The Great Festival Of Squirrels

Posted on February 28, 2021 by

It’s the second sunny day in Bath since last September, readers, so we’re going to go out and feed the wildlife, but we thought you’d enjoy a quick roundup of some of the distractions the Sturgeonite elements of the Scottish media are punting today in a desperate attempt to avoid dealing with the devastating contents of Alex Salmond’s epic evidence session at the Fabiani inquiry on Friday.

We’ll make this quick.

The most flat-out hilarious one is this:

(For reasons we won’t even insult your intelligence by repeating.)

Although it’s run a fairly close second by a Twitter thread from junior Scotsman hack Conor Matchett railing against our use of an incredibly obvious spoof Photoshop pic in our report on Salmond’s evidence session.

The picture showed 16 people bunched closely together in room with nobody wearing a mask, something that hasn’t been allowed in Scotland for almost a year, and the idea that it would have been officially released by the Scottish Government is so hysterically mad it had honestly never occurred to us for even a second that anyone would be so crushingly dim as to think it was real.

(Although to our enormous dismay, and their colossal and eternal shame, one or two of this site’s hundreds of thousands of readers did, to whom we can only sternly repeat our motto: BE MORE ALERT.)

Still on the subject of absurdist comedy, the Sunday Mail made a heroically audacious attempt at bigging up Anas Sarwar, who’s just become Labour’s 47th Scottish branch manager in the last decade.

Sarwar actually ran for the job last time, against Rudyard Leopold, but was defeated by almost exactly the same margin as he won by yesterday. His predecessor, who plumbed new depths of forgettability and failure, nevertheless stayed in the post for an almost record-breaking three years because the party was/is so desperately short of talent and because nobody else wanted the job.

Sarwar – a millionaire socialist whose family firm was revealed in 2017 not to be paying workers the living wage – is so unpopular that he didn’t even attempt to win a constituency seat in the 2016 election to avoid the humiliation of a heavy defeat, and we have no idea if he’ll do so this year as Labour doesn’t appear to have actually officially chosen its candidates yet.

What we do of course know about Sarwar is that he thinks the Scottish Parliament is a “not a democratic place”, which is presumably why he wants to take as little part in its democracy as possible.

He represents a continuation of all the same policies that currently have Labour at 15% in the polls, almost FORTY points behind the toxic binfire that is the SNP, so we applaud Hutcheon for the shameless audacity of his tweet, mainly because it reminds us entertainingly of the historic perceptiveness of the Scottish commentariat:

The Sunday Mail’s other big story (also carried by the Sunday Express) is the first poll in something like nine months not to show a lead for independence.

We’ve been expecting this to happen for a little while, though not chiefly because of the Salmond affair. The polling lead for Yes was built on two things – fear of a no-deal Brexit and the COVID-19 crisis.

But a last-minute Brexit deal was done, and as thin as it was no obvious calamity has befallen the nation (there are of course countless serious problems, but nothing of any great discernible impact on the average citizen).

Meanwhile the pandemic is fading as a largely successful vaccination program across the whole UK makes solid inroads into the coronavirus’ grip, and also reduces the perceived difference in competence between Holyrood and Westminster.

(Indeed, Scotland got off to a rather sluggish comparative start with the vaccine rollout, though there’s little difference now.)

So it would have been fairly astonishing if support for independence hadn’t fallen back a bit from the pre-Brexit-deal peaks of late last year, and it duly has.

Unfortunately from a Yes perspective, that’s happened just as the inquiries into Sturgeon’s government have started to cut through in public opinion with the big-box-office arrival of Salmond, and we wouldn’t be the least bit surprised to see a poll with a No lead soon as it becomes clearer just how bad the Scottish Government’s behaviour has been.

Sturgeon’s most dogged defenders in the media have done their best today to minimise the impact of Salmond’s testimony (following on from some truly wretched, embarrassing columns in the previous couple of days by Kenny Farquharson, Alex Massie and Paul Hutcheon, men embittered beyond reason by having been unable to land a glove on Alex Salmond for untold numbers of years before the allegations).

Andrew Tickell – a pro-indy legal political columnist who’s barely written a word in 18 months on the most dramatic legal/political story in Scottish history – has a rather dry and nerdy piece in The National, while Dani Garavelli has a column in Scotland on Sunday that frankly we couldn’t be bothered to read because we could only make it a quarter of the way through her last one before becoming dangerously enraged at its craven dishonesty and hypocrisy, and we’d bet our house that this one is no better.

(In the same paper Euan McColm has a piece so tired, sour, half-arsed and lacking in any sort of insight that it could have been written by, well, Euan McColm.)

If you want a quick signpost about both pieces, Pete Wishart recommended them.

He also offered a different take on the newest polling.

Dear old Neil Mackay from Antrim has at least taken a more inventive approach in the Herald On Sunday, though, attempting once again to troll for outrage with a comically one-sided piece on the trans debate featuring ultra-hardline transactivist Colin Macfarlane of Stonewall Scotland, which again we’re not going to encourage you to waste your time on by linking to it.

And as for the Scottish Sun On Sunday, just, oh dear.

But we’ll leave it there, folks. We’re wasting sunshine.

175 to “The Great Festival Of Squirrels”

1. Morgatron

All quiet on the Western Front ……

2. Pat

Sarwar is the new Murphy, Dugdale, thingybob…delete as apropriate.

3. Allium

Enjoy feeding the wildlife.

Nicola won’t have any time for any reading either. I wonder who is doing the intensive war-gaming/coaching with her this weekend, ahead of the big event?

4. kapelmeister

Anas Sarwar’s election is a bright new sunset for Scottish Labour.

5. Brian

Thank you for reading that shite so I don’t have to.

6. Sweep

For those with more discerning taste in media output, Jim Sillars’ comeback to Sturgeon’s “How Very Dare You!” response to his letter about her breaching the Ministerial Code is a belter.

7. Effijy

Enjoy the good weather Rev.
    Storm clouds on the horizon for next week.

No fear of you taking food to feed the squirrels.

8. Astonished

Wednesday will see another infamous ‘Big Push’ by the glorious leader. She is losing acolytes and she knows it.

Where is the ring-fenced money ?

P.S. After her downfall how do we rid ourselves of the wokeratti ? Surely they wont all be going to jail ?

9. Andybhoy

I have had a comment on Facebook this morning reported to their monitoring team because I had the audacity to call someone who was calling Alex Salmond a sex pest, a lying despicable little rat. When I outed him over my being reported, the post he had posted his lies in suddenly vanished. But sadly for him, I posted a screenshot of the violation note I got from Facebook with his name clearly seen in the post I was reported for. Is this what we are up against? A smear campaign being run by those loyal to Sturgeon, but as soon as anyone dares to out them for what they are, the decent people are being reported to Facebook and having their comments withdrawn.

10. Sharny Dubs

As Eric and Ernie once said,

It’s nice out.

Yes, I think I’ll take mine out to.

Enjoy a well deserved rest Stu

11. Jacqueline McMillan

Enjoy your walk. You deserve it.

We’ll all be waiting for your return.

Just don’t get run over 😉

12. PacMan

Maybe Nicky is too busy thinking up the SNP slogan for Mays election, Free by 93.

2093 that is…

13. Sweep

Apologies, I should of course have said, it’s available to savour on Iain Lawson’s blog here:
    https://yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com/2021/02/27/first-minister-and-jim-sillars-in-new-letter-exchange/

14. Glen Clova

But unless those numpties telling us the they can’t bring themselves to vote SNP in the constituency vote wake up, then indy is parked for five years. The SNP is still salvageable. In the words of that foremost political thinker and domestic goddess, Theresa Mary May, if the jam looks foosty, don’t throw out the jar, just scrape the mould off the top.

15. kapelmeister

Sweep @12:07

Aye, don’t mess with the Sillars man. He’s the old pro. And he has a law degree, and probably a better one than Sturgeon’s.

16. 100%Yes

I think the best the Redtories can hope for in May is to beat the Libdem and stay where they are.

17. John Jones

Glen Clova says
    I’m one of the numpties who won’t be voting SNP in the foreseeable future.
    As for not getting Indy in the next 5 years what makes you tink that you’ll get it from the useless lot we have in just now?

18. Liz

I will say Anas may score better than people think.
    There is a large muslim community in that constituency.

Also a lot of private business.
    People are unhappy with self ID and Covid restrictions.

Plus Alex S was very popular with the ethnic community.
    Not saying he’ll win but it will be worth a watch

19. Dave Beveridge

Glen Clova @ 12:07 pm
    But unless those numpties telling us the they can’t bring themselves to vote SNP in the constituency vote wake up, then indy is parked for five years. The SNP is still salvageable. In the words of that foremost political thinker and domestic goddess, Theresa Mary May, if the jam looks foosty, don’t throw out the jar, just scrape the mould off the top.

