The Weekend Cartoon

Posted on June 19, 2021 by

Alert readers will have noticed that our quasi-regular crayonsmith Slacky The Holiday Boy is off again this week (and indeed next week), so as a special emergency service we bring you something almost as funny, albeit in a rather darker vein than usual.

The punchline, of course, is the last sentence of paragraph 9.

691 to “The Weekend Cartoon”

1. Thomas

@ hatuey.

You talk some cac pal so you dae. This sounds more of the ladybird book of british history stuff you are punting.

Mary tudor , english queen half a century before jamie baggybreeks the saxth , began the plantation of ireland.

jamie the anglicised scot merely carried on imperial english policy , and took the opportunity to rid himself of his scottish problem citizens in places like the borders and elsewhere and sent them to ireland.

The scottish planters that were sent to ireland integrated with the native irish , having the same gaidhlig language and culture , so much so later the imperial brit nat government had to pass laws forbidding scots and irish intermarrying as their policy wasnt having the desired affect.

Why do you think so many irish republicans have scottish surnames like adams and bell?

The northern irish prebyterians were such a thorn in britians side william of orange had three quarters of a million of them sent to america , and it wasnt until the 19th century , when henry cooke opened up the orange lodge to them , that the sectarian element and the two communities of northern ireland that we see today began to form.

No scot living outside of scotland should have a vote or say on whats happening inside scotland. This is nothing more than the usual english ex pat mentality that saw brenda in benidorm vote for brexit then complain when it affected her status in spain.

The decision for scotland to leave the yookay as it stands should be a matter for scots in scotland and no one else.

2. Captain Yossarian

@Thomas – Someone asked this question the other day and he struggled with it but it sounds like you will be able to answer it…..the corollary of what you are saying is that an immigrant to Scotland, who has only lived here for a few months, can vote but the Scotland football team cannot vote? Is that what you are saying?

3. Grey Gull

Listening to Radio Shortbread and an article about the predicted summer influx of tourists to the north west of Scotland. They interviewed owners of businesses and locals in Ullapool, about 6 folk in total. Every single accent was English. Are there no Scots left?!

4. Dorothy Devine

I’m going to leave this here and hope that I have done it correctly!

//europeforscotland.com/our-video-of-european-solidarity-with-scotland-on-the-fifth-anniversary-of-brexit/

5. Sensible Dave

Breastplate 10.58

… Im not sure what point you are trying to make.

Of course the people are the ones that should make the decisions with respect to Scotland’s future. And to state the obvious, they have. They voted to remain part of the UK.

The suggestion from some above is that the democratic decision can be cast aside because of their interpretation of a treaty written hundreds of years ago. As “Shocked” wrote, trying to ignore the result of the referendum because you don’t like the result can only result in a civil war. Is that really the way forward for SCotland?

Only the majority view of the “people of Scotland” can/should determine its future. Anything else cannot work.

Only a referendum can determine the future and that will only happen after its scheduled and a campaign is fought and won. Given the state of the Scotland and UK’s finances at this time together with all the unanswered questions about currency, deficit, tax, austerity, EU, borders, etc – Project Fear 2 is a “kick in”.

Ms Sturgeon knows this – which is why she isn’t calling indyref2.

6. Keith fae Leith

Sorry Shocked,

Agree with a lot of what you say, but if you don’t live & pay taxes here in Scotland then why should you get to decide what happens here?

That’s the basic argument for democracy, that people elsewhere are making decisions for us.

I have no doubts you daughter would vote Yes is that’s what you say, but doesn’t mean she should get a vote.

It’s the hypocrisy that get’s me.

7. Breastplate

Fred @6:56pm and shocked @ 6:00am,
    Yes, I said “There has to be criteria and lines have to be drawn, it’s as simple as that.”

You disagree with that yet in the same breath choose different criteria and draw different lines yourselves.

Again, there must be criteria for who votes and lines must be drawn.
    When you understand that then you can get down to what criteria and which lines are drawn and accept that you will not please everyone.

The idea behind a plebiscite is to prioritise Scotland’s needs and wants, not Germany’s, not Hungary’s and not England’s.
    We should be careful in our criteria of who votes in Scotland for Scotland.

8. Breastplate

Sensibledave,
    I don’t disagree with all you have said.
    I agree that a referendum would probably be more expedient than a journey through courts and much more convenient.
    When it looks like it isn’t going to be convenient or expedient then alternative routes then become preferable.

9. Breastplate

Dorothy Devine,
    I like the video, let’s hope the British Nationalists understand the sentiment behind it from a Scottish point of view, although I doubt it.

10. Republicofscotland

“Who do you think you are to determine the “will of the people of Scotland” without asking the bloody question in vote!!! I repeat, you cannot win an independence vote at this time … and, for the hard of thinking, that is the reason the SNP isn’t pushing for one. Wake up!”

Dave @10.28pm.

Dave

You didn’t read the article going by your preposterous reply, now lets see should I believe your inane comment or believe Craig Murray’s excellent article. International recognition is what really matters, recall all our MPs from Westminster hold a vote in the chamber and then declare independence, begin negotiations with Westminster on dissolving the union.

11. Republicofscotland

So LibDem leader compelled Joanna Cherry to give up her seat in the House of Commons in a “forceful manner” there are no reserved seats in the HoC but Davey bullied Cherry of of hers.

To rub salt into Cherry’s wounds her party at Westminster led by SNP MP Ian (Scotland won’t stand for it) Blackford, did absolutely nothing to protect her, effectively Cherry has been ostracised by her SNP MP party members for speaking out on behalf Scotland, women’s rights and Scottish independence.

AS for Davey he nothing more than a woman bullying misogynistic pr*ck

12. Republicofscotland

So Sturgeon the Betrayer is as she put it “Utterly heartbroken” that EU citizens living in Scotland need to apply to remain in Scotland.

I can smell the rancid stench of hypocrisy from here, for crocodile tears from the Betrayer don’t wash with me. The Betrayer could’ve held an indyref anytime post-2016 and Brexit, and saved EU citizens a whole load of suffering, but she didn’t instead she decided to try and save England from itself, and like Scots, EU citizens were hung out to dry.

Bute House is occupied by a charlatan.

13. Willie

Couldn’t but help both smirking and grimacing at the Grande Bretagne response to the Russian incident.

Did the Russians fire – no they didn’t. Then it was yes they did but it was only gunnery fire. Then it was the comment that there was no incident until recordings of the Russian broadcast warning of change course or we’ll fire.

As a show of Britain’s new found projection of global military power this certainly wasn’t it. The RN destroyer fled with its tail between its legs, humiliated on the world stage.

But it’s not just in picking a climb down fight with Russia where Britain is being exposed as a busted flush. There policy towards a Northern Ireland, the reestablishment of a hard border, the planning for the hardening of security, and the ditching of the Good Friday Agreement was another policy humiliation. Fighting the combined might of the EU might have been a show of Britains greatness but when the USA then comes along and tells Blighty it ain’t happening then it’s climbdown three.

And ditto the warships to sort out French Fishermen.

Absolutely incredible, a odds with the Irish, French, Germans and EU generally, the Russians and being told in no uncertain terms by the USA, on3 does wonder what the Blimps in Downing Street actually think.

Their world map must still be pink.

14. Republicofscotland

Nurses in Scotland might be going on strike, and many have decided to leave the profession, due to the stingy pay rise offered by the Scottish government.

The hard working nurses who performed miracles throughout the pandemic, some giving their lives in the process, have been offered a measly 4% pay rise, the RCN has been campaigning for a 12%, which I’m sure the Scottish public would agree the nurses have earned it.

The Health secretary is Humza Yousaf, the architect of the rights impinging HCB.

15. Republicofscotland

Willie @ 10.26am

Willie.

Lets not forget Gavin Williamson saying Britain would send a warship to the Pacific to sort China out. China would eat and shite out the British navy, its all bravado from these clowns, of course these fools could inadvertently kick-off WWIII with their inept actions, or maybe they’re hoping their bully boy gang Nato will invoke Article Five in the event the Chinese or Russians have the audacity to protect themselves.

16. Stuart MacKay

Republicofscotland

What do they want a pay rise for when they just got badge to demonstrate their “pride” in the NHS.

17. James Che.

Any English, Welsh, Irish or any person from any other country at this moment in time living in Scotland must want to hide in shame an embarrassment being associated to the Great Britain label,
    For the way it’s handled Brexit, for it stupid instigating of wars, for the way it handles the NHS and making money for personal buddies, the way it changes constantly lockdown reopening, for selling out British fisher men and farmers, for crazy ideas about building bridges across ammo dumps from WW2, to backtracking on the good Friday agreement, to new laws that abolish the right to protest against bad governments, etc etc,
    Here in Scotland we have a first minister trying to emulate little England with the big ego and become British,
    NS if you are looking for a peer, the Great Britain label being laughed at around the world is a case of bad judgement.

18. David Caledonia

Rhodesia………………..

Say, we are now an independent country and that’s all there is to it, have a referendum in scotland and have it overseen by anybody or any organisation that won’t count yes as no’s as that’s what always happens, and before any nipple asks , yes I have seen the evidence, its on film if you care to look at the truth.

19. Sensible Dave

Republicofscotland 10:00 am

You wrote “You didn’t read the article going by your preposterous reply, now lets see should I believe your inane comment or believe Craig Murray’s excellent article. International recognition is what really matters, recall all our MPs from Westminster hold a vote in the chamber and then declare independence, begin negotiations with Westminster on dissolving the union.”

You are still not getting it are you RoS!

In your paragraph above you write “… declare Independence, begin negotiations to dissolve the Union”. Just a thought mate, but does anyone that might be a Unionist have any rights at all in all this? Or, have you declared yourself the chief despot and it is only your view that counts or matters on anything? Where did democracy go in your plan?

20. James Che.

Maybe NS thinks like Ruthie, she is aiming for elite titles to be bestowed on her an hubby, or maybe she aims to become princess of Great Britain. And could rule from Scotland.
    Micheal Gove would be wiser just giving her Scotland to keep us all this sideof the border,
    I could live with that. 🙂

21. Stoker

For anyone who missed the latest good news on the Marion Miller case – Joanna Cherry has now been instructed by ‘Beltramis’ to represent Marion. https://twitter.com/joannaccherry/status/1408034714913546242

22. Breeks

Willie says:
    24 June, 2021 at 10:26 am
    Couldn’t but help both smirking and grimacing at the Grande Bretagne response to the Russian incident.

Did the Russians fire – no they didn’t. Then it was yes they did but it was only gunnery fire. Then it was the comment that there was no incident until recordings of the Russian broadcast warning of change course or we’ll fire…

Funny thing, is I was having a wee giggle in my head about a Royal Navy rating on HMS Defender with his head bent over his radar screen…

“Sir, I,… I think,… I think they can see us…”
    “No they can’t. We have cutting edge, state of the art, stealth technology. We won’t show up on their radar. They’ll think we’re a school of fish”.
    “But sir, there are multiple Russian Destroyers on an intercept course…”
    “No they’re not. It’s coincidence. We are totally invisible”.
    “But sir, there are Russian aircraft inbound to our location… they’re broadcasting warnings to us”.
    “No they’re not.”
    “Sir, they can see us!”.
    “Nope”.
    “Sir they have target lock on us!”
    “No they don’t.”
    “Yes they do. They’re opening fire!!”

Salvo of missiles flies overhead and detonates at safe distance off the port bow…

“See. They missed… That’s because we’re completely invisible. Carry on…”

23. Republicofscotland

” Just a thought mate, but does anyone that might be a Unionist have any rights at all in all this? Or, have you declared yourself the chief despot and it is only your view that counts or matters on anything? Where did democracy go in your plan?”

Dave.

Its you who doesn’t or won’t get it, its optional route to independence that’s been used by some countries. In Scotland’s case Westminster will NEVER agree to a second indyref, so it might come to that, however what’s missing is a pro-indy FM with courage to carry out the task if required.

As for the union there is no case for it, its been proven beyond doubt that Scotland would be better off as an independent country.

24. Stuart MacKay

Why does Welsh independence not feature here more often? Seems they have the same set of “challenges” – union of crowns, etc., except they got annexed and did not have the foresight to declare themselves sovereign.

So why does it not attract the same level of crap that we see here? Is is a) less likely so no need to worry or b) likely to end up with home rule rather than a complete break and so no need to worry.

