No-one better to decide | speymouth

193 to “No-one better to decide”

1. Effijy

This must terrify our fascist neighbours to the South
    And of course Tory Party.

Johnny Foreigner is welcome in Scotland as a tourist as a job seeker as someone who
    Wants to make our country bigger and better.

If the notion or opportunity arises, I too want to retain this same option to become part of another
    European Country.

England now has all the worst of qualities that I don’t want in My Scotland

2. X_Sticks

Brilliant! Rock on Miguel. Tackling the bigots head on and taking no prisoners. Loved the selfie with Nicola too!

Another excellent video from Phantom Power. What a great series these Journey to Yes videos are.

3. bobajock

Hmm – we need 200k people to change their minds, and 200k EU citizens ….

and their families, friends, work colleagues …

Rez – time to make a list of those who want the EU. Who might have said No before.

Academia
    Farmers
    Fishermen (not the multinationals)
    Tech community
    Businesses

4. Robin

Does anyone know what the figure is for EU citizens living in Scotland of voting age is?
    If they aren’t 100% for Indy then I really would be struggling to understand their individual mindset more than any Yoonatic!

5. Greg Drysdale

Perfectly articulated ~ and from a non-native speaker!

6. WG Saraband

Thanks for sharing this video, it was a pleasure to work with Phantom Power, and if this video is anything at all coherent it’s because he magically edited my endless haverin into something remotely understandable!

7. Graeme Patullo

Brilliant! This should shared far and wide

8. Capella

Another brilliant video, thank you WG Saraband. If you’re a politics nerd you have come to the right place! Hope you and your partner have a long and happy relationship with Scotland – and each other.

9. galamcennalath

WG Saraband says

endless haverin

We need more haverers like you 🙂

10. Ambrose Harper

Wonderful video. A joy to watch.

11. schrodingers cat

WG Saraband says:
    my endless haverin
    ———————–

lol, brilliant

12. Graeme

Get a link to his blog on the WoS site Stu?!

13. galamcennalath

Robin says:

Does anyone know what the figure is for EU citizens living in Scotland of voting age is?

The 2011 Census has 2.59% coming from EU countries (other than UK and Ireland).

This may have risen, then perhaps fallen post EURef. Many seem to me to be young single people, though there are families. So to extrapolate into voters – probably no more than 3%.

In 2014, those who voted tended to vote NO because they wanted to remain in the EU. In IR2 we need to encourage rEU New Scots to register and to vote YES. It will make a significant difference.

14. galamcennalath

…… correction …..

I have a 2016 figure of 3.9% rUK citizens so the number of potential YES voters is even higher.

https://tinyurl.com/y32o4oqm

15. Muscleguy

I’m a returned Scot, we emigrated when I was 6 and so I no longer sound Scottish and don’t try to (it feels like parody, non genuine). So I get the ‘where are you from?’ questions too but never in a challenging way, always just curious.

My story has always been accepted. I was born here, end of story, I’m a Scot even without an accent (though I still say uz instead of us).

My wife has a cousin who is gay and Australian and he came with his partner to Scotland and loved it and had a great time with no problems. I think that it’s great that here you can be who you are and still be accepted.

Lang may yer lum reek WG.

16. Ken500

When people would think they could not lie even more. Davidson now supporting Johnstone. It is just unbelievable. The Tories going down big time. Into oblivion.

Steel industry in trouble. There are no longer any smelters in the UK for decommissioning. The work has to go abroad. Turkey etc. Scotland losing out big time because of Westminster unionist imbecile policies. Importing fracked US Gas. .

Scotland losing out on CCS Projects reneged upon by the Westminster imbeciles. The EU countries now forging ahead with CCS projects. Rotterdam etc. Scotland losing out with CCS projects in the North Sea.

17. manandboy

An insight into Nigel Farage & Co.

https://www.politics.co.uk/comment-analysis/2019/05/

“MEPs are respected and sought out because most are highly competent and work hard. Unlike in Britain, where it is viewed almost on the level of a parish councillor, other countries send their ex-prime ministers and foreign ministers. National MPs often consider the role a promotion. A great many are fluent in multiple languages and form close bonds with colleagues from different countries and political backgrounds.
    The exception to this, of course, is Ukip. I used to see Nigel Farage propping up the bar with a cigarette, exuding bonhomie, relishing the lifestyle, loving to be hated, and all the while refusing to contribute a single meaningful thing towards his constituents’ wellbeing. He and his colleagues registered for the daily allowance, alright, but almost none turned up to committees or did any discernible work whatsoever.”

18. Ken500

Many English visitors love Scotland. Loads,

19. Abulhaq

WordPress permitting…..Ceud mile fàilte a dh-Alba….100k welcomes to Scotland, boa sorte e aproveite!

20. Abulhaq

Not Caesar….but Abla reversed!

21. Robert Louis

Excellent, excellent, excellent video.

How odd that folk from other countries can see Scotland’s potential, yet unionistas like Davidson cannot. Of course in the case of Davidson, she knows all of this, but as a political careerist, she pretends that independence would be bad for Scotland. It’s all about political careerist Ruth and her vaulting ambition which overleaps itself.

I have to say, having watched politics in the UK for a very long time, with each passing day recently, I have become ever more convinced that we are watching the rise of fascism in England. It does not happen overnight, but step by step, slowly oh so slowly.

These are very depressing times. We really need independence away from what is happening in England ‘little britain’.

On the upside, the FM gave an absolute excellent interview on CH4 news last night. Hammered home all the right points, very clearly indeed. We need more of that.

22. Steph

This is what I want people to see when they look at Scotland.

A progressive, inclusive country who welcomes anyone wishing to make a life here. I want people to see you don’t have to be born here to be Scottish. That we are different from what England represents.

Scotland has always been more European than it has British. Our values and principles are more on par with Europe than they are England.

English people have asked me countless times why I want Scotland to leave the UK. Why is the UK a bad union and the EU a good one?

The answers are obvious. Because the UK has ran out of steam. The balloon has burst, so to say. A future in the UK for Scotland means regressing, going backwards in time instead of forward. It means Scotland being ignored like we always are. It means eventual elimination of the Scottish parliament.

The UK is just no good for Scotland.

So to any others wondering why Scotland want to leave a union just to go off and join another one – it’s because we want to swap a rubbish union for a good one. A better one. Nothing wrong with that.

Welcome to Scotland, WG Saraband. I started reading your blog last night after I watched the video on Phantom Power’s channel. Keep at it, good Sir. 🙂

23. Ken500

The number of people in Scotland from elsewhere is 9%. 6% from the rest of the UK. When it comes to No voters. It is a relatively small proportion. 2/3%. Not enough to really swing it. It needs more folk born in Scotland. Elderly women? to vote YES. Women outlive men. Convince the grannies and aunties etc. They are scared of change. Younger folk are more risk takers, especially men. The demographics are changing in favour. The best time to have an IndyRef is when it can be won. Scotland is going it’s own way in any case.

More men than women join political Parties 10 to 1? Women are busier or lack of childcare? People can take their kids to meetings etc. Nicola helps getting the women onboard. Increasing childcare and baby boxes etc. Family friendly policies. Helps the economy. Kinship payments keeps families together. There are less children in care. Given more support.

24. Steph

@Robert Louis

“I have to say, having watched politics in the UK for a very long time, with each passing day recently, I have become ever more convinced that we are watching the rise of fascism in England. It does not happen overnight, but step by step, slowly oh so slowly.

These are very depressing times. We really need independence away from what is happening in England ‘little britain’.”

I couldn’t agree more. Sometimes whenever I say this some people think I’m just exaggerating. But it’s so true. Fascism doesn’t happen overnight. It creeps up on you. The scary thing is, not only is it happening in the UK, it’s happening in Brazil and the US with the dementia patient they have in office. Even Europe has saw a surge in far-right groups.

I just hope Scotland manages to have indyref2 (unless the fascists in Westminster send up the tanks to stop it of course) and gets out before we descend deeper and deeper into the rabbit hole with England.

If the prospect of Boris Johnson as PM or even the idea of another 2 decades of Tory rule doesn’t sway people to the Yes side or hasn’t done already, I don’t know what will.

25. Robert Peffers

@WG Saraband:

Thank you for becoming a new Scot.

Here is another Scottish expression you may like to use now and then, “It wad gar ye grue”, it means, “would make you want to throw up”. I’ll leave it to you as to where and when to use the expression.
    ;-))

26. starlaw

I too am convinced that we are watching the rise of Fascism in England, all the early signs are in place, food banks, the attacks on the disabled and the people on benefits, this is a country I want no part in.

27. Ottomanboi

The Brexit farrago has exposed the real ‘United Kingdom’ to the world. The notions of order, fairness, trust etc mythically associated with the British have finally been debunked. The EU is sick of British blether. The chauvinistic Brexit ‘party’ crew will sicken even more.
    Scotland needs to kick this exceptionalist little England out of the lives of its people.
    We have reached the point of no return.

28. Sinky

Pro Indy voters need to keep projecting the modern welcoming social democratic Scotland and contrast this with the isolationist xenophobic right wingers running England aided by Jeremy Corbyn’s opposition to EU freedom of movement.

Meanwhilw worth pointing ou to elderly No voters:

http://www.businessforscotland.com/uk-state-pension-worst-in-developed-world-and-has-the-highest-retirement-age/

29. Phronesis

‘But for all the glitz and pomp, there is little new in either Farage’s new launch, or that of his former political vehicle, UKIP. Farage has always tried to position himself as mainstream, with a cloying man-of-the-people act capitalizing on the fact he didn’t go to university, while breezily omitting the fact that he attended the highly exclusive and expensive fee-paying Dulwich College, and made a mint as a city trader in London’s banking sector. Hoisting a pint of soapy ale aloft in photos is a handy substitute for any real working-class credentials if there’s a camera nearby’

http://www.jacobinmag.com/2019/04/brexit-ukip-farage-sargon-of-akkad

And of course like any pampered spiv his love of Scotland stems from Scotland’s vast economic resources to be harvested and appropriated for the remnants of the Empire that has no regard for Scotland or her citizens. Farage et al have summoned the comitatus, to uphold a feudal system of vassalage. All that fighting talk because Nigel believes that Scotland cannot have her independence- what would the Empire do with the money tap switched off and where would Nigel be then.

No longer the Ringmaster for the travelling Brexit Party Circus, the outreach entertainment outfit of the WM Political Pantomine and the creation of the far right of the Tory party, he would be consigned to a little seen or heard sideshow where he belongs.

Tomorrow is a very important day for Scotland. Vote for Scotland the country, vote SNP to uphold the democratic vote that has already determined that Scotland should stay in the EU. Do not stay at home apathetic and dispirited. Scotland’s relationship with the EU is Scotland’s business not Nigel’s, Scotland’s collective autonomy expressed at the ballot box is a fitting response.

30. Jack Murphy

This has been said before re the Phantom Power films—–“The best one yet”.

THIS ONE with the message from WG Saraband now joins the gallery of “THE BEST”.

A big loving thankyou to WG,Phantom Power and Stu of Wings Over Scotland.

