Have a good one, readers.

1. 25 12 15 01:44

All the lights are coming on now | Speymouth

139 to “All the lights are coming on now”

1. ThereWasACoo says:

Merry Christmas Stuart.

2. George S Gordon says:

Cheers Rev, keep up the good work. In the face of adversity, i.e. the MSM and the other Yoons, we need you to keep our spirits up and the truth in view.

3. David Smith says:

The Raveonettes?
    Gets my vote every time!

Merry Christmas, Rev and all the gang!

4. Ronnie says:

Rev Stu,

I wish you the best of everything you wish yourself.

Dreams do come true, you know!

5. Johannah Buchan says:

& a Happy Hogmanay to you too!
    xx

6. Brian Doonthetoon says:

Hi Rev Stu.

A Merry Christmas to you and the rats! Thanks for all the work you’ve put in for Scotland, in the last few years. It is WELL appreciated.

7. Paula Rose says:

Yummy Yule Rev and all of you xx

8. Petra says:

Stu come home. What on earth are you doing in Bath (I’m being far too nosy now no doubt)? Love the place but it’s not HOME. Your home. You’re missing it / us.

Time to come home Stu x Home to the land of hugs x

9. drawdeaddave says:

Merry Christmas Stu & wingers (Hi Paula) xx

10. Ukp45 says:

Merry Christmas & Happy Holidays to all reading this.

11. Petra says:

Brian your video just sums it all up. What a nightmare. Sums up the grave fight that we have on our hands. Let’s pray that an Independent Scotland can bring about peace on earth. I’ve got great faith that it / we can do so.

12. carthannas says:

Best wishes for Christmas, Stu

13. Capella says:

What a nice surprise! Merry Xmas Stu and everyone. Hope Santa is good to you.

14. Jock Scot says:

Wishing Stu and all the Wingers a peaceful and loving day. Have fun folks.

15. donald anderson says:

“Oh Come All Ye Faithful” is a Jacobite carol written by a Jacobite who was at Louvain University, circa 1715, 1719 rebellions. I am told there is a Jacobite code within the carol.

Have a good festive season and the best of lick to Stu and all the posters. Remember. Santa Osbourne only gives nice presents to rich kids and hee haw to the poor.

16. Kennedy says:

Merry Christmas to all wingers. Hope santa has been generous to you all.

I am at work in the north sea. Boo Hoo.

17. theMadMurph says:

Merry Christmas Stu and all wings readers!

18. Sandra says:

Happy Christmas everybody!

19. Bugger (the Panda) says:

Have a Cool Yule Wingers

20. Fairliered says:

Merry Christmas to you and yours Stu.
    I hear the unionists have opened a bar in Glasgow as a rival to the Yes Bar.
    It’s called Bar Humbug!

21. Donald MacKenzie says:

All the very best to everyone who participates here on Wings. We’ll all hope that 2016 takes us nearer our goal, which will then provide the platform for the creation of a fairer and more equal society.

22. Rigmac7 says:

Aye, Merry Christmas from a p*ssing it doon Nairobi. Still warm right enough 🙂

Keep up the exemplary work Stu, only 132 sleeps til 5th May

23. Cris says:

Have a good one stu!

24. Margaret James says:

Happy Christmas everyone.

25. mealer says:

Merry Christmas to one and all.The lights are,indeed,coming on now.A special Hi!! to the many unionists who come on here for a look.Have a good one!

26. Alastair says:

Compliments of the season

27. David McCann says:

Merry Xmas to Stu and all Wingers.
    May this site remain the sanctuary of sanity!

28. Sheryl Hepworth says:

Merry Christmas to you and yours Stu. Have a good one. X

29. Rob says:

Merry ones all round, and speedy recoveries!

30. Lollysmum says:

Happy Christmas to you Rev and all the wingers-may it be a good one & thanks for what you do for the cause.

31. Sweep says:

May your bells jingle merrily and may Santa be good to you all. x

32. willie fae kilwinning says:

Merry Xmas Stu.

33. grahamlive says:

Merry Christmas everyone. However you choose to celebrate.

34. ewen says:

Merry Christmas Stu and all the wingers from a rainy co Kildare.
    Wish I was home. It has now been 20 years since I had a Christmas at home.
    We will all get a really good belated present in May.

35. Jimbo says:

Merry Christmas, Stu and everyone on WOS – Unionists included (even though it’s hard to be merry knowing you’ve shafted your country). You’ll get a second chance to do the right thing soon.

36. gerry parker says:

All the best Stu and all wingers.

The days are getting longer now, the Unions days are numbered and they know it.

37. frogesque says:

Orkney 4 fundraiser has cracked £200k!

