Going off message

Posted on November 21, 2011 by

An alert viewer draws attention to an interesting historical curio in the Scotsman today. It's a letter to the paper from Labour MSP Hugh Henry, dating from a few days after the 2011 Holyrood election, in which he rejects the idea of an early independence referendum in the most unambiguous of terms:

"Mr Salmond and the SNP clearly stated that any referendum would be held later in the life of this parliament. That's what many Scots voted for, that's what gave Mr Salmond his majority and that's the mandate which the SNP has."

Henry isn't exactly a radical dissident in Scottish Labour – he was Education Minister and Deputy Justice Minister in the second Lab-Lib coalition administration, and was mainstream enough to be the party's nomination for Presiding Officer earlier this year. In the light of Labour's recent threats to back the Westminster government in forcing an earlier UK-controlled referendum over the Scottish Parliament's head, it would be interesting to find out if his position is the same now as it was six months ago.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,800 Posts, 1,223,686 Comments

• The Flying Iron of Doom on The Last Marble: ““issue: strikethrough text appears as ? characters” Are you sure about that? 🙂Aug 9, 11:22
    • Alf Baird on Snowflake Patrol: “As an academic you are aware that I prefer to rely on postcolonial theory, which explains colonial procedures built upon…Aug 9, 11:16
    • Callum on The Last Marble: “Funny how Sturgeon could not remember a thing during the Salmond inquiry but remembers every small detail in her biography.Aug 9, 11:07
    • Onlooker on The Last Marble: “Mental torture? Now she knows how Alex Salmond felt when she and her wee high school prefect scum cabal tried…Aug 9, 11:06
    • James Cheyne on Snowflake Patrol: “Having read the Scottish law Society comments years ago, it was interesting to read that just because Westminster altered the…Aug 9, 10:54
    • aLurker on The Last Marble: “issue: strikethrough text appears as ? charactersAug 9, 10:31
    • aLurker on The Last Marble: ““Nicola Sturgeon: ‘I have never considered my sexuality to be binary'” https://archive.is/g7hZI “I retain both faith in and respect for…Aug 9, 10:29
    • willie on The Last Marble: “Nae baws, nae stones, nae marbles just a killer clown in a rainbow jersey and a yellow set of SNP…Aug 9, 10:26
    • Lorn on Snowflake Patrol: “The whole woke bandwagon needs to be rooted out of public life, as do these women’s and gender studies in…Aug 9, 10:04
    • agent x on Snowflake Patrol: “https://petitions.parliament.scot/petitions/PE2135Aug 9, 09:58
    • Onlooker on The Last Marble: “Not ‘binary’ – gay. https://uk.news.yahoo.com/nicola-sturgeon-never-considered-sexuality-175105366.html?guccounter=1&guce_referrer=aHR0cDovL20uZmFjZWJvb2suY29tLw&guce_referrer_sig=AQAAAMS_jftA7-NMQgGdCxz-4s9FErgGpH8lkb7In5hWoMTzBw1pO97T17O4uFnEJ2loIaaNoHiXmBDCxSDUltt9Y36-ZIrkl8z0DkekI5nKWZUzuGBUMHxjYQTPnn4mPbumxfpcqkO22B7Z9LUxyWMnM5tf1QfULW5BB6dlWHQcdqSYAug 9, 09:44
    • Hatey McHateface on Snowflake Patrol: “If you’re greetin intae yer dram, mind nae to dilute it too much.Aug 9, 09:37
    • Hatey McHateface on Snowflake Patrol: “Du Bois These new names of yours keep coming out of the woods 🙂 Why not face facts, Alf. Fascist…Aug 9, 09:22
    • Marie on Snowflake Patrol: “I don’t believe ANYTHING Sturgeon says or writes.Aug 9, 08:30
    • And Spouse on The Last Marble: “Abs love it. Where do you get your ideas?Aug 9, 08:23
    • Effijy on The Last Marble: “The dead cat bounce! Who knew Angus Robertson had such large feet.Aug 9, 07:48
    • Karen on The Last Marble: “Perfect, as always!Aug 9, 07:46
    • duncanio on Snowflake Patrol: “Bone fide. Check the link … I’ve only selected a sample.Aug 9, 07:37
    • duncanio on The Last Marble: “Marbleous and Marbleless!Aug 9, 07:33
    • Aidan on Snowflake Patrol: “These petitions get no traction because they are a complete waste of time. Nobody serious thinks that incorporating the ICCPR…Aug 9, 07:33
    • Northcode on Snowflake Patrol: “The despair has come ower me… it will pass – but until it does, there’s this: We are the Scots.…Aug 9, 07:24
    • Alf Baird on Snowflake Patrol: “Colonialism is “at root fascism” and always involves “hateful racism” (Cesaire) no matter who it is inflicted on. As Du…Aug 9, 07:22
    • Willie on Snowflake Patrol: “Morning all. Herewith a statement that should gladden everyone’s hearts this morning. Scottish Labour Finance spokesperson Michael Marra said “Labour…Aug 9, 07:18
    • Mark Beggan on Snowflake Patrol: “Falsch, falsch, falsch.Aug 9, 03:12
    • Young Lochinvar on The Churn: “AL Sorry, have to disagree. I watched STVs Scotland Tonight programme a few years back and the shows panelist’s ripped…Aug 9, 01:47
    • GM on Snowflake Patrol: “Can you post the link Sarah, i don’t see it above.Aug 9, 01:31
    • Young Lochinvar on Snowflake Patrol: “Scum sure floats to the top in Quango-land.. Maybe the rush to have everyone University or College trained has backfired…Aug 9, 01:30
    • Young Lochinvar on Snowflake Patrol: “Put yourself out there with a tome- like autobiography for profit and you renounce that right to privacy over a…Aug 9, 01:18
    • The Flying Iron of Doom on Snowflake Patrol: “I see that the “Call an immediate general election” petition is up to 445,552 signatures and rising by the second.…Aug 9, 01:17
    • Dickie Tea on The Churn: “Jim Fairlie is a decent chap. Well liked in his constituency including by country folk/farmers. Supported Forbes and has no…Aug 8, 23:41