A Stitch In Timing
Readers will probably be aware that literally as you read this, the Scottish Government is in court trying to defend its policy of letting male murderers be housed in women’s prisons by arguing that the Equality Act 2010 (as ruled on by the Supreme Court in the For Women Scotland case) is incompatible with the Human Rights Act 1998, implementing the European Convention on Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (commonly referred to as the ECHR).
But this article isn’t about that case.
Because today the Court Of Session issued an unrelated judgment that an entirely different piece of Scottish law is incompatible with the ECHR.
Wings readers have been following the deeply troubling case of Mark Hirst since 2021. Mark was arrested in 2020 on ludicrous charges involving a tweet constituting an alleged “breach of the peace” against the anonymous complainers who’d made false allegations of sexual assault against Alex Salmond, who’d been cleared on all counts at the High Court earlier the same year.
Seven months later Mark’s trial collapsed at Jedburgh Sheriff Court with the sheriff ruling there was no case to answer. Later that year he commenced proceedings to sue the Lord Advocate for malicious prosecution, and today – a disgraceful four years and seven months later – those proceedings reached their conclusion.
Put simply, judge Lord Lake concluded that Mark DID have grounds for a claim of malicious prosecution against the Lord Advocate – Scotland’s most senior law official, head of the Crown Office and Procurator Fiscal Service but controversially also a minister in the Scottish Government – but that he was obliged to dismiss the claim because the Criminal Procedure (Scotland) Act 1995, (section 170) grants prosecutors total immunity, because Mark had not been imprisoned.
Lord Lake found that this conflict in law breached Mark’s right to fair treatment.
This might seem like an arcane technical point, but is in fact incredibly serious. Scots law has been ruled flatly incompatible with international human rights law, a situation which cannot possibly be allowed to continue. The CPSA will have to be changed urgently to avoid such grave injustices from happening again, yet it would take a bold gambler to bet on the Scottish Government doing so before May’s general election, or any time soon afterwards.
(It claimed to have no time to support Ash Regan’s bill on prostitution this week, despite it mirroring official SNP policy, but the Parliament did manage to debate a ban on greyhound racing despite there being absolutely no greyhound racing in existence anywhere in Scotland.)
The irony of this extremely rare legal scenario (declarations of incompatibility are vanishingly uncommon, for the obvious reason that most laws are carefully written to avoid them) coming up twice under the same administration, and in connection with the two most shameful episodes in Scottish Government history – the conspiracy, persecution and cover-up against Alex Salmond, and the imposition of violent male criminals on vulnerable women – is hard not to appreciate.
But in a country where nobody – least of all the Crown Office – is accountable for anything, irony appreciation is just about the only thing people have left to hold on to, as Scotland’s justice system dies slowly of shame.

Scots law, along with Scottish institutions and Scottish democracy, is being deliberately and systematically undermined and discredited in plain sight by a turned and ("Tractor" - Ed)ous SNP government and unionist civil service, police, judiciary, crown office and media.
It make you wonder if the incompetence of justice system in Scotland isn’t being done by design, in order to introduce the English system as it is in Wales as a alternative.
Lets be honest after the 2014 referendum every day has been a steady attempt at bring Scotland business, history, culture and our resources into the English/British way of live, so why not the justice system as well.
Its funny how someone can get hit by a bus and three cars spends 1yrs in hospital and the lawyers make more money than the victim, that’s UK justice.
I feel sorry for Mark, but I’m not surprised.
I’m almost tired of being tired of being outraged. It really seems that there is nothing that can actually be done to move things back to sanity.
Only the SNP could bring a bill before the Scottish Parliament to ban something that doesn’t exist in Scotland ( greyhound racing) What a waste of debating time.
John Burns @ 16.42.
Obviously inspired by their succes with the Fur Farming prohibition Act of 2002, our devolved administration find it easier and less controversial to spend their time addressing non existent challenges than genuine ones.
Well, got to “earn” those enviable salaries, expenses, pension contributions and subsidised fine wining and dining somehow I guess.
I thought the HRA meant judges could turn the law as written on its head if it breached someone’s human rights? Why not do so in this case? It’s simply not good enough to say “this person had his human rights breached but there’s nothing anyone can do about it, and that’s that.”
The decision shows you vicious, malicious politically motivated prosecution can be mounted against selected individual and thereafter, when the prosecution is found to be wrong and rule in the wronged’s favour, the court then finds there is nothing that can be done.
It’s like someone committing a vile and vicious murder and then when found guilty the judge says there is nothing he can do and dismisses the action.
So where do we go from here when folks can be wronged, utterly wronged, and the wrong doer walks away Scot free. Is this a time when people need to seek their own justice, their own Rule of Law. A country, no country can operate in a Rule of Law Vacuum where the guilty can wrong as they see fit and walk away.
Ultimately this rotten system ends up in the anarchy of people securing their own justice. Where they need to sort things their way because there is no sanction to stop abuse and abusers else the abuse just continues.
Most certainly not the way anyone with any degree of regulated justice would want their society to operate. But that is what happens when there is no justice.
If it has taken in excess of 4 years to bring a case for malicious prosecution to court this is banana republic stuff. And what’s this ? A piece of legislation in Scotland that is not the bestest / most world-leading anywhere but which is in fact incompatible with the ECHR . Surely we can expect such a travesty to be rectified post haste ?
“It’s like someone committing a vile and vicious murder and then when found guilty the judge says there is nothing he can do and dismisses the action”
Jeezo, Willie, you better go and read all the background again.
It’s like somebody being accused of committing a vile and vicious murder, WHICH NEVER HAPPENED, and then when naturally found innocent (THE MURDER NEVER HAPPENED – REMEMBER?), being told that the accuser has immunity from charges of malicious prosecution.
Because the person accused of murder was not found guilty, never sentenced and never did time – THE MURDER NEVER HAPPENED – it’s self-evident the attempt to prosecute was a malicious one.
It’s a license for the prosecuting authority in Scotland to charge people with essentially trumped up charges, tangle them up in process for many years, then when the case is thrown out of court, thumb their noses and say “can’t touch me – I have immunity”.
That’s exactly what it’s like.
It’s on the face of it a clear issue on which the political parties standing in Scotland could make ground – undertake to remove the Lord Advocate’s immunity against culpability for initiating malicious prosecutions. It’s far too powerful a weapon to place in the hands of those who cannot be trusted with it.
And that’s the SNP. Not the English. Not the Crown. Not Westminster.
The SNP.
“Not the Crown” ?
Hardly. The root of the despicable colonial situation is that elites in Scotland aye tak thair oath tae an ser the wrang Croun.
Which helps explain dubious judicial decisions made in the many cases covered by WoS and others.
And the Lord Advocate has aye been Whitehall’s man (or wummin) wha keeps Scots doun an hauds Scotlan ticht, since afore Dundas – ‘The Great Tyrant’ – himsel.
Dear Lord, will people stop trying to blame everything on England and take responsibility for what is happening in Scotland? Start imagining that there are people with so little self-restraint that they are able to make the lives of others unbearable and appear have the backing of the law to do it. Except, of course, they do not have that backing in reality.
There are psychopaths, sociopaths, narcissists and psychotics in every walk of life, even in the Scottish parliament and in the Scottish legal system. They have been having a heyday recently, enabled by the Scottish government and they are in court today to try to ensure that their enabling is not disrupted – against all sense, reason and logic.
Alec Salmond was pursued by a policy that was illegitimate and illegal and he fought his case in the civil court to that effect – and he won. So, they continued to hound him with criminal charges in the criminal court – and, again, he won. So his name was blackened: no smoke without fire. The evidence in the criminal trial was beyond a joke, and it did not matter whether you liked or loathed Alec Salmond, he deserved justice no less than anyone else.
However, what we have seen from the SG is the hounding of those who will not bend the knee to the prevailing narrative in different areas of policy. The UKSC ruling was reached by the judges putting every strand of legislation to the test, including all the human rights legislation – the Human Rights Act, as well as the ECHR. It is so blindingly evident now that the SG is far less interested in anyone’s human rights than it is in pushing a certain mindset that brooks no dissent – even in the face of already-existing and fundamental law: their way or the highway. If Scots Law is out of step with human rights legislation already in existence, it is time that was fixed post haste. Undermining of the law, even if inadvertent, is the final step in the dissolution and disintegration of society.
Completely agree Lorna
I also completely agree with Lorna!
I agree with with everything you wrote there Lorna. (Although It is just plain wrong that the legal process can be turned into a punishment and there is no redress. It doesn’t matter a toss to me if it aligns with human rights law or not.) The question i want to ask you though is why do you think this is happening? Why is it necessary for all this destruction and injustice?