25. Dorothy Devine

I listened to a group of warmongering shit stirrers on the political programme – the ‘Russia bad bunch’- it infuriates me that a Scottish voice came out with the same utter drivel as the Westminster/HoL pondlife.

It is extraordinary how ‘we’ excuse our aggression as somehow “helping ‘ another country.

Mirror ,mirror on the wall
    Who ‘s the most despicable of all.

26. Robert Hughes

Breeks @ 1.35

” Carry on ”

Carry On Up The Baltic .

I wonder if * our * man in the Thick Of It – a certain S . MacDonald was onboard making the grog for * our * Jolly Jack Tars or maybe just there for the Rum , Sodomy and Lash .

WTF was this all about though ? The presence of BBC and Daily Mail * journalists * suggests it was not so much a hunt for Red October as a hunt for a Red Squirrel

Whatever it was meant to be , it has left the UK looking pretty stupid , though you wouldn’t think so from the blimpish commentary from the usual suspects

27. Captain Yossarian

Dorothy Devine says:
    24 June, 2021 at 1:49 pm

Russian bombers are escorted out of our airspace all the time. It may be that a warning has to be issued for them to turn around or they will be shot-down and, at that point, they turn around. I remember a few years ago a Russian aircraft carrier sailed down the English Channel. It wasn’t in great condition and the smoke out of the funnel could be seen for twenty miles.

These things happen quite often. Russia is under sanction for annexing Crimea and that may be why the position of the international shipping lanes in the area are under dispute. Russia built these Black Sea ports and they contain hundreds of cranes handling much of the region’s imports and exports. Maybe that’s why they want Crimea back. Who knows.

28. Sensible Dave

Republicofscotland 1.37:

You wrote this drivel: “Its you who doesn’t or won’t get it, its optional route to independence that’s been used by some countries. In Scotland’s case Westminster will NEVER agree to a second indyref, so it might come to that, however what’s missing is a pro-indy FM with courage to carry out the task if required.”

RoS … you just don’t see it do you. You have decided that there “must” be indyref2. Do the folk that don’t want indyref2 have any rights? You have decided that Westminster will NEVER agree to indyref2. Is anyone allowed to have an alternative view on that? You have decided that Independence is desirable for Scotland. What about those that have decided otherwise?

Then you wrote “As for the union there is no case for it, its been proven beyond doubt that Scotland would be better off as an independent country.””

Clearly you believe that it has been proven beyond doubt that there is no case for the Union. Equally clearly, when asked, the majority of Scottish voters thought differently. We can assume that they thought there is a case for the Union and that Scotland would not be better off as an Independent country?

So, when you spout forth your pronouncements, please remember that Wings does not equal Scotland! You really need to get out more.

Oh, and btw, I don’t mind whether Scotland does, or doesn’t, become an Independent country. I do care about democracy though.

29. James

“sensible dave” – what a wanker.

30. Sensible Dave

James

… I take it that you are in their with RoS as fully paid member of the “lets start a civil war” club?

31. Breastplate

Sensibledave,
    When do you believe Scotland should have another referendum?

What say,in your opinion, should the rest of the UK, the rest of Europe or the rest of the world have in it?

32. Ian Brotherhood

Sturgeon is all over the place with her latest bug-spiel.

No doubt Hatuey will mosey on in here at some point to explain it all for us.

Can hardly wait…

33. Breeks

If Scotland suddenly resolved to pursue a Constitutional dissolution of the Union, citing Scotland’s Constitutional Sovereignty and unlawful colonial subjugation through Brexit, just you watch…I’d be willing to bet the Westminster Government would have a sudden change of heart with regard to a Scottish Referendum. In fact, you can bet Westminster would rush through all manner of “bespoke” protocols just for holding one.

A “Devolved” Scottish Referendum would allow the BritNat Establishment another bite of the cherry, to embark upon another 2014-style ballot where Westminster held all the cards, endless biased propaganda, disinformation and indoctrination through it’s Unionist media and pet Electoral Commission, dictating that the Referendum was appropriately “approved”, to allow manipulation of the narrative and agenda. They’d off course support the Unionist campaign with dark money, and a stream of foreign nationals dragged in front of a camera because they’re willing to spout shite about Scotland.

Just you wait and see how “important” Scottish democracy becomes, if Scotland even threatens to circumvent it, and seeks to pursue the Constitutional route to Independence. That “Scottish Democracy” will be the same “sacred” but strangely ephemeral democracy which is apparently vital for an IndyRef, but counted for nothing and could be arbitrarily overruled by Westminster in 2016. You can hear them bleating about “noble” democracy already…

Turn their colonialism against them. If they’ve manipulated our democracy to the point it’s compromised and unreliable, then fine, at least a Constitutional audit of the Union will un-muddy the constitutional waters and test their “unwritten conventions” against the Constitutional Sovereignty of Scotland. Aye, like that’s gonna save them.

The essential difference they will recognise is that Democracy, (a Referendum), gives Westminster a say and active hand in events. The Constitutional route to Indy excludes their interference, because it is a Constitutional matter for Scots, Scots Law, and Scots alone. Too right Westminster will of course opt for “democracy” and demand we dance to their tune.

34. Robert Hughes

Ian B – what bollocks is She/Her Majesty spouting now ? Have we all to stay in our bunkers trembling at the latest Enigma Variation ?

35. Ian Brotherhood

@Robert Hughes –

Honestly, she’s speaking in tongues.

Perhaps she’s seen the admission by a Moderna spokesman (being recorded by a woman who may now be permanently disabled) that the whole thing is an experiment. There is no control group.

Anyone involved in prolonging this nightmare is in deep deep shit. Different when fear was rampant and anyone questioning the official line was easily dismissed as a disciple of David Icke.

There’s just too much evidence out there now, and people like Fuellmich are well advanced in building the legal cases.

The ‘Moderna’ admission can be found here, starting approx 7mins in.

https://thephaser.com/2021/06/stew-peters-show-moderna-admits-masses-are-experiment/

36. Sensible Dave

Breastplate 2:55 pm

When do you believe Scotland should have another referendum?

… its not up to me Breastplate and I really don’t mind/care either way.

I would observe that there was a free and fair referendum just a few years ago. I would observe that there is no evidence to suggest that there has been any material swing in majority view since that referendum. I would observe that Scotland’s constitution is not a devolved matter and that the NO voters (the majority) wanted Westminster to be the custodians of such matters.

Apart from all that, if I was Ms Sturgeon at this time, I would know that I couldn’t win indyref2 anytime soon – so I certainly wouldn’t be pushing for one (because if I lost this one – that really would be it for 25 years – so I would prefer to keep my powder dry).

So in answer to your question, if I was a Yesser, I would wait a few years at least. If I was a NOer, I would be confident that an indyref2 called at anytime in the foreseeable future would fail because Project Fear 2 has so much ammunition and the SNP have no plan or answers.

37. President Xiden

Whilst on the subject of EU citizens who reside in Scotland, can anyone tell me what happened to that German couple whom were all over the media during the Brexit debate, claiming they would be forced to leave Scotland if we left the EU? I seem to remember they stated they would not be able to live here if we abandoned EU ‘protections’ which would leave them with no choice but to move to errrr the USA. ???

38. Republicofscotland

Right Dave lets play this out to its conclusion, but first on your reply to James, it was your jack booted Nazi saluting unionists, that stabbed and beat up folk in Scotland even after no had conned and lied its way to victory in 2014, just remember that.

Anyway as it stands we have a indy majority at Holyrood, if you believe that the SNP and the Greens actually want Scottish independence that is. Now correct me Dave if I’m wrong but that majority equates to a majority of voters in Scotland, does it not?

And it could have been much more if the SNP hadn’t called for the inane two-votes SNP, the Alba party would’ve added more indy seat at Holyrood, and the unionist MSPs would have been further diminished in number, even now many unionist MSPs got in through the back door via the List vote, so they weren’t directly elected by the public.

So Dave if it comes to Holyrood calling back our MPs from Westminster and holding a vote to declare Scotland independent, would it not be fair to say that if its a yes to declaring Scotland independent, that the majority of folk will have been represented via their MP/MSP who they voted for in the first place?

Of course you speak of democracy but Johnson won’t agree to a S30, even though circumstances have greatly changed since 2014, the lie of the Vow, EVEL, Brexit, and of course Scotland hasn’t voted Tory since the 1950’s but we still get nasty Tory policies.

39. Robert Graham

A little o/t ,
    Today through sheer frustration we saw a demonstration outside Holyrood by a few Women who are trying to draw attention to what princess Nicola and her frankly Trans Loony Cult are attempting ,and all out of sight of the general public and probably without the knowledge of most Women in Scotland and people who voted for the SNP in the last election.

This first minister has fooled most people in Scotland her aim is well ? who knows what the plan is because it’s certainly not a Independent Scotland it’s maybe just as well can you imagine this lot conducting negotiations with the English government let alone a European panel of experts who will ultimately decide to allow Scotland back into the European Union.

Unless there is some dramatic occurrence Indyref2 is dead with her in charge she’s even managed to fool the English that she’s going all out for Independence , but scratch the surface and you end up with nothing no plans no urgency and no fkn bottle.

40. Republicofscotland

Stuart MacKay @12.11pm.

Stuart I hope that comment is sarcasm, for many many NHS workers are furious at having to wear such a badge, and even if that weren’t an issue, I for one think nurses deserve their 12% pay rise for what they gone through over the last year and a bit.

41. David Caledonia

All those brave irishmen that where murdered after the easter uprising by there colonial masters did not die in vain
    But as usual the english government never allowed ful independence because a few diehard unionists wanted to remain and northern ireland was the result
    Not so long ago there where unionists there who had 10 votes to the republicans one, and these are the kind of people who talked about democracy and are still spouting the same old shit to this day ( westminster of course )

Londonderry………… says it all really

42. David Caledonia

Scotland can have a referendum anytime it likes, what is all this 25 year nonesense it you lose a referendum, I don’t see any of that nonesense anywhere else

How about a general election every 25 years, would any nut job
    agree to that, no I did’nt think so

43. President Xiden

Blimey, these Covid conspiracy theories are getting wilder, I’ve just come across a mad conspiracy site which claims that the pandemic must be leveraged to reshape the world . Bonkers stuff if you ask me. The group which run this site are clearly tin foil hatters, now what’s their name again, oh yeah, the World Economic Forum. Mental . https://www.weforum.org/agenda/2020/07/to-build-back-better-we-must-reinvent-capitalism-heres-how/

44. Luigi

Stuart MacKay says:
    24 June, 2021 at 1:45 pm
    Why does Welsh independence not feature here more often?

One day, perhaps, the Rev Campbell might consider a fresh challenge and decide to set up a Wings Over Wales blog.

I like the sound of that. 🙂

45. David Caledonia

Every time a general election comes around its the easiest thing to put on the scottish ballot papers would you like a referendum for scottish independence yes or no.
    If its a no, then that’s it decided till the next general election comes around in 5 years time.
    And that takes the decision out of westminsters hands and gives it to us…..

So simple really, even my budgie likes it, he is a clever
    little guy, but it took a lot of time to train him to say
    yes lol

News in the Greenock Telegraph last night, Alba will be having their first party conference in Greenock in September, every member will get an invite as long as they are signed up by a certain date, july I think it is

Ofc I’m a member so I will be there to shake Alex Salmond and Chris McEleny’s hand, onwards and upwards

Alba Gu Bra

46. Republicofscotland

“These things happen quite often. Russia is under sanction for annexing Crimea”

Captain Yossarian @2.02pm

Russia had no choice but annex Crimea, or face having Nato the bully boys club nukes right on its border, also the Black sea port of Sevastapol is important to the Russian navy fleet.

47. Ian Brotherhood

@President Xiden (4.33) –

Strongly reminiscent of Blair, in his speech to the TUC conference in Brighton, as the 9/11 attacks were happening, but before the towers collapsed

‘The kaleidoscope has been shaken. Before the pieces settle, let us reshape this world around us…’ or words to that effect.

Different decade, same shite.

48. Captain Yossarian

@Breeks – “The essential difference they will recognise is that Democracy, (a Referendum), gives Westminster a say and active hand in events. The Constitutional route to Indy excludes their interference, because it is a Constitutional matter for Scots, Scots Law, and Scots alone.”

Democracy requires elected parliamentarians and the public to decide. Your route allows Lord Carloway and Lord Wolffe to decide. I think if this fundamental difference was to be explained to people, they would quickly bomb-out the idea. I know I would.

