89% of Scots support second indyref

Posted on May 20, 2019 by

Almost nine in ten Scottish voters now back a second referendum on independence. This rather startling news was brought to us at the weekend by an unlikely source, in the form of walking brain vacuum Annie Wells MSP.

Wells was absolutely unequivocal that NO other vote this Thursday – not Labour, not Lib Dem, not Brexit Party – would constitute opposition to a second indyref.

(She emphasised the point by RTing a tweet from the Scottish Tories’ boorish and obnoxious head of media Adam Morris which described both Nigel Farage and Vince Cable as “weak on Scotland’s place in the UK”.)

So how are those numbers looking?

According to the very latest full-sample Scottish poll, like this:

With a mere 11% of Scots backing Wells’ party, we can only conclude from the empty-skulled knife-and-fork operator’s own words that fully 89% are happy to go ahead and use the European elections to send a message that they’re willing to give Scotland a Brexit escape route.

We’re sure the Section 30 order will be in the post on Friday morning.

1. 20 05 19 10:56

89% of Scots support second indyref | speymouth

276 to “89% of Scots support second indyref”

1. Greg Drysdale

“empty-skulled knife-and-fork operator” – I did actually lol!

2. John Lowe

Line of the week Stu. You’ve put pressure on yourself.

3. Malky

Noice. Now we’re talking!

4. fletch49er

Annie Well, the gift that keeps on giving

5. Macart

But Ms Wells? About policy on Europe….

Ms Wells? Ms Wells? 🙄

6. Peter McCulloch

It was bad enough when we had snake oil salesman Nigel Farage up in Edinburgh in an attempt to con yes voters into supporting his party.

That Labour shadow Scottish Secretary Lesley Laird, is as confused as usual over Labour’s policy on Brexit, doesn’t come as any surprise, as I doubt anyone in Labour knows what their policy actually is.

As for Annie wells, she appears to be rerunning the 2017 general election campaign, hoping that Labour and libdem voters will tactically vote Tory to stop the SNP and a second indyref.

My fear is we may see a low turn out, and Farage’s party gaining two EU seats here in Scotland.

7. Welsh Sion

Annie Wells = Well insane

8. A C Bruce

On reading that headline, I was excited and wondered if things had really progressed that far and I hadn’t noticed. I’m a bit let down now!

It’s Ms Wells – I should have known better.

9. Lucia Daines

All’s wells that ends Wells.

10. RyMc

Hold on, 16% of votes for Brexit party???

11. Grouse Beater

If anybody is uncertain about EU membership for Scotland, keep in mind that for the first time in its history Ireland is now more powerful than England with 27 friendly nations minding its back!

Here’s the skinny on the EU: https://wp.me/p4fd9j-4Zo

12. Dr Jim

But they’ll all tell us what we’re thinking and what it means whatever way we vote, then use those statements to agree with themselves that’s what they said all along

The voters are sending us a clear message that they want change, they’ll say, then they’ll claim the change we want isn’t the change that we think we want, it’ll be another change that they’ve been thinking up while they were contemplating losing and how to make it appear they’re not

We’ve listened to the voters they’ll say, we know what they want they’ll say, we’ll bring *the country together* they’ll say, because that’s what everybody wants

When it quite clearly isn’t and won’t be because they’ll misinterpret every vote and every word that’s said to mean what they’ll tell us it means

Stick with Westminster they’ll say, we’ll make sure no matter what you say or do…… Nothing will change ever!

But they’ll say it really genuinely, like a Vow or something

13. jfngw

Annie Wells is at least consistent, she never veers from tweeting rubbish. Any time now I’m waiting for Ruth Davidson to start declaring she has always favoured Boris Johnson as leader and David Mundell stating he never said he could not work under Johnson’s leadership, and no he won’t resign.

They are of course consistent that they are not democratic and they don’t respect the Holyrood parliaments decisions, I think Annie Wells even stated this point.

It’s time the Scottish parliament oath was to the people of Scotland and not to a monarch, after all it is we who are sovereign.

14. Ghillie

Well folks.

Up and at ’em!!

3 days to go.

Ask everyone you see how they are going to vote.

Let them know this is one of the MOST important elections in their life time.

There is still good time to get folk excited and engaged 🙂

15. HandandShrimp

If the Ruth Davidson Party only gets 11% will Ruth Davidson step down?

I think it unlikely because in the real world outside of Annie’s strange wee grey cell, politics is a wee bit more complicated than that. Also, the Conservative talent pool without Ruth is barely a puddle.

16. mr thms

By having no manifesto and turning these elections for the parliament of the European Union into a referendum on a second referendum on Scottish independence, the Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party will have to concede defeat after all the Scottish votes are tallied up on Sunday and they end up with no MEPs, and no mandate to stop a Section 30 order.

17. Bob sinclair

Knife *or* fork operator I’d say. There’s no way she’s capable of multitasking at a knife *and* fork level.

18. HandandShrimp

One useful thing about the Brexit Party is it shows up the gammon levels in the Tory and Labour Parties. About a third for Labour and over half for the Tories. The SNP vote has not only held up it has increased.

How do the Tories and Labour square the gammon circle? Corbyn’s all things to all men is fooling no one.

19. Robert

OTT, but be aware that Andy Wightman is running a new crowdfunder to defend himself against libel accusations. He’s a good guy, and we need him!

20. jfngw

Will Ruth Davidson step down if her one policy is thoroughly rejected by the voters, or will she blame Westminster?

21. jfngw

Probably sent from her smart phone, the shame is Annie Wells probably thinks this is a definition of the user rather than the phone, ‘Ooh! a phone for smart people’.

22. Dr Jim

Why would anyone vote for the Liberal Democrats in the EU elections when they’re for less representation for Scotland in Europe, not more

The Lib Dems want to be in then immediately out again as soon as Westminster decides

23. Dan

Annie Wells is not just stupid, she is M&S stupid.

I’ve been working on an upgrade for Oor Annie to develop higher cognitive functioning.
    Currently have the jump leads from my car hooked up to a tin of Spam and there’s defo an improvement over her previously displayed baseline measurements.

24. winifred mccartney

Andy Wightman was one of the first to congratulate Kezia when she ‘won’ her court case. I too thought he was one of the good guys until that shock. He more than anyone knows that going up against the establishment is a minefield and fairness and justice have little to do with outcomes and that is why I was so surprised about his actions regarding Kezia – I hope it does not come back to bite him.

25. Bob Mack

Fudge must be the flavour of the month just now. Labour are immersed in it, and the Tories are bogged down in it completely.

I am used to politicians never giving a straight yes or no answer, but I find it difficult to interpret when they fudge on a fudge of a fudge.

This weekend in particular exemplified that very well.

26. Truth

A worthy successor to Ruth the Mooth when she gets her jotters.

27. Normski

We’ll probably need to wait until Monday morning, the count is on Sunday. 🙁

28. Breeks

When democratically elected Hitler became German Chancellor in January 1933, he transformed his democratic position into a dictatorship. He called an election – and taking advantage of the Reichstag fire – he got the Reichstag to pass the Enabling Act. Then, using populist rhetoric and the power this gave him to make his own laws, he set up the Gestapo, banned Trade Unions and opposition parties and (on the Night of the Long Knives, July 1934) removed even the opposition and the SA Brownshirts within the Nazi Party. When Hindenburg died, Hitler declared himself Fuhrer, and a former democracy was suddenly a dictatorship.

Maybe somebody can explain why our democratically elected MSP’s see nothing wrong in fixating upon a democratic benchmark as “democracy delivered” in perpetuity, wherein after democracy itself can be dispensed with. They are following the path of Hitler who merely used democracy as a means to secure enough power to dispense with the democracy which might have removed him from that power. Sound familiar Ruth Davidson?

We are a sovereign democracy, and any tin-pot politician and wannabe dictator who would deny our people access to democratic process should be impeached and thrown out of office for bringing Scotland’s democracy into disrepute.

What a shameful and hollow excuse for opposition we tolerate in Scotland. They lied, cheated, and orchestrated our defeat in 2014, but having “won”, determined the vote had settled the issue and need never be revisited, and further abandoned every pledge and promise made to dupe Scotland into voting No.

I have a message for you Ruth Davidson. If you want to make a name for yourself as a pro Union politician, why don’t you actually start making your case for the Union you support, win the argument, and respect Scotland’s democratic prerogative to consider Independence or Unionism on merit, rather than your despicable efforts to truncate Scotland’s democratic entitlements just to accommodate your shoddy and deeply flawed achievements secured by underhand means in 2014.

Take a look outside your bubble Ms Davidson. Your “victory” was a fraud, a meaningless “con”, in 2014 and it settled NOTHING.

29. Bobp

Dr jim 9.54am . Lol, spot on.

30. Bobp

Breeks 11.01am. Aye, there’s a fine line between democracy and fascism, so easy to cross over when you have a gullible and easily hoodwinked public .

31. Bobp

As ken500 would say, vote snp on thursday and nothing else. Send a strong message that Scotlands not for budging.

32. galamcennalath

Where do the Tories get these numpties from? Why? How?

Well, it seems they are carefully selected! None of this democratic, members voting nonsense. No, Tory candidates are appointed based on having the ‘right’ attributes!

So what could those attributes be? Have right wing views. Don’t think anything through. Don’t ask questions. Don’t answer questions. Be willing to regurgitate a few handed-down sound bites.

Anyone capbable of showing initiative, challenging Tory orthodoxy, questioning policies, or worse …. thinking and acting like a Scot …. is liable to ‘go native’ on them.

33. galamcennalath

Grouse Beater says:

If anybody is uncertain about EU membership for Scotland, keep in mind that for the first time in its history Ireland is now more powerful than England with 27 friendly nations minding its back!

You are spot on with that one.

Ireland calls the shots and England has no choice but to accept what’s handed down to it.

That, this the strongest argument for the EU I’ve seen. I will certainly be using it!

34. Portjim

I assume we won’t hear “no demand for another divisive referendum “ again, then?

35. Capella

We’re sure the Section 30 order will be in the post on Friday morning.

Indeed. That would be the democratic thing to do. Let’s see what happens in reality.

36. Peter McCulloch

@Breeks 20 May, 2019 at 11:01 am
    I agree with what you have say, however if I remember correctly from having read the book SS:alibi of a nation by Gerald Reitlinger, it was Herman Goering who created The Gestapo in east Prussia.

37. Abulhaq

I understand there was an old nationalist slogan which ran,
    “Scots are not British, We are European, We are Citizens of the World”
    We need to demonstrate that on thursday.
    Scotland is Stoked for Independence!

38. Jack collatin

Perhaps we should take a leaf out of Ruth Davidson’s Ruth Davidson’s Party book and vote SNP on Thursday, and vote often.
    She will of course do the honourable thing on Thursday if The Ruth Davidson candidates of the Ruth Davidson Hate Nicola No Appetite for another Independence Vote Party only mange 11%, and go off on Maternity Leave again.

39. Dr Jim

If Scotland has an Independence referendum and wins, the EU won’t be sending back the SNP MEPs to be immediately voted back in again by a rejoining Scotland, but all representatives of UK (England Wales and Northern Ireland) British parties would be coming back so what’s the point in Scotland voting for any of them

Voting for a candidate of a British party is a wasted vote even if you think you’re making an anti SNP protest, all you’re doing is wasting money on wages for people who aren’t supposed to be there and who’ll be back by as early as December, it’s just daft isn’t it?

The biggest daftness is the Brexit party, why on earth are people voting for a party who quite clearly are telling voters they don’t want to be there but please vote for them because they’d like to line their pockets with your money and do nothing but have a nice holiday

And people are falling for that? The world’s gone mad

40. Capella

Rather late in the day and Brit centred but still worth watching IMO. A short video on who really benefits from BREXIT narrated by Stephen Fry. 11 mins

http://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=5&v=_HDFegpX5gI

41. galamcennalath

Farage says he’s willing to have an ‘open debate’ about Scottish Independence.

Firstly, of course it’s a con to try to get some YES-Leavers.

However, bloody cheek! What concern is it of his? What debate could he contribute to? Indy is an issue for Scots to decide. English Nationalist arrogance and entitlement where their Greater England thinking means they want a say in our affairs.

42. Brian Cahill

She representatives the dire calibre of the Tory party. No integrity,no intelligence. Unelected parasite.

43. exile

O/T at http://www.channel4.com/news/ Ciaran Jenkins’ video report of 17/5/19 on “Ruth Davidson says she will go back to Theresa May over Prime Minister’s promise to advance LGBT rights in Northern Ireland”.

The video includes two clips of Ruth being interviewed. In the earlier clip she walks off camera just as Ciaran Jenkins puts another question to her. (I think that’s the interview that people have posted before.)

(Sorry, I can’t do links.)

44. Proud Cybernat

Plastic knife and fork operator.

45. Millsy

What are the Tory Party minders doing when they allow Annie Wells anywhere near a public statement ?
    I know they have to keep track of quite a few airheads ( Murdo , Jamie and ,of course, a 24 hour guard is needed on Ross Thomson ) but couldn’t they just put her in a round room and tell her to stand in the corner ?
    That would keep her occupied ’til the cows come home !

46. Capella

You do wonder what the rank and file are like if Annie Wells, Murdo Fraser, Adam Tomkins, Jamie Green, and Cearc’s favourite, Edward Mountain, are considered suitable MSP material.

