Never the twain shall meet

Posted on March 27, 2013 by

A keen-eyed viewer alerts us to the alarming fact that the Herald appears to have been letting Magnus Gardham write its leader column with his crayons again:

eastlothian1

(Online version since fixed, print version preserved for posterity.)

46 to “Never the twain shall meet”

1. McHaggis says:

I pointed this out in a submitted comment that has not been published (quelle surprise)…
    how can ANYONE write a political opinion piece that can be taken seriously and include the likes of this?

2. MajorBloodnok says:

“East is east and west is west, but I know where the sun shines best.”

I have this indelible image of John Inman signing that Al Jolson classic, dressed up as Bo Peep.  Perhaps it’s what Magnus does in his spare time. Does his mammy know?

3. Training Day says:

I wonder if Gardham’s obvious political acumen can afford us an insight into the situation in West Korea?

4. creag an tuirc says:

I was watching a John Wayne Eastern the other day. “How The East Was Won”

5. Craig P says:

I wonder how long Magnus Gardham has been in Scotland though? If he wasn’t around when devolution started, he might never have heard of the WLQ. (Not that that excuses ignorance in a political reporter)

6. scottish_skier says:

<facepalm>

7. Albert Herring says:

Haw, stop pickin on puir wee Magnus, you lot! His mind’s no on the job, thinkin o all thae Wester eggs he’s gettin next Sunday.

8. Macart says:

DOH!!

Political commentator?? 😀

9. creag an tuirc says:

Maybe if The Herald moved their main offices from the East of Scotland to the West, they wouldn’t make these mistakes.

10. Albert Herring says:

@creag an tuirc
    Was it in Westmancolour?

11. Luigi says:

Those separatists are so evil, always trying to break South Britain away from the rest of the country. Don’t they realise they will never be able to watch West-Enders again?

12. Luigi says:

Magnus hamGard needs to check his proofs more carefully.

13. McHaggis says:

Anyway, no time to stay chatting here, gonna watch that old Hitchcock classic North by NorthEast and then on to an Eastlife concert…

14. Training Day says:

Magnus has helpfully pinpointed the problem with my lunch..the bread hasn’t been baked using ywest.

15. dmw42 says:

Sorry to be even more pendantic, the West Lothian question was about Tam Dalyell asking why he could vote on education in England but was not allowed to answer questions of the Scottish Parliament on education in Scotland.

16. EmbraBoffin says:

Looks like the Herald could do with employing one of the soon to be sacked proof-readers at the Scotsman 

17. dmw42 says:

Sorry, ask questions of the Scottish Parliament, not ‘answe’. Doh.

18. Jeannie says:

Do you think they’re just trying to divert our attention away from their embarrassing result  in the Westleigh by-election?

19. tartanfever says:

Possibly Jeannie, my own personal theory, it’s a deliberate attempt to confuse the Scots voters by dis-associating ‘bitter together’ with the seat of all things bad, the UK Govt in Eastminster…

20. Bunter says:

BBC lunchtime news has J Baillie and Eleanor Bradford working (better?) together to convince Scots that their health service would be better managed by the likes of those ”privateers” from south of the border!!
    Another story on the state broadcasters website has an article on a survey on overworked GPs, which worryingly at the end of the article, has a link titled ”better together”, but on closer inspection seems to be an unfortunate coincidence…I think..

21. Albert Herring says:

Orient Occident accident!

22. EdinScot says:

Next he’ll be telling us there are not any gas or oil reserves left in the east sea!

23. Albert Herring says:

What about the poverty and deprivation in the Westend of Glasgow?

24. velofello says:

Its weasy to get thwings wong when, ye dinna  ken yer Erse fae yer elbow.

25. Yesitis says:

@Bunter
    “BBC lunchtime news has J Baillie and Eleanor Bradford working (better?) together to convince Scots that their health service would be better managed by the likes of those ”privateers” from south of the border!!”

That`ll be Johann Lamont sorted for First Minister`s Questions tomorrow then. Ruth Davidson might just want to stay in bed, though.

26. ronald alexander mcdonald says:

OT. Nice piece on the Herald’s front page. Peter Robinson FM of NI “if you want more fiscal autonomy the only way to have it is through Independence”.
    Are you listening Ruth?  That is allegedly the message from David Cameron, according to Peter Robinson.  You can go back to bed now Ruth.