31. Iain mhor

@Robert Peffers 11:55am

I always had that down as making your blood run cold and giving ye the shivers.
    From the ‘grue’ ice and snow coming down a river.
    Although, I dare say it might be adopted in places as ‘sick’ as grue is usually slushy.

32. Blair Paterson

It’s all very well showing videos of the odd one or two people who will vote yes but the fact remains 80 per cent of Incomers voted no in the last ref., as I have said before only those who were born and live in Scotland should be allowed to vote and decide their countries future no one else and the people on here who argue against this are helping the unionists to keep us tiidetoo them I don’t care to be Mr., nice guy I want to be Mr., FREE guy

33. Dave McEwan Hill

Blair Patterson
    Rubbish again.So the Scots now living in England shouldn’t be allowed a vote in England?
    Divisive rubbish.Determined residency is the most sensible judgement.

34. WG Saraband

Blair Patterson
    If you want to build a “free” Scotland built on grudges and inward looking nativism, then sure, gerrymander the demographics as much as you like to guarantee a win. Will you exclude pensioners because they voted No? Women because they voted No?

People who live and work and contribute to Scottish society in a myriad of ways, no matter where they were born, should have an opinion, and an ability to express it. Our duty is not exclude them, it’s to convince them.

35. galamcennalath

Who should vote? My view is we want the maximum possible franchise. 16 & over and resident. They are all stakeholders even if we don’t like the views of some groups.

If Cameron had held EURef allowing 16-17 year olds, plus all rEU citizens to vote in the same way Scotland did, then Brexit wouldn’t be happening. Objectively, that would have been a fairer outcome.

I didn’t like the outcome of IndyRef1, but I won’t start othering or scapegoating. That is the road to fascism.

What type of iScotland do we want? A place where stakeholders whose views we don’t like are disenfranchised like the UK? No thanks.

36. Breeks

Steph says:
    22 May, 2019 at 11:21 am
    @Robert Louis

“I have to say, having watched politics in the UK for a very long time, with each passing day recently, I have become ever more convinced that we are watching the rise of fascism in England. It does not happen overnight, but step by step, slowly oh so slowly.

These are very depressing times. We really need independence away from what is happening in England ‘little britain’.”

Amen to that. Pulled this off Rev’s Twitter feed. I don’t know what you’d call it except fascism. Are you proud of yourselves Boris Johnson and Gove? We all know Farage is. Look what you’ve done, for the gratuitous lie of taking back control you’d never lost to begin with. You’re an absolute disgrace.

https://mobile.twitter.com/Femi_Sorry/status/1131066941236498434

37. starlaw

If Farage and his crowd of would be Brexiters turn up in Brussels simply to cause disruption, is it within the EU’s right to expel them from the chamber. I would expect the EU to do so or perhaps the rules don’t cover the demented as this had never been expected to happen.

38. gus1940

Is it not the case that there always used to be a policeman/woman stationed outside all Polling Stations?

39. gus1940

I have always wondered just how it was that Hitler and The Nazis managed to con the German people into supporting them.

Observing what is happening in England I can see just how easy it was.

40. gus1940

Re the delay in announcing the Scotland result due to the no counting on Sundays in the W. Isles could the ballot boxes not be sent to the mainland for counting.

Alternatively could the counting not be done on the friday or saturday with the ballot box totals kept unconsolidated and sent to the mainland for totalling.

41. Dr Jim

@Robert Louis

Those of us old enough watching what’s unfolding in England can only come to the same conclusion that the creeping rise of fascism started in the same way

Our young can’t remember or envisage it and our old don’t see it because nobody on the terrestrial channels will show it to them

It could turn out to be the biggest journalistic crime of the 21st century and who holds the media to account on who influenced them to avoid reporting it

Will the media hold up their hands in faux surprise after the event or will they rub them in glee at the thought of selling more *news*

42. galamcennalath

gus1940 says:

I have always wondered just how it was that Hitler and The Nazis managed to con the German people into supporting them.

While some fascist regimes (Pinochet and Franco) grabbed power by insurrection against the elected governments, others (Hitler and Mussolini) actually won elections. To win, there was a fair degree of intimidation and coherence, but win they did.

History shows us the formula. Take some of these ingredients – exceptionalism, entitlement, feelings of ethnic superiority, belief that other nations are giving you a raw deal, supposed internal enemies, othering, scapegoating – mix and cook for a short time. Voilà, fascist surprise!

The people of Scotland need to go their own way, and the people of England need to take stock of who they are and where they are going. Perhaps the disintegration of the UK is a catalyst which will lead to a better future for everyone.

43. galamcennalath

@gus1940

I think the counting timetable is EU wide and some polls are open over the weekend.

44. Abulhaq

Most EU countries vote on Sundays, therefore the Outer Hebrides count on monday, (why not friday/saturday?) ought not to slow things down. The population is less than 30.000.

45. Hamish100

Robert Peffers says:
    22 May, 2019 at 11:55 am
    @WG Saraband:

Thank you for becoming a new Scot.

Here is another Scottish expression you may like to use now and then, “It wad gar ye grue”, it means, “would make you want to throw up”. I’ll leave it to you as to where and when to use the expression.
    ;-))

Now Robert Scotland is made up of different dialects and tongues. The tories would make ye puke, for example.Ask ” hughieee” lol

46. Essexexile

Effijy@9.07am

re ‘fascist neighbours to the south’.

Always worth remembering there are 13 million in England who voted remain. That’s eight times more than voted remain in Scotland.
    ..and I can assure you they are just as angry, depressed, incredulous, despairing and frustrated.

47. Abulhaq

While each EU member state has to use a proportional system in Euro parliament elections there is no uniform standard. Only 16 states use the D’Hondt system, or variants of it. Northern Ireland has the single transferrable vote.
    Like the voting day the process needs to be standardized.
    Only the Brits and Dutch vote thursdays.

48. manandboy

“Re the delay in announcing the Scotland result due to the no counting on Sundays in the W. Isles could the ballot boxes not be sent to the mainland for counting.” (Gus1940)

In an electronic age of global interconnection, in which I can walk down Sauchiehall Street while chatting on my smartphone via a videolink to a friend in China, this delay in the W. Isles is indefensible – and inexcusable.

But there’s a reason for everything, and tinkering takes time.

49. Greannach

If anyone in the Western Isles doesn’t want to vote on a Sunday, that’s their choice. I wonder if the same pious crew read Monday newspapers… which are produced on a Sunday. And I hope none of their roof tiles were made in godless places on a Sunday and transported up the A9 in colourful lorries from Stornoway on a Sunday.

50. Abulhaq

@Manandboy
    Online voting ought to fix the prob., however, it opens the door very wide for another one, massive electoral fraud.
    There is no perfect system most are in someway ‘inaccurate’ by either over- or under-representing parties. ‘Democracy’ was after all designed by patricians for small population Greek city states where women and slaves had no vote.
    The Jefferson method aka D’Hondt was conceived for the early USA where the right to vote was similarly restricted.

51. Clootie

I welcome everybody who wants to make Scotland their home. Although we have homegrown bigots WE don’t encourage their behaviour (with the exception of Murdo, Ruth etc and their links to the Orange Order and the DUP.

52. Steph

@Blair Paterson

Oof, that’s going down a rocky road. That’s the kind of thing unionists use against us – that we’re all blood and soil nationalists – when we’re certainly not.

No offence, but thank goodness your opinion is in a minority. If we want Scotland to progress and flourish as an independent nation we need to accept that all people’s votes – no matter what your political opinions are – matter. If we head down the road of only allowing Scots who were born here to vote that leads to a fascist society and makes us no different to the controlling government in London.

Westminster didn’t allow EU nationals to vote in the EU referendum so that they could sway the results to be what they wanted it to be. Do you really want to follow in the path of the very country we are trying so very hard not to be like?

Everyone who lives in Scotland contributes to this country. They have the right to have their voices heard no matter if they were born Scots or new Scots. In fact I welcome more new Scots. More progressive Europeans or other Brits who just want the same as we do. Come and join us if you want a progressive and brighter future away from the Westminster government, inside the EU and vote Yes for an independent Scotland.

53. gus1940

Our wonderful politicians and media seem to have forgotten that Boris J. is an opportunist fence sitter.

Unless my memory is failing me I recall in the run up to the EU vote a media scrum outside the Boris residence waiting for him to come our and declare which one of Leave or Remain he was going to support.

He duly came out and declared for Leave.

Up to that point nobody knew which way he was going to jump.

54. CameronB Brodie

Cracking video. If folk are surprised that members of the Scottish Law Society are not flocking to defend the legal identity of Scotland’s residents, perhaps they are forgetting that the legal profession attracts a lot of reactionary gammons Tories. Though they have a legal training, they are clearly not ethical rationalists. More like self-regarding friends of (white) British nationalism.

Ethical Rationalism and the Law

About Ethical Rationalism and the Law

What role does reason play in determining what, if anything, is morally right? What role does morality play in law? Perhaps the most controversial answer to these fundamental questions is that reason supports a supreme principle of both morality and legality.

The contributors to this book cast a fresh critical eye over the coherence of modern approaches to ethical rationalism within law, and reflect on the intellectual history on which it builds. The contributors then take the debate beyond the traditional concerns of legal theory into areas such as the relationship between morality and international law, and the impact of ethically controversial medical innovations on legal understanding.

https://www.bloomsburyprofessional.com/uk/ethical-rationalism-and-the-law-9781849467865/

55. Ken500

Johnstone will be out come next GE. London S/E voted Remain. The Tories into oblivion. Jumped before they are pushed. Liar Johnstone jumped the wrong way. What a loser.

56. Proud Cybernat

Jon Craig
    ?
    Verified account

@joncraig
    30m30 minutes ago

“Very senior MP tells me the word from the Cabinet corridor in the HoC is that the PM will resign tonight, Andrea Leadsom is poised to resign to launch a leadership bid, others may also resign & David Lidington will take over as acting PM. Unconfirmed!”

https://twitter.com/joncraig/status/1131220451806588929

57. Robert Peffers

@Iain mhor says:22 May, 2019 at 12:39 pm:

… I always had that down as making your blood run cold and giving ye the shivers.”

Being brought up speaking Lowland Scots I’ve never had occasion to look up the phrase in the Scottish Dictionary but I have now.

Seems we are both correct. Like such words as, “dreich”, there really is no direct English equivalent – but every Scot knows exactly what it means.

So the term, “Gar”, is perhaps a bit confusing and is described both as, “to cause something to happen”, and also as, “filth, slime and even excrement”.

the term, “grue”, has a fairly long entry and even has several spellings. – 1 to feel horror or terror, shudder, shrink in horror or fear
    2 – (of the flesh, heart, blood, etc.), creep, quake, run cold with horror or fear.
    3 – shiver from cold.
    4 Make a wry face.

There is more but the dictionary attributes all the different meanings to local area dialects.

My understanding of the phrase, “It wad gar ye grue”, has always been to feel sick to the pit of your stomach and with connotations of the sickness perhaps being engendered by fear or horror or loathing.

So there it is – there are various local dialect versions so take your pick depending on the local dialect – and I only learned that today.