47. Ken500

Will Wells ever be voted out because the Unionist Leslie Evans mucked up the electoral system in Scotland, without a mandate.

Letting these imbeciles in. The Tories going down big time. The end of the Party. Everyone has had enough of these total, useless incompetents.

Thank goodness for Rev Stu and the internet. To call them out. They are not fit for anything.

48. Ken500

Farage should be in prison. Once again getting investigated for non declared illegal donations. Protected by the Tory grandees. Illegal activities. Non accountable. Killing off people.

49. Welsh Sion

Capella @ 12.51 pm says:

You do wonder what the rank and file are like if Annie Wells, Murdo Fraser, Adam Tomkins, Jamie Green, and Cearc’s favourite, Edward Mountain, are considered suitable MSP material.
    ______

They’d be the ones falling over themselves wanting Boris Johnson as Leader and PM. Nuff sed.

50. Breeks

galamcennalath says:
    20 May, 2019 at 12:13 pm
    Farage says he’s willing to have an ‘open debate’ about Scottish Independence.

Farage said on the Marr Show that he wasn’t going to produce a mandate because mandates we’re always full of lies. So Farage is asking people to vote for him, with no mandate on anything other than “give me power”, with no responsibility, and the English are lapping it up.

An open debate with Farage? Meaningless and worthless,… and the debate wouldn’t be much good either.

51. Kenny

winifred mccartney says:
    20 May, 2019 at 10:39 am

Andy Wightman was one of the first to congratulate Kezia when she ‘won’ her court case. I too thought he was one of the good guys until that shock.
    Yup, I thought so too, however my wallet not being opened for this round of funding is doing the talking now.

52. Cubby

Grouse Beater@9.53am
    Galamcennalath@11.21am

A very important point that should be made more often. Particularly when speaking to don’t knows re Scottish independence but also for independence supporters that aren’t too keen on the EU.

53. jfngw

BBC currently working out how they can spin Tories coming fourth or fifth in Scotland as Ruth Davidson winning the election. Probably they will go with SNP not achieving over 50% so Davidson wins indyref argument.

54. Ken500

In Scotland the vast majority goes with EU support because Brexit will damage the world economy. The Brexiteers lied. Lied after lie after lie.

Illegal wars caused the worst migration crisis in Europe since the 11WW.

The migrants were abused then blamed for the abuse. The Brexiteer abusive losers. Criminals breaking International Law. The Westminster Unionist psycho bastard crooks. Abusing everyone to line their greedy pockets.

55. Luigi

jfngw says:
    BBC currently working out how they can spin Tories coming fourth or fifth in Scotland as Ruth Davidson winning the election. Probably they will go with SNP not achieving over 50% so Davidson wins indyref argument.

It’s going to be real fun watching the BBC trying to to fit the Scotttish-British nationalist circle into the English-English nationalist square over then ext few months.

The only way the tories can survive south of the border is to go full-hog English nationalist (with all that implies up here). Things may get really interesting after this week’s EU vote.

Man, what a time to be alive. 🙂

56. Ken500

Johnstone would not last a month as leader. His criminal activities would be exposed. He will never be leader. The Tories will see to that without any doubt. The Tories will be finished. Never be in Gov again after this total mess and fiasco. Labour are as bad. The Tories started it. Westminster beyond belief incompetence. A catastrophe. Appalling beyond belief.

57. jfngw

Rep Scot goes with ‘Edinburgh Council fail to rule out congestion charge’. But as far as I can tell there is not even a draft document so ‘Edinburgh Council refuse to rule out executing drivers’ is as equally true. Basically a headline made up out of nothing.

58. Clootie

What a dilemma for LibDem voters. Does their Party have a chance? Should they back them OR do they vote tactically for the Tories as usual.

Do the Tory voters vote Tory/Brexit/UKIP or even a tactical LibDem vote if they are Remainers.

Richard Leonard now pretending he will consider thinking about a People’s Vote ( a pathetic attempt to mislead his own Party voters and stop them voting LibDem)

Life is so difficult when you are a Unionist.

I think the people of Scotland come first – so I won’t be voting for ANY unionist party.

Looks like Thursday will be fun.

Correction: I used the term Tory when the correct terminology in Scotland is “The Ruth Davidson Party”. I have received a complaint from the BBC regarding their Mummy.

59. Col

So are European countries going to get behind the US in bombing Iran back to the stone age? They should have learned by now that the waves of migrants that will follow are going to feed right into the far right narrative and destabalize the EU even further. Should Europe start bombing Mexico and Canada to see how the US likes those consequences for its country

60. Lenny Hartley

Re Wightmam, maybe he can get a sub of his pal Kezia, i for one wont be supporting him.

61. Robert J. Sutherland

galamcennalath @ 12:13,

Too damn right. The last thing we need is to be Faragesplained.

62. Greannach

Maternity leave seems to have replaced the old “diplomatic illness” trick. Is the Colonel pregnant again yet?

63. CameronB Brodie

HandandShrimp
    “How do the Tories and Labour square the gammon circle?”

I’m not sure if you’re looking at this from the correct perspective. Tories tend to be natural gammons, as are a lot of Labour supporters in England. In order to gain power, Labour have to out-gammon the Tories. The Fabian Society have published studies of British Labour’s electoral predicament, which has been labeled Labour’s “southern discomfort”.

English culture is structurally racist. This is the colonial legacy that the full-English Brexit aims to whitewash.

64. Robert J. Sutherland

Clootie @ 13:50,

My heart bleeds for all these poor Britnats casting around for where to put their pointless vote.

Your last sentence though not only made me laugh, it also conjured up a rather unsettling vision. Boris Karloff revisited in full HD. Ruth Davidson stars in “The Curse of The Mummy”, coming to a television screen soon near you… =grin=

But if the election result delivers no Tory MEP here, as eagerly anticipated, her “No to indy” mantra will have truly turned to dust.

65. robertknight

An excellent tweet by yet another excellent Tory.

Replacement water buffalo all round I’d say, what-what!

66. JaMur

I see its that time of year just before an election when Gordon Brown gets wheeled oot to sprout total pish and frighten the auld yins with pension lies again.

67. Lenny Hartley

Hear Nigel gota pressie of a Milk Shake in Newcastle ?????

68. galamcennalath

Wonder if the milkshake was Belgian chocolate flavoured?

69. geeo

https://www.kennethgibson.org/single-post/2019/05/20/SNP-Call-on-BBC-to-Refer-Itself-to-OfCom

While the media zoomers fret over whether Farage being ‘milked” is attempted murder, the SNP have been busy telling the BBC to refer itself to OFCOM over the QT farce on Thursday.

Which story got covered (beyond the National) do we reckon ?

70. auld highlander

Looks like freaky farage got dive bombed by a squadron of low flying seagulls.

Bang on target but well worth another sortie I would say.

/www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hu9NVXtm6io

71. Clootie

Capella @11:57am

Excellent link. Thank you.
    I hope this gets read and forwarded a lot before Thursday.
    I’ve read the theory before but someone did a great job putting this clip together.

72. CameronB Brodie

OK, this one will hopefully indicate where I’m coming from, i.e. post-positivist social science and a pragmatic approach to International Relations. Or to put it another way, I’m a bit of a post-colonial feminist. It might also hint to why I lack confidence in providing my own theoretical synthesis, as I’m very, very rusty. Remember, International Relations theories set the tone for national politics and international development. They structure the world.

Interlocuting classical realism and critical theory:
    Negotiating ‘divides’ in international relations theory

Abstract

The history of the discipline of International Relations is usually narrated as a succession of theories that would pursue different ontologies and epistemologies and focus on different problems. This narrative provides some structure to a multifaceted field and its diverse discussions. However, it is also highly problematic as it ignores common problems, intersections and mutual inspirations and overemphasizes divides over eventual commonalities.

Rather than such overemphasis, we suggest instead negotiating between ‘IR theories’ and elaborating their shared foci and philosophies of science in order to provide new perspectives on and approaches to international politics. We here negotiate between the two theoretical movements of classical realism and critical theories that are typically treated as opposites, yet which nonetheless are characterized by shared concerns about political and social crises, modernity and humanity.

Keywords Classical realism, critical epistemology, critical theory, divides in IR theory, intellectual history

https://journals.sagepub.com/doi/full/10.1177/1755088216671735

73. galamcennalath

A similar claim being made by Labour, via BBC …. “Labour is the only party which can “stop a no-deal Brexit”, Scottish leader Richard Leonard has claimed.”

Eh?

74. Robert J. Sutherland

galamcennalath @ 16:34,

Ach, it’s what these outrageous twisters don’t say that is the giveaway. Labour can only “stop” a “no-deal” Brexit by conniving with the Tories to produce a “with-deal” Brexit.

Which will be economically and socially damaging anyway. But the Cartel must prevail. And to hell with Scotland’s clear preference for no Brexit at all.

75. Dr Jim

Alex Cole Hamilton just found out the SNP want Independence

I’m astonished!

76. call me dave

Flocking hell!

Prof Curtis on radio shortbread with a sombre voice telling us that in Scotland voters flocking to the SNP for Thursday.

Could be a record vote with both Tory & ‘Scots’ Labour losing ground. 🙂

Brexit party almost sure to get 1 seat. 🙁

Farage…shurley schome milkshake!

77. Robert Louis

I see the man who promised Scotland the most powerful devolviest parliament in the world, and as close to federalism as possible, in the infamous ‘vow’ in 2014, has re-surfaced yet again.

Not happy with having utterly lied to and misled people in Scotland during indyref, leading to us being forcibly dragged out of the EU against our wishes, he’s decided to impart us with more of his ‘wisdom’.

This time he is warning that the SNP are planning an even harder version of independence. Aside from the fact that you are either independent or not (like a light switch is either on or off), the SNP pushing for an ‘even harder’ form of independence is a very good thing.

Honestly, Gordon (britin, britin, britin) Brown really talks nonsense. He should retire peacefully, and enjoy his later years of life, rather than making a fool of himself in these silly ‘interventions’. Nobody cares Gordon, Nobody freaking well cares.

78. Clootie

Curtis hoping to create a “why bother” atmosphere hoping that SNP voters stay at home.
    Get out and vote. Remember the Tories will vote and vote often

79. Robert Peffers

Hi Wingers. Anyone wondering if I’d popped my clogs I haven’t. It was my laptops keyboard that had several of its keys that refused to work and refused all attempts at repairs. So I was left no other option than to buy a plug-in keyboard but couldn’t go on-line to order one. So I got a friend to order one for me and it took several days to arrive.

It’s more standard than the built in keyboard and the keys are bigger and clunkier than the laptop’s soft touch keys so will probably last better but will need a bit of getting used to.

80. Welsh Sion

As Plaid Cymru take a 5% lead over Labour (for 2nd place) in the latest Euro poll …

This morning, Hywel Ceri Jones announced that he has left the Labour Party and joined Plaid Cymru.

Hywel is well known as a founder of the Erasmus programme and former high-ranking European Commission official. But he is also a long-standing Labour Party member and has been one of the Welsh Government’s key advisors on European matters for the past 20 years.

Hywel has now left Labour over its Brexit policy – or lack thereof. He has joined Plaid Cymru.

Here’s what he said in today’s Western Mail:

“[Plaid Cymru] is unambiguously supporting a second public vote on Brexit, and is spelling out the downsides of any form of Brexit. Plaid Cymru is making the powerful case to remain an active member of the EU, pressing also for significant reform of the EU as well as of the UK itself.”

Additionally, the Chair of Wales for Europe, Geraint Talfan Davies, has written a blog on the Wales for Europe website, in which he says that a vote for Plaid Cymru is the most effective option on Thursday.

Here’s what he said:

“In Wales Plaid Cymru, Liberal Democrats, the Green Party and Change UK will vie for the votes of Labour’s defectors, but the anti-Brexit arithmetic, as well as the need to shock Labour’s leadership into a more courageous course, means that a vote for Plaid Cymru is the one that will have the most effect.”

From the poll:

Overall, if support for the ‘hard Brexit’ parties (Brexit Party plus Ukip) is compared with the unambiguously pro-Remain parties (Plaid, the Lib Dems, Change UK and the Greens), the poll suggests the two sides are very evenly balanced in Wales with 38% planning to vote for parties endorsing a hard Brexit and 39% for those favouring the UK remaining in the EU.

81. call me dave

Hi Mr Peffers. 🙂

82. msean

I am just wondering if the same tory strategy that kept them from finishing 3rd or 4th for a while,can actually be used for any election. Can any one person tell me how a vote for the Ruth party in the EU election will say no to a referendum?

Also(lol) do we now count the brexit party as a possible Indy party? 🙂

83. Robert Louis

As an aside, I’ve been watching what Davidson has been up to, and I have to say, I do think she has now overplayed the ‘stop indyref’ patter. She has been using it since 2014, over and over and over again – even when their was no sign of an indyref.

The problem is that such a message becomes tired and eventually irrelevant. It becomes ‘ignorable’.

I genuinely think that if she ran with that at the next GE, it would backfire for her. Oh, of course it attracted some racist unionist votes last time around, but by over-using it, Davidson has removed its impact. Come the next GE, it would be a bit like ‘oh no not that again’. I really think it won’t work anymore.

