A welcome return for Chris’ works: particularly apposite this morning given events in Venezuela, as apparently nothing much has changed since the Americans overthrew Noriega in Panama 36 years ago….!
…waste 10 minutes of your life reading the BTL posts from the usual suspects!
Or the twilight zone as I prefer to call it. 🙂
We can’t afford for people to get the impression that the monomaniacal obsessions of the fringe crank usual suspects in here are in any way representative though Hatey, whether of the independence movement or of Scots more generally.
“Where there is doubt, faith; where there is despair, hope; where there is darkness, light” as a wise man once said.
“….apparently nothing much has changed since the Americans overthrew Noriega in Panama 36 years ago…“
======
TWO things have.
First, Maduro failed to “do a Noriega” and seek sanctuary with the Papal Nuncio. He was, of course driven out of the Salvadorean Nunciature by blasting not of explosives, but loudspeakers.
Enter the second change: we have an American Pope. Would Trump have tried a noise assault on the Caracas nunciature and risk(Sotto voce) condemnation- in American English- by Pope Leo?
So let’s change things. Confront the Stopping Nationhood Party wherever and whenever we can, tell them what they are have done wrong, and invite them – nicely – to co-operate with the independence groups/parties/people.
Well, we have to try.
And also, of course, follow the Rev and talk non-stop about the voting system so people get to understand that SNP1 and 2 just doesn’t work.
The SNP are an ipso facto anti independence masquerading as an independence party. At least with the unionist parties you see them for what they are.
The SNP are therefore an insidious block on progress to independence. They are most certainly not the least worst option if independence be the measure and the polls now to a large extent very much reflect that.
The reality of course is that the SNP need to be destroyed and replaced. And not replaced by by any of the unionist parties or the crypto fascist English Reform party.
But good toon Chris and many will understand exactly what the impact of being the least worst option actually is when it draws independence votes to a non independence false flag party like the SNP.
Cheers for typing that, it saved me from doing it 😉
Upon reflection, I think Chris is making a careful point about The Scotsman newspaper (all MSM perhaps?) continuing to bolster a convenient lie. The lie being, as you state, that they’re the least worst option, when they’re not.
Chris, good to see you back with a cracking ‘Toon, and Hamish in his scratcher waking up to a clock whose ‘time’ will not change for an entire year – I’m sure that message is not lost on any of us.
AS IT WAS IN IRAQ, so it shall be in Venezuela……«Pax Americana»,
is that the distant rumble of San Andreas and Yellowstone?
May your wishes be granted in 2026,
What is clear for us, if we want indy, WE NEED TO ABIDE BY THE NORMS OF INTERNATIONAL LAW and the rules based order community. Our strategy should now be :
– assassinate the PM at Chequers with a drone swarm under the pretence of a parley (Novgorod)
and/or
– capture Starmer and his family and hold them to ransom until we are free (Maduro)
additionally with
– committing acts of piracy on the high seas – money maker! (US Navy and oil tankers) – and it is how england got rich
or
– just get issy to recognise us cf. Somaliland (a bogus fake madeup non country which nevertheless is useful geopolitically)
everyone else is doing it, why don’t we?
We should also crowdfund to get a contract with Palantir for them to draw us up “kill lists” of our opponents.
– a few well placed hypersonics immediately solves the problems of “capitalism”
Some, uneducated, people might call this assassination, kidnapping, coup de tatting, piracy on the high seas, but we have a crack team of oxbridge/ivy league types to do the paperwork and write it up nice … its kosher all right.
What is clear surely is that the post WW2 world order (such as it was) is now irredeemably lost. MAGA has served to shatter the old order and the UK, Europeans, Canadians, Japanese, Taiwanese, Australians and New Zealanders face some stark choices: either we accept being the bitches of Trump and his ideological successors, or we look to our own devices.
To that end, we must exclude the USA from our security architecture as they are patently now an unreliable ally. We must buy US military equipment last and promote indigenous and pan-European co-operation: the same goes for other hi-tech areas, banking systems and a sovereign European cloud and satellite communications / surveillance capability.
The French and British should co-operate to extend their nuclear guarantee to all EU & EEA members and to Canada.