I’m not privy, GM, as you might imagine, to what the powers-that-be are up to, but I think that the next phase of AI is on the way, and, just like the internet it is something of a curate’s egg – booth good and bad.
The bad may yet outweigh the good, even if that has not already happened. Same with AI: the opportunities to twist it out of shape and use it for nefarious purposes may become more than some with twisted minds can resist.
I have come to believe that, for a large section of the male sex (a minority, but a large minority) hubris is so enchanting that they do everything they can to create it. Fortunately for the rest of us, Nemesis is female, not male, a goddess and not a god.
The Epstein files prove two very crucial things: 1. women and girls are supremely unimportant to these men except insofar as they provide a sexual service, and, indeed, are viewed by them as subhuman; 2. these men fluff each other, interfere in politics and society and display an overweening need for power, money and sexual exploitation in all its forms.
They are capable of, and enjoy, knocking countries off course, and I also believe that many of them, and Epstein himself, funded the ‘trans’ movement with the specific aim of destabilising societies in the West which have become ripe for the next technological ‘advance’, which is robotics brought to a new level. I believe that transhumanism – the Borg – is their ultimate aim, regardless of how off kilter that sounds.
For these men believe themselves – politicians, intellectuals, academics, big businessmen, financiers, etc. – to be made in the image of God – literally – and their arrogance knows no bounds. They believe themselves not just to be untouchable but to be deserving of the world’s alluring commodities: females, usually underage; pots of money; and as much power as they can handle. Remember Nixon and Watergate? ‘Pussy’ was the reward for complicity in corruption and turning a blind eye to all kinds of malfeasance.
These men, and the ones they send out as the vanguard and foot soldiers – the woke and the ‘trans’ – are the biggest threat now to ordered society in the West. Not least because women are beginning to have their eyes opened in ways that they never have before, and once seen cannot be unseen. As I said, Nemesis is female and Nemesis is coming. AI will not be gone tomorrow, but it will not be as many men in Big Tech, Big Pharmaceutical, etc., think right now. Every bitch has her day and we should all be grateful for it. The heads are already beginning to roll. The women, except for the very young, are not victims; they are complicit in their own exploitation.
I see that argument quite clearly Lorna when you put it as you just have. There are plenty women in this elite group too although I accept that it is dominated by men. The elite both men and women see us all as cattle.
“pushing a certain mindset that brooks no dissent”
Which, in a colonial society can only be a ‘colonial mindset’, because a colonial justice system is all about “protecting the interest of the colonizer” (Memmi), and against whom but the colonized doun-hauden group?
“The native seldom looks for justice in the colonial framework” (Fanon). Salmond; Hirst; Murray; Peggie; an mony mair past and mair tae come tae.
link to yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com
Nail on the head Lorna.
‘Dear Lord, will people stop trying to blame everything on England and take responsibility for what is happening in Scotland? ‘
Good luck with that one Lorna. Alf’s reply is all you need to understand why it won’t happen as the colonial mindset is an argument effectively of diminished responsibility – if the entire nation does not know its own mind due to colonial brainwashing that people are literally born with and into, there can be no responsibility taken and it is grossly unfair to expect it. If an entire nation is mentally incapacitated by its neighbour’s very existence, it would be quite cruel to do so.
The weird irony of this is that when it comes to a colonial mindset, the logical conclusion of Alf’s theories is that it is the Scots that are locked in that mindset more than those who apparently inculcate it, and are sadly incapable of throwing it off, due to said mindset. How neatly sown up is that council of despair?
Consequently, important matters like the corruption of the judiciary and government, bad law and dictatorial social engineering policy enforcement, all of which are can, in theory be addressed in Scotland, happen in plain site and whilst hated and even exposed, are met ultimately with a shrug – nothing we can do, it is because we are a colony.
Trouble is, independence will not solve this as England will still be there, sorry folks, still inflict its overwhelming psychological damage. It is why I think it a grave mistake to go down this line of thinking – throw the shackles off now, they are mostly imaginary, self-perpetuating, self-hating they are a comfort blanket of doom but one which is suffocating to the point of near brain death.
Excellent post, Southernbystander.
Another side effect of the eternal “it wisnae us cos we’re bound hand and foot” attitude is that those adopting it can only ever call for external actors to step in and save us.
Hence the clinging on to the comfort blankets of Brussels rule, UN interventions, and all the other fantasies.
It’s beyond risible that those who would take offense at the “too wee, too poor, too daft” jibes will then earnestly claim we’re incapable of putting our own affairs in order.
Just because.
It is surely colonialism that makes a colonized people ‘dependent’. For “without colonialism there would be no colonized people” (Memmi).
As Cesaire confirmed, we are reminded here that: “colonialism is based on psychology”, that certain native groups (e.g. elites, bourgeoisie, elements of the proletariat) “suffer from… dependency complex, that these groups are psychologically made for dependence, that they crave it, ask for it, demand it; (and) that this is the case with most of the colonized peoples…”
So this type of behaviour of native elites and other groups must be expected within a colonial society, for they ‘crave’ dependency on the ‘superior’ colonizer and his culture.
And, as Mannoni stated: “One feature of this dependency psychology would seem to be that, since no one can serve two masters, one of the two should be sacrificed to the other.”
Which means colonized Scots and Scottish national interests will aye be sacrificed, e’en by oor ain fowk sufferin fae ‘colonized mynds’, sae lang as oor kintra is ruled ower by anither fowk an thair dominant cultur.
With a heavy heart, I have to agree with you, Southernbystander, but not all Scots are anaesthetized by colonialism. Truth be told, there are times when I wish I was so that I did not have to face the reality of what we are doing to ourselves. The truth is painful but the lies become a debilitating oppression in themselves. Unless we take responsibility for our own future, off-load the encumbrances of ‘woke’ and ‘trans’, try to rehabilitate Scotland before independence, nothing we do thereafter will save us. Look across at Eire and the utter mess they are in through their ‘woke’ and ‘trans’ policies. Their freedom fighters must be birlin in their graves.
“try to rehabilitate Scotland before independence”
I suspect that’s not generally how decolonization and ‘self-recovery of culture’ works, which is about rather more than ending enforcement of oppressive woke policies.
link to cpb-us-w2.wpmucdn.com
“we are reminded here that: “colonialism is based on psychology””
Is that because it’s Friday, Alf?
Seems like only Wednesday you were telling us colonialism is fascism, which when I last checked, meant fleets of bombers, massed hordes of tanks, millions of goose stepping soldiers and an intricate apparatus of behavioural monitoring and reporting, backed up by secret police, midnight disappearances, concentration camps and gas chambers.
What’s colonialism going to be about over the weekend? Netflix, social media and Deliveroo? These concepts, at least, we could agree are alien to the long-disappeared Scottish culture you seem to want to re-instate.
Well said Lorna
Alf: I know it will take a lot more than that. The point I was trying to make is that we cannot afford to let this stuff come into an independent Scotland with us or the whole effort will be for nothing. England is in as much a mess with this stuff as we are, as is the rest of the Western world. It has already scuppered the SNP and independence. It is entirely parasitical. I’m not saying that just because I’m a woman; I’m saying it because it is also destroying all the values that we, as part of the West, hold dear, and we have to take our courage in our hands and eradicate it before it destroys us completely. Independence will not save us unless we do this. ‘Woke’ and ‘trans’ are just another form of colonisation.
The Royalty, Scottish nobility, the Church of Scotland and the Scottish legal community; the main players in 1707 of ensuring their interests were protected before selling out Scotland and us and ours..
All now teetering on the cliff edge!
Ironic eh?
Don’t ya think?
Mark Hirst HAS been punished.
Not with imprisonment, but with the malicious prosecution itself, and the 4-year legal fight (undoubtedly very expensive).
The process IS the punishment.
The treatment of Enoch Burke at the hands of the Irish State is evidence enough for me that Scotland had a lucky escape in 2014.
Is Gordon Dangerfield still the solicitor?
This blog post link to gordondangerfield.com
nearly 4 years old(!) suggests he felt assured that Section 170 including its imprisonment aspect would not be an issue. He mentions ‘pre-action correspondence with the Lord Advocate, which was conducted on a “without prejudice” basis’. Did the LA say one thing and do another?
Not good. If I understand correctly it costs a great deal of money to bring an action like this and the defenders have unlimited resources while the pursuer runs out of money.
Sold a bummer by the judiciary it seems.
Or was it more the case that the assurance that Section 170 would not be applicable was the judiciary statement of the applicability of the law.
And so, is it not the case that the 2022 assurance being given as to what the law is, and how S.170 was inapplicable was, whereas in 2026 the judiciary has changed it’s position.
Utterly outrageous. A man has been wronged, has been found to be wronged, but judge says unless imprisoned no damages due.
