5. Stoker

Rev, a recent article of yours got me thinking. If there’s no chance of another indyref until, at least, the 2030’s where does that leave this blog? Have you given it any thought? Do you have any plans?

Here’s a suggestion if you plan to continue, revamp some old articles into ones fit for the present day. Cover all the main topics such as defence, currency, Borders etc.

Just a thought as i don’t envisage you just plodding along churning out the odd article here and there.

6. Geri

Thomas Potter

Naw he husnae.

He tells us we’ll never get permission for a referendum from Westminster no matter how many mandates we have. So what we need is to get young ppl to vote to collect even more mandates. Yawn…

When will he realise this needs to go external? Indy will never be agreed in a domestic setting. Everyone should know by now it’s futile to keep asking yer abuser if it’s okay if you leave ffs. Especially one that relies on your finances.

Go big or go home!

Stu, good luck with yer evening. Sounds like it’ll be fun. I’m in the greeting camp. I dunno if I can handle anymore coulda, woulda, shoulda from some of those speakers.. September isn’t a good month either LOL!

7. Muscleguy

Depending on how fast the UN moves the looking forward part of this if it doesn’t include Liberation and the UN Decolonisation Program then it’s going to look myopic.

Events dear boy, events. Things are moving.

The organised Yes movement are doing for ourselves. SNP nowhere near. Alba as a party nowhere near. Only ISP is onboard. Our Deputy Leader Julie MacAnulty was elected onto Liberation’s council. ISP is plugged in and present.

There’s going to be some political karma about this.

8. Alf Baird

Wonder if any of the speakers can explain the meaning of independence:

https://salvo-cor.s3.eu-west-1.amazonaws.com/THEORETICAL+CASE+FOR+SCOTTISH+INDEPENDENCE.pdf

Probably not. Tho denial (of oppression) is part of the ‘colonial condition’:

https://yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com/2024/03/03/the-colonial-mindset/

9. Hatey McHateface

Stoker

Good idea. In fact, I’d go further.

Redesign the site a little to have permanent links to the articles you suggest, e.g. defence, currency, economic policies, international alliances, immigration, energy security and export earnings, etc.

Ensure these articles are written by credible authors with genuine expertise. Nae numptys or fantasists.

Last, but by no means least, plan to update these articles at least yearly. The times they are a-changing, and the rate of change is accelerating. Scotland’s Indy prospectus has to be flexible and adaptable if it is to remain relevant over time.

To give but two examples: nobody is going to do much other than scoff at an article bleating about “Scotland’s Oil” – that ship has long sailed.

And the EU, beloved by so many on here, has morphed into something unrecognisable, and will continue to do so, as populism sweeps Europe, and The War grinds on into 2025.

Forget the Ancient Guff too. Facts-based, contemporary relevance is needed.

If we Scots are to be set free, it’s the truth that will underpin it.

Wishful thinking will sentence us to another 10-year stretch.

10. Ruby Sunday

https://tinyurl.com/bdhhwe6t

Police hunt fruit-throwing assailant

You trying to get us into trouble with the law?

I would suggest you change throw to blow.

Even then I think ‘blowing a raspberry’ may well be a hate crime.

I hope you have a good time in Glasgow.
    Will you be checking out Bearsden?

11. TURABDIN

SCOTTISH INDEPENDENCE REFERENDUM.
    DECENNIAL REUNION.
    HOGWARTS SCHOOL somewhere in NB.
    (no gps & no Muggles)
    Remember the ancient motto:
    Draco dormiens nunquam titillandus?
    Note well…..beware steampunk Death Eaters and very rough terrain.

Severus SNAPE, official greeter.

12. Doug

For starters: abstentionism. Only ISP as far as I can tell.

13. Morag

Got mine. See you.

14. Hatey McHateface

BBC reporting the bill for Scotland’s public inquiries will soon hit the £200 million mark.

I guess we need to add to that the compensation for all the miscarriages of justice, and botched policies, too. The jam jar deposit compensation law suit has yet to get going, I believe.

Time to whack another penny on the Scottish income tax and as a result, export a few more thousand Scottish jobs south of Hadrians Wall.

Go SNP!

15. James Che

Hatey McHateface.

Lets convenintly forget about the treaty of union (that is the only ancient guff that the SNP and Westminster parliament) say make up and create Great- Britain,

Doh,

So the purpose for Stu’s post today on Snp talking to separate Scotland from the old guff Union has gone beyond your thought capacity.

16. holymacmoses

We’re going and looking forward to it:-)

17. James Che

Hatey McHateface,

Lets bring Old Guff up to date,

“The Scots are not in the treaty of Union” – Westminster parliament Statement for world wide viewing 2024.

18. James Che

Hatey McHateface,

You have two choices of- fact based information.

One by Westminster parliament posted in 2024, That the Scots were not asked to join the Treaty of union 😉

And the Old Guff one, That the 1707 Scottish parliament was Dissolved out of the treaty of parliamentary union in 1707.

19. Ruby Sunday

It also means that certain individuals need to keep their egos, vendettas and grudges in check. All that does is to give ammunition to those opposed to independence.

Wee Ginger Dug.

‘Certain individuals’ ‘usual suspects’

Is this a secret code know only by ‘certain individual’/’the usual suspects’?

Who is he talking about? Is it Stu, Alex Salmond, Nicola Sturgeon or Pete Wishart.

From comments
    Much of what you say , Paul , is perfectly reasonable and achievable . The one issue I feel is going to be very difficult to achieve is that ”..certain individuals need to keep their egos, vendettas and grudges in check ..”

This , I fear , is a bridge too far for the people that most of us will immediately associate with ” ego , vendetta and grudges” !

Certain ‘individual/usual suspects’ do not have the courage of their convictions if they did they would name names.

There must be a name for this type of cowardly behaviour but I don’t know what it is atm. Some research required.

20. James Che

It is by not facing fact based truths that Scots still believe in the fairy tail they are a captured nation.

21. Geri

Main

The times are indeed a changing.

When the West is defeated a new pact will be sought & the yappy wee UK will be nowhere near it.
    No military might. No wealth. No mates. Nothing to offer. No chance of a seat. It’ll be the pariah state it is today but without it’s last mate propping it up. Boo hoo.

As for all the rest of yer guff. Don’t insult this sites owner. He’s given you ten yrs of articles on all the subjects you mentioned. Still relevant, same shit, different day.

NATO is an easy one. It won’t exist. It’s proven to be a ineffective. All it took was a few to not play ball & it folded. Defenceless countries are their gig. The EU is another. It won’t exist either as everyone takes back control of their own wee patch & has their own foreign policy. It shouldn’t have wandered outside of trading & into warring.