Either we move at pace to become one pole of the new multi-polar world order, or we resign ourselves to choosing which of the other poles of the new world order we become clients of.
Some sound sentiments, Andy, but the major problem with excluding the USA from our security architecture is that their kit is still the best.
But you already know that, as evidenced by the ability of our eastern European friends to keep the Orcs at bay for near 4 years.
Our friends in the Middle East produce some great tech too. As evidenced by their ability (helped by the Yanks) to keep the misogynistic medievalists at bay for several decades.
Of course, this is all anathema to a certain strand of the Indy “family” who failed to grow up in the seventies and eighties and don’t know how to now.
We’re veering very close to one of the BTL red lines by even having this discussion. So I’ll simply add that Indy won’t be going anywhere while The War rages.
And, of course, Scotland’s greatest living half-Scot has just opened a Third Front.
Not really: US kit is oftentimes amongst the best, but is routinely outperformed by systems developed elsewhere. The US oftentimes simply capitalises on its huge advantage of scale of production which makes unit costs much cheaper. Over complex equipment can also be a disadvantage, particularly when weapons systems are designed to perform in a host of different environments, which may not be needed.
The European defence procurement market is more than large enough to keep European R&D and manufacturing going, particularly if we adopt a “buy American last” policy, which we should do as a matter of urgency.
The size and spending power of European economies and armed forces is more than capable of going toe to toe with any adversary. We just need to make it so.
We’ve wasted near 4 years wishing the problem would go away. In that time, military technologies have changed unbelievably for those countries involved. And so also have their economies.
We in the west have not yet even reached agreement on what we should do next. Let alone put our economies on a war footing, ditched the environmental guff, and turned on the mass production processes. And what would we mass produce? Most of what we have on the drawing boards is obsolete after 4 years of the kind of technical advances that only ever come about when existence is at stake.
We no longer have the time to develop the tech we will need. So it has to be bought. And we’re not gonna be buying from the Orcs or the Covid Spreaders, or the robots of NK.
I mean, I know we’re daft! But even that daftness has a limit.
I agree WRT 4 wasted years, but many weapons systems in development are on pretty long lead times. You’re just plain wrong about the abilities of the Europeans to develop systems. Our friends in the east fought the Orcs to a standstill with SFA: the Europeans would wipe the floor with them and burn the Kremlin to the ground.
International Law is the toilet paper of the powerful.
Trump’s next target? Iran…..an American funded fundamentalist protestant Iran is projected…..the psychotic Trump for shah…..?
America is biting off a large chunk of the planet, do hope it chokes.
America is THE major drug user and world wide porn supplier…all homegrown problems.
The indigenous peoples of «America» kick the colonists out….
In another universe, maybe, the same universe where Scotland never took the English bait.
“The indigenous peoples of «America» kick the colonists out….”
And many millions of them return to Scotland, the land their ancestors set out from, dreaming of rapine, booty and genocide.
A very small but implacably evil part of me would love to live to see the wonderful day Auld Scotia’s home-grown colonisers return, tails between their legs, to enforce all their North American values on the remnant Scots whose ancestors missed the boats!
Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.
