1. 25 12 20 09:56

It can be ending | speymouth

2. 26 12 20 19:50

It can be ending – politics-99.com

74 to “It can be ending”

1. Margaret Lindsay says:

Indeed it is. Merry Christmas Stu.

2. Terry says:

Merry Xmas. YOU give us hope. And knowledge. Thank you.

3. Bob Mack says:

(A few moments out from entertaining my grandaughters)

From them and me Stu, Merry Xmas.

You are my news Santa Ckaus every day of the year !!

4. Glenn says:

All the best. Here’s to COVID being under some semblance of control next year and the return of Alex Salmond and the fall of the Cabal.

5. Thomas Potter says:

Merry Christmas to all at Wings.
    Without your work we’d be in big trouble.
    Keep it up.
    Cheers

6. Tommy says:

Happy Christmas Stu, keep on keeping on m8.

7. Lindy says:

Have a good one Wings
    A wee dram, a choc or two
    We’ll see what next year brings
    And thanks for all you do x

8. Stuart Macdonald says:

Merry Christmas if possible and many thanks for what you do.

9. Intractable Potsherd says:

All the very best to you and your readers, Rev. Look after yourself and those you love.

10. Merry Christmas, one and all!

11. 1971Thistle says:

Have a good one, Rev

12. Rory Forbes says:

Merry Christmas

13. holymacmoses says:

‘The final belief is to believe in a fiction, which you know to be a fiction, there being nothing else. The exquisite truth is to know that it is a fiction and that you believe in it willingly.’

Wallace Stevens .

Your presence is a daily gift for so many people who wish for Independence
    Peace, contentment and lots of sweeties to you Mr Wings
    and a
    hamperful of THANKS from all of us

14. John Moss says:

Have a merry Christmas everyone ?

15. Col.Blimp IV says:

We could start a new, New Year Tradition, which might grow to replace the sectarian English Guy Fawkes bolloxs.

Big bonfires with replica’s of Jimmy Buchans boat “Amity” on top

Fireworks

Baked Potatoes and Prawns

Sing-Song

We just need someone to come up with an alternative set of lyrics for “Baratts Privateers”.

I’ll start you off with a few suggested lines…

I’m a broken man, on a Peterheid Pier – The last of Buchan’s Brexiteers.

Oh I wish I was in Cherbourg now

//www.youtube.com/watch?v=GTaUxCHCOSQ

16. Republicofscotland says:

Merry Xmas to all commenters and the blog host.

17. Ottomanboi says:

Glaid 3uil
    Nollaig Chridheil
    and next year a people truly free.
    Freedom, the best present anyone could wish for.
    Slàinte & Vive le Rev!

18. MaggieC says:

Rev Stuart Campbell ,

Wishing you a Peaceful and Merry Christmas and thanks for all you do for us ,

I like the subtle link through the bands name and David Gedge about the meaning of this post if I’ve got it right ? .

19. Have a good one, Rev. Cheers for all your efforts.

20. holymacmoses says:

‘No Christmas’ must be one of the most powerful and poignant love songs I’ve listened to, so far in my life . Thanks for yet another pressie.

21. SophiaPangloss says:

Merry Christmas Stu an the Wings Comments crowd, an thanks Stu fer yer work durin the hardest year yet.

22. Mia says:

Merry Christmas!!

23. Josef Ó Luain says:

From me: all of the above and below.

24. Brian Doonthetoon says:

…And the award for Forensic Journalist of the Decade goes to…

Stuart Campbell!

Merry Christmas Rev Stu – and a Merry Christmas to those Wingers I have eyeballed and those still to suffer that pleasure.

25. Republicofscotland says:

Johnson’s Eu deal is all smoke and mirrors.

“Economically, that means the UK becoming more competitive. And yet Boris Johnson just signed a deal that is specifically designed to ensure that the UK doesn’t gain a competitive advantage over the EU because the consequence will be tariffs on UK products. Johnson is celebrating the ability to significantly move away from EU law and, at the same time, celebrating that he got a zero tariff deal. That doesn’t make sense if the moment you use the first one, you lose the second one.”

link to msn.com

26. Ottomanboi says:

Go on, dare to be human, embrace the liberation of “risk”.
    link to spiked-online.com
    Here’s to a 2021 of global human audacity and the downfall of the self-styled ‘expert’.