22. TURABDIN

INDEPENDENCE and shearing the British state.
    https://archive.ph/icFLV
    Such a lot of dead weight to shear.

23. Roderick Macdonald

HMcH spends far too much time here. Its posting history indicates it either has an unhealthy obsession with this site, or is a venue by which multiple people choose to interact with independence supporters in an attempt to diminish the enthusiasm of the existing community BTL, and to discourage any random readers who may be dropping in.

It is constant counter programming.

It is a troll.

It is a propagandist.

Ignore it.

24. 100%Yes

Why would anyone celebrate a Referendum that was deliberately setup to fail before anyone cast a single vote?

Why did Salmond setup the 2014 Referendum to fail before anyone had even cast a single vote, by allowing the, English, Welsh and NI and also all foreign nationals and students to vote on Scotland constitutional question which allowed 1.5million people to object to Scotland being Independent in 2014. This has lead to Scotland being a prisoner within this Union. I ask what is there to celebrate other than BETRAYAL.

This is the same man (Salmond) who has stated we as in Scotland should be prepared to give up land and our territorial waters in order to be ALLOWED a referendum, I was appalled when Salmond made this statement has England given up any territorial land or water when it left the EU.

This is the same man who stated that during his term as FM when the SNP had a outright majority in the Scottish parliament, he could have given the people a referendum on given the parliament new powers to include the constitutional question, then I ask why didn’t he do it.

The same man who LOVES to boast that he brought Cameron to the table. I mean why would you even want him there in the first place.

Salmond loves to boast how Scotland never ever votes Tories but at ever opportunity like at the AYES have it, he loves to call Unionist his Friends.

This is the same man who opened his gob and stated the referendum is once in a lifetime, for who?

We now know why every SNP leader after Salmond hasn’t pursued Independence because of what Salmond had stated, if we vote for Independence then they’ll be no need for the SNP, I take it from this statement that Nicola believed him and she and her colleagues decided not to pursue Independence but instead keep there jobs.

Who is this guy and where is is loyalty because the stuff that came out of his gob and lets not forget he knew Sturgeon and he’d still be supporting her if she hadn’t done what she did to him.

Salmond and the SNP have done nothing for the cause of Independence we are further away from that goal now they we ever where.

I ask what has Scotland or our people got to celebrate in 2024 when we are being told to look forward to being Independent sometime after 2030. That can mean 2040, 2050. How do you resolve England hold on Scotland that could have been resolved during the 2014 referendum by allowing only the Scottish people to vote or given the parliament new powers.

25. James Che

Geri.

Don’t be fooled, they are all joined at the hip, and play their parts rather well, good cop-bad cop.

26. James Che

Geri,

Talking of Domestic.

Have you read the Scottish law Society old post by David Walker regards Domestic law and the treaty of union.

27. James Che

100% yes.

My spouse calls them- Gatekeepers.

28. James Che

100% yes.

I am enthusiastic about the modern guff from Westminster parliament site that states the Scots were never asked to join the treaty of union because they would probably have voted No anyway, and the other one from Westminster that States the 1707 Scottish parliament was placed under Dissolution.
    Something valuable in that modern Guff.
    But the Gatekeepers never mention it.

29. Stuart Campbell

£25 for this unadulterated pish, why are you promoting this!

30. sarah

@ Stuart Campbell: “Why….?”

Why not? It will be a better level conversation than most. And by people whose company is pleasant. And it seems there is the chance to speak to the platformed folk. If I lived in Glasgow I would go in order to thank the Rev.

I might bend his ear on a couple of issues too! Franchise. Salvo/Liberation. Bet you’re glad I won’t be there, Stu!?

31. Confused

it’s cheaper than the oasis “pay for my tax bill and divorce” tired old reheat for middle aged cunts who should know better (and free parking)

“you can wait for a LIFE_TIME … for yer days in the SUN_SHINE …”

– sums up indy.

I see main is right on it today, lowering the tone, giving it groundhog day – “ancient guff” – the entire world is ancient guff, including 3000 year old ancient guff in the middle east – magna carta, guff, bill of rights, 95 theses – so as they say on the phone-in to all loud cement heads : “whats your point caller”.

And as for facts – we take our facts from the IMF, the world bank, the biz press – like GDP per capita

WHERE’S MY FUCKING MONEY, ENGLAND … SHOW ME YOUR ANDS … THATS MINE THAT IS … M25 … CROSSRAIL … THE NUKES … ROYAL FUCKING WEDDINGS … YOU NEVER PAID FOR THAT … I DID

– so give me the rings off your fingers and kids playstation.

Me, talking to England – “all together, it’s about 5 trillion”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fCdU753XMZ4

We need to call in the sheriff officers, now.

– it’s years now since MAIN/TWAT/HATER has been posting and I don’t think I can remember one single piece of useful information, anything positive about indy, or even a half decent joke; total absolute negativity.

not. even. once. But total loyalty to 2 countries and a kneejerk defence of all things anglo american.

– I am starting to think you are maybe not supportive of the venture. If that is not too controversial.

I don’t think main is a bot – the programmer would have made it better, or works for 77/JTRIG, for they would have trained him better and given him decent briefing notes.

– no one would actually pay for his crap. An amateur hour provocateur who survives because, on the internet, no one can really tell when you had your head kicked in.

32. Mark Beggan

Oasis! music for NED’S. Neil Grey will feel at home amongst the aging disenfranchised, got a chip on my shoulder the size of Manchester numpty brigade. That’s if he gets a ticket.

33. Mark Beggan

Hatey McHateface Esq

World Champions. We took the title from Argentina apparently.

34. sydthesnake

Dear John Swinney is going to spend God knows how much money, to review what went wrong with the Sturgeon Nicola Party (AKA SNP) I can tell him what went wrong for free, they stopped listening to the voters and took us all for granted. Pay attention, drain the swamp, you 1st, you were on duty when all the stealing and lying took place.

35. Breeks

100%Yes
    Ignored says:
    1 September, 2024 at 11:40 am
    Why would anyone celebrate a Referendum that was deliberately setup to fail before anyone cast a single vote?

Why did Salmond setup the 2014 Referendum to fail before anyone had even cast a single vote, by allowing the, English, Welsh and NI and also all foreign nationals….

Not gonna defend Salmond for once, because you’re essentially correct, however, I suspect even Salmond himself didn’t expect to overturn a huge Unionist majority, a rigged system, and corrupt media to actually win. I suspect if Alex Salmond was being candid, he’d admit that the 2014 momentum exceeded all his expectations.

In that context, is it the same cardinal sin to agree the wider franchise if that “concession” was necessary to secure Westminster’s consent to hold a referendum at all?

I think in both Salmond and Cameron, we had two gamblers; one optimistic the stacked odds might be overcome, and the other complacent that defeat was a foregone conclusion.

