The royal prerogative

Posted on December 06, 2019 by

Wait, Scotland is a what now, Conservative Home?

Beyond the embarrassing clanger, though, the article is an interesting analysis of the key marginal seats in Scotland next week, which is to say nearly all of them. With anywhere between 25 and 50 being a reasonable estimate of the SNP’s possible tally, readers may wish to familiarise themselves with the latest local data.

1. 06 12 19 13:56

The royal prerogative | speymouth

124 to “The royal prerogative”

1. Breastplate

“Principality”, what a subservient cock he is.

2. Conan the Librarian

They’re mixing us up with Wales. Easy to do if You’re in London…

3. Neil Mackenzie

Jeez. Next time it’ll be “province”.

4. Corrado Mella

Wait, wasn’t that “North Britain”?

YOU WILL BE ASSIMILATED

5. Bob Mack

Scotlandshire surely? Just N of Yorkshire.

6. Daisy Walker

Worth reading their analysis of each seat.

They’re looking at labour losing the majority of their seats and tories holding on to 8 out of their current 12.

From the totally unscientific perspective of ‘what are the voters feeling’ – my gut is telling me that they’re fed up, and the tories are a Brexshit Shambles. The SNP – for No Voters and potential converts to Yes – are seeming like the adults in the room, even if they are not their preferred choice.

Hey ho. Fingers crossed.

7. Macandroid

Mr Hill, in his article on Conservative Home may have made a defamatory statement as he does not include the word “allegedly”.

“Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath: The SNP were on track to win at a canter before they had to suspend their candidate, Neale Hanvey, for posting anti-Semitic messages online”

8. Blackhack

“Here be Dragons”

9. Bob Mack

Didnt Boris describe us as a “ghetto”

10. Breeks

Principality??? The fkg Queen herself isn’t sovereign in Scotland.

Henry Hill, you’re a balloon.

11. Scott

Dictionary.com

a state ruled by a prince, usually a relatively small state or a state that falls within a larger state such as an empire.
    the position or authority of a prince or chief ruler; sovereignty; supreme power.
    the rule of a prince of a small or subordinate state.
    the Principality, British. Wales.

Henry Hill on his Knee tugging his forelock Tory *****

12. Breastplate

Macandroid,
    It’s dispicable that in the current climate, anti Semitism is used as a weapon to smear people regardless of what they say or how they think. Craig Murray has written about this as well as being accused of anti Semitism in the past.
    The Jewish community, as far as I can see, are well protected in this country, for instance, what would you expect to happen to people who consistently sang “up to our knees in Jewish blood” and how that would compare with people who consistently sang “up to our knees in fenian blood”?

13. Josef Ó Luain

An unbelievable display of ignorance, but that’s the type that have been getting the jobs in the public-domain for years now. The people who appoint them can’t see the problem, of course, just like the people who appointed them.

14. Scott

Meant to say this is the first time in my long life I have lived in a Principality always thought I lived in the country Of Scotland,but then maybe should bow to the more intellectual Tory and get back in my box and behave.
    SNP for me.

15. Willie

Well that’s us telt.

We should know our place and especially those in Principality House.

16. Artyhetty

Welcome to ‘North Britain’ will be the signs at the border should the British Nationalists ever take power in Scotland again. The patronising crap these jumped up self servatives spout should be enough for everyone with an ounce of sense in Scotland to want away from the so called ‘UK’.

Last chance saloon now Scotland. Tory majority, hard Brexit, then Scotland will be royally screwed indeed. Vote SNP!

17. Neilyn

For the record, unlike Monaco, Liechtenstein and Andorra, Wales isn’t a principality. The reason is simple; the man who bears the title Prince of Wales (amongst many others) has no executive or legislative authority in the country, unlike the princes of the 3 micro-states named. He is not a member of the Senedd, he is outwith the democratic system. His title is purely a fiction, a political stunt by the Anglo-British establishment. As for one of his other titles, Prince and Great Steward of Scotland, we can pretty much say exactly the same thing!

18. dadsarmy

I think the guy just burped all over the place.

19. dadsarmy

Calling Wales a principality is about as accurate as saying that a Queen rules a Kingdom.

It’s so archaic, it’s positively prehistoric. Well, historic anyways.

Welcome to the 21st Century! Give them a chance, the Tories will be along to join us in the next few decades, with the probably exception of Rees-Mogg who’s kidnapped Doctor Who back to the 18th Century.

Boris is a man of our times.

Yeltsin that is.

Though frankly comparing BoJo to him is an insult to Yeltsin. RIP.

Yeltsin that is.

Confused?

You will be, you WILL be.

20. callmedave

Worth a peek:

It’s happening: full-scale YouGov poll

http://scotgoespop.blogspot.com/

21. dadsarmy

@callmedave
    There’s still time for the SNP to get over 50% and send Westminster a clear message about Chicken Boris and his Tory yolk of a party.

And it’s scrambled oiks for tea.

22. Capella

Princess Nicola is in charge here as the Tories obviously acknowledge.

