Free-App Hero: 500 not out

Posted on March 31, 2011 by

Sorry updates have been a bit thin on the ground for the last few days, viewers – I've been insanely busy with about eight different things, and probably will be until Monday. One of them was reaching a milestone with the mighty Free-App Hero, which has now featured a frankly amazing 500 games since being released four months ago and written 150,000 words (roughly two novels' worth) about them. Yikes.

Astoundingly, that translates to somewhere in the region of £5 million saved by the app's users since it came out, and all without having to spend hundreds of tedious hours wading through thousands of godawful ad-strewn games written by escaped mental patients in order to find the good stuff.

Anyway, here are some pictures of weird stuff I saw in the park last week.

Admirably inventive repurposing of a pothole in a path.

One side of a bridge over a stream.

The other side. (Click to enlarge.)

Two views of what appears to be some sort of squirrel gazebo. Perhaps there was a squirrel wedding recently.

Your guess is as good as mine.

CGI squirrel breaking up.

++ ALL VIRTUAL SQUIRREL UNITS MALFUNCTIONING ++ FAIL ++ FAIL ++

0 to “Free-App Hero: 500 not out”

1. wildy says:

free app hero is an excellent compendium of ongoing work – bravo.

2. Ben says:

86%.

3. Ian says:

I'll buy that for a dollar*!

* less than a dollar

4. Anonymous X says:

I like your article in this moth's Retro Gamer, Stu. Incidentally.

• Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

Cheers! Good to know we’re selling well in the insect community, too.

5. Bad Ambassador says:

I saw that volcano in the park.  Although I didn't realise it was a volcano until reading this article because I was looking at it upside down.

6. Sokurah says:

I've already got AppMiner installed (and never uses it, btw) and with great sites like this and Touch Arcade I wasn't sure I really needed this, but what the hell – I can't say no to a good deal so bought it anyway. . 🙂

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,858 Posts, 1,233,239 Comments

• robertkknight on A matter of class: “Indeed… Yoons be suffering from Stockholm Syndrome: “Stockholm syndrome is a psychological response where victims of kidnapping or abuse develop…Dec 28, 19:14
    • Dan on A matter of class: “@ Franchise Fanny Aye, maybe in your screwed up delusional head ya trolling bawbag. Guess your highly selective and twisted…Dec 28, 18:46
    • David Holden on A matter of class: “Is it a full moon or something as the trolls seem to be hunting in packs. I wonder if you…Dec 28, 18:45
    • Northcode on A matter of class: “The psychology behind the colonization of the mind is interesting… and very powerful. I read an article on psychology… years…Dec 28, 18:27
    • James on A matter of class: “Dan; yip, Unionist Troll Central on here now, both attack and concern varieties…They’e f*cking endless. Tragic.Dec 28, 17:54
    • Northcode on A matter of class: “Alf Baird @2:40 pm “I was long resistant to suggestions that Scotland has been colonised. But as I read Alf…Dec 28, 17:51
    • sam on A matter of class: ““Even the name ‘British Empire’ is fake, a disguise for a locus of power in London which in which the…Dec 28, 17:41
    • Mark Beggan on A matter of class: “Q.What do you call a person who likes to spend other people’s money? A. A socialist.Dec 28, 17:29
    • Andy Ellis on A matter of class: “….feel free to banish me from this shithole you’ve allowed to be filled with trolls for evading your ridiculous moderation…Dec 28, 17:25
    • Mark Beggan on A matter of class: “Child: When I grow up I want to be a socialist. Parent: You can’t do both.Dec 28, 17:18
    • Andy Ellis on A matter of class: “I particularly liked the conclusion: The Nationalism of the Scottish National Party is not based on ethnicity but territory, it…Dec 28, 17:17
    • Dan on A matter of class: “Or alternatively, to do a way with endless yak, jist go with the simple abbreviated version in the dictionary. colony…Dec 28, 17:02
    • Captain Caveman on A matter of class: ““Some of the many things said about the English is that they treat nothing seriously and the men are sublimated…Dec 28, 16:48
    • sam on A matter of class: “https://journal.thenewpolis.com/archives/1.1/Saville-Smith.pdf “The matter is settled, Scotland is not a Colony because it was part of an Incorporating Union. But what…Dec 28, 16:27
    • Andy Ellis on A matter of class: “You may be right. Reform’s rise seems mostly to be cannibalising disillusioned Tory voters and the hard core brexiteers though:…Dec 28, 16:21
    • James Cheyne on A matter of class: “Xaracen, I take on board you’re excellent analyses of the position of Scotland territory and Sovereignty still belonging to the…Dec 28, 16:14
    • TURABDIN on A matter of class: “Some of the many things said about the English is that they treat nothing seriously and the men are sublimated…Dec 28, 16:13
    • Captain Caveman on A matter of class: “In actuality, Andy, I believe British nationalism is enjoying quite the renaissance of late, most notably in the form of…Dec 28, 15:19
    • Alf Baird on A matter of class: “““The intellectually low lumens” (wattage at a push) … metaphor to compare intellect to the brightness of light” Yes Northcode,…Dec 28, 14:40
    • Mark Beggan on A matter of class: “For those who can. I hope you are feeding the wee birds this winter. They also need fresh water at…Dec 28, 14:35
    • Northcode on A matter of class: ““Of course your keyboard being all sticky can’t help either.” Intellectual my perfectly smooth and rounded porcelain buttocks, Andy Inglis.…Dec 28, 13:47
    • Andy Ellis on A matter of class: “I’ve thought for a long time that the chief reason the British nationalist project is “going down the pan” was…Dec 28, 13:20
    • Alf Baird on A matter of class: “The ““Scotland as colony” narrative – is perfectly legitimate”, especially so for those having studied postcolonial theory in depth, then…Dec 28, 13:11
    • Andy Ellis on A matter of class: “@ Northcode Correction: “que the inevitable…” should, of course, read as “cue the inevitable…” I guess that’s what happens when…Dec 28, 13:05
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on A matter of class: “Book review I did a few years ago which may be of interest to some – ‘CANADIAN GAELDOM: FADED FOOTPRINT…Dec 28, 13:00
    • Northcode on A matter of class: “Correction: “que the inevitable…” should, of course, read as “cue the inevitable…”Dec 28, 12:17
    • TURABDIN on A matter of class: “@ ANDY ELLIS, ENGLAND OR UK is going to the dogs, finished according to taxi drivers and Hampstead dinner party…Dec 28, 12:11
    • Northcode on A matter of class: ““Your contribution is little more than we’d expect from the intellectually low voltage usual suspects in here…” “The intellectually low…Dec 28, 12:03
    • Xaracen on A matter of class: “@James Cheyne; 1- The 1707 Treaty did not expire with the Irish treaty in 1800! Technically, the English/Irish agreement wasn’t…Dec 28, 11:56
    • Andy Ellis on A matter of class: “@ Alf 11.33am I happen to agree with the OP, however my contributions being directed towards addressing the wall to…Dec 28, 11:49