The Longest Road

Posted on February 16, 2026 by

As the six-year fight for justice for Alex Salmond continues, we thought you might like to see this clip from this morning’s Mike Graham Show, interviewing Paul McManus, the businessman and drummer in Glasgow rock band Gun who’s stepped up to fund the Salmond family’s case against the Scottish Government despite disagreeing with much of what Alex stood for politically.

We take our (hi-)hats off to him.

0 to “The Longest Road”

1. James T says:

Their cover of Word Up by Cameo was rubbish though.

2. duncanio says:

It’s good that someone with deep pockets is picking this up.

The Salmond case against the Scottish Government was originally a suit for £3m.

Given that Paul McManus has been “assigned” the case – with the support of Moira Salmond – does this mean that, should he be successful, will the ‘winnings’ will be given to himself or to the Salmond estate?

3. Ryan says:

Word up!

4. Alf Baird says:

Great guy, well done Paul McManus. And if he wants to know why the dominant national party are compromised, postcolonial theory tells us how this occurs and what the outcome is:

link to cpb-us-w2.wpmucdn.com

5. crisiscult says:

Respect to the guy for being led by a sense of justice above anything tribal. The host of that programme does, however, remind us of just how patronising the metropolitan south Brits are. Bringing up the guy from Still Game – actually, I think it was McGlashin from Absolution – is what my kids call “major cringe”.

6. Marie Clark says:

What a nice man. Good to know that there is still some good people in this mad world of ours. Well done sir.

7. Calum says:

Fair play to Paul – he’s not wrong about the state of Glasgow in particular under the SNP but Labour did have a hell of a long time in charge before them!

Gotta respect him being willing to do this – a “team of lawyers” won’t be cheap!

8. 100%Yes says:

There is two sorts of nationalism in Scotland at the moment, 1 who supports Independence and believe in democracy and justice and left the SNP early on when Sturgeon made it perfectly clear (Lets make Westminster work for Scotland) that she wasn’t going to pursue Independence while she was leader of the SNP and FM. The other sort of nationalism is Independence will happen but don’t concern yourself about the WHEN its more important to focus on trans rights and the LGBTQ+, who only support what ever Sturgeon says or does and anyone who apposes Sturgeon isn’t a Indy supporter and attacked and abused.

Lets not beat about the bush, these individuals are the poorest supporters of any Independence movement, The National, Lesley Riddoch, Gingerdug, Scotgoespop, Gordon Ross, the two daves and Independence live they are all running round with their heads in the clouds shouting Scotland should be Independent instead of shouting and direct that question at the SNP leadership and asking them what are they going to do about it but instead stay silent.

Lets remember why sturgeon turned on Salmond it because he was questioning her speed to act on Indyref2.

This sad affair has damaged so many people, people who have even went to jail in the pursuit of that justice. So I believe it isn’t just Salmond who deserve this justice its also the people who its effected and Scotland deserve to know the truth as well.

• Alf Baird says:

“There is two sorts of nationalism in Scotland at the moment”

What you refer to is more the co-option of a dominant national party which, instead of liberating the people, seeks ‘an accommodation with colonialism’ (Fanon).

In my analysis of the colonial reality Scots face I found two quite different forms of nationalist ideology, as set out in the ‘Determinants of Scottish Independence’ theoretical framework:

1. Trans-national nationalism – Here we have imposed on Scots a British ‘One Nation’ political ideology which, in order to be effective, includes and requires enforcing Cultural and Linguistic Imperialism policies and with this comes an Anglophone Cultural Hegemony and meritocratic elite/cultural division of labour favouring the dominant power/culture.

2. Self-determination nationalism – which is about rejection of colonialism and its alien culture and liberation of the oppressed and colonised group, where independence is also about decolonization.

• 100%Yes says:

Either way Alf, we do have a major problem and its the SNP and Sturgeon who are the cause of everything.

• Alf Baird says:

Well, they are certainly “a major problem” but I would argue the root ’cause’ is colonialism which makes them (and others) behave the way they do.

• Tartan Tory says:

“There is two sorts of nationalism in Scotland at the moment”

Enlightened, engaged and erudite. Willing to play a longer game for the right outcome.

Blinkered, detached and thick! Voting NuSNP regardless and anyone else is not a true Indy supporter.

• Lorna Campbell says:

Alf: it might be colonialism to an extent, but it doesn’t explain the actions of leaders all over the world who, when decolonised, feather their own nests with their people’s wealth. Nah, it is that these kinds of people tend to want power so that they can do what they do.

Salmond was a rare leader in that he did not siphon off billions into Swiss bank accounts. People choose how they want to behave, and if they misbehave, it is usually because they want to do just that and any opportunity presenting itself will be grabbed.

What happens with colonialism/decolonisation is that they open up opportunities for unscrupulous people to behave entirely in their own interests. Again, Salmond was the exception to that rule. I remember the SNP when it was filled by earnest people working hard to create an independent Scotland. It was taken over by the ‘boys and girls in suits’ – like every other party in the UK – and homogenised into a fluff, middle-class fiefdom. That is what happened to it, and that had nothing to do with colonialism per se.

Look at the ANC in South Africa – now so corrupt, it makes Apartheid look like a walk in the park. So many died for nothing. Look at Ireland. The same kinds of hard Left, post modern policies as we have here are killing it. So many died for nothing. Nah, Alf, leaders choose their path, and, unfortunately, they also choose the path of those who trust them to deliver. Never, ever set anyone on a pedestal because he or she will always have feet of clay. Exceptions exist, of course, but they are a precious few.

9. Lorna Campbell says:

Well done, that man!