23. twathater

I know it is good to know what your enemas are thinking but I stupidly viewed that conhome page and now feel that my eyes are burning

Watched dialatory politics and don’t know who was the worst ,
    Nadhim Zahawi DESPERATELY trying to convince people that the tories have not thrown the dup under a bus
    The Scots cringer ayesha azerika who knows hundreds and thousands of Scots voters who have changed their minds and will vote against independence , 1 of the bbc’s go to for Scotland too wee ,too poor , too stupid
    A momentum spokesperson who believes everything magic grandpa says
    And a telegraph reporter ( I think ) with bools in her mooth who also thinks Scotland is shite and the tories will save the world

24. mike cassidy

He did use the word ‘principality’ on the equivalent Welsh page as well.

http://archive.is/RqqiZ

But I did like this comment on tactical voting from a tory voter in Scotland btl the Scottish article.

“The issue with the unionist tactical voting angle, is that essentially for a lot of unionists Boris is about as bad as the SNP, and given his willingness to throw other unionists under the bus (Northern Ireland), why is a vote for Boris really so great? What are liberal/centrist Scottish unionists really getting out of voting for the Tories, rather than Lib Dem?

I live in one of those 5 ‘key seats’ mentioned, and I find myself really struggling in this election.”

Who knew the SNP and Boris were the Scylla and Charybdis of Scottish politics?

25. Republicofscotland

“Beyond the embarrassing clanger, though, the article is an interesting analysis of the key marginal seats in Scotland next week, which is to say nearly all of them.”

Which in my opinion is all the more reason not to mention independence in seats where voters will vote SNP in the hope of stopping Brexit even though that’s very unlikely, but are undecided on independence.

The woke bridge will undoubtedly do some damage, however highlighting them and it, (As you must) will only do more damage to the SNP via discontented voters at a crucial time.

26. callmedave

@dadsarmy

Lots of ‘marginals’ Tories in Scotland reclaiming Brexiteers to bolster their polling but it’s FPTP winner takes all.

PS:
    The rev is is own man. Still reading and monthly donation still being donated. Occasional poster now.

I’m a life member of SNP bought myself in when I though I was falling off the twig back in 2012 after coughing up annual subs since the 1970s. Parting gift I thought! 🙂 Still here though.

Walked many many miles leafleting etc etc too.

Hope we do well next week and more importantly go on to win a working majority in the next Scottish election which is so vital.

That is what the unionist are pinning their hopes on it’s their last chance saloon.

Sticking with Sturgeon now and to the Independence Referendum.
    Which will be my last chance too.

PS:

£1 up again to a new high against €1.186 and Yankee Dow soaring.
    Markets believe the Tories will win.

Christmas pudding for some and cauld parritch for others. 🙁

27. Willie

A principality. Is that where the Paedophile Prince and his deviant Uber lush family come to spend their holidays?

28. Iain MacLachlan

Sorry: Off Topic
    I am no longer getting Tweets from Wings although I am “Following” the site.
    Have I been blocked? 🙁
    Or is there something more sinister?

29. Ottomanboi

Mr Hill has one of those smug faces you really, really, really want to ######

30. Willie

With Jeffrey Epstein and Ghislaine Maxwell having been entertained at Buck House and Sandringham one wonders about the goings on at Balmoral.

Balmoral is certainly out of the way and where better to perv away with children.

Maybe we shall find out. But until then one hears that the Paedo Prince is banned from attending church with the Royal Family at Crathie.

Jeepers, the sheep won’t be safe.

31. Capella

@ Iain MacLachlan – I’m still getting tweets – you can read his twitter account from the link at the top right panel. Check on his latest tweets and you can also check on your list of who you are following. Twitter does “deboost” people it disapproves of though.

32. John Jones

Glad to see no gr or much back biting today, seems we are getting back to vote SNP as it should be.
    All the other “stuff” can wait until after the election.then on to the big one, the indyref2.
    GET out and vote you lot.

33. Gary45%

Principality?? I thought Scotland was just referred to as Shite!
    Man you can feel the love coming from the Imperial masters.
    There must be an election coming.

34. Simon Curran

The Times today had a piece saying how crucial Scots Tories were going to be overall. Crucial for Conservative success in the UK, the last lot certainly did nothing for Scotland, just did their mistress’s bidding and will undoubtedly acquiesce to Boris every wish and desire if he and they get voted into power. They know where their loyalties lie.

35. dadsarmy

Ah! I get it.

The Tories want to make Scotland a Principality with Prince Andrew as the Prince of Scotland.

That’s a rumour I’m just starting.

36. john king

By Henry Hill
    sure its not Harry Hill?
    good to see you there Conan,
    I was just asking about you the other day.

37. Joe

Pay attention to Willie there, folks. This guy is switched on.

38. Gary45%

Willie@4.18
    Maybe that why you are not allowed to park in the road laybys when the Royals are about.

39. Ottomanboi

The prospect of another hung parliament looms.
    The SNP should not play westminster games.
    WALK OUT…never to return.
    Make the UK toast!