27. Effijy says:

Merry Xmas Rev and all those in Scotland that are Independently minded!

You known this thing Jesus did with the Fish and feeding the 5,000,
    How does that compare to Scotland feeding fish the England and Mainland Europe.
    500,000,000 fed by a country not allowed to hold a referendum.

Three Kings, Charlie, Willie and Harry seen following a Star called Disast
    Carrying Fish, Whisky and Oil No 10 Stabling St.

28. A very Merry Christmas Stu x

29. 100%Yes says:

Thanks for all your hard work.

30. McDuff says:

A merry Xmas rev and sincere thanks for all the work you and wings have done over the past year.

31. Eddie3dugs says:

Wishing you all the best,thanks for the red pill,keep up the good work and let’s hope in all our hearts that we haven’t missed the best shot at independence…..or is that me taking the blue pill!

32. robertknight says:

A’ra best.

33. CameronB Brodie says:

Peace and love.

Moral decision-making and moral development: Toward an integrative framework
    link to sciencedirect.com

34. Watty Eyeballs says:

Merry Christmas Stu.

35. Ronald Fraser says:

Merry Xmas to all non english human beings.

With the further exception of Ginger Dugger Sturgeon fanatics

36. dakk says:

Peaceful Crimbo Stuart and to all Wingers.

37. Colin Alexander says:

A happy Christmas to Stu, Chris and all the Wingers.

Let’s celebrate Christmas, re-charge our batteries over the festive season and get ready for an interesting year ahead.

Merry Christmas!

38. Hatuey says:

Ottomanboi, do you actually read the stuff that you link to? Or are you just trying to disguise your anti-science standpoint as some sort of public good? Maybe it’s simple dog whistling, an invitation to others who are equally detached-from-reality to come out and play.

This latest link is particularly ill-timed. Ridiculing and attacking people who want to care for their children at a time like Christmas, even in normal circumstances, would be considered distasteful. But these aren’t normal times…

News from South Africa suggests the prevailing variant is not only highly infectious but that it hits children and young people hard, with many presenting at hospitals.

I’m not offended by what you type, or pretending to be offended by it. But I am opposed to it because it’s just dead wrong and dangerously misleading.

I wish I was as wrong as you. I wish the South African minister for Health was wrong too. But all the indications point to several months of hell ahead. If the hell ever ends, it will be because of the vaccines and science that you have trashed daily on here for months.

It’s time to close and lockdown everything. And I’m sorry about that, but that’s the deal.

39. Alf Baird says:

Hiv a guid Yule Rev.

Mebbe oor 48 Naitional Pairty hero’s doon at Westminster will at endmaist fund a bakbane tae pouss thon Scottis soverane veto (‘na-say’) on 31st Dec?

Tho A’m no haudin ma braith.

Still, awbody can snift independence noo, e’en mid thon mankit wastit slump o semi-colonialism fowk caw devolution.

40. Sarah says:

Merry Christmas, Rev, and all Wingers.

Thank you, Rev, for the huge efforts you go to for the cause – look after yourself.

41. Republicofscotland says:

Sturgeon’s at it again, I particularly think the first four words are relevant when dealing with a snake like Sturgeon.

“Before the spin starts, it’s worth remembering that Brexit is happening against Scotland’s will. And there is no deal that will ever make up for what Brexit takes away from us. It’s time to chart our own future as an independent, European nation.”

link to twitter.com

42. Mo Workman says:

Thanks for all the work you do to keep us informed. Have a very Merry and relaxing Christmas.

43. Ottomanboi says:

HATUEY.
    Keep repeating the fear mantra and get Gates’ cocktail vaccine. Do I care?
    Btw not anti science, come from family of doctors, just anti ‘the science’, the official bollocks peddled by crypto totalitarian politicians and their algorithm obsessed advisors who’d shut down all human contact ie your freedom and mine.
    Loosen up! You working for the system?