49. Hatuey

For the brethren…

Sturgeon has been in lockstep with Boris since this pandemic started. Boris, as well all know, like you, wanted to keep the beaches open and let people die — many, many thousands did die. Well done.

In short, as far as lockdown is concerned, Boris and Nicola were on your side and I’m pretty sure you’d be better placed to explain their actions and thoughts than me.

As for the vaccine and the supposed Moderna revelations. It’s entirely normal to monitor for side effects and complications with new medicines and vaccines, and that monitoring typically continues for years. Get back to me if you require examples.

Most companies factor the costs of clinical evaluation into the costs of production. It’s not just standard to do that, it would be disturbingly callous if they didn’t. And it’s one of the reasons drugs and treatments when bought directly from developer companies are more expensive.

The Moderna spokesman you refer to is actually a call-handler who works in what is effectively a call centre. He isn’t a medical professional. He isn’t making an official statement. He’s basically a receptionist who is paid to provide general telephone support to the public and, in actual fact, there’s nothing even controversial about what he said.

Many millions of people in the U.K. have been vaccinated. It would be unthinkably surprising if none of them had complications. All vaccines and medicines have side effects and they can potentially be serious for some people.

The small number of people dying with Covid-19 and ICU admissions in relation to infection rates tells you everything you need to know about the vaccine. It’s saving hundreds of lives every day in the U.K.

50. Sensible Dave

RoS 4.19

… do you really need me to provide you with the links to Ms Sturgeon’s speeches at the hustings where she repeatedly said that a vote for the SNP was NOT a vote for Independence. So sorry matey, your “indy parliament” argument doesn’t wash I’m afraid. As for all the coulda, woulda, shoulda stuff …. irrelevant.

With respect to my your final two paragraphs …. I refer you to my previous replies. Try and get it through your thick head – its the people of Scotland that voted to remain part of the Union – not me, not Westminster, not Boris Johnson – just Scottish voters.

Your belief that you can dismiss the expressed will of those voters in the referendum tells me everything I need to know about the sort of politics you want. Its the stuff of all the other despots, dictators and tyrants who think they know best and prefer to ignore the inconvenience of democracy.

51. Daisy Walker

Any techno savy types able to obtain the Westminster video footage of Joanna Cherry being abused by the lib dem?

Somewhat telling that its not doing the rounds, in view of her formal complaint.

What a complete disgrace the SNP MP’s are, allowing ANY Scottish MP to be ousted from their place in WM to represent their constituents. Spineless and dispicable.

Brilliant news that JC is to represent Marion Miller. Can’t think of a better able or more motivated QC for her, and it highlights the case to another level.

JC cannot talk about the case, but she has highlighted her return to court is for limited and specific human rights cases, and is consistent with previous MP’s – such as John Smith – who did similar. Just in case the nae sayers want to have a pop.

Compare and contrast however, we have a First Minister, who when working full time as a solicitor, failed in her professional capacity to carry out her legally contracted duties to protect a female in a domestic abuse case…

And now actively promotes harassment of women who have serious and valid concerns re Self ID GRA changes.

And we have an extremely hard working MP, with a proven track record of taking WM to court and winning, subjected to crimes of hate and threats of violence, not receiving the support of her colleagues, and making the time, to go the extra mile and legally support another female being abused by the system.

Sacked from the front bench by NS and replaced in the role of Justice – by a failed drama student.

JC – Action not words – absolute quality.

NS – by your actions shall we know you – quality is not the word that comes to mind.

52. Stuart MacKay

Republicofscotland

> Stuart I hope that comment is sarcasm…

I’m disappointed you’d think otherwise 😉

You’d think after what they’ve been through and the number of nurses who sacrificed themselves try to save others that a substantial pay rise would be the absolute least the country would do by way of saying thank you.

https://rcni.com/nursing-standard/features/covid-19-remembering-nursing-staff-who-have-lost-their-lives-160011

If they axed a few layers of management and dismantled the “NGO Industrial Complex” that nobody wants but we all have to pay for they’d have more than enough money.

53. Republicofscotland

” do you really need me to provide you with the links to Ms Sturgeon’s speeches at the hustings where she repeatedly said that a vote for the SNP was NOT a vote for Independence.”

Yet Dave she has pledged to hold one in the latter half of this tenure in government, has she not? or do I need to provide links Dave?

“its the people of Scotland that voted to remain part of the Union – not me, not Westminster, not Boris Johnson – just Scottish voters.”

Indeed they did Dave, but as my comment explains things have changed quite dramatically since then, have they not Dave?

“Your belief that you can dismiss the expressed will of those voters in the referendum tells me everything I need to know about the sort of politics you want.”

Actually Dave its your beloved unionist PM that is dismissing the will of the Scottish people to choose whether or not to remain in this rancid union by not agreeing to issue a S30 is it not Dave.

That’s why options need to be looked at, as the majority of MSPs and MPs are pro-indy and as such represent their constituents, a vote at Holyrood might have to be the way out of this fetid union.

54. Sensible Dave

RoS

Lets be honest here RoS … Ms Sturgeon and Holyrood hasn’t got the balls to do what you suggest and the ensuing likelihood of a civil war that would follow such a move would ensure Scotland’s exclusion from anything important for the foreseeable future. But Hey, clearly you have it all worked out and it will be fine.

55. Robert Hughes

Ian B says

” There’s just too much evidence out there now, and people like Fuellmich are well advanced in building the legal cases. ”

That will be Dr Riener Fuellmich ( for anyone who has never heard of him ) the guy who has previously successfully represented numerous plaintiffs in their claims against several – yes – Big Pharma Corps .

I wait the same attempted character assassination of Dr Fuellmich as was used against Dr Vernon Coleman – whose views I don’t agree with in their totality – and who received fulsome praise and accolades from the likes of the Guardian among other MSM until he started questioning the Covid Master Narrative , at which point the jackals were unleashed upon him .

Same old same old indeed Ian

56. Stuart MacKay

Captain Yossarian

The purpose of rendering the Union null and void is not to stage a coup rather it’s an attempt at leveling the playing field. In such a situation the frame of reference would change entirely. You could easily respect the democratic wishes of all based on two referendums. The first would simply ask:

1) Scotland should remain independent.
    2) Scotland should enact a new Treaty of Union with England.

Then assuming that #2 was the chosen option, after the terms had been negotiated you could hold another vote to see if the population agreed.

Quite a changes in perspective, don’t you think. Particularly since the UK took a good few years to join the EU and I’d expect negotiations for a new Union to take a minimum of 5 years.

Who knows we all might benefit from a new Union but it would certainly be on much better terms than the ones we have now.

57. Republicofscotland

Yes Dave lets be honest Sturgeon the Betrayer won’t do what I said, or should I say what Craig Murray proposes, but its certainly a viable option, but until that gutless charlatan leaves Bute House and is replaced with an indy FM of character and courage it will be on hold.

As for violence Dave, it will be your odious lot that will perpetrate it and you know it, just as they did in 2014. I fully expect violence from the unions jack booted soldiers, no matter what way Scotland becomes independent, it would be naive not to.

58. Sensible Dave

Stuart 5.28

… I know many of you think that the world revolves around you but that takes the biscuit!

In your no 2, its not up to Scots anymore matey.

59. Dan

I see Sensible Dave is still punting his out of date stagnant pish, and completely ignoring the material change in circumstance the EU leave vote created.
    The Kingdom of Scotland getting dragged out of the EU with all the negative aspects that creates, just because The Kingdom of England wanted to leave, is absolutely a legitimate reason to return to asking the question on whether Scotland should return to being a self governing country having more control over its future.

Especially when one of the main campaigning messages Better Together used was this.

https://twitter.com/UK_Together/status/506899714923843584

Plus there’s this on what constitutes a mandate.

https://wingsoverscotland.com/the-simple-ruth/

60. Stoker

Update for Marion Millar’s crowdfunding. The crowd justice will be going live on Monday (28th June): https://twitter.com/millar_marion/status/1408059579301199874

61. Breeks

Captain Yossarian says:
    24 June, 2021 at 4:51 pm

…. Your route allows Lord Carloway and Lord Wolffe to decide. I think if this fundamental difference was to be explained to people, they would quickly bomb-out the idea. I know I would.

Then doesn’t you’re route remove the power of sanction from the Scottish people and empower the colonialism of Westminster to break International Law with impunity and leave Scotland defenceless against their colonial aggression?

62. Sensibledave

Dan 5.41

Er, no Dan. The citizens of the U.K. held a referendum that was an instruction to the U.K. government to Brexit. The citizens of the U.K. comprise folk from the 4 home countries. But it is only the Scots that had recently been given the opportunity to actually express a confirmation that they wanted Westminster to be responsible or such matters

You’re a bit upside down on this one Dan. Try again.

63. Republicofscotland

Stuart @5.12pm.

Nice one.

I never doubted it for a moment says I, with tongues pressed firmly into my cheek, lol.

64. Aunty Flo

A coupla questions:

If lockdowns work, why are we still having them?
    If lockdowns DON’T work, why are we still having them?

Just wundrin …

65. Robert Hughes

Aunty Flo says:
    24 June, 2021 at 7:05 pm
    A coupla questions:

” If lockdowns work, why are we still having them?
    If lockdowns DON’T work, why are we still having them?

Just wundrin … ”

Maybe because cause Politicians are both our masters and our servants

They may at times try to impose their own agendas ( Masters ) but will almost always bow to public opinion if they think they’ll lose votes if they go against it ( Servants )

Lockdowns will continue as long as sufficient numbers feel they are needed : and end when sufficient numbers don’t .

Simplistic answer to your simple question Flo .

ps There * may * be a wee bit more to it than that . * wink *

66. Breastplate

Sensibledave,
    Of course, looking through the broken prism of English/British Nationalism when pondering Scotland’s sovereignty, it’s completely unsurprising that you arrive at a different conclusion.

I have no doubt Scotland will have a referendum and independence but not necessarily in that order.

Talk of a civil war is nonsense, in the main, Unionists consist of Tories, some Rangers fans and a bunch of old people who have lost the ability to hold their bladder, have lost their marbles but not their Vera Lynn records.
    Nobody that could organise a piss up in a commode.

Civil war, that made me chuckle.

67. Sensibledave

I have to say I’m a bit confused by all this. In every thread I read here, I learn that the first minister is a totally corrupt liar, as are her senior ministers. The Scottish government, I’m told, is made up of lying, careerist, numpties whilst the Scottish judiciary and Police are also corrupt.

And yet, there comes no apology to unionists from folk here for the complete load of rubbish they were fed by these pages regarding the saintly Nicola, the brave snp MPs in Westminster et al.

Given that it is the consensus here that the SNP leadership are lying, cheating b******s that will do anything, say anything, to stay in power, is it conceivable that they may have told you a few porkies regarding the viability of a financially independent Scotland? But they are not that stupid to actually let it happen?

68. Dorothy Devine

I watched the ITV news tonight ,I know I shouldn’t bother but tonight I heard the fragrant Mary Nightingale slip in a piece of news which I had previously missed .

She was talking about the furore over Amazon dumping and said that the Scottish government subsidised Amazon. As far as I am aware there is no need to subsidise Amazon.

Can anyone tell me whether I misheard or heard correctly?

And if I heard correctly does it mean that they were subsidised / bribed to have a Scottish warehouse ??

Anyone?

69. Captain Yossarian

Stuart MacKay says:
    24 June, 2021 at 5:28 pm

“2) Scotland should enact a new Treaty of Union with England.” Here lies the problem in my opinion. Holyrood was given the powers to formluate and enact their own Social Security policy and payments 6 or 8 years ago. It was started with great enthusiasm and SAS was in charge. She soon enough found it was too complex and gave up to take care of something else (trans rights I think it was)

It took England years to negotiate Brexit and it was a fraction of the complexity of a new treaty of Union. Sadly, if you mentioned this to those at Holyrood I think they would look at you with a vapid stare. I don’t think we have a soul at Holyrood with the intellect, patience and or to progress this.

70. Sensibledave

Breastplate

You wrote: Talk of a civil war is nonsense, in the main, Unionists consist of Tories, some Rangers fans and a bunch of old people who have lost the ability to hold their bladder, have lost their marbles but not their Vera Lynn records.
    Nobody that could organise a piss up in a commode. Breastplate

… I get the impression that you are not averse to a bit of vindictive stereotyping discrimination there me old boobcage. It’s such an attractive characteristic that is bound to win over the thinkers among your unionist fellow citizens in Scotland. What with the totally corrupt government you wanted them to vote for and supporters with your views on life, I can’t imagine why the cause is struggling.