40. dadsarmy

With Crathie Church not being the local church for Sandringham where the Royals spend Christmas, presumably they all travel by Concorde …

41. Robert Kerr

Maybe its not a clanger.

Mr Peffers tought us that the UK is a kingdom united from two separate sovereign kingdoms. The Kingdom of Scotland and the Kingdom of England.

NOT NOW!! The tollies have changed the rules.

Its what they do!!!

42. Welsh Sion

I’m with Neilyn @ 2.53 pm.

43. drygrangebull

I know I know, but read this and thought is this the things to come to Scotland. https://www.globalresearch.ca/donald-trump-the-us-private-health-giant-and-top-british-nhs-officials-special-relationships/5696926know,

44. Julian Smith

I think it’s been edited to replace “principality” with Scotland.

45. dadsarmy

@Welsh Sion
    You should realise that Wales hasn’t been a principality since …

… when exactly, I forget?

46. drygrangebull

I know I know, totally off topic but is this coming to a hospital near you. https://www.globalresearch.ca/donald-trump-the-us-private-health-giant-and-top-british-nhs-officials-special-relationships/5696926

47. Welsh Sion

dadsarmy @ 5.59pm

If you discount Glyn Dwr, our last native Prince of Wales, Dafydd ap Gruffudd was killed on the orders of Edward I in 1283.

The method of execution:

“He became the first prominent person in recorded history to have been hanged, drawn and quartered, preceded by a number of minor knights earlier in the thirteenth century. Dafydd was dragged through the streets of Shrewsbury attached to a horse’s tail then hanged alive, revived, then disembowelled and his entrails burned before him for “his sacrilege in committing his crimes in the week of Christ’s passion”, and then his body cut into four-quarters “for plotting the king’s death”.”

48. Gary45%

Robert Kerr@5.42
    How is Mr Peffers? I miss his knowledge on this site.
    I was away from WoS for a wee while, a wee while back.
    I was thinking about him the other day.

49. Roughian

Neil Mackenzie. I worked in the Glasgow office of a national company in the 70s. A buyer from Wimpey Construction based at their head office in Hammersmith was trying to place an order with me for delivery to Glasgow and had to admit he wasn’t sure about the delivery address as he didn’t “know much about the provinces”. Some things never change!!

50. Taranaich

A principality would be preferable to what we have now.

51. Robert Kerr

@Gary45%

Unfortunately I don’t know how he is.

I assume he is lurking and keeping the Faith.

@Roughian. That famous acronym We Import More Paddies Every Year.

Not PC now.

52. Republicofscotland

The absurdity that is Jackson Carlaw.

Asked on STV news about divisivness within the Conservative party over Boris Johnson. Carlaw replied, its Nicola Sturgeons divisive second independence referendum thats divisive.

53. TJenny

How and where is Mr Peffers? I too was wondering and hope he’s OK. Can you give us a wee wave Mr P?

54. Terry callachan

To all the people who put great faith in the honesty and integrity of polls please read this
    http://scotgoespop.blogspot.com/

I have no faith in the honesty and integrity of polls
    They lie
    They are fixed
    They keep records of who votes what
    And then the voting pattern they want to publish
    And phone people they know will give answers they expect to receive

Scotgoespop knows this
    But I don’t think there will be any polls that are as he says “ favourable to SNP”

I get a feeling speaking to people that SNP is set to increase it’s vote

55. robertknight

I thought the Old Etonians referred to that place north of Emperor Hadrian’s Wall as Jockistan.

This can be verified by means of a quick phone call to the No.10 Duty Press Officer.

56. Terry callachan

Come on people vote SNP
    Scotland is a great place to live it can be even better if we stop england ripping us off and take back control of our money and our governmental decisions

How the hell did we put up with England controlling us all this time ?

This last few years we have really seen the kind of nutjobs they put in power and when you look at the House of Lords the obscenity of waste and inequality is staggering

Let’s get rid of them and make Scotland the decider of its own destiny

57. Robert Kerr

@TJenny

Met you long ago at the first WoS night out at The Counting House, Glasgow.

The one with the mysterious fire evacuation !!.

Glad you are still contributing!

58. Capella

Rober Peffers has eyesight problems – cataracts I think. He will be waiting for an operation but I hope will be back soon. I miss his input as well but quite understand that he must be scunnered by some of the negativity here.

59. affanaeweel

Anyone else having trouble getting on to Carltonjock ?? Just tried my usual saved link, to be told,

“caltonjock.wordpress.com doesn’t exist”

60. Gary45%

Capella @ 7.34
    Cheers for the info.

61. boris

In her resignation letter, the former Labour MSP for two terms and health minister said there was “little more” she could do to make the governance and accountability of policing work effectively.
    Independent observers commented that her resignation and criticism of the way the national police force is scrutinised and held to account could be construed as a political grenade thrown into Scottish politics just before the December 2019, General Election

The vice-chairman of the SPA, David Crichton, who will lead the SPA until a new appointment is made did not support the assertions of Prof Deacon. He stated:

“I and our team believe that the system of governance and accountability for policing in Scotland that was envisaged by the founding legislation is a sound one and works effectively. While we respect Susan Deacon’s right to resign from her post our collective focus will be on working together with our dedicated staff team to build on recent progress, deliver the actions and improvements already identified, and redouble the SPA’s focus on the issues of greatest importance to policing and the public.”