What might be interesting would be to see if their really is any substance to Davidson. Does she actually have the ability to work through properly costed new policies applicable to Scotland?

I doubt it. I think very shortly, folks will start to realise what pro indy folk have said from the beginning, that she is just a one trick pony. Their is no substance at all. She has the talk but can not walk the walk. Her constant nonsense about wanting to be the next FM of Scotland has large smatterings of arrogance about it, and let’s be honest, their is more chance of me being the next human to set foot on the sea of tranquility, than Davidson ever being FM.

84. Robert Louis

Welsh sion at 618pm,

That is very interesting news indeed. I wonder if any more Labour folk will jump ship to Plaid. I like their new leader, a very smart man, with the right background to be FM of Wales.

85. frogesque

O/t

Petrol bombing is indiscriminate and potentially deadly. It is abhorrent in any situation.

The harshest penalties must be applied to the perpetrators regardless of their reasons.

86. Gordie

Ha ha, Welsh Sion. You are quite right of course, fcking barking.

87. jfngw

The Tory election leaflet is infatuated with the SNP & Nicola Sturgeon, I can somehow just see Ruth Davidson standing in the middle of the road with a poster of N.Sturgeon just hollering:-

‘Look, you fools, you’re in danger! Can’t you see?! They’re after you! They’re after all of us! Your wives, your children, everyone! THEY’RE HERE, ALREADY! YOU’RE NEXT!’

88. Gordie

Just noticed your other post. Genius news for Plaid. Fingers are well and truly crossed for as big a vote as possible there.

89. Odet

Welcome back Mr Peffers, you’ve been missed (smiley thing)

90. Robert J. Sutherland

Robert Louis @ 18:20,

I agree, and I think we should give Nicola her due for playing it cool in the meantime. This strategy is making the Little Corporal, returning to the fray after her leave of absence, looking more and more like an obsessive party bore.

91. Tam fae somewhere

Welsh Sion,

Looking good! C’mon Wales…..

92. jfngw

@Roret Louis

Labour are at it, they want to put implant the idea that independence is the same as Brexit, first float the idea of Remain/Leave on the ballot paper, then look how difficult leaving a union is, now it is ‘hard independence’. It’s not too subtle.

93. Effijy

Oh No sounds like another University post will be required for Wells.
    Her we’ll certainly doesn’t run deep. Who on earth would employ her
    When she gets kicked out.
    Half whit is probably a compliment that she’d take.

If Annie’s I Q represented a Lottery prize there wouldn’t be enough to buy another ticket.

I’m shocked and horrified to see that Milk Shake thrown over Nigel Farage.
    It looked vey like a plastic straw in the lid. Where are the paper straws?

Can you believe Westminster establishment auditing the Brexit Party’s accounts when
    The Tories are rotten with Dark Money? What a nerve.
    Let’s hope both parties are sharing a cell soon.

94. call me dave

jfngw

LOL! Great film that 1950s version.

Don’t fall asleep on Wednesday night folks! 🙂

95. CameronB Brodie

This is also where I’m coming from.

Towards a cultural political economy:
    Putting culture in its place in political economy

Abstract

This fascinating volume offers a critique of recent institutional and cultural turns in heterodox economics and political economy. Using seven case studies as examples, the authors explore how research on sense- and meaning-making can deepen critical studies in political economy, illuminating its role in critiquing the specific categories, contradictions and crisis-tendencies of capitalism.

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/322465202_Towards_a_cultural_political_economy_Putting_culture_in_its_place_in_political_economy

96. Dan

When did milkshakes officially become the object to hurl as a political protest?
    How about a return to the good old days of Tiswas and something with just a little more substance.

I’d be in XTC if folk started Making Flans for Nigel!

Ok, I’ll get my coat…

97. jfngw

@call me dave

Have you not yet received your SNP PODcast!

98. Hamish100

milkshakes dangerous!! This why MacDonald’s don’t do caramel sundaes- it attaches to the clothes.

I think Police Scotland should confirm what drinks and sundries are banned while Farage is around? I hope he handed his cigarettes in at the border– they cause cancer you know.

Taking if further if someone sings sectarian songs, do Nazi salutes the Police do nothing. Take a slug off irn bru and ice cream (with a cocktail spoon) you’e off to the pokey.

99. Liz g

Robert Peffers @ 6.17
    Hi Robert, glad you’re ok.
    We were beginning to worry so it’s good to hear that it was keyboard issues keeping you away..
    How have you been keeping?

100. galamcennalath

jfngw says:

look how difficult leaving a union is

Yes, being floated already and that will be one of BT2’s big arguments for IR2. Along with the ‘UK single market’.

The crazy thing is …. leaving the EU is incredibly simple and straightforward.

The problem the Tories have is they want to keep Northern Ireland in the same customs zone as the rest of the UK, while international treaties dictate that it must stay close to the EU. AND, they realise if they accept NI close to the EU, Scotland will want the same.

That’s not the way the MSM have been presenting it, but it’s the truth.

England can get out of the EU with no complications, any time. And then get whatever future trade arrangements they want from an off the shelf selection. Easy peasy. The difficulty comes by trying to keep the UK together at the same time. Which is impossible.

101. ronnie anderson

http://www.facebook.com/jim.cook.14268769/posts/2472078019477525

Farage is like the rock penguin on the bottom shelf that the rest of the colony has shat on lol.

102. ronnie anderson

http://www.facebook.com/bill.mcglen/posts/136572347491647

Legitimate defence lol.

103. Terry callachan

The tories in Scotland are not worried about losing the EU election in Scotland they lost the brexit vote massively in Scotland and just ignored it with the help of BBC and STV and the newspapers who all told us we are just a region and it’s only the total UK outcome that matters.
    They will say the same again.
    They want out of the EU so losing seats at the EU table in this election will be spun as unimportant.

Labour will mirror what the tories say and point out that getting the right brexit deal will not be achieved through winning seats in the EU elections.

Lib Dem’s , well they will just say whatever is likely to get them more power even if it means betraying their supporters, what’s new ?

Farage and co are disliked by everyone in Scotland but the brexiters from 2016 will probably choose to support him because they hate the EU and hate foreigners , to some of them us Scots are foreigners !

Playing dirty from here, that’s the name of the game for the British nationalists ramping up their English nationalism insulting and attacking the Irish and Scotland and joining in the USA antagonistic behaviour towards China Russia Iran and the EU the way they see it is you are either with them or against them you have no rights deserving of respect.

104. CameronB Brodie

And a little bit more International Relations Theory, aimed at highlighting the illiberal nature of contemporary British nationalism (see the full-English Brexit).

Symposia. Pragmatism and the Social Sciences: A Century of Influences and Interactions, vol.2
    Section II. Law, Power, and the Prospects of a Pragmatist Social Theory

Pragmatism and International Relations

Résumé

The discipline of International Relations [IR] is experiencing a pragmatist turn. Here I will argue that this is a critical moment to take stock and reflect on where it is heading. First, in order to understand what pragmatism might bring to IR as a social science today, it is important to examine the history of IR and explain why pragmatism appears not to have registered in its past.

Why have the contributions of Wiliam James and, especially, John Dewey apparently disappeared from the early history of the field? Secondly, having examined what the problem was before, I go on to argue that the opportunity that exists today for pragmatism to influence the field is constructed upon its critique of empiricist epistemology, its scope for bridging plural methods, and the broadening of our understanding of what international relations is, opening the range of possible ontological claims which the discipline finds necessary at this time.

https://journals.openedition.org/ejpap/777

105. Robert J. Sutherland

Effijy @ 18:49,

German TV recently screened an exposé of the leader of the ultra-right Freedom Party coalition partners in Austria with a video of him being willing to take dosh from a (fake) Russian oligarch for “considerations”. It has caused the government there to fall.

One wonders why no media outfit in this country has ever attempted to likewise throw light on the dark money takers of the DUP, the Tory Party and the Faragistes. We could well do with some of that. Instead all we get is El Gordo grumbling from his crypt.

106. galamcennalath

Robert J. Sutherland says:

TV … caused the government there to fall … One wonders why no media outfit in this country has ever attempted to likewise throw light on the dark money takers

Indeed. While I’m no believe in any lost golden age, I do think in the past there were TV investigative programmes which did serious exposés. Dispatches, World in Action, even Panorama which now seems a tame vestige of the past hard hitter.

There seems little like that now. The broadcast media now appear to see their role as watching politicians’ backs, rather than holding them to account. The UK as seen huge electoral transgressions associated with Brexit, yet on one in authority or with the power to expose seems to care.

107. Robert Peffers

@Liz g says: 20 May, 2019 at 7:18 pm:

” … Hi Robert, glad you’re ok.
    We were beginning to worry so it’s good to hear that it was keyboard issues keeping you away..
    How have you been keeping?”

A lot better since I bought the Electric Trike. My GP nearly had a fit when I told him I’d taken up cycling.

He calmed down when I explained how road legal electric cycles work and that the effort needed goes from just being able to turn the pedals to not getting any electric assistance at all.

Strangely enough I have a lot less pain cycling than I do walking and surprisingly right from the start I noticed a great improvement with back pain and my ease of movement. So an expensive venture but so far well worth the costs. I suppose just getting out in the fresh air helps too.

Anyway I’m not daft enough to try to overdo things. Among the other things I have Angina. Probably due to not being able to get much exercise in the past in the first place.

108. jfngw

Not one of the Broadcasters in Scotland has even attempted addressing the issue of Scotland’s EU vote in any serious way, they are happy to parrot the ‘it was a UK vote’ line.

But if the converse had happened and Scotland’s vote had overturned England’s you can be sure there would have been endless programmes about why England’s wishes were not being represented.

The MSM have totally failed Scotland, but they don’t care because in essence they are not Scottish broadcasters.

109. CameronB Brodie

re. magic grandpa, Jeremy Corbyn, and the demise of British Labour. The wrong man in the wrong place at the wrong time. His ideological opposition to the EU has coincided with the evolution of a political (white) English cultural identity, which is rejected by most reasonable people. He’s opposed to the neo-liberalism of the EU, but has chosen to advance his case by appeasing right-wing extremism. racism and political criminality in the UK. He has wasted the opportunity of the full-English Brexit, to advance a ‘socialist’ cause of international justice. The very essence of neo=liberalism. That’s English socialist for you, a bunch of hopeless “utilitarians”, i.e. narrow minded, authoritarian, moralists. Same as the Tories.

110. Dr Jim

Panorama in a few moments is about to expose the vile and terrible practices of Britains most successful food industry Scotland’s farmed Salmon and how nobody should ever eat it because blah blah blah Scotland Scotland Scotland, immediately before a EU election

Coincidence? bound to be isn’t it?

111. CameronB Brodie

Darn, I meant JC’s support for the full-English Brexit is the very essence of neo-liberalism, which is a mode of thinking as much as anything else. I’m aware of the left-wing argument that the EU immigration policy is racist, but I do not consider that to be a realistic position. It is more idealistic, IMHO, and undermines the potential to achieve global social equity.

112. Robert Peffers

@Terry callachan says: 20 May, 2019 at 7:36 pm:

” … The tories in Scotland are not worried about losing the EU election in Scotland they lost the brexit vote massively in Scotland and just ignored it with the help of BBC and STV and the newspapers who all told us we are just a region and it’s only the total UK outcome that matters.”

Well, Terry, it seems, like the unionists, you don’t do psychology. The effect upon thrawn Scots of telling them that they are just an English/British region will be very effective – in convincing many previous soft union supporting Scots that it is time for independence.

The best way to get a Scot to do something hard to do is to tell them it cannot be done.

113. Scot Finlayson

Football and politics,

in House of Commons
    ?

@PARLYapp
    4m4 minutes ago
    More
    There’s a fittingly joyous atmosphere in the chamber as MPs debate the career and legacy of Scottish and Celtic footballer Billy McNeill

114. Dan

Aye, good to see you back Robert.
    I lurked for a long time and very much appreciate the effort you and your fellow contributors put in btl to informing myself and others on matters pertaining to the Union and other Scottish history that was so lacking from my educational curriculum at school.

I can also vouch for the benefits of cycling helping out back pain. As an engineer, I do a lot of physical graft, and even though I think of myself as strong with lifting engines and gearboxes, lifting all the time can create a muscular imbalance that ends up canting the pelvis leading to bad posture and for me a propensity to back pain.
    Used to be a couple of times a year I’d tweak my back into spasm and it’d be a month of chronic pain and weakness that no pain killers would shift.
    Started mountain biking around 5 years ago which built up core muscles and helped equalise the muscle imbalance and corrected my posture.
    Haven’t had a twinge of back pain since.

Do you ever fancy attending one of the Indy marches now that you have the trike?
    I’d be happy to assist if you felt like it. I help out a few folk with mobility issues so see firsthand the limitations that mobility impairment can have.
    The offer is there should you wish.

115. Bobp

Dr jim. So the norwegian salmon farming industry is more tightly regulated in norway. I wonder why not in scotland seeing as MOWI Are a norwegian company. Different regs obviously. But the sublime message scotland shite as usual.