Whatever the truth, Salmond came bloody close to winning, and did more for Scotland than practically any other Scottish politician I can draw to mind, and the fact he’s not perfect can be excused.

I also believe Salmond was afraid the UK Establishment would press all the “Ulsterisation of Scotland” buttons, and this might have worked to destabilise Scotland, had swathes of the Unionist community been denied the vote. Folk are afraid of the Constitutional mandate from Scottish Nationals even now, nevermind back in 2014. Back in 2014 you were branded hysterical and desperate if you condemned the BBC, and not just by Unionists either.

Back in 2014, YES was a wholeheartedly positive initiative, which built upon hope and opportunity. I don’t think people were ready for a raw and binary battle over sovereignty. It would have antagonised people we might otherwise have persuaded.

There is an argument that still remains the case, however I think a great number of people are deeply, deeply troubled and suspicious about how YES and the SNP has been cynically deconstructed from within by full blown tr@itors. There something deeply “sus” about the whole decade after.

If our enemy is so very determined to cheat us and skew victory at any cost, then in my humble opinion, Scotland MUST now play hardball, and drive home the Constitutional Sovereignty of the Scottish people.

Whether you’re keen about this, as I am, or deeply reluctant, I have always believed it would come to this.

A battle for Sovereignty? Yes. This is the endgame and always was.
    Troops on the street? No. I just don’t see it. That would polarise opinion instantly and destroy the Union. They know it too.

36. TURABDIN

History shows that countries do not achieve independence by being polite.

37. JockMcT

NO S30 EVER, some Sturgeon shaming (or shitloads of it), name the Alphabetties… Some warm-up ideas there, and looking at the faces on the ad above – are all these folks on board for an inclusive march forward, or still hankering after the auld SNP days and ways? I’m totally unsure these days if AS should be at the centre of things, or should he just let it go – once he has justice, and let the movement develop some new and fresh leadership. Anyhow, hope ye make a buck or two Rev and that this isn’t a sack cloth and ashes greet-athon.

38. George Ferguson

At the moment I can’t go to the event horizon. Somebody else has a birthday but I am hoping my wife and I can agree a resource split. We have done that before. Great opportunity to see the main players of Scottish Independence. I only hope it doesn’t go the same way as our Oasis ticket attempt.

39. James Che

Breeks.

I hope you don’t mind if I add to that,

As you say it will eventually come down to Sovereignty. And I believe this to be true also, and that out of desparation they ( the other side ) may include inciting trouble on the streets of Scotland.
    But if the Scots stay off the Street and use brains instead of brawn, Ruthie, you know who, tried ramping up that one,

Scotland has enough claim to Sovereignty ground on that bases,
    However we must use all the tools in that box, not a few select ones. As Westminster parliament more than implies the Scots were not invited to join the Treaty of union, because they would in all probability have voted No anyway,

That statement assures Scots of Three things.

1) That Scots were considered “Sovereign people in their own right ” from the 1707 Scottish parliament. By all those involved in the terms, agreements and ratification process.

2) That “Scots were considered Sovereign people in their own right” even above and beyond their Monarch.

3) That therefore Scots are not in the Treaty of Union.
    And do not require a referendum or section 30 to leave a treaty they are not in or ever have been.

40. twathater

@ Breeks 2.37pm, I agree with some of your comments in response to 100% yes’s post @ 11.40am, but overall I have to admit his comment and feelings I echo wholeheartedly, many people yourself included hail Alex Salmond as a great thinker and superb tactician, TBQH after his vast experience and history within WM and the DUPLICITY,LIES AND CORRUPTION the establishment were renowned for, his mistake in TRUSTING anything they said or did was egregious

Looking at the lineup appearing with Salmond, apart from Rev Stu and Canavan can anyone tell me what the others like Cherry,Whitford,Neil or Ewing did or do to promote and further independence, as far as I can tell ALL they did was sit on their substantial arses,SILENT, and let sturgeon the deviant and pervert betrayer destroy the independence movement while they claimed their generous salaries and expenses

41. Hatey McHateface

Roderick Macdonald 11:24

I’m going for the “multiple people” option.

Do I win a prize? None of your BRICS shite mind. Good old USD from Uncle Sam.

Incidentally, where have all the “genocide” eejits gone? It’s Day 1 of the cease fires to allow the bairns to be inoculated. Never in the history of the world, or the future history yet unwritten for that matter, has their been a genocide where it stops to improve the health of the supposed victims.

So in the sane, rational world, one would expect a sheepish and mumbled apology along the lines of “sorry, we were wrong, you were right, it’s not a genocide after all”. Just a nasty war between one side who have to play more-or-less by the rules, and another side who cower in their tunnels, behind their human shields of terrified lassies, and under the gunfire and missile absorbing bodies of their own women and bairns.

Fits up fowks? Humous got yer tongues?

42. James Che

Stu.

I am afraid I am unable to be at the event either due to being the sole carer for my Spouse at home, my sincere apologies.
    But really would appreciate updates from yourself afterwards here on wings.

43. holymacmoses

I think you should write a book Mr Wings

44. Grendel

Ah wisnae gonnae go, but having seen James Che won’t be there I might change ma mind…

45. Alf Baird

JockMcT @ 3:31 pm

“looking at the faces on the ad above”

Aye and most are on colonial pensions, or soon will be, with the exception of the Rev.

One way to define a failed nationalist.

46. Andrew scott

@grendel
    Agree james CHE is a PITA
    Ruins these discussions with his blady blady. Blah

47. sarah

I’ve just looked at The National’s headlines on-line about the SNP conference. Dear oh dear. They all seem perfectly happy with the way things are in the party and the policies.

Apparently conference voted to “improve access to gender affirming care”.

So the delegates don’t know anything about all the problems/crimes with the gender activists?

I despair.

48. KT Lorimer

So – conference voted to improve access to genital mutilation for the mentally ill – what a time to be alive.

49. James

What Roderick Macdonald said about the site prick;
    agree, 100%. Well said, sir.

50. John

Totally agree with comments about the polluting yoons. Fukwits doesn’t start to describe them .
    Their ‘precious’ Kingdom, led by jimmy saviles greastest prodigy is what they are about.
    Demonic Abrahamics

51. Mark Beggan

The good thing is that most of the SNP delegates won’t be alive in the next few years. The ones that hang in there will witness a Unionist Scotland. There’s stupid and then there’s the SNP supporters.

52. Young Lochinvar

Sarah @8.39pm

I think what you say tells us all we need to know, and frankly knew anyway, about who is still effectively pulling the strings behind the scenes in Bute House..

They richly deserve everything coming their way and I hope other independence supporting parties seriously vett new joining members/ travellers/ cuckoo chicks trying to jump into their nests or they will go the same way: guaranteed.