Newsflash… indy will be parked for 5 years anyway if this nut-job is returned for another session at the trough. Speaking as one of these “numpties”, why would I vote for someone I’ve no respect for to pursue policies that I find to be utterly abhorrent?

I’ve always voted SNP, even when they were a long way behind in 3rd place, ignoring all the “Vote Labour tae keep the Tories oot!” crap I used to hear, because the SNP wanted what I wanted – independence. As that no longer appears to be the case I’ll need to find a constituency candidate who’s closest to my own beliefs. Unless of course the snake is defanged first, allowing me to reconsider.

20. Douglas

Small point of information from someone ‘in the trade’ that might make sense of this:

‘Scotland got off to a rather sluggish comparative start with the vaccine rollout, though there’s little difference now’

NHS Scotland made a point of vaccinating the most vulnerable even if it takes longer (going into care homes is far more time consuming than a walk in clinic). I’m sure clinical staff in England would have tried to do the same but there may have been different political pressures on those in overall charge.

21. HYUFD

No take the lead in shock new Survation poll on Scottish independence, 44% to 43% for Yes and 12% don’t know

https://twitter.com/BallotBoxScot/status/1365978299265150978?s=20

22. Andybhoy

@ Astonished.

The wokerati are only in the position they are in because the leadership allow them to be. When the brown stuff really hits the fan and we have a post Sturgeon SNP, I can see several things happening. A lot of people will be outed by their colleagues within the SNP. A lot of good people, not politicians, will leave the SNP. There will be a battle for the soul of the SNP amongst those who remain. Whether the likes of Cherry, Kenny etc will remain is still to be seen, but the a new independence party with strong political figures and leaders will wipe the floor with a wokerati driven SNP. When Sturgeon gives evidence to the Inquiry this week, it isn`t just her role as FM that is on the table, but her political future and all those dirty little secrets that she has been desperately trying to hide from the membership. Interesting times ahead.

23. Willie

So for the first time in twenty two polls the where independence has been sitting consistently between 54% and 58% that lead has now in dropped to the extent that a poll has shown support below fifty percent.

Must be something about about the policies and behaviours of Nicola and her gang that folks don’t like. The lying, the abuse of power, the curtailment of democracy, the attempt to jail an innocent man, the Hate Crime Bill proposal, the Gender Recognition Act, the failure to keep us in Europe, its all coming out in the wash now.

This was always going to be the inevitable consequence of the current SNP leadership and it’s not what Scots want. So let’s make the changes, ditch the deadwood dross, and let’s get on with giving the folks what they want – independence.

24. Glen Clova

@ John Jones and @ Dave Beveridge

We’re all angry at being conned by NS, but she’s toast. Would you change your mind if we had 20 committed indy reps elected on the list vote to hold the SNP feet to the fire? Just imagine Humza at FMQs being questioned by some heavyweight politicos or even ex-bloggers? The public gallery would be full every week.

25. David Gray

Allium says:
    28 February, 2021 at 11:59 am

Nicola won’t have any time for any reading either. I wonder who is doing the intensive war-gaming/coaching with her this weekend, ahead of the big event?

Rumour has it that they have employed some guy called Salmond to carry out the training. I know this because I have just said it.

26. Graf Midgehunter

Over the last 2-3 years I’ve posted, several times, the question:

“Are we leading in the polls(YES) because of the SNP(NS)
    or in spite of the SNP?”

I’d hoped to jolt a few minds into inquiring as to why a completely docile, almost anti-YES SG of questionable talent could excite enough folk into wanting to vote for INDY.

The Rev says it best:

“The polling lead for Yes was built on two things – fear of a no-deal Brexit and the COVID-19 crisis.”

27. Dave Hansell

NS has a law degree?

Perhaps AS should offer up his legal counsel to pursue a refund on her behalf?

28. kapelmeister

Has Nicola sent Alisdair, Stuart and Maureen their questions for Wednesday yet?

29. Jacqueline McMillan

Tried to link Willie Macrae but haven’t succeeded.

A question of learning, same as Alex on Friday.

‘Don’t trust the political establishment in Scotland or in britain.

What did we learn from this enquiry. He was speaking about the brits dumping nuclear waste in Scotland.

Still corrupt, still stinking. Who turns against the good guys?? Who is corrupt?? NICLA DREGHORN NARSY

30. Anonymoose

Possible VONC on Swinney

from Glenn Campbell BBC:
    “The @ScotTories have just announced plans for a motion of no confidence in DFM @JohnSwinney unless @scotgov releases the legal advice it received when @AlexSalmond successfully challenged its complaint handling process in court”

I’m surprised its taken them this long, those parliament votes on releasing the legal advice were months ago!

31. Graham

Pete Wishart: Wings is completely irrelevant.

Also Pete Wishart: Wings is to blame for derailing independence.

32. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Don at 12:36 pm.

You asked,
    “Is it , did i miss this piece somewhere ?”

Yes you did. Rev Stu has a link to it at the end of this paragraph, in his article above.

“Unfortunately from a Yes perspective, that’s happened just as the inquiries into Sturgeon’s government have started to cut through in public opinion with the big-box-office arrival of Salmond, and we wouldn’t be the least bit surprised to see a poll with a No lead soon as it becomes clearer just how bad the Scottish Government’s behaviour has been.”

33. Anonymoose

Oops, forgot the link for my above comment.

https://twitter.com/GlennBBC/status/1366003660329787396

34. Dave Beveridge

Glen Clova @ 12:43 pm

We’re all angry at being conned by NS, but she’s toast. Would you change your mind if we had 20 committed indy reps elected on the list vote to hold the SNP feet to the fire? Just imagine Humza at FMQs being questioned by some heavyweight politicos or even ex-bloggers? The public gallery would be full every week.

I’ll be voting to try and get a pro-indy list MSP into Holyrood. At the moment Solidarity have my vote as they’re committed to a plebiscite election.

I won’t vote SNP under the current leadership though as Sturgeon would take it as an endorsement of her science-defying, wacky policies. I always vote for the party whose beliefs resonate most closely with mine whether they have a chance of winning or not. At the moment that party is not the SNP.

35. SilverDarling

If NS cannot turn around the dip in polling as Brexit takes hold and the pandemic recedes then she is toast. For those invested in the cult of her personality, she has to deliver.

She can blame no one but herself as she has coasted on the weak premise of ‘at least we are not as bad as England’. Under her stewardship, we are out of the EU and heading for nearly 4 more years of a majority Boris Tory government. She has no plan B, no obvious strategy and her tactics up until now have been to destroy her best asset, the loyal Yes voters who won’t buy into the bullshit of her identity policies.

36. kapelmeister

Glenn Campbell is pointing out that the Greens voted twice with other parties to call for the release of the SG’s legal advice. So by no means a foregone conclusion that the VONC against Swinney – if it happens – would fail.

Mind you, no party is more fickle than the Greens.

37. Bob Mack

They really don’t want Alex Salmond back in politics do they?

38. Socrates MacSporran

Glen Clova @ 12.07

You wrote: “The SNP is still salvageable. In the words of that foremost political thinker and domestic goddess, Theresa Mary May, if the jam looks foosty, don’t throw out the jar, just scrape the mould off the top.”

That paragraph is a keeper. advice in there which the SNP would do well to follow.

39. Glen Clova

@ Dave Beveridge
    The worst of their science-deniers are standing on the list, so under the system, the more the SNP constituency vote drops, the higher the chance of their list wokies being elected becomes. Let’s see how things pan out in the next couple of weeks.

Quite apart from being FM, she is the leader of her party. If the cache of messages is as bad as AS claims then three of its major players will have to go. No party leader could survive in that scenario.

40. ITB71B

I’m hearing the Times JD a copy of Aberdeen’s statement and is considering publishing it. Maybe after NS appearance

41. Socrates MacSporran

People, Sturgeon will

42. Laing b french

Quite frankly I can’t see the mcsturgeonites surviving the oncoming onslaught. SNP have a lot of spring cleaning to do as well as the crown department.
    Accounts department need a bloody miracle or a moronic Saudi to invest in SNP.
    As for the voters in Scotland is anyones guess!
    All in its ONE BIG SHITER for all!

43. Socrates MacSporran

WHOOPS! DON’T KNOW WHAT HAPPENED TO MY LAST POST.

As I was trying to say: Sturgeon will not resign, it’s not in her nature.

She will need to be dragged out of Bute House by a squad of Police Scotland’s finest. She will also take down with her as many co-conspirators as she can.

44. Johnny Martin

The whole point of gradualism was to demonstrate that ‘Nat types’ would be competent at governing.

To a large extent, this had been done despite some folk who would never have been won over saying otherwise.

Whatever the truth of all this, it’s hard to avoid the impression that that hard-won position has been undone in just a few years.

Some folk seem to want all Yes supporters to pretend all this isn’t happening but this serves no-one since, even if all Yes supporters agreed to do so, it’s unionist politicians and media who are in control of events, frankly.