116. CameronB Brodie

And a bit more International Relations Theory to help strengthen the CORE of my argument, i.e. that the legal personality of the Scottish national/resident should be privileged over the assumed legal personality of the British state. 😉

The state as person in international theory

Abstract

To say that states are ‘actors’ or ‘persons’ is to attribute to them properties we associate first with human beings – rationality, identities, interests, beliefs, and so on. Such attributions pervade social science and International Relations (IR) scholarship in particular. They are found in the work of realists, liberals, institutionalists, Marxists, constructivists, behaviouralists, feminists, postmodernists, international lawyers, and almost everyone in between.

To be sure, scholars disagree about which properties of persons should be ascribed to states, how important state persons are relative to other corporate persons like MNCs or NGOs, whether state persons are a good thing, and whether ‘failed’ states can or should be persons at all. But all this discussion assumes that the idea of state personhood is meaningful and at some fundamental level makes sense. In a field in which almost everything is contested, this seems to be one thing on which almost all of us agree.

https://www.cambridge.org/core/journals/review-of-international-studies/article/state-as-person-in-international-theory/63946D947E4D5E5CA922BA76ABD779B7

117. CameronB Brodie

Full text for the geeks out there. 🙂

The state as person in international theory
    https://www.researchgate.net/publication/231965509_The_State_as_Person_in_International_Theory

118. Dr Jim

@Bobp 9:01pm

Yeah, apparently Salmon *die* in captivity then we remove the good ones and *kill* them to eat (choice of words there)

More regulation’s good but this wasn’t what this Panorama was about, it was about anonymous blacked out actor voiced whistleblowers and interviewees without names or titles pointing at the sea with unpleasant looks and dishing out warnings of gloomdom

New technology’s coming in all the time to improve the methods which they showed about 15 seconds of, but let’s not focus on that let’s show fish with sea lice on them

119. call me dave

EU Election post. Worth a look.

http://scotgoespop.blogspot.com/

120. CameronB Brodie

And one to highlight how the “State as Person in International Theory” view, can undermine the potential for marginalised peoples to secure access to human rights.

Universal Ethics and Elite Politics:
    The Limit of Normative Human Rights Theory

http://www.davidchandler.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/IJHR-Universal-Ethics.pdf

121. Bobp

Dr jim, yes and most of those salmon with lice were wild ones. But hey lets not let that get in the way if a good scottish food sh**e/suspect story.

122. Ken500

Mr Peffers welcome back.

That electric bike seems interesting. It might give a lot of folk some idea for exercising.

123. Jockanese Wind Talker

The Tories apparently have higher standards than British Labour in Scotland!!

https://web.archive.org/save/https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2019/may/20/tory-party-suspends-michael-heseltine-for-backing-lib-dems

“Tory party suspends Michael Heseltine for backing Lib Dems”

“As a result, the chief whip in the House of Lords has informed Lord Heseltine that he will have the Conservative whip suspended. This will be reviewed if he is willing to support Conservative candidates at future elections.”

Don’t remember Kezia “The Defamer” Dugfail having the whip removed for telling voters to cast their ballot for the Tories to beat SNP in the 2017 GE.

124. Iain mhor

Re: Scottish farmed salmon – it’s a fekn environmental disaster, there is no getting around that.
    Scotland is indeed failing its wild fisheries and waters terribly. The gauntlet wild salmon must run to their natal rivers is horrendous, the bad news story is more than merited for once.

I’d ask anyone to not bury their heads about the issue. Its big business though; Norway has a horrendous record of disease and death of wild salmonids in their rivers and fjords. They were and are being forced (to a small degree) to clean up their act in Norway – so a lot of business in the past set up in Scotland, where no-one in government gives a fuck so long as the lovely shekels roll in and its not the Dee or the Spey. Fuck the West coast though, The farms can hide out there from.prying eyes and at least it stops any West-coast salmon rivers taking rents from the Dee or the Spey eh? Not many fish farms on that side of Scotland…

But that’s little different to Norway. It’s a huge and powerful business. Everywhere it touches, brings death, disease and impacts terribly on wild salmon stock. Anyway, that’s a failing of every government, but doesn’t excuse our current one.

Peeble them wi stanes when they’re no guid bairns, as weel laud them fur their guid wark.

125. Robert Peffers

@Dan says: 20 May, 2019 at 8:49 pm:

” … Do you ever fancy attending one of the Indy marches now that you have the trike?
    I’d be happy to assist if you felt like it. I help out a few folk with mobility issues so see firsthand the limitations that mobility impairment can have.
    The offer is there should you wish.”

It is a very nice thought, Dan, but I have much more than just mobility to worry about. I typed you a more detailed reply then hit the wrong key on this new keyboard and it vanished – who knows where?

To sum up what I said – I drive a wee camper van that has the support I need and can carry my electric mobility scooter. It would, at a pinch take the trike, (which can fold), and even charge it via an inverter/charger system. Trouble is I better not chance being too far from home just yet. On the bright side I’ve taken matters into my own hands now and already there are improvements. I believe my GP now thinks I’m doing the right thing now.

When I told him I had taken up cycling his face was a picture to be seen but when I explained how road legal electrically assisted bikes/trikes work he was very interested and made me promise not to even think of overdoing it.

Anyway, thank you again for the kind offer but I’d best stay closer to home for a while yet.

126. Welsh Sion

JWT @ 10.01 pm

But … Has Widders had the whip removed for joining the Brexit Party? I think not. (Unionist Hypocrisy at work Example 439)

127. Lenny Hartley

Re Salmon, never watched the program as wont watch BBC however i would like to say yes its the wild salmon that get attacked by the huge increase in sea lice near the fish farm cages, the farmed salmon are treated with chemicals so the sea lice which are attracted to the cages latch onto any passing wild fish. Gotto to say its painful, not that im claiming in a past life I was a wild salmon. However once I was on a wee cruise ship touring amongst the Islands to the west of Fiji, once a week our “ship” would call into a remote seawater cavern , the company that ran the cruises were the only folk allowed to access this cavern, so every Wednesday a couple of dozen pink bodies would go swimming in the incredibily clear water, the resident sea lice were waiting patiently for their weekly meal so after a swim i rested by sitting on a rock with my legs in the water, i started feeling like cleggs were biting my legs, when i got back to the ship i counted over thirty sea lice on my legs, it was not pleasant!

128. Lenny Hartley

Iain Mhor well said re Salmon Farms, they are an environmental disater, aside from the issues you highlight regarding wild Salmon and Sea Trout stocks, their food is sourced from sand eels, sand eels are a mainstay of the diets of many fish and seabirds such as Puffins, Unsustainable hoovering up of Sand Eels to support the industry making fish pellets for Salmon Fish Farms have had and continue to have an adverse effect on the whole marine eco system.
    A south African company is developing a synthetic fish feed, hopefully that will take the pressure off the sand eel population going forward, however it will not reduce the other issues surrounding Salmon Farming.

129. Dan

@Robert at 10:21pm

Ok, I understand where you are coming from. Hoping your health continues to improve, and the offer still stands.
    Last year I helped a lass get to and round the Sirling march on her mobility scooter. It was certainly hilly but with some discreet pushing on the uphill sections to save charge we completed the full distance.
    As we finally rolled into Bannockburn field the charge in the scooter was gone.
    We had a laugh and joked that AUOB stood for All Under One Battery!
    We were organised enough to have a second battery on a trolley with us so we wouldn’t get caught out.

130. David P

STV holding an EU election debate!

10/10 for supporting democracy, by scrutinising the lead candidates of the parties.

131. jfngw

Ian Blackford on Newsnight for EU elections interview but all they wanted to talk about was Holyrood. Maybe the BBC has a problem understanding Ian Blackford is not a MSP.

It looks like they had been sent a Ruth Davidson crib sheet for the questions. Just the usual stream of negative questions that the interviewer obviously had no idea about, her research seems to have been to read the crib sheet.

Here is the level of one question ‘is the SNP a Remain or an Independence party’. It never really got any better than that.

132. Dan

Re. Salmon. I was watching a documentary about the possible next iteration of fish farming. It used huge cages that just floated around in the open ocean far offshore so it had less of an impact than inshore farming practices.
    Was also speaking to a lad last week that was working in Norway where they are developing better practices of treating the salmon for lice.

The UK across so many industries always seems to be stuck in the free market short term quick buck business model and to hang with the consequences.
    We need to do better than that.

133. HandandShrimp

Just watched Ian Blackford on Newsnight. Not sure what the point of the interview was. The interviewer repeated the usual BBC guff about the SNP administration in order to try and get Ian on the back foot. Cod journalism? It gave Ian the opportunity to list achievements and I would award it to Ian on points as he refused to be flustered and the interviewer ran out of steam. However, it was a waste of time when there is so much to discuss about Thursday’s vote. The issues raised had no bearing on Remain or Leave or the future arrangements with the EU.

I trust Tory or Labour politicians will be asked similar domestic performance questions in relation to the EU vote….ha ha ha

134. Robert Peffers

@Ken500 says: 20 May, 2019 at 9:45 pm:

” … That electric bike seems interesting. It might give a lot of folk some idea for exercising.”

Yes, Ken500, they really are great. BTW: in my case it is a trike as I have balance problems. It is also often described as a, Cargo Trike with a large wire basket on the back and a smaller basket on the front. So ideal for shopping.

As for running costs you can get between 20 and 30 miles on a charge, (using electric assist but more if only using electric when on hills, and a charge costs just pennies.

The thing about the road legal electric assisted bikes/trikes is that you have to peddle or they don’t go. However, if you are not strong enough you only need to keep the peddles turning but need not put any effort into it.

There are several normal type gears and several settings for the amount of electric power assistance you want. Some machines also have a twist throttle but this only helps weaker cyclists moving off. The throttle will only move the cyclist to 3.5MPH. The top speed with electric assistance is 15.5 MPH but after that the electric assist cuts out but the cyclist can then peddle as fast as they are able.

All in all you get whatever electric assistance you need and set the controls for. Mind you as you have a small hub motor and a battery to add to the machine’s weight they are a little heavier than a standard machine used without electric assist.

Another factor is they, like any cycle, have their limitations on very steep climbs but still do provide some electric assist but do not expect them to fly up really steep hills without great peddle effort.

On the other hand, as I found out the other day, when I deliberately planned to attempt a local steep climb, I found I either had to get off and walk up the hill, (using the throttle control to move the trike), or choose a longer, less steep route home.

On the good side that longer route back home was of no consequence as I had electric power to stop me getting over tired peddling on the longer route home. Just used the mechanical gears and kept the peddles moving when feeling tired.

So there you go – its cheaper on electric than on diesel, you get exercise, its kinder to the environment and is really most enjoyable.

135. Mary miles

From Tassie:

So glad to hear you are ok Robert (Peffers). I do enjoy your posts and they are always one of the first I look for when I come on line.

Take care you are a star for Scottish Independence!

136. Jock McDonnell

Dear Lord, yet another unprecedented intervention by the Great Helmsman & right on cue HM BBC want to talk about Holyrood issues, read straight from a SLAB press release. They got nothing, nothing.

More interestingly there’s a 5 part series on Thatcher. Would you believe it, she actually won a General Election, yes, a General Election victory amongst the mountain of bin-bags, when Scottish Labour’s self-pitying victimhood promotes the fable that she was appointed by Willie Wolfe.

137. Meg merrilees

I love the way the BBC are announcing all day ( warning) that the Brexit party will be investigated for it’s record of donations tomorrow – by which time their records will, of course, be impeccable.

Why didn’t they just go in, unannounced, to ask to see the files?

Who would have realised Brexit would have descended into this much of a farce.

And now the prospect of Boris Johnson leading the UK – I almost find myself saying even Michael Gove would be better than Boris but I don;t really mean it!!!

Glad all ok Mr. Peffers. More power to your keyboard!

138. jfngw

@meg merrilees

It a bit like choosing between Tiberius, Caligula or Claudius for Tory party leader.

139. jfngw

It’s a bit interesting the BBC pull a Have I Got News For You episode because they feel it is inappropriate to broadcast during an election but have no qualms with a one hour Tory propaganda piece on Margaret Thatcher that could easily been delayed for a week.

140. CameronB Brodie

Dan
    I’ve watch a similar/same report on deep-water salmon farming.

141. Mike cassidy

The pulling of ‘Have I Got News For You’ was on the grounds that you couldn’t have just one party represented

Would have made an interesting episode if they had balanced it.

The dodgy child of Gammon Time and The News Quiz chaired by Frankie Boyle!

And given Thatcher’s legacy in Scotland, it’s a bit of an own goal to start a four part history just before an election

142. Dan

@CameronB Brodie at 11:40 pm

Salmon will become passé. So here’s some new innovative industries to get in early on.

Business No.1: Seal meat and fur jackets and hats. There’s freakin reams of seals! I spent days sea fishing and caught nowt. There were hunners of grey seals and cubs expanding their colony along the coast.
    Apparently grey seals can grow to near 700lb and eat 5% of their body weight in fish each day. That’s a lot of fish getting eaten. Maybe not a lot in the entirety of Scotland’s huge sea area, but surely it has an effect locally. I guess the seals are there because there are currently fish, but is that sustainable in a local context?

Business No.2 Selling stylish clip on your belt tea infusers to the Woke and Green voters. Tea bags are made out of either plastic or cotton fibre so using either is bad, m’kay.
    You’re either part of the solution or part of the precipitate.