The SNP is done, failed (not heroically but in a pathetically self inflicted mad dash to the cliff edge manner) at their one and only core voting mantra, and, what better way to p1ss off voters is there than to:
    1. Lead the charge in sexually indoctrinating voters children/ grandchildren and minors in general
    2. Get yourself into court over (potentially criminal) money “issues”..

Slam dunk on damaging the independence drive by association; frankly they deserve everything that’s tediously slowly coming their way.

Special place in hell and that sort of thing.

53. Robert Louis

Turabdin at 0248pm,

Exactly. No country ever left a serial abuser like England, by being nice. I am not suggesting violence, but independence supporters need to stop saying ‘only THIS way’ will lead to independence. We need to use EVERY way.

My honest opinion of the current SNP and the wasted Sturgeon decade, is that it suited the whole damn lot of them to be able to say ‘London winnae let us, whine whine’ That let them all ride the gravy train, but never actually have to seriously pursue independence in any meaningful way. In short they did NOTHING. The current SNP still do nothing, to pursue independence, constantly using England’s permission as a pathetic excuse for inaction.

No country ever gets independence by sitting asking for permission.

As to the referendum in 2014. I remember sitting atop Salisbury Crags overlooking Holyrood a couple of days before the result. Their was a huge media camp set up, with FOREIGN media from around the world reporting. Salmond KNEW, that England would resist even if we won, that he wanted the whole world to see it, the declaration of Scottish independence by democratic vote and an end to English rule over Scotland.

Their is no single route to independence an an end to England’s abusive colonial rule. EVERY route needs examined and tried. Whether it be via SALVO, the constitution, legal routes, referendum, elections, whatever. EVERY route needs done.

What Scotland needs now is a leader that seriously wants independence, that knows it is URGENT. The current SNP do not have it.

This meeting in Glasgow is more important than it seems. This might be our chance to get focused on independence again. Not socialist independence, not woke independence, not capitalist independence, not ‘green’ independence – NONE of those distractions, just one thing, actual SCOTTISH INDEPENDENCE.

This meeting in Glasgow is very timely, as we can now see the English red tories are just doing exactly the same as the English real tories did, when in power, abuse Scotland and ignore its poeple.

Scotland needs independence even more, now in 2024, than in 2014. Its time to stop looking backwards and get things moving.

54. Breeks

twathater
    1 September, 2024 at 5:59 pm

…Looking at the lineup appearing with Salmond, apart from Rev Stu and Canavan can anyone tell me what the others like Cherry,Whitford,Neil or Ewing…

I welcome healthy disagreement twathater. After all we have witnessed, constructive discussion is more important than ever.

I have a long term axe to grind with Ewing, so he definitely wouldn’t be on my list of allstars, and I’m fairly lukewarm about a couple of others, but I try to see more baby in them than bath water.

I was one of Joanna’s most vocal supporters when she was on the charge and rattling Westminster’s foundations using Constitutionally derived arguments… but then she just stopped. WTF? The Establishment knocked to the canvas, and she just retired to her corner.

However, then the “ifs” creep in. “If” you accept there’s been clandestine shenanigans going on at SNP HQ, this type of insurrection and skullduggery is very clever and knowing which buttons to press for their desired effect. I wouldn’t expect a Barrister to fall for it, but buttons are buttons, and a lot depends on what they’re wired to. And my last word on JC, is that she probably took a paycut to pursue her political career, but yeah, there is very much a sense of underachievement and /or unfinished business. I wonder if she’d admit to that. I’d also like to hear her take on SALVO and the Claim of Right.

Do any of these folks have anything left in the tank? You’d hope so, but I dunno. Maybe they’ve all given their best already, and we need the new blood and rebellion, – some potent irreverance from the likes of SALVO to kick over the fire and let the oxygen in.

As for the trolls on here, just ignore them. They don’t come here to win an argument, their goal is to be a pest and provoke a response; a lot like some spoiled wee attention seeking brat at a primary school. All of you, most of you anyway, were given the perfect response; an index finger, a brilliant tool for scrolling on by…

55. Robert Hughes

@ Robert Louis

” Their is no single route to independence an an end to England’s abusive colonial rule. EVERY route needs examined and tried. Whether it be via SALVO, the constitution, legal routes, referendum, elections, whatever. EVERY route needs done. ”

I agree and have said the same previously .

Disappointing then that the event will feature such stellar , said-fuck-all-when-it-mattered failures as Whitford ; Cherry – 15mins of fame then zero , other than whingeing about the online ” attacks ” on HER , not a word about the outright evil cunts’ attempt to destroy Alex Salmond and continued to give tacit support to Sturgeon by remaining in the Party who gave tacit support to both the hysterical manshees threatening her & the Get Salmond conspirators .

And yet , no invitations extended to honourable , unsullied Independence fighters like Sara Salyers , Alf Baird , Liberation.Scot , Peter Bell , to name just some .

I’m afraid I have disagree with this ….

” This meeting in Glasgow is more important than it seems ” .

Without pre-judging the event – it MAY turn-out to be much LESS important than it seems . None of the participants have shown any signs of fresh thinking on the subject of how to achieve our goal and seem firmly stuck in the manifestly insufficient , unproductive Political Party musical chairs game .

When the music stops ….vote for me/us ; we’re much better that THAT lot , honest .

” When the music’s over …….turn out the lights , turn out the lights , turn out the lights . Yeah “

56. James Che

Delighted that those two who never never have any suggestion on how to gain Scottish independence can now go to the SNP event.
    You both advertise you’re position well. Attack the person not the subject at hand,

57. James Che

Robert Louis.
    Turabdin.

In total agreement with both of you,

58. Dan

@ Robert Louis says

What Scotland needs now is a leader that seriously wants independence, that knows it is URGENT.

No and aye to that.

Firstly I think reliance on a leader is not the way to go because that creates a single focal point and target for the powers that be to attack and diminish which has been proven time and time again to work for the Establishment eg. Corbyn, Salmond.
    Much better to have a diverse pool of leaders which includes individuals that have knowledge or expertise on specific matters, as that makes it much harder to tarnish a collective effectively.
    I am fed up of politicians churning out superficial of the moment soundbites on complex subjects they appear to know little about. There’s a reason Ministers are meant to have specific remits to oversee, and that is because it just isn’t possible for one individual to have a deep understanding of all areas such as energy, trade, health, immigration, agriculture, etc.
    Winging it just makes them look like a jack of all trades master of none who’s words could be pulled apart by anyone with more detailed knowledge of the subject matter they are discussing.