27. Albalha says:

@yesitis
    My money’s on ‘why will the SNP not support us to get rid of the bedroom tax’ for FMQ’S, you really couldn’t make this stuff up.

28. Lanarkian says:

Marcus was at the YES Scotland Fringe meeting (SNP Conference). After his ‘contribution’ he left early, looking a tad flustered. Maybe his crayon broke or he filled his nappy..

29. Jiggsbro says:

Coming soon to a cinema near you, Tim Westwood is Dirty Harry, in “Magnus Force”
    “This is a .44 Magnus, the most powerful journalist in the world and will blow your independence clean away. You’ve gotta ask yourself a question: “Do I feel better together?” Well, do ya, punk?”

30. CameronB says:

Sloppiness or mission-creep?

31. Jeannie says:

@JIggsboro

Are you sure you don’t mean Tim Southwood?

32. Marcia says:

I hope he doesn’t announce trains as people will end up in East Kilbride by mistake.

33. douglas clark says:

Well, I always thought his moral compass was a bit wonky, now I know why 🙂

34. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“I hope he doesn’t announce trains as people will end up in East Kilbride by mistake.”

Is there any other way of ending up in East Kilbride?

35. Alastair wright says:

@Albalha
    But they do make it up! Unfortunately some believe them without question

36. Malcolm says:

I remember when we were at war with Eastasia

• Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“I remember when we were at war with Eastasia”

Westasia, surely?

37. MajorBloodnok says:

Hang on, isn’t Ian Gray an MSP for East Lothian?  Starting to make sense now.

38. Marcia says:

Rev. Stuart Campbell says:
    Is there any other way of ending up in East Kilbride?

Not if you want to go to West Kilbride in Ayrshire.

39. Albalha says:

@alastairwright
    I was rather too heavy on the irony I see!

40. Clydebuilt says:

There’s no wikipedia page for oor Magnus. Now why would that be!

41. Jen says:

Hey Nought wrong wi East Kilbride, excellent place to live!

42. neil mackenzie says:

“Scottish MPs voting on England only laws”, do these laws not also effect in Wales?

Eastminster knows best!

43. Richie says:

FFS Stu, can you please fix this site so that I can post comments from my android phone? I and others have asked you this before. I thought of loads of east/west jokes as I was reading the article but I can’t post them until I get home at night. By that time everyone has already posted them. Come on. It’s not rocket surgery! It’s not as though I post much but when something (stupid) comes into my head, I’d like to post it before I forget it. 
    Please?
    Please?
    Please?
    Please?
    Please?
    This could go norsewarrior 🙂

• Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“FFS Stu, can you please fix this site so that I can post comments from my android phone? ”

I have not the faintest idea how to go about such a thing.

44. Richie says:

How’s the weather north of the border anyway Stu?
    Had 2 guys from Londonshire came down to our mill in Aberdeenshire today. I asked them how the weather was with them and they said it was bloody freezing. Apparently the wind keeps blowing up their skirt thingys. They were surprised to see snow down here as they thought it was too far south. Or west or something. Me confused. 
    This could explain it but I’m upside down anyway (whisky enduced) 
    link to en.wikipedia.org
    Make your own minds down.
    Late now. Sleepy. Got to go and put my head up. After I up this last glass of uisge. Tops down!
    Keep your scalps down folks! The beginning is far away!
    Fuck Magnum P.I. (proper idiot) 

P.S please fix the android thingy 🙂

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,726 Posts, 1,214,984 Comments