Business No.3 Buy up old baccy pouches on the cheap coz smokin analogue cigs is no longer the done thing in our digital world. Sell on those baccy pouches as personal retro tea leaf storage splookans to the Woke and Green voters so they can make and sup tea when oot n’ aboot.
    They be mighty dapper with top eco cred points too.

143. Robert Peffers

@Mary miles says: 20 May, 2019 at 11:25 pm:
    From Tassie:
    … So glad to hear you are ok Robert (Peffers). I do enjoy your posts and they are always one of the first I look for when I come on line.”

As my family always said, “Robin could talk for Scotland … and usually does”

Which Family, BTW, mostly left for your side of the World in the 1960s. There is probably more Peffers’ in Australia. New Zealand and of course, Tassie than there is in Scotland now.

Some years ago I was reading up on the family tree from as far back as they could be traced. There were a few missing bits where the search had just reached a dead end and I had a go at tracing the missing bits.

One such was a person named Christian Peffers who had just disappeared apparently of the face of the Earth and after much research I picked up the trail. This was in the days of, “The Clearances. These were not confined to the Highlands but they used a different method in the Lowlands and Southern Uplands.

This was when farms and estates had tied cottages for farm worker couples and bothies for unmarried males and females, (kitchies), were housed in the attics of, “The Big Hoose”.

As their living quarters were tied to their jobs and once a year they had, “feein oan merkets”, when the farmers and estate owners loaded the workers onto farm carts with their goods and chattels in Pluckies Kists, (Ploughman’s Chests), and deposited them at the market to be fee’d on.

However, if they did not get fee’d on, they were picked up by the local police and charged under The Vagrancy Acts with, “Having no visible means of support”, and were subject to be sent to the Work House, Poor House or Transportation to the colonies.

After lots of on-line searching I discovered a, Christian Peffers of exactly the right age who had been transported to the Colonies from the court in Edinburgh. Now the information came from a ships manifest that detailed, the crew and the cargo and it was a prison ship bound for Australia. Not only did it detail the prisoners by name and date of birth but it gave their crime and their sentence.

However, there were a few who were neither crew or prisoner and it took a lot of research to find out these few were mostly subject to the Vagrancy Act and had fairly light sentences.

Further research showed that prisoners sentences were to be, “Apprenticed”, to established people in the Colonies, (basically unpaid slaves), but some, Including, Christian Peffers”, were free upon reaching the colonies but served their sentence as Warders in charge of the actual criminals on the ship during the voyage.

Upon arrival these warders were free to stake a claim and either work it for minerals or, if they built a home on the claim and farmed it, got to retain the claim.

The last trace I could find of Christian Peffers was of, “probably”, leaving Australia for Tassie as a free man but I could never find anything about if he got there or not. He had just vanished from the face of the Earth.

144. CameronB Brodie

Dan
    If I was wearing my environmental scientist hat, I could possibly see my way to commending you on creating ‘innovative’ business ideals around the three Rs of sustainability, i.e. reduce, re-use, recycle. 😉

145. CameronB Brodie

Ideas not ideals.

146. Cubby

Scotland Tonight.

EU election debate by candidates.

A lot of low flying jimmies debating the EU election. The lowest flyer was the Tory – if she flew any lower she could cut my lawn. Worth watching the Tory carcrash – only if you want a laugh – you certainly won’t learn anything from this useless MEP. No Tory manifesto – then why are you standing for election – “the Tories are the only party standing on principle ” she says LOL Dark money Question – not qualified to comment says Tory. Who are you supporting to be leader of the Tories? The winner. The winner will be good. Hilarious.

The change UK candidate couldn’t answer what they want to change in Scotland. LOL

Vote SNP the party that thinks Scotland. That thinks Scottish independence. That is competent.

147. Petra

WGD:- ‘Spoilt for choice.’

”Nicola Sturgeon has suggested that she’s in favour of something that this blog has been arguing for a while. That is, even if by some miracle the UK manages to avoid Brexit, Scotland should still hold another independence referendum. Speaking on the Andrew Marr Show on BBC1 yesterday she said that “all of the experience of the past three years” and the very real prospect of Boris Johnson as Prime Minister mean that Scotland ought to have another independence referendum.”..

..”Remember the dancing Westminster MPs, their smug grins, their gloating faces, as the result of the independence referendum was announced. They thought that Scotland was trapped, was quiescent, was returning to passivity, was going to be buried by the cringe. They thought that it was back to business as usual. They were wrong. The new business as usual in Scotland is a Scotland that knows how to assert itself. We will hold them to account.”

https://weegingerdug.wordpress.com/2019/05/20/spoilt-for-choice/

………………..

‘SNP Leader Nicola Sturgeon’s interview on The Andrew Marr Show.’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G82yy0FbK_s

148. Pete

Welsh Simon 10.23
    Ann Widdecombe was never knighted and therefore does not sit in the Lords.
    Get your facts correct!!

149. Patrick Roden

@ Peter McCulloch,

” it was Herman Goering who created The Gestapo in east Prussia.”

I thought it was Himmler?
    With the Gestapo starting off
    as a kind of Hitler Protection Guard, but evolving into the death cult that it became, after they killed the leadership of the Brown Shirts.

wasn’t Goering the fat Luftwafe man, who had been a fighter ace in WW1? (yes they did have them back in WW1)

150. Cubby

Nothing funnier than someone telling someone to get their facts right and at same time getting their own facts wrong.

151. Patrick Roden

@ handandshrimp:
    “If the Ruth Davidson Party only gets 11% will Ruth Davidson step down?”

Whaaat? she has already started doing one of now inevitable, if not infamous back flips, after noticing that Boris is way ahead of everyone else in the polls, to see who will be the next PM.

Gone is the promise that she would create an independent Scottish and Unionist Conservative Party if he became Prime Minister, onto sending out key allays, with fake outrage that the SNP has been demonizing ‘Good old Boris’

The woman is a disgrace and has more faces that a town clock.

152. geeo

@robert peffers@11.19pm

Re: electric bikes.

Great story, and glad you are well.

My wife told me a story this morning about her boss, who is a health enthusiast and keen cyclist.

He was out on his racing bike and noticed an older couple coming along the path leading toward him on the main road, and thought how nice that an elderly couple (reckoned about 70 year old plus) could still get out on the bike together, at that he pushed on, picking up some speed.

He noticed the old couple had turned onto the road behind him, but were catching him up !

Within a minute or so, they overtook him.

Determined not to be ‘beaten’ by an old couple with nearly 30 years on him, be went flat out in pursuit, and was puzzled when they simply disappeared up the road, which was now an incline.

Took him a few minutes to realise they were both on those E Bikes !!

He is now wishing he never told his staff the story 🙂

153. CageyBee

O/T of sorts
    I have just seen an advert for SKY movies “True stories” season and Braveheart somehow gets included.

154. geeo

Patrick Roden 1.41am.

You forgot the promise that Davidson will lead the Tory MSP’s out of Holyrood, if Nicola Sturgeon calls an indyref.

Tory principles: (to coin a phrase) “If you do not like my principles, I have others”

155. CameronB Brodie

re. the Fromage Prince and expressions of political resistance to dishonest, authoritarian, political culture. Time for some political anthropology?

Resistance

Abstract

With images of protest and dissent widespread and frequently circulated in news broadcasts and social media posts, resistance to prevailing power structures seems to be an expected and regular feature of contemporary life. This entry explores how anthropology has linked these spectacular moments of resistance to broader social questions.

It further explains how identifying a particular practice or process as a form of resistance is not always straightforward when broader context is thus taken into consideration. I do this by considering how resistance has appeared (or has been neglected) as a topic of study through the history of anthropology until the present day, and how prevailing theoretical frameworks and political contexts shaped what anthropologists made of resistance in different periods.

The entry begins from early political anthropology’s avoidance of questions of conflict and social inequality and moves through paradigm-shifting moments in the discipline – in particular, post-colonial and Marxist analyses – whereby resistance and social change became central concerns. It then examines how anthropologists began to study ‘everyday resistance’ and to emphasize how ethnography can reveal many small and subtle acts as forms of resistance, and as linked to more obvious and public forms of protest.

Questions of consciousness and intentionality in political practice that are raised by everyday struggles are then considered in connection to the problem of defining resistance. In light of a focus on unconscious practices or acts that simultaneously challenge certain power structures and reinforce or create different ones, resistance is framed as that which constitutes a subversive relationship to forms of domination or systems that reproduce inequality, but that is not necessarily intentional or outside of prevailing political structures.

Additionally, I consider anthropologists’ changing relation to resistance – from one of neglect to the position of activist or engaged researcher – as shifting forms of media and communication highlight researchers’ involvement in shaping perceptions of more and less organized forms of political struggle.

http://www.anthroencyclopedia.com/entry/resistance

156. Mary Miles

To Robert Peffers

Thank you for the very interesting information regarding your ancestor which you posted earlier.

If you would like me to do so, I can check records over here and see if anything can be found regarding your ancestor. My daughter in law does a lot of historical research of records held at the Hobart Library for visitors to Hobart searching for information of “lost” family.

Obviously we may not be able to find anything but could try. If you do wish us to have a look, do you know the year Christian sailed over and the name of the ship which he was on when he came out to Australia? Do you also have any idea where he first landed, ie Melbourne or one of the eastern states’ ports or perhaps over in West Australia (Fremantle)?

The clearances were a disgrace and we can only imagine what those people went through.

Happy to do this for you if you would like us to try.

Keep well.

157. Graeme J McAllan

We can all laugh at the “The knife and fork operator” comment, but you must realize they did not come with operating instructions 😉

158. IZZIE

O/T Today MPs will vote on whether to set up an agency to over see spending 6 billion pounds on renovating the Westminster another good reason for Independence.

159. Scot Finlayson

Wonder if the milkshake thing was a set up like the egg Murphy thing,

you get tons of publicity from the hacks in MSM and sympathy from joe/josephine public.

160. Bobp

Good performance by nicola against piers morgan. He even admitted she had more bottle than corbyn or may who wouldnt appear on his show

161. Abulhaq

Unionism has never had anything to offer Scotland. That ought to be the political mantra. Chant it loud, clear and often. May, Corbyn, Farrage, Westminster, Windsors etc are foreign bodies in our system to be expelled.
    Brown the Brit complains of a new ‘hard line’ nationalism in Scotland…Good!

162. Breeks

Scot Finlayson says:
    21 May, 2019 at 8:19 am
    Wonder if the milkshake thing was a set up like the egg Murphy thing,

you get tons of publicity from the hacks in MSM and sympathy from joe/josephine public.

I don’t think it was. Farage isn’t worth it.

To set Scotland to one side a moment, as far as England is concerned, these Euro Elections don’t matter. The are electing MEP’s to serve on the EU Parliament which the UK will have left. These seats are symbolic gestures, and a technical formality, and so it gives license for the UK electorate to engage in nutty gesture politics.

Even if Farage gets elected to Europe, he can’t actually do anything, except be an insult and nuisance to the genuine European members.

The real significance the EU Elections have for England / UK, is the influence it will have on Tory and Labour strategy and policy beyond Brexit. In the short term, I think that makes Brexit inevitable. The dispute is over a No Deal Brexit, or a Withdrawal Agreement… or THE Withdrawal Agreement I should say, because it won’t change. I think the odds on a people’s vote are 50/50 on a good day, and if red and blue Tories get drubbed as predicted at the Euro’s, I see no appetite growing for the people’s vote. The Lib Dem’s might have their tails up, but it’s a measure of how desperate your position is if you’re looking to the Lib Dem’s to Charge to the rescue. I think Guy Verhofstad is in for a disappointing surprise.

The Brexit Party and Farage in 2019 is just a reinvention of the UKIP Party and Farage in 2016. Once it has made its point, it will fizzle out and fade away. It never was about politics. It was dark money and influence inside the UK’s Financial Sector which financed a Populist Brexiteering Lobby Group to get the UK out of Europe, and their own nefarious activities beyond the reach of European Laws and Regulations. There were US interests eyeing up UK assets like the NHS, and a US Trade Deal to take advantage of a UK Market forced to deregulate standards. When Farage says he doesn’t need a manifesto, he doesn’t. He’ll be long gone.

The uncomfortable thing for Scotland, is the assertion that our EU votes are somehow going to be more meaningful than the UK’s academic endorsement of Farage. I mean, it has to be done, of course it must, but for as long as we are on the same ticket out of Europe as the whole UK, then our EU seats are the same symbolic gesture.

You could speculate that a hard No-Deal Brexit being contingent upon The Brexit Party doing well, has similarities in a symbolic swell in SNP support giving impetus for the SNP to proceed more deliberately towards IndyRef2, except I have the sinking feeling they will divide their time between IndyRef2 and a Brexit People’s Vote. Still a bit feart of too much “radicalism”. Sigh.

It is not too late to approach the ECJ to establish whether Scotland could revoke Article 50 unilaterally. Win that right, or rather win recognition of that right, and THEN we are in a position of strength and sovereign veto over whatever follows. Why would we not do this??? We can still tap into the same power of European solidarity which currently protects Ireland. Give Europe the opportunity to help Scotland and back us.

Or, for all you high rolling Poker types, just revoke Article 50 unilaterally, and let everybody else run for their lawyers. I say we ask the ECJ first.

