Quotes Of The Year #10

Posted on December 31, 2013 by

So, yeah, here’s more stuff people said this year. (You have also been watching: January, February, March, April, May, June, July, August, and September.)

“Indeed, 55 per cent of people who said that they voted for the Scottish National Party in 2011 have said that they are not in favour of independence.” – Blair McDougall on Labour site Progress Online with what appears to be a flat-out complete lie. We can find no poll with such figures anywhere, nor has Mr McDougall provided his source despite repeated requests.

Looks like October was business as usual, then.

“Scotland ‘more likely to suffer catastrophic terror attack if it achieves independence'” – the Daily Mail takes care to keep the debate mature and reasoned, as always.

“Of course we’ve got the economic vitality, and we’ve got the people and we’ve got the resources. But why do we want to make a separate nation state at this point?” – kind of answered your own question there, Lord Robertson. The one we’re in is a total shambles, seems like an ideal time to jump ship.

“Alistair Carmichael, the man who is replacing him, the chief whip, I think he will adopt more of an abrasive, in-your-face approach to Alex Salmond. There’s going to be less of the sort of sotto-voce criticism, much more right-in-your-face. Clearly they feel maybe they need to step it up a level.” – the BBC’s Norman Smith introduces the new Scottish Secretary. Help me, Rona!

“[Independence] is a real dagger poised at the heart of Scotland’s industrial infrastructure.” – defence secretary Philip Hammond.

“Czechoslovakia is a dagger pointed at the heart of Germany.” – Adolf Hitler in 1938, shortly before invading said nation.

“Council resolves to stand up for the symbols of our country by flying the Union Flag from the main pole above the council building.” – Stirling Council plans to fly the UK flag above its statues of William Wallace and Robert The Bruce, until Wings Over Scotland breaks the story and the idea is shelved amid an outcry.

“Even though I’m a Scot, the Saltire makes me cringe. Every time I see a crowd of people waving it above their heads, I feel embarrassed for them.” – the Herald’s Mark Smith snivels for Britain.

“The loudest cheer and longest applause of the evening was in response to the Better Together youth representative’s declaration that the Romans couldn’t be bothered to occupy Scotland because having marched its length and breath they found ‘it was useless’.” – an eyewitness account (backed by audio recording) of the launch of Better Together Cowal.

“Another song pays tribute to the Soviet cosmonaut Yuri Gagarin, while All Jock Tamson’s Bairns are Coming Home, by Steven Clark, welcomes refugees from ‘Iraq, Zimbabwe, Turkey and Somalia’. The SNP is abusing the education system to promote its own separation propaganda.” – Scottish Conservative education spokeswoman Mary Scanlon rages at the notion of Scotland being outward-looking and welcoming.

One independent study suggests that viable intervention forces as well as basic territorial defence could be provided for little more than half the money Scottish taxpayers currently contribute to UK defence.” – an Icelandic expert group’s view of Scotland’s defence needs, and how much money they’d free up to spend on other things.

daillyt1

– “SNP Nats” are the WORST kind of Nats!

Ineos has been flagging likely cuts for months but instead of engaging with the situation and organising a coherent plan to save jobs, Unite called a strike over a pathetic and petty issue related to Labour Party internal politics. By the time the union woke up to the reality workers faced, it was too late.” – independent, formerly Labour, MP Eric Joyce on how Labour played games with Scotland’s industrial lifeblood.

“[The second Wings Over Scotland poll] is one of the largest commercial public opinion polls to have been conducted in Scotland in recent years. It is doubtful whether any newspaper or even broadcaster could afford so large a project nowadays.” – Professor John Curtice is glad SOMEONE’S still got the resources to keep him in a job.

mccolmjoking

“What Scottish soldier, proudly serving in the British army, would want to join the Scottish forces and spend their time parading up and down in a kilt in front of Edinburgh Castle waiting for tourists to take their picture?” – Gavin Brown, Tory MSP at the launch of Better Together Musselburgh. What, as opposed to being sent to Afghanistan and having their legs blown off?

Thank God the referendum’s in September so we never have to do 12 of these again.

30 to “Quotes Of The Year #10”

1. Murray McCallum

Why was that wee fella Euan McColm so angry in that tweet? Was he unable to watch or record Scotland Tonight on 28th October?

2. big_al

McColm is a prick.

End of.

3. fairliered

Can anybody explain to me what makes Euan McColm, and all the other Scots like him, despise their own country so much?

4. Vronsky

I never watch the dreadful hogmanay TV shite but I think I might tonight because I bet the kailyard will take a swipe at independence.  Any takers?

5. Dorothy Devine

Naw , yer OK Vronsky – I never bet on a sure thing! And the lady compering on BBBC makes me utterly sick with her forced jollity.

2014 a momentous year – have a good one everybody!

6. Christian Wright

“Even though I’m a Scot, the Saltire makes me cringe. Every time I see a crowd of people waving it above their heads, I feel embarrassed for them – the crudeness of the gesture offends me”

There’s something clinically wrong here – a psycho social disorder – the Bifurcated Scot whose burden is an irresolvable cognitive dissonance. This inner conflict leads to delusional beliefs about unions and kings being the head of communist states, and denying a people the right to be masters in their own house.

Scottish Cringe Disorder. We need all do our best to eradicate this disease that sucks the very life out of some of our people, like the unfortunate Mr Smith.

7. Juteman

Off out to a Media free zone.
    Have a good time folks, and i’ll look in again post hangover. 🙂
    Keep the faith.

