Lying with the truth

Posted on December 17, 2012 by

Nick Clegg completed the Lib Dems' sellout today with a despicable speech promising to back the Conservatives' plans for welfare reform. The narrative was set earlier this month by the Chancellor, who justified the government's proposed real-terms benefits cuts with a carefully-prepared line:

"We have to acknowledge that over the last five years those on out of work benefits have seen their incomes rise twice as fast as those in work. With pay restraint in businesses and government, average earnings have risen by around 10% since 2007. Out of work benefits have gone up by around 20%. That's not fair to working people who pay the taxes that fund them."

Terrible, isn't it? Hard workers paying to lose ground to those layabout skivers who watch Jeremy Kyle all day. But let's leave aside for a moment the issue that with an average of 23 applicants per vacancy (and sometimes far more), the huge majority of unemployed people are in fact desperate to find work, not lazy spongers. Let's instead just take a simple look at what those figures mean in real life.

Osborne specified "out of work benefits", which basically means Jobseekers' Allowance. (The other benefits which are most commonly associated with the unemployed, particularly housing benefit and Council Tax Benefit, are in fact widely claimed by working people – 24% of all Housing Benefit recipients, and a staggeringly vast majority of new claimants, are in work.)

JSA is currently paid at £71 a week, or less for younger people. Were that to rise by 20% over the next five years, the typical adult jobseeker would therefore see an increase in their income of £14.20 a week.

The average UK salary is £26,500. Were that figure to increase by 10% in the same period, it would mean the typical worker having £50.96 a week more in their pay packet (before tax/NI). Osborne's next sentence specifically referred to public-sector workers, for whom the average salary is £28,802. A 10% hike in that figure between now and 2017 would yield an increase of £55.39 a week.

If one person's getting an extra £14 a week and the other is getting an extra £51 or £55, it takes an incredibly perverse definition of "fairness" to make out that the first person is the winner in the deal, when in fact they're falling further and further behind the second person every year. Slashing their figure to £7 simply adds insult to injury.

If you look closely, Osborne and Clegg's argument is in fact even more dishonest than that. But as an illustration of how the word "fair" has been hijacked and twisted by the coalition, it's hard to better.

0 to “Lying with the truth”

1. Dave says:

And of course there remains the key point that these haven't benefit increases; they've been maintaining benefit payment parity with inflation (i.e. keeping benefit payments the same in real-terms). 

And a big part of the reason that they've been "increasing" proportionally quicker than public sector pay is that the government has chosen not to increase public sector pay at all for the last 3 years (to save money); it's a false dichotomy created by our government. 

Do we keep benefits in line with inflation, or do we raise public sector pay? How about we do both?

We're one of the richest countries in the world, and austerity isn't working anyway…

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,888 Posts, 1,238,617 Comments

• Mark Beggan on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: “Great Scots of their time. John Witherspoon born in East Lothian, minister of the laigh kirk in Paisley. A founding…Mar 28, 14:45
    • willie on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: “Filled up with diesel today at a cost of £1.84 a litre. Up +28.7% from the £1.43 cost a couple…Mar 28, 14:43
    • Mark Beggan on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: ““Out of the west come a curious fool He tried to impress me with his furious cool He lied from…Mar 28, 13:21
    • Mark Beggan on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: “Commonly known as Spin. The Spin Doctors.Mar 28, 12:47
    • Mark Beggan on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: “Oops that should have been “In times of famine… This is what Goebbels wrote in his diary when his boss…Mar 28, 11:07
    • Mark Beggan on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: “Der giftswerg, 1941. “I’m times of famine even the devil eats flies.”Mar 28, 10:53
    • Sven on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: ““A liar knows that he is a liar, but one who speaks mere portions of truth in order to deceive…Mar 28, 09:54
    • Alf Baird on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: “Dinna fash yersel, Northcode, mair is revealed ivvery day aboot Scotland’s colonial condeetion: “Indictment at the United Nations: A Report…Mar 28, 09:12
    • Northcode on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: “In 1941, Goebbels wrote: “The English follow the principle that when one lies, one should lie big, and stick to…Mar 28, 08:55
    • Northcode on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: “Joe Goebbels’ ‘Big Boss’, *Adalwolf, had already written about the ‘Big Lie’ in his best seller (only rivalled in sales…Mar 28, 08:32
    • Mark Beggan on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: “@Geri I was going to lend you my first edition copy of 1984 but it would be like giving a…Mar 28, 01:18
    • Captain Caveman on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: “Thicko lefty.Mar 27, 23:03
    • Geri on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: “That’s an aye then & even I spotted that in two seconds flat. PS, you do know yer ballot is…Mar 27, 23:03
    • Mark Beggan on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: “That’s like asking a pedophile to take charge of the day care centre.Mar 27, 21:23
    • Mark Beggan on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: ““A lie told often enough becomes the truth.” Vladimir Lenin.Mar 27, 21:06
    • Mark Beggan on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: ““The price we pay for freedom is the right to disagree.” Benjamin Franklin.Mar 27, 21:00
    • Mark Beggan on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: “Are you scared James? Because if the Fascists get power in England and Wales it’s good night woo woo land.Mar 27, 20:54
    • Mark Beggan on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: “Maybe Ayes an maybe Naws. Like the Indy election you’ll never know. That’s the beauty of the ballot box.Mar 27, 20:49
    • Alf Baird on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: “One wonders whose rights public inquiries undertaken within colonial societies would seek to defend, the colonizer or the colonized?Mar 27, 20:41
    • Geri on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: “Lighthouse TV is the channel if anyone is interested.Mar 27, 19:59
    • agentx on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: “Captain Caveman says: I’m a Reform voter and I’m still here. _______________________________________________- thanks – you could have said that the…Mar 27, 19:40
    • Geri on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: “Have you heard what ex Tory MP Andrew Bridgen says about these gangs? Go watch him whistleblow what is really…Mar 27, 19:35
    • Captain Caveman on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: “You asked were there any Reform voters left on here and I said “Hi!” Not really sure how ambiguous that…Mar 27, 19:12
    • Geri on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: “Was there any to begin with? They’re just disgruntled Tories. Same shit, different party. Do we know what it is…Mar 27, 19:12
    • agentx on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: ““On February 25, 2026, the Scottish Government ordered a public inquiry into grooming gangs, marking a significant shift in position…Mar 27, 19:10
    • James on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: “Let’s hope not.Mar 27, 19:09
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: “BLOG PÀRLAMAID NA h-ALBA Fiosrachadh is naidheachd bho Phàrlamaid na h-Alba Tha an seisean pàrlamaideach a-nis air tighinn gu crìch…Mar 27, 19:07
    • agentx on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: “Fascinating but you didn’t answer the simple question.Mar 27, 18:51
    • Mo on In Your Name: “They all need punted asap! #WomenAndChildrensSafetyMattersMar 27, 18:47
    • Young Lochinvar on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: “Thanks Lorncal I’m sick of “demeaning and discriminatory” whining ie because it’ll find you out. I don’t know if it’s…Mar 27, 18:45