163. Peter McCulloch

@Patrick Roden 21 May, 2019 at 1:34 am

No it was Herman Goering who created the Geheime staats polizei (gestapo)in East Prussia,Himmler was head of the SS and higher police and he wanted the Gestapo under his control.

He and Goering eventually came to a deal, with Goering being put in charge of the Luftwaffe, the gestapo then came under the control of Himmler.

The protection guard for Hitler, was an entirely different organisation it went through different phases from being Stosstruppe Hitler formed by members of the right wing Freikorps to becoming the SS and eventually independent of the Brown shirts.

If you don’t believe what I’m saying is factual, try and get your hands on a copy of Gerald Reitlinger’s book SS:Alibi of a nation, it really is worth reading.

164. Dave McEwan Hill

Terrific contributions in today’s National. WGD’s and Hamish McPherson’s pieces shoud be required reading for all Scots as we approach Thursday’s vote.

165. Robert Peffers

@Mary Miles says: 21 May, 2019 at 6:02 am:

… If you would like me to do so, I can check records over here and see if anything can be found regarding your ancestor. My daughter in law does a lot of historical research of records held at the Hobart Library for visitors to Hobart searching for information of “lost” family.”

Thanks for the offer but it doe4sn’t matter now. The thing about it at the time was that a man, not himself directly a Peffers but his Grand Mother was, had a great website with an almost complete family tree going back to the mid 1600s. I, and a few other family members, were trying to complete the few loose ends.

Then I had the car crash that put me out of action and then had me caring for my severely disabled wife. By the time I got back to the task the website had gone and I couldn’t find if it had just moved or if the site owner had passed away. None of the family members I was in contact knew what had happened.

I do have an old computer Hard Drive with the original website family tree on it but, of course, there has been no more recent additions made to it.

Incidentally, my sister in Australia settled in Cedar Grove on the outskirts of Brisbane. Just by coincidence I discovered from the website family tree that a distant cousin I had met, as a 10 year old, in the school annex playground my school shared with another nearby school lived within a mile of my sister and I put them in contact with each other. The old saying, “It’s a small World”, comes to mind.

166. Marie Clark

Robert Peffers, good to see you back Robert and that you are doing well.

I have to agree with you about the Ebikes. Hubby and I bought them about a year and a half ago, and they’re brilliant. Especially for us old codgers. Lang may yer lum reek Robert.

167. Capella

Hi Robert, good to see you posting and not lurking.

What a bizarre political upheaval we are living through. I watched “The Uncivil War” again on Ch4 catch up. It is brilliantly cast and written and puts into context the sheer incompetence of the Tory politicians who backed BREXIT. Boris Johnston an Michael Gove to name only two.

Benedict Cumberbatch plays the evil genius Dominic Cummings and is perfect in the role. As a warm up to the Thursday vote I recommend it.

168. uno mas

@ Welsh Sion

The recent succesful AUOB march in Cardiff and the strong showing in the polls by PC abviously hasn´t gone unoticed by our chums in the British Security Forces (like it would!) to which I see in the thread above that you have attracted your own GCHQ troll.

So that would be a great big pat on the back to you from all of the Wings community.

Well played mate, seriously, well played!!

169. geeo

Breeks @9.14am

Good point re: EU elections.

If labour and the tories lose dozens of seats to mad bastards in the farage party, ukexit is absolutely certain.

Can you imagine if the Uk stayed in the EU by revoking ukexit and were stuck being represented in the EU by those right wing nutters about to be elected in England (particularly) for the next 5 years ?

So yeah, leaving seems inevitable, most likely with no deal.

170. Brian Doonthetoon

In case you’re not aware, there’s a new page as of 8.30 this morning but its post date is the 17th May.

https://wingsoverscotland.com/one-week-in-the-war-on-women/

171. Capella

@ BDTT – I’ve noticed an almighty row going on in the background regarding Trans issues. Stu retweets quite a lot of info on what is happening.

IMO this is being cooked up as a divide and rule tactic. The SNP needs to park it until a clear way forward is decided by the relevant committee. Consultation has already been undertaken last year. The bottom line for me is that women’s rights have to be protected. I agree with Joan McAlpine and Joanna Cherry.

172. naina tal

Robert Peffers
    Great to hear you are getting about on your bike. The a been great this last few weeks for getting about without getting wet. Recently stuck a motor on the old bike which has been lying in the shed for years.
    Never off it now! I can recommend e bikes to anyone, even codgers like me! The guy who runs the petrol station thinks I’m not speaking to him!

173. galamcennalath

Capella says:

I’ve noticed an almighty row going on in the background regarding Trans issues … cooked up as a divide and rule tactic.

Without wishing to detract from the genuine issues involved regarding human rights, I am always suspicious when something suddenly becomes ‘flavour of the month’ in public debate. This happens because it’s in some group somewhere’s interests that folks become preoccupied by it. When they are getting het-up about that, they they are ignoring other issues.

IMO there are HUGE issues around like climate change, pollution, WMDs, etc.. existential threats to the planet. However, the ‘problem’ about these areas is that vested interests would prefer that ordinary folks don’t think too much about these.

Alternatively, promotion of issues which don’t trample on the toes of of big money are prefer to the masses to focus on.

That’s the macro level, but even in the UK / Scotland / constitution / democracy narrower view, it’s also best that voters get channeled into debates and split into groups on issues which are harmless to the Establishment. Dumbing down works for some, but giving the thinking classes something to think about is just as effective.

Yes, detract, disrupt, deflect, divide …. rule!

174. Dr Jim

There go the Daily Mail calling Scotland a region again
    Just keep on saying it Daily Mail, you’re doing a fine job of convincing Scots to stay with a Union that regards Scotland as a subservient colony

175. Jack Murphy

On talk/RADIO FILM TODAY:
    ” Jacob Rees-Mogg: “The Conservative Party has to be the Brexit Party” ” [!!]

He also states he will be voting for Boris Johnson MP in the Tory Leadership elections.

Makes me wonder how Tory Ruth Davidson and her pals think about that.

FILM is 12 minutes in length.

YouTube today:
    https://tinyurl.com/y6tfabt5

176. Breeks

geeo says:
    21 May, 2019 at 12:41 pm

Can you imagine if the Uk stayed in the EU by revoking ukexit and were stuck being represented in the EU by those right wing nutters about to be elected in England (particularly) for the next 5 years?

David Coburn x 30, all sponging off Europe like parasites, and plotting to bring down the very institution they’re elected to. I don’t see Europe going for that, although if there was a protocol to be rid of them, I think Europe would have booted out Farage years ago.

But as I said already, the Brexit Party is just the same front as UKIP was; same method, same objective, same success; a populist gobshite like Farage backed by the same populist right wing media, to stoke resentment, and press all the xenophobic anti-Foreigner buttons.

There is no plan beyond securing Brexit. Because all the Dark Money Financiers require is out of Europe so their dodgy money deals and money laundering schemes can carry on unmolested by European ethics and regulations.

Look at the eroding fabric of English society disintegrating in the name of Brexit. The money men want Brexit for their own agenda, and don’t give a flying fk about the UK or it’s Empire, or the millions of “little people” like you and me who are about to get royally shafted. If the worst happens and there’s 1920’s style depression and recession and civil strife, these disaster capitalists will simply move in an hoover up the carnage wholesale.

It is a mistake to see Brexit as political. I don’t believe it is. I believe Brexit is the reverse philosophy of the Trojan House brought inside the defences. The Dark Money lobby couldn’t get to the heart of Europe, so they had to set fire to something already inside and hope the conflagration spread. The overriding ambition wasn’t to destroy the UK, but use the UK as the mechanism to break up the greater EU… but it’s failing. Europe is too strong.

If you want to know who really bankrolls Brexit, you can start by working out who has most to gain, and by gain I really mean profit, from a weaker European Union. The “British” and their arrogant exceptionalism were simply the stool pigeons dumb enough and predictable enough to be manipulated by pressing the right buttons.

I’m glad that Europe has shown such solidarity and composure. I am sure they have seen and understood the bigger picture from the outset, whereas the myopic British have allowed themselves to be led by the nose by the BBC and Daily Mail.

What Price Scotland? I don’t think we’re as pliable as the rest of the UK. There’s a degree of resilience that doesn’t succumb to the BritNat Propaganda, but neverless, the media is effective at containing our aspirations for Independence. I think we’re a sideshow frankly in the greater scheme of things.

The best riposte Scotland can deliver to this evil and malignant plan to destabilise Europe is to make safe our assets and resources, and throw our lot in with a progressive Europe on the way up, rather than the US and avarice led ex-UK that’s heading down in a tailspin. In every fibre of me, that “seems” the right and sensible thing to do. Europe isn’t perfect, but it’s a force for good. Whatever it is we’d leave, this dark and sinister manipulative UK with its insatiable warmongering, well, it surely doesn’t feel like a force for good.

We MUST see the bigger picture to know what’s going on here. This is not about democracy, neither Scotland’s place in the UK, nor the UK’s place in Europe. WE MUST UNDERSTAND THIS. This is a dark and sinister game of geopolitical chess, and the UK’s weakness and insecurities have drawn the attention of the predators.

I don’t care how we do it. Democratically if we can, Constitutionally if that works for us, Legislatively if it comes to it, but we MUST shake ourselves free of the sinking UK, and find a way of binding ourselves to Europe. Scotland MUST remain as a vital component of Europe. The alternative is life as a moribund appendage to a joyless UK – US parasitic black hole which will continue to bleed us dry indefinitely, just as it has already bled us dry and exploited us for generation after generation.

Wake up Scotland. Open your eyes.

177. Proud Cybernat

Is England a ‘region’?

Just asking.

178. Clapper57

Annie Wells tweeting a a Tory single issue (obsession) slogan because, like her colleagues, she is prohibited from going off message….truly they are the spawn of Maybot…rinse and repeat…pity they are so distracted/obsessed with the SNP that they are negligent in confronting the real enemy headed by General Farage who is outmaneuvering them in the battle for votes.

Reap what you sow….

179. CameronB Brodie

galamcennalath
    Sorry mate but self-ID of sex is a mahoosive issue that threatens to transform the fabric and structure of society. It’s OT for this thread but I have contributed to defending reality.

P.S. This is a global issue and does not solely reflect on the SNP. They just happen to be in government and so have come under the influence of Stonewall UK and Mermaids and other outlets of structural misogyny.

https://wingsoverscotland.com/one-week-in-the-war-on-women/comment-page-1/#comment-2460713

180. Patrick Roden

@ Peter McCulloch,

“If you don’t believe what I’m saying is factual, try and get your hands on a copy of Gerald Reitlinger’s book SS:Alibi of a nation, it really is worth reading.”

I don’t doubt you at all Peter, and you certainly know far more about that time in history than I do.

Thanks for the heads up about the book,I will look out for it.

181. Capella

@ CBB @ Galamcennalath – I agree it is a huge issue. I don’t agree that self ID of sex is possible. Gender yes. But it completely divides people, threatens women’s rights and safety and can not be resolved by allowing self ID. Far too big an issue for this thread.IMO. Maybe we should post on the 17th May thread.

182. Juteman

I’m an old fart and simply don’t understand all this self id stuff.
    Surely if you have a cock you are a man, and if you don’t you are a woman?
    If you under go surgery to change things then you are maybe an inbetweener?

183. TJenny

O/T – how come Treeza May is allowed to make a televised speech on the WAB/Europe, 2 days before EU elections? Is there no purdah applicable for EU elections?

184. Maria F

Clapper57 says:
    21 May, 2019 at 3:38 pm
    “they are negligent in confronting the real enemy headed by General Farage who is outmaneuvering them in the battle for votes”

Ahh, but are they really, Clapper57? Is Clown Farage really “the enemy”?

Sorry, I cannot help but believing the “brexit party”, Yaxley Lennon and Farage’s persona are nothing but concoctions by the English establishment, the same as UKIP was. Just a convenient construct to move votes from one place to another.

UKIP was, in my view, the under the table prolongation of the Tory party to access the most extreme votes within the right, the racists if you like, but also vage enough to appeal some of the desperate labour voters in some areas to divide the labour vote. They tried this in the last EU election successfully and they applied it in the 2015 election. To support the theory that UKIP was always under the firm control of the tories was the fact that Farage did not even win his own seat – having Farage in Westminster would completely undermine Cameron.

But what happened in 2017? The Establishment ditched UKIP in GE2017 because the tories needed the votes back. It was amusing to watch UKIP councillor after councillor jump back to the tory party the same as the donors.

Now the English establishment desperately needs to pull all the “pro-brexit” vote together, particularly in Scotland, while simultaneously doing what it can to undermine the pro-EU vote.

How is it doing this? So far it has successfully undermined labour and tories (labour is behind Plaid in Wales and Tories are even lower) with absolutely pathetic manifestoes, totally confusing messages and lack of campaigning. It has also divided the pro-EU vote by including Chuka’s party (which I suspect will quickly disappear after brexit) and has created the “brexit party” out of thin air and that will all the PR stunts with milkshake and all the free oxygen provided by the BBC and MSM will be hoovering all the pro-brexit vote in light of such pathetic labour and tories campaigns.

Having a “brexit party” helps to maintain the illusion that tories and labour are not “really” brexit parties, when they are.