In Parliament, the three stooges, sensing blood, piled into the First Minister
    Scottish Labour said the resignation “raises serious questions” about the SPA’s ability to oversee Police Scotland”.

The Scottish Conservatives described the SPA as “an organisation in crisis”.
    Wee Willie Winkie Rennie said the police was “in crisis once again” and claimed there was a “toxic mix of chaos and complacency”.

First Minister Nicola Sturgeon rejected opposition claims and said, “The police are not in crisis and I think it does a disservice to police officers around our country who are working so hard to keep us safe to say so. The SPA will continue with the improvements which were being made to governance and accountability”.

Justice Secretary Humza Yousaf said there had been “significant improvement across many facets of the police service in Scotland.

Adding, “As Ms Deacon, herself acknowledges, our police service is in a much stronger place now than prior to her appointment”.

She certainly knows just when to raise her profile gaining maximum right-wing media coverage but the words of the vice-chairman of the CPA hold more potency. But a dig into her past is revealing since it exposes the incompetence of the Labour Party and herself at the time they held power over Scots.

https://gscott123.wordpress.com/2015/07/02/susan-deacon-and-her-resignation-from-the-spa-a-look-back-at-her-political-career-exposes-the-incompetence-of-herself-and-the-labour-party-at-the-time-they-held-power-over-scotland/

62. TJenny

Robert Kerr – hi, and does that not seem both a long time ago, and yet, like yesterday? Maybe there will be another one in the New Year, @ spring in warmer weather, mibbe.

63. dadsarmy

@Welsh Sion
    Memory a bit hazy, am I right in saying that Dafydd ap Gruffudd was the one who successfully waged guerilla warfare on Edward, arguably inventing guerilla warfare, but lost it when he took the battle into Edward’s preferred ground – the open not the hills?

64. John

boris @7.49
    Excellent and accurate piece boris .

65. Iain More

We were lucky to be even called a Principality by the Tories. Welcome to not North Britain but North England.

66. Dan

@Terry callachan at 7.21pm

I wouldn’t say Scotland currently is a great place to live for many.
    Eg. Extortionate housing costs out of kilter with earnings.
    A lot of existing housing is still of poor stock. I’ve visited quite a few homes with my recent campaigning activities and been invited in for a cuppa and chat, witnessing first hand the difficult choices some have to make on whether to have heating on or not due to cost.

Scotland is a country that has so much energy, produced from a diverse range of sources, that it exports the surplus, so it is a shocking state of affairs that some still have to live in fuel poverty and uncomfortably low temps, with the added health issues the cold and damp can exacerbate.
    Yet many of the wealthy can access subsidised heating initiatives.
    I’m all for renewable energy programs, but the UK model has been designed so that is generally the individual with money who is in a position to put solar panels on their property which means the power production in limited to roof area and single house grid connection limitations.
    So there is a tonne of administration for each single residential project capable of putting out around 4kWp.
    This can often involve planning applications, neighbour disputes with glare off panels, can’t be done in conservation areas or listed buildings etc.
    The model could have been developed differently to utilise buildings such as large industrial / retail buildings / or new build schools.
    Those buildings are all power hungry and have huge roof areas and big 3 phase grid connection tie ins which can handle much larger solar power production systems.

Scotland certainly has potential to be a fine place to live, but as you say, we have to get back to normal country status so we can manage our own affairs and address the ongoing corruption within the UK that is allowing the parasites to siphon off ridiculous amounts of revenue for their own personal gain, but to the detriment of wider society.

The trouble is some folk are so apathetic and disinterested in what is going on they do not realise what is at stake in the relatively near future.
    The term “You don’t know what you’ve got till you lose it all” is extremely apt at this time.

PS. Also hope Mr Peffers is keeping ok. Over the years his input, along with that of many other btl posters has been an education.

67. callmedave

Some info from a comment in Scot goes pop:

‘xxxx’ Who has posted since early days and has an interest in the polls and polling stats.

UK MORI Scots sub-sample:

50% SNP
    22% Con
    12% Lab
    12% Lib
    2% Brx

Hope that’s on the money. 🙂

68. Dan

Almost 200 years after his death, what would Scottish engineer and road builder John Loudon McAdam think, that across the country of his birth, we now have potholes so fuckin big I’m thinking about applying for a permit to fish them…

69. mr thms

I assumed the last article was going to be the last one before the GE.

Hope the SNP wins every seat.

70. mike cassidy

Well, this is one way of viewing things.

Britain’s Choice Is Socialism or Barbarism

Though I suspect the author might not have grasped the reality of Scottish politics.

” … both Lib Dems and Labour supporters in those 12 seats that the Scottish National Party (SNP) can reclaim from the Tories, need to vote SNP …”

http://archive.is/4QUV3

71. dadsarmy

@callmedave
    Hope that’s on the money.