10. Den says:

The case has a better chance of success if the SNP are nowhere near government after May, I’d love for a clear run at all the information held rather than the SNPs downright refusal to comply with even the high court order to release docs under an FOI . All to protect the lying alpha betties

11. GM says:

We needed someone to take it on. I suspect Paul McManus will be targeted. Most of it will come from people with a vested interest in things staying as they are. Misguided people on social media are a tiny proportion of the Scottish population and can be easily ignored. The vast majority of Scots, and pro Independence voters will make up at least half of us, want to have confidence in our legal system and parliament. We need this to be pursued properly to the end.

12. dan macaulay says:

?????

13. PC Foster says:

God bless Paul McManus- what an excellent man.

14. kittyklat says:

Lets hope the role of PCS (Scotland) is also examined. They seriously let down a number of female and male CS members in this debacle. The Salmond family should go for PCS also.

15. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

There is a poem online.
    It is essentially about The Bruce.
    But it can be dusted off in honour of The Alex…

AN TUAGH / THE AXE

link to archipelago.org

• Sven says:

“The axe is broken, another we have yet to find”.

Thankyou for that link, Fearghas, it moved my spirit.

16. No fan of British nationalists esp winging British labour types,

but in this case ,

“The enemy of my enemy is my friend”

17. 100%Yes says:

Paul McManus, isn’t the sort of person to chuck his money down the drain without an exit.

Is the end in sight for these individuals, because if it is Paul McManus knows about it.

18. Bobo bunny says:

So what’s in it for him?

By the time the case comes to court, the referendum will be over. Why is he doing this?

If he’s trying to destroy the SNP, they are doing a good enough job themselves. Is this to ‘force the matter for the good of Scotland’, or to destroy the independence movement by killing it’s (supposed) largest party?

Something stinks.

• agentx says:

@ Bobo bunny.

Did you even listen to the interview? I found him very straightforward with what he said and the reasons for doing it.

Nothing stinks and by the way what referendum?

• bobo bunny says:

Ok fine. Election.

He isn’t doing this because he cares about Alex Salmonds’ legacy, or the cause of independence – he is doing this to destroy the SNP, and therefor the independence movement. But I agree the truth needs to come out, and the SNP need a root and branch clear out. They are infiltrated and corrupt.

Some would say the SNP are the biggest impediment to independence, but with no viable alternative, are you happy that they get voted out, and Labour, or worse, get voted in?

It seems to me the SNP are the least shit option, and SNP 1 INDY 2 will get at least some real independinista’s sat at the table.

But I dont trust ‘the drummer from GUN’ any more that I trust ‘the keyboard player from Runrig’.

• 100%Yes says:

He’s delusional with regards to the Labour party and Britain and to be honest I’ve never heard of him or his band. But make no mistakes he’s an Unionist through and through. With regards to his motives, I like you believe he does hope to destroy the SNP, for me the SNP is the route problem and nothing is going to happen until the SNP is dead and buried, so I wish him every success on that.

Salmond may he RIP gave us the idea of Independence and that isn’t going to go away anytime soon and the destruction of the SNP isn’t going to destroy the idea of Scotland leaving the Union and becoming Independent.

Do I like this guy, no I don’t, he’s every thing I despise about a turn coat Scot. But I do welcome his intervention for justice for Salmond and I hopefully one day will see the one’s responsible put behind bars.

• Young Lochinvar says:

Best review, well said!

The interviewer is patronising à la MSM..

At least though he didn’t claim (on this interview) that we are all drunks, benefit junkies and sleeping on park benches!

Unlike some tw8ts posting here..

• P P Foster says:

Bobo bunny says ‘So what’s in it for him?’

Innocence is important to the innocent and truth matters.

Maybe he just wants to see a few perjurers jailed.
      Ideally sharing a cell with a real male rapist.

19. Doreen A Milne says:

Paul seems to be a decent bloke and I admire his commitment, financial and moral, to seeking justice and the truth. Well done, Paul. Power to you.

20. Effijy says:

Interesting! Is this really an honourable quest for justice with his own funds,
    Where did those funds come from as the band don’t seem to sell so many albums?

Is it a case of a unionist Labour supporter seeking out incompetence and cover up from SNP supposedly the party of independence.

Alex Salmond deserves justice and his wife a secure future if suing the party in court is feasible.

Our only hope of following the story on main stream media is if SNP are catching it straight from the fan. I’m sure the BBC would combust if they announced an injustice against Alex.

• agentx says:

link to bbc.co.uk

• Hatey McHateface says:

Have a heart, x.

If Effijy combusts, that’s gonna be on your conscience for literally minutes.

• Sven says:

Mr McManus is a multi millionaire who has a history of supporting groups/charities which he feels have been unfairly treated,as well as donating to the Labour Party.
      In 2022 he donated £40,000 to the “Lez Fight Back Fund”, with the promise of a further £60,000.
      He does have a history of donations to smaller, underfunded groups.

• Hombre says:

He has successfully businesses and sold a quarry business, whilst I don’t agree with his labour support,over the years he has put a lot of money into supporting and keeping rehearsal venues open so kids can get started etc
      Genuinely wants to help people out regardless of persuasion,I have no doubts he is in it for the right reasons

21. Arthur Martin says:

I’m delighted at this announcement. Great to see the SNP fighting on so many fronts and experiencing a taste of what they put Alex Salmond and his family through. Hopefully this court action will result in the personal destruction of Sturgeon and her accomplices and the party she created after taking the reins in late 2014. Until this festering boil is lanced and the SNP destroyed, independence is dead in the water.

• 100%Yes says:

The SNP isn’t fighting on any fronts that the problem, its the Scottish government and tax payers money. If we could get the SNP out of power in May then it would be entirely down the SNP to go and fight these battles alone.

That’s why its important that the SNP doesn’t win power in May.

• Hatey McHateface says:

The SNP office holders are individually responsible for discrepancies in the accounts, at least.