And there, mission accomplished. The only problem of course is Scotland, and that perennial thorn in the English establishment side… Hence the desperation of the propaganda mouthpieces in the form of MSM supporting the Greens to divide the SNP vote and give the pro brexit party the chance of getting at least one MP and of course the new gardening skills developed by Question Time.

Can you imagine if all the MPs in Scotland were pro-EU while most in England were pro-brexit?

I think this is the scenario the English establishment is currently desperate to avoid.

It is all smoke and mirrors.

185. CameronB Brodie

Capella
    “Maybe we should post on the 17th May thread.”

That’s why I linked to the thread. I’ve just left some vile feminist theory there. 😉

186. CameronB Brodie

Juteman
    I think my posts on 17th May thread will give you more info than you’ll ever need. 😉

187. Clapper57

@ Maria F @ 5.28pm

Hi Maria…just seen your response to me. I am going on a night out so will read all of your post tomorrow .

Have a good evening

188. Pete

Juteman
    First piece of common sense I’ve come across for a while.
    I’m for the 99% plus.

189. galamcennalath

Independence Poll, Panelbase 14-17 May

Excluding Don’t Know;
    No – 52%
    Yes – 48%

Does it include non-UK EU citizens, I wonder?

190. Robert J. Sutherland

CameronB Brodie @ 17:36,

You may say that, but I couldn’t possibly comment. =wink=

191. Col.Blimp IV

Juteman

I tend to agree with you, there are only two genders. Four if you include, hermaphrodites and eunuchs, who do have a plausible claim to self-identify.

There is however an infinite number ways in which people get their sexual jollies. An ever growing number of crazies seek to define their identity by the sexual sub-set they belong to and elevate their clubs into fully fledged “Genders”.

The political classes seem to be buying into this nonsense, lets hope they do not take it to it’s logical conclusion.

Is there a “Tit Men for Independence” affiliated organization yet?

How many delegates do we get?

192. geeo

Perhaps folk could post gender related isues on the appropriate topic ?

Makes more sense dontcha think ?

193. geeo

galamcennalath says:

21 May, 2019 at 6:06 pm

Independence Poll, Panelbase 14-17 May

Excluding Don’t Know;
    No – 52%
    Yes – 48%

Does it include non-UK EU citizens, I wonder?
    ………..

Indeed!

And does it include 16 and 17 year olds ?

Highly unlikely.

194. Dr Jim

Theresa May makes a *Vow*

Vote for me she says and I promise i’ll give you a vote later

We’ve heard that one before

195. Ottomanboi

Re the panelbase poll 52%no 48%yes…..at this juncture in the BritMess yes ought to be well ahead.
    Just what are those NoScots thinking? Are their brains full of congealed cold ‘British’ porrage?

196. Dr Jim

A poll is out that hasn’t asked groups of people who can vote how they’ll vote because they say they can’t afford a more accurate poll, so does that mean the poll that’s out isn’t accurate?

Then what’s the point of publishing inaccurate numbers

197. CameronB Brodie

Robert J. Sutherland
    Well, it need done and someone needed doing it. 😉

198. Robert Peffers

Any Wingers watch, “Broadcasting Scotland”?

Their, “Scotland at 7”, isn’t bad.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ni76Ak8wCvo

199. Dave McEwan Hill

galamcennalath

Bullshit

200. Dave McEwan Hill

Anybody on here ever been polled by Panelbase?

If we are going to wait till we get progressive or accurate polls we will wait for ever.

201. galamcennalath

Dave McEwan Hill says:

Bullshit

Expand?

202. Dave McEwan Hill

Just remember …
    The polls gave Remain a win
    The polssl gave Clinton a win
    The polls gave TMay a big win

The polls give the result that whoever is paying them wants to hear.

203. boris

rubbing salt to the wounds Brown introduced the notorious “pension stealth tax” further reducing the value of pensioners retirement funds by at least £100 billion.

Mocking the electorate in 2000, he then had the temerity to announce that “New Labour” would be be assisting the “poorest” pensioners increasing the state pension by a massive 75p (before tax).

https://caltonjock.com/2019/05/21/gordon-brown-duped-his-mugs-r-us-party-and-conned-scots-for-years-ignore-his-unimpressive-rhetoric/

204. boris

casting significant doubt on the willingness and ability of the BBC to cover Scottish independence campaigners in an impartial manner.
    The leaked videos featured in-house presentations by four senior BBC presenters giving explanatory background briefings to an audience of junior BBC staff.

The presenters, including BBC Scotland’s political editor Brian Taylor, are shown attacking the SNP’s proposed referendum question.

In the presentations, Scotland is mockingly described as being in financial deficit and requiring subsidy.

https://caltonjock.com/2019/05/21/bbc-biased-against-scots-prove-it-ok-check-this-out/

205. galamcennalath

Dave McEwan Hill says:

The polls give the result that whoever is paying them wants to hear.

I’m sure that is often true. Dodgy questions. Questions in a leading order. Then interpretation of results.

However, poll results usually come with a +/- 3% accuracy. So hidden agendas aside, there are limits what they really mean.

With Clinton, she did win. 66m to 63m. The problem here is an un-proportional system.

As for WM. Cameron got a majority with 36.9%, May failed to get one with 42.4%. With WM and FPTP, winning the vote is also quite different from winning a majority of seats.

Both of these have less to do with polling and more to do with predictions based on them.

206. auld highlander

These polls that the tv pundits claim to have been done must have been done in a cosy five minute chat in a studio canteen.

I have never had any contact with any political pollsters in my life and i’m on the wrong side of 60.

This latest load of bullshit from the maybot, I wouldn’t trust her and her incompetent bunch of crawlers as far as I can spit.

207. Robert J. Sutherland

auld highlander @ 19:50,

True, but it’s Corbyn you really need to worry about. He is a secrret believer, he just doesn’t want to say it out loud, or (more importantly) take any of the blame for it.

And those 20-odd Labour MPs from the north of England who are positively lusting for Brexit. Any Brexit. But the harder the better.

What we need to understand more than anything right now is that Brexit is a kind of cargo cult.

208. Ken500

US system is PR. That is why the loser won.

Electoral College.

209. Lenny Hartley

Dave Mcewan Hill – anybody here polled by Panelbase, im on the Panelbase panel i get two or three polls a day, mainly health, shopping and other crap, i rarely get asked to respond to political polls although i got asked on what turned out to be the Sunday Times Poll last month but did not receive an invite for the most recentt one. James Kelly of Scotland goes pop always says Panelbase always underestimate support for Indy.

210. Robert J. Sutherland

Ken500 @ 20:52,

Everything you wrote in that post is plumb wrong. A record even for you.

211. CageyBee

I am a member of you Guv but have rarely been asked political questions although I always talk Scotland up and wm down so they may have sussed not to ask me about politics

212. CameronB Brodie

Robert J. Sutherland
    Cargo cult? There are certainly cargo cult aspects to Scottish yoons and their adherence to British nationalism, regardless of material change in circumstances. I think the full-English Brexit is more in line with a political religion though, such as Nazism.

Social and Psychological Bases of Ideology and System Justification

Abstract

This volume both reflects and exemplifies the recent resurgence of interest in the social and psychological characteristics and processes that give rise to ideological forms. Ideology is an elusive, multifaceted construct that can usefully be analyzed in terms of “top-down” processes related to the social construction and dissemination of ideology, as well as to “bottom-up” processes, including dispositional and situational factors, that make certain ideological outcomes more likely than others.

The twenty chapters of this volume focus on the cognitive and motivational antecedents and consequences of adopting specific ideologies, the functions served by those ideologies, and the myriad ways in which people accept and justify (versus reject) aspects of the social and political worlds they inhabit. Current challenges and future directions for the study of ideology and system justification are also discussed in several chapters.

The volume represents a wide variety of research traditions bearing on the social and psychological bases of ideology and system justification. These traditions include (a) the study of attitudes, social cognition, and information processing at both conscious and nonconscious levels of awareness, (b) theories of motivated reasoning and goal-directed cognition, (c) research on personality and dispositional correlates of political orientation, (d) work on social justice and the origins of moral values, (e) the myriad ways in which social and political opinions are shaped by local situations and environments, and (f) studies of stereotyping, prejudice, and the ideological correlates of intergroup attitudes.

Keywords: authoritarianism, belief in a just world, conservatism, liberalism, motivated reasoning, political attitudes, political ideology, procedural fairness, system justification, terror management theory

https://www.oxfordscholarship.com/view/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195320916.001.0001/acprof-9780195320916

213. CameronB Brodie

Political religions are, however, cult-like. 🙂

214. boris

In the aftermath of the crisis, Bank of England officials claimed the UK Chancellor had botched the banking bailout and the Bank would never be able to recover all of the loans let alone match the performance of the US Federal Reserve which reported a $billions profit (out of the crisis). No austerity for the American public.

Sir Mervyn King, Governor of the Bank of England, said: “The sad truth is, in 2008, the idea of focusing efforts on recapitalizing the banking system was a UK idea. We got there first but, like many UK ideas, the Americans developed it much faster and much better.”

The US forced all major banks to take Federal Reserve money, purchasing substantial stakes at around “half their book value.”

The Bank of England, directed by Brown and Darling, acting against the bank governor’s advice, purchased similar financial stakes, but at “full book value.”

https://caltonjock.com/2019/05/21/austerity-an-unnecessary-hardship-imposed-on-scotland-by-westminsters-nefarious-spivs/

215. CameronB Brodie

Farage, as in garage, a.k.a. the Fromage Prince, has stated he want’s to re-make British politics. That sounds a bit like a man of the far-right promising a political reformation. ;(

216. mike cassidy

OT

But its ‘good’ to know we’re not the only ones contributing to 21st century political madness.

Here’s the son of the Israeli Prime Minister.

https://twitter.com/YairNetanyahu/status/1130519170012123136

217. Ahundredthidiot

Farage

After the next GE he will be PM of the UK

Then maybe the people of Scotland will wake the f*ck up.

218. Ahundredthidiot

self ID of sex is NOT a massive debate…

….it is a mental illness

219. Jockanese Wind Talker

James Kelly (not the BLiS Daftie the Indy Supporting Psephology one) putting that Panelbase Poll in perspective:

http://scotgoespop.blogspot.com/2019/05/theresa-trembles-as-phenomenal.html?m=1

“Panelbase have recently been one of the most No-friendly polling firms, and for eighteen months between the early summer of 2017 and the autumn of 2018, they consistently had Yes on either 43% or 44%. The last two Panelbase polls showed Yes had jumped to 47%, and now 48% is a three-year high.”

And that’s before FaRadge (no typo) and his Neo Fascists starts making electoral gains pushing more Soft NOs over to YES!

220. ronnie anderson

Sarah hackalumpaff Peter Reply in O/T.

221. Petra

Farage the conman is “running a company not a political party.”

http://www.politico.eu/article/nigel-farage-brexit-party-start-up-politics-eu-election/

………………………..

@ Boris at 7:34pm ……. “BBC Bias.”

Thanks for your posts Boris, in particular the article / video at 7:34pm. I was searching for that video recently to no avail. Well worth reading / watching if you haven’t seen it before. How the BBC gets away with saying that they are impartial is beyond me.

222. Ken500

There was no banking crisis in Scotland. The banking crisis was fraud in London and the Midlands. Scotland had to pay back for monies not borrowed or lent in Scotland. There was not banking crisis in Scotland. Just Scotland having to pay back the rest of the UK debt.

The Banks have been paying back massive amounts going into the economy. They have not made profits for paying back for years. Paying back personal protection insurance. The banks were over selling. Other mis selling products having to be reimbursed.

Gordon Brown did not have a clue about banking.Brown believed keeping interest rates at 5% would stop boom and bust? Interest rates are often out up to stop people borrowing too much. The banks were lending too much money, without collateral. People could not pay it back.

Brown put in a tripart interest rate system. To govern interest rates. So he could control interest rates. It didn’t work. Neither did the regulatory bodies. Useless.

The banking crash and the illegal wars. Westminster unionist appalling policies. The mass migration caused. Europe has to pick up the pieces. Costs £Billions. The monies the UK contributes is nothing compared to the chaos that is caused all over Europe by Westminster unionist imbecile policies. The trouble Farague causes in the EU. Farague is being investigated for non declared illegal funding. Just a chancer. Farague was illegally funding a political Party with pubkicmoney. Breaking the rules. Wasting £Billions of public money. Brexit.

223. chicmac

I repeat, yet again.

Barclays ‘the good English bank’ who were excused from the great banking showdown where Brown and Darling used unprecedented means to force nationalisation and merger of the two scapegoat ‘Scottish’ banks, clandestinely had a bigger bail out than HBOS and RBS combined.

The success those two patriotically challenged individuals had in nevertheless painting ‘Scottish’ banks as the main culprits in the banking crisis had a very real impact on support for independence.

Quite the most despicable act of modern political history in Scotland.

224. Petra

Don’t forget folks that “no manifesto” Farage over and above wanting to privatise the NHS has also indicated that he wants to abolish the Scottish Parliament.

http://www.opendemocracy.net/en/opendemocracyuk/ukip-policy-nigel-farage-doesnt-want-to-talk-about/

225. Capella

Why not announce a second Indy referendum as a “confirmatory” referendum, now that we know the terms of the “deal”.

226. TJenny

Capella – I was just thinking the same thing. 😉 Sounds reasonable and feasible to me.