Hatey McHateface on List Voting For Cretins: ““The SNP’s clearly stated intention to thwart independence for Scotland is in plain sight” That’s just plain silly, Andy. The…” Jan 3, 19:12
Andy Ellis on And every day was exactly the same: “@ Hatey 6.24pm I agree WRT 4 wasted years, but many weapons systems in development are on pretty long lead…” Jan 3, 19:06
Andy Ellis on The Gulf War: “They’re not my parties or my criteria. Presumably Alba, ISP, I4I, Liberate Scotland….? There may be others no doubt.” Jan 3, 19:02
Hatey McHateface on List Voting For Cretins: ““it’ll only take me five minutes” Odd, Northy, but at this time of year, some things are more obvious. Didn’t…” Jan 3, 19:01
Cynicus on And every day was exactly the same: ““….apparently nothing much has changed since the Americans overthrew Noriega in Panama 36 years ago…“ ====== TWO things have. First,…” Jan 3, 18:51
Captain Caveman on List Voting For Cretins: “Oh do shut up, you fat, useless moron. One thing’s for sure though, no one is going to g to…” Jan 3, 18:47
Northcode on List Voting For Cretins: ““I don’t actually think this is the place – nor indeed do I think the vast majority of readers or…” Jan 3, 18:34
Hatey McHateface on And every day was exactly the same: ““The indigenous peoples of «America» kick the colonists out….” And many millions of them return to Scotland, the land their…” Jan 3, 18:30
Hatey McHateface on And every day was exactly the same: “Again, some good points, Andy. But you’re neglecting the time factor. We’ve wasted near 4 years wishing the problem would…” Jan 3, 18:24
Andy Ellis on And every day was exactly the same: “Not really: US kit is oftentimes amongst the best, but is routinely outperformed by systems developed elsewhere. The US oftentimes…” Jan 3, 17:49
Young Lochinvar on The Gulf War: “AE @ 9.21 Ahh.. And those parties meeting your criteria are??” Jan 3, 17:43
Andy Ellis on And every day was exactly the same: “…waste 10 minutes of your life reading the BTL posts from the usual suspects! Or the twilight zone as I…” Jan 3, 17:40
TURABDIN on And every day was exactly the same: “International Law is the toilet paper of the powerful. Trump’s next target? Iran…..an American funded fundamentalist protestant Iran is projected…..the…” Jan 3, 17:33
James on List Voting For Cretins: “Once you’ve stopped being embarrassed for everyone else Tory Boy you should try Socialist Worker, it’s a good read. Don’t…” Jan 3, 17:26
Hatey McHateface on And every day was exactly the same: “Some sound sentiments, Andy, but the major problem with excluding the USA from our security architecture is that their kit…” Jan 3, 17:24
Hatey McHateface on And every day was exactly the same: “You having a laugh, Andy? If you want to find a place where “apparently nothing much has changed”, waste 10…” Jan 3, 17:14
Andy Ellis on And every day was exactly the same: “What is clear surely is that the post WW2 world order (such as it was) is now irredeemably lost. MAGA…” Jan 3, 17:05
Andy Ellis on List Voting For Cretins: “@Aidan 3.55pm Amongst all of the deluded things that you sa Alf, the comparison between the Scottish people and the…” Jan 3, 16:46
Confused on And every day was exactly the same: “What is clear for us, if we want indy, WE NEED TO ABIDE BY THE NORMS OF INTERNATIONAL LAW and…” Jan 3, 16:44
Andy Ellis on List Voting For Cretins: “@ Northcode 12.40 pm They never make a statement that presents a plan or hypothesis that can be analysed and…” Jan 3, 16:22
Aidan on List Voting For Cretins: “Amongst all of the deluded things that you sa Alf, the comparison between the Scottish people and the people’s suffering…” Jan 3, 15:55
Shug on The Zone Of Interesting: “If Reform offered a referendum and an investigation into the Salmond case they will get a large part of the…” Jan 3, 15:43
TURABDIN on And every day was exactly the same: “AS IT WAS IN IRAQ, so it shall be in Venezuela……«Pax Americana», is that the distant rumble of San Andreas…” Jan 3, 15:32
Alf Baird on List Voting For Cretins: “The colonized are forced to exist every day in an ‘apartheid regime’, ‘a people’ and their culture and language rendered…” Jan 3, 15:17
sarah on List Voting For Cretins: “@ BLMac: “SNP self-id as an independence party”. The leadership and hangers-on do. There’s so many members who are still…” Jan 3, 14:37
Nae Need! on And every day was exactly the same: “Willie, Cheers for typing that, it saved me from doing it 😉 Upon reflection, I think Chris is making a…” Jan 3, 14:15
The Flying Iron of Doom on List Voting For Cretins: “Alf Baird says: 2 January, 2026 at 2:58 pm “what happens if unionist voters decide to vote tactically in the…” Jan 3, 13:36
And bloody Sonny & Cher are still playing on the radio.
An absolute belter Chris.
Plus ca change…
But, but, we’re in the World Cup!
C’moan noo, none of the rest of it matters compared with that.
Sad but true
I am not ashamed to say I laughed out loud in the meadows on seeing this, great stuff.