I understood politics should be about policy, so instead of navel gazing on the past stagnated decade, why aren’t folk actually looking to and working for the future by discussing and forming sensible workable policies that would resonate with and win over the electorate.
    And ffs, don’t focus attention on the skipfires of twitter/x or facebook as the majority of the population don’t or can’t keep up with that endless stream of effluent on those sites because they actually have to spend their time working and not sitting ADHDlike online.

…And that brings me to the second point on the matter of urgency. I certainly agree with that because everyday that goes by more and more of Scotland is being exploited much to our detriment.

If all someone’s got is the negative of endlessly pontificating about the current dire state of Scotland’s politics, without putting any serious effort into improving this state of affairs, then they need to give themselves a good shake as they’re becoming part of the roadblock to progressing any improvements.
    Pretty much all the things that concern us with the seriously corrupted status quo will be swept aside once the embedded dross has been removed, and only then will that create a fresh opportunity to implement a better way of doing things.

59. Viscount Ennui

“The name’s bond”.

So, the dust gathers after another SNP conference. Strangely absent from proceedings was any mention of the Scottish bonds that we were promised over a year ago.

Perhaps like the national energy company, free bikes and computers for kids, and many other broken promises, Swinney et al have quietly ‘forgotten’ what was said and back-tracked yet again.

I said at the time that the state of public finances was such that there was no possibility of a single bond being issued. The reasoning is that yields would have to be so high to attract investors that it would be cheaper to borrow on the open market than use such a financial intsrument to raise revenue. It would also be the case that any valuation of the bond would be instantly comparable to those issued by the UK government and UK local authorities and such a metric would display the SNP’s gross incompetence in mis-managing the economy for all to see.

Swinney’s speech was a word salad of re-hashed phatic platitudes which bore a stronger resemblance to the Teletubbies rather than Churchill, Obama or Kennedy.

As meaningless as the SNP itself.

60. James Che

Robert Louis,
    Turabdin.
    Alf Baird.
    Breeks.

Here is some interesting reading on the Constitution on the union, which is not Codified.

Publications. Parliament. UK
    HOUSE OF LORDS
    Select Committee on the Constitution.
    10th Report of Session 2015-16
    The union and Devolution.

The report can be found in google search.
    Making the British Constitution up as the years go by.

61. Geri

I haven’t followed any of that conference but if it really is full of senior delegates voting to “improve access to gender affirming care” then the Anglo American coup of the SNP is complete.

They’ve rocks in their head & this American imported bullshit is an abomination to voters which was it’s intention. Give the ppl a freak show as a distraction to the shit they’re doing behind the scenes in curbing ppls freedoms & liberties.

Like Z, Sturgeon will no doubt have been offered all manner of trinkets for her betrayal to an entire Nation, to fit up her friend & mentor to remove him from the scene & to kill the SNP dead with mismanagement & fraud. UN & EU titles on offer, even a Times magazine cover (despite achieving fuck all in office) to pose deep in thought (lolz) & the selfie queen lapped it up good & proper.

Now reality will set in. It was really fitted up. There was fck all on offer. Duped & dumped. Played like a fiddle. Loathed by an entire Nation.

“How I went fae Hydro to Cornton Vale” would be a great title for her book.

Lessons to be learned? Fck treacherous politicians on the take. Abstain from Westminster or piss off. Go the decolonisation route with a solid convention without external interference. The yanks run the UN but not for long as they & their thugs trash the UN charter in front of everyone & spout absolute pish about having world class morals & democracy as they war around the globe overthrowing governments & leaving a trail of death behind them.

I know the gig of self determination was originally penned to break up R into tiny wee manageable regions easily controlled by a legion of puppets but it’s internationally accepted now & colonialism is over, so is the G7 & so is prodding the bear. The UK won’t meet the criteria to be a player at the security table after this, especially not after it’s shenanigans in U & France won’t be either. Two yappy fckers with hee-haw clout to back up the shit that comes out it’s mouth.

Scotlands independence has to be removed entirely from a domestic setting. It’s ludicrous to expect our captors to just hand over the keys & all that energy wealth just sail out the door with us. Never going to happen. Proof of that is the wars they’re currently poking their noses into for a hopeful share of the spoils. They’ll not hand Scotland over. The best course of action is to revisit the original contract. That “ancient guff” is the T&Cs. If we want to terminate a contract we have to start there. If we terminate then a referendum will be on REJOINING the union & we’ll see what shit they have to peddle to US. Not the other way around.

62. James Che

Robert Louis.
    Turabdin.
    Alf Baird.
    Breeks,

The House of Lords.
    Transferred over from the parliament of England and by the Monarch of England under the Englands parliament Act of Settlement, and the Englands parliament Act The Bill of Rights as a continuation House of Lords of England directly into the parliament of Britain House of Lords without due process of election.

Quote,
    ” History is not a record of what has happened if it is a record of what people think has happened”
    Napolian Bonaparte.

63. James Che

Dan,

Some astute points made on not focusing on only one person or party as a leader/s as these are easy targets and have been in the past.

This needs to be the people, many of those people are also well educated and knowledgable in their own niches.
    And it is the Sovereign people of Scotland that Westminster states were not invited to join the treaty of union.
    It is all those thousands of knowledgable people that need to step forward for a shared people government saving us from tyrannical (one party) future state governance.

64. James Che

Geri.

If Westminster in England require to be in a treaty of union still with Scotland the diverity of gender issues and Climate ideology change must be disposed of in the dust bin of history.

As there is No article in the treaty of union terms or agreement that agree to this being part of the 25 Articles to the treaty of union.

Just as there is No article in the treaty of union that allows for a devolved parliament to be in Scotland,

The treaty Articles are either binding or not.

But both cannot be true.

65. Dorothy Devine

James Che , I like that quote!

66. Mark Beggan

Colin and the colonisers
    Decided to go it alone
    Armed with fools history
    And a Motorola phone.

67. TURABDIN

JAMES CHE
    THE SEMIOTICS are meaningful, the Scots simply took their places in what was England’s parliament….and were seemingly quite happy to do so once extra benches were constructed.
    Times have not changed those «signs» so pregnant with meaning.
    Scotland has centuries of cerebral/existential catching up to do.

68. Ruby Monday

Dan

I understood politics should be about policy, so instead of navel gazing on the past stagnated decade, why aren’t folk actually looking to and working for the future by discussing and forming sensible workable policies that would resonate with and win over the electorate.

Which ‘folk’ are you referring to? Do you mean politicians or do you think your ordinary Scottish voter should be ‘forming sensible workable policies’?

I don’t have a problem with ‘folk’ having a discussion about what happened in the past. You can always learn from your mistakes.

Everyone going to this event will have a good time.
    I don’t imagine they will learn anything new but you never know.

No doubt someone will do or say something that will be twisted into a headline in the ‘Scottish press’

If this were in Edinburgh I might have gone if only for the ‘craic’ £25 is a bargain when you compare it to the hourly price of seeing only one politician at the Fringe

Nine for the price of one is not bad.