8. seoc

Euan McColm… and every single one cleanly elected by the people of that country.
    Is there something wrong with that?

9. handclapping

Can anybody explain to me what makes Euan McColm…?
    Well, if all life arrived on Earth as debris from a passing comet. EM probably is the descendant of debris from a death star.

10. M4rkyboy

One of my favourite quotes of the year was,surprisingly, from Magnus Gardham.
    I cant remember it word-for-word but it was basically ‘don’t tell me you don’t have enough information to make a decision there has been wall-to-wall Newspaper and TV coverage,ffs,there have been books written on the subject,BOOKS!!!’

11. handclapping

“What Scottish soldier, proudly serving
    Jings, you can have proud Scottery attributed to you by an MSP! Makes me glad I’m an Englishman and, so, immune 🙂

12. PatrickJB

Someone needs to do a version of the Beach Boys’ Help Me Rhonda for Alistair Carmichael.

13. john king

“There’s something clinically wrong here – a psycho social disorder – the Bifurcated Scot whose burden is an irresolvable cognitive dissonance. This inner conflict leads to delusional beliefs about unions and kings being the head of communist states, and denying a people the right to be masters in their own house.”

Dis that mean he’s talkin shite?

14. john king

“Someone needs to do a version of the Beach Boys’ Help Me Rhonda for Alistair Carmichael.”

You read my mind

15. Dave McEwan Hill

PatrickJB
    I think somebody has

16. Dave McEwan Hill

SCD – Scottish Cringe Disorder    I like it and we should use it
    We’ve got a few this year  
    Bateman’s “AFBL” – a fecking big lie
    Ms Soubry’s “FUTB” – finger up the bottom (describing the usual look on Farage’s face)

17. Conan_the_Librarian

Laptop ordered off.

Have a guid yin folks.

18. Gordon Hay

“Can anybody explain to me what makes Euan McColm, and all the other Scots like him, despise their own country so much?”

Perhaps because they’re (closet or open) Tories?

19. Helpmaboab

I have to bow out of this excellent compendium here. I’ll resume in 2014 sometime.

Now, for the sake of my composure and bonhomie, I’ll be spending the rest of the night avoiding the BBC at all costs. Their annual denigration and belittling of our most characteristic national festival can make me quite cross…

Damn your eyes Jackie Bird and everyone at BBC Scotland!  A guid new year to everyone else!

20. fairliered

Gordon – surely even tories don’t HAVE to be ("Quizmaster" - Ed)s?

21. Gordon Hay

Probably not – but it may be a condition for those who take the Hootsmon’s shilling.

22. Dal Riata

Already 4 hours into 2014 here in Taiwan! So, 2014 it is, then – it’s getting serious now! I shall be returning to Scotland in about three months to go full-time into spreading the ‘Yes’ message, both local and further afield.

“But you won’t have any money coming in, what are you going to do?” I don’t care. I’ll have a roof over my head and there’ll be food to eat. Doing all I can to help Scotland become the independent country it is meant to be is far more important to me than an income, at least until September the 18th. I want to go to bed on the night of the 17th knowing that I’ve done everything I could’ve done to help my country’s cause – and the good people who live in it.

The (my) future? It’ll take care of itself. First there’s work to be done. 

To Rev. Stu.: Happy New Year and thanks a million for all the work you have done, and will continue to do, in exposing the liars and their lies, bringing the truth to the fore and informing the people of Scotland what a brilliant opportunity they have for themselves and the country with a ‘Yes’ vote in the coming referendum. Cheers!

To all the posters: Happy New Year! All of you have contributed in your own way to make Wings Over Scotland the great site that it is. Cheers to you all! 

It’s 2014 everyone! Just 260 days to go… Let’s do this!

23. Robert Kerr

Net surfing brings up this future report from conservative home.

Worth a read, especially the sensible comments.

Happy New Year to all.

http://www.conservativehome.com/thetorydiary/2013/12/how-scotland-was-lost-and-what-happened-next.html#idc-cover

24. Patrician

The Mark Smith quote does not show he is suffering from cognitive dissonance, he is plain and simply a Brit. 

25. gordoz

Mark Smith is a Brit but he’s also a pretentious dick.
    Oh and the pish he covers – who reads it seriously ?

26. ronnie anderson

Rev, thank God the Referendum,s in Septso you dont hiv tae dae anither 12 of these again,
    naw its only 10 mths o them tae dae before the 18th Sept ha ha. Rite keyboard doon ,
    Awe the Best tae You n Your,s ,Awe the Helpers at W O S . An tae Awe YOU Wingers oot there,
    n LumiLumi, Have A Rite Gid New Year.

27. Brotyboy

@Dal Riata

Good on you, man.  As with you, I’ve promised I will pull my weight in 2014.  

And I speak as a seriously fat bastard.

28. Dal Riata

@Brotyboy

Aye, good on ye! Seriously fat bastard or seriously skinny bastard, it doesnae matter. It’s not what’s on the outside that matters, it’s what inside and telling us what’s right and what’s wrong. It’s making sure we get that ‘Yes’ vote over the 50% mark in September that’s the most important thing. 

Anyway, a Happy New Year to you, and here’s to the right result in nine months time!

29. wee_monsieur

“Even though I’m a Scot, the Saltire makes me cringe. Every time I see a crowd of people waving it above their heads, I feel embarrassed for them.” – the Herald’s Mark Smith snivels for Britain.

I bought my last copy that day (after 32 years of buying the Herald).

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.