44. Dan says:

Aw the best fellow malcontents, however you may be spending the day.
    It’s often a very difficult time of year for folk in normal times, so thoughts are especially with those folks, and particularly those that are spending it alone.
    I sacked the whole thing off as unrealistic to travel the large distances to finally meet family for the first time in nearly a year for just a single day with lockdown being implemented tomorrow.

I notice Scottish leccy is cooking lots of English crimbo dinners… Almost 5GW going south at the moment. So Scotland basically exporting a higher amount than we are using.

link to extranet.nationalgrid.com

45. CameronB Brodie says:

“Btw not anti science, come from family of doctors, just anti ‘the science’, the official bollocks peddled by crypto totalitarian politicians and their algorithm obsessed advisors who’d shut down all human contact ie your freedom and mine.”

Writing a Moral Code: Algorithms for Ethical Reasoning by Humans and Machines
    link to mdpi.com

“The moral and ethical challenges of living in community pertain not only to the intersection of human beings one with another, but also our interactions with our machine creations. This article explores the philosophical and theological framework for reasoning and decision-making through the lens of science fiction, religion, and artificial intelligence (both real and imagined). In comparing the programming of autonomous machines with human ethical deliberation, we discover that both depend on a concrete ordering of priorities derived from a clearly defined value system.”

46. MorvenM says:

Merry Christmas to Rev Stu and all Wingers. Hope we get everything we hope for in the New Year. xx

47. twathater says:

A very merry peaceful Christmas to you and the WOS army , thanks for all that you do on our and Scotland’s behalf

48. Heaver says:

A hot whisky lemon toddy with you, sir.

49. Beaker says:

Merry Christmas to all. Stuck with home working for 9 months and counting, the articles and the comments have provided a great dose of escapism, reality checks and entertainment.

50. Pete Barton says:

Here’s to all that are still here, and here’s to all that are not.

Thanks Rev for your persistence and hard work.

I wish for the day when I don’t hear ‘The sounds of sirens’

And people in Scotland free to choose the future they’d like, not one foisted upon us.

Slainté!

51. Hatuey says:

“You working for the system?”

Yeah. I love the system. It’s the best system mankind has ever had – not without faults and plenty of room for progression, but better than any other we have had.

52. Al-Stuart says:

Dearest Stuart,

Thankyou for so many years of effort. In wishing you a heartfelt Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, might I quote the wise and welcome words of Glenn from this page…

“Here’s to covid being under some semblance of control next year and the return of Alex Salmond and the fall of the Cabal”

Stuart, we all owe you a debt of gratitude and in time, I believe that will be understood all across the nation once we have a new First Minister.

Kindest wishes and all the best for 2021.

Cheers,

Al.

53. Andrew Morton says:

Still lurking.

Merry Christmas!

Keep posting.

54. Ottomanboi says:

HATUEY.
    (Aka Dr Pangloss)
    “The best of all possible worlds”
    Voltaire had something satirical to say on that worldview.
    It is often the mindset of those who fail to hear the stamp of military boots and the loud knocking on their neighbours’ doors.

55. Masslass says:

Thanks for all you do Stuart. All the best to you for 2021. Wishing you Good health and happiness.

56. Garrion says:

Thanks Stuart. This year must have been completely shite to deal with, but you did. You also alerted us all to, and took on, the hollowing out of the SNP by whatever the fuck they are/were.

You were amongst the very first to dare to call it against the sainted Nicola. You took a lot of shit for all that. And did not give a fck, so here’s to you and your absolutely thrawn and stubborn relentlessness. God Bless.

57. CameronB Brodie says:

I’d have thunk the best of all possible worlds would be one that celebrates and supports bio-diversity and a legal respect for difference. Which is what I’m trying to support, though my IP address is being progressively blocked by the sources I’m linking to. Including SAGE.

link to academia.edu

58. Jan cowan says:

We’d be in a sad state without your highly welcome contributions.

Thank you and all good wishes to you and yours.

59. ScotsRenewables says:

Merry Christmas Stu,

More power to your elbow. While I have on occasion worried that you were losing the plot, the truth is it was only because of this site that I bothered going to Conference and helping to vote a bunch of wokies off the NEC.

And there is every chance my list vote will go to the ISP.