A very Merry Christmas to Stu, the team and all ‘wingers’

38. jdman says:

Grahamlive
    “Merry Christmas everyone. However you choose to celebrate.”

What?
    even if it’s like this?
    link to tinyurl.com

Uh oh better go, the cheifs coming and I aint done the sprouts yet! BYE…….

39. Quinie frae Angus says:

Merry Christmas to every Winger, especially to those hurting, sad, lonely or depressed. It can be a poignant and dark time of year for so many reasons. Know that you have friends here – many of whom are wrestling witb their own sorrows. Let’s ensure the New Year brings good changes for everyone, whether personal or political. Goes without saying that people homeless, fleeing war and trauma are especially thought about.

Special heartfelt thanks and greetings to Rev Stu. You have done so much to educate and awaken people to the duplicitous methods tbe Establishment and CorpMedia use to prevent basic common sense for Scotland’s people being understood. Your hard work and forensic determination in the face of what we are up against is appreciated more than you can ever know.

As someone else said on another thread, Scotland’s historical heroes have taken many forms over the centuries. Tbis site and its readers are collectively making a deliciously spiky contribution to the restoration of our country’s independence. And the fact the Pouters and the haughty journo class think we are “acolytes” of a Wings blinkered cult just makes it all the sillier, funnier and more attractive, lolz!!!

Please enjoy your well-deserved rest, Stu. Merry Christmas to you and every Winger – including of course, the lurkers AND the No voters who also read this site. Keep reading! Peace x

40. ronnie anderson says:

Ah knew it wiz to good tae be true Rev Stu taking ah holiday Baaahaha.

Merry Christmas Stu & the Wee Ratlets.

Merry Christmas to All WINGERS & LURKERS & Lets hope for a Christmas Number 1 for the NHS Nurses Song,Hunt & the Trusts will be pleased, saves his Tory Gov & English NHS Trusts spending money.

41. Inkall says:

@Quinie
    Thank you, those first few lines are something I really did need to see today.

Merry Christmas to…well everyone that’s already been mentioned in the comments and anyone else who wants it.

42. starlaw says:

Merry Christmas to you, and all wingers everywhere. And thanks for providing reading material worth reading.

43. An Teallach says:

Merry Christmas Stu and all Wingers. I don’t post often but would be lost without my daily Wings fix:-) Thanks for all you do to fight the cause of Independence. It’s comin’ yet…

Found this wee video of snowy Scotland. Enjoy!

Sheila x

link to m.youtube.com

44. Auld Rock says:

Happy And Peaceful Christmas to you Stu and All Wingers. Sun is just rising here on the ‘Auld Rock’. Just remember folks add a drop of water, LOL.

Merry Christmas.

Auld Rock

45. Hector says:

The lights are coming on now……. And with a great big searchlight that is Wings Over Scotland illuminating all those dark shadows cast by the corporate media. Love and seasons greetings and many thanks for all your inspiration and hard work to Rev Stu and the wingers!

46. thomaspotter2014 says:

Merry Christmas everybody!!!!!

The lights are on and Rev Stu and all the wingers and lurkers are in.

Have a good one all you people.

It’s coming for a’ that.

47. jdman says:

Ever wondered why it’s called “Secret Santa”? here’s why
    link to tinyurl.com

I’ve got a couple of guys on the job though
    link to tinyurl.com

48. wee sandy says:

Merry Xmas everyone!
    The Dream will NEVER die!

49. Sassenach says:

Have a great Xmas, one and all!

Rest up and rejoin the fight later.

Have asked Santa for SNPX2 !!

50. Whit a rare wee song, Rev. To each and every wan o’ yuose, hope yie hiv a hoot.

51. Valerie says:

Have a lovely time to Rev and all Wingers.

@Quinie
    It is a hard time for many, emotionally, and some feel the pressure to be happy, or envy others their good fortune.

I’ve seen some really moaning posts on Facebook. I just think about those in Syria, and the war torn countries, trying to survive.

Closer to home, those in Cumbria will not really be celebrating, as there is more rain on the way.

Peace and light to all.

52. Dave McEwan Hill says:

Uplifting

53. paul gerard mccormack says:

happy christmas to all and to the rev and WOS – a light in the darkness.
    thank you all for keeping me going.

54. @RadioGuyGlasgow says:

Well done Stu and the team for great research exposing the media lies. Have a great Christmas!

55. Kelpie says:

A merry Christmas to one and all.

56. Milady de Winter says:

Merry Christmas to the Rev, and all his helpers, alert readers, Chris Cairns and Wingers everywhere. Thanks for all you do!