Wings is a great source of often almost forgotten things about our heritage that have become submerged in Anglo Saxon and USAsian English.

58. Capella

Listening to PM at 5pm and it sounds like the Titanic is finally sinking below the waves. Theresa May is toast. What a shambles.

59. CameronB Brodie

Scottish Law Society
    Ever canvased your members to assess the level of engagement with Critical Rationalism, within the educational practice that shapes the Scottish legal profession?

Logic and rationality in OR interventions: an examination in the light of the ‘critical rationalist’ approach

Abstract

Historically OR has conceived of itself as a professional practice giving rational, objective advice rooted in the ethos of science. However, the claim of science to rationality and objectivity has wilted under the onslaught of relativist and post-modern attack. One proposed philosophy of science seeks to avoid such problems by adopting a strictly objectivist approach. Critical rationalism (CR), the philosophy originated by Karl Popper, attempts to eliminate all inductive, justificatory and merely subjective claims by the ruthless application of deductive logic.

The philosophical development of the CR approach to practice is currently a work-in-progress; however, it is an approach that should on the face of it find favour with OR, particularly for those who want to claim that OR is logically rational. The paper, drawing on the work of David Miller, explores how such an approach can be applied in the OR context. It concludes that although as CR suggests it may be possible to drive out inductive and justificatory claims in OR, subjective choice is an essential element of managerial decision-making and cannot be ignored or assumed away. The paper identifies some of the challenges that confront philosophers of practice if OR is to take the insights of CR to heart, suggests some possible responses, and identifies areas for future research.

Keywords
    philosophy of OR philosophy of practice critical rationalism process of OR

https://link.springer.com/article/10.1057/jors.2012.58

60. CameronB Brodie

Scottish Law Society
    If you are unaware of Critical Rationalism, what century are you lot living in?

Conclusion of paper on Popper and Hayek
    http://www.criticalrationalism.net/

61. Reluctant Nationalist

Welcome to Scotland, Jose. I hope you don’t miss Spain too much.

62. CameronB Brodie

Scottish Law Society
    If your members ain’t critical rationalists, it is hard to describe their practice as supportive of democracy, frankly.

Educating Reason: Critical Thinking, Informal logic, and the Philosophy of Education
    Part Two: Philosophical Questions Underlying Education for Critical Thinking

https://ojs.uwindsor.ca/index.php/informal_logic/article/download/2706/2147/0

63. Phronesis

What a legacy- taking the 5th largest economy in the world and turning it into a ‘digital and sanitised version of the nineteenth century workhouse’. Nothing to do with the EU and everything to do with a failing parliamentary system that has knowingly impoverished its citizens and shredded the social contract.

WM should no longer direct Scotland’s fate,there are many ways to express that determination.

‘The endlessly repeated response that there are more people in employment than ever before overlooks inconvenient facts: largely as a result of slashed government spending on services, close to 40 percent of children are predicted to be living in poverty two years from now; 16 percent of people over 65 live in relative poverty; and millions of those who are in-work are dependent upon various forms of charity to cope…

It might seem to some observers that the Department of Work and Pensions has been tasked with designing a digital and sanitised version of the nineteenth century workhouse, made infamous by Charles Dickens, rather than seeking to respond creatively and compassionately to the real needs of those facing widespread economic insecurity in an age of deep and rapid transformation brought about by automation, zero-hour contracts and rapidly growing inequality’

https://undocs.org/A/HRC/41/39/Add.1

64. HC

Be careful what you wish for re immigrants. We in Wales have suffered from a deluge of them from England and beyond, killing our language in some of its heartlands(to the delight of the England-based rev, no doubt). Why do you think Welsh nationalism faces such an uphill struggle ?. Thankfully, the Labour-leaning social worker Leanne is gone, leaving us with a Plaid leader who understands nationalism.

65. galamcennalath

Robert Peffers says:

submerged in Anglo Saxon and USAsian English

Occasionally I hear the odd word which I had assumed Scottish in an US movie or TV. The context is not Scottish and appears to be American English. Presumably actually from Scottish settlers long ago.

One I can think of is spicket . My father in his Ayrshire Scots would never say water tap, it was a spicket.

Another I heard was jouk, as in move your head to avoid a punch.

I remember reading somewhere that -eth at the end of verbs has been replaced by -s in all forms of modern English. The -s comes from Lowland Scotland / Northumbria i.e. Scots. Older English used -eth.

So the Scots does influence English sometimes outside Scotland.

66. HandandShrimp

The notion of Ruth Davidson “working with Boris” is so wonderfully karmic that I would love to see a The Office style fly on the wall documentary of it happening.

67. Hamish100

HC

Immigrants? Are you referring to the 2nd holiday home crowd from South East England?

68. Republicofscotland

Well the unionist propaganda tv programme STV news gave over a good part of their teatime “news” report to attacking the Southern General hospital in Glasgow (AKA the undemocratically decided name the QEUH).

This was of course a backhanded attack aimed at the SNP, through its flagship hospital.

69. schrodingers cat

cameron
    i enjoy yer posts but the frequency worries me. perhaps less is more?

70. schrodingers cat

HandandShrimp
    it is one thing for ruth to do a volt face,,,,,,,,,,,, but it is the voters who count

71. CameronB Brodie

schrodingers cat
    I hear you but that was me done. If you have a problem with making a point, take it to the Rev.

72. CameronB Brodie

a problem with Me making….

73. gus1940

While our flip flopping not so little RuthFuhrer is now prepared to work with Boris how does she know that he would be prepared to work with her after all the mud she has slinged at him?

74. gus1940

More English stuff on tonight’s Misreporting Scotland.

75. Col.Blimp IV

HC

Careful lest you be denounced as a racist bigot.

If I was to delve into my in living memory, ancestry. I would discover that I am more than 50% Johnny Foreigner.

Yet I consider myself to be 100% Scottish.

Only an Idiot or the terminally P.C.(no pun intended), could think that large scale unregulated immigration can be anything other than harmful to the host culture.

If you don’t believe me, compare Australasia and North and South American cultures from 1500ad onwards…90% of the inhabitants killed by disease and war, the rest, enslaved, displaced and marginalised by European immigrants. Africa and Asia didn’t exactly have it easy either.

Lots of European cultures went the same way in the preceding millennia, some of them on this very Island.

What was it that Spanish chap said about people who do not learn from history?

76. galamcennalath

Capella says:

Theresa May is toast.

Indeed. She’s been ‘dead woman walking’ for a while now. I predict she will resign on Monday with the EU results come out and show an absolute thrashing for the Tories.

But what next?

The EU and UK have completed the Withdrawal Agreement negotiations. The EU will not reopen them just because the PM has changed. The make up of WM remains the same and seems to want to reject hard, soft, no deal, or no Brexit. Hard to see that changing.

Will the next Tory PM continue to kick the can while dreaming about changes to the WA?

Will WM actually back one of the possible options? The new PM presumably wants to last more than a few months and not be the last Tory PM for a generation!

A general election would potentially give a new government a mandate. Trouble is, because of FPTP, it might be a Farage government!

We in Scotland should now be looking for what’s best for Scotland. We can’t save England from itself.

77. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Reluctant Nationalist at 5:28 pm.

“Welcome to Scotland, Jose. I hope you don’t miss Spain too much.””

Awffie clever, RN. I doff my cap. Your reluctance beginning to wear off?

78. Abulhaq

Davidson and her wee friend Gove are now sucking up to Johnson. Scottish Unionists are truly the catamites of the British state.

79. Effijy

Essexexile.

Yes indeed there were many English voters who chose remain but the issue lies in the fact that so many more voted for Brexit.

Many seem assured that they are a superior nation and better than anyone else on the planet.
    Hitler had exactly the same pitch, they were a superior race, they deserved to rule the world, they
    Were entitled to change the nations laws and replace democracy with dictatorship.

Many Germans were against this but there was nothing they could do but die for the Fascit cause.

I wish England well but they want Brexit and God help them when they get it.

I want to be Scottish European, I don’t want to be ruled by the corrupt government next door
    I will not see Scotland dragged over a cliff by blind fanatics who hope their dead empire awaits resurrection on the rocks below.

80. Ahundredthidiot

I don’t like to see people kissing.

And I dont much give a shit who’s doing it.

It’s a personal, private and intimate act, no need for public display.

So while I am more than happy to celebrate the story, Rev, you can shove the picture up your arse.

And before anyone goes all phobia rant please be minded that I efectively encouraged a hetrosexual kissing couple to depart my local just recently.

What’s wrong with people with all this kissing in public nonsense?, it is simply not appropriate and I dont much give a shit about what beelzebub has to say about it.

81. Abulhaq

@Brian Doonthetoon
    Rather think Reluctant Nationalist is being condescendingly, ‘BritNatily’ sarcastic.
    José from Spain is in fact Miguel from Portugal.
    He seems not too keen on me either.

82. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Abulhaq.

I got that…

8=)

83. Ahundredthidiot

should’ve added, haven’t watched the vid (due to picture) but do know Miguels story from previous entries, which brought a wee pathetic tear to my big macho eye.
    thanks M

84. Meg merrilees

Andrea Leadsom as the next Tory Leader???

When will this nightmare be over.

Boris Johnson was bad enough but not her, surely!!!

The arrogance of these people is astonishing. And we see from the front of the ‘Express’ that (t)Ruthless would be happy to work for Boris on whom she had previously done a massive demolition job leaving us in no doubt that he is a complete and utter arse.

Maybe she thinks she will look ‘competent’ and ‘in control’ beside him and I wonder how the DUP will fare when they try and pressurise Boris to decide in their favour on anything.

What a mess.

85. admiral

Please folks.

Let’s put aside petty differences and tomorrow go out and vote SNP to show Scotland rejects this nonsense and wants to be a grown up responsible member of the European and world community.

Please vote SNP.

86. Meg merrilees

Starlaw @ 1.59

my understanding is that elected members of the European Parliament have to agree to abide by a code of conduct which binds them to be respectful of other MEP’s and work in a constructive and co-operative way.

I think it was Rees Mogg who had suggested a couple of months ago that if tmrw’s elections did go ahead, the resultant MSP’s from ‘England’ should plan to be as disruptive as possible and he had his knuckles sharply whacked by Donald Tusk who warned him that elected MSP’s had a duty to be constructive etc…

87. Welsh Sion

admiral @ 8.30 pm

You have my vote (by proxy). Likewise, Plaid Cymru have mine in my homeland. Unable to vote for either, I look forward to positives and pro-Europe, pro-independence messages from both our countries.

88. Dan

The now international comedy of watching UK political events continues… Leadsom resigns from Cabinet.

There’s just no Joy in Division for poor Theresa… She’s Lost Control Again…

89. CameronB Brodie

Abulhaq
    Spot on. I didn’t want to be the first to say anything, in case folk think I’m bullying RN. I simply don’t abide racism and will call it out wherever I see it. Got that RN?!