But am I missing something. Mark Hirst was not found guilty and was not imprisoned. He was wronged by a prosecution thrown out. How therefore can S170, which relates to a wrongfully convicted and imprisoned man be applicable to a man not convicted?
Looks like another compromised Judge. Make the law up as you go along to suit an agenda. Or maybe, like tribunal Judge Kemp, the judge here used AI before thereafter, it being it established that his his about turn decision had been outsourced to an unidentified judicial colleague.
FFS it looks like we need UN or other international observers here in Scotland. Judges are it seems, like political masters, rotten to the core.
So, how much to buy a judge in Scotland. What justice can people expect. What faith can folk have in a judiciary tainted by political or other interference.
“we need UN or other international observers here in Scotland. Judges are it seems, like political masters, rotten to the core”
The UN is bust beyond repair, willie, since Scotland’s greatest living half-son, President Trump, cut off the firehose of US cash. Do keep up.
An investigation into the attempt to prosecute the Lord Advocate makes it very clear that could never have worked because of the Lord Advocate’s immunity, enshrined in Scots Law since 1995. Far from being “rotten”, many would say that the impartial upholding of the law as it currently stands is exactly what the people of Scotland deserve and should expect.
Instead of adopting what appears to be the default Indy position of looking around for external actors to sort it out on our behalf, would it be too much to expect of the wider Indy movement that they actually take steps to deal with our Scottish Law ourselves?
Heck. We’ve an election in May. We could put this on some party’s manifesto so that Scots could vote for it. The running sore of the Lord Advocate’s constitutionally dodgy position has been going on for decades now. Why don’t we Scots sort it out ourselves, once and for all?
Or is that too much to ask?
barelybare says:
5 February, 2026 at 10:24 pm
“Is Gordon Dangerfield still the solicitor?”
===========
“I would like to offer my deepest gratitude and thanks to my legal team, led by the tireless and dogged Solicitor Advocate Gordon Dangerfield”.-Mark Hirst
link to tinyurl.com
It’s all mystifying.
Mr Dangerfield could see himself, prior to starting the action, that the Lord Advocate’s immunity to prosecution would apply.
Just as I could see it myself last night, with around 15 minute’s online research.
Nevertheless, Mr Dangerfield went ahead. And duly lost, around 4 years later.
Simply because the law as it stands is exactly as it is detailed in the relevant statute.
As I wrote, mystifying how somebody with no legal training or experience (me) can see what somehow or other eludes the professionals for 4 long years.
I can only conclude that Mr Dangerfield is playing a much longer game, one in which the deliberate losing of a set-piece engagement will contribute strategically to eventual victory in the larger campaign.
Is ‘The.Ciminal Procedure (Scotland) Act 1995’ legislation prepared and passed by the Parliament in Westminster?
Which Parliament can enact amendments to that Legislation?
Is it possible to discover who the Parliamentary draftsmen (or women) were?
There seems to be a gigantic provision for immunity.
The 1995 Act was originally passed by our dear friends who are always looking out for our interests, at Westminster. Section 170 dates from 1995 and has not been amended. It would now be within the powers of the Scottish Parliament to amend the 1995 Act, however, to remove this immunity. The 1995 Act is more than 30 years old, so (most of) the papers are probably publicly available. Given your comment, however, some alert civil servant may set about redacting names. But that wouldn’t help you any because (a) Ministers don’t have to let draughtsmen and women stick anything they like in Bills and (b) the 1995 Act didn’t invent the immunity of the Lord Advocate in this matter: it was regarded as existing previously (see eg Hester v MacDonald from 1961).
“Section 170 dates from 1995 and has not been amended. It would now be within the powers of the Scottish Parliament to amend the 1995 Act, however, to remove this immunity”
Nae shit, Sherlock!
£20 says the 1995 act won’t be amended and this time next week, we’ll all be exercised mightily about something else.
Re-read Rev. Stu’s article. Think i have the answer.
I am having trouble understanding how Section 170’s imprisonment condition could cause Mark Hirst’s action to be thrown put, but not the Rangers malicious prosecution, which has apparently cost taxpayers £53m so far:
link to scottishlegal.com.
I was put in mind of ex Lord Advocate James Wolfe and his malicious prosecutions concerning the football people too.
When he was forced to give an apology to parliament for his criminal actions practically the first thing that came out of his mouth was along the lines of because of his position he can’t be prosecuted or held accountable in any way.
He then waffled for about twenty minutes showing no shame or humility whatsoever. It also struck me that anyone who’s ever considered there actually might be lizard people living amongst us would be absolutely convinced.
It truly is shocking and archaic that people like these can act with impunity and simply walk away. I think the same about the bosses of companies that are found to have carried out criminal acts. They themselves should be prosecuted not the company as an entity. The company would not exist without the people.
The shameful thing about it is that we let it happen and there’s barely a ripple of anger through society when it does, just chuntering; like me; right now.
INDEED all a matter of timing…Swinney was a guest of Mandelson, oops!
If Starmer gets the shove so must Swinney, both of equal ineptitude and dual standards.
Let Democracy Flourish……anybody know where the user manual is kept?
Many of the problems we face stem from the fact that our politicians are low calibre individuals who are completely out of their depth and incapable of doing the job we pay them to do. Most only entered politics because it pays better than Tesco.
Yeah I mean Ross Greer is co-leader of a political party that was in government recently, the mind boggles. I’m afraid we have to face up to the fact that the problem is even worse in Holyrood than Westminster!
@TURABDIN
It may be quicker and easier to compile a list of those in public life with no links to Epstein.
No point to turfing out the incumbents over this, only to replace them with others just as tainted.
@ALANM. AIDAN, HATEY
All true, the political classes, not just in Scotland & England, seem stacked with those who couldn’t manage the mythic icecream van. Politics is the default for the PPE generation who seem to think that qualifies them to run countries.
I am very interested in AI and its development, its potential and its failures to do what the TechBros claim it can do. The physics of this is mindblowing.
All people in government ought to know, through direct experience, the foibles and flaky ways of the technology as well as its great potential. However, the great & the good, they are sent to seminars controled by the very people who produce the product. Their minds filled with glossy images of the great new future we shall have when the current gen. of AI is let rip. Trust us, we know what’s good for us, we’re all in this together, buddy
I despise all politicians. Third rate is being too kind to the species. The world needs a totally new dispensation, ironically, if that is the right word, Artificial General Intelligence. when it comes out of its egg, may be the beginning of the end for that type of politico.
An intellectual exoskeleton, answerable to the wearer only, may bring the accountable democracy we ought to have. This is not scifi but a sweeping change in how we function as flesh & blood human beings. The AGI is our own intelligence augmented, it jdoes things without the distractions we have as a rather vulnerable species too often mired in prejudices.
This is a complex issue, not one to be left to self nominating «elites», «experts» and tech giants alone. Timing? Already time up for many who rule.
Yes Barely Bare how could very substantial damages be paid in the failed Rangers prosecution but denied tp Mark Hirst.
The judge, it very much seems was got to. Just another example of the rotten and politically biased rule of law.
The reason is that s170 of the 1995 Act applies to summary proceedings, such as the case against Mr Hirst, taken in Sheriff Court without a jury. The Rangers prosecutions were in the High Court, and were solemn proceedings, so s170 did not apply.
Thanks for the explanation am firinn.
I have a feeling only the initiated are going to truly understand what is going on here. Time to read Scots Law for Dummies…
Common sense however suggests that a person maliciously prosecuted should be able to seek redress regardless of whether the malicious prosecution resulted in imprisonment. Although damages might be higher if the person suffered imprisonment.
Ah hah! You said ‘common sense’! What makes you think laws have to comply with common sense?
The laws changing Scotlands laws have evolved over the years and centuries into double triple layers of laws, from different seeds and routes of other Countries.
The impact of these outside laws of Scotland means that one set of laws can continually contradict the others when required,
The original laws of Scotland have not had the chance to develope or evolve for hundreds of years in the same way as other Countries,
The supposed 1707 treaty did this first.
The removal and dissolution of the real Scottish parliament in 1707 and 1800 added to Scots laws becoming static,
The “Scotland act” has created laws that once were the decision of Scotland to be stuck in time, brandished at a appropriate time to be bought back from the past,
But not evolved by time.
The ECHR laws, the Crown laws, the pretend Scottish government laws, the England transferred laws into Scotland, these are all laws by outside influence of sets and layers of laws to Scotland that Scotland has no choice over, and spins a tangled web on any approach to which justice system we are in or which one to use.
The laws of Scotland are frozen in a time capsule undeveloped except for what is allowed by other bodies and nations outside of Scotland.
When a suggestion is made not to have these corrupted judges and judgement in Scotland, it is pounced on as presuming we do or should not have laws or courts in Scotland, rather than seeing the possibilities of having a evolving Scots laws.