£13 for an hour of Mhairi Black giving a a guided tour of the palace of Westminster.
    You can get that for free on the Parliament website.

I don’t know how much it cost for an hour and ten minutes of ‘All Talk with Humza Yousaf MSP’ but it seems only 20% of tickets were sold. Maybe the 20% of filled seats were mostly complimentary tickets given to friends, family & journalists so maybe claiming 20% of tickets sold is incorrect.

NB The Event in Glasgow lasts for 4 and a half hours. It’s a bargain.

Four and a half hours of Mhairi black would cost 50p short of £60.

69. James Che

Geri.

We do have to revisit the the Contract.

Because Westminsters version of 1706/07 articles of treaty of union wildly varies from Scotlands and the actual articles of the treaty of union,
    And in that context of following a 1707 International treaty, one or the other of those versions is a fallacious hoax.

To be precise, There is also, No numbered article in the treaty of union that states that the British parliament will dissolve the parliament of Scotland at a certain date in the year 1707,

The devils in the detail.

70. James Che

Dorothy Devine.

I liked that Quote too.

It was a quote I had heard a Judge saying recently, and thought it appropriate when history is only wrote by the victors gained either by war or deceit.

71. Alf Baird

Geri @ 10:22 am

“The best course of action is to revisit the original contract.”

To which the violations are many and varied, starting with the very bribery and corruption of its crooked signatories, and would appear to be more than sufficient for a Scottish court (while it still exists) to undertake judicial review and opine the Treaty of Union as breached and void. That is what our courts are there for, to hold any party including government to account for unlawful acts.

72. Ruby Monday

Geri
    2 September, 2024 at 10:22 am

They’ve rocks in their head & this American imported bullshit

The UK was the first country in the world to allow sex change without any surgery.

Not convinced by your suggestion that it’s ‘American imported bullshit’

Nor am I convinced that it should be dismissed as ‘bullshit’ or ‘gender pish’

73. sarah

@ Alf Baird at 11.52: “..a Scottish court…opine the Treaty of Union as breached and void.”

Who could bring such a case, Alf? Remember that a case brought by [Mark Macdonald?] on a constitutional matter [I think] said he had no legal standing.

If an individual, or a group, could bring such a case then let it happen. A crowdfunder would surely be successful?

74. James Che

Turabdin.

Scotland does have a lot of cerebral catching up to do,
    However Scots people are far from Stupid, they are highly intelligent, and history of inventions accorded to them alone amplifies this,
    Along with Art and Scottish period of enlightenment, medicine, engineering, chemistry, shipping trading etc etc.

What has happened to the Scots is years of Social engineering of Colonial education and propaganda.and withholding the truth via MSM as a instrument of weapon.
    But it is time for them to wake up and remember they are not.
    Too wee.
    To stupid.
    Or to poor.

Far from it. They are in general a nation of highly intelligent people that are only being told or convinced of this supposed mental status year after year by those wanting to maintain a union, that is all they/ we need to remember.

The people of Scotland can do this, I have great faith in them waking up and realising that all that shines is not Westminsters gold, sometimes it is just sh-te covered in stardust..

75. Alf Baird

Geri @ 10:22 am

“I haven’t followed any of that conference”

The sad but inevitable reality of a dominant national party elite that ‘has been co-opted by colonialism’ is that they end up ‘behaving much like a gang’ (Fanon). By opting to co-operate with colonialism and in choosing ‘neutrality’, they have become no more nor less than criminals.

Their crime is in helping the colonial regime to continue, a regime which ‘owes its legitimacy to force’ and to exploitation. They are leaving the nation and people subject to colonial status which is ‘the organized reduction to slavery of a whole people’.

In the colonies ‘the native has always known that he need expect nothing from the other side’. And ‘the settler’s work is to make even dreams of liberty impossible for the native’. But now the oppressed native realises that ‘colonialism can also wear a black face’ (Fanon) and speak in the native tongue.

76. Ruby Monday

Just noticed the

Free parking!

You wouldn’t be getting that at the ‘Mhairi Black fringe’ event.

Parking in Central Edinburgh would cost you around £25.

You could of course park in the street FOC in Davidson Mains or Corstorphine and then get two buses or a taxi to the event.
    The cost of seeing Mhairi Black for an hour could be a lot more than £25.
    These events are probably only attended by tourists or students who can walk from their hotel/hostel to ‘Karen Koren’s Gilded Balloon’ venue in Potterow.

This event in Glasgow is a great bargain with a great line up.

I wonder if there will be any chat about ‘gender affirming care?
    Probably not.

Why no Neale Hanvey or Kenny MacAskill?

77. James Che

Alf Baird.

The present Scottish courts are under the crown of England are they not?

Public General Acts 1707 – 1708, 6&7 Anne c 6.
    ” The Lord Chief Justice for England and Wales.
    Anno Sexto Annae Regina, part of Anno Regni Magnae Britianae , Francae & Hiberniae,
    Article 111.
    ” Act for improving the union of the two kingdoms 1708 ( the Treason Act) making the law of Treason in England extend to Scotland by the Court of the Queens bench of justices in England and to be made the same as the Acts and Statues that are in force in England.

This breached the treaty of union early on in the treaty itself, as it did away with the existing Scots law of Treason , which states in the TOU Scots laws already in existence before the treaty were to remain the same after the Treaty of union.
    But as I once Stated prior to today….. (England “Extends the laws of The Kingdom of England” into the kingdom of Scotland after only a political parliamentary treaty of union. Which was not a territorial treaty of union and not a shared monarch under English parliaments, act of settlement and the The English parliaments, Bill of Rights
    Which made the once shared monarch now in line of succession to the throne of England. Not Scotland.

And the Supreme Court breaches the Treaty of Union.

78. James Che

S3 – eu West- 2. Amazonaws. Com > job
    ( PDF) SNP – Cheif Executive
    Job purpose.
    Key Tasks
    Deliver on vision of the Party, working closely with others to ensure the continued Campaign and Electorial success of the party.

Thats it folks, Scotlands independence is not a key task of the CEO of the SNP.
    This info is also available on google search.

79. Alf Baird

sarah @ 12:18 pm

“Who could bring such a case”

According to Senators of the College of Justice:

“The Scottish Ministers have been directly involved in 4,121 cases in the Scottish courts between 2018/19 and 2022/23. The process of judicial review exists to allow citizens (and governments) to challenge executive power, safe in the knowledge that an independent judiciary will hear the case without fear or favour.”

file:///C:/Users/alfba/Downloads/Senators%20of%20the%20College%20of%20Justice.pdf

80. Alf Baird

James Che @ 12:51 pm

“The present Scottish courts are under the crown of England are they not?”