90. Welsh Sion

Starlaw @ 1.59 pm

Meg merrilees @ 8.34 pm

Here you go …

http://www.europarl.europa.eu/pdf/meps/201305_Code_of_conduct_EN.pdf

91. Essexexile

Effijy@7.43pm

Well said.
    I detect a gloomy resignation among my English remainer friends here that some degree of Brexit is now inevitable.
    But, there is hope somewhere beyond the inevitable disaster that awaits, that in a decade or so, after the cretinous Brexit brigade have proved you can’t run a first world economy by talking about sausages and spitfires, that rUk may seek to rejoin the EU.
    Years after iScotland has already done so of course.

92. geeo

Cameron@8.39pm

If you are calling out racism, you are not bullying anyone, call it out with a free conscience.

93. CameronB Brodie

geeo
    I’ll always be me. 😉

Folk might find this hard to believe but I try not to impose on others. I just see the need to raise the tone of public discourse, which has been controlled by a populist, right-wing media for far too long.

Rationality in politics and its limits
    https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/23269995.2015.1018693

94. Essexexile

If you were to ask a child to draw a picture of an evil witch, they would surely draw Andrea Leadsome.
    Note to Andrea,
    We’re just getting rid of one narrow minded, psychotically obdurate, massively incompetent Prime minister with no aptitude for anything other than self advancement. We’re not in a rush to have another one.
    Please do bugger off back to Northamptonshire.

95. Lenny Hartley

Reports that Farage is seeking refuge in his Brexit bus from a mob armed with Milkshakes ????

96. Robert Peffers

@galamcennalath says: 22 May, 2019 at 6:11 pm:
    Robert Peffers says:

< … Occasionally I hear the odd word which I had assumed Scottish in an US movie or TV. The context is not Scottish and appears to be American English. Presumably actually from Scottish settlers long ago."

I don’t know if you are aware of this, galamcennalath, but the Anglo Saxon bits of the USA use the term, “HILLBILLY”, as a derogatory term always putting down these people at every turn but do you know where the term originates?

These are the former supporters of King Billy who emigrated to the USA. Both Scots and Scots Irish. Note also in the old Hollywood Classic movies the Irish were also always denigrated. For example the many, “Old Mother Rielly movies.

Another little realised fact is that the early European immigrants, in particular to Canada, were largely employees of the Hudson Bay Company but also from the other UK Celtic nations. These early settlers would live among the North American native tribes and convert them to Christianity, marry female North Americans and live in peace among them.

Even although the old Hollywood, “Cowboy and Indian”, movies always showed the, “Indians”, as scalping innocent whites this was far from the truth. The practice of taking scalps was begun by the white European settlers who would kill the natives and take their scalps to wear as trophies on their belts.

The Anglo Saxon, “Special Relationship”, began a very long time ago.

97. Robert Louis

I really do not think Boris the English clown will be PM, too many in the Tories do not like him, for him to make it to the last round. As for leadsom – dunderheid.

No, for my money, it’s going to be house-jock, Gove.

Anyway, hopefully we will not have to endure their arrogance and hatred of Scotland for much longer.

Tomorrow, I will be voting SNP. For many reasons, but mainly because in Scotland it is the one definite way to vote against brexit. I could vote green, but they do not have a large enough vote share, so vote would just be wasted and generally ignored. Likewise I could vote Libdem, but their nasty track record, in government with the Tories, makes them unelectable (and of course Wullie Rennie is a class A tube). Plus their vote share is also too small, so again it would be a wasted vote in Scotland.

So, to oppose brexit in Scotland, the only rational vote is SNP. But if we want to make an impact, people do have to vote. We must not assume that others will, so we don’t need to bother. So, I’ll be making sure I vote SNP tomorrow, and I hope they do well.

98. CameronB Brodie

Tomorrow’s vote is very important, I’m traveling through from Dundee to Edinburgh, just to vote.

99. John Jones

I wish people would educate themselves and start reading history, especially German history of the 1930’s. I’m really worried about what is happening in the UK and beginning to panic about us being caught up in it before we can become independant.
    Just imagine the state of our country like the countries that surrounded Germany if we don’t get away from the fascists rising in England at the moment,
    Nobody stood up to the things that were happening until it was too late. It’s like looking at groundhog day on a closed loop.
    Please, please God get us out of this before it’s too late.

100. Tam fae somewhere

Tomorrow’s vote is important- got off your backsides and vote!

101. Tam fae somewhere

John Jones – any good websites or books you can recommend?

102. galamcennalath

An email just arrived from Ian Blackford. I assume it went to all members. I will quote the beginning …

“Like me, you probably didn’t join the SNP to talk about Brexit. But tomorrow will be the most important European election Scotland has ever taken part in.

With Westminster in chaos and right-wing Brexiteers set to make gains in England, it is so important that everyone who believes in an independent Scotland speaks with one voice tomorrow.

We have a golden opportunity to send a clear message that Scotland’s for Europe and won’t be ignored – but that’s only possible by voting SNP.”

He’s spot on. I doubt the Greens will get a seat. They competing with the Tories, Labour, LibDems and Brexiters for one of three or maybe four seats. Much better that Yessers turn out and rally round the SNP. Make the massage clear and unequivocal.

103. galamcennalath

@Me …. massage … I really should read more carefully!

104. Dan

@CameronB Brodie at 9:41pm

Aye, here’s hoping for a decent turnout and a worthy expression of our will.

Was the last EU election turnout not around low 30%?
    After all that has happened since then will the electorate have woken up realise they have to make every effort to vote at all times.
    Are we really happy to continue to have our destiny decided, and our EU citizenship removed by the government of another country we did not vote for.
    C’mon Scotland. We have to make the effort. We can do so much better than continue to be led by this shambolic mess on the Thames.

105. Welsh Sion

You know who to vote for tomorrow …

Two wee stories of mine. (No purple balloons deserve a mention.)

8. (of 60.)

The four balloons

Once upon a time, there were four balloons at a party. There was the big, red balloon who thought he was the most important balloon there – he had been going to parties for as long as he could remember, and he thought of himself as the partygoers’ natural choice of balloon. He floated silently over the more recently arrived partygoers, but was rather startled when one of them gave him a large smack across his big, red face with the palm of his hand. In his shock, the big, red balloon floated too close to the radiator … until … BBBAAANNNNGGG! The big, red balloon exploded. Most of the partygoers didn’t seem to notice however and they carried on dancing. Others gave a loud cheer – these little, local events adding to the general feeling of mirth at the party. It would take a long time to find a replacement big, red balloon.

The blue balloon hardly ever got a look in at parties. This was because she was very difficult to inflate. No matter how much one huffed and puffed, more hot air seemed to come out of the wee blue balloon than ever went in. The partygoers eventually decided that it wasn’t worth the effort to try and inflate the blue balloon, so they left her in the corner to wither away and become wrinkled and unloved.

The yellow balloon was a much smaller balloon than the red and blue balloons. However, when one inflated him, one felt sure that he promised to be just as big and as good looking as the big, red balloon. Sadly though, this was very much only for show. Further, the partygoers had forgotten to tie a knot in the yellow balloon’s neck. As a result, he escaped from their grasp and spluttered all over the room, expelling hot air as he went.

“Ppppppppppppppuuuuuhhhhhfffffffffffff” said the yellow balloon, coming to land side by side alongside the dishevelled blue balloon.

And now we come to the gold and black balloon. The partygoers were initially suspicious of balloons which had two colours.

The gold and black balloon took some time to be inflated. But when he did – he looked magnificent! The partygoers gave him the thumbs up as the smartest balloon in the party and they started to strike him gently with their hands – batting him to and fro between their friends. The gold and black balloon was in his element – he had become the balloon of choice for partygoers everywhere. The gold and black balloon was exceedingly happy and he was making the partygoers happy too.

This was a win-win situation and everyone knew it.
    It was going to be the best party ever!
    _______

Parables for the New Politics
    2012-2019

106. Liz g

Anybody wondering if May will revoke Article 50 before she resigns to give her party a chance to reset?

Which by the way I don’t think she will do ( resign )before Trumps visit!

107. Robert Peffers

Have a look at this total maniac:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_VYrJCzD8iY

If there is anyone in Scotland who is fooled by this deranged idiot they deserve what they vote for.

108. Welsh Sion

59.(of 60.)

Four men in a nightclub

George, Dai, Jock and Mick/Mike were work colleagues at Yookay Ltd. and shared the same building. George and Dai tended to work close together (despite Dai not really enjoying such a set up), whilst Jock and Mick/Mike had a little more autonomy within their own offices.

George tended to think of himself as being the most important member of their group – the Team Leader or the David Brent, if you like. Consequently, and in the nature of office politics at Yookay Ltd., he tried to control the work practices of Dai, Jock and Mick/Mike; a habit the other three had long grown tired of. Well, although I say the other three had long grown tired of George’s domineering persona, they had not however, as yet, taken the final step of breaking up their partnership with him.

George then considered himself the leader of their section and tended to exert his influence even outside the offices of Yookay Ltd. Dai was of the type not to upset the apple cart and tended to keep moody silences; keeping his head down and getting on with his projects. Jock however was rather more vocal and would often raise his voice against George’s “unwarranted meddling.” Mick/Mike’s was a more special case.

You see, he suffered from Dissociative Identity Disorder. On some days, the Mick personality was dominant and, after having had a bitter row with George, he would seek reassurances from his half-brother, Paddy; an ex-employee of Yookay Ltd., but who was now working successfully for himself. At other times, the Mike personality would pledge undying loyalty to George and the set up at Yookay Ltd., and not a cross word would be exchanged between him and his colleague. In such a way, the colleagues of Yookay Ltd. rubbed along, and the company itself limped on from financial quarter to financial quarter.

Now, one evening, the four colleagues had gone to the Europa nightclub together. What George had seen in going there in the first place was rather a mystery. You will have already have gathered that George was not very much a team player or a social animal. His attitude at the nightclub confirmed all this. The music was too loud. Or it was not to his taste. The lights were too bright. The guests were performing ‘obscene’ movements as they gyrated on the dance floor. The drinks from the bar were some imported, fancy stuff – not like the warm beer he preferred in the Farage Arms pub back home. And the cost of entry! Goodness gracious! It was so exorbitant – and that for facilities he didn’t like one bit: he was minded to ask for a personal rebate.

It was then that George announced, “We’re going home.”

Now, it’s one thing to say that you don’t like a party and that you’re leaving. But, don’t you think it was a bit presumptuous of George to actually say “we” and including Dai, Jock and Mick/Mike in the equation and without making sure with them first? That wasn’t George’s way though. At work, as we have seen, he was known for throwing his weight about and getting his own way. In a similar fashion, he thought he could bully his colleagues into his ways of thinking outside Yookay Ltd.’s offices, too.

“We’re going home?” Jock retorted scornfully, emphasising the “we.” “And who do you think you are telling us that “we” are the ones going home from this great nightclub?”

“I saw you flirting with that dark-haired girl over there in the corner,” said George. “Positively unseemly. Not the conduct we’d expect from an employee of Yookay Ltd.”

“You mean Frances,” Jock replied. He grinned. “Frances was an ex of mine and we lost touch when I started working for Yookay Ltd. We were very close. We even had an alliance to be married. I was getting re-acquainted.” The grin disappeared and was replaced by a grimace. “Until your ham-fisted approach broke up our relationship,” Jock added bitterly.