57. Dr Jim says:

All of what everybody else has said with festive bells on

58. Croompenstein says:

@jdman@9.08

Whaur did you get that picture of Bird, Bradford and Baillie?

Merry Xmas to you john, Irene and family and all the Wingers.

PS Was the Rev at Bath Abbey this morning on EBC 🙂

59. Duncan says:

All the best to one and all on this Christmas day.

A special hand of friendship is extended to all refugees who are in Scotland for their very first Christmas. May they all find the peace in their hearts we at wings strive for. God bless you all.

60. john devine says:

Ho! Ho! Ho! May Trouble neglect you. The angels protect you. and Heaven accept you. Happy Christmas Wingers.

61. Skintybroko says:

A very merry Christmas to all and especially to everyone having to work today.

62. Frazerio says:

Just 18 short months or so ago I was still ‘undecided’. The past is a foreign country indeed. Seems almost inconceivable to me now.

We had 41 Labour MP’s including the likes of Curran, Brown and Davidson and even 11 Libdems. 53 of our 59 were Unionists.

Indyref ‘failed’, growing from 20 odd percent to 45. Murphy hugged Goldie. The Queen purred. Cameron waited one whole hour before sticking the knife in. Contemptable.

In the lead up to May, the polls were astonishing. When the results began to trickle in, the swingometers couldnt cope. Swings of over 30%. 56 Indy MP’s. Morningside the last bastion of Labour in Scotland. Carmichael providing the death ratlle to what Clegg started in 2010 for the lamentable Libdems.

Scotland was just 4200 or so votes from total unionist wipe out. Carmichael & Murray slithering in on the back of very questionable campaigns.

We knew the press werent in it for the good of the people, but the exposure of the BBC as a rabid enemy of Scottish democracy has been very enlightening.

Scotland has changed immeasurably and irreversibly in a short time.

For me, the single biggest and best contribution to the process has been this website. A very simple idea, remarkably well done. RevStu, I’m certain I don’t just speak for myself when I offer my warmest wishes to you in this season of goodwill. Keep up the good work just doesnt seem adequate. Your importance cannot be emphasised enough. Stay strong.

But it would all be for nowt without the readers and contributors. From the likes of Peffers, Lollysmum, Fiona & Macart, through the more colourful like Lesley-Anne and the ever intriguing Ken500, and the hundreds of others from Gaelic to expats, to the angry and the patient ones, Scotland would be far worse off without you all.

A final mention to those who sadly haven’t yet awoken to our situation. All we are asking for is greater democracy. Its nothing to fear. Its a lovely lovely place to be. Come and join in whenever you like, you are more than welcome.

We might not be there yet, but we’re a heck of a long way further along the path. Thank you to all for being part of it.

Best wishes to all sides this festive season.

63. thingy says:

“Gawd bless us, everyone”
    “Shut it, Tim, that chimney’s no gonnae clean itsel”

Another cracking year of pishmonger ‘sleighing’, Stu. 🙂

Merry Christmas to all.

64. heedtracker says:

Merry Christmas to everyone Wings over Scotland. Cant wait for next year! The great pretenders wont hold on to Scotland much longer.

Blair McDougall ?@blairmcdougall 1h1 hour ago
    Pretended to the kids that yesterday was Xmas Day. Makes actual Xmas morning before all the running around later much easier. Can recommend.

65. Conan the Librarian™ says:

Merry Christmas everyone.

66. Wuffing Dug says:

Merry Christmas.

Merry Christmas Wings and Stu.

Merry Christmas lurking Yoons 🙂

67. dakk says:

Merry Christmas Stuart and thanks for being ‘the light that shines in the darkness’.

The darkness has not yet overcome us 🙂

Enjoy your turkey and plumb duff today.

68. David says:

Merry Christmas Wingers and Stu from a windy St Martin FWI

69. dakk says:

Merry Christmas to all Wings readers and commenters.

Also to the entire Wings team especially ‘alert readers’.

Have a nice one all of you.

70. Suzanne says:

happy Christmas Stuart and to all Wingers! Have a cool Yule and a few bottles of something interesting. Our day will come and it won’t be long.

71. Rick Guthrie says:

Hail Alba Wingers. REspect

72. Hamish100 says:

Frazerio

Well put.

More political battles ahead against the establishment. Reminds me of a wee baby growing up against Roman rule and political corruption.

Peaceful Christmas.

73. Christmas 1914 WW1 the ordinary troops of the Bosch and the Allied Powers stopped fighting in an informal truce.

The establishment were afraid these truces might escalate into actual peace so they issued this order,

“informal truces with the enemy were to cease and any officer or [non-commissioned officer] found to having initiated one would be tried by Court Martial.”