With two tiered laws it is inevitable the we receive two tiered justice in Scotland.
In Scotland
now we have multiple tiers of laws,
If the old duff laws suddenly apply in court cases, then “Private Rights” also apply in Scotland, where a “subject within Scotland” can challenge the courts and judicary that do not hold The same Sovereignty under a Crown of England courts or Scottish/english trained court of sessions.under Article XV111.
The right to fair trials and justice in Scotland is the given reason for a union with England to eliminate king James in Scotland.
Thank you for reaching out – we do not intend to respond.
“…the Scottish Government is in court trying to defend its policy of letting male murderers be housed in women’s prisons ”
========
Beyond outrageous.
link to tinyurl.com
The vulnerable women here are anonymised – not just to protect them from the Adam Graham types (and worse)still lurking around. But also from woke officialdom.
The Westminster parliament ( Scotland ) act 1995 was passed by the Anglo- Irish united kingdom parliament.
Which Scotland has no treaty with.
This applies to all Scotland acts, legislation and statues passed by the united kingdom of England Ireland parliament from 1801/1802 and going forwards to present day if laws and legalese matters are being applied
I wonder whom you do blame when Scotland made no 1707 treaty with the parliament of Great Britain nor with the united kingdom parliament of England and Ireland, in 1707.
Define Scottish Government, from…Governance sent to Scotland from the Westminster of England- Ireland parliament since the dissolved parliament of Great Britain-1800.
If the parliament in Scotland today was a real Scottish parliament it would not have reserved matters restrictions placed on it by another Country,
If the Scottish parliament was a Scottish parliament that would end the 1707 treaty with Englands 1707 parliament of united kingdom of Scotland and England.
So far only England has fell on its own sword of breaching the 1707 treaty.
James Cheyne @ 12.59.
Only initially renamed a ‘Parliament’ over a weekend owing to the vanity of Mr Salmond, “James”, that’s the reason I’ll never refer to it other than what it is, a devolved administration.
An Executive it was established, an Executive it remains, with many powers reserved to Westminster.
“a devolved administration”
That’s what the colonizer calls it.
To the colonized it is always a colonial administration.
I would assume that Alex Salmond, and Winnie Ewing (‘The Scottish Parliament, which adjourned on March 25 1707, is hereby reconvened.’) were laying down markers.
Fearghas Macfhionnlaigh.
My own view on that would be that by misnaming a devolved administration as a Parliament a clear distinction between an administrative body and a ruling, representative elected authority with full presiding powers was blurred, Fearghas.
This created a false impression that complete autonomy had been achieved, when it manifestly has not, in the case of Holyrood. It also potentially caused resentment and disillusionment when the misnamed “Parliament” fails to address issues which, in terms of the Scotland Act, are without its’ competence.
Re Sven.
Point taken.
It was always known as the Scottish Parliament. However the machinery was called the Scottish Administration until Salmond renamed it the Scottish Government.
Of course it is only a half government since the main functions of government are reserved to Westminster.
Or Scottish Executive?
Scottish Executive- correct
“Of course it is only a half government”
Its not even that.
Whatever ‘it’ may be called, it is ‘managed’ by senior Whitehall civil servants + security services (i.e. English Crown) plus a few co-opted weel-peyed and pensioned native ‘elites’ who clearly dae as thair telt, hold to the same values as the colonizer and help maintain the status quo, i.e. colonialism.
Ergo, it is a colonial administration.
Scottish court cases are hugely expensive, another obvious impediment to seeking “justice”. The case in the Scottish courts for a judicial review of the proscription of the anti-genocide activists has a crowdfunder target of £180,000. It has 7 days to go and has raised £83,947.
This case’s chances of success may have been boosted by the jury decision in a trial in England finding none of the activists guilty on any of the charges.
If any Wings readers can donate, or know others who can, here’s the link to the crowdfunder:
link to crowdjustice.com
“finding none of the activists guilty on any of the charges”
Given they committed burglary, assault and grievous bodily harm with offensive weapons, leaving a policewoman with life-changing injuries, I’d rather donate to a crowdfunder to retry the virtue-signalling, ADHD-claiming snowflakes with the intention being to throw the entire lot of them in jail.
For a long time. Banged up with some real hard men. I’d dig deep for that.
Then again, as some of them clearly fail the nationality test I’d want to apply, I’d settle for pushing them into the sea, with a kindly instruction to swim back to the shithole they originally called home.
That would have the merit of being a lot cheaper too.
“….life changing injuries….”
Yet more bollocks from the Site Prick.
To quote Craig Murray;
“The final question was the charge against Samuel Corner of Grievous Bodily Harm with Intent. This was the famous incident where the security guards attacked the defendants with weapons and there was a melee as they defended themselves.
It is worth stating that the tabloid stories and right-wing meme of “a policewoman’s spine was fractured” was always utter nonsense. As the defence closing speech stated:
The prosecution have said it was a fracture to the spine, a deliberate choice of words which although technically accurate, conjure up a break, a snapping of the spinal vertebrae. Maybe that’s what the jury had in mind until they saw the CT scan – it was actually an injury that wasn’t obvious. The doctors looking at the first X-rays didn’t identify any bone damage, nor in an MRI later.
The injury didn’t require surgery and Sergeant Evans was advised to take painkillers and do physiotherapy. The agreed facts state from medical evidence that you’d expect such a fracture to heal in six to twelve weeks, with full healing in three to six months, and no long-term consequences.
The unfortunate policewoman suffered no damage at all to her spinal cord. She had a possible hairline fracture to the wing of one vertebra. That there was any fracture at all was never definitive from the X-rays and MRIs. Whether it reached the bar of grievous bodily harm was disputed; how it was caused was disputed; and whether there was any intent to harm was disputed. The refusal of the jury to convict was completely consistent with the evidence heard in court.”
Woo Hoo, James manages to put both hands on his keyboard.
Giving your usual hobby a night off, James? You must have rubbed it red raw.
Why don’t you take a sledge hammer down to your local? Pick a fight with somebody, try to get yourself into a melee.
You should have absolutely no difficulty in hitting somebody in such a way there are no long-term consequences, and convincing the jury there was no intent to harm.
“To quote Craig Murray”
Scotland’s most famous fantasist and most outspoken apologist for the ham ass lassie torturing scum.
Every time he opens his mouth he further tarnishes Scotland and the Independence movement.
How fitting that he numbers among his paltry total of ineffectual defendants a knuckle dragging, mouth breathing, potty mouthed nonentity.
Must have struck a nerve eh, Prick?
“This has driven right-wingers into a frenzy with completely false claims about the extent of the injury, and continued reference to a highly edited brief video clip.”
We all defer to your encyclopedic expertise on video clips, James, gleaned while hunched over them for day after day, gasping and panting with frantic exertion.
James: the very fact that he was filmed lifting the sledgehammer and bringing it down on the back of the policewoman was more than enough to send him to chockey; he was not being attacked at the time and he deliberately wielded the hammer.
It is also a fact that certain groups in our society are untouchable, cos..they are. I don’t believe they should be jailed either. I think they should be incarcerated in a facility for people who have lost their minds to unreality and to afford them a break from unrelenting propaganda to which they are usually susceptible.
A return to reality would see them released promptly.
Ah C’moan noo, Lorna.
One of them’s got ADHD and one of them’s (could be the same one) got a fluffy cat. What’s gonna happen to the cat if the GBH boy has to do time? FFS, Lorna, fit kinda monster are you? You’re treating the boy like he posted an offensive tweet.
A few of them have tea towels as well. Surely it would violate their human rights if they were forced to forego them in prison?
Anyhoo, they’re all going back on trial. We’ll see what transpires soon.
H McH: I think they are going for retrial. Sometimes, juries want to send a message to the great and the good that they’re no having it, so they’re no, and that can be no bad thing where overreach is concerned. However, the film footage was so evident that what this jury did was probably illegal in itself. Why don’t these people volunteer to go out to Gaza? They could restart the house building project to get people into new homes, for God’s sake. Much easier to bleat inanities and virtue signal and break people’s backs. Didn’t the Romans do that as a punishment for cowardice? Every 10th man was ‘decimated’ for cowardice in the face of the enemy. This chap wasn’t a latter-day legionary was he, by any chance? Gives a whole new meaning to ‘I’m breaking my back here’ – ‘I’m breaking your back here’. Kind of shifts the emphasis.
They chose to be “activatists” let them fund it themselves.
MSM reporting the six hammer wielding activists will be indicted for re-trial on February 18th.
Gives them ample time to put their tea towels through the wash.
Couldn’t help but reflect on the latest reports about our out beloved Labour party politico one Mr Peter Mandelson. Its from the Times.