71. Republicofscotland

Dave @7.43pm.

Says Dave who called me a despot and inane, teapot and kettle springs to mind there Dave.

72. Robert Menzies

“Nor am I willing to destroy my health and happiness by putting myself through the fury of being lied to every day, never mind all the accompanying abuse.”

I thought you had abandoned posting. So why are you posting again ? Or were we being lied to again ?

73. Stuart MacKay

Captain Yossarian

Yes. There’s not much this lot could do unsupervised. So in a way we’re all of us left in a bizarre limbo with nothing to look forward to than the mess Boris is going to let blow in our direction.

I can’t help but remind myself of what Peter Bell wrote in “It’s what they do”. The built-in callousness of the British state. Any politician north of the border, if they had any awareness, would be hitting the emergency eject button as hard as possible – before it’s too late.

Sturgeon just might be our Chamberlain.

74. Tannadice Boy

Stuart MacKay 8:29pm
    Chamberlain I looking for a Churchill to save us. Or somebody. I am not one that wants Independence at the cost of our women or the hopeless education of our children. It could have been so much better. But we voted for a nutcase. Enough said. We are looking more like Serbia than the promised land.

75. Breastplate

Sensibledave,
    I don’t care what government people vote for in an independent Scotland.
    As for stereotyping, well, I’ve been known to upset the apple cart occasionally. 😉

76. Saffron Robe

In a FOI request (FOI/202100202110) to the Scottish Government about the use of Ivermectin to treat Covid-19 the reply states:

“The decision of which medicine to prescribe to a patient is a clinical one, and the Scottish Government does not intervene in clinical decisions involving individual patients.”

Forgive me for being stupid, but I thought the Scottish Government was carrying out the mass vaccination of individuals? I don’t remember being consulted by my GP about the appropriateness of the vaccine in my particular circumstances, nor giving consent for my personal details to be used by the government.

Adverse reactions to the vaccine now account for more hospitalisations than the virus itself. The following is from the UK Government paper by the Scientific Pandemic Influenza Group on Modelling (Summary of further modelling of easing restrictions – Roadmap Step 2):

“The resurgence in both hospitalisations and deaths is dominated by those that (sic) have received two doses of the vaccine, comprising around 60% and 70% of the wave respectively. This can be attributed to the high levels of uptake in the most at-risk age groups, such that immunisation failures account for more serious illness than unvaccinated individuals.”

The vaccine generates spike proteins (S proteins) which replicate at an alarming rate. This in turn can induce a cytotoxic reaction as the immune system tries to cope with these spike proteins (which are designed to mimic the virus) by producing neutralising antibodies. If the immune systems fails and is overcome with the spike proteins, then it is no different from having the virus itself and, potentially, much more dangerous, particularly in those already immunocompromised.

77. Tannadice Boy

@Captain Yossarian 7:38pm
    I caught your update in between the football. Evidence, evidence, evidence. 2 problems I have:
    1 Why are parents not attaching themselves to lampposts?
    2 You have an axe to grind. Not a good look.
    If you are right, people will be arrested and charged with manslaughter if you are wrong it’s a pot hole story. I will have no further part in this, don’t manage news and manipulate the facts. In a one er declare your case.

78. Robert Hughes

Sensible D .

You will never understand what informs our thinking , feeling and perception as Scots , for the very obvious reason that you’re not one .Same as we can’t know what it’s like to be English

I asked you previously to imagine if the situation was reversed – Edinburgh being the seat of UK Gov/Power , England sending all it’s money there and being given a % back , rarely getting the UK Gov it voted for , being subordinate to decisions made by the Scottish electorate ( imagine England had been forced to stay in the EU for example ) : how do you think you would feel ? You never answered the last time

” And yet, there comes no apology to unionists from folk here for the complete load of rubbish they were fed by these pages regarding the saintly Nicola, the brave snp MPs in Westminster et al.”

We owe nothing to Unionists , all they’ve * succeeded * in doing is keeping us shackled to an asymmetric , sclerotic , obsolete power-structure of privilege and patronage – of one sort or another .

That some Unionists seemed to have seen through the carefully groomed public image of N Sturgeon much earlier than many of her – now former , supporters is a painful truth we just have to accept.

In our defence …..how were we to know ? she appeared to be what the image projected and we’ll probably never know if she was always as duplicitous as she is now or if her character has changed drastically since she’s been in power

Have you never made an error of judgement matey ?

79. Hatuey

Thanks Saffron, for beautifully demonstrating why people from a non-clinical background should keep out of this debate;

“Adverse reactions to the vaccine now account for more hospitalisations than the virus itself.”

Of course, the above is true of many infectious diseases. In this country that includes measles, pertussis (whooping cough), smallpox, rubella, polio, pneumococcal disease, tetanus, mumps, etc.

All of the above are preventable with vaccines which have essentially eradicated them in the U.K.

Contrary to what you are suggesting, more people dying from the vaccine than the disease is actually a measure and reflection of how effective the vaccine is.

80. Tinto Chiel

@Saffron Robe 8.48:

“The resurgence in both hospitalisations and deaths is dominated by those that (sic) have received two doses of the vaccine, comprising around 60% and 70% of the wave respectively. This can be attributed to the high levels of uptake in the most at-risk age groups, such that immunisation failures account for more serious illness than unvaccinated individuals.”

Your quotation from the Scientific Pandemic Influenza Group on Modelling is really alarming and I haven’t seen it before, so thanks for posting it.

You’d better watch out: if you’re perceived to be an anti-vaxxer, hateful Hatuey will ostracise you.

Imagine a world ostracised by The Wee Scone: happy days!

81. Tannadice Boy

@Tinto Chiel 9:26pm
    Stay close to NHS practising professionals you want the answers. Of course they are worried about the infection rate. But so far the link between infection rate and deaths has been largely broken. Of course hundreds if not thousands of lives have been lost in the process of denying routine cancer or other medical conditions treatment. A long way to go for our NHS staff. Lions led by donkeys.

82. Tinto Chiel

@Tannadice Boy: “Stay close to NHS practising professionals (sic) you want the answers.”

Well, I’d like to, since I have trusted them in the past, and have previously taken every vaccine in my 60 years+ life, but my GP couldn’t say what was in the AZ “jab” but thought it was probably “kosher”.

The concept of informed consent requires people having access to the patient information leaflet for any drug. I doubt very much if this info is available for anyone taking the “vaccines”.

“Of course hundreds if not thousands of lives have been lost in the process of denying routine cancer or other medical conditions treatment.” Forgive me if I’m not entirely reassured by such a statement.

83. Tannadice Boy

@Tinto Chiel 10:36pm
    You are only 60 a youngster!. If you don’t believe that hundreds of lives have been lost under Covid provisions then you don’t know any NHS staff sic or otherwise. These guys n gals are doing it, day out and all night long. Ask your GP in an honest conversation about the tally of lives lost because of the lack of service provision. You are on the wrong side of history.

84. Tinto Chiel

@Tannadice Boy: not sure what to make of your garbled response, really.

I actually believe THOUSANDS (and more) of lives have been lost due to Covid provisions, so I don’t know why you’re taxing me with that point.
    NHS professionals are like any others of the so-called professional classes, in my opinion: there are the great (the truly and selflessly committed to their vocation), the average, and the rest.

“Ask your GP in an honest conversation about the tally of lives lost because of the lack of service provision.”

I have no idea what this means, frankly, and I doubt whether my GP would either.

“You are on the wrong side of history.” Thanks, but I’ll wait a wee while longer and see how the history all pans out, if you don’t mind. I’m sure a lot of minorities in Weimar Germany were told that, as it happens.

In any case, I thought you were leaving Scotland because it was so crap? Well, I ain’t leaving, my children (as far as I know, since they have good jobs here) ain’t leaving, and I hope and pray my tiny grand-children won’t either. Once they come to vaccinate them, I trust there will be complete revulsion from their parents at such a concept.

85. Tannadice Boy

@Tinto Chiel 11:19pm
    That’s what happens when you converse with someone that’s quotes Weimar Germany, indeed. My bairns are free to do what they want. I never said Scotland was crap. Their Government is crap. And their Parliament is crap. I fear you support the diminution of women’s rights and support a backward education system. I will leave when the time is right for me. I hope your bairns are free it’s sound like to me they are not.

86. Tinto Chiel

“That’s what happens when you converse with someone that’s (sic) quotes Weimar Germany, indeed.”

Hmmmm, you’d better not read any recent German history, then in that case. Is that all you’ve got?

“I never said Scotland was crap. Their Government is crap. And their Parliament is crap.” So, pretty crap, eh, according to you?

“I fear you support the diminution of women’s rights and support a backward education system.” Did I say that or did you pull it out your arse without any one else’s help? I suspect the latter. Since my daughters are feminists who also happen to be teachers, I find your “fear” to be unfounded, but thanks for your concern.

“I hope your bairns are free it’s sound like to me they are not.”

Really? Am I controlling them by my Alpha waves or something?

Please enlighten me…..

87. Saffron Robe

Tinto Chiel says:

‘The concept of informed consent requires people having access to the patient information leaflet for any drug. I doubt very much if this info is available for anyone taking the “vaccines”.’

You make a very good point Tinto. Unlike all other medications, these so-called vaccines are being given with a blank label. Common sense alone should tell you not to put anything into your body that you don’t know the provenance of.

“Your body is a temple, why would you render it impure?”
    Tulsidas

88. Don

Robert Hughes 24 June, 2021 at 9:01 pm

“I asked you previously to imagine if the situation was reversed – Edinburgh being the seat of UK Gov/Power , England sending all it’s money there and being given a % back”

You really need to get properly educated and stop swallowing daftie invented memes and pay attention instead to what your own SNP Scot Gov calculate and publishe themselves.
    Stop swallowing invented bullshit FFS.
    Scotland raised £65.9Bn (seen in table S.3) but spent £81Bn (seen on table S.5) so Scotland spent £15bn more than we raised from all our own taxes. https://www.gov.scot/publications/government-expenditure-revenue-scotland-gers-2019-20/

How hard can this be to understand for anyone over 14 years of age ?

89. Don

Saffron Robe 24 June, 2021 at 8:48 pm

“Adverse reactions to the vaccine now account for more hospitalisations than the virus itself.”

What utter complete Bullshit , which conspiracy website are you getting this from ?

Real Information here from real Health professionals
    https://bit.ly/3j8fl1P

Is this the only sort of people left on this forum now , Anti Vaxxer conspiracy therorists and people who still cannot understand their own countries economy properly after ten long years ? 🙂

90. Don

Stuart MacKay 24 June, 2021 at 8:29 pm

“I can’t help but remind myself of what Peter Bell wrote in “It’s what they do”. The built-in callousness of the British state”

Peter Bell is Fkwit who doesn’t know his backside from his elbow and has never been in any position to tell anybody anything, just another clueless individual who likes to hear the sound of his own voice. A man completely devoid of any real knowledge

91. Don

Dorothy Devine 24 June, 2021 at 7:37 pm

“I watched the ITV news tonight ,I know I shouldn’t bother but tonight I heard the fragrant Mary Nightingale slip in a piece of news which I had previously missed .
    She was talking about the furore over Amazon dumping and said that the Scottish government subsidised Amazon. As far as I am aware there is no need to subsidise Amazon.

Can anyone tell me whether I misheard or heard correctly?

And if I heard correctly does it mean that they were subsidised / bribed to have a Scottish warehouse ??

Anyone?”

Ever considered learning how to look up Google for yourself ?
    https://tfn.scot/news/scottish-gov-slammed-for-millions-paid-to-tax-dodging-amazon

92. Don

Sensibledave 24 June, 2021 at 7:37 pm

“Given that it is the consensus here that the SNP leadership are lying, cheating b******s that will do anything, say anything, to stay in power, is it conceivable that they may have told you a few porkies regarding the viability of a financially independent Scotland? But they are not that stupid to actually let it happen?”

Well its hardly difficult to see other than for those people who are still numerically clueless is it ?

https://theferret.scot/claim-scotland-pays-out-more-than-gets-back-false/

https://bit.ly/3xPz0HR

https://notesonnationalism.substack.com/p/are-we-supposed-to-take-this-seriously

https://ifs.org.uk/publications/15418

93. Hatuey

Saffron: “Adverse reactions to the vaccine now account for more hospitalisations than the virus itself.”