A Happy and safe Christmas to `All` soldiers who are still being dragged into wars by the Establishment in all its guises.

74. The Man in the Jar says:

Seasons greetings to Rev Stu and all the wingers.

And best wishes to all of those who are having a shit Christmas. (I have had a few myself) It can be a rotten time if you dont fit into the stereotypical family christmas that is rammed down our collective throats for weeks on end. Endless adverts showing generations of happy families tucking into a ridiculously enormous turkey with all the trimmings and kids with the latest “must have” toy.

So lets spare a thought for those to who won’t be sharing in the joy of Christmas. It can be a very sad and lonely time for some. And lets keep on working towards helping the less fortunate because our “imperial masters” dont give a shit.

And finally a message for the poor deluded unionists whose main ambition in life is to be reigned over by an auld wifey in a Magic Hat. Away and take a flying fuck to yourselves!

75. liz g says:

Merry Christmas everyone X

76. Iain says:

Happy Christmas to all the wingers
    Happy Christmas to all the youn’s
    Our day is coming, sooner than you think.

77. scotsbob says:

Happy Xmas to Stu and all Wings readers.

78. Grizzle McPuss says:

Season’s best to one and all
    your comments informative, laced with guffaw
    so raise yer glass and let’s ching-ching
    for another year of the brilliant Wings

79. Bob Mack says:

Merry Mxas to my “extended” family on Wings.

80. Bob Mack says:

PS ,
    Sorry aboot the transposhition, hic.

81. mumsyhugs says:

Jeez – I thought you said you were going away tae have a break and jingle yer bells Stu! Anyway, this Xmas fairy sends Xmas love and mumsyhugs to everyone 🙂 XXX better go and check my sprouts – only need to boil them for another couple of hours! Xxx

82. Awizgonny says:

All the best Rev 🙂

83. Macart says:

Oh, that’ll do it. 🙂

Merry Christmas to wingers and lurkers and a big thank you to our host. There may be a glass or two raised this afternoon. 🙂

84. Mabel says:

Merry Christmas to you Stuart, and thanks for what you do all year. Wishing everyone a happy holiday and a grand new year.

85. Elizabeth Sutherland says:

Happy Xmas Rev. All Wingers and Lurkers.
    Enjoy the festive season for Hope springs Eternal.

86. Flying Scotsman says:

Merry Xmas to everyone at wings and thank you all for making this such a great place.

@frazerio great post,I could not agree more.

87. Dave McEwan Hill says:

Just had a look a the TV schedules. Over the six major stations Scotland does not exist at all. There is not even news where we are. There is nothing Scottish even on STV.

This is not anti Scottish. It is just that we do not exist anymore.
    Or so they imagine.

88. Kevin meina says:

Happy xmas to everyone on wings and roll on 2016 as we take a step further in our quest for independence.
    We will have to get the finger out though whilst we still have an industrial base to build on Westminster is intent in destroying every means we have .

89. Lesley-Anne says:

Merry Christmas Stu ad all wingers!

In the spirit of Christmas I’ll just leave a few *ahem* items here just to really p*** everyone off! 😀

And just in case you thought I was getting too soppy: 😉

90. Fireproofjim says:

Dave MacEwan Hill
    There is an excellent Cartoon which is an affectionate look at Scotland by Pixar/Disney.
    Brave on BBC2 on now.

91. bugsbunny says:

Hands up who watched the Queen at 3.00pm? Me neither. lol. I was in the Throne room doing what the Queen and her hangers on talk..

Stephen.

92. Tîm Criced i Gymru says:

Nadolig Llawen i bawb ar WINGS!… o Gymru
    (A Merry Christmas to all at WINGS)… from Wales.

Keep up the unbelievably fantastic and essential work to free ALBA!

93. Lesley-Anne says:

Sod her nibs blubbering garbage!

Here is the REAL Christmas message!

94. bugsbunny says:

Well Leslie Anne, If Tommy Sheridan is the Alternative Queens speech, then I have found the Alternative Christmas Day Dr Who.

Enjoy.

Stephen.

95. yesindyref2 says:

Happy Christmas everyone!

96. Brian Doonthetoon says:

Hi Lesley-Anne – thanks for the Tommy Sheridan link!

Shared on FB…

8=)

PS: did a post for you a few days ago, which spent around 11 hours in moderation before appearing so you probably missed it. You can see it here:-

link to wingsoverscotland.com

97. Skooshcase says:

Season’s greetings to all the Yeses,

To the Unionist media get it right up yiz!

98. Dave McEwan Hill says:

Fireproofjim at 3.19

Not in the schedules in my TV guide it isn’t. Anyway,is that all? I’m sure those watching RTE,for instance, are watching a TV schedule that reflects their own communities’ Christmasses.

