Bring it on

Posted on July 13, 2013 by
Subscribe
Notify of

23 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Andy-B

I was going to say the MoD could secure Faslane using, jets from their aircraft carriers, but they neither have carriers nor suitable jets to proceed in that direction, I wonder if the supposed deal to use French Carriers is still valid.

Either way we have the Waverley steam ship..a formidable, leviathan.

mato21

Was he off on a recruiting drive  Just in case

Stuart Black

Sorry Rev. I know you like us to wait till after 5 or so posts before going off topic, but your readers need to visit Tris’s site and read the article by Foxy, magnificent stuff, and should be compulsory reading for everyone, not least the MPs themselves.
link to munguinsrepublic.blogspot.com

Macart

I think the lion has the right idea. Beat them to the punch and annex MOD HQ. 🙂

Stuart Black

So, apologies, and back on topic, lovely cartoon again Chris, gaun yersel’ Hamish, I’ll get yer back… 😉

Yesitis

Dinna be sniping at oor Hamish wih yer big guns at thon top table wih the big boys, eh!
Oh oh… here come the bendy Wendy cavalry.

Wait…wait…wait…

Archie [not Erchie]

@ Stuart Black – Great link and definitely worth a read. I am sure Rev Stu will forgive you.

Angus McLellan

Hamish might be at the wrong address, The MoD could sell off that building before he gets there according to this Torygraph story.

And in an unrelated find, it’s deja vu all over again in this piece from the Spectator’s archives: link to archive.spectator.co.uk

Jamie Arriere

The time might have come to remobilise the Glesca Eskimo Regiment!

ianbeag

Another link to a piece by Robbie Dinwoddie in today’s ‘Herald’ which will generate ‘recall’ for the oldies and certainly should be prescribed reading for the younger generation
link to heraldscotland.com

Jim Mitchell

ianbeag, I would like to know exactly what kind of pressure was brought on the BBC.  BTW anybody who is to young to remember the name of Helen Liddell  should look it up, she was a real peace of work.
(John Smith, as Privy Council minister, was in overdrive, co-opting Helen Liddell as secretary of the Scottish Labour to use her influence as a recent BBC staffer), says it all really.

Robert Kerr

Helen Liddell… what nightmares are made of.
Hail Alba

Seanair

Robert Kerr
…but enjoyed seeing her walk into the Gents’ toilet after her then boss, Robert Maxwell.

ianbrotherhood

It’s Helen Lidl, actually.

Not to be confused with her sister, Ellen Aldi.

ianbrotherhood

@Seanair-

‘…but enjoyed seeing her walk into the Gents’ toilet after her then boss, Robert Maxwell.’ 

Aye. We are all eternally grateful that she wasn’t following him when he was on that yacht.

ianbrotherhood

I served Helen Lidl once, at a massive New Labour fundraiser in a prestigious Glasgow hotel in the late winter of 96/7. (With baby potatos, french beans, and deep-fried asparagus tips. She went down a treat.)

If only…at least then her existence would’ve generated some pleasure.

Dave McEwan Hill

Helen Lidl
She got herself a big hoose in Tighnabruaich when she was in her prime . The locals called it Maxwell House

Barontorc

Ah, the lady transported to Oz -‘For Services Rendered’, I’d bet Julia Gillard is absolutely delighted that she took her advice and brought John McTernan to Oz! Nasty is, as nasty does!

David MacGille-Mhuire

Lamont = Liddell reincarnated sans wallies.

Elizabeth

La Liddell was also known as ‘Stalin’s Granny’

Baheid

O/T came across this,
link to guardian.co.uk

This’ll definitely put the wind up bitter together.  

CEMarshall

Great Hamish ‘toon. I’m still wondering what kind of mascot the No campaign will come up with to compete with Wings’ Hamish, NNS’ Duggy Dug and Yes Scotland’s Yessie.

Bugger (the Panda)

If that Hellen Liddel was at Strathclyde, she spent most of her time in the Lounge, just beyond the beer bar necking at tonguing her “beau”.
She was also very skelly.