” Lord Mandelson bought the multi-million pound house raided by police in connection with their investigation into allegations of misconduct in public office following advice from Jeffrey Epstein.
The peer had discussed with the convicted paedophile plans to buy the home in north London, as well as other properties in Moscow and Rio De Janeiro.
He consulted Epstein over the prospective purchase of multiple properties valued well in excess of his government salaries, raising questions about how he planned to finance the deals.”
Fabulous isn’t it. Homes in London, Rio De Janiro and Moscow. Better Together eh? Mandelson, Starmer, Brown, Blair are just who we need. Labour delivers for Scotland – eh?
Better Together in fact!
The issue of John Swinney going to Washington to meet the President and lobby for Scotch whisky is exactly what you would want your first minister to do.
That he did this through the British ambassador to the US who just happened to be Peter Mandelson is of no issue. Much as many on this forum despise the politics of John Swinney it is cheap politics to bray about Swinney staying at the official residence of the UK ambassador.
Cheap shot politics does none of us any good and we should all try and remember that.
Good point, Willie.
Our host could turn this place into a serious forum for discussion and debate overnight, by moderating and eliminating the mouth breathers.
But he chooses not to do so, as is his right, and we can all read the results daily.
Now, in the spirit of true Wings BTL, I’m gonna channel my inner Baird and claim that by staying at the residence of the ambassador from that mythical country, the UK, Swinney tractored every True Scot, and kicked Fanon and Memmi in the balls.
Furthermore, by probably exchanging emails with Mandelson (perhaps his office communicated with Mandelson’s office), Swinney has the blood of Epstein’s uncountable innocent victims on his hands.
Look closely at the next dram you pour. Is that blood discolouring and polluting it? If you suspect it is, pour it down the sink.
“that mythical country, the UK”
The colonial hoax and the colonizers inevitable rejection of the colonized has yet to be understood by more assimilated bourgeois ‘proud’ Scots, including Swinney’s heroes.
Here is another illustration of their ‘rudimentary understanding’ of the colonial condition and the racist response of the colonizer:
link to order-order.com
“‘rudimentary understanding’ of the colonial condition”
Aye, Alf, we’re just too thick to understand. When we travel abroad, we’re all just too reluctant to leave our mythical UK passports behind and march through passport control, declaiming our inalienable rights as Sovereign Scots to go where we please.
As for Fanon, Memmi and the rest, we’re just too uneducated to recognise their innate comprehension of the Scottish psyche, and how it applies to a place, Scotland, they almost certainly could never have found an a map.
Just too ignorant to see through the veneer of foreign, alien, white-hating racism they deck themselves in and to understand how that is relevant to every True Sovereign Scot.
But enough of that. When you leave that mythical country, the UK, Alf, what passport do you wave at immigration on arrival at your destination?
MR SWINNEY GOES TO WASHINGTON
Absolutely correct, Willie.
This is a tawdry attempt to equate his residence at the British Embassy with Mandelson’s stay at the Manhattan townhouse of the jailed sex offender, Epstein.
Worse, it is counterproductive. It detracts from Swinney’s real and serious failings: secrecy and cover-up, which are genuinely in the Mandelson league. The Stonewall- trans corruption of school, the facilitation and support for invasion of women’s spaces by biological men almost wins him promotion to the Epstein league.
We all know that Swinney stayed with Mandelson on his whisky trip to USA in Sep 25.
I have done a quick search but I can’t find where he stayed on his tartan week trip to USA.
Would be interesting to know.
‘We all know that Swinney stayed with Mandelson on his whisky trip to USA in Sep 25.
I have done a quick search but I can’t find where he stayed on his tartan week trip to USA.’
Perhaps you or Stu could do a FOI request.
Some poking around is needed.
The ancients – being the ancients – had a name for when words are used out of their ordained order in a sentence.
In rhetoric hyperbaton this figure of speech is called… as Yoda might have put it.
Dicky Lovelace, the 17th century poet and reputed pornstar, quilled out a famous hyperbaton when he scrieved “Stone walls do not a prison make, nor iron bars a cage,” to which I reply “Aye, but a hoax union clearly DOES make a prison, Dicky… a prison for minds.”
Sometimes hyperbaton works and sometimes it don’t.
“Uneasy lies the head that wears the crown,” scans a lot better, to both eye and ear, and is more memorable than “The head that wears the crown lies uneasily.”
When hyperbaton doesn’t work it can be a bit weird.
John Milton of “Paradise Lost” fame had a thing for hyperbaton.
Sometimes his hyperbaton worked, like when he came up with “pastures new”, and sometimes it really didn’t as in this line from Paradise Lost:
“Him who disobeys, me disobeys.”
To be fair to Milton, his unintuitive line makes more sense in Latin and a rough translation might be something like “Those who do not obey him (some other guy), do not obey me… capisci?”
To my mind, though, the only being ever to use hyperbaton with some expertise in an attempt to appear very, very wise lived long, long ago in a galaxy far, far away.
Next time, The Law… what is it, why is it, whose is it, where is it, How much does it cost and can anyone buy it if they have the cash or just a select and privileged few?
Also, how everyone in Scotland is a criminal because folk stay the same while the law continually changes around them in the most ludicrous, nonsensical and confusing way.
Also, also, is the law an ass – as Charles Dickens would have us believe – or is it just half-assed… like Scots law?
Sorry, Northy, but I couldn’t understand any of that.
Please translate into Scots and re-post.
Thanks in advance.
Shouldn’t you be goose stepping somewhere?
Who’d be Hatey?
Goose-stepping clown looking for a circus.
Look everyone, another interesting and insightful comment from our finest intellect “James”
See above, everyone. Another unionist Fanny.
‘ALL-FEMALE’ HIT MUSICAL ‘SIX’ BLASTED FOR CASTING A MAN AS ANNE BOLEYN
The musical ‘Six’ has cast controversial transgender comedian Dylan Mulvaney as part of its supposedly all-female cast.
Mulvaney, a man who identifies as a woman, has been cast as Anne Boleyn, resulting in public backlash. He previously did a disastrous ad campaign for beer brand Bud Light which resulted in a boycott of the product.
The hit Broadway musical is touted as a female-centred retelling of the lives of Henry VIII’s wives, giving a voice to the historic women. Boleyn was Henry VIII’s second wife, the mother of Queen Elizabeth I, and was beheaded following three miscarriages.
‘CELEBRATING FEMININITY’
Mulvaney commented on social media: “For me to be able to step out onto a Broadway stage as Anne Boleyn and perform an iconic historical character’s role in a show that is so rooted in celebrating femininity, I think that’s a miracle”.
Having more than 10 million followers across TikTok and Instagram, he posted: “I know I have a lot of privilege working for me, and I have this platform, which no doubt helped me get here, but sometimes we have to take a different route to get where we’re supposed to go in life.”
The producers stated that they “have chosen to temporarily limit access to the Broadway production’s X account” as a result of the backlash, saying they felt some of the comments “crossed the line into bullying”.
He is due to start the role on 16 February.
‘BACK TO THE 1600s’
One commenter stated: “It’s meta ironic that in a play that attempts to give voice to the invisible women who have been viewed by history as just the wives of a famous man, the most iconic of those women is now being played by a MAN.”
Another said: “A man playing a woman who was executed for not birthing a male child. If only Anne Boleyn had assigned her daughter ‘male at birth’”.
One person wrote: “Women are still fighting hard for equal representation in theatre and now out of the few roles written for women, this one is going to a man.”
A further comment read: “Right. We are back to the 1600s where boys played the women’s parts. This is wrong in so many ways.”
(The Christian Institute, 7 Feb 2026)
link to christian.org.uk
“Mulvaney, a man who identifies as a woman, has been cast as Anne Boleyn… “
Holy Mary mother of Christ Almighty, Fearghas! What is the world coming to?
Surely Mulvaney should have been cast as Mary Boleyn, Anne’s sister, who was older and, perhaps more to the point, not quite as pretty.
Outrageous miscasting on the part of the musical’s producers!
Only a matter of time until Burns gets the treatment:
link to unherd.com
Fearghas MacFionnlaigh @ 12.35.
Absolutely beyond irony !
It is the American obsession with English history that is truly perverse and queer.
For a modern country of non anglos they do seem to display little historical imagination.
By many accounts Boleyn was something of a tart so maybe the trans character does fit the rôle, though by the standards of the Empress Theodora Boleyn was a small time amateur.
Theodora!….the Musical, no holes barred….can’t wait.
Who is the producer(s)?
Kenny Everett’s “Tinsel Man”?
Has anyone who reads this site ever wondered if Common Purpose might have something to do with the way things in every section of society is going downhill?
Asking for a friend.
North code,
Depends on wether you are perverted cretin looking and aiming for State control over the people?
never had money, and when witnessing how and what it is being used for – to plan control of people,
Then perhaps I ave been lucky not to have had that money.