Keep on keeping on, we do need you.

60. Strathy says:

Merry Christmas!

61. Jockanese Wind Talker says:

Merry Christmas Rev and all BTL.

Hope Santa was good to you.

62. Effijy says:

Here’s to the great British Fuck off in 2021.

Let join the 62 other nation that are no longer colonies!

63. Breeks says:

Bit late maybe, but Merry Christmas to all.

Something kinda topical?

link to blog.nrscotland.gov.uk

Ever wonder why Hogmanay was the big deal in Scotland and Christmas was an ‘English’ thing? Wonder no more.

Feel like ranting at FM’s blatant hypocrisy, … but not today. ( Not going soft, just been sampling some decent uisge-beatha…).

64. Morgatron says:

Merry Christmas Stu and all you independence supporting cats out there (you know who you are,!). Have a topper of what is left all.

65. Doreen A Milne says:

Happy Christmas, Stu, thank you for all that you do, year after year, to keep us informed. Much love to you and yours. D xxx

66. Stuart MacKay says:

For everyone who grew up listening to John Peel on Radio One, time is getting short. Prising Scotland free of the Union is the last chance for immortality.

“In his autumn, before the winter, comes man’s last mad surge of youth.”

Don’t waste it.

67. Clapper57 says:

Belated Merry Xmas WOS….and to all of the lovely people I have interacted with here in the past…..

68. Dan says:

@ Stuart MacKay

Aye, after the various events that have occurred since 2014, Scotland should be experiencing the quickening… but instead we endure the sickening… 🙁

69. twathater says:

@ Clapper57 , correction to your post it should also read and also to the ones I will continue to interact with in the FUTURE POST INDEPENDENCE

70. Kenny J says:

At the coo’s tail,
    I echo all the good things said about your goodself by the others.

Here is a thought I’ve put up before.
    Next year, as we all know, will be seven years since 2014. As stated in the 1998 Good Friday Agreement (NI), our cousins over the water, if they so wish, by a majority, can have a referendum every that space of time on reuniting N and S.

I keep hoping that Ms. Sturgeon has that in mind, and will spring what’s good for the goose, etc on us sometime then.
    Although I dinna get me hopes up too high.

I STILL, and my wife is sick of hearing me say, can’t get my head round how she, or Murrel, or both, could conceive this plot to attempt to destroy Mr. Salmond by concocting their mendacious plot, AND get all her henchpeope to assist, surely with consequences for their CS careers, if it blew up in their faces, which it has.
    And who could this mysterious third party be, who sat in on some of these meetings with the sobinn wimen, mentioned in minutes.

71. Graham King says:

Best wishes, Stuart.

May you have some full relaxation – and comfort, in the warm!
    Good eats, etc, too.

Regards! And thanks!

72. Gregor says:

Merry Christmas Stu!

73. Jim Tadgercock says:

Thanks for all your hard work Stu and I wish you and all the best for the new year neebs.And the same goes for those who have taken the time to comment and help shine a light is some dark places.

74. Lenny Hartley says:

Bob Mac re Indian economy under British Rule, your right the Indian equiv of Gers showed India in deficit however an Indian economist has calculated at todays prices India had a $45 Trillion surplus,
    link to businesstoday.in

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,726 Posts, 1,215,006 Comments