“Why you ungrateful little creep! I’ve given you more than enough support at Yookay Ltd.! What more could you ask for?” George was shouting.

“What more could I ask for?” Jock repeated. “Why, you could let me make up my own decisions on projects at work. You could stop looking down on me and telling me what to do all the time. And you’re not telling me that just because this Europa nightclub is not doing the things you want, that we have to leave.”

Jock’s resentments over the years were boiling over. “In fact, George, I’ve had enough of you and your bullying over the years – I’m leaving you!” he shouted.

“He’s right, you know,” mumbled Dai.

But people rarely listened to him on account of his soft voice and his lack of self-confidence. It would have taken much more of an effort on his part to sound off in the same way as Jock had done.

“Shut it!” George roared at Dai, in typical Eastenders fashion. “You told me before you wanted to leave. You’re in this with me! You know your future lies under my stewardship at Yookay Ltd. Think how stupid Jock would be throwing in his lot with this bunch of strangers, and an ex he hasn’t spoken to in years. He wouldn’t last a year with any of them – and away from us at Yookay Ltd.”

Dai said nothing and looked down at his shoes.

“You’re wrong, George,” Mick said softly. “My half-brother, Paddy has been coming to this Europa nightclub now for years. And he’s enjoyed the internationalism of it immensely. No more ructions with you at Yookay Ltd. He’s now free to do his own thing and make his own friends. He has a place in the world – he knows it and his friends know it. He’s a happy man. And I want to join him in that happiness.”

“Another ("Tractor" - Ed)!” George bawled. “Such ingratitude! To be honest with you, when you were in your Mike phases, I tended to over-indulge you. And this is how you repay me! Well, good riddance! I can do without the lot of you! I’m going home – and to hell with this poxy nightclub. I never wanted to come here in the first place. Come on, Dai!”

“See you,” chorused Jock and Mick, grinning at George.

“We should have left you and Yookay Ltd. long ago. We’re going to stay and enjoy the party atmosphere here at the Europa,” Jock added defiantly. “Too bad you can’t stay!”
    George stormed out, muttering threats against Jock and Mick under his breath. Dai stood on the threshold, a confused look on his face. He was less sure of where his destiny lay.
    _____

Parables for the New Politics
    2012-2019

109. Cubby

BBC Reporting Scotland and STV News.

Both of the above give you a great choice of Scotland is crap stories or stories from England.

What a terrible state of affairs. Only way to end it is to vote SNP. Vote for Scottish independence.

110. Dr Jim

Good to see the UN flexing a bit of muscle and telling the *UK* they’ve got 6 months to clear out of the Chagos islands

Maybe Scotland will be receiving a bit of support like that soon, wouldn’t surprise me, wheels turning all the time

111. McDuff

steph 4.29

Blair Paterson is quite correct and to be frank its nonsense like yours that will kill an indy vote.
    Like Blair I am desperate for independence and it was probably the English vote that cost us indy in`14.
    I am all for people coming to live in this country, however at this stage in Scotland`s history I do not want thousand of no voters crossing the border which is something you are obviously in favour of. And to suggest that that attitude is akin to fascism is disgusting and a favoured term used by unionists.
    You are not some enlightened being on a higher intellectual plane gazing down on less mortals, this is our last chance for indy and you need to understand that.

112. galamcennalath

Liz g says:

Anybody wondering if May will revoke Article 50 before she resigns to give her party a chance to reset?

Now, that would be a very sensible move. So definitely won’t happen! 🙂

113. HC

No longer are holiday-home owners the problem , as many more live here permanently. The 1970s problem you refer to is dwarfed by the swamping of those of us who choose to live our life in Welsh. In Scotland, since your original language plays no part in your life or politics, it is far easier for settlers to assimilate into your society and be accepted. Here,the ‘raison d’etre’ for Plaid Cymru’s existence is being killed off by immigration.

114. Faltdubh

You make a decent point regarding English settlers, HC. They are a large, vocal minority and tend to be over voting age. Hence the decent showing for Brexit Party – who look set to tomorrow’s EU election in Wales.

I wish Plaid well. The signs are good too for your party. Winning by-elections and council seats in areas Labour won e.g south Wales; Adam comes across very well, and IMO, much stronger/better speak than Leanne Wood ; and more and more Welsh people are looking to someone other than Labour to run the Assembley.A Plaid minority in 2021 circa SNP in 2007 is just what the Doctor ordered, and I wish our Celtic cousins in Wales all the best for the future.

As for language, and someone who has Gàidhlig, its a very valid point about integration too regarding white settlers in Wales and Gàidhlig parts of Scotland.

I’m very much for immigration in to Scotland, but would prefer less from England if that makes me racist I don’t care. Whilst there are very good groups like English for Yes etc, the majority of these people will not vote for the SNP and I can understand them having a cultural affinity towards the British state, but 70% of the rUK people who live in Wales and Scotland will never vote for indy.

115. Dan

Cubby says at 10:30 pm

“BBC Reporting Scotland and STV News.

Both of the above give you a great choice of Scotland is crap stories or stories from England.”

It’s truly remarkable that they never manage to push any UK is crap stories…

@BBC & STV. How about a wee programme on Norway and its ability to easily fund its public services from just the return of investment on their prudently managed sovereign oil fund?
    Maybe if you actually informed your viewers that it is possible for a country such as Scotland with its abundance of natural resources to be a successful medium sized nation capable of running its affairs in a sensible way, your viewing figures wouldn’t be so pish!
    HTH

116. CameronB Brodie

Welsh Sion
    That was brilliant.

——–

I’ve mentioned I’m a bit of a critical realist, but what does that mean? Well it means I know when the Scottish NHS is under serious threat. Critical Rationalism plus Critical Realism plus Critical Legal Theory, is a powerful combination when seeking progressive social change. This is where I’m at and that is what I’m trying to share. It may be intellectually challenging but it’s not rocket surgery. 😉

Critical realism and health promotion: effective practice needs an effective theory

Critical realism (CR) is a realist theory that has been applied to explain and ground claims of knowledge, truth, progress and reality obtained through research in both natural and social sciences (Bhaskar, 1975, 1989; Archer and Bhaskar et al., 1998). CR in the social sciences, including research into health promotion, confronts other theories as inadequate in both explanatory resources and, importantly, as ethically indeterminate.

For example, attempts to reach consensus amongst actors in particular social circumstances is a major aspiration and activity of researchers who espouse social constructionism as a theoretical grounds (Guba and Lincoln, 1989). For CR, however, any such consensus would be required to be supportable on the objective moral criteria of equality, justice and freedom (Bhaskar, 1989) as well as on the truth of the actor’s beliefs. CR therefore has specific and exacting standards for any consensus-forming approach….

https://academic.oup.com/her/article/16/2/115/644582

117. Terry

W G saraband

Thank you for that. So touching Oh how I wish older “old” Scots could remove their UK blinkers and see that fascist train rumbling towards us. I fear they will not – but hopefully Nicola will take the initiative and get us out of this sorry mess.

I say though. Phantom power are in a league of their own. Fabulous as ever.

118. Hamish100

You know the Tories are in trouble when Ruth Davidson shuts up and goes into hiding.

She sees that her protector May is going, her wee pal Mundell will get the heave for a more right wing nut job and her previous Tory leader challenger will take his chance for the leadership.

If I was May – I ain’t by the way! I would go to see HM Queenie and call an election. Vote for the Tories and the Brexit deal. Advantage Tory MP jobs are at risk therefore their self protection tendencies come to the fore. Labour has to decide to stand as a remain party or Brexit or both!

Still Vote SNP is easier. Vote for SNP and if we win we have a mandate to remain in the EU and Independence. Who needs a referendum .

119. manandboy

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2019/may/22/maybot-plods-on-each-day-a-greater-torment-than-the-last-theresa-may-brexit#comments

The story currently being vigorously suppressed in Scotland, is what is happening in England. If England was a mountain, then it would be Mount St Helens, which erupted in 1980, after being dormant for a hundred years, and did so with such unexpected and catastrophic force that it destroyed a landscape for a hundred miles.

England is about to blow – big time.

Scotland need only wait, before walking away, unshackled at last, to make a new life.

Vote SNP, only, ever and always, until the Day of Joy.

120. Meg merrilees

Been leafletting tonight and heartened by the number of people who were in their gardens, or came out of their houses to say that they were voting ‘SNP all the way’; voting SNP tmrw and always.

Go out to vote tomorrow and remember you can probably help out your local branch from early afternoon onwards, they will be looking for volunteers to go round, knocking doors reminding people to vote or offering lifts in their cars to the polling station.

Really important to ‘get out the vote’. Make this one really count.

121. Proud Cybernat

Don’t say you weren’t warned:

https://i.imgur.com/4t5viHz.jpg

122. Cubby

McDuff@10.38pm

“………,..this is our last chance for Indy and you need to understand that.”

Sorry but I don’t understand that. Care to explain why it is our last chance for Indy?

123. CameronB Brodie

re, Critical theories. I’m not expecting folk turn themselves into social scientists, but I’m pretty sure that a little dip of the toe will produce new perspectives on the world. These might prove persuasive where previous argument has failed.

124. Marcia

Unconfirmed reports : D Mundell went to see T May – she chucked a milkshake over him.

125. Col.Blimp IV

“Day of Joy”?

Are you forgetting the role the EU willingly played in undermining the Indyref campaign?

Yet the SNP leadership who were humiliated every time an EU functionary opened their mouth, are hell bent on keeping the UK
    in the EU.

Why? … So we can go back to square one, with the EU telling us we can’t leave the UK and stay in the EU?

126. Wee bud

Talking to my daughter tonight who told me her grandfather and most of my ex’s family are voting for Farage mainly because of anti Muslim reasons.. We live in Campbeltown where there are hardly any Muslims.. I can’t believe her own family would fuck up the younger generations chances because they believe Far right propaganda on places like Facebook.

127. Dave McEwan Hill

Col.Blimp IV at 11.57

Utter Rubbish.The EU made no statement at all about Indy Ref. The UK media made it up and eejits like you believed it.

Provide one official statement from the EU to support your nonsense.

The EU position officially was that the result which would be achieved by a legally proper ballot would be accepted.

128. CameronB Brodie

Col.Blimp IV
    “Yet the SNP leadership who were humiliated every time an EU functionary opened their mouth, are hell bent on keeping the UK in the EU.”

The first part is subjective opinion, and it appears that you don’t appreciate the damage the full-English Brexit will cause to Scotland’s political economy and public welfare. A strange way to show support for the only party with the remotest prospect of delivering independence. No?

129. Hamish100

So I got personally addressed leaflets from ukip, brexit,tories, libdem. I returned all to sender. Feel cleaner.

130. Petra

“Woe is me”, says Ruth Davidson. “I wish I was pregnant again or I’d had a prior gestation period of an elephant to get me past (hide from) this very challenging period in time.”