I doubt it.

I can’t see the LibDem vote being that high, they’ll move to the SNP 🙂

72. Ottomanboi

The Brit ‘leaders’ rhetorical ping pong tournament on the BBC this evening is an indicator of Scotland’s irrelevance within the unionist worldview.
    Scotland is effectively being binned. Why are we not livid at this treatment?
    Why do Scotland’s ‘protectors’ just take it on the chin?

73. dadsarmy

@mike cassidy
    That’s the reason for the Gordon candidate on the last thread. Push Indy a bit down the list, and it’ll encourage Labour and LibDems to vote SNP against the Tories AND Brexit, even though they’ll know Indy is on the cards, it won’t be in their face.

After all, a vote for the LibDems with Jo Swinson wanting to be a Minister in BoJo’s Government and not really caring about the EU, IS a vote for the Tories.

Vote LibDem, get Tory

74. dadsarmy

Vote Tory get cluck cluck cluck cluck chicken,
    lay a little egg for me, awk.
    Chick chick chick chick chicken,
    the Tories’ll eat you for tea.

You won’t have a meal till Easter
    And then it’s a chlorine tea
    So, chick chick chick chick chicken
    For fuck’s sake vote SNP.

75. Geordie

‘Principality’ is deliberately used to provoke a reaction. The best reaction is to vote SNP.

76. kapelmeister

Former Tory MEP Ian Dalziel and former Tory advisor Bendor Grosvenor have had enough of Johnson and have endorsed the SNP’s Calum Kerr in the Berwickshire, Roxburgh & Selkirk contest.

77. Tam the Bam.

just watched Corbyn v Blojob

maybe just me…..anyone here Scotland mentioned?

78. Tam the Bam.

*hear*

79. wull

Doesn’t Welsh Sion’s description of what Edward I did to bring the life of Dafydd ap Gruffudd to such a horrific end in 1283 sounds so very familiar to us. If it doesn’t, it should. Didn’t Edward do just the same thing to William Wallace, a little more than 20 years later, on 23rd August 1305?

Nice chap, that Edward I. Don’t you think?

And so consistent …

And who, in our own day, is fit to lift his mantle, and become his true successor? Do I see a Boris rising from the swamp? Do we now have a PM, and indeed a ‘Minister of the Union’, who is belatedly positioning himself to complete Edward’s long-thwarted project?

Once and for all, so to speak … ?

Is the electorate down south really so hell bent on electing – Idi Amin style – ‘The Last King of England’ as PM? It seems so … Do they really want a Puerile Maniac for PM? Or, if China is a more appropriate analogy, is it Boris J’s destiny to become ‘The Last Emperor of the UK’?

If so, it won’t be the ‘end of an auld sang’ this time round. But, rather, the ultimate collapse of a very old illusion. One carefully built up over many centuries on a firm foundation of perpetual lies, deception, violence, dishonesty. double-dealing … and still more lies. Lie upon lie …

But even the lies have now reached such a crescendo that they are running out of steam. As Boris huffs and puffs his way around, perpetually moving from one blatant inconsistency and self-contradiction to the next, he gets less convincing by the minute. It can’t be long before he sinks in the slime of his own unremitting untruthfulness …

Yet … Don’t worry, Boris old chap!

No one in Scotland or Wales is ever going to hang, draw and quarter you. We just haven’t got anyone sufficiently uncivilised to do that for you.

We’ll even let you go (just so long as you DO go, and leave us in peace).

Indeed, even if you insist on continuing to dig your own ditch, we’ll save you from it (that ditch) … and from yourself as well. And we’ll put it to good use (that same ditch) instead.

In fact, we’ll bury your project in it – and Edward’s too. Once and for all. It will do nicely for that purpose. And we’ll do it for always: in such a way that the wretched project will never ever rise up from the dead again.

So, be consoled, Boris. All that hard work you have put into digging that ditch of yours will not have been in vain. It will have served the most excellent of purposes … Laying to its final resting place the ghost of England’s illusory Imperial Majesty. And, in the process, setting Scotland free. To be fully herself again.

Sounds like a win-win situation to me … And, at long last, a just end for the honest causes of Dafydd ap Gruffudd and William Wallace, and so many others too.

Hasten the day …

80. Bob Mack

Boris Johnsons father was asked why Boris did not appear on Leaders debate, and was replaced by a block of ice instead.

When asked by the presenter if he would explain to the public he refused stating that most of them were illiterate anyway.

Thats your Real Tory with the mask down.

81. boris

Ask most people about Zionism and they will say “that’s the Jews”, but while this is the impression the Rothschild networks in politics and the media have sought very successfully to “sell” as “common knowledge”, it is not true.
    It represents only a minority of them and many others who are not Jewish.
    Rothschild Zionism in its public expression is a political ideology based on a homeland for Jewish people in Palestine and a belief that the Jews are God’s ‘chosen race’ with a God-given right to the ‘promised land’ of Israel.
    They also believe that the real borders of Israel must encompass what is now Israel, including Gaza and the West Bank still officially owned by the Palestinians, plus Lebanon, Iraq, Syria, Egypt and Jordan, or, as Genesis puts it: “… from the brook of Egypt to the Euphrates”.
    That’s the public expression of Zionism, but at its inner core, it is a secret society created and controlled by the House of Rothschild.