• Hatey McHateface on The Sacrifice: “@Zimba Regarding moral inconsistencies. I believe a meaningful debate between fair-minded individuals acting in good faith first needs some kind…Apr 2, 21:17
    • sarah on The Gender Of Mountains: “IMPORTANT: Leah Gunn Barrett attended the Public Petitions Committee at Holyrood today in order to see what would happen to…Apr 2, 19:40
    • agent x on The Gender Of Mountains: “Caroline Lucas says: “He helped transform the fortunes of the Scottish Green party – taking the party into government for…Apr 2, 18:13
    • Porty on The Long Future: “Have a wee look at her post and highlights of committee meeting today at Holyrood today, she’s a fighter, well…Apr 2, 18:08
    • Porty on The Long Future: “So the game’s a bogey, so we call it a day?Apr 2, 18:04
    • Porty on The Long Future: “So the game’s a bogey, so we call it a day?Apr 2, 18:00
    • Porty on The Long Future: “Soz, double post…Apr 2, 17:41
    • Aidan on The Long Future: “@Xaracen – to understand why the geographic separation requirement is so important you have to look back at the context…Apr 2, 17:31
    • Porty on The Long Future: “Was & still am a follower of the Rev, but starting to question myself why, isn’t it about time he…Apr 2, 17:27
    • twathater on The Gender Of Mountains: “Another piece of evidence to EXPOSE the continued ongoing lunacy that we must find some way to address https://open.substack.com/pub/iainmacwhirter/p/trans-cat-msp-cleared-of-non-crime?r=5catlo&utm_campaign=post&utm_medium=emailApr 2, 16:38
    • Zimba on The Sacrifice: “First off, apologies for essentially posting the same (or similar) comment twice. I’m not a frequent poster here (or anywhere…Apr 2, 15:59
    • Zimba on The Long Future: “This is not a portrait of what Scotland’s politicians alone have become. The malaise is sadly European generally and is…Apr 2, 15:21
    • Mark Beggan on The Gender Of Mountains: “Is Greer related to Chapman. Strange shaped head sneering mouth with studs for teeth and eyes that sit suspiciously in…Apr 2, 14:35
    • Mark Beggan on The Gender Of Mountains: “The Teletubbies have to say bye bye Dipsy. Dipsy likes bouncing on his bottom. But now Dipsy has a sore…Apr 2, 13:45
    • Hatey McHateface on The Sacrifice: “Ah, Zimba, always good to hear from the kind of poster who believes that any number of dead men, women,…Apr 2, 13:17
    • Zimba on The Sacrifice: “Good job, Hatey, our kindly bombs and bullets can help them learn to see their own moral failings before it’s…Apr 2, 12:14
    • Zimba on The Sacrifice: “Good thing, Hatey, our bombs and bullets are there to help them see their moral failings while being clinically slaughtered.Apr 2, 11:57
    • Andrew scott on The Gender Of Mountains: “Good news the green gnome is standing down as co co chair scot greens BAD NEWS NOT STANDING DOWN FROM…Apr 2, 11:40
    • Louise Hogg on The Long Future: “ALBA Party exists: 1. So voters HAVE a genuinely pro-Independence option to vote for on the ballot paper. As Young…Apr 2, 11:15
    • sarah on The Gender Of Mountains: “Hear, hear. The Rev is doing a great job in not letting this all go unreported.Apr 2, 11:04
    • Louise Hogg on The Gender Of Mountains: “Absolutely agree, Lorn. This utter infestation of porn-addict driven filth needs cleared out of any organisation directly or indirectly receiving…Apr 2, 10:40
    • Xaracen on The Long Future: “@Aidan; No, Aidan, I’m not trying to argue that a ChatGPT summary overrides the explicit language of a UN declaration.…Apr 2, 08:49
    • Alf Baird on The Gender Of Mountains: ““‘jellyfish legislation’” The Welsh term for jellyfish is ‘wibli wobli’, which seems to well describe this type of legislation.Apr 2, 08:49
    • Hatey McHateface on The Gender Of Mountains: “Just two? You’re not paying enough attention 🙂Apr 2, 08:37
    • Hatey McHateface on The Gender Of Mountains: “While many in the world are celebrating the “end of woke”, the legions of woke, fully insinuated into positions of…Apr 2, 08:33
    • Hatey McHateface on The Gender Of Mountains: ““Colonialism is over” But wait, Geri. Haven’t you to duly punish them at the ballot box first? You’re trying to…Apr 2, 08:21
    • Chas on The Gender Of Mountains: “I suspect that Geri and Billy Carlin are the same person, with two user names?Apr 2, 08:19
    • Hatey McHateface on The Gender Of Mountains: “Ah ken YLS, but I still think there’s hope for you yet. And so I soldier oan.Apr 2, 08:12
    • Young Lochinvar on The Gender Of Mountains: “It’s an unprofitable exercise arguing with drunks, trolls, bots or spooks (y’all).. Good-bye ya roaster..Apr 2, 02:40