45. Big Jock

Put simply Sturgeon missed the chance to get Indy between 2016 and 2020. We might never get a chance like that again.

It’s desperate!

46. katherine hamilton

Douglas
    Re vaccine roll-out I agree. Today a report in England from NHS England showing 20% of health workers still to be vaccinated. NHS Scotland went for maximum coverage, not speed or a numbers game. In truth I cannae be bothered with this competition lark.
    How’s Africa doing? Anybody give a f**k? Again.

47. Robert graham

I just read a wonderful selling point for continuing to support the SNP it might not be exactly what was said but I kinda get the gist of it .

If the chumps don’t vote for the SNP they will be the cause of seeing Independence and Indy ref 2 going down the pan flushed away if you foolish people don’t give unreserved support to the SNP

Yep great point if you suspend any and all critical thinking if you develop total amnesia.

Let me answer from my point of view the above selling point ,
    The SNP have shown they haven’t prepared for a Indy ref 2 .The same SNP have spent the last 5 ish years preparing not for Indy ref 2 but preparing to be elected again , preparing their retirement fund , gerrymandering the selection process to make sure likeminded compliant robots that do exactly what the leadership requires , A SNP that seem to believe introducing some really questionable legislation that is being worked on out of sight and behind the backs of the voting public because it would never be accepted however its dressed up and however much lipstick is applied.
    Once you realise Independence is not on offer , hasn’t been planned for, can’t be financed , grass roots members have been ignored , AUOB has been treated like lepers and like the obnoxious uncle or the relative you want to avoid unless absolutely avoidable,

Yes Sold absolutely up for more of the same Shite until I fkn die of boredom, count me in then shoot me in the fkn head and put me out of my misery because repeating the same junk year after year after year gets a bit annoying , it ain’t working how ever many times you repeat it you still get the same results , and that’s a bag of fk all but it’s a big bag don’t forget that ,a big bag of shite

48. Big Jock

Johnny. Would you say Sturgeon’s last 6 years have been competent? I think other than the Covid briefings, she has done zilch. The actual Covid handling has been as poor as most European nations.

49. Karen

Ha ha, you had me there for a moment with “47”!

50. Big Jock

Robert. I agree. The referendum should have been 2 years ago.

Sturgeon blew it, but won’t admit it. It’s all just bluff, fluff and window dressing now.

51. Cenchos

Pete the Jakey can crawl back under his bridge.

52. Johnny Martin

Big Jock @ 1:22pm:

Personally, it seems difficult to say. They have at least not taken away some social help that is important but at the same time there hasn’t exactly been loads of progression either. I suppose I’d say I think we should always be moving onto the next improvement rather than boasting about the last one (or boasting that you haven’t taken some improvements away again) and there’s loads more to be improved so….

53. David Earl

Obsession by Wet Pishfart, mmm the smell of it

54. David Ferguson

kapelmeister says:
    28 February, 2021 at 12:47 pm

Has Nicola sent Alisdair, Stuart and Maureen their questions for Wednesday yet?

They’re not getting their questions from Sturgeon. They’re getting them from a crack team of teenage genderwoo SPADs. Unfortunately these worthies weren’t taught during their Diploma in Lesbotic Yoga and Sociology of Batwoman Studies at the Further Education College of Bootle that a question that lasts five minutes isn’t a good way of putting the respondent on the spot.

55. Bob Mack

@Big Jock,

In a nutshell !!

56. Effijy

Please do keep in mind that you can only get a fraction of the list seats
    and the list seats are a fraction of the total seats.

If ISP got 2, 3, 4,5 seats it would have little impact although
    they will be getting my second vote.

Your choice is Unionist crooks or Faux Independence crooks.

57. Freshmint

“But a last-minute Brexit deal was done, and as thin as it was no obvious calamity has befallen the nation (there are of course countless serious problems, but nothing of any great discernible impact on the average citizen).”

That may well change later in the year if/when the UK starts applying customs checks to imports.

58. Duncanum

A bit off-topic but relevant to me, as I live in Ian Blackford’s constituency, How many times did IB say words to the effect of ” ‘Scotland will not be taken out of the EU against its will.’ And how did that go?

59. maureen

Don, here’s the archived version of the times article for you
    https://archive.is/k7L3Q

60. Kiwilassie

Glen Clova says:
    28 February, 2021 at 12:43 pm

——–

A week in politics is a long time. I think people should hold off making decisions, until they see the layout of the land in a few weeks time.

I’m a Scot living in New Zealand, I want independence for Scotland.
    It may be because I’m not emotionally involved. “The election doesn’t affect my life” I’m seeing things happening out of the box. I think something is about to happen that is positive for Scotland.
    Stay positive people, things are not all lost. There will be light at the end of the tunnel. “Smile”

61. Boaby

How very fickle are the Scots, first they want indy, then they dont, then they are not sure. MYF minds up, its not about any leader or political party, its about having your own independent nation, and going abroad looking the citizens of other nations in the eye and being their equal.No longer being the 2nd class citizens of a colony that we are at the moment. I’m thinking its a good job Ireland did’nt have twatter and farcebook back in the twenties, otherwise they also would still be a colony of england.

62. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi maureen at 1:34 pm

You typed,
    “Don, here’s the archived version of the times article for you
    https://archive.is/k7L3Q

Ahem…
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/the-great-festival-of-squirrels/comment-page-1/#comment-2621909

63. Skip_NC

Effijy, doesn’t that mean that the choice is between unionist crooks and lying unionist crooks? Because if one believes devolution is as far as it goes, that means one is a unionist. Therefore, voting for a “traditional” unionist candidate in the constituency is not as bone-headed as it may appear. The point of a constituency vote is to elect the person who will best represent the views of their constituents in parliament. The LAB-SNP swing in Dumbarton, for instance, might be instructive. Does the SNP believe that devolution is as far as it goes.

Mind that you have two votes. If the SNP lose constituency seats, they will, to an extent, gain them back on the list. However, if their list votes also drop, they could be left with much reduced numbers of a lower quality in the next parliament.

64. maureen

Hi Brian, I didn’t click on Revs link either, only became aware of it when you posted your comment! I am such a dafty

65. Kiwilassie

@ David Gray.
    Rumour has it that they have employed some guy called Salmond to carry out the training. I know this because I have just said it.

That made me laugh out loud.
    She should have paid more attention to his training when she was his protegee

66. Papko

Scotland will never be Independent as long as Sturgeon and her hundred or so MP’S and MSP’s remain at the helm.
    There is no argument to preserve this invidious Union; so if you cant beat them , vote for them.
    Two Votes SNP in MAY and ensure another five years for Sturgeon’s grandstanding to strengthen the ties in our United Kingdom.

67. Plato Chips

I’ve googled till I giggled, but can still find no information on what avenue of law Sturgeon gained her qualifications, or even which qualifications she gained, can anyone help in this regard?

68. alasdair galloway

Actually if you look at the Survation polling over the last few months what it tells you is that not much has changed.
    In December they found 44% Yes, 42% No and 14% undecided. In January it was 45;43; 12, and now its 43; 44; 13. If you look at each of these numbers separately, NONE of them has varied by as much as normal statistical error for this sort of poll +/- 3%.
    In fact, if we take the last 10 polls by all pollsters (except Survation), their lead for Yes ranges between 5 and 13% – Survation never had a lead of more than 2% for Yes during this time.
    However, going back a bit further, Survation was certainly in the same range as the others – their September and October polls showed a lead of 6 and 7% respectively. Have Survation uncovered a seam of more significant dissatisfaction with independence – which is what the Mail and others would want – OR have they changed their polling methods or weightings?
    The other thing is that Survation have less experience of measuring this. For instance in the last calendar year, Panelbase did 8 polls on independence. Survation did four – and none at all between January and September.
    Given the polling organization, and the fact that their own numbers suggest nothing much has changed since the end of last year, and that ongoing imbroglio of Nicola and Alex, it is perhaps surprising that today’s poll is all they could come up with.

69. Stuart Muir

Katherine Hamilton @1.20pm

The reason 20% of NHS staff have not ben vacinated is That BAME staff are refusing to be vaccinated,The % is even higher in care homes in London.
    An this for a grouinof society most at risk from contracting the virus!
    IMO if you refuse the offer of a vaccine and contract and spread the virus to your patients i would classify that as gross neglect and should suffer the consequences!

70. Skip_NC

I’ve just read the Times article. Last paragraph:

“SNP sources predict Leslie Evans, the head of Scotland’s civil service, will be ousted over her role in the affair. The SNP chief executive, Peter Murrell, who is also Sturgeon’s husband, and her chief of staff, Liz Lloyd, are also tipped to move.”

Tipped to move? That makes it sound like a re- deployment rather than the sacking they deserve.