They have sought to sell the ‘Zionism-means-all-Jewish-people’ lie so that they can condemn as ‘anti-Semites’ and ‘racists’ anyone who exposes the truth about Rothschild Zionism and its agents in government, banking, business, media, military, etc.
    This is why, (with the exception of one) politicians and political commentators decline to make any negative comments about Israel

https://gscott123.wordpress.com/2014/10/07/the-declaration-of-arbroath-states-there-is-neither-weighing-nor-distinction-of-jew-and-greek-scotsman-or-englishman-scottish-jews-fought-and-died-for-their-country-in-many-wars/

82. Ian Brotherhood

Well, abody who’s ever chipped in to WOS, here ye go…

https://bellacaledonia.org.uk/2019/12/06/you-paid-for-this/

83. Dan

As the Conservatives have effectively been in power in the UK since 2008, is this twat saying his own Party in the past 11 years couldn’t even managed to find a bloody gear! (although arguably with their austerity agenda, you could say they did find reverse…)

https://twitter.com/Thumbsuk/status/1202998282341044224

And what is this Britain he talks of…where’s Bob Peffers when you need him.

84. jfngw

@Ian Brotherhood

Thanks for reminding me why I never normally read Bella, seems to be a man so far up his own arse you could see his hairline if he had his mouth opened.

85. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Dan at 10:39 pm.

You typed,
    “And what is this Britain he talks of…”

I must put on my pedantic hat here, possessing a Higher English. That should read as,
    And what is this Britain of which he talks…

Ignore me. It’s late on a Friday evening and I have been reacquainting myself with Southern Comfort, made in the EU for a company in Walton on Thames. So much for “original”, as it says on the front label.

Still projecting?

86. call me dave

@Ian Brotherhood
    @jfngw

Have not opened any Bella e-mails or articles in about 4 years.
    Patronising / condescending p@sh so stopped.

PS:
    Musk found innocent of defaming the cave diver guy in American Court.

87. jfngw

Next Thursday a vote for the SNP is a vote for Scotland, anything else is basically accepting being a colony controlled by parties financed by another country.

There are some issues I am unhappy with currently but we must give them the opportunity to deliver independence . If it’s not delivered is it the SNP fault or the people of Scotland being too craven to take the initiative?

88. Capella

Owen Jones visits Scotland. He is in Jo Swinson’s seat to find out whether she could lose it. Quite an interesting 10 minute vox pop. In contrast to the BBC, he actually finds the SNP candidate and some SNP voters.

Swinson, of course, isn’t there. “She doesn’t live here” says one woman.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=637&v=UdVnuh9l_4M&feature=emb_logo

89. crazycat

@ Ian Brotherhood

I’m pleased to say I’ve never given a single penny to Mike Small or Bella Caledonia. His lack of self-awareness is astonishing (not really) and he has, of course, completely misunderstood the self-ID issue.

90. HandandShrimp

Harry Hill is just being a scamp, as is his wont.

91. Scot Finlayson

@wull,

Edward I expelled all the jews from England in 1290,
    confiscating their property and annuling all debs owed to the jews,

this was to help finance his many bloody wars and also was a way to keep his heavily indebted barons on his side,

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edict_of_Expulsion

his father Henry III issued the Statute of Jewry in which
    Article Nine commanded that “every Jew wear his badge conspicuously on his breast”

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Statute_of_Jewry

other countries over the years copied this English model to finance their wars.

anti semetism

92. Capella

@ Ian Brotherhood – I read the Bella article and it’s the usual vitriol. Mike Small is clearly ignorant about the Trans Self ID issue. The reason Stu is advocating voting for Johann Lamont is because she supports the women’s Pledge and Stewart McDonald supports Wokus Dei.

93. Dan

You are at liberty to pedant and quaff away at your elixir, as and when you see fit BDtt. lol
    I’m just a thick loon who performs best with a spanner in my paw. I’m still proud of the fact I failed my English yet passed my French.
    Plus it’s a relatively big day for a Sagi like me, and I’m celebrating with some of my pickled beetroot and a few Guinness in an attempt to corrupt my stool sample! TMI?

Hope to be getting back to projector project once this darn election is oot o’ the way.

94. Terry callachan

Every time we get someone on here and other sites criticising SNP
    ( or some other Scottish independence negative comment is made )

The unionists use the criticisms and negative comments to slag Scotland

When are people gonna think what they think
    And say what they should say ( preserving and honouring support for Scottish independence )

Just because you think it
    You don’t have to say it

Don’t give ammunition to your enemy

95. Terry callachan

Capella …take a jump you ignorant oaf
    You use this a Scottish independence website to peddal your gender ID opinions

You know what ?