Alert readers are aware that some of them very publicly resigned some time back, making clear the reasons why.

These chickens are only now coming home to roost.

22. Wally Jumblatt says:

someone asked “what’s in it for him”?
    Where do some people get their bitterness and suspicions from?
    If that’s how people think about everyone (bar themselves no doubt), why would anyone stick their head above the parapet.

well done to the drummer

23. DaveL says:

F.S. There’s always one eh, but already there’s two. Bobo bunny and Effijy moaning and suspicious.

Take a look and you’ll find the guy’s more than a drummer, he’s a successful businessman with his head screwed on. As for what’s in it for him, is it too much to think that it’s the simple satisfaction of righting a wrong or shoving it up a bunch of evil petty minded nothings? Or both? Either one’s worth a fortune.

And aye, as Doreen said, more power to him.

• Dan says:

DaveL. Why are you so sure that there are only your two suggested options for why he may be doing this.
      There’s myriad potential reasons why, and also blends of reasons, which I am sure an astute businessman and politically expedient individual would have considered.
      Aye, tae better days indeed, just like GUN’s 1989 song.
      But those aspirational lyrics didn’t really come to much though with Labour running the Scottish Executive… And most of that rump just morphed into the SNP when it became the best gravy self serving option.

I guess dropping comedy classics like complaining about failing infrastructure in Scotland, and starting a charity to fill potholes, is easy when you simply gloss over Labour’s McConnell handing money back to the UK Treasury because he couldn’t think of anything to spend it on here in Scotland.
      And let’s not forget The Only Game in Town with the current shower of yellow shite “governing” Scotland still saddled during these times of manufactured austerity with servicing extensive PFI debt payments from when the previous shower of red shite ran Scotland and made such an arse of things.
      100 year lockdown on details of Dunblane tae for some reason… Should have just got the redactor pen out and slapped alphabetty-like anonymity on those needing protected.

Same shite different day. But good luck to him pissing away cash trying to right a wrong and garner justice from the very system that created the injustice.

Meanwhile, in Norway… Da fuck we gonnae spend all this dosh from the oil fund on…

• Hatey McHateface says:

A plucky race, the Noggies.

Right up near the top of the biggest per capita contributors to the just struggle for existence of our gallant fighting friends in the east. So they are generous too.

Of course, no doubt sharing a border with the Orcs concentrates their minds somewhat.

I would never presume to claim that perhaps the Providence who sees and knows all has seen fit to reward the virtuous Noggies, and withhold his blessings from the querulous Scots – undoubtedly for very good reasons.

But as many do believe, The Lord helps those who help themselves. The Noggies threw off their “colonising power”, while we were greetin intae oor drams.

We’ve been greetin intae oor drams ever since and that kind of persistent lack of actions has consequences.

• GM says:

It is not as if we don’t have recent experience of being conned. This would be a cracker. The finishing touch on a decade and more of betrayal and psychological manipulation (torture if you are the Salmond family). Still, I live in hope and take it at face value.

24. AlMac says:

This is brilliant news, and I really don’t care what side of the political fence Mr McManus sits on. I actually think he comes across very well and speaks for many people who would be in favour of Independence of the current crowd charged with obtaining it were competent and straight.

Very simply, this is someone aiming to put right a wrong. Like David Davis, a differing political view can easily be put aside when looking at the bigger picture. I would dearly love to see the late Mr Salmond properly vindicated and any dirty laundry aired. If nobody from the Independence side is willing/able to put their hand in their pocket to see this done, then we should welcome Mr Mcmanus’ input. If this goes the way I hope it does they should be erecting statues to the guy.

And as far as Independence goes, a clearing of the air and a reset may not be a bad thing. It’s going nowhere under the current incumbents.

25. Northcode says:

Whit a couple o gawsie leukin birkies – like a pair o wee geeglin piglets… twa o the cutest colonialists (unionists if preferred… same thing) a’ve iver laid een oan.

A’ve a muckle urge tae tickle thair wee fat bellies an tae makkit thaim geegle e’en mair.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Why don’t you then, Northy?

As the alert readers have sussed, if you claim ADHD it’ll likely get you off an open-and-shut case of GBH with an offensive weapon.

Got to be worth it for you to attempt the ADHD defense when charged with sexual assault.

• Jennifer Livingston says:

Gentle is the one who shares a plate when another’s has been stolen.
      My family was busy getting their land and farm turned over to the government for imminent domain anticipating train tracks in Guilderland County during this time period but, isn’t it nice to know some families always have it together no matter where on this globe?
      We now live in the town of a family who was the only one to have have a carriage besides the governor at that time.
      Does seeing the name Campbell peak your curiosity?
      link to schenectadyhistory.org

26. Confused says:

but what if shirley manson picks up nicola sturgeons legal bills?

– checkmate

or Rod Stewart becomes Chief Justice?

BAAAAAAAAAABY – NIK … I KNOW
    SE-CRETS
    ABOUT
    -YOU

unintended consequences and the thin end of the wedge

27. Hatey McHateface says:

An interesting take by Robin McAlpine on the linkage between Mandelson and the people running Scotland at/for HR:

link to robinmcalpine.org

The probability is very high indeed that Professor Baird will pop up to flog his book and claim that this is all predicted by Fanon, Memmi, and perhaps even the elusive Jonesie.

• Alf Baird says:

More than happy to provide you and Robin with the science explaining our colonial condition, Hatey; then you and he or anybody else should be less shocked or confused by events, or the inevitable economic and social under-development of a plundered colony and its doun-hauden fowk:

• Hatey McHateface says:

Thanks, Alf. Took you a bit longer than I anticipated, but no harm done.

I have a personal antipathy to being asked to suspend my belief that these foreign, ethnically different, white-hating pseudo intellectuals, have anything relevant to say about Scotland’s place in the UK, Europe and the world.