Don: “What utter complete Bullshit , which conspiracy website are you getting this from ?”

It could well be true, as I explained before in a comment that was held in moderation.

The vaccine has reduced hospitalisations from the disease so much that it would only take a handful of people to experience adverse reactions to the vaccine for this to be true.

And if it is true, it’s a reflection of the vaccine’s efficacy and success.

94. Don

Hatuey 25 June, 2021 at 3:10 am
    Saffron: “Adverse reactions to the vaccine now account for more hospitalisations than the virus itself.”

“The vaccine has reduced hospitalisations from the disease so much that it would only take a handful of people to experience adverse reactions to the vaccine for this to be true.”

More BS from you , there are only handfuls of people having reactions to the Vaccine but hundreds of people in Hospital currently across the UK ,clearly too hard for you to understand though. https://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/news/liverpool-news/liverpool-doctor-says-fourth-wave-20863344

95. Don

Hatuey 25 June, 2021 at 3:10 am

“The vaccine has reduced hospitalisations from the disease so much that it would only take a handful of people to experience adverse reactions to the vaccine for this to be true”

Presumably the information on this lnk is just all far too hard for the likes of you to be able to understand properly ?
    https://bit.ly/3h5borP

96. Captain Yossarian

@Tannadice Boy – When you post anything up on WoS then you are vulnerable to a certain amount of personal attack. It’s under investigation now and we will soon know. Can one fanatic beat forty comfortably well-paid casuals from Holyrood and the Council?

As far as the parents are concerned; they’ve been told the building is 100% OK and so I will be proven either right or wrong.

I’ll let you know in about 10-days.

97. Effigy

Hancock caught out having an affair with a millionaire lobbyist.
    Did she make her millions with PPE contracts, NHS contracts or
    just the wage Hancock gave her when hired?

It can all be covered up of course and being a lying, cheating adulterer
    has had no negative impact on Bojo the Bungling PM

98. Stuart MacKay

Captain Yossarian

A Social Security is probably the most fundamental thing an independent Scotland would need. Given the debacle over Universal Credit I know it’s not easy to set up such a massive system but it’s pretty much item #1 on the todo list for a renewed nation.

If they tried and failed that would be one thing but SAS appears not to have even picked up a finger.

The SNP, a party for Scotland? Spite is more valued than ability. At this point it seems a remarkable achievement that they can get themselves out of bed in the morning.

Mediocrity and fecklessness as far as the eye can see.

99. Stuart MacKay

Effigy

So what was the “poor man” quote made by the Royal Tax Dodger all about? I couldn’t tell from the reporting whether she thought Hancock had a tough job or was an incompetent moron. It was probably left ambiguous in case BoJo needed to get rid of him.

100. Tannadice Boy

@Captain Yossarian 5:18pm
    OK I can wait 10 days. It’s surely not about beating people but doing the right thing. From an engineering viewpoint if you are right, I will be the first to congratulate you for an incredible campaign. Yes it’s a rough and tumble site. But nobody has had to endure more than Stu himself.

101. Breeks

https://twitter.com/PhantomPower14/status/1408006681406099459

Aye, and that’s being diplomatic…

102. Robert Hughes

8 Donisms in just over an hour , you on piece-work kid ? it took me about 10 seconds to scroll-past noting the name and time – sorry , I never bother with the bit in between .

Ever occur to you that you’re not getting a great return on your investment ?

I’d go easy on the amphetamine D , at this rate you’ll end-up a gibbering wreck

Ooops too late

103. Breastplate

Good grief,
    I see DimDon managed to evade his nurses for a few hours last night.

104. Robert Hughes

Breastplate

Lol ! aye Nurse Ratched will be SO displeased with little Donny .

MediCAtion Time !

105. Dorothy Devine

Mist001, thanks for that . I had hoped that was long stopped.

106. Ian Brotherhood

@Saffron Robe (1.58) –

“Your body is a temple, why would you render it impure?”
    Tulsidas

Sean Connery used to decline airline meals, saying, ‘Thank you, but I make a point of not eating anything I cannot identify.’

107. Captain Yossarian

@Tannadice Boy – Yes, we can agree on that. I contacted Stu the other day to explain the situation to him and I will contact him again in another 10-days. He has been most supportive as has the Labour Party chap.

The forensic MSP for Dumbarton wanted to put it in the hands of SAS for the next five-years; I declined and have endured the slings and arrows of WoS instead. But, it hasn’t taken long and it has been great fun, fabulous really and you will remember this story for a long time, whichever way it ends.

108. Tom

Common Weal /Source

Does anyone know what’s happening across there? After a week’s absence, James Foley announced yesterday that Source is to cease publishing, but without saying why.

Will Common Weal continue after the demise of Source? Who is/will be in charge? An SNP place-person? Mike Small? (I tried to find out, including Board composition, but got no reply.)

Perhaps Robin McAlpine should establish ‘Common Weal 2’. The original version is sorely missed.

109. Republicofscotland

More Scottish government finger pointing hypocrisy, as a new report compiled by the Scottish government, show that the real negative impact of Brexit on Scotland will take years to manifest.

Of course Sturgeon the Betrayer knew this, as did many of us, yet she insisted on trying to save England from Brexit instead of saving Scotland from Brexit, by campaigning in her yellow bus up and down the country to stop Brexit instead of campaigning to get us out of this sinking UK ship.

She betrayed Scots, and now we’ll pay the price for her treachery, through the effects of Brexit and the Tory onslaught on devolution. There can be no real post-pandemic recovery of the Scottish economy, Brexit has put paid to that and Sturgeon the Betrayer knows this as well.

The only real way to get back onto the recovery road, is full Scottish independence and to join EFTA.

110. Stuart MacKay

So Chris Grey’s Brexit Blog had the following interesting snippet:

the target of the Brexiters’ ire always was, and still is, those of their compatriots they consider to be ‘the liberal metropolitan elite’ or ‘the establishment’ (categories made so elastic as to be meaningless), in contrast to the “ordinary, decent people” who voted to leave.

This is sort of the language used here in reference to the “environmentally/ socially concerned middle-classes” that inhabit the SNP and who might be lukewarm on independence because they’re already comfortable. I know I’ve said things along these lines.

The interesting part is that no matter what we think the debate on independence doesn’t happen in isolation. Every individual and the entire debate operates with a backdrop of what is happening either in the rest of the country, the rest of the world (the Black Sea sabre-rattling) and what goes online.

It’s important to recognise that because not only can the backdrop be used to subtly change the terms of reference for the debate but also it can be used to paint the participant of the with one brush or another. For example the charges of bigotry and Trump apologists that come from the woke-ish factions of the SNP.

tl;dr; Situational awareness on the battlefield, wherever it might be and in whatever form the combat takes, is always the most important thing to consider.

111. Dan

Word on the street is Netflix is considering creating a film called The School.
    The plot includes aspects from various films such as Contagion, Das Boot, Journey To The Centre Of The Earth, Logan’s Run, and Scooby Doo.
    A deadly pandemic spreads across the world, but there are questions that the virus may not be natural, and instead is actually the creation of a small sinister group looking to kill off most of the planet’s population so they can then control the world and its remaining resources.

Various “vaccines” are released and administered to different societal groups. But only one vaccine offers full protection whilst the others contain programmable tracking chips which can be activated at any time to let the virus bloom and take out large numbers of the population.

Bumblingly Governments around the planet show themselves to be completely filled with useless arseholes that lack the gumption to deal with the most basic fundamental principles of stopping the virus spreading.
    At this point an engineer called Captn Yossa steps up and decides that if he can’t save the world, he can at least save some children.
    He recalls building a school that was built on compromised land… And with just a little extra water sprinkled on the surrounding ground the school would sink and those in it would be saved from the virus as it reaped havoc across the surface of the planet.
    Yes, it would mean the children would have to endure nothing but school dinners for a while, and not have phone reception to access Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok, but Yossa thinks that for the greater good that is a worthwhile temporary sacrifice.
    Various other shit happens which I won’t get into as this post is getting long and I have to go to work, but in the end Yossa and the bairns pilot the school to resurface exactly where the headquarters of the sinister organisation is located, thus destroying the baddie’s plans, who would have got away with it if it wasn’t for those pesky kids…

112. Captain Yossarian

@Dan – Just give it 10-days, then you can finish your story. I’m all ears.

113. Clavie Cheil

Re the footie. Outplayed by poor wee stupid Croatia. An Indy Nation of only 4 million. Oh well. Meanwhile we are ruled by a Party of gutless pussies in the SNP.

114. John H

The resurgence in both hospitalisations and deaths is dominated by those that (sic) have received two doses of the vaccine, comprising around 60% and 70% of the wave respectively.

The quote is completely out of context, its not real data but an assumption used in the models and used to inflate the 3rd wave numbers to be presented to the Politian’s.

115. Sensible Dave

Robert Hughes 9.01

You Wrote “I asked you previously to imagine if the situation was reversed – Edinburgh being the seat of UK Gov/Power , England sending all it’s money there ….”

Err, those of us living in the south east know exactly how it feels to ship Billions of our hard earned cash to Scotland!

On the broader point though, as I have mentioned a number of times, you are pushing at open door as far the English are concerned. There is no popular cause to keep Scotland in the Union. As polls regularly show, on the whole, the English are ambivalent on the subject. And that leads me to reiterate the main point of many of my comments. IT IS SCOTS FOLK that are responsible for Scotland not being an Independent nation – no one else.

Yessers need to figure out why you cannot convince your fellow country folk of the overall benefits of Scotland being an independent country. Its as simple as that. There is no obvious majority for Independence. Why is that?

Until you can work that out and address the issues of the Nays, then you are going to continue going round and round this rabbit hole indefinitely.

116. President Xiden

Imagine you lived in a society where those who made the rules, very stringent and authoritarian rules, were found to be ignoring the rules themselves. Couldn’t happen here of course.

117. Hugh Jarse

“IT IS SCOTS FOLK that are responsible for Scotland not being an Independent nation – no one else.”

Correct Dave, there are many non Scots ,Defoe & co. intertwined in the sad, sorry tale, but overall we did/do it to ourselves.

More Dave. Less Dom!

118. President Xiden

Sage prediction on the result of Tuesday’s match : Germany 100 000 England 90 000

119. Robert Hughes

Dan

Netflix can fck off , I’ve already sent my outline screen-play to H.B.O and have been assured Yossarian’s Sinkhole will go into production * soon * .

Just hoping it’s not * soon * in the New SNP plans for Indy type soon .

My vision of the epic is not disimilar to the one you describe , if wasn’t for the fact that you are too busy planting vegetables,repairing ante-diluvian tractors and collecting/hoarding barely recognisable objects that * may be useful someday * I’d be tempted to suspect a degree of plagiarism has taken place

Just joshin Capn Y . Hope you get the result you’ve worked for .

120. Captain Yossarian

@Robert Hughes – None taken, Robert. You cannot afford to be too thin-skinned on these pages, can you. I must admit that I’m getting more relaxed now that it is nearly over.

121. Robert Hughes

Capn Y

NAW , ye cannae !!

Glad things appear to be reaching some kind of resolution .

122. wee monkey

Stuart MacKay says:
    24 June, 2021 at 12:11 pm
    Republicofscotland

Quote:- “What do they want a pay rise for when they just got badge to demonstrate their “pride” in the NHS.”

You will take “the pledge”. Or else!!
    Shades of “Don’t tell them your name Pike”!!

123. Breeks

https://yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com/2021/06/25/knowledge-is-power-britain-keeps-this-secret/

Watching this is a good use of your time… (especially if you’re one of those imbeciles who believes that Scotland’s Ancient Constitution, and indeed, the 1707 Treaty of Union, all happened too long ago, and is old news that doesn’t matter to anybody).

I knew about some of it… the City Remembrancer, but it’s still quite an eye opener to see how the dots are joined.

I am absolutely convinced that Scotland’s Constitution and the popular sovereignty of our Scottish Nation is the “untried” key which will free our Nation from this colonial entrapment.

So much of Scotland’s wealth, integrity, legitimacy and lawful Constitution seems somehow ethereal, and detached from reality. (I wonder how that happened eh? Big mystery eh?). If we don’t seize hold of these components, and make them relevant, extant and binding in our modern, terrestrial world, then Scotland risks losing them… perhaps irredeemably.