We want Scottish independence
    That it’s the subject

Go to some other more appropriate discussion forum for gender ID discussion

I’m sick of seeing that subject raised here it’s competing with the more important isssue of Scottish independence
    Hang your head in shame

96. Terry callachan

Brian doonthetoon….depends what part of lochee you come from

97. Terry callachan

Brian doonthetoon or Brian DOWNthetoon or Brian DOONthetown…

All correct in their own way…depends what part of lochee you are from

98. Terry callachan

Well said geordie

99. mogabee

Mike Small. Small in every way which is why he’ll never have the ear of most indy supporters.

100. Iain mhor

Jings, look away for a few days and it all kicks off.
    Anyone ever worked in theatre and its ilk?
    Politics is just high theatre and shares the same attraction for the stage.
    Anyone aware of any defining characteristic of the demographics highly represented in theatre and related arts?
    There ye go.

Certain *ahem types of people always gravitate to the spotlight and the ultimate, illuminated stage of high office. The constant vicious and toxic turmoil in such realms, is exquisitely orchestrated high drama and a very lifeblood to those basking in the limelight, or inevitibly clawing their atavistic way towards it.
    It was ever thus since antiquity, nothing revelatory.

101. Golfnut

OT its Pisa time again, and of course SNP baad again.

A good example of just how badly Scotland is served by our media need look no further than today’s headlines.

A different picture is painted for those who are interested on Macalbasite.com

Worth a read.

102. dadsarmy

@Ian Brotherhood
    Well, you posting a link has probably sent the 30 remaining Wings readers over to Bella Caledonia and quadrupled Dick Small’s viewing figures.

103. Terry callachan

Dan…8.27pm

I agree Dan…
    When I said Scotland is a great place to live I meant that in the future
    I agree with the things you say
    It’s absolutely shocking unjust a sin that so many of our people in Scotland live a meagre life

I’m law abiding but I tell you it crosses my mind regularly to go after these selfish people that control the media and the politicians that inflict such poor living conditions and incomes on my fellow countrymen
    I’m boiling inside
    I want revenge as well as independence
    I control my anger , but it’s hard

I hate bullies
    I hate those weaklings that suck up to power in the presence of injustice
    I want to put my shoulder to the door

Scottish independence is a fight
    If you don’t accept that you will lose

104. Kenny J

dadsarmy says:
    6 December, 2019 at 11:44 pm

@Ian Brotherhood
    Well, you posting a link has probably sent the 30 remaining Wings readers over to Bella Caledonia and quadrupled Dick Small’s viewing figures.

Aye, but he’ll get fuck all money rom us.

105. Kenny J

Fro, I meant.

106. Kenny J

FROM, I meant, obv.

107. Confused

reading this thread and the posts these last few days has been very entertaining and cathartic; its like a bunch of toddlers had a fight in the sandpit, threw toys at each other, started screaming and then had a good cry (- now for a better sleep) …

– and no jews or trannies were hurt in this production; we are nice people, really, and just don’t like people messing with our independence

– this is timely, worth a read

https://gilad.online/writings/2019/12/1/as-of-today-i-am-the-only-winner-of-the-12-december-election

I read that Bella article just posted above – I thought it was MARVELLOUS – absolutely the best thing I’ve read today. The most delicious comedy is of the unintended variety.

I think almost everyone is at their best when they just let rip – tell us what you really think, Mike! I think Mike is Gerry Hassan’s mildly-tarded younger brother.

Just realised that the Rev is close to a full house in Identity Politics Character Assassination Bingo – we have had
    – homophobia, tick
    – transphobia, tick tick tick
    – anti-semitism ?????
    he still needs a racism, then he’s done, you are now -officially- “literally hitler” and can be hounded off the internet.

108. HYUFD

callmedave YouGov voting intention Scotland, SNP 44%, Scottish Tories 28%, Scottish Labour 15%, Scottish LDs 12%.

Taken 29th Nov – 3rd Dec of 1002 Scots.

https://d25d2506sfb94s.cloudfront.net/cumulus_uploads/document/saacor9lpe/TheTimes_191203_Scotland_VI_Results_w2_W.pdf

109. dadsarmy

@HYUFD
    Yes, that’s great isn’t it? SNP gaining 9 seats and Chicken Liar BoJo’s Tories losing 4.

Seats projection: SNP 44 (+9), Conservatives 9 (-4), Liberal Democrats 4 (n/c), Labour 2 (-5)

But the Mori subsample is even better:

Seats projection: SNP 52 (+17), Conservatives 2 (-11), Liberal Democrats 3 (-1), Labour 2 (-5)

Wouldn’t that be great, eh!

But I’ll bet you’d be even more excited if the SNP vote went up more. the LibDem went down and of course the lying cowardly Tories who support a leader who’s too chicken even to stand up in front of Andrew Neil, went down even more, say the Tories down another 2% and LibDems down 4%, you’d only get 1 Labour, 1 LibDem, and 1 BoJo loving Tory.

And of course another 1% off the Tories, and there’s be not one single popor hating, children poverty inducing, befroom tax loving, Tory MP in Scotland! Again! Imagine that!