Particularly as I consider it most likely none of them could ever have found Scotland on a map.

Particularly as they were writing the thick end of a century ago, about an international world order that no longer exists.

It seems strange to me that you use an alien, foreign mindset as your main tool to fight the alien, foreign mindset you claim to want to remove from Scotland.

If, as you claim, it’s not possible to decolonise using the coloniser’s tools, how can it be possible using another colonised’s tools?

• Northcode says:

Aye, Alf. I don’t believe Mr McAlpine has fully grasped the true nature of Scotland’s predicament, or understands the underlying causes of our nation’s dire management by what is laughably called the Scottish Government.

28. David Holden says:

A short post would be thank you Paul and I don’t care what your motives are if it helps the Salmond family get some relief. The longer version is to me he sounds genuine in what he says and a bit like Tom Hunter who I think was no fan of the SNP but sent a jet to fly Alex Salmond back to the UK because he could and it was the right thing to do. Good man Paul.

29. MaggieC says:

Well done to Paul and all involved in going ahead in the fight for justice for Alex. X

“ So tremble false wigs in the midst of yer glee
    For you’ve no seen the last of my bonnets and me” Rip Alex.

• Young Lochinvar says:

Amen to that!

May they have restless sleeps..

30. Black Joan says:

RESPECT!

31. Dickiet says:

McManus is clearly doing this to try and destroy the SNP — it’s got nothing to do with “salvaging Alex Salmond’s reputation”. That’s just the vehicle he’s jumped on to land a punch where it hurts.

That said, we all know the uncomfortable truth: if Scotland is ever going to gain independence, the SNP in its current form probably has to be destroyed first.

So McManus may end up getting a result he didn’t actually expect.

32. agentx says:

“Nicola Sturgeon to write ‘chunky new chapter’ to update memoir”

Oh it seems her memory is returning (to try to make more money).

• 100%Yes says:

Its Peter memoir we’ll be interested in.

• Hatey McHateface says:

There’s a rumour the ‘chunky new chapter’ will be ghosted by the script writer for the latest “Wuthering Heights” box office smash. Film rights will be retained.

Phwoarr!

• Sven says:

Did you not inadvertently omit a comma from that book title, agentx ? Surely it should read, “Chunky, new chapter”.

33. James Barr Gardner says:

Call me cynical, but remember to beware of Greeks bearing gifts………..

34. David Ferguson says:

I’ll do my best not try your patience Rev, but I’ll be posting this regularly on your threads up to the election.
    I still have faint hopes for Scottish independence in my lifetime. I plan to vote Reform 1 and 2 for Holyrood. Why not an alternative Indy party? Because the alternative Indy parties are toothless, and will remain so until the SNP are utterly crippled. Prospects of independence likewise. With their current strength in polling, Reform represent by far the best opportunity to hole the SNP below the water line.
    I also plan to vote Reform in the next general election. Why? Because a massive victory for Reform represents by far the best hope for Scottish independence. A Reform victory will lead the UK to even more incompetent governance than Labour or even Tories. The resulting chaos will naturally increase support for Scottish independence.
    But the more important reason is that the core support for Reform comes from exactly that cohort of English people who have been trained all their lives to loathe the Scots as a bunch of scrounging subsidy junkies. That mindset should be assiduously cultivated. Every time something goes wrong, the root cause is those scrounging Scotch – we need to get rid of them! Build that into an irresistible movement.
    In other words, the focus of Scottish independence moves to England, where all the power lies, rather than Scotland, where no power lies.

• bobo bunny says:

See how you feel 4 years from now when you are rolling around in aditch, fighting over the last mouldy potato…

• David Ferguson says:

Yeah well you know in the real world that’s not going to happen. And at least I have a clear and plausible strategy that I can actually explain. If you have a better alternative feel free to present it in as much detail as you like.

35. Hatey McHateface says:

An interesting article on what the author calls the “Fourth Industrial Revolution” – the wipe out of office based jobs coming to us all soon, as AI adoption takes off.

link to unherd.com

It’s interesting that only last week the usual suspects were all in a lather over Thatcher’s legacy. That falls into what the author refers to as the “Third Industrial Revolution” – the one that came for much of the blue collar job opportunities.

Typical that in the enthusiasm for endlessly wanging oan aboot the unchangeable past, the still malleable tsunami hanging over our heids is studiously ignored.

With an election looming in May, it would be nice to think we could scan the manifesto commitments of the parties, and maybe select one that has a coherent policy for managing AI, so that there is some hope that reasonable public finances could survive. Taxing the AI beneficiaries for example, to raise money to meet the benefits claims of the AI losers.

I suspect though, that not one party has a scooby on what to do about any of this.

• TURABDIN says:

The great matter is not AI itself but those with the funds to control and influence the technology. Sofar it is deployed for home security and miltary uses in both China & USA. It has great potential as an extension to human general intelligence but also presents risks of plunging users into a state of dependency and bondage not to the tech but to those who train it and market it.
      Countries and their governments ought to be concerned at the «purpose» of the tech and wise up to its current uses within their territories which may be highly subversive and counter democratic in practice.
      This is a big leap, equal to the creation of the meaningful signs we call writing.
      Writing is product of human intelligence so is AI and AGI, We ought not to be mesmerized or blinded by «the science».

36. Northcode says:

Kindness, integrity, selflessness and moral excellence; the call of nobility is more than just social status – it is a duty, it is an obligation, it is noblesse oblige (nobility obliges).

The term, noblesse oblige, implies that those born into or holding positions of wealth, power, or prestige are morally bound to behave generously, ethically, and responsibly toward those less privileged.

The OED defines “noblesse oblige” as the notion that noble ancestry restricts those fortunate enough to possess such to behave honourably… a code which my own family has rigorously adhered to for many generations.