71. alasdair galloway

Plato Chips – try Glasgow Uni General Council – LLB (Hons) 1992. She worked for a law firm in Stirling and later Drumchapel Law Centre before becoming an MSP in 1999. Not exactly Rumpole of the Bailey, I grant you, but still the case, which makes the current shambles all the more difficult to understand. If I had been one of Lecturers 30 years ago, I would be hanging my head in shame.

72. Saffron Robe

Apart from all the diversionary articles, if the inquiry now has hold of Geoff Aberdein’s evidence, and due process is followed without interference, then it is all over for Nicola Sturgeon and her co-conspirators. She can no longer maintain her lies, although as a psychopathic liar I am sure she will try.

As well as lying to parliament which requires nothing less than her resignation, leaking the story to the Daily Record is a serious criminal offence on many counts. If the police do not get involved now, with all the evidence that we know exists, then surely they are in dereliction of their duty?

Alex Salmond has initiated the endgame and perhaps this burden can finally be lifted from our nation. There is a significant difference between Nicola Sturgeon and Alex Salmond – Alex Salmond makes you proud to be Scottish; Nicola Sturgeon makes you ashamed to be Scottish.

73. Ian Mac

If you want something worthwhile to read on the whole saga you could do a lot worse than read Professor Mitchell’s analysis of the debacle. In particular it looks at why the Scottish Parliament was intended to be better and more consensual than Westminster, but under Sturgeon has become more like it, but with less independent committees of inquiry. He argues that we need institutional reform, which I think Alex S was also suggesting. Of course you won’t read any such considered, intelligent responses in the crapshoot of the dailies and their woeful, complete lack of interest in the issues Alex addressed – the stuff that actually matters.

https://www.holyrood.com/comment/view,comment-we-need-institutional-reform-to-live-up-to-the-original-ideals-of-the-scottish-parliament

74. Don

@Plato Chips 28 February, 2021 at 1:49 pm
    I’ve googled till I giggled, but can still find no information on what avenue of law Sturgeon gained her qualifications, or even which qualifications she gained, can anyone help in this regard?

Theres this thing called Wikipedia , click on the blue links for more info https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nicola_Sturgeon

75. Brian Doonthetoon

From the above link at 2:05 pm.

“Mr Salmond said some in the SNP and Scottish Government had been involved in a ‘deliberate, prolonged, malicious and concerted effort’ to put him in prison.

Last night, sources confirmed he will speak directly to Mr Hamilton, the former director of public prosecutions in Ireland, by video link tomorrow or on Tuesday.

They said it could be even more devastating than the evidence he gave to the committee on Friday.

That is because he will not be limited in what he can talk about by the Crown Office and Holyrood lawyers.

It is also understood Mr Hamilton has received evidence from Geoff Aberdein, Mr Salmond’s former chief of staff, whose evidence to the Holyrood committee could not be published.

If that corroborates Mr Salmond’s version of events, rather than Ms Sturgeon’s, it could dramatically increase pressure on the First Minister.

The evidence is said to include claims she knew of harassment allegations ‘weeks earlier’ than she admitted.

It also suggests Ms Sturgeon’s team leaked the identity of a sexual assault complainant against the former first minister – which Ms Sturgeon rejects.”

76. John Martini

Cheers briandoonthetoon.

77. Zander Tait

Come May 6th if the following happens:

Constituency Vote:

SNP 47%
    Tories 22%
    Labour 24%
    Lib Dem 7%

Regional List Vote:

SNP 25%
    Tories 21%
    Labour 21%
    Green 5%
    Lib Dem 5%
    ISP 23%

You get this:

SNP short of an overall majority by 6.

SNP: 59 seats =4
    Tories: 21 seats -10
    Labour: 20 seats -4
    ISP: 23 seats +23
    Lib Dems: 4 seats -1
    Greens: 2 seats -4

This is merely to show what can happen when you use your List Vote to promote other Indy Parties whether is be the ISP or AFI.

The Unionist parties get the mash and, potentially, the SNP can kiss goodbye to the Hate Crime Bill and Gender self-ID and the SG can get back to delivering an IndyRef2.

You can play about with the numbers here:

http://www.electionpolling.co.uk/swingometer/scottish-parliament

Note: I supplanted UKIP on the calculator with ISP. I never thought that UKIP would be of use in any circumstances, but heyho and there you go.

78. Baxter

Evans, Peter Murrell and the chief of staff being tipped to move is testing the water to see if this is enough to save Sturgeon, in my view it would be a start if they were sacked and under investigation. Sturgeon and Swinney would have to follow.
    As a poster said earlier hasn’t John Swinney been awfully quiet recently, has he realised the game is up?

79. Republicofscotland

Yes we had our chance of an indyref from 2016 onwards but now it would appear that Sturgeon’s machinations whilst in office are going to sink our poll leads. Salmond took us from 20 odd percent in the polls to 45%, all Sturgeon required was a 6% swing she more than got that with Brexit, however she and her clique were never interested in dissolving the union, only remaining in power in Scotland is the goal.

Now the staging post the HUB is syphoning powers from Holyrood, which I suspect will only continue to grow, our time is short if we want to dissolve this nasty union, May’s elections as a plebiscite could still save us, but its not looking to promising.

As for Anas Sarwar, the Labour branch office in Scotland will never learn, Sarwar is as a toxic character as they come, if anything he’ll take the branch office backwards in Scotland, so much so that even the charity robbing Dugdale’s tenure will begin to look good next to his.

80. John Martini

Anybody got a plan to oust sturgeon in her constituency shile retaining a pro indy msp? Would split ticket be an option?

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tactical_voting

81. Jack Murphy

The Archived link above is on the point of crashing but I’ve managed to grab a few more lines:

“Salmond will give evidence in private tomorrow or on Tuesday to second inquiry
    Second one set up to establish if Ms Sturgeon has broken the Ministerial Code
    A source said: ‘He will be able to say things which he hasn’t been able to mention’
    Source close to Mr Salmond added: ‘It will likely be damning for Nicola Sturgeon’
    Evidence has also been sent from Geoff Aberdein, Mr Salmond’s ex-chief of staff
    It’s said to air claims Sturgeon knew of allegations ‘weeks earlier’ than admitted”

82. tartanfever

That Scotsman fella is really unhappy about the photoshopped picture – maybe someone on Twitter could ask him how outraged he was when the publishers he works for changed the saltire into a swastika ?

83. Republicofscotland

Here’s hoping, and a few others too boot as well.

“SNP sources predict Leslie Evans, the head of Scotland’s civil service, will be ousted over her role in the affair.”

https://twitter.com/WingsScotParty/status/1365975628932141056

84. cynicalHighlander

@Brian Doonthetoon says:
    28 February, 2021 at 1:55 pm

Hi Plato Chips.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nicola_Sturgeon#Early_life_and_education

Salt and vinegar on mine please. Lol

85. Molesworth

Personal Ad.
    Nicola. Please come home. We’re both missing you. These cauldrons don’t stir themselves.

86. Republicofscotland

Ah…Brings back memories, lets get a protest going outside Holyrood and Bute House to oust Sturgeon when the time is right.

https://twitter.com/suigenerisjen/status/1365825792832397313

87. Cenchos

John Swinney?

A man so unsubstantial he could rob a butcher’s shop on Christmas Eve and nobody would see him doing it. A man that could go ‘Woo!’ in your face and you wouldn’t hear. A man that could ride into town on a horse with no fame, shoot the deputy, and escape under the cover of tumbleweed.

That curious, wintry presence behind that twilight lamppost? That’s him.

The half-heard sigh and whisper in the wynd ? That him, too. He scares cats in stairwells.

Feel that wee puff of cold air? That’s Honest John, the ghost in the machine of the SNP, standing at your very shoulder.

88. Lost

I think Sturgeon has lost precious time with the Indy Ref and faffed about too much with Section 30.

If you look at it through the eyes of an wavering No voter, would you vote for Independence now? My thoughts would be no.

As part of the UK we’ve left the EU and society didn’t fall apart as predicted, in a pandemic and society hasn’t fallen apart. We’re part of a union which has developed one of the worlds first vaccines for this virus, would they want to be on the outside of that, as well as being outside the EU? No

Spoken to people who voted No, they’ve said their heart was telling them to vote Yes but their head was making them unsure. They couldn’t take that leap of faith and vote yes.

I think the only way we’re going to get people to vote yes is to put on the ballot to vote for Independence and rejoin the EU at the same time. Become part of a bigger union than the UK. This will make people feel confident.

89. Republicofscotland

O/T.

A typical act of treating Scotland as a second rate colony, is that today we had an English football match screened on BBC1, yet the Scottish League Cup final: Livingston v St Johnstone Venue: Hampden Park, Glasgow Date: Sunday, 28 February Kick-off: 14:00 GMT, isn’t on terrestrial tv.

Scots are so conditioned to being treated as an after thought, that most just shrug their shoulders and get on with it. We’ve been conquered physically and mentally, and some don’t even know it.