We MUST stop the rot and start defending the component parts of our Nation, because be in no doubt, they are currently suffering under sustained encroachment and attack.

If these ethereal rights, sovereignty, and Constitutional status were commodities of gold or minerals, they would right now find themselves stuffed into the back of a van and heading south. It is that real.

Scotland MUST muster it’s Constitutional Defence and defenders, URGENTLY, and put an end to this dismantling of our Scottish Nation. There is so much more at stake here than petty squabbling about who might or might not vote in a referendum.

The enemy isn’t at the gate. He’s already inside. He’s set up shop in our Nation’s sacred archive, and villain is throwing all the substance of Scotland’s legitimacy out the windows and burning the evidence of Scotland’s Constitutional DNA onto a bonfire, while the elected guardians of Scotland do NOTHING.

They are sacking our Capital, and Scotland sleeps.

124. Republicofscotland

Grey Gull.

Hancock won’t get the sack or even reprimanded by Johnson, for just as Leslie Evans and Sturgeon the Betrayers vile clique, saw no one reprimanded or sacked over a number of shambolic pratices, Hancock, knows where the bodies are buried as well with regards to Johnsons governments machinations.

Though I doubt his wife will non too impressed, his excuse is farcical.

125. James Che.

Sovereignty of people or sovereignty of uk parliament is a important issue that most people in other parts of Britain get confused with,
    Although it is written down for people in Scotland through the treaty of the union and the Scotland act, and even the declaration of Arbroath.
    What and where does it say or suggest that it is as Westminster claims and implies, that in Britain UK parliament holds sovereignty.
    The topic of wether the English people , Welsh, and other people of uk empire are under subjugation to uk parliament is interesting when faced with covid restrictions, employment and business lockdowns, or firing or sailing in waters close to Russia to provoke antagonism and war on behalf of the people in England, Wales and N Ireland.
    Our withdrawal from the EU bought forth a statement that when Brexit is finalised the UK parliament will hold sovereignty in Britain, it forgot to mention or enlighten the people that this was not the case before any entry into the EU,
    So can the uk parliament force the people of the Uk into a downward spiral of economic failure through closing down businesses, Can the UK government lock people up continually since 2020 for an virus that causes less deaths per year than cancer or heart attacks, and a virus which can be inoculated against.
    Has the UK parliament the right to steal pensions of the people of Great Britain if this money was saved for by deductions taken from their wages with the explicit explanation and promise from UK parliament that this was savings that the government would later use to look after them when they retired.
    OR does the does the UK parliament have the sovereignty right to use this in the same way that Robert Maxwell stole pensions for use other than stated.
    There are many examples we can use to highlight situations where the Uk parliament in its egotistical belief, believes it is sovereign above the people, and can do whatever it thinks to the people in Great Britain,
    Perhaps English, Welsh, and N Ireland residents of Great Britain do not realise they hold sovereignty above the false claims of UK parliament sovereignty.
    That when they vote they are briefly lending their sovereignty to the MPs to represent them in the UK parliament and therefore the MPs and parliament are only a representation for a short period of time,
    But what happen to uk parliaments supposed sovereignty if the people decided not to go and vote them in as representatives, what if the people decided the MPs were not representing them or their views and believes at all,
    And I suppose the same could be said of local elections.
    The system would collapse, the goverment would collapse, A bad governance at that,
    But people will endure all sorts of new laws imposed on them in the false believe [that they ] are not sovereign above the UK parliament which actually only exists due to the people, and their vote.
    The sovereignty of the UK parliament will become reality over the people when elections are no more. And the people no longer vote,
    Which I remember was debatable during Covid lockdowns. Postal voting was advised, and is stage one in withdrawing and reducing your right to go to a election booth in person to vote in your representatives in government,
    At what point will they decide to delay an election under Covid safety and health issues and yet the same supposed government is imposing new laws to the police to keep everyone at home and restricted.
    The Parliament of Great Britain is claiming it is sovereign above the PEOPLE of England, Wales and N Ireland,
    Here in Scotland we have possible get out clauses as the people of Scotland are recognised as sovereign and we have the right to choose a government of our own choice. And not stipulated that it has to be a devolved government.
    However with all this wrote down historically we the people here still have the same mindset as the English, Welsh and N Ireland,
    And as sovereignty is ours for the taken, it beggars believe that we allow a devolved government to curtail our movements, to restrict marches or protests, to bring hate crime laws into our homes, to bring in laws which change the status of biological genders recognised by hundreds of years of previous laws,
    Sovereignty does not belong to any parliament, it belongs to the people, in Scotland it is written down, , but even in England, Wales and N Ireland the people are being misled.

126. Stuart MacKay

wee monkey

The vile thing about the badge is the encouragement to rat out people who appear less than enthusiastic about it. That will destroy any organisation in the blink of an eye. To do that to the NHS, which makes up for the under-funding by relying on the commitment of the staff, is evil beyond imagination. At best it destroys morale causing people to leave. I seriously doubt the finger pointers are also the top performers. As a result the whole organisation will be weakened or maybe crippled.

Maybe that’s the intention.

127. Willie

For folks like Cptn Yodarrian who have been beating the drum about the dangers of building on bad ground, the Chaplain Towers South collapse is tragic example of structural failure.

No doubt the causes of failure will remain to be established but already it is emerging that the structure was constructed on what is being described as wet lands.

How the structure’s foundations or indeed the structure itself was designed to accommodate
    the ground conditions will no doubt become clearer. As will other issues. But reports are already emerging that the structure built in the 1980s had been identified in 1991 to be sustaining ongoing subsidence with visible evidence of wall cracking.

Poor building codes, laisse faire regulation, a disregard for warnings, with 159 now missing this is the USA’s Grenfell Tower. Or Scotland’s Cameron House.

But like here, the vested interests would happily box and bury the dead and move on whilst the guilty walk free. Yes, free market light to no touch regulation comes with a cost.

128. Saffron Robe

Breeks, superlative comment at 12:19 pm. It was ever thus, but more crucial now than ever with the world at a crossroads and Brexit thrust upon us. Only by remembering our roots and the sacrifices made by our ancestors can we move boldly and confidently into the future.

129. Brian Doonthetoon

Video showing Miami building cllapsing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KR29pLccutY

130. Brian Doonthetoon

Here’s the missing

o

131. Robert Hughes

Breeks

I watched that film a while back , it lays it all out brilliantly

The long-standing , corrupt foundation/s of the UK Money/Power nexus , the arcane * arrangements * , the sheer greed and hypocrisy ( if only the Lumpen Proles who voted for Brexit had a clue what was really behind the ” taking back control ” smokescreen – Brexit was NEVER about ” taking back control ” , it was always about RETAINING control )

The aiding and abetting of , in particular , some African despots enriching themselves while their people live in abject poverty , laundering their plunder through the smirking * respectability * of the City of London , the billions of £s evaded in tax by the same parasites that complain about * Welfare Cheats * and the work-shy Working Class ; in short , the nauseating * values * of the UK Financial Establishment and it’s enablers in Government and Media .

Indeed laughable when you hear people – even on our own side – attempt to dismiss using the breaching of the ToU as the basis of our argument to withdraw from the Union as ” impractical ” , ” of no interest to modern society ” or whatever gibberish they use to pour scorn on the idea , while we’re ruled and deeply disadvantaged by systems of patronage/privilege which are at least as old as the ToU .

132. Saffron Robe

Good comment Robert. The Treaty of Union is the key to unlocking our future.

133. Republicofscotland

Well said Robert Hughes.

A vote at Holyrood should be taken on to call back our MPs from Westminster, on completion of that vote another vote by our MPs/MSPs should also be taken at Holyrood on whether to dissolve this rancid union, as we currently have a pro-indy majority at Holyrood it would be likely that leave the union would win.

Holyrood declare Scotland independent there and then, we then sit down with the Westminster government to set out the terms of the division.

Its the only way Scotland will become independent, all other routes are laden with caveats such as unionist councils in Scotland not playing ball on allowing voting in their constituency on an indyref, or unionist MSP trying to throw a spanner in the works of any indyref.

It doesn’t matter what Westminster thinks of our declaration on leaving the union, its the international communities sanction that counts.

134. Captain Yossarian

@Tannadice Boy – Permit me one last point; it will give you something to think about over the weekend and I expect it to properly vex your ethical code:

Just say I had paid two law firms over £50k in total to pursue this case for me. The first law firm made such a mess of it, the second law firm tried but just couldn’t undo the damage.

Therefore, Scottish lawyers have had nearly seven years to solve this and have failed.

Two bloggers, Stuart Campbell and the other Labour Party chap from Glasgow, have had three or four months and it looks to me like they may have succeeded. How much should they be paid and by whom?

Who pays those who look after the public interest nowadays?

135. Republicofscotland

Re my 3.40pm above comment, of course measures would need to be put in place prior to the vote on currency, my preference is the Scottish pound, and the appropriate government departments on now reserved matters would need to be formed, that would create quite a few jobs. Monies that currently head South to the UK treasury coffers would remain in Scotland, as our country finally opens up to the big wide world.

Rejoining the EU in one form or another would also negate the disastrous Brexit shambles and the woeful Australian trade deal, not to mention what else the Westminster Tory government has lined up for Scotland, via a US trade deal.

I favour EFTA as it allows us access to the EU market and access to the UK market as well, which would be good for Scottish businesses overall.

136. Sensible Dave

Republicofscotland 4:21 pm

It is clear to me that you are clueless about the issues an independent Scotland faces.

May I urge you to go to youtube and search for an interview between Andrew Neil and the SNP finance spokesperson and chair of the Scottish Growth Commission Andrew Wilson.

Once you have done that, you may be just a tad more aware of the naivety and ridiculousness of your last comment.

137. wull

With regard to that comment by Breeks, and others’ comment on it, I seem to remember a television documentary many, many years ago (more than 50?) about an East London gangland leader. According to my memory, it was put out as an interview. I think he was called Richardson (was there a ‘Richardson gang’ in East London once upon a time?).

However, I think, rather than being the real Richardson (who, perhaps, had only recently been released from jail?) the character was played by an actor, with either his back always to the camera or his face in deep shadow. But I think the claim was that the script was indeed word-for-word from an actual interview with the real Mr. Richardson (or whoever the gang leader was).

He was supposed to be a top-class and well-known criminal. At the end of the interview, the interviewer asked him if he had any regrets for his life of crime. ‘No’ came the answer ‘none at all …’, then, after a brief pause, ‘except for one thing’.

‘What’s that one thing?’ asked the interviewer.

‘I really regret that I never quite got to the top, or the centre of criminality in this country. I was really only on the fringe, a bit player’.

‘Where is that top? That centre…?’

‘If you want, I’ll take you there and show you.’

At which point, the interview ended, and the next thing you saw was the two men – the interviewer and the interviewee – getting into a taxi. The crime-boss gave muffled instructions to the driver, and off they went, through the streets of London.

Eventually, the taxi reached its destination, and we got shots of the buildings round about. ‘This is it’ came Richardson’s voice (or at least the voice of the actor playing him. ‘This is my one regret: this is where I should have started my life of crime, and this is where I would have prospered at it far more than I actually did! I started out in the wrong place altogether!’

Do you want to tell our audience – those of them who don’t know – just where we are?’

‘Sure. The City of London!’

And the camera panned to the street signs. ‘This is it’, said Richardson, ‘This is the centre of crime in Britain, and the place where all the very top criminals gather. I missed out. Never got in here. If I had my time over again, this is where I would be. From Day One on…’

Sure thing. And he would never have ‘done time’ either!

138. Republicofscotland

Dave its abundantly clear that you have put your faith in Andrew Wilson’s word, a man whose Growth Commission Report that has been slated as not that good, Wilson’s shoddy report is insignificant, and I’d image he has more in common with die-hard unionist Neil than he does with the grassroots of the indy movement.

I don’t care who’s report you refer to, Scotland is a viable country that can more than support itself, and it, sorry we would flourish post independence.

If Alex Salmond was FM right now instead of the wretch Sturgeon, he’d have called for the vote at Holyrood and we’d be independent by now, do you honestly believe that Salmond would say Oh no Andrew Wilson’s Growth Commission report says we cannae dae it, I think not.