Is what we see in the actions of Mr McManus noblesse oblige… or is it something else entirely?

Time will tell, but for now, perhaps, we should accept the apparent generosity displayed by what, on the surface at least, appears an honourable and concerned Scottish citizen at face value… and hope that his motivation is genuinely selfless.

• Andouillette says:

My family too. Ancient Scottish nobility, now much diminished. My grandparents never stopped, they spent most of their days sending donations, doing voluntary work, writing letters on behalf of the myriad causes they supported etc etc.
      Let’s give Mr. McManus the benefit of the doubt for what seems to be a genuine case of ‘doing the right thing’.

37. TURABDIN says:

THE CHALLENGE….a proactive «army»of liberation or another passive «party» of liberation?

38. Alf Baird says:

Colonialism is not that complicated, Hatey. There are only two main protagonists in colonial theory – the colonizer and the colonized. And there is only one remedy – decolonization.

link to salvo.scot

• Hatey McHateface says:

You choose to ignore the complications, Alf.

Colonisation is like a set of those nested Orc dolls, with the additional complication that some of the smaller dolls aren’t even in the bigger dolls. They’re off to one side.

We can all see that Scotland is colonised by our American friends. How could it be otherwise when so many of these friends are our own people? Descendants of those Scots who went there to colonise. Now they colonise our culture, our language, and our attitudes.

We can all see that Scotland is colonised by adherents to the religion of peace. FFS, we’ve had one of them as our FM! We haven’t had any descendants of Yanks as our FM that I know of.

As a result of that strand of colonisation, we have tacit acceptance of cultural behaviours quite alien to the Scots. Polygamy, female subordination, cousin marriage and de facto blasphemy laws, to name a few.

Then, of course, we have the colonisation you like to focus on to the exclusion of all else – the English.

Quite frankly, I see that as being the easiest one to deal with. All it needs is a few hundred Scots to organise themselves into a serious political pro-Indy movement with plausible real-world policies that can command the sustained support of a majority of Scots.

Quite frankly, why that seems to be beyond the wit and wisdom of Indy-minded Scots mystifies me. I do, however, have some suspicions, and they are nothing whatsoever to do with underhand machinations of big, bad English barsturts.

I think it far more likely that no political movement has formed to fill the Indy vacuum because that vacuum does not exist. You choose to interpret that as us Scots being colonised in our heids. Occam’s Razor tells me the majority of Scots simply don’t care.

We’re a scant few weeks away from the HR election that will deliver the administration affecting our ordinary day-to-day lives for the next 5 years, Alf. There is no serious, believable, Scotland-wide party or movement standing with any sort of rousing pro-Indy plan whatsoever.

Go figure.

39. Northcode says:

The real ‘war’ facing the Scots isn’t material… it’s spiritual, psychological if preferred, and the field of battle is in their minds and not the streets of Glasgow or Edinburgh or any other physical place on Earth.

The spirit of the Scots has been broken, deliberately so, by three centuries of oppression under England’s vicious heel using the brutal weapons favoured by colonialism and its heartless acolytes.

The solution is simple enough, although very difficult to act upon… like garnering the courage to leap from a clifftop into a rock-ringed sea far below to save oneself from certain death at the hands of a deadly pursuer.

But the choice open to the Scots isn’t ‘be smashed on the rocks below or be smashed by the hammer of their oppressor’ – the choice is between leaping into the latent life-giving unknown full of possibility, or most assuredly perishing where they stand on the edge of a cliff… that’s the only real choice the Scots have open to them.

Being smart and fearless I chose to jump… join me, the water’s lovely.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Yum. Scotch on the rocks. But surely a bit too early in the day.

• Northcode says:

I rarely feel the urge to respond to your stuff, but you actually made me laugh out loud… not bad at all.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Enough of that, Northy.

I don’t want you subtly fooling me into thinking an interstellar Pict can ever be regarded as equivalent to a Sovereign Scot.

What we have to do is written in the Declaration Of Arbroath. The Picts must be “utterly destroyed” so that we Sovereign Scots keep the faith with our illustrious forebears.

If we stretch a point, perhaps, and adopt the Reform policy of repatriation – I trust you’ve kept your starship in good order?

• sam says:

Northcode, Alf, others.

This is worth reading, I think.

link to cambridge.org

• Hatey McHateface says:

Whoops!

“For all their theoretical insights, neither postcolonial theory nor decolonial studies systematically demonstrate through sustained empirical investigation the means or modalities by which colonialism shapes the present. Rather than offering genealogies of colonial legacies, most of this work assumes them. At most, the literature points to inequalities, institutions, or epistemes today and asserts that they are legacies of empire or that they are somehow the direct cause of past imperialism and colonialism. But it rarely shows it through historical investigation. Nor does it specify the mechanisms or processes by which the colonial past continues into the present.”

• Northcode says:

From the same article.

“…colonialism depends first and foremost upon the declaration of sovereignty and/or territorial seizure by a core state over another territory and its inhabitants who are classified as inferior subjects rather than equal citizens… Colonial empires thus consist of a single core state exercising direct control and declaring sovereignty over multiple territories and people.”

Thanks for the link, Sam.

• Alf Baird says:

Yes indeed, very interesting, including the definition of “modern colonialism” which:

“depends first and foremost upon the declaration of sovereignty and/or territorial seizure by a core state over another territory and its inhabitants who are classified as inferior subjects rather than equal citizens (Osterhammel Reference Osterhammel1999; Go Reference Go2011: 5–12; Arneil Reference Arneil2023). Colonial empires thus consist of a single core state exercising direct control and declaring sovereignty over multiple territories and people.”

• Hatey McHateface says:

To paraphrase my dear departed Mammie:

Fa “classified [ye] as an inferior subject rather than an equal citizen”, Alf?