Seems that the current political situation isn’t quite panning out as Dirty Money Davidson would have liked, LOL, LOL. Her strong and stable Big T Boss, that she did her brown-nosed skippy act around, has proven to be extremely weak and positively insane. Her future boss, if Boris Johnston, another ignorant psychotic with touchy, touchy, feely maniac Thomson as Secretary of State for Scotland, will finish the Tories off north of the border. They can then join their Better Together Labour mates to commiserate: Sob, sob. How the so-called mighty can fall right enough, eh?

I’m now looking forward to next weeks FMQ’s. Big T will be a “thing” of the past, with some other Tory nutcase of a leader looming over us, the possibility of a “restart” Brexit deal cracking everyone up, the DUP being shafted, the OO being bealing and Rooth the Mooth being hammered with the findings of the UN Report on the Tories totally unnecessary ideological implementation of their austerity policy, with the support of the Labour Party of course, to totally decimate UK society. Starve weans, the sick, psychologically vulnerable and physically disabled. What a Westminster legacy.

And of course beyond next week I’m just waiting patiently for Indyref2 to be called. Hasn’t Nicola Sturgeon done well just sitting back (plus working her socks off on our behalf) and affording us all the opportunity to witness this nightmarish debacle unfold. If I were Crazy Mayzy, as per Liz g, I would now lash out at the tractors in my party, et tu, Brute? X 250, and sort them all out by agreeing to a Section 30 order for Scotland to hold Indyref2. Go on Theresa you can do it. Go out with a bang why don’t you?

…………….

WGD:- ‘Operation arse about face.’

https://weegingerdug.wordpress.com/2019/05/22/operation-arse-about-face/

………………

Well it’s no longer Labour, Libdems and Tories versus the SNP in relation to the EU Election vote today. It’s Farage’s Brexit Party versus Nicola Sturgeon’s Scottish National Party. If you care about your country, your children and grandchildren, our future, then it’s absolutely crucial that you get out and vote. Vote for the SNP.

131. Col.Blimp IV

Dave McEwan Hill

Perhaps I should have said, the SNP leadership who failed to refute distortions of unofficial comments made by UE functionaries by The No campaign and their friends in the media, or who were unable to elicit a favorable ruling from the EU on the matter.

Particularly in respect of the “Prodi Doctrine”, remember sovereignty in the UK resides at Westminster.

I am not a political anorak nor an “eejit”, just a member of the public, who is still to make his mind up on how to vote when the polls open.

Bizarre, in that I have voted for independence in every election and referendum since 1979 and that presumably the SNP wishes that I continue to do so.

Gerry Fisher’s letter in the National yesterday prompted me to formulate a list of committed Nationalists who I know or Know of who have binned the SNP over the years…It is alarmingly long.

I fear that Fuck-Faced- Fools like you will ensure that grows ever longer.

132. Col.Blimp IV

CameronB Brodie

Off course it is subjective, when a Nationalist sees one of our front men/women fail to whack a Unionist curve ball out of the park, he shares their humiliation. It doesn’t really mater if the swine are cheating, they have been cheating since 1707.

As someone who earns less than they did ten and sometimes twenty years ago, I am pretty much immune to predictions of future economic doom or delight.

133. Steph

@McDuff

No, let me be frank.

It’s people like you and Paterson that will kill an indy vote. Considering you are basically confirming exactly what unionists think about us. So thanks for that.

You think you’re special? That you’re the only one desperate for indy?

“I am all for people coming to live in this country, HOWEVER” you say. Which means you’re obviously not, so that was a stupid statement.

Where is your logic, mate? Aye, that’s right. People who want Scotland to stay in the UK will just up and leave their lives to move to Scotland just to vote “No”, just to stick it to people like you. Have a bit of common sense and stop conjuring up far fetched theories.

I suppose Nicola Sturgeon better take back what she said a while ago then: “Come to Scotland. We’re not full up.” Does she want a No result too then?

So what you’re saying is you want to be exactly like England?

Facts are facts, mate. Saying that you only want “real Scots” basically, to vote, is blood and soil nationalism.

So when only “real Scots” get the vote, what next? And does that mean that Scots who don’t live here, but say, live in England can vote?

Put it this way. Imagine Westminster told Scotland they weren’t allowed to vote on the EU elections tomorrow, because Scotland will vote SNP, a result we don’t want. Is that fair to you? Because that is exactly the kind of scenario you are suggesting and it is frankly ridiculous.

Fascism is a term “favoured” by unionists? Well, I wonder why the radical Britnats were using it to describe us? Probably because of people like yourself who clearly has some kind of tribal mind.

So left wing people and indy voters like me have never used fascism to describe something that is clearly extremist views or ideas?

No, I’m not an “enlightened being” and I never said I was. But neither are you, Sir. If you feel insulted that someone disagrees with someone else’s view or sees it as being fascist, then maybe the truth hurts, even just a bit.

Disagree with me all you want, but blaming people like me for the failure of a Yes vote the last time is nothing but childish.

I need to understand that this is our last chance for indy, do I? Well, what you need to understand is that your attitude of wanting to silence the voices of people who live and work and contribute to this country just as much as you or I do isn’t the way to an independent Scotland.

Your idea of only letting Scots who were born here vote is a ridiculous notion and would never even happen. Nicola Sturgeon said that herself. She said “Where do we draw the line then?”

Have a word with yourself.

134. CameronB Brodie

Col.Blimp IV

“As someone who earns less than they did ten and sometimes twenty years ago, I am pretty much immune to predictions of future economic doom or delight.”

So things haven’t worked out for you as you expected and your solution is to ignore expert opinion? You sound a bit like Gove there, narrow and irrational.

135. Col.Blimp IV

CameronB Brodie

I don’t think I ever had a game plan for life, beyond when there is a specific goal, I’m more of a que serra serra type. Admittedly I do not always concur with “expert” opinion, that is hardly irrational.

It doesn’t matter what the assertion is, an expert can be found to endorse it and another ten repudiate it.

Expert opinion did not save us from the financial crisis of ‘08, the expert opinion on how to to get “us” out of it ,filed me with horror.
    How about the expert opinion on Y2K, seemed like cobblers, mind-boggling stupidity on the part of all computer programmers working prior to he discovery of the glitch or a scam(remember they also told us that your central heating, your wristwatch anything that had a microchip or an electronic clock was going to fail), not being an “expert”, I have no Idea which. Countless billions spent fixing Y2K! Money well spent or squandered? … expert opinion is divided on the matter.

The future is yet to be written, when things change people and organizations react to the change, so things change a bit more ad infinitum, perpetually diluting the chance of any individual or collective piece of speculation being correct. The more complex the matter you are trying to predict the lesser the chance you have of getting it right.

136. Petra

Rooth the Mooth’s £318 boot on the ar*e from Theresa May. Let’s get real here. Does anyone, other than Ruth Davidson, actually think that Big T, even for one nanosecond, gives diddly-squat for a wee, ignorant, obsequious, deluded, egotistical Scottish lesbian? If that’s what May’s willing to dole out for her one wonders what Johnston has in store for her.

‘The end of Operation Arse.’

https://bellacaledonia.org.uk/2019/05/18/the-end-of-operation-arse/

137. geeo

Steph@1.30am

Blair Paterson is regularly an anti English bigot, yet weirdly, also appears to be a British Nationalist concern troll.

Desperately tries to tarnish this sites reputation as welcoming inclusive and civic nationalism in nature.

Not one to give much credence to.

138. geeo

Marcia says:

22 May, 2019 at 11:50 pm

Unconfirmed reports : D Mundell went to see T May – she chucked a milkshake over him.

………….

Was treeza singing that old Kelis song ?

“My milkshake brings all the boys to the yard” ?

Got me coat…bye 😉

139. Dr Jim

Colonel Blimp is a British cartoon character by cartoonist David Low first drawn for Lord Beaverbrook’s London Evening Standard in April 1934

Blimp is a pompous irascible jingoistic, and streotypically British identifiable by his walrus moustache and the interjection “Gad Sir”

There’s much more on Colonel Blimp that identifies him as *British* so why then would someone claiming to be a Scottish Nationalist adopt such an alter ego that epitomises the world view of a typical English military figure, it’s not really all that likely is it

140. Dr Jim

The Farage Brexit party

What party? it’s only him some pals and Donald Trumps criminal mates money to destabilise the UK so Trump can move in on the cheap because nobody else will and do the bestest and greatest trade deal with the UK ever as the NHS is completely handed over to private American insurance companies, The Donald gets another term in office, Farage gets a massive bung, Britain gets screwed, job done

Scotland, Trump doesn’t like us remember, we’re chippy and argumentative, except Unionists of course they’re a subservient bunch

141. Sinky

Good front page for The National this morning. Make sure it is visible.

https://www.thenational.scot/news/17657916.sturgeon-voting-snp-shows-scotland-has-had-enough-of-being-ignored/

It’s a nice day so get out and offer to help the best placed Remain party, the SNP, to stop Nigel Farage.

142. Cactus

Your polling stations are about NOW open Scotland

Vote FOR Scotland IN Europe

https://howmanydaystill.com/its/european-elections-19

Cheers Miguel

143. Cactus

NOW Vote FOR Scotland IN Europe today

HEY the countdown clock just jumped back an extra hour!

144. Robert Louis

Do you want Scotland and the people of Scotland to remain in the EU??

Vote SNP. It is that simple.

For this one election in Scotland, a green or libdem vote is a wasted vote, as their vote share is too small to get elected. Only a strong vote for the SNP hammers home the right message to the clowns in London, and sends a clear statement to our friends in Europe.

Mae sure people you know get out and vote SNP too. This is very important. It is a chance to crush the London run parties (that’s everybody apart from the SNP and greens)

As the old saying goes, vote early and vote often.

145. Breeks

geeo says:
    23 May, 2019 at 3:27 am
    Marcia says:

She’d miss.

146. Robert Louis

The National has coverage of The First Minister’s stinging critique of Davidson from yesterday.

https://www.thenational.scot/news/17657547.nicola-sturgeon-i-have-principles-unlike-ruth-davidson/?ref=mr&lp=2

well worth a read, or better still buy a copy or subscribe, to Scotland’s only pro-indy newspaper.

QUOTE from the FM “The difference perhaps between Ruth Davidson and I is this, I’ve got principles and I stick to my principles. Ruth Davidson wouldn’t recognise a principle.”

Excellent stuff from the First Minister over the last few days. Good interviews on TV, and a truly stinging critique of gobsh*te careerist and political opportunist Davidson.

147. manandboy

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2019/may/22/the-guardian-view-on-theresa-may-final-act-nowhere-left-to-fail#comment-129347737

Sporadic Wit in the Guardian comments

“In December 2016, acting as First Minister for Scotland, rather than simply leader of a political party, Nicola Sturgeon sought to find a compromise, that would allow Scotland to Remain both within the UK, and within the Single Market. A detailed plan as to how this might be achieved, was put to the Scottish Parliament in December 2016, where it won majority and cross-party support. The only dissenters were the Scottish Conservatives, under Ruth Davidson, who were insistent on their Hard Brexit, and who eliminated any potential middle ground and forced a choice between Independence and a Hard Brexit.