139. Tannadice Boy

@Captain Yossarian 4:10pm
    If you have spent that amount of money pursuing this case and are proven to be right. You will have legal redress. And throw in an honour which I think you will appreciate. I cannot speak about the Glasgow Labour Chap. Don’t know his works too well. I have often thought about Stu’s achievements. I would contribute to a fund raiser to enable him and his staff to transition to a new career.

140. twathater

As usual Breeks nail on the head , and Robert Hughes also , it is enraging and frustrating that we don’t have politicians of the Stuart Campbell class where honesty and integrity counts , how did we the public become so stupid that we fell for these cowardly, incompetent,self serving arseholes whose ONLY idea of public duty is to see it as a duty to enrich themselves as much as possible at the public’s expense before they are found out

Unfortunately this hasn’t just happened with the SNP this has happened over decades especially with liebour and tollies across the uk

The people who rubbish the TOU way to indy are academics and cowardly politicians , people who are allergic to challenge and confrontation , people who are comfortable with their opinions and despise being proven WRONG

Unless the people waken up and DEMAND better politicians who have honesty and integrity and have the means to dispose of any charlatans who try their luck this will continue

141. Breeks

Know what I’d like to see?

Sturgeon facing a visceral threat of actual impeachment, and Westminster facing a similarly visceral threat of Scotland’s serious intent to declare the Treaty of Union formally breached by Scotland’s Brexit subjugation.

Depending how that impeachment took form, Sturgeon and Holyrood might become largely irrelevant, with Devolution seen as a failed and obsolete vestige of Westminster rule. It might even be desirable and expedient to simply to remove Sturgeon’s hand from the tiller.

I think what might happen in Westminster would be a lot more relevant and interesting, because Westminster would be confronted with an immediate and potent challenge to it’s authority.

There is a world of difference between a Scottish Nation forlornly trying to assert itself through domestic UK law, where Westminster is the acknowledged overlord, and a Scottish Nation which is grimly resolved to taking it’s unconstitutional subjugation and the what that means for the Treaty of Union before the International Community and more rigorous criteria of International Law.

This amateurish charade of Holyrood and Westminster arguing about a domestic UK referendum has gone on long enough and gotten us nowhere. Enough is enough.

It is achingly transparent from what the SNP is NOT doing, that there is no realistic prospect of the SNP delivering Independence, nor even a Referendum in the short to medium term. If there was, we would see it in Westminster’s altogether different attitude towards Scotland.

The moment Scotland adopts a more determined and resolute approach to ending the Union, (and please god, NOT Sturgeon), we can all be sure that Westminster will reciprocate and raise it’s game. Currently, there is no need to, because there is no threat.

Right now, and for the foreseeable, Westminster can simply treat a Scottish IndyRef like throwing a ball for a dog to fetch. Every time Scotland turns up with a Referendum in it’s mouth, Westminster will just launch it further down the garden for the Scottish Government to retrieve like an obedience poodle.

Please understand too, just because Scotland starts playing hardball, that doesn’t mean to say Scotland opts for the nuclear option straight away. I said it earlier, but give Westminster the ultimatum of a one way trip to the UN or an IndyRef, you can bet Westminster will accede to a Referendum. It’s all about leverage, and right now, Sturgeon has none.

Scotland needs to take the gloves off, and stop wasting our time with Nicola Sturgeon’s Toytown politics and dysfunctional strategy, and extricate ourselves from the dogs breakfast of Domestic UK law as if we were a region, and starting acting like a Nation flexing it’s muscles under International Law.

142. James Che.

To wee, to stupid, to poor,
    To wee, is actually an advantage in this modern times
    The one thing Scotland is not, is poor,
    To stupid to go for it, …maybe.

143. Sensibledave

RoS

So, in summary, your message to folk that ave previously voted No, because they were concerned about the financial future of the country (rightly or wrongly)…. is that they should take absolutely no notice of the SNP’s and government’s spokesman on the matter … and listen to you instead.

Genuinely, until a Yesser can be in an interview like that and provide cogent, logical and truthful answers to the questions raised … and show a positive and prosperous future, it’s not owing to happen sir.

144. Republicofscotland

Dave.

I’ll take professor Richard Murphy’s part on such matters as currency in which he says no to keeping Sterling ahead of a Scottish pound, any day ahead of Andrew Wilson’s advice, as we all know this current SNP government isn’t interested in independence, or as Yanis Varoufakis said today in the New Statesmen, the Scottish government “lacks the courage”, and are unwilling to put in place the key levers that need to be put in place prior to independence, not because Scotland can’t afford to be independent, but because Sturgeon is quite content to be the big fish in a small pond.

She knows fine well that Scotland is now a one party state, independence would surely be threat to that. The lack of movement on Scottish independence by the SNP is political matter and not a economic one.

145. Saffron Robe

The ironic thing is, it is Westminster who have nullified the Treaty of Union through Brexit. It is they themselves who have liberated Scotland. What we need to do is ditch Nicola Sturgeon, as is our right, and rally round someone like Joanna Cherry who has the legal brains and acumen to negotiate our freedom. I, for one, would happily form a Scots Guard around Joanna and make her our very own Joan of Arc. Why do you think the Establishment (and I include the SNP in this) fear her so much and treat her so badly?

And Breeks, you are on the ball again. Think like a nation, act like a nation.

146. Sensibledave

RoS

I admire your optimistic fortitude. I genuinely hope you achieve your aims. But, as someone with no skin in the game, I would suggest there is no chance in the foreseeable future.

In essence, your message to your fellow Scots is …. Ignore what Westminster is saying, ignore what the Independence Party of Scotland is saying … listen to this person I’ve chosen over here.

I fear it isn’t going to work sir.

147. Republicofscotland

Dave.

I don’t even know why I’m bothering to answer your efforts when top unionists such as David Cameron and the head of Better together Alistair Darling have said that Scotland could be a successful independent country.

David Cameron.

“Let’s be clear, though, I’m not going to stand here and suggest Scotland couldn’t make a go of being on its own, if that’s what people decide. There are plenty of small, independent nation states of a similar size or even smaller.

Scotland could make its way in the world alongside countries like those.”

Alistair Darling.

“I’ve always argued that the question isn’t whether Scotland couldn’t go it alone”

148. Republicofscotland

Infact Dave even the arch anti-Scottish independence, soon to be a peer Ruth Davison said of Scotland.

“The former Scottish Tory leader Ruth Davidson said: “Actually, I believe Scotland is big enough, rich enough and good enough to be an independent country.”

Now if those who vehemently oppose an independent Scotland, say such things, then you know that the too wee, too poor, too small. trope is absolute nonsense.

You never stood a chance Dave, and I think you knew it.

149. Scot Finlayson

Scotland`s Brent Crude oil now at over $75 per barrel,

> 1,000,000 barrels taken every day,

$75,000,000 every day goin somewhere other than Scotland,

biggest theft in human history.

150. Cenchos

I wonder what Matt Hancock’s wife thought when she heard that the Government’s SPADS had decided that he needed to be seen to be having an affair to make him more relatable, and to provide a distraction from whatever needs a distraction this weekend.

151. Ian Brotherhood

SanFrancisco – 35,000 ‘council’ workers have been told to get vaccinated or start looking for a new job.

This is the type of stuff Hatuey has been actively advocating here for months.

https://twitter.com/reallygraceful/status/1408170398475329536/photo/1

152. chas

Scot Finlayson

You clearly have no idea of how business and particularly the oil business works!

153. Ian Brotherhood

@Cenchos –

Tomorrow is likely to see the biggest anti-lockdown/’vaccination’ demo yet, in London.

The last one was huge (some estimates put the total at close to a million) but the BBC managed to blank it.

Of course, there could be something else they want folk to ignore!

154. Dan

@ ROS

Ol’ Sensible D from The Kingdom of England spends a lot of time on here telling us The Kingdom of Scotland is too shite to succeed.
    You’d think an individual that has the capacity to form and hold that view would be astute enough to understand that TKoS’s current shitness is predominantly caused by being in a political union with TKoE.
    It’s meant to be an equal union but that’s bullshit because from day one of this 300 odd year old union, all significant power has been held in Westminster, with Governments that are nearly always determined by the voters in TKoE due to the democratic deficit, which means political focus inherently lies in its favour.

If TKoE is better than TKoS it proves the political union does not equally serve both Kingdoms.

If there is parity in the shitness levels of both Kingdoms then it proves the political union is failing both Kingdoms and political reform is necessary for things to improve.

If TKoS is better than TKoE it again proves the political union does not equally serve both Kingdoms. But if this latter situation is the case then you’d expect someone from TKoE so concerned with pointing out the shitness of things to be striving to get TKoE Independent and liberated from the burden of being dragged down by TKoS’s shitness.

Maybe Ol’ Sensible D just lacks the aspiration and motivation to improve the political status of his own country, and recently acknowledged he just votes for the least shit option.
    I guess it’s easier and more entertaining for him to chirp away in a negative fashion on a site that aspires to improve the opportunities for Scotland to have more influence in improving our future, than it is for him to work constructively for political reform in either the UK or TKoE.

155. Confused

When nothing is on the telly, all you get is the fucking re-runs. As so with WOS – it’s all the same crap spouted by a demented energiser bunny with a broken keyboard and a wannabe philosopher and political economist from essex(?)

The money questions arise – usually by accounts which have little credibility; there is adequate counter evidence and argument, but that is not the annoying thing – it is this, again we are “getting old” here –

IF Scotland was heavily subsidised by England, particularly London and the South East

– WHY THE FUCK ARE THEY SO DESPERATE TO HOLD ONTO US? (I mean the slightly well-informed political class and not golf club bores in Crawley)

– why?

It makes no sense; by logical self interest they should want shot of us, and it would not be happening now, but 50 or more years ago.

You have to then “explain” it by proposing ridiculous situations : like –

the English have a deep, but unrequited love for the Scots and act out of a poorly understood and deep seated philanthropic and altruistic conviction (- to save us from ourselves, maybe?) and need to hold onto us, stuffing our mouths with gold …

Even the slightest contact with any history book in your life will tell you something :

THE ENGLISH HAVE NEVER BEEN ON THE “RIGHT” SIDE OF ANY CONFLICT (- barring one possible exception)

and

HAVE NEVER ACTED ALTRUISTICALLY

and as someone else put it :

WHEREVER WOOD FLOATS, THERE YOU WILL FIND AN ENGLISHMAN, STEALING ALL HE CAN

Fair minded John Bull and Straight-Dealing Albion are not exactly “memes” are they?

– and a cheater is never gonna admit to his cheating

The Anglo is a thief and nothing more.

156. President Xiden

Scot Finlayson says:
    25 June, 2021 at 8:02 pm
    Scotland`s Brent Crude oil now at over $75 per barrel,

> “1,000,000 barrels taken every day,

$75,000,000 every day goin somewhere other than Scotland,

biggest theft in human history.”

Don’t worry, Nicola’s embrace of the new green deal will reduce the price of oil to peanuts.

157. Saffron Robe

Individually the English can be smashing people. It is collectively, and their system of government, that is the problem – hence the need for independence. Khushwant Singh puts it best in his novel “Train to Pakistan”:

“I have lived in their country many years. They are nice as human beings. Politically they are the world’s biggest four-twenties (criminals). They would not have spread their domain all over the world if they had been honest.”

158. Hatuey

“This is the type of stuff Hatuey has been actively advocating here for months.”

Lol. I haven’t commented on the vaccine policy of the US once. Since around 600 thousand Americans have died due to covid — at least — I can understand their concerns.

In this country, which I have commented on, we won’t need to fire or threaten so many people since the uptake is looking like it’ll be around 95% anyway.

Nobody has ever said you must take the vaccine, though. It’s your right to refuse. Just as it’s the right of others to refuse to employ you, serve you, feed you, sit with you, share space with you, etc.

Rights are like that. They work both ways.

159. Fireproofjim

Crude oil is now $75 per barrel and Scotland has been told for years we are paupers when billions of dollars have been squandered by Westminster by cutting taxes for the rich. Unlike Norway with a trillion dollar National Investment fund, the U.K. has not invested a penny but blew the lot.
    By the way, of that 75 dollars, there is probably $30 or less to be taxed after operating costs.
    It still amounts to many many billions wasted by Westminster.

160. Charles Hodgson

Hatuey says:
    “Nobody has ever said you must take the vaccine, though. It’s your right to refuse. Just as it’s the right of others to refuse to employ you, serve you, feed you, sit with you, share space with you, etc.”

So its take the vaccine or else be excluded from society?
    We’ll see about that, fuckface.