90. kapelmeister

RepofScot @2:49

Thanks for the link Ros. Unfortunately the West Papuans are trying to gain independence from Indonesia which is a member of the U.N. Colonisation Committee (C-24). Indonesia has blocked West Papua from being on the list of territories awaiting decolonisation.

91. kapelmeister

Cenchos @2:53

A wonderful depiction. LOL.

92. Glen Clova

Lost says:
    Spoken to people who voted No, they’ve said their heart was telling them to vote Yes but their head was making them unsure. They couldn’t take that leap of faith and vote yes.

Indeed and that’s because under Sturgeon nobody in the SNP is making the case for indy or likely to as long as she’s there. But thankfully she’ll be gone soon. The unqualified support from the senior colleagues, i.e. Nicola would never do anything like that, is now shifting to unqualified support, i.e. I’m sure Nicola will be able to answer all the questions on Wednesday. Always a sure sign that the end is nigh.

93. kapelmeister

My 3:06.

Meant Decolonisation Committee, not Colonisation.

94. Ian Mac

So the sacrificial lamb is being prepared. But of course it will be a gold-plated sacrifice with benefits. They know the net is closing in, so it is entirely in character that Sturgeon will throw whoever it takes under a bus. After all she has form in defenestrating anyone who is a challenge to her and her TRA posse. That includes the best two talents in the independence movement.
    It is very hard to see how she can survive, since if Evans is guilty then so is she. I expect they will try and make out that Evans is ‘retiring’ or some other euphemism so as not to imply guilt at her shockingly malicious behaviour. You get the feeling that once a thread starts to unravel, the whole tissue of lies could be exposed. We’ve seen it before in politics, with the likes of Archer, Aitken and even Nixon.
    Once it starts coming out, it is very hard to control – which has been the sine qua non of Sturgeon’s tenure – control freakery on an unprecedented level. As long as you control the message and access to the truth, you are safe, and we have seen how ruthlessly they have patrolled those borders, compromising and discrediting the major state institutions of law and scrutiny.
    Just imagine the panicked messages going around today on What’s App, discussing how to keep a lid on it. All it takes is one mainstream media source to break the silence on issues they all know about and which have been deliberately and maliciously kept from the Scottish public (nothing whatsoever to do with anonymous identities of complainers).
    It is absolutely tragic how Sturgeon has squandered the incredible legacy Salmond bequeathed her. It has become evident that she has neither the talent or vision to take on the big subjects, the very reason for the SNP to exist, but prefers the micro-management of her own agenda to retain power, and with a complete disregard for the Scottish people. Ask yourselves why they are desperate to get you to vote twice for them, with the ‘promise’ that it will bring independence close – this is a pretext to grant them once again absolute, unrestricted power, with independence as the bait. We were fooled once before, we won’t be fooled again.

95. Ottomanboi

Would Mohammadbabu like the Brits to relaunch the Raj?
    Sure there’d be a wee job for him.
    Truly Scotland is become the Wilderness of Mirrors.
    Independence will come but unionists and the faux nationalists are hell bent on tearing Scotland apart first.

96. Robert graham

At a loose end ?
    Needing a laugh ?
    Needing a real fkn belly Laugh
    Look no further it’s closer than you think
    Just have a wee look over the wall yep the inmates are running riot , first Friday never happened , then Friday is missing , now they have found Friday , it’s shite ,total shite , that lying fkr Salmond is at it , one comment stands out he set in place the fairness at work Act , Aye well maybe he did while in office he hasn’t been in office for quite a few years now things change it’s just how life works ,
    Maybe the one that posted that little nugget that little gem would care to explain what the fk has that to do with this inquiry , let’s hear your considered thoughts on the matter or is the over the top ,over the wall, over the rainbow gang scrambling about looking for something anything to toss at Alex Salmond , if this lot can’t bring themselves to honestly say Alex’s presentation was clear concise and above all believable then they are a lost cause ,
    And you ain’t getting Independence not now not ever with this version of the SNP but no point in giving you that information because yer too dumb to take it in CHUMPS.

97. Captain Yossarian

@Cenchos – I fear you underestimate the balding gangster Swinney. He is fearewd by the legal profession in Scotland. If Swinney likes you then you prosper, if he dislikes you then you and your family go hungry.

The fact that the Tories have picked on Swinney instead of on Wolffe tells me that it is Swinney who has been the redaction and cocealment of documents and not Wolffe.

That doesn’t surprise anyone, but it’s not the way it should be is it. Swinney has not been following and being respectful of legal advice, has he. He’s been the legal advice. Three hundred years of a legal profession in Scotland supplanted nowadays by John Swinney and a felt marker pen.

I do hope the Tories get rid of the arsehole.

98. kapelmeister

Sturgeon & Murrell the ‘husband and wife’ power couple with their band of pretend nationalists helping them dangle the indy carrot to the voters.

The Lavender Shill Mob.

99. A Person

-Lost at 2.56-

Suspect you are right sadly.

I have a good friend who is a “wavering No”, doctor,!militant Remainer, he supposedly converted to Yes after Johnson won in 2019, said he was ashamed to be British, but always hedged what he said, “I really think I’d vote for it”, “I’ve pretty much come round to it”, and you do think, are you really saying this to look progressive, are you protesting a bit too much, is this not someone who really sees himself as British but just had an emotional reaction?

Incidentally, this belies the impression given that Wings reader and others are less “moderate” than the leadership clique (not quite the old fundamentalist vs gradualist divide). Independence will be secured by persuading voters like that if it’s benefits, rather than transient PR stunts like “she can read the teleprompter at the briefings really well”.

100. Andybhoy

It really is mind numbing that so many people are conflating independence with Nicola Sturgeon. Dare to question Nicola Sturgeon, you are a Unionist who doesn`t want Scottish Independence. Or you are a Salmond supporter who is just undermining her out of spite.

So many people are so caught up in the getting independence at any cost ,that they can`t see they are being led like gullible mugs along a long and winding road that every few months brings them back to the same point.

It is like that point in Derry Girls where Joe and Gerry go looking for Bill Clinton`s base when he visits Derry. Gerry is driving the car and Joe is giving directions. At one point Gerry points out to Joe that they have passed this point already tonight.

101. SilverDarling

The latest aspersion being cast is by Tickell courtesy of the National asking why AS’ team did not appeal the decision to hear evidence of a conspiracy. So because he did not appeal the claim of evidence is being looked on as questionable. Are NS’ legal supporters in the media ‘putting a smell’ as the saying goes on the veracity of AS’ claims?

If this evidence disclosed clear evidence of a conspiracy on the part of one or more of the complainers, this is a difficult decision to understand. Scottish judges are not in the habit of preventing people on trial for serious offences from leading evidence which proves the allegations against them were confected or falsified.

But even stranger, in this context, is the failure to appeal against the decision to exclude this evidence from the criminal trial. Under section 74 of the 1995 Act, Alex Salmond had every right to instruct his lawyers to challenge Lady Dorrian’s decision. He did not do so.

If you had evidence in your possession which clearly established a conspiracy to make false allegations against you, why would you accept the judge’s exclusion of this evidence? If this evidence is compelling, I cannot understand why Lady ­Dorrian’s exclusion wasn’t vigorously challenged – but it was not, despite the fact that Mr Salmond’s liberty depended on the outcome of the criminal case.

But because no appeal was taken, this evidence wasn’t explored at trial, and because it wasn’t explored at trial, the ordinary application of section 162 means this evidence cannot now be used for any other purpose. Whatever you made of the evidence we heard – and did not hear this week – that’s the legal context. Judge for yourselves.

102. David Carter

Isn’t it interesting that Sturgeon is giving evidence on Wednesday; BBC Parliament and other media of course focusing on the key UK government events that day,PMQs followed by the Budget.

Nice way to bury Sturgeon’s performance.

103. SilverDarling

So a man blocked at every avenue in his attempt to defend himself finds yet another hurdle put in the way and doesn’t throw money and time at it means there is now doubt it exists?

These people continue to disappoint.

104. ALANM

Here’s a simple idea to boost SNP funds which has the added advantage of helping the party divest itself of those not remotely committed to the cause…

Introduce a compulsory 10% levy to be applied to the salaries of all elected representatives with immediate effect. Let’s call it a franchise fee. My back of a fag packet calculation indicates this would raise in excess of £800,000 per annum to be woven into SNP accounts.

105. Alf Baird

Effijy @ 1:32 pm

“Please do keep in mind that you can only get a fraction of the list seats and the list seats are a fraction of the total seats.”

Any party can campaign for an independence mandate on the List and if over 50% of votes are secured this would mean that over half of Scots will have voted for independence in a democratic national plebiscite.

In that context would seats in the UK Gov’s ‘devolved’ Scottish talking shop matter any more if the Scottish people have already voted for independence, i.e. voted to abolish the UK Gov’s ‘devolved’ Scottish talking shop and replace it with the real McCoy?