C’mon guys. I’m getting bored. Can we organise an invasion of the GPO in Edinburgh (if there is such a thing).

99. galamcennalath says:

A Cantie Yule tae yin and a’ !

A wee poem frae yon Interweb thingy …

Twas a cauld, cauld nicht i’ the back o’ the year;
    The snaw lay deep, and the starns shone clear;
    And Mary kent that her time was near,
    As she cam to Bethlehem.
    When Joseph saw the toon sae thrang,
    Quo’ he: ‘I houp I be na wrang,
    But I’m thinkin’ we’ll find a place ere lang;’
    But there wasna nae room for them.

She quo’, quo’ she: ‘O Joseph loon,
    Rale tired am I, and wad fain lie doon.
    Is there no a bed in the hail o’ the toon?
    For farrer I canna gae.’
    At the ale-hoose door she keekit ben,
    But there was sic a steer o’ fremmyt men,
    She thocht till hirsel’: ‘I dinna ken
    What me and my man can dae.’

And syne she spak: ‘We’ll hae to lie
    I’ the byre this nicht amang the kye
    And the cattle beas’, for a body maun try
    To thole what needs maun be,’
    And there amang the strae and the corn,
    While the owsen mooed, her bairnie was born.
    O, wasna that a maist joyous morn
    For sinners like you and me?

For the bairn that was born that nicht i’ the sta’
    Cam doon frae Heaven to tak awa’
    Oor fecklessness, and bring us a’
    Safe hame in the hender-en’.
    Lord, at this Yule-tide send us licht,
    Hae mercy on us and herd us richt.
    For the sake o’ the bairnie born that nicht,
    O, mak us better men!

… by Alexander Gray

100. Fran says:

Merry Christmas to you and the better half REV and to the team.

To all Wingers , hope you have had a great day.

101. Dave McEwan Hill says:

We are all aware that the Santa Claus of legend represents St Nicholas, a bishop of ancient times, with a recorded charitable impulse

Rather more puzzled about the Good Fairy that always adorns Christmas trees but I had that recently explained

Apparently Santa had a very tiring night one year going round with the Good Fairy delivering presents all over the place and they didn’t get finished till after three.
    After seeing to the feeding of the reindeers they made their way to Santa’s cabin for a noggin or too. As they closed the door they found a wee Christmas tree they had missed behind it. This was for wee Senga in Dunoon.
    “Shit” said Santa. “Look, Good Fairy, I’m knackered. Maybe you could deliver that wee Christmas tree for me?”
    “That’ll be f**king right” replied the Good fairy (who was from Govan). You know where you can stick your Christmas tree.”

Which is why to this day every Christmas tree has a fairy at the top of it

102. shiregirl says:

Have a lovely Christmas all.

Christmas off…and having a lovely one. Thinking off all my colleagues working in the NHS.

Wishing everyone a really fantastic 2016.

Thank you Rev. For all you do. You changed things for me a couple of years ago. Now? Well, I don’t buy a paper and you have ‘converted’ a few chums via the website. Hoping things change in the next couple of years – I am forever optimistic.

h

103. Ishbel says:

Best seasonal wishes Rev Stu and all the Wingers. Proud to stand by your collective sides!!

104. Thomas Trout says:

What Fragerio says at 11:31 pm: “Orra best folks- our tide is on the flood”

105. Bugger (the Panda) says:

Does anyone know how Handclapping is getting on?

Haven’t seen him for a while

106. Hamish100 says:

Pilot shits in aircraft engine due to snp and Transport Scotland failings!

link to forargyll.com

107. JLT says:

Merry Christmas Stuart and to all the Wingers!

Hope you all had a great day!

108. Tam Jardine says:

Dave McEwan Hill

Can we organise an invasion of the GPO in Edinburgh (if there is such a thing).

I can barely move so storming the GPO seems unlikely anytime soon. Let’s plan to do it when the troops are in better shape.

Happy Christmas to all on Wings. Quinie said it well earlier- my thoughts go out to those who are alone or in pain or afraid.

Thanks for everything Stu and all those who contribute.

Onwards to victory!

109. louis.b.argyll says:

..do they still do the Queens speech?

And if so..what is the message from God to the people? Oh, holy one?

Keep up the defence spending, naturally..

..and fight for any other industry that benefits me and my chums..

.. who have taken centuries to drag civilisation to this point, this endless war.

110. Maureen says:

Don’t often post but read every day. So just wanted to join in and thank the Rev Stu for all his invaluable hard work and wish him and everyone who read this site a very merry Christmas. Hail Alba.