161. President Xiden

The cognitive dissonance on this site is a wonder to behold.

162. Hatuey

As for the continuing debate on here about independence, currency, sovereignty, etc., it all seems a bit repetitive and pointless right now.

The debate has moved away from the answers and is really about questions now.

Nobody anywhere is denying our right to answer the question. The sovereignty of the Scottish people in terms of doing that was set in stone in 2014. Westminster has also affirmed the sovereignty of the Scottish people.

The debate today is about who decides when we ask the Scottish people the question.

That’s a debate that the British Government can’t conceivably win when you think about it. How can a sovereign people have the right to answer a question but not have the right to ask it?

We are fighting for the right to ask the question, then, or at least we should be, not to answer it.

163. Hatuey

“So its take the vaccine or else be excluded from society?
    We’ll see about that, fuckface.”

It’s not up to me. Regardless of what I think, it’s inevitably going to pan out like that.

The vaccines provide about 95% protection against serious illnesses and death. That 5% shortfall is naturally going to play on people’s minds.

And as I’ve tried to explain before, even the healthiest vaccinated people can succumb to the virus if they are heavily exposed to it.

Nobody wanted this, so cool the beans. If it was up to me we’d have locked it out from the start.

164. Charles Hodgson

Hatuey:
    I’m going to insert my non-vaccunated presence into any goddamned space I want, and nobody is going to stop me.
    Any ID can be faked, and I will indulge whole heartedly, as I hope will many others.
    Roll on the 2021/22 football season. Let’s see the ginger weasel try to lock us up for another year. She’ll have help to pay, the fucking maggot.

165. David Caledonia

I have always wanted out of the European Union since it became a political nightmare years ago.
    Its even worse than westminster and that says a lot about its take on democracy and the right of any country to accept or reject its latest nonesense
    The people making the decisions cannt even be removed as they have not been elected into their gravy train positions.
    And some people seem to think its a bad thing to be out of that farce, what planet are they living on.
    Its irrelevent anyway, that toxic union of europe is on its last legs, its finished and not before time I say.

good riddance to most of them, scotland certainly will
    be a lot better away from that load of waffling eejits

166. Pixywine

Europe takes orders from Tony Blair.

167. Pixywine

Shocked. Masasa was 2000 years ago…..

168. Pixywine

Masada.

169. Stoker

wull says on 25 June, 2021 at 5:03 pm:

“I seem to remember a television documentary many, many years ago (more than 50?) about an East London gangland leader. According to my memory, it was put out as an interview. I think he was called Richardson (was there a ‘Richardson gang’ in East London once upon a time?).”

Yes, there was a ‘Richardson gang’, i recall their story as being big rivals to ‘The Krays’ in documentaries i’ve seen in the past.

170. Davie Oga

Hatuey says:
    26 June, 2021 at 12:15 am

“The vaccines provide about 95% protection against serious illnesses and death. That 5% shortfall is naturally going to play on people’s minds.”

This is patently untrue. The “vaccines” provide an effeccacy of 50-80%, depending on brand and other variables. They have also killed many thousands of people.

They will inject your kids with this shit in the autumn.

171. Socrates MacSporran

I suppose Baw Jaws backing Handjob over his wee bit of hoochmagandy with an aide is yet another Mandy Rice-DAvies moment.

UK politics is now way beyond parody.

172. Sensibledave

Dan 9.55

Much of what you wrote maybe true!

But it isn’t me or the English keeping Scotland in the Union, fool.

It is Scottish voters that are unconvinced they, not me, voted to stay in the Union.

Why is that Dan? Why is that?

Until you can answer that question ….

173. Dan

@ Sensible D at 8.26am

I disagree with your opinion because even a supposed fool like me can state a major reason for the situation Scotland finds itself in is due to the power of broadcasting continuing to be reserved to Westminster.

If it is as you keep stating solely up to the Scottish folk to determine our own future, it would be grand if we were able to do so on our own and without the continual interference from highly influential external interests, and to a lesser extent, twats like you for some inexplicable reason spending years of your life sticking your neb into the politics of a country you don’t have a vote in… 😉

174. Stoker

Two key links in this article seem to be removed from the archive facilities. I’ve never seen this before. Very suspicious, especially given they show blatant lies that could be used legally against the UKGov in a Court case.

The first link removed is where it says the “EU and International Issues”

And the second link removed is where it says “An independent Scottish state would not be entitled by right to any UK diplomatic premises, equipment or staff”

175. Stoker

Sorry, it would help if i actually posted a link to the article in question wouldn’t it? In this article: https://archive.is/niRM9

176. Captain Yossarian

@Dan – cast your mind back to Alex Salmond’s testimony to the Fabiani Inquiry. The SNP had so many Interdicts flying around at the time that no newspaper was willing to touch it (does that sound like a healthy Democracy to you?….. and who do you think paid for these Interdicts?).

WoS went ahead and published it anyway and The Spectator followed.

The importance of this testimony was that anything contained in it could be questioned at the Fabiani Inquiry. Anything not contained in it could not be questioned.

There were two paragraphs in that testimony which went right to the heart of whether Nicola Sturgeon had mis-led Parliament. The COPFS wrote to the Spectator and demanded they be redacted on the grounds that they may allow jigsaw identification of the alphabet women.

I have always thought that it was this that brought about the accusation that the COPFS are in fact the lickspittal legal arm of the SNP.

The Spectator redacted these two paragraphs but went to the Court of Session to argue that they did not identify the alphabet women and so why should they redact them. The Spectator won and Alex Salmond’s testimony was published on the Holyrood website for a number of days.

Then we had the frankly disgraceful spectacle of a number of women, all SNP employees, complaining again that the testimony would allow the jigsaw identification of the alphabet women, even although we had just been told by the highest court in the land that that was not the case. Holyrood buckled under the pressure of these SNP women and the testimony was withdrawn again.

I’m sure you’ll agree, an embarrassing farce without parallel anywhere in UK politics.

I also seem to remember that 60 or 70 items of information were requested from the Scottish Government to assist the Inquiry and they were refused. The diary pages for some key-dates were requested an completely blank pages were provided. Does anyone think that this would be acceptable at Westminster?

The problem at the moment is that the SNP are answerable to no-one. The one thing that terrifies them is bad publicity and that is why they have corrupted our legal profession such that it now no longer protects the public, it protects all at Holyrood from the public.

Sort this out first, then you have some prospect of convincing people that Independence is a good idea. Under the present Holyrood governance (of all parties) it seems to me to be a very bad idea.

In the USA if any State is identified as having a delinquent judiciary, then the FEDS are sent in. In Scotland, we just appoint another Lord Advocate, don’t we?

177. J.o.e

@David Caledonia

People don’t think for themselves too well. They have been told that rejection of the EU or Eurozone is a rejection of Europe and her people, hence if someone voices opposition to the EU they are doing so because they are merely bigoted.

I love Europe and Europeans. The EU is not there for the benefit of either in the end as can be seen by monetary and economic policy along with the massively harmful immigration policies (again no arguing against it or you are a bigot).

Of course the argument boils down to ‘Yeah and the UK ruling establishment are any better?’

The answer of course is that they are basically the same circle of financial and political elites.

In the end we are all far right in the eyes of people who do not think for themselves because ultimately if you oppose the plans of the financial and political elite this is the label you are given

178. Breeks

I don’t know enough about communicable diseases or viruses to say anything on COVID and how it’s been handled, but I do know the statistics will be analysed for decades.

People are beginning to treat COVID 19 as a downgraded threat because people are surviving it, and it hasn’t blossomed into a lethal pandemic with high percentage fatality comparable to the Black Death or Ebola virus.

But look at the spread. It is everywhere, and it spread everywhere fast and with consummate ease. In terms of it’s communicability, that’s Mother Nature 1, Human Lockdown and containment 0, and the 1-0 score line doesn’t to justice to the emphatic landslide victory.

A disease or virus, to become the much feared, possibly extinction level event, is like a two stage epoxy; it needs the resin, an extremely high rate of infection, and it needs the hardener, the lethality which people cannot survive. Individually, they can be managed, but put them together…

The global spread of COVID, in spite of humanity’s earnest attempt to control it, should give us no room for complacency whatsoever. COVID won.

Where we got lucky, is COVID didn’t mutate into a 21st Century Black Death.

For all the chat about vaccines, herd immunity, and lessons to learn for the future, we are in the clean up phase. The tsunami high water mark has passed, and we are still alive in it’s wake… most of us anyway.

It’s a sobering thought, but had COVID-19 had been the humanity killer with 90-100% lethality of (say) Ebola, the vaccines we are rejoicing to have would have come too late to save us.

For meaningful analysis, we shouldn’t count the number of people hospitalised, but count the number of people with antibodies in their system, because that’s the degree of exposure, and IF Covid-19 was fatal, the names of all those “survivors “ with antibodies would find their names on a different list.

We didn’t beat COVID-19. Posterity should record 2020-21 as the lucky break when fate decided COVID-19 wouldn’t mutate into a lethal strain that wiped us out.

I’m extremely glad we haven’t seen deaths counted in billions, but the lesson COVID should have taught us is that we need our world better compartmentalised with permanent travel restrictions and control protocols expressly deployed as a permanent specific safeguard against the spread of disease. If humans or produce can circumnavigate the globe in hours, then so can a virus.

Just ask someone who keeps tropical fish about the necessity of a quarantine tank before a new fish is introduced to the tank, and perhaps you might begin to grasp the inherent danger of people jumping on an aircraft and jumping off on the other side of the world with no period of quarantine before moving freely amongst an unsuspecting at their point of destination. I don’t mean in time of disease, I mean as a routine, everyday occurrence.

If Humanity was learning from COVID-19, all foreign travel, all airlines and container freight, and the significance and function of National Boundaries would right now be suffering from swingeing and draconian review.

Where’s the rush for your flight to take six hours rather than eight, if you’re heading into a 7 day quarantine when you get there? We don’t know it yet, but I think COVID has changed the world.

Vaccines? Sure. I’m certainly not an anti-vaxer, and appreciate what vaccines have done for smallpox and measles, but for a mercurial smoke-like virus like COVID, I fear it’s just a security blanket to make us feel safer. The fact is, every living person walking through an airport departure gate is a living, breathing, Petri dish for pathogens. And that’s where we will lose the battle if ever Mother Nature wants a rematch.

179. Ian Brotherhood

People who get their information primarily from msm will learn more from reading the banners and placards on show in London today than they’ll ever learn from the BBC.

But then, the BBC will probably ignore the gathering, as it did the last one.

Pixywine provided a great link last week, had uninterrupted live coverage of the demo moving in and around parliament square, Downing St etc. The cat & mouse with the cops was grimly entertaining. (It was GB Resistance on that particular link so it’s a fair bet they’ll be there again today.)

180. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Stoker.

The links you mentioned above (as being unavailable) are working at this archived version.

https://web.archive.org/web/20140122221720/http://wingsoverscotland.com/casting-the-clout/

181. McDuff

Sensibledave
    If the entire MSM was pro independence rather than against it and produced pro Indy propaganda 24/7 up to the ’14 referendum what do you think the result would have been.

182. Stoker

Thanks, Brian, had a sneaky suspicion if anyone knew a way around the problem it would be you. It’s strange that the ‘archive.is’ missing versions have the ‘waybackmachine’ logo at the top of their tabs. Anyway, thanks again, i dislike incomplete records. Sorted! Much appreciated!

183. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Stoker.

Pages, archived at archive.is or whatever, can be overwritten, if someone archives a newer version of the page.

Pages, archived via the Waybackmachine, cannot be overwritten.

184. John Main

Breeks

The evidence that Covid 19 is a genetically modified virus is building. It certainly convinces me.

So I suggest you drop “Mother Nature” from your arguments. Covid 19 was born in a lab.

185. misteralz

Jim Henderson is on holiday. We’ll see how he replies once he comes back. If I get my money back I’ll let you all know…

186. robertknight

@John Main

Inclined to agree…

The bat variant has not spliced itself with the pangolin variant in nature.

This combination has never been seen before nor in the manner in which it is genetically formed.

Supposedly, it’s too neat a job for mother nature to have had a hand in it.

Now, whether the carcases of laboratory animals which should have been cremated found their way out the back door of the crem’ and into a wet market, or whether accidentally infected humans brought it into the wider population, is really neither here nor there.

The virus is here – we have to deal with it.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.