106. James

Sturgeon was never fit for the job like Ian Hislop of private eye, she was in the right place at the right time. Salmonds mistake was allowing a second rate wannabe to take his place.Now your living with a situation of your own making,don’t allow these unless tossers to escape.Nows the time for action.Oh yea its Scotland we don’t possess a political class capable of anything but sucking on the public teat. Have none of the various politicians an ounce of gumption. A couple should have been instigated weeks ago.

107. James

woops that should read coupe

108. Margaret Lindsay

I have a good Ms p ( Kate Forbes) who I can’t vote for because that would be taken as an endorsement for this biology denying version of the Spanish inquisition that Ms Sturgeon seems so keen on. So sadly Ms Forbes loses out. You may vcall call me a numpty, I may be, but I’m a numpty with morals.

109. Skip_NC

Margaret Lindsay, let’s imagine that Wolffe resigns tomorrow evening, John Swinney goes on Tuesday and Nicola Sturgeon is a dead person walking by Wednesday evening. Do you think that would change your view? Not trying to be mischievous- just interested from 3,000 miles away and as someone with no vote in Scotland.

110. Alf Baird

Boaby @ 1:43 pm

“..its about having your own independent nation, and going abroad looking the citizens of other nations in the eye and being their equal.No longer being the 2nd class citizens of a colony”

Our friend Frantz Fanon no doubt would agree with you there, stating that:

“..it is national liberation which leads the nation to play its part on the stage of history. It is at the heart of national consciousness that international consciousness lives and grows. And this two-fold emerging is ultimately the source of all culture”

111. Beaker

@James says:
    28 February, 2021 at 4:06 pm
    “woops that should read coupe”

Erm, don’t you mean coup, rather than a Ford Capri (best car ever)?

112. Republicofscotland

Sturgeon’s complicit minion John Swinney faces no confidence vote for a second time, here’s hoping this time around he loses.

https://www.thenational.scot/news/19124656.john-swinney-faces-vote-no-confidence-refusal-release-salmond-legal-advice/

113. Captain Yossarian

@Skip_NC – That sounds fabulous. All of it. It would be dream come true for many of us. Let’s hope that this time next week we have emptied a few turnips out of the wheelbarrow.

114. Alf Baird

Ian Mac @ 2:03 pm

“..we need institutional reform..”

Estonia’s independence leaders referred to this in Lesley Riddoch’s excellent film. Upon Estonian independence the previous colonial leaders of the country’s social institutions were removed, in their case presumably sent back to Moscow.

115. Ron Maclean

@SilverDarling 3:46pm

For now there are very few people we can depend on. We have to evaluate the rest as they appear. A few simple questions usually suffice but in this case one will do.

Who’s paying?

116. INDEPENDENT

Silver Darling at 3-57

Thanks for the download.

This bit:-

But because no appeal was taken, this evidence wasn’t explored at trial, and because it wasn’t explored at trial,”THE ORDINARY” application of section 162 means this evidence cannot now be used for any other purpose.

So it doesn’t mean it can’t be used, clever play with words as ever by the legal profession.

These CIRCUMSTANCES are anything but ordinary!

If my memory serves me right Alex pointed it out that the Parliamentary Inquiry as an arm of the Scottish Parliament supercedes the Section 62.

117. Republicofscotland

The BritNats desperation is showing, its a pity our FM is a snake in the grass, whose brought the Scottish parliament into disrepute and has damaged our chances of dissolving this horrendous union.

“The union flag in Scotland should be stuck on every piece of government spending’ ‘We love bomb them or we go to war with them’ John McTernan and Katie Perrior on the UK Govt’s increasingly desperate measures to stop Scottish independence.”

https://twitter.com/PhantomPower14/status/1365783186953895937

118. Lenny Hartley

ALANM is that levy you speak off on top of the existing parliamentary levy ?

119. Republicofscotland

Iain Macwhirter has an excellent piece on the six hour long dignified and statesman like appearance of the political maestro that is Alex Salmond.

https://archive.is/vZCMA

120. The Dissident

@SilverDarling

Pretty poor stuff from LPW. I would expect better of him but perhaps it shows, as the film suggests, the difference between trial law and paper law.

Knowing the law is only part of the equation. Knowing how to win is ultimately what drives such decisions in the heat of battle. And, remind me, who won?

It should also be understood that the evidence of apparent conspiracy is only part of the evidence that has been withheld by the Crown Office and the Government, and in many ways the least relevant to the committee’s remit.

While the evidence LPW discusses might have severe implications for some, I would think that the open record of the Commission and Diligence and the external legal counsel is likely to be much more problematic for Sturgeon herself.

And while it would be utterly astonishing if Sturgeon has left any audit trail that connects her directly to a conspiracy, if the Moorov doctrine is good enough to enable a prosecution of Salmond then the involvement of her husband and party CEO, her Chief of Staff and her head Civil Servant would tell a story too.

And just remember Nicola, just because the Committee and James Hamilton may, in the end, say you didn’t break the Ministerial Code doesn’t mean you didn’t do it. We shouldn’t lose sight of that.

121. Skip_NC

Captain Yossarian, aye, it would be fabulous. To be honest, I don’t think it will happen quite like that, but if the politicians go, I daresay James Wolffe will not be far behind. Obviously, if John Swinney loses a VONC, he would have to go, but that doesn’t get at the root of the problem. NS will still be there, perhaps shielded a bit by Peter Murrell & Leslie Evans.

What happened to John Swinney, by the way? I always thought he was sound – someone who joined the party not long before me and who worked away when the SNP was third or fourth in Scotland. Something happened and it seems to have been post-Salmond. Why is he surrendering his morals in this way? I really don’t understand it. Can’t he see that the end result is the end of the SNP as Scotland’s party of independence?

122. Alf Baird

kapelmeister @ 3:08 pm
    RepofScot @2:49

“Indonesia has blocked West Papua from being on the list of territories awaiting decolonisation.”

No doubt UK would seek to block Scotland’s listing with UN C-24. However the latter informed me that what that was needed (for listing) was to be proposed by a UN member state.

Shocking that SNP has not pursued this rather obvious route to self-determination independence, which is decolonisation according to UN C-24. The SNP elite can’t quite bring themselves to describe Scotland’s status as that of a colony, unlike the Welsh National Party leader who has no such qualms about describing Wales thus.

123. Daisy Walker

Something worth amplifying.

If Holyrood gets prorogued/shut in the same way as Stormont, prior to the next HE election, pretty much all the elected tories, labours, and Libdems in Scotland become unemployed.

If they are instrumental in that process – they would in effect be voting for their own unemployment. Bye bye gravy train.

Divide and conquor should not just be a tool untilised by the British state.

Another thought – and one which perhaps folk from all sides of the divide can rally to, the Malicious prosecution of Rangers, Mark Hirst – and the concerns of Governmental corruption/interference with the legal process – were all initiated while we were still part of the EU and through it the ECJ.

If it comes to the bit of an exterior (and definitely Judge led) investigation/review – and as they no longer have a dog in the fight – why not invite them to invigilate such a process.

124. Strathy

They might as well throw in the serious decline in Scottish education standards and the hiding of the OECD report which demonstrates it – while they are having the vote of no confidence in Swinney.

125. Republicofscotland

Alf @4.48pm.

Indeed Alf, Sturgeon hasn’t done many things that are needed in the run up to the rebirthing of Scotland after dissolving this vile union.

No central bank, no currency, no defence plans no plans for embassies etc, but when your plan is just to fool the public into believing that you’re going to hold an indyref when in reality your not, then these very important things don’t matter.

I now feel that Wales will leave this union before Scotland ever does.

126. Netflix commissioner

James the second said I’ll forgive as he arrived back in our united lands and then went forgivably to hang draw and quarter et al even the lad who cut the wood for the axe.
    I don’t know why this has come to mind
    Oh yes it’s about holding the line and knowing when to break and when being a lickspittle doesn’t pay dividends
    Ok the main players can’t be saved as per Anton Chigurh
    but toss a coin Maureen Watt

127. Hamerdoon

Daisy Walker

From the previous thread – a much appreciated offer.

I’m rubbish at technology, so wouldn’t know how to protect both of us? I’ll ask Stu to forward an email address to you; I will then delete the account after you send the doc. to me? Does that sound reasonable?

I’m sure there are other ways to do this that don’t sound so clandestine, but I’m in ‘not knowing what I don’t know’ territory here!

Thanks – a very kind offer.

Hamerdoon

128. Republicofscotland

Daisy @4.53pm.

Daisy.

I rather think that Westminster would like to see Holyrood reduced to a sort of glorified town council stuffed with BritNat MSP’s to give off the feeling to the outside world and unaware Scots, that Scots would still be to a point controlling their own affairs.

