Why I could never vote Labour

Posted on April 12, 2011 by

Pictured below: Shadow Chancellor Ed Balls and the leader of Labour's MSPs in the Scottish Parliament, Iain Gray, at a campaign event earlier this week.

Have you spotted it?

0 to “Why I could never vote Labour”

1. Dr Octagon says:

at least it's honest.

2. Tom Feilding says:

Spotted what?

And what happened on Sat?

3. Scarysheep3000 says:

Man, you really hate diet soft drinks.

4. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

"And what happened on Sat?"

Busted out the first time I got my chips in with the worst hand (K4c shove called by A9o, 4 hit but then the 9 did), in 37th place. Didn’t have a single hand over 1 pair all day.

5. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

"Man, you really hate diet soft drinks."

They're all right if you're a girl or a homosexualist. If you’re a straight man who isn’t diabetic and you’re drinking Diet Coke, I wouldn’t trust you to hold my wallet while I sneezed, never mind run a country.

6. Matt Smith says:

Worse still is Coke Zero. Those who claim that wretched drink possesses "Real Coke Taste" (clearly implying that it tastes the same as real proper sugarfied Coke without actually saying that, for obvious trading standards reasons) are in dire need of a high-velocity knee to the ghastliness.

7. Anonymous X says:

I've been on a sugary drinks binge today following an encounter with norovirus, and I swear that regular Coca-Cola has gives you a 'kick' that Pepsi doesn't. Pepsi is just watery, sugary, it has none of the edge. And it seems to be either too carbonated or flat seconds after opening the bottle. Pepsi is basically own-brand cola with a marketing budget.

8. daneel says:

In fairness, Ed doesn't look like he actually has his mouth open.

9. The problem, obviously, is that they're both drinking from tiny soda bottles.  Real American Men drink from large, enormous, kidney-bursting Mega Super Ultra Gulps!!1!
    Aside from the fact that they're politicians who look like they're cloned from a factory, that's all I got.  Do I win a prize?

10. Darren says:

I've spotted it, yeah.  They're at The Haçienda.

11. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

Arf!

12. aerisdead says:

Wait, what we were supposed to spot was that they're drinking diet? I thought it was that they're obviously not drinking it, instead holding it to their lips. I thought this was a commentary on how false Labour are. Confused now.

13. Irish Al says:

And they’re really tiny little bottles.

14. Captain Caveman says:

I didn't think the anomaly was their selected beverage; my money was on their apparently being somewhere industrial, given that when these people were in charge of the Country, they destroyed most of it?
    Perhaps it's a 'post industrial' call centre or nationalised bank branch or something. Frankly, I'm only surprised that the aptly named Messrs. Gray/Balls didn't reverse their caps in a crass attempt to get down with the (unemployed, unemployable, uneducated) kids.

15. No Name says:

I vote for the fuchsia baseball caps. As well as everything mentioned above.

16. Dr Octagon says:

I thought it was the blue tie !

17. Tom K. says:

It’s as simple as this:

They look like a pair of prats.

18. Nitpicker says:

They were wearing coke-branded caps which were hastily photoshopped by the Labour PR team?

19. Rory says:

Is it not more the fact that it isnae made in Scotland fae girders?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,847 Posts, 1,231,893 Comments

