Compromise, Labour-style

Posted on March 14, 2012 by

We greatly enjoyed the intervention of former First Minister and now Lord of Glenscorrodale, Jack McConnell, in the referendum debate last night. Appearing on both Scotland Tonight and Newsnight Scotland, he graced the nation's airwaves to present a statesman-like call for "compromise" on the planning of the vote on Scotland's constitutional question, and generously offering his assistance to the Prime Minister and First Minister in untangling the situation. Our favourite was his explanation of how to compromise on the timing of the poll.

"There are those who are pressing for the referendum to be held this year as quickly as possible, the SNP want it to be held in nearly three years' time – I'm suggesting we compromise on that, let's have an agreement that we hold the referendum in about 18 months' time, maybe 15 months' time."

Now, we're not quite sure who the people allegedly "pressing for the referendum to be held this year" are. We don't know of anyone even remotely sane who's seriously proposed that it could or should be held in 2012 – the UK government's own suggested timetable is for an "early" vote in September 2013. The SNP, meanwhile, want "Autumn 2014", which is widely held to mean October of that year. The SNP have never confirmed that claim, but let's use it for the sake of argument.

What that means is that Lord McConnell's proposal for a "compromise" date between September 2013 and October 2014 is, um… September 2013. (Or alternatively June 2013, ie three months earlier than even the UK government's preferred date, never mind the Scottish Government's.) No wonder he repeatedly struggled to conceal an embarrassed smirk during the Scotland Tonight interview.

Lord McConnell's other envisaged compromises follow surprisingly similar lines.

NUMBER OF QUESTIONS:
Unionists: one question
SNP: open to second question
Compromise: one question

FRANCHISE:
Unionists: no vote for 16/17-year-olds
SNP: vote for 16/17-year-olds
Compromise: no vote for 16/17-year-olds.

LEGALITY:
Unionists: UK Government must give permission to hold the referendum
SNP: Scottish Government has the right to hold the referendum
Compromise: UK Government must give permission to hold the referendum

And so on and so forth. Amusingly, the noble Lord also still hasn't even conceded that independence gets to be the "Yes" answer in the referendum, putting forward the hilarious "compromise" notion that BOTH sides should get a "Yes" option, astonishingly concluding that this would be an aid to clarity and decisiveness. (Though he subsequently went on to talk of "the Yes and No campaigns" anyway.)

We await the logical outcome of Lord McConnell's thought process – that we should compromise between the SNP's position of having a referendum and the Unionist side's ingrained opposition to the whole idea, by simply not having a referendum at all.

9 to “Compromise, Labour-style”

1. peter says:

watched the interview  on scotland tonight. i found it paternalistic and nauseating.

2. Christian Wright says:

"NUMBER OF QUESTIONS:
    Unionists: one question
    SNP: open to second question
    Compromise: one question"

Stu simply does not understand the genius of the noble lord, Lord McConnell of Glenscorrodale's proposal. It wholly concedes to the SNP, the arument for two questions.
    Question 1 Do you agree that Scotland should become and independent country?
    Question 2 Do you agree that Scotland should remain part of the United Kingdom?

This will assure a unified campaign across the Scottish body politic. The barking-mad nationalists and those nice colonial chapies from cheam, seconded to the "YES" campaign, will be able to share "Vote YES" stickers. That devious Salmond fellow and that darling Mr Darling will be able to end their speeches with the same unifying refrain to, "Vote YES on Octorber 18!"

All  of Scotland's electorate will enter the polls with the same intent to vote YES for Scotland. What is the least confusing about that?

In fact, if have written to the Noble Lord that in the interests of economy and brevity, he should ignore the vicious nationalists two-questions nonsense entirely, and demand a single question that requires only a "yes" response:
    Question – Should Scotland become and independent country or remain part of the United Kingdom?

Now what could be clearer or simpler than that?

3. CW says:

He was always smirking when he was First Minister. I have no idea why.

4. Bugger (the Panda) says:

LW

Chewin a caramel

5. John White says:

more of the usual rubbish at the Spectator
    link to spectator.co.uk
    I think we can answer them……………………..

6. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

Oh dear. I think, for this and numerous other examples, Fraser Nelson needs to be added to the "Zany comedy relief" section of the links column…

7. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

Hmm, I don't seem to be allowed to comment on that piece, despite having no problems elsewhere on the Spectator site.

8. John White says:

They moderate comments – it took some time for mine to appear

9. John White says:

The difference between Alex Massie and Fraser Nelson is like night and day……….