So in the event that somehow that nightmare scenario did come to fruition, you can bet that a seat in the glorified town council would be available for the likes of the Rennies and Sarwars, and Ross’s of Scotland.

129. SilverDarling

Regarding Tickell and, incidentally Aileen McHarg on Twitter as well, I do believe as has been said, they are giving the dry academic view of the law where everything progresses with all the time and money possible available and no real-world events or legal curveballs intrude.

If AS was fighting fires on all fronts as Murrell wanted who is to know what drove the priorities of the defence team.

130. Craig Sheridan

I’ve read the Dani Garavelli article and it’s nothing like her previous post trial polemic and biased rant. It’s actually a perfectly reasonable article.

This reveals she couldn’t land a single blow on Alex Salmond and there is no ammo left to protect ScotGov. The worst she says about AS is “he failed to express any remorse for past “inappropriate” behaviour” and that refers to an actual committee question.

Her conclusion is “the First Minister has serious questions to answer when she herself appears before the committee next week”.

I sense she harbours some regret about her previous article as she observes how this is panning out and realises heads are about to roll. No journalist wants to be firmly on the side that got things entirely wrong.

131. Pixywine

Do not doubt that Nicola Sturgeon and her lawyers will have watched every minute of Alec Salmonds testimony. She might even surprise us with a spirited defence.Im guilty of falling for the photo shopped picture but not guilty of falling for Tory propaganda.

132. A Person

I am assuming that the SNP’s campaign for the election is, yet again, a giant photo of Her Majesty with the slogan “I’m With Nicola”. One needs to get ones homage after all. Can anybody confirm this?

This will be shown just as Herself is being attacked on all sides…oops… pride comes before a fall.

133. SilverDarling

@A Person 5.21 pm

I laughed out loud at that and then thought I would not put it past NS. She’ll be telling people to “think very carefully” about how they vote too!

134. David

That story in the Sun: ‘Holly in £10 million legal fight’. Wow!
    I had no idea Holly Willoughby was one of the Rangers administrators…

135. Normski

Margaret Lindsay says:
    28 February, 2021 at 4:07 pm

“I have a good Ms p ( Kate Forbes) who I can’t vote for because that would be taken as an endorsement for this biology denying version…”

Eh!? Kate Forbes is a devout Christian. Who I am fairly certain does not agree with the gender woo woo nonsense.

136. covidhoax

It’s not the vaccine bringing down corona numbers, they have lowered the threshold on the fake PCR test and flu season is coming to an end.
    Taking a vaccine for a virus with a 99.9% survival rate is like undergoing chemo when you haven’t got cancer.

137. Effijy

Gravelli talks shit at the best of times.
    She has a final lame attempt at Salmond with he
    Didn’t express any remorse for past incidents?

He admitted a cuddle for which he apologised and
    for which was accepted. Situation over, finished.

You don’t apologise for incidents the Judge and Jury say didn’t happen.

Where is Gravelli’s apology for hounding Salmond for years for
    participating in Warks disgusting documentary trying to overturn a
    Scottish court of law.

The woman is a talentless witch.

138. AdamH

Craig Sheridan says:
    28 February, 2021 at 5:17 pm
    I’ve read the Dani Garavelli article and it’s nothing like her previous post trial polemic and biased rant. It’s actually a perfectly reasonable article.

I read it, too, and its not bad. Skirts away from a few things but, basically, she can’t rant as usual because the truth is now out.
    As you say “she couldn’t land a single blow on Alex Salmond and there is no ammo left to protect ScotGov.” Time to leave the losing side.

139. ben madigan

@Daisy who said “If Holyrood gets prorogued/shut in the same way as Stormont, prior to the next HE election, pretty much all the elected tories, labours, and Libdems in Scotland become unemployed.”

Remember there are major differences between Holyrood and Stormont, which is based on obligatory power-sharing. Stormont collapsed after the late Martin Mcguinness, then SF leader, refused to take further part in power-sharing given the scandals linked to the DUP
    https://www.itv.com/news/utv/update/2017-01-16/sinn-fein-triggers-collapse-of-stormont-executive/

After the collapse MLAs remained on full salaries, even though they did nothing beyond constituency work
    https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-50154946

140. kapelmeister

Alf Baird @4:48

You’re right Alf. Too many people in the SNP have trouble with the infamous Scottish cringe when it’s put to them that Scotland is, de facto, a colony. There might even be a wee bit of white racism mixed in with their cringe, in that they see the term colony as only applying to non-caucasians.

141. Roddy Macdonald

I’m not sure what LPW’s point is regarding appealing Lady Dorrian’s exclusion of the conspiracy evidence at the criminal trial. He says the defence just accepted the exclusion.

According to this contemporaneous report of the trial, the defence did appeal the decision but Lady Stacey concurred with Lady Dorrian. As it turned out, both judges may have have been right as it kept the jury focussed on the main tosh they were there to decide on.

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-52012145

142. zebedee

Skip_NC 4.46pm “Obviously, if John Swinney loses a VONC, he would have to go”

I disagree. Parliament does not appoint Ministers, the FM does. FM can and should tell Parliament to go blow smoke. If Parliament does not like that, they are welcome to try a VONC against the government. They are welcome also to claim Swinney broke the ministerial code, but they won’t since they cannot make that stick.

So a VONC against Swinney would just be party politics as usual.

If they want the legal advice to be published, surely the committee should use its powers to compel.

143. ScottieDog

@Daisy Walker
    “ If Holyrood gets prorogued/shut in the same way as Stormont, prior to the next HE election, pretty much all the elected tories, labours, and Libdems in Scotland become unemployed.

If they are instrumental in that process – they would in effect be voting for their own unemployment. Bye bye gravy train.”

I’m sure many would be invited onto another gravy train. Anyway they’re not going to do that. They want the people to make that decision as, bit by bit, they render it impotent.

144. Wlllie

I’m wondering where the banal cultist ” I’m with Nicola” tag line is headed when she very soon gets the boot.

A scramble to remove online selfies with Nicola one suspects. You couldn’t make it up. Like turkeys voting for Christmas.

Be interesting to learn the turkeys who’ve recently come forward posting this tag line

Drew Henry MP and Brenda O’Hara MP perchance. Councillor Mhairi Hunter?

And physcphantic ” I know where my loyalties lie”. What kind of tag line is that?

145. Ian Mac

If you stand with Nicola do you fall with her too?

146. Captain Yossarian

@zebedee – They are ussing their powers to compel the release by Crown Office of documents, but as I understand it, Swinney is blocking their release.

Mind-you, he’s been doing that for the last few months and I really cannot understand why a VoNC wasn’t forthcoming before now.

I think they want rid of Swinney, principally because of this but many others are complaining of his conduct as well.

His ‘Education Scotland’ quango is a bit of a secretive scam.

147. Kiwilassie

Glen Clova says:
    28 February, 2021 at 12:43 pm

I hear what you’re saying. I as a Scot living in New Zealand honestly don’t think that the average person in Scotland has the political intelligence to move on from being a house slave.

It shames me.

Here in New Zealand the Maori went through what you are going through now. The Maori fought the crown & won. It didn’t take them 300 years. They are no longer looked upon as second class citizens.
    In my eyes they never should have been classed as such. The Maoris are a beautiful people & have a culture very much like the Scots.

The Scots don’t fight for their beliefs, so should lose 🙁 🙁

148. SilverDarling

@Roddy Macdonald

Yes, my recollection was that the inclusion of the texts was deemed not relevant at that time as the trial was addressing the substance of each of the charges on their own. Interesting that it was appealed and rejected, I missed that. So he did pursue it to the best of his ability at the time.

If the reasons the judges gave are deemed relevant to the trial but not to the committee investigation, does it still stand that they cannot be disclosed or is he saying he aware of another route? His legal advice appears pretty good so far.

I guess we will see.

149. Ottomanboi

The SNP apparatchiks would get very annoyed when the party was described as the Scottish Nationalist party, I guess we all now know why.

150. Sweep

Not much point in me adding to the indyref coffers by printing and selling my badges stating proudly:
    “I Fell With Nicola” then?

Thought maybe some of the Sturgeon Rapturists would be willing to declare their continuing faith as they stumble tearfully back down the hill…

151. Dan

#NevermindTheBullocksSquirrels

At least they can roam free in the parks of Bath getting fed nuts by Stu.

Coz in a real life sequel to Snakes on a Plane, we now have Bovines on a Boat as lots of cattle are stuck on a 2 month cruise.

Veal meat again
    Don’t know where, don’t know when…

At least in future Scotland this will no longer be an issue as male calves can simply ID as females and be bought up and join the dairy herd* to escape this maritime trauma.

* Caveat Emptor as milk yield may be low… 😉

152. Dream Brut

“[Sarwar] is so unpopular that he didn’t even attempt to win a constituency seat in the 2016 election to avoid the humiliation of a heavy defeat, and we have no idea if he’ll do so this year as Labour doesn’t appear to have actually officially chosen its candidates yet.”