• Tinto Chiel on Off-topic: ““…..aided and abetted by the UK high heid yins”, a fact sadly never reflected in the MSM. Mrs Tinto has…Dec 8, 22:33
    • sarah on Off-topic: “Well, you’re not wrong about world events, the most awful things going on, aided and abetted by the UK high…Dec 8, 21:53
    • James Cheyne on The Long Walk To Freedom: “The final analyses of the dissolution of the parliament of Great Britain time and again so the parliament of England…Dec 8, 21:31
    • James Cheyne on The Long Walk To Freedom: “The parliament of England after acting as the parliament of England to make treaties and contractual agreements legally cannot re-…Dec 8, 21:07
    • James Cheyne on The Long Walk To Freedom: “So what did I omit in my ramblings and thoughts to you all while I swither over the treaty of…Dec 8, 20:45
    • Tinto Chiel on Off-topic: “Hi, Sarah: oh, no, just girding my loins (ooh, matron!) for The Last Battle. I’ve only looked in two or…Dec 8, 19:59
    • Aidan on The Long Walk To Freedom: “I’ve no idea to be honest Hatey, but as long as they are FIGHTING that is good enough for me.…Dec 8, 19:58
    • Northcode on The Long Walk To Freedom: ““… you’ve taken that too far.” I fear you might be right… I feel dirty now. Not least because I…Dec 8, 19:56
    • Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Hmmm, Northy, you’ve taken that too far. Cos I don’t want to believe you enjoyed having high pressure air blasted…Dec 8, 19:34
    • Northcode on The Long Walk To Freedom: ““…an increasingly big and increasingly vocal minority…” Indeed, aye. I was having a bite of lunch a couple of years…Dec 8, 19:31
    • sarah on Off-topic: “Hi, Tinto. Nice to hear from you. I trust that all is well with you and you are keeping your…Dec 8, 19:29
    • Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Ah ken that ane. It’s ane of the Apocrypha. But dinna let oan tae Confused.Dec 8, 19:26
    • Northcode on The Long Walk To Freedom: “I was played like a church organ once…I rather enjoyed the experience.Dec 8, 19:10
    • Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: “@Aidan Has it occurred to you that the Liberate Scotland boys are almost certainly FIGHTING among themselves?Dec 8, 19:09
    • Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: ““Labour had been in power in Scotland mostly for the previous 70 years and the destruction and carnage they presided…Dec 8, 19:06
    • Northcode on The Long Walk To Freedom: “It’s a noitalever to me.Dec 8, 19:03
    • Northcode on The Long Walk To Freedom: ““Saint Northy” Oh here! I quite like that. I might set it up as a new moniker on here and…Dec 8, 18:58
    • Nae Need! on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Fact, James Cheyne.Dec 8, 18:56
    • Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Did you know that cat is just tac spelled backwards?Dec 8, 18:55
    • Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: ““And how much I hate them. For failing us all entirely.” Quite a reek of smouldering breeks from that post,…Dec 8, 18:53
    • Northcode on The Long Walk To Freedom: “I would rather be a deluded eejit than a colonialist… and, thankfully, I am. Phew! And, yes. I WILL be…Dec 8, 18:51
    • stuckdoonhame on The Long Walk To Freedom: “And true to type, Misreporting Scotland has just treated us to a pile of wibbling drivel about the outcome and…Dec 8, 18:44
    • Aidan on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Quite right! Both votes SNP, that’ll show the yoons! Or you could be one of the ten people voting for…Dec 8, 18:41
    • Nae Need! on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Absolutely, Willie.Dec 8, 18:35
    • Nae Need! on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Indeed, Northcode. And for once, I’d prefer (hold me back, hold me back) NOT to go on a huge rant…Dec 8, 18:17
    • Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: “@ Northcode says: 8 December, 2025 at 5:50 pm “ALL colonialists are bad” Oh aye. That’s why you go to…Dec 8, 18:13
    • Northcode on The Long Walk To Freedom: “God IS love.Dec 8, 18:10
    • twathater on The Long Walk To Freedom: “HaHaHaHa another wee yoonionist shittin his breeks , now lads we are all good Jockos lets get together and vote…Dec 8, 18:07
    • Nae Need on The Long Walk To Freedom: “No. But by fuck the wriggling on the line puts ALL worms to shame. Talking of worms . . ;-)…Dec 8, 18:04
    • Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: ““it’s time the Scots stopped whining” Finally. Please tell us you’ll be leading from the front, although your “released from…Dec 8, 17:58