111. Ruby says:

OMG How awful are these Christmas jumpers?

Surely the SNP should have been able to do something about these jumpers!

Christmas jumpers should be banned!

112. Brian Doonthetoon says:

Hi Hamish100.

Re: the plane and sloppy (drink induced?) typing, we have a new word to drop into conversation…

“appanet,y because of a warning light”

“appanet,y” – one of the few words in the English language that contains a comma. Wonder how it can be used and in what context?

8=)

113. arthur thomson says:

I was lucky today, had the day with my family. To all those Wingers who were not so fortunate, my thoughts are with you and with everyone across this hard world who is feeling sadness at this time. Together we will strive to make it a better world for all of us.

Thank you for leaving the door open for us to communicate today Stu.

114. Valerie says:

Nope, didn’t catch Bettys haverings, I was busy….doing nothing.

I’d no sooner tune in, than volunteer to be tasered.

Obama sent good wishes to the people of Libya. The people of Libya responded by thanking him for destroying their country.

115. Bob Sinclair says:

@TamJardine
    Find a suitable target ad I will happily join in.

116. Macandroid says:

While it is still (just) Christmas Day I would like to wish Rev Stu and all Wingers a happy Christmas and all the best for 2016.

All I want for next Christmas is an independent Scotland.

117. HoraceSaysYes says:

Merry Christmas to you and yours, Stuart, and to all the contributors to Wings, both above and below the line.

118. Fran says:

@ Ruby

I agree, My other half bought 1 for me and expected me to wear it. Which I did but with demonstration! Ba Humbug hat lives on 😀

119. Calum McKay says:

Free by 2018,

Merry xmass and happy new year to one and all, even if you voted no, you’ll know better next time?

120. Jim McIntosh says:

Didn’t catch Betty’s speech today, but caught Nan’s (Catherine Tate) on Alan Carr’s show this evening.

“We had an election this year, poor Ed Milliband lost because he made a mess of eating a bacon sandwich, while David Cameron won by actually ******** a pig”.

Ouch! 🙂

121. Croompenstein says:

Yes…

122. Paula Rose says:

So glad to be part of this – thank you everyone xx

123. yesindyref2 says:

Happy Boxing Day.

Isn’t it a shame that after all these centuries of Boxing Day being the day for collecting for the poor, or those in Service, and after all these years of supposed emancipation, that Boxing Day is needed as much as ever?

124. Petra says:

Yes Paula Rose so glad to be part of this too: The Wings Family. Like any other family we agree, disagree, debate and then march together, onwards, hand in hand to the same tune.

125. Robert Peffers says:

@Brian Doonthetoon says: 25 December, 2015 at 10:10 pm:

” … “appanet,y” – one of the few words in the English language that contains a comma. Wonder how it can be used and in what context?”

appanet,y the usage is restricted to when the drivers of flying machines on Highland routes are caught short pre-landings at some burgh or other.

126. Robert Peffers says:

Arrrgh!

Great Start to the day — NOT!

I attempted to post this YouTube link for all swithering Unionist supporters but forgot to remove the bit at the start : –

So here we go again –

127. Helena Brown says:

On the subject of the Queen’s sodding speech, some of us auld folk remember when “That Wummin” turned up at three in the afternoon, when they deemed the peasants would be full of good year, as if. Well now with the onset of digital TV you can watch it nearly all day. Hubby turned on Sky News a couple of times,it quietens the dug who was wound up like a bairn all day, and it was scheduled to be on around every half hour for I do not know how long. Would sooner put my eyes out than watch Madge and listen to the whine.

128. ronnie anderson says:

Thats several times Bugger the Panda has asked about ( Handclapping’s ) whereabouts ,has onybody got a Email or Phone contact for him.

129. Dr Jim says:

Whit Idjit in media invented headlines like “Festive Flood”

when by no stretch of anybody’s imagination or definition is a flood Fecking Festive

And why when I switch on my radio in Scotland to the BBC Scotland station news do I hear about Floods in Lancashire and Bush Fires in Australia as the main News items of the day

This Boxing Day in Scotland, Nothing happened, there was and is no news, just a bad lonely wannabe Glasgow Comedian who I tried to give a listen to just because, and then nearly killed myself tripping over the coffee table to get to the remote to remove him from my life (That may have been because I got Kevin Bridges DVD for Christmas right enough) so everything else is a poor comparison

The only thing I’ve read this morning pertaining to Scotland was our old friend (Am I or Aren’t I) Kevin (cannae make my mind up) McKenna in an amazing Homage Hatred piece on Nicola Sturgeon who he admits is the single most successful Politician ever in the history of this world and probably others as well