Stats: 6,700 Posts, 1,211,360 Comments

• sarah on Seeding the briar patch: “The hard work is left to Yes activists. Leanne Tervit and TASP have an app to get people registered, I…Feb 5, 22:19
    • sarah on Seeding the briar patch: “O/T Rev, your viewer age/sex breakdown on twitter today is interesting – women 52.4%, a majority for the first time.…Feb 5, 22:13
    • Geri on Seeding the briar patch: “Yes. TBH I dunno why certain subjects on current world events are censored. Same with trying to navigate what words…Feb 5, 22:09
    • gregor on Seeding the briar patch: “The Tantrum (05/02/25): MSP vows to ‘never own another Tesla’ over Elon Musk’s fascist links: “The Tesla chief executive sparked…Feb 5, 22:05
    • gregor on Seeding the briar patch: “Orbán Viktor @PM_ViktorOrban: “So apparently USAID financed ultra-progressive Politico in Brussels and basically the entire left-wing media in Hungary under…Feb 5, 21:38
    • gregor on Seeding the briar patch: “This public comment sticks out: “The definition of insanity is trusting your government over and over again!”Feb 5, 21:27
    • gregor on Seeding the briar patch: “Niceone Dan Dr John Campbell is a national/world hero.Feb 5, 21:20
    • gregor on Seeding the briar patch: “re, “because it comes to nothing” Your sterling efforts won’t come to nothing, Dan Scotland’s bright future is gonna be…Feb 5, 21:17
    • gregor on Seeding the briar patch: “I’ve never blocked anyone, ever. I value Ros’s contributions. I love it when people communicate.Feb 5, 21:09
    • Dan on Seeding the briar patch: “Short 4 min vid from today by Dr John Campbell on “vaccine” failures. www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZxgypwM8c1kFeb 5, 21:01
    • George Ferguson on Seeding the briar patch: “I am sorry to hear you are going. Your input is valuable and I remember when about six people where…Feb 5, 20:57
    • gregor on Seeding the briar patch: “#King0kings FFS, looks like I’m on my own (cries)… #subordinates “Placed in or belonging to a lower order or rank.”…Feb 5, 20:55
    • Dan on Seeding the briar patch: “Mac possibly may have been caught by pre-moderation. But as mentioned, that should be lifted for them if others are…Feb 5, 20:49
    • George Ferguson on Seeding the briar patch: “CorrectFeb 5, 20:37
    • gregor on Seeding the briar patch: “re. “Orban was correct all along” Yeah Geri “Von Der Liar will be furious” Yup, she (and BBC) is pure…Feb 5, 20:32
    • gregor on Seeding the briar patch: “Potential health risks of mRNA-based vaccine therapy: A hypothesis (2023): “reverse transcribed molecules, which can disrupt coding regions, enhance the…Feb 5, 20:24
    • Ian Brotherhood on Seeding the briar patch: “Have you noticed anyone else who is ‘no longer with us’?Feb 5, 20:15
    • gregor on Seeding the briar patch: “WHO rogue is a serious public health threat: “Billions of people have received the COVID-19 vaccine to date, showing that…Feb 5, 20:13
    • James Gardner on Seeding the briar patch: “Being “delusional” is when someone’s perception of reality is so far off, their thoughts may cause them to become very…Feb 5, 20:10
    • Geri on Seeding the briar patch: “I was just asking that the other day. I hope he’s okay.Feb 5, 20:02
    • James Gardner on Seeding the briar patch: “Harsh austerity was a major factor in the rise of fascism in the 1930s, with austerity rising across the globe…Feb 5, 20:01
    • James Gardner on Seeding the briar patch: “Since 2016, 16 & 17 year olds have been able to vote in Scottish and local council elections. Therefore next…Feb 5, 19:45
    • Geri on Seeding the briar patch: “How many candidates have they dismissed so far? How many switched from the Tory party? How many party names have…Feb 5, 19:44
    • Dan on Seeding the briar patch: “Ros (like a few other commenters) got pre-moderated by Stu’s recent moderation block, but folk are still edging into territory…Feb 5, 19:25
    • Geri on Seeding the briar patch: “Substack has a load of news about that. WHO have some dodgy connections & the whole vaccine program (not just…Feb 5, 19:21
    • Geri on Seeding the briar patch: “Orban was correct all along. He warned everyone it was all fake, the gender woo, the fake protests with EU/U…Feb 5, 19:12
    • gregor on Seeding the briar patch: “You’re worth it…Feb 5, 19:10
    • gregor on Seeding the briar patch: “Radioface: This Looks Like the End for Me: “Now, this looks like a job for me So, everybody, just follow…Feb 5, 19:09
    • Ian Brotherhood on Seeding the briar patch: “Has r-publicofscotland been hoofed? If so, does anyone know where else he comments?Feb 5, 19:08
    • Royston Rickard on Seeding the briar patch: “All you’re venting off here, Geri, is ignorant prejudice, unfounded smear and bigoted, BBC-style innuendo – the self-deluding idea that…Feb 5, 19:07

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()