For eyes and mind surving unblinkered. And not to be driven by greed for more, and more,
My father had inherited titles that had been in the family for centuries, which he voluntary renounced after coming through WW2, the land and the money,
And he was the only surviving son in that family tree line.
He explained to his children why he had taken those actions,
Because during the war after seeing many wounded and maimed Soldiers, but very few high up elites coming through the doors,
He realised when in the medical departments that although we are all humans, some were protected humans,
That the politicians at the top, the governments and the wealthy, the landed gentry of big estates of land and big houses seldom came through those doors,
When he left the Army he got absolutely drunk for two whole days, the only time he drank in his whole life,
Then he gave up his land and titles and moved far away into the middle of the sticks as a ordinary working man,
The next two generations have followed in his believes, that some humans stay protected and safe behind money and titles,
While others die for their Country, in wars for investment and land mass gain for the governments and the wealthy,
My father stopped believing in those feigned wars. War changed his outlook forever regarding wealth that was protected and other sections of humans as canon fodder.
So the distinction and value may not be the size of purse, but of value of human life, it comes down to behaviour of how you use your wealth and finances to improve everyones life, and mostly the generations of canon fodder people war after continuous war.
Those in the upper world of wealth doing, child and women abuse with their finances do not value the life of human beings but use them in the same mental dissconnection manner as those that encouraged them to think humans are expendable if they have no money or capital.
They are not the same kind of humans as those that have wealth, to buy and change laws, to act like preditors on other humans,
Money does not buyth the man, his morale compass and integrity do that.
Well said. Agree with every word.
Interesting, but lets not confuse colonialism with the class struggle. This from Professor Michael Hechter’s study of ‘The UK Internal Colonialism Model:
For this artificial UK ‘political construct’ to work thus required the Scottish: ‘gentry to shed their language and mores to become Englishmen in fact, as well as in name.’ The ordinary people see this of course, in that: ‘The gentry were defined as enemies, not only because of their wealth, but because of their conversion to another culture, that of England’. Colonialism remains prejudice, racism, and worse, not least because to be English-speaking within the UK Celtic periphery: ‘was to be culturally privileged – just as it is today in neo-colonial cities like Accra or Lagos’. Within the Celtic Periphery this also meant that the English held: ‘a disproportionate share of jobs in managerial and commercial categories’. Subsequent socio-linguistic prejudice and ethnically oriented inequalities thus giving rise to: ‘The phenomenon of Celtic nationalism (which) may be seen as a political response to the persistence of regional inequality’. And which is due to: ‘Ethnic discrimination (as a) characteristic of English attitudes towards the Celtic areas’, e.g. with investment capital being concentrated in England.
The ProfessorHechter is quoted as saying “Within the Celtic Periphery this also meant that the English held: ‘a disproportionate share of jobs in managerial and commercial categories’.”.
I’m sure he would not make definitive statements like this without providing the relevant statistics.
So could we please see his data on the share of such jobs held by the English in
The 18th century: and/or
The 19th century: and/or
The 20th century: and/or
Currently:
It would also be useful (if his claim is actually to mean anything) how Professor Hechter defines “disproportionate” in this context. What proportion of such jobs does he feel is appropriate for ‘the English’ to hold?
A further claim appears to be of “‘Ethnic discrimination (as a) characteristic of English attitudes towards the Celtic areas’, e.g. with investment capital being concentrated in England.”. Presumably with c.90% of the population living in England, on a pro rata basis, we would expect c. 90% of investment capital to be invested there….
What would a Yank like Hechter know of the Celtic Periphery?
To many of the bulk of Scots residing in the Lowlands, the Celtic Periphery is the Highlands and the Western Isles, the refuge of the Gael and the last redoubt still speaking Gaelic as a living language.
It’s beyond parody that Professor Baird is often posting on here that True Scots don’t speak Gaelic.
But as Professor Baird is insistent that in his Independent Scotland, decolonisation will require removal of all non-Scots speakers from positions of responsibility and even employment, I think we can justly accuse him of the same colonialist attitudes he is for ever criticising in others.
“Fact”checker @ 7.43
Even for you it’s surprising you came out with this paper thin surrebutter!
You’re the one (allegedly) with the facts to hand so why not do the maths yourself?
Or is the negative debunker (devoid of fact) route more to your taste?
I suspect so.
I recognise what AB said, if you don’t (or more to the point won’t) then you should bend your mighty intellect in that direction and dig into WHY..
@James Cheyne
Why don’t you re-post on some site read by our fighting friends in the east?
I’m confident they could provide some original and pertinent comments that would take your ideas in new directions. After all, they’re experiencing all you write about at first hand, not at your kind of comfortable distance that allows academic, arm chair theorising.
The long arm of colonialism can even reach as far as Italy.
rugby is cringe.
murrayfield, all those blazer cunts, all those private schoolboys banging heads, supported by new town stockbrokers giving it “flower of scotland” in the stands … “scottish” in name only; brigadoon more like, or rather “yoon-a-doon” – the mythical land of “Scotchland” comes into existence 5 times a year for 80 minutes at a time.
every middle class cunt in Scotland is a fucking tr4itor, every edinburgh resident (not from the bantustans on the outskirts) is also a fucking tr4itor.
you are the problem in its essence, in bed with, sucking cock for your anglo masters
the 9th circle of hell is by now a construction zone, making space for the entire scottish political class
what else to watch? – winter olympics?
surprised its not been banned for the racism, where are the people of colour? Its white supremacy, its all white white white, so it is.
Men with oily fannies shouldn’t play darts for their county teams.
Not sure where your rant is coming from but it is so far off the mark I am beginning to wonder if you are just a troll, an idiot or perhaps both. I was a private schoolboy but after returning home along with many others helped to establish a rugby team here in the West coast of Scotland. There is now a thriving rugby league in the West Played by young men and women from local schools that couldn’t find most of the private schools on a map. There are also a lot of parents that go to internationals in Edinburgh and belt out Flower of Scotland with a passion and want our country to leave the union. As what you would describe as a middle class c-nt I wish you would just stand up to balance the chip you seem to have on both shoulders and try to be at least not negative about your fellow Scots. If that is beyond you why not have sex and travel with yourself and give the rest of us peace.
You maybe don’t remember ‘Rugby Legends for No’, reflecting the more privileged culturally assimilated native groups greater propensity to oppose decolonisation (i.e. independence) and liberation of the people:
link to scotsman.com
@Alf
I never made the team either. You have my sympathy. Like you, I still remember how much it hurt.
Unlike you, I got over it.
You joined the other team.
Hey Rev, I’m wondering why two lengthy replies concerning fascism to Hatey’s post at 7.41pm on the 6th have been moderated away? What’s the problem?
Were they about goose stepping by any chance?
Relax. You’ve already covered that to the best of your ability.
Ask the Rev, his machine chose to protect you from having to answer to it.
Awww. I wanted an opportunity to enthuse about the health and fitness benefits of goose stepping. Stamina building too, and it’s a slam dunk way to develop those washboard abs that the lassies can’t get enough of.
But now you’ve come over all coy on us, you’re never gonna find out.
Loser!
@ Alf Baird 6.31 pm . I remember it well Alf also supporters of a certain football club that were going to leave the country if we voted Yes and academics , lawyers ,athletes and public figures so not sure what your point is if any. Are we to tar you with the same brush as a lot of people with Dr or Prof before their name because they were against Indy?
David, You are obviously not aware of the threat of cultural colonisation that we live under. Indeed, it may already be too late to maintain our Scottish culinary purity. After all, chicken tikka marsala was invented at the Shish in Glasgow and is now one of the most popular dishes in the country. Scots played a major role at all levels in the colonisation of India, but the tide is now in the other direction. Alf Baird’s warning is to be taken seriously, as are all his posts.
Your rugby league is another example of colonialism that cannot be allowed. William Webb Ellis was another of these privileged youths that Alf so rightly warns us of. Our rugby team should walk off the field at Murrayfield next week rather than play the English at their colonially imposed sport. That would show them.
Oh dear. Poor “fact checker”…he doesn’t even know that it’s rugby union at Murrayfield next week, not rugby league. What a walloper!
Says it all really. LOL
“not sure what your point is”
Postcolonial theory tells us that the more culturally assimilated native bourgeoisie, being “the most pampered and privileged” (Fanon) group in a colonial society, and who “crave dependency” (Cesaire), seek to protect their privileges by “creating as much social distance between them and the mass of the native population” (Memmi).
Which is what we see, also aided by ‘colonial’ (private) schools and elite universities.
Language theory, and common sense, tells us that colonial and post colonial are different things.