So he hates her
    For that reason and that reason alone, and of course in old doddering Kevin’s mind he must have thought when he wrote todays offering of Shite in a Basket that this was, and is “Real Journalism” and not the crap like what that there Daily Record prints with that Wizard of Wisecracking mirth Davie Clegg (The bug with no Brain)

I bet you could live practically anywhere else in the world and get more news about where you live than in Scotland

I mean, they have local newspapers and radio stations in every tiny little town and Hamlet all over America and other places as well run by guys who are only known in that town and complete amateurs seem to be allowed Licences to do it, but in Scotland there seems to be problems with that like the folks from News Shaft and others trying to get something off the ground, but are held back because of the need for huge amounts of money, and all they want to do is bring us some news and a bit of entertainment which suits us,

The folk who Fecking live here

130. McDuff says:

Merry Xmas Rev and many thanks for your outstanding work in `15 which has kept me feeling sane.

131. starlaw says:

@ Dr Jim Yes BBC total excuse for an entertainment prog. Yon wanna be comic would have lasted about five minutes in a working mans social club. The Beebs canned laughter was just as bad. What Neep selects these acts.

132. galamcennalath says:

Rather twisted logic in the Herald …..

link to archive.is

” “SNP bad” is contributing to an infantilized political culture … The tendency to thwack all criticism back in the direction it came from has been distilled, pithily but unappealingly, into “SNP bad”. ”

Err, in most cases the reason why ‘SNP bad’ is used as a retort is because the so called ‘criticism’ usually has little basis in reality or fact. The Yoons are so determined to spew out continual negativity about the SNP/SP they appear to suspend genuine critical thought.

Put simply, when the Yoons talk pish, an oft repeated ‘SNP bad’ in reply seems an ideal and appropriate way to respond. How can anyone enter debate when there is no substance to an argument?

The omni-presence of ‘SNP bad’ is not a refusal to respond to fair and due criticism, it is a put down of infantile and unsubstantiated negativity! This, most Scots fully understand!

There is of course the ‘cry wolf’ phenonimem. The Yoons have now made genuine political opposition to the SG difficult, because any valid points get lost among the baseless chatter.

133. Thepnr says:

@galamcennalath

Yes hahaha, read that this morning and nearly choked on my porridge!

SNP Baaaad! is the fault of the SNP. FFS the man is clearly deranged. Things just keep getting better, I’m luving it 🙂

134. galamcennalath says:

Thepnr says:

“SNP Baaaad! is the fault of the SNP.”

… it’s the same logic as blaming the SNP for the poor quality of opposition to them.

135. Graf Midgehunter says:

Anyone know how our well-known Winger Boorach is getting on?

Would like to hear from him again, hope he’s doing OK.

A few months ago he was starting chemotherapy for cancer and his mobile home from home was getting overhauled via a crowdfunder.

BTW, it’s blue skies here and bout 14 degrees warm. 🙂

136. X_Sticks says:

@Graf Midgehunter

Hi GM, Boorach has been back on twitter @Innesmhor for a while and says he is doing fine. Don’t know what happened about the van crowdfunder. His twitter avatar is still the old bus. link to twitter.com

137. Janet says:

Stu, thanks for what has become the most important website in the UK. And please take care. You are our window on Scottish politics. 2016 will be another battle.

I am otherwise surrounded by MSM “Matrix”. I no longer let these people into my mind.

138. Graf Midgehunter says:

X-Sticks Many thanks for the info. 🙂

139. Robert Peffers says:

@Dr Jim says: 26 December, 2015 at 10:18 am:

” … This Boxing Day in Scotland, Nothing happened, there was and is no news, just a bad lonely wannabe Glasgow Comedian who I tried to give a listen to just because, and then nearly killed myself tripping over the coffee table to get to the remote to remove him from my life.”

No, Dr Jim, it had nothing to do with your Chrissy Pressy, I reacted much the same – except I nearly landed myself returned to the back brace and neck collar after tripping over the wee Papillon bitch.

I ended up re-playing, “Grand Theft Auto IV”, from scratch on the Xbox 360. I’d finished that game some years ago, but it was the only game I had far enough back in time that I didn’t remember all the moves and the outcomes of the different choices made.