A welcome return for Chris’ works: particularly apposite this morning given events in Venezuela, as apparently nothing much has changed since the Americans overthrew Noriega in Panama 36 years ago….!
You having a laugh, Andy?
If you want to find a place where “apparently nothing much has changed”, waste 10 minutes of your life reading the BTL posts from the usual suspects!
…waste 10 minutes of your life reading the BTL posts from the usual suspects!
Or the twilight zone as I prefer to call it. 🙂
We can’t afford for people to get the impression that the monomaniacal obsessions of the fringe crank usual suspects in here are in any way representative though Hatey, whether of the independence movement or of Scots more generally.
“Where there is doubt, faith; where there is despair, hope; where there is darkness, light” as a wise man once said.
“….apparently nothing much has changed since the Americans overthrew Noriega in Panama 36 years ago…“
======
TWO things have.
First, Maduro failed to “do a Noriega” and seek sanctuary with the Papal Nuncio. He was, of course driven out of the Salvadorean Nunciature by blasting not of explosives, but loudspeakers.
Enter the second change: we have an American Pope. Would Trump have tried a noise assault on the Caracas nunciature and risk(Sotto voce) condemnation- in American English- by Pope Leo?
Too true.
So let’s change things. Confront the Stopping Nationhood Party wherever and whenever we can, tell them what they are have done wrong, and invite them – nicely – to co-operate with the independence groups/parties/people.
Well, we have to try.
And also, of course, follow the Rev and talk non-stop about the voting system so people get to understand that SNP1 and 2 just doesn’t work.
“…and invite them – nicely – to co-operate…”
Ach! Dae wi hiv tae be nice aboot it… kin we no gie thaim a guid kickin’ an invite thaim tae bugger aff insteid?
Thon fat cat is a lazy big bastirt by the way… still in its beid at theis time o dey fir God’s sake!
Thon’s anither yin that needs its erse kicked… kicked oot o beid onyway.
Happy New Year to you too, Chris! Good to see Hamish is still with us.
Don’t agree that the SNP is least worst.
The SNP are an ipso facto anti independence masquerading as an independence party. At least with the unionist parties you see them for what they are.
The SNP are therefore an insidious block on progress to independence. They are most certainly not the least worst option if independence be the measure and the polls now to a large extent very much reflect that.
The reality of course is that the SNP need to be destroyed and replaced. And not replaced by by any of the unionist parties or the crypto fascist English Reform party.
But good toon Chris and many will understand exactly what the impact of being the least worst option actually is when it draws independence votes to a non independence false flag party like the SNP.
Willie,
Cheers for typing that, it saved me from doing it 😉
Upon reflection, I think Chris is making a careful point about The Scotsman newspaper (all MSM perhaps?) continuing to bolster a convenient lie. The lie being, as you state, that they’re the least worst option, when they’re not.
Chris, good to see you back with a cracking ‘Toon, and Hamish in his scratcher waking up to a clock whose ‘time’ will not change for an entire year – I’m sure that message is not lost on any of us.
“Crying freedom in the night… “ (Van Morrison)
Chris cairns,
Happy new year to you,
Excellent Cartoon,
AS IT WAS IN IRAQ, so it shall be in Venezuela……«Pax Americana»,
is that the distant rumble of San Andreas and Yellowstone?
May your wishes be granted in 2026,
What is clear for us, if we want indy, WE NEED TO ABIDE BY THE NORMS OF INTERNATIONAL LAW and the rules based order community. Our strategy should now be :
– assassinate the PM at Chequers with a drone swarm under the pretence of a parley (Novgorod)
and/or
– capture Starmer and his family and hold them to ransom until we are free (Maduro)
additionally with
– committing acts of piracy on the high seas – money maker! (US Navy and oil tankers) – and it is how england got rich
or
– just get issy to recognise us cf. Somaliland (a bogus fake madeup non country which nevertheless is useful geopolitically)
everyone else is doing it, why don’t we?
We should also crowdfund to get a contract with Palantir for them to draw us up “kill lists” of our opponents.