A science and engineering background tells us that when people routinely use words with different and indeed mutually exclusive meanings to describe the same thing, then they are promoting a pseudo science to lazy thinkers.
Sorry Alf still not sure what your point is and if you are implying I am a non native and\or a culturally assimilated native bourgeoisie whatever that is. I attended a private school which was established as an engineering school for children from the crofting counties thanks to a grant from a trust fund and also attended a university thanks to a government grant. Born and brought up in Argyll by Scottish parents and grandparents and have campaigned for Indy all my adult life. I can understand why you don’t seem to like rugby when you see how it has held back former colonies like Australia and New Zealand. Aye right.
“…have campaigned for Indy all my adult life.”
LOLZ. That right, aye?
Aye James, it would help if those who claim to have “campaigned for Indy all my adult life” actually understood what independence meant (decolonization) and why it is necessary (liberation fae oppression):
link to cpb-us-w2.wpmucdn.com
Well Alf, on this one post you’ve commented no less than 10 separate times with this “Scotland is a colony” mince so nobody can accuse you of not putting in the legwork. Although a cynic might be inclined to suggest that such behavior is indicative of an obsession.
I think we all get the message, perhaps you could move onto something more useful like teaching “James” how to read and write?
“I think we all get the message”
I suspect the ‘message’ is far beyond the ability of your Yankee program to even process let alone comprehend, AI Dan.
For those Scots who wander this place and who don’t already know… there can be no doubt Scotland IS a colony… check out Alf Baird’s book “Doun-Hauden: The Socio-Political Determinants of Scottish Independence” (just £4:99 for the kindle version on Amazon).
For those Scots pondering Northy’s undoubtedly unsolicited plug for Professor Baird’s book, it must be pointed out that Northy claims that English is the lying tongue of the coloniser.
Thus by his own beliefs, his post is not to be believed.
But any Scot still harbouring doubts should also know that Northy claims to be from a planet many light years away.
And so by his own admission is a super colonist in a league of his very own.
Sadly for you Alf, very few of your countrymen, whether Scots speakers or not, actually buy your “Scotland as colony” schtick. If they did doubtless your book would be considerably more popular than it appears to be, and indeed we’d see some evidence of it’s popularity in mainstream politics, and amongst pro-independence parties.
In reality of course the narrative is seen as flaky in the extreme. No major party accepts it, no major political figures endorse it and it is widely reviled by professionals in all spheres of life: law, academia, the media.
What you’re left with are the drunk bores people move away from in pubs, chip on their shoulder schemies boring folk at bus stops, and cappuccino commies sitting in their Byers Road vegan cafes making macrame yoghurt pots whilst campaigning for Jockistinian action to stop the jennycide.
It’s pointless trying to reason with true believers of course: they’re as immune to reason as those who maintain TWAW. Small minded bigots are the same the world over, and irrespective of their hobby horse monomanias: it matters not whether it’s post colonial theory, trans-rights, or the necessity for local things for local people. Pig ignorant flat-earthers to a man, or indeed woman.
No wonder the cause of Scottish independence is fucked for a generation with the number of dimwits who fall for this kind of bullshit.
@Andy Ellis
On your list of those whose attachment to Indy holes the cause below the water line, you omitted them who self-identify as extraterrestrial Picts.
By comparison with them (or him, he may be unique), the constructors of macrame yogurt pots seem nearly normal!
“Jockistinian”
As Memmi wrote, “racism is a consubstantial part of colonialism” and hence racism is always prevalent in colonial society.
The colonizer seldom hides this fact, as we see, but the problem for the colonized is that colonialism is often obscured by the cultural assimilation process; for the assimilated colonized become and think like the colonizer, assuming their values, and internalizing (accepting as deserved) colonial racism.
And the fact the colonized mind is in denial (of colonial oppression) remains an important part of the colonial condition.
The dilemma for some may also be in ascertaining whether they are colonizer or colonized?
Did Memmi really write that, Alf?
What percentage of Scots, even among the majority whose first language is English, can provide an accurate definition of “consubstantial”?
Looks to me like Memmi was quite happy to adopt the foreign values and internalised mind set of the coloniser when it suited him.
A bit like yourself!
Woo hoo!
Someone (Keir) has hit the defrost button and the Broontosaurus has been thawed out to save the (Labour) Union..
Keir’s “A man of integrity” and Mandy is the devil incarnate!
Pity he didn’t mention this earlier to Keir as auld bleary certainly knew it!
Why not?
Oops, my bad, he was in cryogenic storage and only gets defrosted when the Yoonion needs barnstormingly saved..
Anyone got one of those fancy new Flash mops? – Gordos slevering, again..
Young Lochinvar @ 21.48.
“Hot Patootie – Bless My Soul”.
And, surely many of us recall how being thawed out from the freezer worked for poor old Eddie in Rocky Horror.
Another who, similar I suspect to the guy who destroyed the pensions industry and sold off our gold reserves after announcing he was going to, was operating with half a brain.
Rather like some of our most regular BTL contributors who often appear to operate with half a wit.
link to taylorfrancis.com
“…Hechter examines the unexpected persistence of ethnicity in the politics of industrial societies by focusing on the British Isles. Why do many of the inhabitants of Wales, Scotland and Ireland continue to maintain an ethnic identity opposed to England? Hechter explains the salience of ethnic identity by analyzing the relationships between England, the national core, and its periphery, the Celtic fringe, in the context of two alternative models of core-periphery relations in the industrial setting. The “diffusion” model suggests that intergroup contact leads to ethnic homogenization, and the “internal colonial” model, suggests such contact heightens distinctive ethnic identification. His findings lend support to the internal colonial model, and show that, although industrialization did contribute to a decline in interregional linguistic differences, it resulted neither in the cultural assimilation of Celtic lands, nor the development of regional economic equality. The study concludes that ethnic solidarity will inevitably emerge among groups which are relegated to inferior positions in a cultural division of labour.”
Conclusion? Fuck off, England
Or..
To quote English Henry VII (Tudor) marrying off his daughter to a reluctant King James IV of Scotland;
“The larger swallows the smaller”.
Kind of sums up history thereafter..
Young Lochinvar says:
7 February, 2026 at 10:58 pm
‘Or..
To quote English Henry VII (Tudor) marrying off his daughter to a reluctant King James IV of Scotland;
“The larger swallows the smaller”.
Kind of sums up history thereafter..’
========
Unfortunately for Henry VII’s vision, a future King of England did not acquire the Scottish Crown.
James VI, King of Scots, via this marriage, acquired the English throne in 1603.
Henry VII’s Tudor line died with his son , Henry of England’s bastard Betty Bullen, regicide of Mary of Scots and rightful Queen of England.
Cynicus @ 1.02am
Yes, however the Henry VII quote I noted was the response to one of his close advisers who had expressed the concern that the quoted marriage ran the risk of putting future Scots monarchs somewhere on the rankings of line of succession for the English monarchy.
Heck, by the time of Chucky 1 he had become (à la Teflon Tony) more English than the English proving the accuracy of the prediction.
YL:
“Heck, by the time of Chucky 1 he had become (à la Teflon Tony) more English than the English proving the accuracy of the prediction.“
======
Is that the best bit of goal post shifting you can manage?
Henry’s forebears failed over many centuries to acquire Scotland by armed force force. When his “cunning plan” to do so by dynastic succession backfired, you pretend it actually worked. The Royal Stuart kings of England became English!
You are smart enough to realise the flaw in your pitch: Thanks to HRVII, England was ruled until 1649 by Scots monarchs born and culturally formed in Scotland. Hence, the deus ex machina of Tony Blair.
I doubt if TB’s and Edinburgh’s Fettes College, effectively part of the English public school system, fostered Scottish cultural formation.
The inescapable truth is that “one of his (HRVII’s ) close advisers” was right and HRVII and you, wrong.
Promise me you’ll keep trying.
Cool yer jets Cynicus, we are just discussing history..
Cynicus:
Is that why James VI rarely visited Scotland again and ruled from London via Royal Commissioners?
Is that why Chas 1 unseated himself in the long term by attempting to foist Church of England religious practice on Scotland?
Is that why Chas 1s children and onward offspring showed more interest and spent the VAST majority of their time in England ruling to suit English political contentions, while happily polarising issues in Scotland like a see-saw as and when to suit their appetites?
Frankly, I find it disturbing how Chuck 2 celebrated the Scots defeat at Dunbar before going on to take them to ultimate destruction at Worcester..
Come 1660 restoration; no thanks, no homily to blood spent..
Nope, zilch, narda, zero, none.
That Scots Royals succeeded and “ruled” England as you mention is false and conveniently forgets the fact post 1603 Stuart Monarchy goes down as hardly a golden age for actual Scots who were mere cannon fodder to Stuart Royal aspirations during their troubled tenure.