Trouble was that, after I began, I started to remember everything.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,761 Posts, 1,218,474 Comments

• Young Lochinvar on The shifting sands of memory: “Well said Mia. People are slowly wising up and the current crop of troughers are at a loss as to…May 25, 23:33
    • Breastplate on The shifting sands of memory: “Agreed, Lorn.May 25, 22:15
    • Breastplate on The shifting sands of memory: “This, I can agree with.May 25, 22:05
    • Breastplate on The shifting sands of memory: “I think you’ve just proved my point about how people debate from several conflicting standpoints. You say Scotland is a…May 25, 21:32
    • Young Lochinvar on The shifting sands of memory: “Or, Fred Flintstone, more prosaically; The Empire in which the blood never dried.. It’s not called the “Butchers Apron” for…May 25, 21:25
    • Lorn on The shifting sands of memory: “Xaracen: yes, the ToU is, indeed, an international treaty and may be challenged only inn international law. I am getting…May 25, 21:02
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on The shifting sands of memory: “Wikipedia: « GEORGE BUCHANAN / SEÒRAS BOCHANAN (1506-1582), native Gaelic-speaker, was a Scottish historian and humanist scholar. « According to historian Keith…May 25, 20:26
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on The shifting sands of memory: “HERMAN DOOYEWEERD (Professor of Law and Jurisprudence at the Vrije Universiteit, Amsterdam 1926-1965) explained: «The Roman republic started with an…May 25, 20:23
    • Mia on The shifting sands of memory: “That is indeed very interesting, Sarah. There are rumours as well about the ex PM of New Zealand. It is…May 25, 19:38
    • Xaracen on The shifting sands of memory: ““The ToU does not create any rights or obligations in international law, it is domestic law, so outwith the remit…May 25, 19:16
    • sam on The shifting sands of memory: “Andy, 3 years to complete negotiations. Sets a deadline. It can be done by seats won rather than votes cast.May 25, 19:08
    • Young Lochinvar on The shifting sands of memory: “Aidan at 2.40pm It’s bad enough that it might be the case without you wishing it so..May 25, 18:55
    • Young Lochinvar on The shifting sands of memory: “SM; Yup. Idle curiosity makes we wonder if SHE who’s name shall not be uttered is still shacked up for…May 25, 18:46
    • sarah on The shifting sands of memory: “@ Mia at 5.16: “Starmer and the three male models/arsonists”. Phil Boswell has something to say about this on today’s…May 25, 18:41
    • Northcode on The shifting sands of memory: ““a major cultural and legal difference lies between what they regarded as nations following the ‘Latin tradition’ compared with the…May 25, 18:35
    • factchecker on The shifting sands of memory: “A voice of reason.May 25, 18:29
    • Andy Ellis on The shifting sands of memory: “@Sam 5.04 pm What’s with the 3 year thing? All that’s necessary is for all pro-independence parties who support the…May 25, 18:18
    • Andy Ellis on The shifting sands of memory: “@Breastplate 3.19pm Other countries don’t care about the Treaties of Union or 300 year old history, any more than we…May 25, 17:39
    • Mia on The shifting sands of memory: “What is this thing about Starmer and the three U male models? Why is it being said that the three…May 25, 17:16
    • Hatey McHateface on The shifting sands of memory: “What do you reckon, Marie, did they have a hand in the Dandy Dons victory yesterday? I mean, why not,…May 25, 17:04
    • sam on The shifting sands of memory: “What’s the wording of a plebiscitary election to be? This is a tentative try. A majority vote by seats won…May 25, 17:04
    • Hatey McHateface on The shifting sands of memory: “Well, Mia, at least you managed to reply to Andy without blaming Da Dews. (I think. It’s next to impossible…May 25, 16:55
    • Mia on The shifting sands of memory: ““The only plausible route likely to achieve results in any reasonable timescale is to gain a majority in plebiscitary elections,…May 25, 16:27
    • Mark Beggan on The shifting sands of memory: “They are going to paragraph themselves into independence. Paragraph by paragraph.May 25, 16:02
    • SilentMajority on The shifting sands of memory: ““N.. S… has argued the law on the definition of a woman may need to be changed to accommodate trans…May 25, 16:01
    • Breastplate on The shifting sands of memory: “Andy, I agree with some of what you say and there’s room for manoeuvre on others. I think many people…May 25, 15:19
    • Young Lochinvar on The shifting sands of memory: “Over in Tranny-land SHE whose name shall not be uttered is in out of control hose mode again, wanting laws…May 25, 14:55
    • Andy Ellis on The shifting sands of memory: “Why is it “quixotic”? It’s quixotic in the usually accepted definition of the term in that it’s “extremely idealistic; unrealistic…May 25, 14:21
    • Aidan on The shifting sands of memory: “If you’re pinning your hopes on the UN enforcing a vote where only Yes voters are allowed to participate then…May 25, 14:14
    • Young Lochinvar on The shifting sands of memory: “Mia Maybe, maybe not. However it would be interesting to speculate if C3 and his progeny would show up in…May 25, 14:09