Catching up

Posted on January 30, 2012 by

We've been super-busy, so here's a very quick pointer at some of the best recent stories you might not have spotted in the current avalanche of independence coverage (not least because both of the country's leading papers have websites with simply abysmal search facilities). First and best is this tremendously good piece by Anthony Barnett over on Our Kingdoms, while behind the Herald's paywall lurks a triple whammy of excellent columns from Iain Macwhirter (one which is literally impossible to access from the mobile version of the paper's website), Ian Bell (who's on fire at the moment) and an uncredited editorial.

Scotland on Sunday drops a bomb from David Cameron which we'll be looking at in more depth very shortly, and raises its recent game somewhat with strong articles from Duncan Hamilton and an unusually even-handed Eddie Barnes, as well as a surprise leader supporting the SNP's call for 16/17-year-olds to vote in the referendum.

Hindsight provides comedy as a Telegraph piece on the referendum question is horribly overtaken by events rendering its commentary idiotic, while Gerry Hassan talks a lot more sense on the nature of the Yes and No camps, a view echoed more concisely by the increasingly-unmissable Alex Massie in the Spectator.

When you're done with digesting all that lot, we'll have something new of our own ready for you in the morning.

1 to “Catching up”

1. TYRAN says:

Good idea RevStu. I hadn't seen some of these.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,774 Posts, 1,219,646 Comments

• Bilbo on What We Don’t Know Now: “I’m beginning to think the state of affairs in the SNP and Scotland at large isn’t due to Nicola Sturgeon…Jun 9, 13:56
    • MaryB on What We Don’t Know Now: “Young Lochinvar @ 12.48am Wally Jumblatt @ 8.48 am Mairi McAllan served her political apprenticeship with Nicola Sturgeon as far…Jun 9, 13:54
    • Insider on What We Don’t Know Now: “Oneliner… “an FOI request which revealed over 800 MI5 contacts with the Scottish Government” Utterly meaningless statement without some context…Jun 9, 13:37
    • Nae Need! on What We Don’t Know Now: “They won’t get out the way, so we need to try and vote them into obscurity. The SNP is run…Jun 9, 12:42
    • Nae Need! on What We Don’t Know Now: “Yip, one of the few things he’s good at is throwing old carrots for the donkeys, like any old circus…Jun 9, 12:13
    • Oneliner on What We Don’t Know Now: “Guys – you are absolutely correct. If I feel threatened, I can contact my lawyers: Finucane, Nelson & McRaeJun 9, 11:52
    • sarah on What We Don’t Know Now: “Interesting comment, BigJay – thank you.Jun 9, 11:37
    • factchecker on What We Don’t Know Now: “There is no secret about what a D notice is. Since MI5 is responsible for counter-terrorism in the UK, it…Jun 9, 11:27
    • BigJay on What We Don’t Know Now: “I’m sure that most people reading this will be familiar with Donald Rumsfeld’s famous quote – “As we know, there…Jun 9, 11:07
    • Martyman on What We Don’t Know Now: “If you ask me, Farage would be happy to be rid of Scotland. So I don’t really understand why an…Jun 9, 10:44
    • Oneliner on What We Don’t Know Now: “Talk to the press and (maybe) they will tell you what a D-Notice means. Keir Starmer well knows their scope…Jun 9, 10:38
    • Captain Caveman on What We Don’t Know Now: “I agree, people tend to grasp at straws such as the preposterous “deepstate hypothesis” when far simpler, less edifying explanations…Jun 9, 10:05
    • Stuart MacKay on What We Don’t Know Now: “Breeks, I know you know this already, but you can add to your list the changes to candidate selection procedures,…Jun 9, 09:46
    • wally jumblatt on What We Don’t Know Now: “I don’t think Nicola Sturgeon was under the thumb of deepstate London, I think she spent her decade poisoning the…Jun 9, 08:57
    • James on What We Don’t Know Now: ““Fuck around and find out, the angry child recites this every day.”Jun 9, 08:16
    • Hatey McHateface on What We Don’t Know Now: ““HCB to prosecute and silence any and ALL criticism about their REVILED and vehemently opposed GRB” Did that actually work…Jun 9, 07:57
    • Hatey McHateface on The Jokers: “She’s safe! Praise be! They’re gonna take her home, but first, like a naughty but badly parented child, she’s gonna…Jun 9, 07:49
    • Hatey McHateface on What We Don’t Know Now: ““50% must however keep you awake at night in a cold sweat” I guess that could be true, but only…Jun 9, 07:42
    • Hatey McHateface on What We Don’t Know Now: “The MSM is reporting a new crackdown on dog ownership and dog walking in the Ir@nian shithole. What does our…Jun 9, 07:38
    • twathater on What We Don’t Know Now: ““My challenge is to make sure that we can turn that aspiration in the public for Scottish independence into a…Jun 9, 03:47
    • Young Lochinvar on Ball Of Confusion: “Aaaah Souness! Wasn’t he the highly paid sports monkey that said Scotland back in the day should throw the match…Jun 9, 02:38
    • Young Lochinvar on What We Don’t Know Now: “Well said Geri! What the politico monkeys based in their city offices just don’t get is that having given them…Jun 9, 01:26
    • Young Lochinvar on What We Don’t Know Now: “50% must however keep you awake at night in a cold sweat. Intrude in your dreams does it? I think…Jun 9, 01:15
    • Young Lochinvar on What We Don’t Know Now: “Very good post. Regarding Alba; well, they’ll have to start standing at elections and by elections as I’ve certainly never…Jun 9, 00:48
    • Rob on What We Don’t Know Now: “Never heard of a BME programme in the NHS in Scotland. I would like to see some proof it exists…Jun 9, 00:13
    • Rob on What We Don’t Know Now: “I look at the Sp and don’t think that they represent me or what I want the country to be,…Jun 8, 23:07
    • Alf Baird on What We Don’t Know Now: “Here it is in English, Dunx, nae bather at aw: https://salvo.scot/the-scottish-constitution/Jun 8, 21:57
    • Northcode on What We Don’t Know Now: ““Scots fowk awready hiv thair ain constitution:” aye, Alf. mair than cuid be sayd fir the Inglis fowk wha hiv…Jun 8, 21:35
    • Peter Joy on What We Don’t Know Now: “Jocky Wilson, in the bath with a pint. I think I get it. ‘As a child, Wilson’s parents were deemed…Jun 8, 21:13
    • Geri on What We Don’t Know Now: “I don’t think the SNP can even be described as devolutionist – they’ve achieved the grand total of hee-haw on…Jun 8, 20:29