And while they are all in one spot –
link to archive.ph
– a few well placed hypersonics immediately solves the problems of “capitalism”
Some, uneducated, people might call this assassination, kidnapping, coup de tatting, piracy on the high seas, but we have a crack team of oxbridge/ivy league types to do the paperwork and write it up nice … its kosher all right.
What is clear surely is that the post WW2 world order (such as it was) is now irredeemably lost. MAGA has served to shatter the old order and the UK, Europeans, Canadians, Japanese, Taiwanese, Australians and New Zealanders face some stark choices: either we accept being the bitches of Trump and his ideological successors, or we look to our own devices.
To that end, we must exclude the USA from our security architecture as they are patently now an unreliable ally. We must buy US military equipment last and promote indigenous and pan-European co-operation: the same goes for other hi-tech areas, banking systems and a sovereign European cloud and satellite communications / surveillance capability.
The French and British should co-operate to extend their nuclear guarantee to all EU & EEA members and to Canada.
Either we move at pace to become one pole of the new multi-polar world order, or we resign ourselves to choosing which of the other poles of the new world order we become clients of.
Some sound sentiments, Andy, but the major problem with excluding the USA from our security architecture is that their kit is still the best.
But you already know that, as evidenced by the ability of our eastern European friends to keep the Orcs at bay for near 4 years.
Our friends in the Middle East produce some great tech too. As evidenced by their ability (helped by the Yanks) to keep the misogynistic medievalists at bay for several decades.
Of course, this is all anathema to a certain strand of the Indy “family” who failed to grow up in the seventies and eighties and don’t know how to now.
We’re veering very close to one of the BTL red lines by even having this discussion. So I’ll simply add that Indy won’t be going anywhere while The War rages.
And, of course, Scotland’s greatest living half-Scot has just opened a Third Front.
Imagine what he could do if he was all-Scot!
Not really: US kit is oftentimes amongst the best, but is routinely outperformed by systems developed elsewhere. The US oftentimes simply capitalises on its huge advantage of scale of production which makes unit costs much cheaper. Over complex equipment can also be a disadvantage, particularly when weapons systems are designed to perform in a host of different environments, which may not be needed.
The European defence procurement market is more than large enough to keep European R&D and manufacturing going, particularly if we adopt a “buy American last” policy, which we should do as a matter of urgency.
The size and spending power of European economies and armed forces is more than capable of going toe to toe with any adversary. We just need to make it so.
Again, some good points, Andy.
But you’re neglecting the time factor.
We’ve wasted near 4 years wishing the problem would go away. In that time, military technologies have changed unbelievably for those countries involved. And so also have their economies.
We in the west have not yet even reached agreement on what we should do next. Let alone put our economies on a war footing, ditched the environmental guff, and turned on the mass production processes. And what would we mass produce? Most of what we have on the drawing boards is obsolete after 4 years of the kind of technical advances that only ever come about when existence is at stake.
We no longer have the time to develop the tech we will need. So it has to be bought. And we’re not gonna be buying from the Orcs or the Covid Spreaders, or the robots of NK.
I mean, I know we’re daft! But even that daftness has a limit.
@ Hatey 6.24pm
I agree WRT 4 wasted years, but many weapons systems in development are on pretty long lead times. You’re just plain wrong about the abilities of the Europeans to develop systems. Our friends in the east fought the Orcs to a standstill with SFA: the Europeans would wipe the floor with them and burn the Kremlin to the ground.
Here you go, Confused:
“it’s kosher”
International Law is the toilet paper of the powerful.
Trump’s next target? Iran…..an American funded fundamentalist protestant Iran is projected…..the psychotic Trump for shah…..?
America is biting off a large chunk of the planet, do hope it chokes.
America is THE major drug user and world wide porn supplier…all homegrown problems.
The indigenous peoples of «America» kick the colonists out….
In another universe, maybe, the same universe where Scotland never took the English bait.
“The indigenous peoples of «America» kick the colonists out….”
And many millions of them return to Scotland, the land their ancestors set out from, dreaming of rapine, booty and genocide.
A very small but implacably evil part of me would love to live to see the wonderful day Auld Scotia’s home-grown colonisers return, tails between their legs, to enforce all their North American values on the remnant Scots whose ancestors missed the boats!