It wasn’t just the Scottish Parliament, because the Welsh Parliament set out a very similar plan, just a few weeks later, which again won cross party and majority support. In fact, if it hadn’t been suspended, even Stormont probably could have reached majority concensus on a similar plan.

If you want to understand why the UK has got itself into such a mess, it is because the EU has been in the unfortunate position of having to deal with a completely dysfunctional Westminster parliament, under the worst Prime Minister in living memory. If the EU had been able to deal with Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland separately, it would all have been sorted out two years ago, without all this enormous cost and disruption.

It is the UK, not the EU, that is a failed and undemocratic political and economic union.”

and

“When Theresa May first appointed herself as the supposed living embodiment of the “will of the people” and sole arbiter of what Brexit was, she twice had to be knocked back by the UK Supreme Court, for trying to completely bypass parliament. If it had not been for Gina Miller, she would have attempted to negotiate and sign of a Brexit agreement in secret.

The fascinating thing about all this, is that the very people who are now claiming that Theresa May has betrayed them, are the very people who were furious at the Supreme Court and Gina Miller, and calling them “enemies of the people”. They had complete faith in Theresa May, and would have ended up with her “vassal status” deal, with no chance to reject or criticise it.

Brexit seems to be all about demanding the impossible and then pretending to be betrayed when no one can deliver. And both Theresa May and Jeremy Corbyn are the idiots who walked into this trap, because they were so desperate to appear Prime Ministerial.

How different things might be if we had politicians who were prepared to tell the truth, rather than simply trying to curry favour by pandering to Faragism.”

148. Iain mhor

Well lets check the boxes today –

What it is not:

A domestic vote for Local Council representatives
    A domestic vote for Scottish Government representatives
    A domestic vote for UK Government representatives
    A Referendum vote for, or against European Union membership
    A referendum vote for, or against ‘Brexit’
    A Referendum vote for, or against Scottish Independence.
    An Opinion Poll.
    A vote for the Scottish Government’s representatation to the European Parliament.

What it is:

A vote for Scotland to return 6 of the United Kingdom’s 73 regional representatives to the European Parliament (for the next 5 months or fewer)

The United Kingdom is the current member state, consisting of 12 regions, of which Scotland is 1.

What the vote is being portrayed as:

A proxy vote for everything that it is not.

Just so we’re clear…

149. Ken500

Now get out and vote. SNP/SNP

The snowflakes are aiming milkshakes.

May nowhere to be seen. A man hiding in a toilet surrounded by journalists, Farague stuck on a bus feart of milkshakes. Hilarious. Politics UK style.

What a complete and utter shambles.

150. Ken500

The Guardian the only paper with some freedom of editorial. It should have supported the SNP vision and Independence. For the better, fairer social policies etc. The Guardian failed. Too little, too late.

The Guardian has £Billion in reserves. Claims poverty and hassles for money.

151. Dave McEwan Hill

Col.Blimp IV at 1.13

As I said at 11.57 “Provide one official statement from the EU to support your nonsense”

152. Fergus Green

Vote! Vote! Vote!

Tell your friends and family

Stop the fascists!

153. Dane

Col.Blimp IV says: at 1:13 am
    “Gerry Fisher’s letter in the National yesterday” I haven’t read the letter, & have no interest in doing so. My first thoughts on seeing that were “Jeez, is that clown still around”
    I’ve been about a few years, & remember him well. He always was an arrogant, egotistical, pompous know all. At many a Conference/National Council meeting, you could hear the groans when he was called to speak. He always tried to dissect just about every sentence in motions, mostly to put in irrelevances,that on the whole made no difference to the motion. He just liked to get his tuppence-worth in.

You make the statement that you are “just a member of the public, who is still to make his mind up on how to vote when the polls open.” Well, that’s what I call bizarre, if as you claim that you want Independence.
    I don’t always agree with every policy the SNP, or Scottish Government have, but majority views count. Like many, I was annoyed at stupid & mistimed press comments by Angus Robertson & Alyn Smith. I am still angry at being referred to as scum by Mhairi Hunter. That can be addressed after the election.
    For the moment, there is no other way to promote the cause of Independence but to vote SNP, and must do so in numbers today. Anyone who thinks differently, I really doubt their commitment to the cause.
    Let’s just get out and vote, & persuade as many friends/relatives/acquaintances to do the same.

“Don’t Feed The Trolls”

154. Bob Mack

Voting this evening. There are at least 20 other SNP votes in my small street as well.

Let’s all send Westminster an affirmation of our determination to remain Scottish and European.

155. admiral

Breeks says:
    23 May, 2019 at 7:11 am

geeo says:
    23 May, 2019 at 3:27 am
    Marcia says:
    She’d miss.

Fluffy is such a toady that he would jump into the milkshake puddle and claim Big T hit him!

156. Hamish100

Blimp says he was online around the last reverendum and now hes back. Why? He thinks the SNP may do well and the brit nats are panicking.

157. Bob Mack

@Colonel Blimp.

I concur. Having watched experts predict the economy for years and never ,ever getting it right, you must ask yourself exactly “what and why” are the criteria for being defined as an expert?

It’s all guesswork really.

158. Breeks

Manandboy says:

Sporadic Wit in the Guardian comments….

Fair comment as far as it goes, if you ignore the awkward truth that had Nicola’s compromise not been ignored, the Scottish Government would have proposed, and been given, a Soft Brexit result that ran contrary to the will of the sovereign people of Scotland.

“Some of us”, have been very unhappy about that, and beaten with the SNBBAD stick for saying so.

It is a matter of considerable disappointment and wasted opportunity that the Scottish Government did not adopt in uncompromising and constitutionally sound, outright rejection of Brexit right from the start, back in 2016, rather than than squandering two and a half years of indecision and exasperating ambivalence towards Europe.

We seem to be defending our place in Europe and Constitutional sovereignty now, more or less, and not before time, but can we please leave the rewriting of history to the BritNats?

159. Capella

The BBC didn’t feel able to show us The National front page today. Wonder why.

https://twitter.com/ScotNational/status/1131451443997581312

160. Iain mhor

@ Bob Mack
    I don’t know the current criteria for being labelled an expert, but in Tech & Engineering it used to be:
    “Someone who has made every conceivable mistake in a very narrow field”

Which, was also a self deprecating phrase used by anyone who had been touted as ‘expert’ – no-one is an expert in Tech & Engineering and it’s vitally important in that field to understand that.
    One can most certainly attain a degree of expertise, though how much to claim is the important bit… 😉

161. galamcennalath

Iain mhor says:

One can most certainly attain a degree of expertise

… which better than no understanding at all. And it is those with zero expertise, but are touted by the media, which concern me most. Because someone has been educated and has some expertise in one field, doesn’t mean their views in any other field are of consequence. The BBC will quite merrily wheel out a history profession to give a learned opinion on economics or politics!

The issue is that less well educated folks with low expertise if the field being discussed can’t assess whether the ‘expert’ does indeed have expertise, or is just some arsehole with an agenda.

One of the roles of the media should be to present informed opinions from people with peer accepted expertise. Propagandists do things differently.

Then on top of this we have the ‘think tanks’. Centres of independent expertise, they are touted as. In reality most appear to be funded by vested interests and have a mission to push biased agendas.

I have to trust people whose expertise is greater than mine in many fields – doctors, for one. Society only works because of trust in others. The misuse of trust for political gain is getting out of hand now.

162. Dan

Interesting to see that there are problems with some folk not being able to vote.

For more details check out #DeniedMyVote

163. Ottomanboi

@galamcennalath
    There are so called ‘experts’ whose expertise is in bluffing vide many academics, politicians, advisors, economists etc. The skill is to appear to know more than you actually know and network among those of similar type.
    The British system works in their favour. Getting too close and familiar with your subject is a ‘continental’ vice. Knowing too much is considered dangerous even subversive.

164. Dan

@Rev Re. Accessing Wings.
    Yes, I’ve had time outs and delays in opening and refreshing several different articles on Wings this morning. This current page seemed to be more affected.
    No issues accessing other sites or my email.
    That’s with Firefox.

165. Liz g

Re accessing Wings
    Yes Rev I’ve had trouble connecting too…

166. Marcia

To the Rev on his twitter – I have had no problems in viewing W O S today.

167. Col

Brexit party first on the list. I was outraged but then the officer explained it’s probably alphabetical.

168. Robert Louis

As somebody else pointed out, Tories always vote. QED make sure you get out and vote SNP. Every pro EU vote will count.

Only an SNP vote will make a difference.

169. Robert Peffers

@McDuff says:22 May, 2019 at 10:38 pm

” … Blair Paterson is quite correct and to be frank its nonsense like yours that will kill an indy vote.
    Like Blair I am desperate for independence and it was probably the English vote that cost us indy in`14.”

Both Blair and you are talking pish. The plain fact is that if the people of Scotland, born in Scotland, had turned out and voted yes the born in England people of Scotland’s vote wouldn’t have mattered one bit.

We can do without your objectionable type of racist nationalism/patriotism in an independent Scotland.

170. galamcennalath

Tommy Sheppard …..

“A majority of people in Scotland prefer independence to Brexit Britain but have been understandably reticent to add to the confusion and uncertainty by pressing for an independence referendum now. But we can only do that for so long. The future is always uncertain. But with political independence at least we can make our own choices. It’s time.”

Yes, it’s time. WM will stumble on for 5 months achieving nothing.

http://archive.is/81orc

171. jfngw

If you have not voted yet, get out and vote.

‘One small cross for the SNP, one giant leap for democracy’

172. Footsoldier

Capella says:
    23 May, 2019 at 8:42 am

“The BBC didn’t feel able to show us The National front page today. Wonder why.”

For the same reason they did not publish many of the other titles too – newspapers containing front page election politics are not allowed on election day. It’s all explained if you scroll down.

173. call me dave

Aye!…No Wings on my tablet this morning at the usual wifi places but everything else came up as normal.

Anyhoo! Back home both my tablet and this laptop working fine.

Dropped round 4-polling stations in Glenrothes only two with a person supporting a party both SNP.

One ‘Chas’…seemed optimistic about 4 seats for SNP and was getting a warm response from the trickle of voters.

3 will do me fine.

Picked out my Wings blue badge.
    “Soon to be replaced with a white one” I said. 🙂

PS:
    Jings! All the FTSE’s are well doon…I expect the worst later. 🙁

174. Tam fae somewhere

Voted at 09:00.

Eerily quiet.

Get out and vote people!

175. Welsh Sion

Cameron B Brodie @ 11.03 pm

Thank you for the acknowledgement. Pleased that I don’t always tap into the ether for nothing.

Feel free to read all 60, now! 😉

176. Robert Peffers

@Col.Blimp IV says: 22 May, 2019 at 11:57 pm:

… Are you forgetting the role the EU willingly played in undermining the Indyref campaign?”

What EU part would that be, Col.Blimp IV?

Can’t say as I remember any such part played by the EU and I have a great memory. Would you perhaps be referring to the part reportedly played by a certain José Manuel Barrosso? Not only wrongly reported by the MSN as an official spokesperson on behalf of the EU member state of Spain but wrongly reported by the MSM as speaking on behalf of the European Parliament.