Stu, if you look at Wikipedia, his name is down for Glasgow Southside, Nicola Sturgeon’s constituency.

153. PacMan

Wlllie says: 28 February, 2021 at 6:03 pm

I’m wondering where the banal cultist ” I’m with Nicola” tag line is headed when she very soon gets the boot.

A scramble to remove online selfies with Nicola one suspects. You couldn’t make it up. Like turkeys voting for Christmas.

Be interesting to learn the turkeys who’ve recently come forward posting this tag line

Drew Henry MP and Brenda O’Hara MP perchance. Councillor Mhairi Hunter?

And physcphantic ” I know where my loyalties lie”. What kind of tag line is that?

I wonder if this ‘I stand with Nicola’ is an attempt at a ME TOO type meme of trying to portray Sturgeon as a victim herself of Alex Salmonds misogyny?

It does reek of that and the pathetic spin and misdirection that we only know too well with the current SNP administration and their leader.

Mostly likely than not as mentioned by another poster, these individuals will need to change their handles to ‘I fell with Nicola’.

154. Heather

Dear Stuart,

Scotland approached the initial stages of the vaccine rollout differently in that they first of all concentrated on all older care home residents together with the over 80s age group. This made it look as if ‘Scotland was lagging behind’. I think it’s unfair to make a comparison to the roll out progress at the beginning. And now as you say Scotland has caught up – in fact Scotland was slightly ahead of England at one point in numbers of vaccinations administered by a small percentage. I don’t remember seeing any headlines saying ‘England’s lagging behind.’

155. Mike Hovit

Reply Lost at 2:56

“I think the only way we’re going to get people to vote yes is to put on the ballot to vote for Independence and rejoin the EU at the same time. Become part of a bigger union than the UK. This will make people feel confident.”

Yes. However, the EU are never going to pre-admit Scotland. Your suggestionis desirable but, I submit, not realistic. Nobody in Scotland can credibly promise EU entry.

156. Mike Hovit

Republicofscotland at 5:02 pm, reply to Daisy @4.53pm.

I rather think that Westminster would like to see Holyrood reduced to a sort of glorified town council stuffed with BritNat MSPs

A number may think this has already happened…..

157. Richard M

I have been away from Scotland for a few years but have recently come back, only to find that the country seems to be in a bit of a mess with a corrupt government that seems to want to lie it’s way out of the cesspit of it’s own making. I have to say that I am astonished that there are no protests in the streets demanding the head of NS. She seems to have presided over a government that has turned it’s back on the concept of an independent justice system (although it seems the judges themselves are keeping their heads above water). Why has no one resigned over the Rangers affair? How can a malicious prosecution be persued and no one takes responsibility? Indeed why does it not offend everyone?
    The crown office then gets told that it’s interpretation of a ruling is “absurd” by a high court judge and seem to carry on regardless denying evidence to a parlimentary commitee.
    On twitter you talk about these outrages and nobody seems to mind. Indeed you get called names, accused of being a unionist stooge and told that all of this doesn’t matter because some westminster minister has been found to have acted “unlawfully” by not publishing contracts within 30days of signing them. (It remains to be seen whatever they got value for money).
    The Scottish people need to wake up and realise that lying, cheating and colluding to try and put a political opponent in prison is behaviour more suited to Putin’s Russia than a liberal democracy. Rise up and clear out the stables, they stink.

158. Boaby

The Scottish people were eu citizens long before greece who joined in 1981. Spain and portugal who joined in 1986. Now all of a sudden we are being fed bullshit and told an independent Scotland will find it difficult/wont be allowed to rejoin the eu. Why? We have been eu citizens longer than any of the above.

159. Old Fogey

zebedee says:
    28 February, 2021 at 5:52 pm
    Skip_NC 4.46pm “Obviously, if John Swinney loses a VONC, he would have to go”

“I disagree. Parliament does not appoint Ministers, the FM does. FM can and should tell Parliament to go blow smoke.”

That isn’t the case. Parliament has to agree to the appointment of Ministers (by means of a vote). If agreement is given the appointment is then approved by the Queen. So losing a Parliamentary vote means that that Minister cannot be appointed.

160. Boaby

Kiwilassie 6.19pm.”that the average person in Scotland has the political intelligence to move on from being a house slave”.
    Sadly after the numerous conversations i have had with certain family members and friends, i tend to agree with you.

161. lumilumi

This is something I’ve been seeing for a while – maybe 18-24 months or so – and dreading the end.

There are so many worse things, but the SNP has made sure we get bogged down on other things.

One of the worsts is how the petty, drunk on power people have used the judicial system of their country for their own petty grievance agenda and career advancement. Brought into disrepute all the institutions of state an independent country would need, an independent Scotland would have… because “feelz”.

C O R R U P T

Anybody involved should learn to spell that word. Look it up in a dictionary, look in the mirror.

Was the buzz, the activism, the job, the money worth selling your soul. Look in the mirror. Who are you? That young idealist? No. Can you live with yourself for the rest of your life? Mmm, yeah.

It is, of course, a class problem in the UK. Polite discussion won’t address difficult things in society like income inequality, food banks, etc.,

It is easy to pay lip service to “good causes” like food banks, giving something to the undeserving poor, or feeding the poor piccaninies in the colo… in the foreign countries and, just as long you don’t actually have to go and volunteer and meet the poor.

162. stonefree

@ Liz at 12:26 pm

You make valid points,
    I have wondered if Anas Sarwar turned round and said “I support an Independent Scotland” and backs it up….Then he’s in or at least a contender
    Of course It is extremely improbably that would happen.
    But it’s a thought, and not as ridiculous as it might sound

163. Mc

Just to confirm: Alex Salmond DOESN’T drive? Does he pay for his own chauffeur? As his driver used to be SNP funded; https://www.heraldscotland.com/news/13196661.snp-will-provide-chauffeur-car-for-salmond/

164. Big Jock

After Salmonds disection of the SNPs failings on Friday. The only comment I have had from a non political friend is.

” What about Salmond, but of sleazy old man eh”.

To me that sums up the level of disinformation going on in the media. The majority only know the narrative of the red tops. I had to explain that the evidence wasn’t about Salmond and he was found not guilty of any charges.

It’s going to take a monumental earthquake to cut through this crap with the public. Sturgeon is still trying to deflect , by claiming Salmond is guilty.

We need that hidden evidence to come out next week.

165. WhoRattledYourCage

“I’m not willing to lay down and die
    Because I am an innocent man”

This song makes me think of somebody.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mQCWY5ynBaw

166. Michael Laing

@ Richard M at 8.56pm: You can be sure that those of us who are aware of what’s going on, thanks to Wings Over Scotland, Craig Murray and others, are very angry indeed. However, because the multiple scandals involving Sturgeon and the SNP have been omitted or ignored by the BBC, STV and the unionist press, that large part of the population which still follows the mainstream media is blissfully unaware of the corruption and criminality that’s been going on. That’s why there’s no uproar. But when the truth finally emerges, I suspect that Sturgeon will find herself friendless and unwanted in Scotland. She will be held in the utmost contempt by the all those who placed their faith and trust in her and believed, as I did, that she was the living embodiment of straightforward, salt-of-the-earth Scottishness. I was fooled. We’ve all been fooled.

167. Clavie Cheil

” Richard M says:
    28 February, 2021 at 8:56 pm

The Scottish people need to wake up and realise that lying, cheating and colluding to try and put a political opponent in prison is behaviour more suited to Putin’s Russia than a liberal democracy. Rise up and clear out the stables, they stink.”

=========================================================

Sturgeon and her cabal are merely doing what London Rule has taught them to do Richard. The Scots arent Scottish enough methinks. I think they are shrooms myself. Kept in the dark by the Brit Nat Press and Media and by the present leader of the SNP and fed shovels of shit by all of them. Oh and it is the Brit Tories that Putin has in his back pocket. You were obviously away far too long.

168. Christian Schmidt

On the Fraser Nelson article that you link to – it is interesting to see that he quite clearly accepts that the Scottish parliament is a parliament just like Westminster, with the same rights.

While technically this isn’t the case, I think this matters, and shows how much people in England have accepted that Scotland is different. I mean, nobody talks in such terms about the Senedd or the NI Assembly.

And to me it also suggests that Sturgeon’s suggestion that Westminster won’t be able to block a second referendum if the SNP wins an overall majority could well be true after all…

169. Christian Schmidt

Re the poll – if the true figure in the population is, say 54-46 for independence, then assuming normal poll sizes of 1000, I would expect about 1 in 40 polls to show a dead heat or a lead for no, that’s just how the maths work out…

170. Prasad

Co-incidentally posted on same day as the new series of McDonald and Dodds.

171. Annie 621

Cenchos..
    Well done.

..He reminds me of Steerpike from
    Gormen Ghast,
    Or Gollum from The Hobbit.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.