Haha, don’t bother replying. You start with that assumption because you are democratically denied by a majority of Sovereign Scots what you personally want.

Twas ever thus. Instead of identifying and rectifying whatever it is that stops a majority of Sovereign Scots from supporting your cause, you give up and seek to find “reasons” why the minority should enforce their will on the majority.

I did rather think that article would be suitable for the Pick’n’mix approach. It contains something for everyone. Every reader can find something that vindicates their personal beliefs, if they clamp the blinkers on tightly enough.

And lo, it came to pass.

• Alf Baird says:

“they clamp the blinkers on tightly”

That seems an apt way to describe the effect of a ‘colonial mindset’ affecting thaim Scots wha ‘crave dependency’ on the British cultural illusion Rees-Mogg rightly terms ‘Englishness’:

link to yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com

• Hatey McHateface says:

“they clamp the blinkers on tightly”

That seems an apt way to describe somebody who refuses to answer a simple question because providing the answer will reveal the paucity of their evidence and the threadbare condition of their logic.

At 12:38 you implied that you, I and all other Scots are “classified as inferior subjects rather than equal citizens”.

I don’t recognise that classification. I’m asking you to provide some evidence that supports your statement, and that doesn’t resolve into the usual self-fulfilling circular argument.

40. 100%Yes says:

Just donated to Mark Hirst legal fight, the link is below.

link to civillibertyscotland.com

• sarah says:

@ 100%Yes: good man for posting this link to the Mark Hirst crowdfunder. What a wonderful day it will be when the Scottish legal system, Lord Advocate, and Scottish government have to face reality and be subjected to the people’s judgment.

• Hatey McHateface says:

It’s an interesting case, right enough.

As already covered by Our Host, not that long ago, Mr Hirst lost his claim for damages, as under existing Scots Law, he is not eligible for any.

Now he wants to go to a “higher” court, in Europe, to overturn existing Scots Law.

Individuals can, obviously, make up their own minds on this. But I do find it borderline perverse that self-identifying defendants of Scotland’s unique culture, legal system, history and identity will call in external help when they can’t otherwise get the result they want through Scotland’s very own legal system.

I guess it’s just too damned difficult to put the “bottom up” principles they all claim to be signed up to into practice. For example, by campaigning to get Scots Law changed, engaging a political movement with that aim, and validating grass-roots support for it at the ballot box.

“Too wee, too poor” at every turn. Perhaps the Big Boys in Strasbourg will do the grunt work.

Why the crowd funder anyway? According to the information online, proceedings are free, and in the event the petitioner loses, his costs are written off.

41. Debatable Lands says:

A man does something decent out of his own pocket. For Scotland. In fact, doing something virtually every contributor to this site has called for.

But because he is not pro independence, a few decide it is more important to attack him with terms like ‘turncoat Scot’ and cast doubt on his motives.

Honestly, you need to take a good look at yourselves.

• 100%Yes says:

No I don’t, anyone who supports the Labour party and I’ll remind you no other party has caused to much damage to Scotland than the English Labour party.

This is the party who has never allowed the Scottish people to thrive on the fear of losing their votes.

I have applauded him for what he’s done, I’ve also stated I don’t agree with his politics and for me Scotland comes first, second and third its that simple.

Our colonizers have got a lot to answer for and so do their supporters.

• GM says:

It has fuck all to do with his political leanings. I am delighted someone has taken the case on and could not give a shite who they vote for. Like damn near every other Independence supporter on here. After the last decade or so, howevere, it is difficult to banish all doubt from the mind. We have a few news paper articles and one interview. I am hopeful

42. Northcode says:

I think there might be more to this story than just someone blowing their trumpet over their ‘funding’ of another’s civil litigation case – a legal case potentially worth £3 million to whoever owns the rights to it if I understand the gist of it correctly (and I freely admit I might not, having little knowledge of such things – so folk best find out for thersels).

Can civil litigation cases in Scotland be bought and sold like any other asset?

And if so has Salmond’s widow sold the case to someone else for a price, or transferred the rights to it to ensure that justice is done in the name of her late husband?

I don’t know and I do not currently doubt the motives and the integrity of the folk involved… I’m only asking questions in an effort to understand what is the truth behind this kind and noble gesture.

Most likely things are simply what they appear to be in this matter… but I don’t know for sure yet and so I’ll wait until I have more information before consolidating my view on it.

• 100%Yes says:

He was revealing a lot more than people took on.

• sam says:

Northcode

I think this is why it happened. Frae the BBC.

“The estate of former first minister Alex Salmond is seeking sequestration – the Scottish legal equivalent of bankruptcy – due to costs linked to court action.

Salmond won a judicial review against the Scottish government over the handling of two harassment complaints against him by civil servants which were ruled to be “tainted with apparent bias”. He was awarded £512,000 in costs.

His former lawyers, Levy and McRae, are now acting for his wife, Moira, in winding up his estate.”

43. willie says:

I think civil actions can effectively be be bought and sold,

The classic example of this is no win,no fee type agreements where a third party funds a civil action in return for a percentage of any damages award. Additionally court costs and expenses usually follow the winner. So yes, there is every chance that support for this action could be predicated on that.

But we don’t know any detail and of course the financial support here may also be founded on righting wrongs. So irrespective of the reason or reasons, the funding of the action is good for the family, friends and many supporters of alex and for the good of exposing rotten and corrupt governance.

44. Cynicus says:

MaggieC says:

“ So tremble false wigs in the midst of yer glee“
    ==========
    Amen to your sentiment, Maggie. There is a slight typo in your post. You mean :

“So tremble false Whigs …. “

AS was channelling his inner Cavalier.

After his time, to slightly amend line in the same ballad,

“With sour-featured Whigs the ..[SNP]… was crammed…”

Sturgeon and Swinney are heirs to the worst of that same thin-lipped Covenanter/Whig tradition that executed 20 year-old Thomas Aikenhead for blasphemy in 1697.