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,778 Posts, 1,220,440 Comments

• 100%Yes on Holiday Relief: “Alf, I can’t wait to see you and the team speak for Scotland.Jun 23, 06:33
    • 100%Yes on Holiday Relief: “The first speaker, what a dipstick. I loved how the native Malvinas said he had Scottish descendants.Jun 23, 06:30
    • George Ferguson on Holiday Relief: “https://brodies.com/insights/public-law-and-regulation/court-of-session-finds-lockdown-closure-of-churches-to-be-unlawful/Jun 22, 23:33
    • George Ferguson on Holiday Relief: “Cut off in my prime by the cat jumping up on my phone. So the Covid shutdown did many things.…Jun 22, 22:12
    • George Ferguson on Holiday Relief: “@Hatey McHateface 6:34pm If you want sleeping material read the Church of Scotland property for sale you won’t be able…Jun 22, 21:47
    • George Ferguson on Holiday Relief: “@Hatey McHateface 6:34pm If you want sleeping material look at the property for sale Church of Scotland you won’t reach…Jun 22, 21:36
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on Holiday Relief: “SOLARIS SCOTLAND House perpetually raining inside with denizens oblivious. SOLÀRAS ALBA Sìor-uisge am broinn an taighe gun fhor aig luchd-còmhnaidh…Jun 22, 20:03
    • Xaracen on Holiday Relief: “@Andy Ellis; “Of course they are.” (that England’s MPs are entitled to overrule Scotland’s MPs.) The utter tosh is all…Jun 22, 20:00
    • Dan on Holiday Relief: “@ Andy Your post started out reasonable, then drops into the usual tired old pish. GO AND FUCK YOURSELF with…Jun 22, 19:19
    • Alf Baird on Holiday Relief: “Which speaker/time do you refer to, 100%Yes?Jun 22, 18:53
    • Hatey McHateface on Holiday Relief: “Fit happened tae Northcode’s promised sabbath sermon, tae be written entirely in Scots? Ah wis looking forwards tae that. Noo…Jun 22, 18:34
    • Hatey McHateface on Holiday Relief: “Perhaps when Scotland could still fairly claim to have the best educational system in the world, more Scots could read…Jun 22, 18:30
    • twathater on Holiday Relief: “Sarah no matter what route or what action anyone suggested to forward independence for Scotland the fake independence supporter Franchise…Jun 22, 18:24
    • 100%Yes on Holiday Relief: “For those interested. UN Special Committee on Decolonization (C-24). You have to listen to the Speaker form UK. https://webtv.un.org/en/asset/k1w/k1wban22mzJun 22, 17:45
    • sam on Holiday Relief: ““13.Professor Michael Keating, Director of the Centre on Constitutional Change at Edinburgh University, told us [Commons Select Committee] that there…Jun 22, 17:37
    • Andy Ellis on Holiday Relief: “@Dan I have no doubt that the usual suspects in here are deaf to any reasonable argument, so I have…Jun 22, 17:37
    • Dan on Holiday Relief: “There is a certain irony and political lesson to be learned from a situation when for years someone tells everyone…Jun 22, 17:13
    • Andy Ellis on Holiday Relief: “So with 4,283,300 on the electoral roll as of Dec. 2024, all you need is another 2,141,074 to reach 50%…Jun 22, 17:00
    • sarah on Holiday Relief: “Update, for accuracy. 579 people have heard about the Manifesto for Independence and signed to show they like a clear…Jun 22, 15:06
    • Captain Caveman on Holiday Relief: ““Concern troll” = someone with a job…. Who knew eh?Jun 22, 14:38
    • James on Holiday Relief: “That right, aye? Concern troll.Jun 22, 14:16
    • Andy Ellis on Holiday Relief: “Naw James, it’s just that most ordinary, mainstream independence supporters are gainfully employed at other times and unlike you aren’t…Jun 22, 13:34
    • James on Holiday Relief: “Do the 77th get double bubble on Sundays?Jun 22, 13:27
    • Andy Ellis on Holiday Relief: “Yup, 576 people signing a petition. That’s me convinced. Good grief. No wonder the movement is stuck up a cul-de-sac.Jun 22, 13:26
    • Andy Ellis on Holiday Relief: “@xaracen 9.54pm The point, Hatey, is the one that I made perfectly clearly, but which you and others relentlessly overlook…Jun 22, 13:05
    • James Cheyne on Holiday Relief: “Englands Westminster parliamentary political parties, nor the version of those parties sent into Scotland and or employed under Westminster statues…Jun 22, 12:45
    • Mark Beggan on Holiday Relief: “Thoughts on a wet Scottish Sunday. Zen and the Art of Scottish Independence .Jun 22, 12:27
    • Anthem on Holiday Relief: “Since the treaty of union is such an important historical/political document. Probably the most important document ever written within these…Jun 22, 12:14
    • James Cheyne on Holiday Relief: “There is a lot of fun to be had with the politicians immature but domineering contradictory thinking.Jun 22, 12:11
    • Hatey McHateface on Holiday Relief: “Vellum trumps parchment for long-term preservation of the Ancient Guff. See what I did there with “trump”? 🙂Jun 22, 12:03