• Xaracen on The Long Future: “@Aidan; No, Aidan, I’m not trying to argue that a ChatGPT summary overrides the explicit language of a UN declaration.…Apr 2, 08:49
    • Alf Baird on The Gender Of Mountains: ““‘jellyfish legislation’” The Welsh term for jellyfish is ‘wibli wobli’, which seems to well describe this type of legislation.Apr 2, 08:49
    • Hatey McHateface on The Gender Of Mountains: “Just two? You’re not paying enough attention 🙂Apr 2, 08:37
    • Hatey McHateface on The Gender Of Mountains: “While many in the world are celebrating the “end of woke”, the legions of woke, fully insinuated into positions of…Apr 2, 08:33
    • Hatey McHateface on The Gender Of Mountains: ““Colonialism is over” But wait, Geri. Haven’t you to duly punish them at the ballot box first? You’re trying to…Apr 2, 08:21
    • Chas on The Gender Of Mountains: “I suspect that Geri and Billy Carlin are the same person, with two user names?Apr 2, 08:19
    • Hatey McHateface on The Gender Of Mountains: “Ah ken YLS, but I still think there’s hope for you yet. And so I soldier oan.Apr 2, 08:12
    • Young Lochinvar on The Gender Of Mountains: “It’s an unprofitable exercise arguing with drunks, trolls, bots or spooks (y’all).. Good-bye ya roaster..Apr 2, 02:40
    • Geri on The Gender Of Mountains: “It’s been a deliberate distraction because, like Scotland, NI may soon have voted to leave but instead has been railroaded…Apr 2, 00:10
    • Geri on The Gender Of Mountains: “Shiteface – learn to read. No, it’s not because of the gender woo but that shit is one example of…Apr 1, 23:59
    • Geri on The Gender Of Mountains: “The EU is reverting to type, fascism. Just remove, assassinate, cancel or jail political opponents. Especially all the ones not…Apr 1, 23:29
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on The Gender Of Mountains: “‘OUTRAGEOUS’ NORTHERN IRELAND CONVERSION THERAPY PLAN COULD JAIL PARENTS FOR OPPOSING CHILD’S ‘SEX CHANGE’ « Plans for a new ‘conversion therapy’…Apr 1, 23:10
    • Hatey McHateface on The Gender Of Mountains: “Wow, Geri. So BRICS is the rest of the world fighting back against the genderwoowoo. Who’d a thunk it! And…Apr 1, 22:47
    • Geri on The Gender Of Mountains: “The USA already own the UK & have done since WW2. & I wish you’d do some research. The gender…Apr 1, 22:16
    • Hatey McHateface on The Gender Of Mountains: ““New article required” Sure OLS. The genderwoowoo legislation has been repealed. All the politicians, civil servants, administrators, etc. responsible for…Apr 1, 21:05
    • Hatey McHateface on The Gender Of Mountains: “Cheers, J Galt. The idea of joining the USA ordinarily would have much to commend it, whether or not we…Apr 1, 20:35
    • Hatey McHateface on The Gender Of Mountains: “@Bob says: “snivelling shitebag” “coward” “racist” “joker” “despicable , trolling prick” “obnoxious cunt” Uh oh, the missus must have another…Apr 1, 20:25
    • agent x on The Gender Of Mountains: ““Stephen Flynn secures backing from SNP members for Holyrood seat The Times reports that Flynn is believed to have formally…Apr 1, 20:02
    • Mike D on The Gender Of Mountains: “Yeah the orange turnip only wants to talk to the organ grinder(starmer). Not the monkey,(scotland).Apr 1, 19:55
    • PacMan on The Gender Of Mountains: “@ John Main Do you not think that the posters you were talking about were winding you up? You do…Apr 1, 18:41
    • sarah on The Gender Of Mountains: “Two minds with but a single thought. 🙂Apr 1, 15:51
    • Young Lochinvar on The Gender Of Mountains: “New article required Rev..Apr 1, 14:49
    • J Galt on The Gender Of Mountains: “For once I agree with you Hatey, a thousand dollars would buy my vote for Scotland to become the 51st…Apr 1, 12:28
    • Aidan on The Long Future: “@Xaracen – JPTi’s lead advocate left university last year so I wouldn’t put too much weight on that. This is…Apr 1, 12:03
    • Xaracen on The Long Future: “Blethers, Aidan! I asked ChatGPT only the two questions I posted, so you know exactly what I asked. Also, the…Apr 1, 10:55
    • Robert Hughes on The Gender Of Mountains: “the snivelling shitebag – such a coward he won’t even put his own name to the non-stop playdoh propaganda n…Apr 1, 10:34
    • Aidan on The Long Future: “@Xaracen – as a follow-up, what criteria do you think define lack of self government if the geographic separation requirement…Apr 1, 10:12
    • Aidan on The Long Future: “@Xaracen – I don’t know what question you asked and how you framed it but the answers, or at least…Apr 1, 10:04
    • Stoker on The Gender Of Mountains: “FFS! Main, you not got a home to go to? WOS’ resident barfly.Apr 1, 10:00
    • Hatey McHateface on The Gender Of Mountains: “A rare case of our elites being smarter than France’s elites. Le Pen technically isn’t married though, so she doesn’t…Apr 1, 09:38