José Manuel Barrosso was in fact NOT Spanish. He was a former Portuguese Prime Minister. Neither was he speaking on behalf of the EU as he was not a member of the EU. Nor did he speak for the EC of which he was actually still President of the European Commission.

In his anti-Scottish rants he always made it clear he spoke only on behalf of himself. He was, in fact, pitching for support from such as David Cameron for his next job. His European Commission job was drawing to an end and he needed support for what he hoped would be his next paid job.

That, though, was not how his rants were reported by the MSM or the state funded or supporting broadcasters. Yet here you are still attempting to claim Barroso’s claims that Spain would veto any Scottish attempts of EU membership. The Spanish Prime Minister actually stated that Spain would not be vetoing Scotland.

177. Robert J. Sutherland

Breeks @ 08:36.

You have to lead from the front, that’s true, but you would look nothing but silly if you launch a full-on attack with only a handful of followers when you take to the field.

If a large swathe of the people of Scotland had a deal more gumption, it would be a different story, but that’s the way it was. Nicola & Co have had to wait for people to catch up. Which is why the Little Corporal’s pathetic recycling of her “no to indy” schtick is falling on its face now.

OK, it’s (or should be) more than just waiting for better times. We do need inspirational leadership, and sometimes it’s all seemed just a little too cold-blooded. But given the SNP’s relentless negative exposure in the media, “thatniklasturgin” etc., a stronger line would be all too easily painted as “reckless troublemaking”. Y’know, the kind of thing they say all the time about Farage (errm…)

Personally I would like a bit more wit and passion. But we are still blessed with a leadership that is head and shoulders better in every way that matters than anyone else in these isles. By a long way. And hopefully that will count.

178. Jack Murphy

Robert Louis said in his Post at 7:17am today:

“,,,,,QUOTE from the FM “The difference perhaps between Ruth Davidson and I is this, I’ve got principles and I stick to my principles. Ruth Davidson wouldn’t recognise a principle.”……”

I didn;t know First Minister’s Questions had been moved to Wednesday this week.
    Here is the link

https://tinyurl.com/yylwpjng

179. Dr Jim

The Daily Record The Mirror and The Express all have the same wrap around front covers showing a picture of a hamburger on sale at Iceland with large accompanying sales pitch

**100% British**
    100% British beef

Coincidence? you might think so but once again all The Nationals were reversed and upside down and only showing upside down footy players

I corrected the situation but it’s like seeing 100% British on the other papers gives them a reason

180. Robert J. Sutherland

Robert Peffers @ 12:16,

Well said. My guess is that Blimp will disappear like magic after today’s polls close. It’s an obvious Leaver spoiler tactic. To the benefit of whom, d’ye reckon…?

Dane @ 08:18,

Thanks for that insight. I guess any party will have its share of idiots who would cut off their noses to spite their faces.

181. DerekM

Deary me its a full blown UK wide meltdown,will this be the day that finally breaks the UK.

Okay now we play if you want brexit Nigel then you know what to do the treaty of union must end then England is free to brexit.

Just think Nigel you on a platform of save England from the evil UK,free Scotland and Wales reunify Ireland man you would be a fucking hero they would build statues of you ….. or are you just going to be another wanker?

182. Effijy

My polling station was very quite at 8am today.
    Only party represented was an SNP Supporter.

While chatting to him we considered reactions of those approaching
    and offered an SNP Leaflet.
    4 x SNP
    1 x Very old lady we think Labour-No doubt because her father did.
    1 x Tory who scowled at us and scowled again when we said goodbye.

He was obviously too good for us,the SNP and Scotland. lol
    Poor sod.

183. Capella

@ Footsoldier 12.02 – I see. I’ve been wondering about the “purdah” period before the EU elections and need for balance etc and lack of actual balance. Good that the BBC has found a rule book for the day.

184. ronnie anderson

http://www.facebook.com/IRBF.org.uk/posts/2092219731072629

McDonald’s profits are exceeding all expectations lol.

185. ronnie anderson

Robert Peffers Back in the thick of it lol, that Lurkins no fur people like your good self .

Nice tae see your getting out & about .

186. DerekM

Col.Blimp IV

Nah the EU had no choice and had to stay neutral knowing that there was no way they could promise us EU membership as long as the UK was a member and held a veto.

Oh you think we did not get the message or should i say threat when they used a third party Spain to explain exactly what westminster would do.

Well guess what 2016 changed all that the UK is no longer in a position to veto us unless it revokes A50 and remains a member of the EU as of the 29th of March 2019.

And with that we will ask the people of Scotland the question EU or UK after all it is just a treaty and if the UK can pull out of treaties then so can Scotland.

Brexit is exactly as it looks spelled the exit from the British state if England wishes this then who are we Scots to deny them this.

Therefore we must end the treaty of union between our nations so that England can do this,there is no other way that everybody gets what they want.

187. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Now get out and vote. SNP/SNP”

You know you only have one vote in the Euro elections, right? If you put two Xs on your ballot paper it’ll be void.

188. Patrick Roden

RE: Ruth Davidson and David Mundell,

Both of them chose to suck up to Theresa May, and in doing so, both have made catastrophic political errors.

As soon as Boris became the voice of ‘hard Brexit’ within the Tory Party, he began to undermine May, both Davidson and Mundell immediately began to attempt to undermine Boris, actually claiming that Scotland would be handed independence on a plate if Boris Johnstone became PM.

They then began a concerted smear campaign (operation arse) against him, and in doing so sought to win favour from May.

While all this was going on, Ross Thomson was making the altogether better choice (for his own political future) of sucking up to Boris, and publicly defended him against these attacks (operation arse-lick) (ok, I made that last bit up)

All the brown-nosing in the world from Mundell and Davidson, won’t make a blind bit of difference when it comes to ‘dishing out the promotions’ if Boris becomes the new PM.

I expect Thomson to be placed into Mundell’s job, very soon after BJ is sworn into number 10.

Ruth Davidson’s dream of a seat in the South of England, is now lying in tatters, and it won’t be long before Boris ‘Loyalists’ within the Tories in Scotland will be briefing about how she has lost her sparkle, and how disappointing her performances have been since she got back from her maternity leave.

They will claim they are giving her a little more time to show she still has the energy for the battle, but a few more briefings latter and her star will be fading badly.

Her fall from grace will be so dramatic, she will no doubt flounce off and do something useless like work for the BBC or something.

Ah well, never mind!

189. Robert Peffers

@Bob Mack says: 23 May, 2019 at 8:32 am:

… you must ask yourself exactly “what and why” are the criteria for being defined as an expert?

Oh! That’s easy to answer, Bob Mack. You are an expert when the BBC say you are an expert and we all know the BBC are to be trusted – don’t we?

190. Col.Blimp IV

DerekM

Yes that sounds like a plan, let’s hope that the SNP haven’t already scuppered it by aiding and abetting the English Remainiacs with the plot to render the Referendum result null and void.

I have spoken to a fair amount of SNP voters who voted remain, without necessarily wanting to remain or caring one way or the other whether we did or not. Who see these antics as anti-democratic, arrogant, petulant and condescending.

God Knows what the Brexiteirs (many of whom may be otherwise floating voters) make of them.

I showed up here a couple of days ago, hoping for some genuine discussion re Scotland’s future relationship with the EU.

But some of the self-appointed guardians of the flame, blind loyalists and amateur Troll-Hunters on these boards, almost convinced me to vote for Farage.

It’s Time…Time to wander up to the Polling Station I once stood at and see if any of my former comrades are up there, still holding the line.

Should I see if I can dig up an old faded yellow and black rosette, before I go?

191. Chardon d'Ecosse

This is my first comment and it is prompted by what Miguel (as a European citizen) says…and a random chap at my door, this afternoon.

I live (and have done for the better part of the last twenty years) in a small, unremarkable, town in France.

The door chapped. I opened the door to a, complete, stranger who wanted to know if I knew who owned the garages down the road. I did and we talked. Then, he asked the, inevitable, question. ‘Vous êtes Anglaise’?

‘Non’, I replied, ‘Je suis Ecossaise’, (comme d’hab)

He, then, grinned, shook his finger, and said, ‘C’est pas pareil, eh?’. I had to agree.
    We, then, went on to talk some more and share some opinions about Mr le Maire.

I’ve always been asked that question, ‘Vous êtes Anglaise?’
    And I have always answered in the same way, with the same words.

Up until that Brexit referendum, it was, always, me who had to add, ‘Mais, c’est pas pareil’.

Not any more, though. (I can fill in the details about how that changed)

I don’t know anyone here who doesn’t consider Scotland to be an independent country, waiting, in the wings, to enter centre stage.

192. CameronB Brodie

re. loyalty to British nationalism, which is an ideologically constructed belief system similar to communism. Folk tend to cling on to things that are central to their identity. Poor folk all the more, as they have tend to have little else than self-perception. Subsequently, such ideological identities are dislocated, to an extent, from the human condition and human AGENCY. Such individual are prone to media manipulation and an authoritarian defense of their totalitarian reality. This is the social psychology the BBC is playing with, thanks to their royal charter requirement to be a propaganda vehicle for British nationalism (which is turning more right-wing and whiter than ever).

Cultural Studies, Multiculturalism, and Media Culture

Radio, television, film, and the other products of media culture provide materials out of which we forge our very identities; our sense of selfhood; our notion of what it means to be male or female; our sense of class, of ethnicity and race, of nationality, of sexuality; and of “us” and “them.” Media images help shape our view of the world and our deepest values: what we consider good or bad, positive or negative, moral or evil.

Media stories provide the symbols, myths, and resources through which we constitute a common culture and through the appropriation of which we insert ourselves into this culture. Media spectacles demonstrate who has power and who is powerless, who is allowed to exercise force and violence, and who is not. They dramatize and legitimate the power of the forces that be and show the powerless that they must stay in their places or be oppressed.

We are immersed from cradle to grave in a media and consumer society and thus it is important to learn how to understand, interpret, and criticize its meanings and messages. The media are a profound and often misperceived source of cultural pedagogy: They contribute to educating us how to behave and what to think, feel, believe, fear, and desire — and what not to.

The media are forms of pedagogy which teach us how to be men and women. They show us how to dress, look and consume; how to react to members of different social groups; how to be popular and successful and how to avoid failure; and how to conform to the dominant system of norms, values, practices, and institutions. Consequently, the gaining of critical media literacy is an important resource for individuals and citizens in learning how to cope with a seductive cultural environment.

Learning how to read, criticize, and resist socio-cultural manipulation can help empower oneself in relation to dominant forms of media and culture. It can enhance individual sovereignty vis-a-vis media culture and give people more power over their cultural environment.

https://pages.gseis.ucla.edu/faculty/kellner/essays/culturalstudiesmulticulturalism.pdf

P.S. I hope all those living in Scotland are psychologically prepared to become Brexitanians, with arbitrary human rights protection and all that that entails?

193. K1

‘Does anyone, other than Ruth Davidson, actually think that Big T, even for one nanosecond, gives diddly-squat for a wee, ignorant, obsequious, deluded, egotistical Scottish lesbianMSP?

Her sexual orientation has ‘nothing’ to do with her political stances.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.