Salmond’s “blasphemy” was his continuing prioritising of Scottish independence.

#No Votes SNP

45. TURABDIN says:

TRUMP the great dictator or the great liberator?….hmmmm
    If he gets away with this playacting the world becomes the US plaything.
    Were Scotland a free independent entity now, he’d probably crush it were its government too «independently minded».
    Cuba starves, the Yanquis feast on the corpses.

• 100%Yes says:

Slow down, your over thinking politics. Try focusing on the morons back home.

Trumps played his TRUMP card and lost with Greenland. Why don’t you just state you hate the bastard and be done with it.

Who give a toss about the USA or Trump, put your warship away Scotland is safe for now, his attention is Iran.

46. David Holden says:

Still not seen Melania the movie and it is unlikely to make it onto the Screen Machine play list I will just have to live with it. Watching politics on the other side of the pond and the American boast that everything is bigger over there certainly stands up when you look at the corruption and venality of the Trump family. Here the scandal is over a motor home and a few bits of consumer goods while in the land of the free it involves billions in ball room backhanders , crypto junk and threats of legal action. Good job we have not planted spuds on one of his golf courses and turned the clubhouse into a refuge for asylum seekers or the biggest aircraft carrier in the world would be parked in our waters rather than heading through the Med to threaten the Iranians.

47. agentx says:

I am pleased to report the Isle of Islay has safely arrived at A Coruna, Spain. Bay of Biscay next!

The Bay of Biscay is a treacherous, triangular gulf of the northeast Atlantic Ocean bordering western France and northern Spain. Known for severe winter storms and deep, rough waters—reaching depths of over 4,700 meters—it is a major, albeit challenging, maritime route.

48. Confused says:

Academic writing is boring, flatulent, nonsense, often dipped in jargon, sophistry, even when it is something straightforward; picking through this –

link to onlinelibrary.wiley.com

I will pull out the highlights :

“Our new results also reveal some important insights about the long-term effects of North Sea oil and gas. In 1961, total Scottish GVA per capita was marginally better than Norway. By 1971, just before North Sea was beginning to come on stream in both countries, Norway was slightly ahead, and by 1981, both Norway and Scotland total had moved ahead of the UK. However, by 2011, Norwegian GVA per capita was more than double than that of Scotland and the UK. Clearly the discovery of North Sea oil and gas has been used more advantageously by policymakers in Norway for economic development than was the case in Scotland and the UK.”

– well, DE YI THINK?!

“As has been documented, Norway used an element of these gains to invest in long-term economic development, including establishing a sovereign wealth fund. The UK did not.”

– aka PISHED IT UP A WALL

“Outside of the early 2000s, and even in the high inflation environment of that time, growth in the 1980s in the onshore economy was higher than in other time in more recent history. This was at the height of ‘Thatcher Economics’ and the hollowing out of much of Scotland’s industrial base.”

– thatcher pumped the oil like fuck to create her “economic boom” – and then attributed this to her degulation of the city, which was a “weatlh creator”. Hardly. Then she wrecked the scottish economy as a byproduct because it was full of nasty men who used to go on strike.

This is how to make it in academia – work out something, state it plainly, then bloat it up by a factor of 20 and make it more difficult for the ordinary punter to read.

But even if you get through it, it absolutely fails to address the “elephant in the room” – the pound, because of the oil, becomes much harder than it should be, which makes imports cheaper, which allows all the nigels to eat since they import 44% of their food. The oil acts as the capstone to a massive pyramid of assets which are denominated in GBP – the oil acts as collateral for the whole scamming operations of the city.

– this is a problem with academics in general; you need to “stay in your lane” to maintain credibility – adding in the combined effects of currency fluctuations, well that would be another department entirely,

• Hatey McHateface says:

I guess the problem with eejits in general is that they always believe there is but one cause for every situation.

Thus:

The Third Industrial Revolution – hollowing out blue collar industries and offshoring them where wages are low, and human rights and environmental protections don’t apply – Thatcher!

The lack of a majority in Scotland supporting Indy – Sturgeon!

The answer is always that if that one factor had been different, everything else would have magically turned out for the best.

I blame the kind of books 4 year olds are given to teach them how to read. The incredibly simple story lines cut such deep tramlines in the child’s developing intellectual capacity, the child can never thereafter comprehend the breathtaking complexity of the real world.

• Chas says:

You had better hope the learned Professor does not read that! He won’t be happy.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Naw, Chas. Anybody writing anything the Baird/Northy axis disagrees with has been internally colonised.

Think of it as a contemporary refresh of the older Scottish belief that anybody living an unconventional lifestyle or departing from approved orthodoxy was in league with the devil.

At least barrels of burning tar are prohibitively expensive these days, due to environmental protection laws, health and safety, and the general debasement of the currency.

• Alf Baird says:

“by 2011, Norwegian GVA per capita was more than double than that of Scotland and the UK.”

Just like Norway’s GDP-per-capita which is also more than double that of Scotland’s:

And another downside of London mis-rule is that Scots are forced to pay the highest energy prices in the world, four times as much for our electricity as Norwegians:

The economic plunder of colonialism.

• Aidan says:

@Chas – Alf knows these figures are wrong, as I have pointed out to him before and he has admitted, yet he still posts them unaltered.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“Scots are forced to pay the highest energy prices in the world”

Our “goitrous academic” repeats his canard.

Quite why you choose to lie about something so easily checkable beats me, Alf. 30 seconds online investigation (for example, Uswitch) reveals that Scots don’t even pay the highest electricity prices in the UK.

As for Europe, the electricity costs in Ireland, Germany, Italy and Belgium generally exceed that of the UK. Again, easy to check online.