We diverge in that I believe James IV should have better resisted shotgun marriage and that James VI would have benefitted from strangulation at birth.
“The larger swallows the smaller”, and in their dynastic aspirations and rampant hubris they dragged US along as their dowry while ignoring the recorded quotation noted above.
Feel free to disagree but nothing I have said is incorrect..
Love it when you ardent republicans start wanging oan aboot our rich, complex, and above all SCOTTISH monarchy.
It’s as if despite all your Socialist special pleadings, you’re still desperately yearning to bend the knee, bow the heid, and hand over all responsibility for your lives to a supreme leader ordained by divine destiny.
It’s all part of the pattern that includes calling for Brussels to govern us and petitioning the UN to gift us our freedom. Plus, of course, when you buy into the notion that we Scots are powerless to help ourselves, it’s easy to blame everything on the Big English Bastards Who Then Run Away.
And the ultimate proof as we career towards the election in May. No party, no policies, no excitement, no ideas, no hope for anything other than 5 more years of stasis, while the exemplars for the socialist cause sit on their arses and wish forlornly that somebody else would do something.
H McH
You’re projecting again “old boy”..
@YL
Thanks for the complement.
The reality though, unpalatable as it may be, is that sometimes what looks to the unfortunate man like “projection” is simply the fortunate man’s natural, resting endowment.
So now you know.
@ H McH
?
So you’re projecting then; and a proud-boy projectionist at that!
Oi vey y’all!
Jeez, it’s difficult keeping up with your (expanding at a geometric rate) self awareness..
Round of applause for Hatey (old boy), he should have appeared as the monolith in 2001 a space odyssey!
Or do I miscry?
The Scottish legal system headed up by a shower of bad wanks.
Over the years Wings has posted the newspapers subscription figures, have you stopped doing that?
It would also be interesting to know how many people on here subscribe to The National and their reason for doing that.
I personal do not and would never subscribe to The National for me the paper is a con to keep us tied to the Union.
Subscription AND circulation numbers.
I have long given up wondering how that rag (in its latest editorial form) pays its way.
James says:
8 February, 2026 at 12:00 am
“Oh dear. Poor “fact checker”…he doesn’t even know that it’s rugby union at Murrayfield next week, not rugby league. What a walloper!
Says it all really. LOL”
If James had bothered to read the original post, he would have seen that David wrote ” There is now a thriving rugby league in the West Played by young men and women from local schools”. That is the’ rugby league’ to which I referred. Yes, James, your comment does say it all, really.
So Mandelson got sacked as ambassador and it now emerges that he got a £55,000 pay off
You couldn’t make it up. Its utterly outrageous, beyond outrageous. Starmer, Mandelson, Brown, the Prince all of the same ilk.
Suck it up little people. That’s about all one can say.
“Your rugby league is another example of colonialism that cannot be allowed. William Webb Ellis was another of these privileged youths that Alf so rightly warns us of. Our rugby team should walk off the field at Murrayfield next week rather than play the English at their colonially imposed sport.”
Your post, Walloper.
Yes, James, it is. And as I made clear previously, my reference to “Your rugby league” refers to a league of clubs playing rugby that David had spoken about earlier. Not about the game of rugby league, as opposed to the game of rugby union, which I refereed for over 20 years.
But since you still apparently haven’t bothered to look at David’s original post (or you simply don’t understand the difference), please feel free to remain in your state of ignorance.
You’re welcome.
BEHOLD! the veil of Britannia’s insular temple is rent from top to bottom, its gods exposed as childish myth, its high priests found mired in historic corruption and deceit.
We might expect the Scottish element to be readying to jump the old shrine, but the über feirt party of Scotland might be planning just another rearrangement of the moldy deck chairs on the sodden beach.
Scotland’s mangy, sclerotic old «liberator» having gotten used to its janitorial status, maybe.
If by the end of 2026 Scotland is still part of this unholyland of augean filth, the population may as well jump into the sea and swim like hell, preferably to a warmer clime.
The problem with that, TURABDIN, is that we’ll find the sea hoaching with fowk swimming the other way. Just as we’ve found every year of this century so far.
The usual suspects like to try to excel each other with their doon hauden, exploited, oppressed, colonised pish. All the while ignoring the reality that there’s hundreds of millions just waiting for the chance to take their place.
And once they’ve done that, the New Scots will be counting their blessings until the day they croak.
Alf Baird,
Some people may confuse wealth and Colonialism,
As i explained in my post a morale compass and integrity is that that makes the person not the money,
Having immediate ancestors of Scots, Welsh, Irish and English. I have four nations blood in my veins, three of them Celtic,
Raised in Scotland,, beaten through schooling and education for naturally speaking Scots,
Seen and experienced with my own eyes the differences and distinction between the four nations and in treatment wether that is in money, housing, education, fishing, farming, land grabs, planning or politics.
One of side of My grandfathers generation and multiple previous generations being what is known as titled and landed gentry,
My father decision being the only son, to denounce his inheritance after his experiences in war time. Has enlightened the many generations that came after him,
We have personally lived and experienced both sides of the coin,
The rich and the poor, the ignorance and knowledge, the languages and the banning of languages,
The ownership of people and their countries, in Scotland, Wales and Ireland,
and freedoms one should have naturally.
I am not confused over Colonialism and wealth, or the connections and networking, the information fed to the people varying entirely different from the information suppliers.
But I am surprised over the confusion of how one should behave when in amongst other humans.wether rich or poor.
Thinking of the behaviour of Andrew Mountbattan, Jefrey Epstein, jimmy Saville, Mandelson and the cover up rape gangs in Britain,
it does have connections to a few links,
Wealth and the ability to use wealth to cover up wrong doings or buy lawyers and judges.
The the money being used and funded for lobbying laws to pass so that those accused are not being accessed / noted as crimes.
The biological sex of the rapist and perpe("Tractor" - Ed) that abuses is mainly and a high % male. Not just the colour of his skin,
Why import more male immigrant rapists to our shores, and leave their women and children behind.
Only wealth of our lobbyied politicians changes laws,
Only wealth can buy lawyers and judges,
Only wealth can transport of people and pay for the boats.
There is no confusion in my mind between colonialism and crimes and criminals,
Both needing money to feed it, and organisational skills networking that most perverts or drug traffickers have knowledge of,
Money in Westminsterwill not stop these gang when these gang are the lobbyists.
James Cheyne
“There is no confusion in my mind between colonialism and crimes and criminals. Both needing money to feed it, and organisational skills networking that most perverts or drug traffickers have knowledge of. ”
Never a more accurate sentiment expressed..
England plundered the world. That was what their Empire was all about. And just how focussed that plundering is now clear for all to see with the absolute sedition of not just senior members of the government but also the equally seditious Royal family.
They’d screw your five year old child for money and depravity.
@Alf Baird 10.33 am. When you are in a hole Alf best to stop digging. Not sure at what point you came to the conclusion that the best way to help as get out of the union is to sink the boot into fellow Indy supporters or am I missing your cunning plan? The beauty of the last Indy campaign was how factions that would scarcely talk to each other came together to fight a common cause. You come over as the same as quite a few of the so called great and good of the yes movement with your my way or the highway attitude and it is not helpful. Perhaps you just need a hug.
LES MAINS SALES.
The foundations of the British state were laid when frenchified norsemen arrived on Englands southern shores and set about checking out what they had expropriated through that great inventory the Doomsday book.
All the rest is incidental to that great property scam.
The thing is rotten. It ought not to exist in the 21c.
Sadly, Scots are very much part of this whether they choose to accept it or not.
All who collude with the established system have by default dirty hands.
I was feeling far too positive today therefore decided to read the comments for a healthy dose of bitterness and negativity. As per usual I was not disappointed.
Does anybody know how many wee Mickey Mouse independence parties there are? Why do they not merge and try and form a credible alternative to the SNP? However, i suspect that the heirarchy in each of the parties see themselves us big fish in a wee puddle and loathe the thought of being a wee fish in a wee puddle or being ousted completely as a high heid yin in any new party.
He can appeal to the King of England, Scottish coronation oath extract – They shall preserve and keep inviolate the rights, revenues, and all just privileges of the Crown of Scotland, and shall neither transfer nor alienate the same. They shall forbid and suppress, in all estates and degrees, theft, oppression, and all kinds of wrongdoing. In all judgments they shall command and ensure that justice and equity be kept toward all persons without exception, as the Lord and Father of all mercies is merciful to them.
The prime minister has resigned!
No, not Starmer, but the real prime minister, Morgan McSweeney, protegé of Mandelson whose Washington job was secured by McSweeney’s advice against that of wiser heads.
Starmer, who doesn’t know if a woman can have s penis, is an empty suit that might fall off its hanger any time.