Wouldn’t that be absolutely top notch old chap?

110. dadsarmy

WoW! I was so excited at the thought of losing Bozo’s Tories I misspelt myself all over the place 🙂

Bet you were too, eh, HYFUD 🙂

111. TJenny

Ian Brotherhood – ah, wee Mike Small, desperate to get on the bandwagon against Stu and against women’s rights in the hope of hoovering up some of the WOS readers (and their donations) who disagree with us. He’ll be looking for a wee gold star from the Wokerati, too.

Always thought Bella was up its own fundament, nothing’s changed. Wouldn’t give them a bean. Still give to WOS though if Stu asks.

112. TJenny

Is this an apt time for the Pastor Niemoller quote?

113. TJenny

Sorry don’t know how to type an umlaut.

114. twathater

Terry callachan @ 11.25pm , Capella has as much right as anyone here to express her opinion , her concerns mirrored by many other people , my relatives and friends of both sexes included , have as much right to be heard and expressed

This subject that you obviously consider boring is as important to females and their relatives as independence is to you , so just who are you to tell people what to post or decide the importance of their contribution
    As many females and males have applauded and thanked Stu for bringing this issue and its impact on female safe spaces to the fore I would suggest you do some research and educate yourself on the reasons why people are angry at the SNP’S stance rather than attempt to bully people into silence

And before you respond that the SNP have paused the issue for further consultation ask yourself WHY the minister S A Somerville made the announcement at a pride march that the GRA bill WILL be going forward , it is disingenuous or duplicitous to suggest that a consultation is taking place when you have already made up your mind to ignore the outcome

BTW I am a 68 year old male and FULLY support my wife , daughter and all females rights to safe spaces

115. TJenny

twathater – Well said.

116. wull

Scot Finlayson @ 11.06 pm. You are absolutely correct. Edward I did exactly that. Ourselves and the Welsh were not his only targets.

And you could say that he – Edward Longshanks – was the first king of England since the Conquest of 1066 to see himself as a full-blooded Englishman. Besides going after lands like those of the Scots and Welsh to he definitely had no claim, since they were definitely ‘not his’ (as the Scottish Pleadings of 1301 said), he still fought hard to keep and even extend his ‘possessions’ in France. They did not call him ‘the covetous king’ for nothing.

Yet he always did so first and foremost as the King of England. As such, even though there are signs of it existing before him – and in that sense there was nothing new about it – he epitomised ‘the English project’ in a way and to an extent that no previous English monarch had ever done, pushing it to an extreme from which it has never properly recovered.

When Brexit eventually causes the misery that it foretells, it will bring England to her knees, and that whole English project tumbling down in total ruin – dust and ashes – once and for all. And even if it will be horrible to behold at the time, it will ultimately do England good. Returning her to some semblance of sanity and normality, and even to reality, after all these long centuries of seemingly successful but ultimately self-destructive delusions of grandeur.

Self-ID based on an illusion does finally come unstuck. No matter how strong the illusion, or how old and revered it may be, reality (or plain old nature) eventually strikes back. How long will it take for this whole crumbling edifice of English self-grandeur to crash out definitively, and finally hit the dust? Not long, I suppose. I give it ten years … The Brexit Monster will gobble it all up in no time …

Someone could do a fine cartoon of Boris the Brexit Monster devouring away at the whole English sandwich, even as Scotland and Wales have already escaped and sailed far away from his bared fangs and gnashing teeth.

117. Capella

@ twathater 3.19 – thx – nicely put. 🙂

118. HYUFD

Dadsarmy The SNP polling 6% below 2015 levels is nothing to grow about and the Tories holding most of their Scottish seats.

Wull Wales voted for Brexit just like England

119. Bill McLean

Nothing Boris Johnson, or the Tory party, do or say is anything to “grow” about. So why don’t you just retreat into you tiny, xenophobic, racist, superior entity and leave the rest of us to our own ways. Eventually you and your country will grow up to the benefit of almost the whole world – that of course will have to wait until you know how to communicate rather than dictate. Those days of horror and Brutish empire have long gone thank goodness!

120. HandandShrimp

HYUD

If Back Door Boris gets 44% he will wibble delightedly about mandates.

If the SNP did get 50% I have little doubt that our local Tories will revert to their “one party state” and “it is a cult” memes. Drop a couple of percent from 50% and it is “Oh Noes!!! it is all over for the SNP”. Subtle it is not.

I will raise a wee glass on the 13th if we get 44% and 44 seats and think to myself “game on”.

121. Gary45%

Troops, I saw something on WoS the other day about Philippa Whitford,(about being denied access to Gaza.) I am trying to find the link, it may have been the twittery thingy, not sure.)
    Anyone help?

122. stonefree

Dr.Whitford is a fine MP. a cut well above some , who merely seek publicity

https://www.commonspace.scot/articles/13542/end-occupation-snp-mp-and-surgeon-denied-entry-gaza-israel-speaks-out

123. Gary45%

Stonefree@12.02
    Cheers for that, its the same story , but has a different picture on the subject, this will do though.
    Cheers.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.