Perhaps a Scottish court might welcome another opportunity to demonstrate otherwise? Moreover, according to Senators of the College of Justice:

“the principle that the citizen should have effective judicial protection is important in any democracy. For example,
    Article 13 of the European Convention on Human Rights states:

“Everyone whose rights and freedoms as set forth in this Convention are violated shall have an effective remedy before a national authority notwithstanding that the violation has been committed by persons acting in an official capacity.””

81. Stuart MacKay

Here’s a likely alternative link for the Senators of the College of Justice opinion that Alf Baird posted, https://www.judiciary.scot/docs/librariesprovider3/judiciarydocuments/consultation-responses/20230808-full-response.pdf

82. Republicofscotland

I heard Teflon John – oor, self-appointed FM, on the radio today, talking up indy – when he was questioned on the coming deep SNP austerity – Swinney, had the cheek to say that independence, was the way forward to counter Westminster austerity.

The really sad thing about this – is that Swinney knows indy is the only real way forward for Scotland – but he and his party, have absolutely no intentions of achieving it.

83. sarah

@ Alf Baird. Alf, you are involved with many of the most active people and groups that are trying to extricate Scotland from the Union. None of them has taken the route of judicial review, so far as I know.

Perhaps you could suggest it? Because it is certain that there is not a single elected representative who will try.

84. Republicofscotland

The Scottish government – has failed to remove the highly flammable cladding, from public buildings in Scotland.

“As well as 95 blocks of flats – the vast majority being social housing – 244 state schools, nine independent schools, 27 colleges and unis, five hospitals, seven care homes, five hotels and one prison are all wrapped in HPL materials, for a total of 393 buildings in Scotland.”

https://archive.is/AWvK7#selection-1663.0-1663.276

85. Republicofscotland

Aw F*ck!

It looks like the pointless Empire Games – aka, The Commonwealth Games will be coming to my home town of Glasgow, the Aussie folk of the State of Victoria – might have to shell out a £100 million quid, and give it to the organisers of the Empire Games – to use in Glasgow, still, that’s a helluva lot cheaper than the estimated £3.6 billion quid to host the now defunct colonial games – that NO country wants, except little old colonial Scotland – that’s too stupid to know the difference.

https://archive.is/CPO2G

86. Margaret Eleftheriou

OTT I know but where are the Murrells? Swanning about at the Conference?

87. John Cleary

James Che
    Ignored says:
    2 September, 2024 at 10:16 am
    Robert Louis,
    Turabdin.
    Alf Baird.
    Breeks.

Here is some interesting reading on the Constitution on the union, which is not Codified.

Publications. Parliament. UK
    HOUSE OF LORDS
    Select Committee on the Constitution.
    10th Report of Session 2015-16
    The union and Devolution.

The report can be found in google search.
    Making the British Constitution up as the years go by.

James, you are falling for the British shell game. It’s not that there is no written constitution….it’s that there is no constitution at all!

Think about it. How can any constitution possibly be unwritten? It’s a contradiction in terms, because the whole purpose of a constitution is to provide structure and certainty to the polity. Think about it some more…WHY is the “constitution” unwritten in the first place? There is no honest reason at all.

I’m afraid Britain is a “constitutional monarchy” without a constitution in just the same way as the “rules based order” is an order without any rules.

88. Meindevon

Damn, I’ll be up visiting from deepest darkest Devon this weekend, not next weekend.

Any chance you could bring it forward a week?…

Gutted to miss it.

89. Shug

From the BBC
    “SNP leader John Swinney has pledged to put the “people’s priorities” at the heart of the Scottish government ”

So has he decided what the people’s priority is???

Is it Indy or some other continuity pish.

The Salmond case is coming down the line. One of the Vietnam group might turn kings evidence to avoid jail.
    Mr Swinney is onto plumbs i think

90. sarah

@ Shug: Swinney and Forbes will be sticking with the poll that showed people’s priorities are cost of living, NHS, electricity prices rather than independence.

This is despite the fact that all those problems will only be cured by getting out of the Union.

It is a handy excuse for him and the others, isn’t it?

91. James Che

Stuart Mackay.

The Scottish Devolved government is an illegal entity in all of the 25 the treaty of union Articles, and that the Westminster parliament of Great Britain breached their own constitution of Great Britain by passing the Scotland Actin its entirety.

I am surprised that more Scots people have not recognised this legal breach including lawyers and the justice system in Scotland.

Just because Westminster parliament passes and Act does not mean they have not breached the international treaty,

” There will be [One parliament of Great- Britain to be styled the parliament of Great Britain hereafter” ]

See David Walker, the law Society of Scotland,

The parliament of Westminster cannot hold two lawful positions legal simutainously.
    Either the treaty of union articles must be binding on both Countries and kingdoms.

But there again the parliament of Great – Britain ended in 1801.

And the 1707 Parliament of Scotland was placed under Dissolution in 1707 And was no longer existing as united or joined to the parliament of England to Create a parliamentary political union of Great Britain
    Therefore it was a legal impossibility for Scotlands old parliament to enter into a treaty with Ireland in 1601.

The devil is always in the detail, when it comes to reading contracts.

92. Effijy

Labour already making incompetent fools of themselves.
    One of their Ministers advises the U.K. economy could have crashed if they hadn’t stopped the pensioners Winter fuel allowance.

So this would be equally as bad as when Gordon Brown and the Liz Truss throwing the economy off a Cliff. I really don’t think anyone is going to swallow this and blame pensioners who don’t want to freeze to death.

93. Hatey McHateface

@James Che says:2 September, 2024 at 12:20 pm

Turabdin.

They are in general a nation of highly intelligent people

Indeed they are.

But Turabdin can hardly be expected to realise that from reading the expectorations of the usual suspects BTL, can he James?

94. Hatey McHateface

Effijy

I realise you can’t actually help yourself, but it’s going to be some time before I tire of pointing out the obvious errors in your and many other people’s posts on here.

I realise too you can’t actually be bothered to accept corrections, but again I won’t sit by and watch you and others make us Scots look like ignorant eejits.

Nobody is stopping the Winter Fuel Allowance from those pensioners who genuinely need it. Those pensioners who don’t need it won’t be getting it, and as it is funded by taxing many of the working poor who are in greater fuel poverty than the richer pensioners, that seems an equitable arrangement to me.

Maybe you don’t think it equitable at all. Fair enough, but being fundamentally in error about the details of the changes sabotages your argument. It doesn’t make your argument more compelling to anybody in possession of the facts – it has the exact opposite effect.

No doubt you will want to post about how rich and profligate the government of an Independent Scotland will be, but that happy state of affairs will never be brought into being by doubling down on stupidity and ignorance.