Trust is so hard to earn and so easy to lose, Alf. If you really believe the economic case for Indy is sound, it shouldn’t be necessary to lie about it.

• Alf Baird says:

Aye Aidan, and we also forgot to mention Norway’s $2 trillion wealth fund, whilst Scotland has been made impoverished by colonialism.

• Aidan says:

Scotland is one of the wealthiest countries in the world, as I pointed out GDP per capita in Edinburgh is around the same of Singapore and Oslo. Hardly “impoverished”. What Scotland does suffer from is significant post-industrial depression in areas like the East of Glasgow and parts of the central belt.

49. Cynicus says:

GET GRAVATARS!

I only read a few of the comments on here, but it is becoming increasingly tedious to identify the Ones worth reading.

Why Do so few use gravatars? Their use makes it easier to scroll down the screen and avoid the duds.

Please make life a little easier for those of us we are increasingly hard of seeing!

• Hatey McHateface says:

I asked Grok to summarise your post, Cynicus:

“Those of us increasingly hard of thinking need a way to identify posts we know in advance we will agree with as these are the only posts we intend to read.”

HTH.

50. agentx says:

Wow – GB womens curlers just had a great win!

• Hatey McHateface says:

Ah, c’moan noo, x.

Lots o’ loons wear curlers these days. They’re nae jist fer quines.

51. Fin says:

Aye no political agendas at all on the mike Graham show, guy thinks you can grow concrete. Wings level of reputation

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,885 Posts, 1,237,363 Comments

• David Holden on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “Yes I have had the odd run in with Roddy and was blocked by him on Twitter. When he went…Mar 9, 10:56
    • James Che on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “John Swinney would know this, as did Alex Salmond and Nicola Sturgeon, The political parties place the pretence of a…Mar 9, 10:56
    • Cynicus on Scotland’s Most Frightened: ““Fuck the Yoon Golfers and the game of Golf.” ===== Grow upMar 9, 10:53
    • Geri on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “Hang on…. haven’t yer overlords said there is no such thing as international laws? They’re completely stumped when asked this…Mar 9, 10:50
    • Aidan on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “That’s not true – administering states over NSGT’s do have obligations under international law to help those territories achieve self-government.…Mar 9, 10:49
    • James Che on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “Scotland made no 1707 treaty of union with the parliament of Great Britain, and, Scotland made no 1707 treaty of…Mar 9, 10:48
    • Geri on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “Iran entered a security pact with R. If Trump uses nukes they’ll be receiving them back. & Japan had already…Mar 9, 10:35
    • sam on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “The hope is not “to persuade the UN to force the UK …etc”. It is that the UN C24 will…Mar 9, 10:20
    • Iain More on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “re willie I think thanks to,the toxic anti Scottish Milllbland and our other toxic anti Scottish Colonial rulers there are…Mar 9, 10:19
    • Northcode on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “Good post, Alf.Mar 9, 09:56
    • Northcode on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “Ignore him, Sarah. He’s a malfunctioning artificial ‘intelligence’… on skis. And a close friend of Julie Andrews I heard.Mar 9, 09:45
    • willie on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “And so we are well into the second week of chaos in the middle east which shows no sign of…Mar 9, 09:44
    • Alf Baird on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “Yes sarah, a majority of nationalist elected members of a colonial parliament are meant to declare independence and liberate a…Mar 9, 09:42
    • Northcode on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “Here’s another pointless and meaningless comment… just like 100% of the unionist comments posted in this place.Mar 9, 09:36
    • Northcode on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “This one is about nothing in particular… like 90% of the unionist post in this place.Mar 9, 09:33
    • Aidan on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “Of course that’s total nonsense, such a declaration would have no effect in law at all. The claim of right…Mar 9, 09:32
    • Northcode on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “Oops! That should read ‘arseholes’. The English pednats will be efter correctin ma Inglish wird spellings soon.Mar 9, 09:31
    • Northcode on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “Fuck off, AI Dan, yer a prick. A prick on skis by the sounds of it. The hills are alive…Mar 9, 09:29
    • Northcode on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “Four shitey comments in a row frae HoS. I wonder what its next shite comment will be… nae funny, that’s…Mar 9, 09:27
    • Northcode on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “Your jokes stink, HoS. |English humour is shite.Mar 9, 09:25
    • Northcode on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “Ah, the puerile mind of a pedant is shown to us… who could have guessed that ‘Hate over Scotland’ -…Mar 9, 09:24
    • Aidan on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “So here I am up the slopes in Norway enjoying my morning coffee, suns out with not a cloud in…Mar 9, 09:13
    • Hatey McHateface on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “We certainly know the Eppy class think a lot about weans, Geri. Interesting to read the end is nigh. But…Mar 9, 08:27
    • Hatey McHateface on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “A hindrance too, Northy.Mar 9, 08:22
    • Hatey McHateface on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “Good post Geri. March on Hollyrood. Impeach them all. Declare Day 0 of Plan A. Hand on heart, I’ll be…Mar 9, 08:21
    • Hatey McHateface on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “Sure, Alf, the fitba players on million dollar a week contracts aren’t privileged elites. If only I could get some…Mar 9, 08:15
    • twathater on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “I too stopped believing in the Alba party after the sidelining of Sara Salyers ,Sara received a standing ovation at…Mar 9, 03:01
    • Cynicus on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “Mark Beggan says: 8 March, 2026 at 11:45 am “I can’t watch women’s football without thinking about sex. Does this…Mar 9, 00:59
    • sarah on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “@ Geri at 10.57: “Holyrood …has zero power to legislate for a referendum.” But it can hold an election on…Mar 8, 23:21
    • Geri on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “Sarah, Only Westminster is the recognised seat of power. They need to concentrate on winning seats there. Holyrood is a…Mar 8, 22:57