95. Republicofscotland

Can you spot any similarities with Scotland’s position – with regards to the illegal union with England – and their use of House Jocks.

“Invading and occupying a country has historically come at a high cost, both financially and in terms of human lives. However, in the 21st century, where asymmetrical warfare prevails, dominating a nation can be achieved through more subtle means. Enter lawfare—an easier and less costly method of steering a key country in the geopolitical chess game.”

https://thegrayzone.com/2024/08/29/secret-chats-decade-us-meddling-ecuador/

96. Geri

The honeymoon period is over. Take yer bets folks. Will Starmer last longer than the lettuce?

I’m pissing myself laughing at all those yoons who wished for a return to the utopia that would be Sir Kid Starver & a labour government. No more “divisive” politics from the SNPEEEE..

Isn’t in the job 5 minutes & it’s austerity on stilts, robbing pensioners, arresting dissenters, terrorism acts against jurnos, censorship & a return to aligning with the EU. LMFAO! & Err, there’ll be no protests about it.

He’s ‘patriotic’ tho. Shame it’s to another country far far away. £7 billion so far in hard cash, £10 billion in weapons they can’t afford to replace & lots of loan guarantees that U has already defaulted on.

So all in all it’s going absolutely spiffing so far! Holyrood 2026 in the bag..

How a Muslim can remain as Labour leader is beyond me. All the principles of an alley cat.

97. Hatey McHateface

@ Republicofscooby says: 2 September, 2024 at 7:40 pm

Wow! So many big words from somebody who doesn’t know ‘Scotland’ begins with a capital ‘S’.

98. Xaracen

James Che said;

“This breached the treaty of union early on in the treaty itself, as it did away with the existing Scots law of Treason , which states in the TOU Scots laws already in existence before the treaty were to remain the same after the Treaty of union.

Hmmm.

From the Treaty of Union;

XVIII. THAT the Laws concerning Regulation of Trade, Customs, and such Excises to which Scotland is, by virtue of this Treaty, to be lyable, be the same in Scotland, from and after the Union, as in England; and that all other Laws in Use within the Kingdom of Scotland, do after the Union, and notwithstanding thereof, remain in the same Force as before, (except such as are contrary to, or inconsistent with this Treaty) but alterable by the Parliament of Great Britain; with this Difference betwixt the Laws concerning publick Right, Policy, and Civil Government, and those which concern private Right, that the Laws which concern publick Right, Policy, and Civil Government, maybe made the same throughout the whole United Kingdom; but that no Alteration be made in Laws which concern private Right, except for evident Utility of the Subjects within Scotland.

XXV. THAT all Laws and Statutes in either Kingdom, to far as they are contrary to, or inconsistent with the Terms of these Articles, or any of them, shall, from and after the Union cease and become void and shall be so declared to be, by the respective Parliaments of the said Kingdoms.

99. James Che

Xaracen,

I like the way you cling to pieces of the treaty of union, it says a lot for your character,

Quote,

That the laws concerning regulation of trade, Custom and such excises to which is, by virtue of this treaty, to be lyable, be the same in Scotland, from and after the union as in England.

I will wander a bit in pointing out and explaining many flaws to your post.

First May I point out that it only implies that England and Scotlands laws on the above (be the same) ,
    It does not State, request or ask Scotland to Change its laws and to extend its laws into the kingdom of England,

According to David Walker, Law Society of Scotland, the treaty of union was never entered into Scots Domestic laws.
    And the Parliament of Scotland was placed under dissolution by Westminster parliament of England, immediately in 1707 ending the 1707 Scottish parliaments side to the treaty of union.

The treaty articles and terms and agreements do not state that the Scottish parliament would be extinguished from the treaty of union and placed under dissolution by Westminster parliament in England.
    However the English parliaments House of Lords transferred and sitting without election in the British parliament along with the monarch of England by the act of Settlement and the bill of Rights that made Westminster parliament sovereign in England, did not create the monarch Sovereign in Scotland nor the parliament of England Sovereign in Scotland, nor did it give the monarch of England leeway To choose commissioners to act for Scotland. Nor was the Monarch of England entitled to give English royal assent in Scotland under the act of Settlement that made her monarch of England and in line of succession to the [throne of England ]

The articles to the treaty actually state that the two parliaments would join together as one parliament. Not be placed under dissolution.

Nor does the treaty of union include the Scots,

So if you could provide a brief- date and timeline for how long you think the treaty of union lasted prior to being placed under dissolution which meant the Scottish parliament was longer joined in a political union with the parliament of England,
    Because after extinguishing the 1707 parliament of Scotland by Dissolution from Westminster parliament all that is left is the English house of lords sitting in the British Westminster parliament and the end of the treaty of union ,

So to gather and correlate the information.

We did not share a monarch officially with England when She was coronated in 1702 at Westminster Abbey.in line to succession to the throne of England.

The monarch of England could not choose commissioners for Scotland.

The monarch of England could not give royal assent for the Scottish side of the treaty, and did not ever do so.

Today The House of lords is still the English Westminster parliaments house of Lords.

And although tired when I posted last on Article XV111 it actually means very little to Scots in the grand scheme of things whom Westminster parliament claim and state they never invited into the treaty of union,
    If I remember correctly is Article XV111 not been repealed by Westminster parliament?

The matter of there being no Scottish parliament and no members of a Scottish parliament , and no constituents of the ex members of the Scottish parliament in Westminster & no longer joined in a political treaty of union with the parliament of England since 1707 probably means more in Scotland.

Unless you are suggesting Scotland was subsumed into the Westminster parliament of England and not in a treaty of union?
    Or are you going to cling on to the story that a group of people who wanted a union between Scotland and England, found themselves in England, witnessed the monarch of England taken the Scottish Oath in England , (not to the Sovereign people in Scotland) but to a group of people in England , then one of those people wanting a union between the two countries wrote it down all by themselves when they came back up to Scotland with no witnesses.

The message I am relaying is that the whole treaty of union has more holes in it than my grannies knitting,
    And clinging to one or two bits does not make the rest hang together,.

There is no parliament of Great- Britain due to their only being one England sovereign Westminster parliament of England constitutionally from the act of settlement and the bill of rights both passed by the parliament of England and Englands upper house of Lords sitting in the westminster parliament of Englands Great Britain.

But no parliament of Scotland since 1707.

Long explanation as to why almost all of the treaty of union or its articles do not apply to Scots, and what could Westminster do politically or legally.
    It cannot challenge a 1707 Scottish parliament it placed under dissolution 300 years ago and does not exist.
    It certainly would find itself in a bind for breaching many articles of that supposed treaty with itself.

100. The Water Beastie

Also, respect for the film reference in the title.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,640 Posts, 1,196,872 Comments

• RSS Wings Over Scotland