227. Capella

@ TJenny – we would have to draw up a checklist of what was offered as opposed to what was delivered. For example:
    the most federal system possible delivering the most devolved government in the world;
    our place in Europe secure;
    leading Britain, not leaving Britain;
    shipbuilding jobs guaranteed with xx frigates to be built on the Clyde;
    the Sewell convention enshrined n law;
    the security of the Holyrood Parliament guaranteed.

Have I missed any?

228. Ken500

US Presidential Elections.

Registered voters and Electoral College

Look it up daftie

In close run contests the loser wins.

229. Ken500

@ 9.10 pm

230. Petra

Professor John Robertson:-

‘Racism rise since Brexit is Nationwide but NOT in Scotland where it is falling.”

https://thoughtcontrolscotland.com/2019/05/21/racism-rise-since-brexit-is-nationwide-but-not-in-scotland-where-it-is-falling/

231. boris

Students perverted the outcome of the 2014 Independence Referendum

A large number of students emigrated to Scotland for around a 3 month period before the referendum with the intention of campaigning for “Better Together.”

https://caltonjock.com/2014/10/02/scottish-independence-referendum-student-and-student-organisations-actively-canvassed-for-better-together-but-got-their-comeuppance/

232. Ken500

What a joke

The Greens submit 54,000 objection campaign against development at Loch Lomond. 5.2Million folk in Scotland. Scotland is half empty. There are plenty of open spaces people can go.

They campaign against the UTG Project which people supported by a Ref. A £80Million donation promises. Cost £20Million. It would have pedestrianised the City Centre with green open spaces, That everyone wants,

It ended up with instead a concrete jungle. An absolute mess of empty,, offices, shops and hotels. An absolute non mandated grotesque monstrosity spoiling the City Centre. A total disgrace. Costing £200Million. The Labour crooks keit in place by a two job Tory. Schools overcrowded and essential services cut. £30Million for a ‘renovated’ Art Gallery. Shut for five years another total mess. £309Million for a Conference Centre which will sit empty most of the time. Another total waste of public money. A LibDem declared Independent to go in with the unionists to ruin the City. £1,2Billion in debt for the appalling mess.

The Greens campaigned against the AWPR for years along with their unionist colleagues. Wasting £Billions of public money. £Billions going South to Fund London S/E. Even masquerading as LibDems to get elected. The AWPR has cut emissions, journey time and expense by 2/3. Journey times now take a 1/3 of the time. Cutting people’s working day by 2 hours. Alex Salmond and the SNP got it built. Along with the Queensferry Crossing and the Borders rail line. Putting £Billions into the economy.

The Trams etc a total waste of public monies. The inquiry costing £Millions. What happened to it, OAP from other place cannot use their travel (bus) passes on the Trams. Despite paying for it.

233. Ken500

Residential qualifications 3 years? if that is possible for the next IndyRef.

234. Ken500

The ‘Christian’ Greer wants to increase poverty in Scotland. Who votes for them? Two faced vacant coupons. They mucked up the Indy Ref wasting money. Newspapers a total waste of money. SNP money.

235. Dorothy Devine

Residential period has to be longer than three years – a degree course is three years then off they go . Five years minimum .

236. Jockanese Wind Talker

James Kelly (not the BLiS Daftie the Indy Supporting Psephology one) Setting the record straight on the D’Hondt formula:

http://scotgoespop.blogspot.com/2019/05/setting-record-straight-on-dhondt.html?m=1

Looks an additional 7% or 8% of the vote for SNP might make it a clean sweep!!

GET THE VOTE OUT TOMORROW

237. Breeks

Ahundredthidiot says:
    21 May, 2019 at 10:11 pm
    Farage

After the next GE he will be PM of the UK….

I don’t think he will be.

I don’t even believe Farage is driving the Brexit Bus. He’s just delivering the populist rhetoric. The momentum for Brexit is coming from the dark side of the Establishment, who don’t want their dubious banking and business practices exposed to scrutiny, and also have designs on UK assets like the NHS and infrastructure. Here be pirates me hearties…

Once they’ve got their way and got the UK out of Europe, I believe they will want a period of recovery and stability in the UK, not more acrimony and Neo-Fascism keeping the BritNats at boiling point. Maybe the boogy man threat of it, but not the reality.

I expect they’ll see Farage sold out and got rid off, and probably promote themselves as the great “financial guru” rescuers who arrive just in the nick of time to save London from despair and economic collapse. The population will be encouraged to forget the public assets they couldn’t afford, that never worked anyway, and will discouraged from enquiring about the murky world of UK Finance, deregulated industry and employment practices.

Farage will be handsomely rewarded for his service, but his usefulness and his part in the coup will be over. Dickensian Britain will be reestablished, and the poor exploited at will.

238. starlaw

ahundredthidiot 21 May 10;11

Sounds about right to me.

239. starlaw

Sorry Breeks but the blog was yours ,

240. Petra

@ Boris at 6:53am ….”Students and Indyref1.”

Yeah Boris it wasn’t just English, et al, students studying in Scotland that influenced the vote, but as you say some (plus non-students) moved here in the lead up to the Indyref, and rented short term accomodation, with the intention of voting No. I spoke to a couple of them who thought it was a “hoot” being able to vote whilst having a great wee holiday. We really need to get it right this time around.

241. Hamish100

Most degrees I know off are 4 years in Scotland.
    Re turbines. Scottish yards undercut by foreign yards say the Unions. Of course the yards that got most monies in Hull, England for example dont count.

242. Clootie

@Breeks

Farage doesn’t need to wait to be handsomely rewarded. He got the cash up front!

243. Petra

Farage’s long term plan is to move to the US, ASAP, following doing his master’s bidding, and of course along the way filling his Brexit company’s coffers with International donations. He’ll have his online site, spout on talk shows, promote his autobiography, etc etc, and may continue to visit Europe in an attempt to fulfill his objective of decimating the EU without even touching down in the country that he has shafted. Sad to think that so many people are being well and truly duped right now by this excuse for a human being.

244. Abulhaq

To get the full flavour of BritStateThink the imperialist Anglosaxophone’s Today prog can’t be beaten. The UK is systemically falling apart but you’d never guess.
    Scots do the Brit thing to perfection, Gove, Fox in particular are exquisitely ‘oily’ and boot licking.
    Of course, 300 years of training to do that thing does help.
    However A N Wilson v J Rees-Mogg @08:30+ wonderful head to head on perspectives on the British Empire, alas typically, because its sorta academic, too short.

245. Abulhaq

P G Woodhouse has a character called Spode who heads a Fascistic group called the Black Shorts, think wide British colonial very baggy shorts. Followers shout Hail Spode in the presence.
    Does Farage know the character?
    Hail Nige! Cool shorts!

246. Ken500

5 years residential could cut out genuine Indy supporters who outweigh the passing through derniers, Depends on the possible IbdyRef administration.

McWhirter is now coming out for Farague. The total crook who is out to destroy the world to line his and his associates pockets. Farague should’ve in jail. Embezzlement, non accounting, lies.

Iran. Churchill took all Iran’s oil in the1950’s. Aided by M15 & CIA. A total coup. Caused unrest and disturbances. The PM of Iran (Persia 1935) wanted a share. They discredited him and he ended up in jail. Restored the corrupt, contempted Shah. Shah (absolute? Monarchy)deposed in 1979 became a Republic.

The West supported Iraq (Saddam)in the Iran/Iraq War 1980 causing more trouble in the Middle East. Death and destruction. Before blowing Iraq to bits in the illegal war. Iran 80Million population. Is quite liberal by some despot standards. Split 50/50. Young population suffering under International (US) sanctions. High youth unemployment.

Saudi Arabia an absolute despot monarchy trying to modernise. The Oil is not so valuable now. It has had to be sold off. Shares gone to others. Corruption. They have to try to diversify. Or modernise. The challenges of US fracked Gas.

Iran could use other sources for electricity than nuclear. The most expensive. They have Oil & Gas? They could use and develop solar.

The US/UK after not getting (Trump) support for conflict on the Russian border. Now are implying conflict with Iran.

Vote SNP/SNP to stop the Westminster imbeciles trying to destroy the world. Vote for Independence. That will stop the Westminster imbeciles further. Psycho bastards. Get one other person to vote as well. Job done.

Brexit a total and utter shambles. The Westminster unionists could not make a worse complete and utter mess. The Tories going down big time. Destroying their own Party. Useless incompetents. Average member male and over seventy. Well passed their sell by date. No one would vote for Farague in any case. Even with the ‘great support’. It will wither and go. A loud mouth alcoholic. Alcoholics make poor decisions without proper, total abstinence, rehab counselling. They are killing themselves and harming others.

247. Ken500

Farague did not go down too well in the US. Despite the cheap publicity. Trying to embezzle US Gov funds and contracts. It did not happen. Now being investigated for non disclosure of funds and donations by the EU. The EU could finish him off. Cut him off from embezzling public monies. He has had already been fined and had to pay back for funding a political Party with public funds. A total shyster. Banks another criminal getting away with it, So far.

248. Nana

Links

James Kelly of Scot Goes Pop gives his views on the forthcoming EU parliament elections and how best to use your vote to further the cause of Scottish independence. Despite the SNP taking more seats than all other parties put together in the UK General election of 2017, the media framed Ruth Davidson’s modest gains a ‘win’ and a set-back for Yes. The SNP are projected to do well in the EU vote but nothing can be taken for granted. The Scottish Conservatives, Liberal Democrats and Labour have made this election about independence. It’s time to send unionist parties and the media a message they can’t ignore. Use your vote on Thursday 23rd May.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=339jBxFqI04&feature=youtu.be

https://www.barrheadboy.com/scottish-prism-jabberwocky-19th-may-2019/

SNP’s Ian Blackford says “Scotland is going to vote Remain again – Westminster has to listen”
    https://twitter.com/BBCPolitics/status/1130819060332019713

https://mewsingoutloud.wordpress.com/2019/05/21/just-do-it/

249. Nana

https://voxpoliticalonline.com/2019/05/21/british-steel-needs-30-million-or-it-will-fail-will-tories-say-theres-no-magic-money-tree/

Vince Cable seems to be saying that Brexit is good for the UK BUT the Lib/Dems want to remain…’Confused’ watch this…you will be!
    https://twitter.com/MattTurner4L/status/1129466754105827329

A reminder re the US’s five year plan
    https://twitter.com/Underground_RT/status/1130803083238354945

other countries, please watch and learn from Singapore
    https://twitter.com/AkkehJowel/status/1129673686280265728

250. Dr Jim

David Davis on Sky @Boulton (slightly paraphrased)

*I don’t care what people say they want, the Conservative party will elect a new Prime Minister and no deal will be back on the table and we will leave the European Union, it’s as simple as that*

251. Pete

Ken500
    I think maybe you’ve forgotten to take your meds today.
    I sense you’re building up to another explosion!!

252. ronnie anderson

Nana wealth of links today I might read them by the weekend , wan eyed readings no ma forte lol.

Hope your well X .

253. hackalumpoff

@Ken500
    Ignore them Ken let it all out!. Wee tune for ya http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0W_SGoBFJxs

254. Nana

Morning Ronnie, hope all went well yesterday (blink or is it wink wink) xxx

255. Nana

Drew Hendry on sky news
    https://twitter.com/ArthurStramash/status/1131131381109678080

Forget brexit.
    Either a no deal or no brexit seem inevitable now.
    A new Brexiter right wing PM likely.
    Maybe a General election too, with Corbyn winning as PM or perhaps even Farage?

Vote SNP tomorrow by our millions.

Then Vote yes to ending the union.

Let’s avoid this nightmare scenario for good.
    https://www.facebook.com/indycargordonross/videos/424975491392317/

https://sputniknews.com/columnists/201905211075206065-nhs-brexit-farage/

https://www.independent.co.uk/voices/healthcare-us-pharmaceutical-companies-pharma-insurance-doctors-a8922491.html

256. geeo

Politics Live obsession with Leyla Moran continues today i see.

She seems to be on it at least once a week !!

257. Nana

http://www.scottishrefugeecouncil.org.uk/news_and_events/news/3440_welcome_u-turn_on_chief_execs_fathers_visitor_visa

Far-right Facebook groups ‘spreading hate to millions in Europe’
    http://archive.fo/O3NHM

Guardian view on the UN report
    http://archive.fo/M6Xt1

I have to say, even I didn’t appreciate quite how grim the reception would be for May’s new ‘greatest hits’ #Brexit comipilation…but the savagery is a reminder of a persistent truth about this negotiation. /1 Thread
    https://twitter.com/pmdfoster/status/1131103175652577280

258. Nana

https://www.politicshome.com/news/uk/political-parties/conservative-party/theresa-may/news/104070/pmqs-live-theresa-may-faces

TORY-DUP DODGY DEAL: Theresa May is desperate to resurrect her zombie deal. No confirmation of discussions with DUP and still no confirmation of Barnett consequentials for Scotland. Money for Theresa May to stay in power – none for Scotland’s economy, services and communities.
    https://twitter.com/marionfellows/status/1131157635015806976

http://www.businessforscotland.com/uk-state-pension-worst-in-developed-world-and-has-the-highest-retirement-age/

Mitigating austerity ‘not sustainable’ for devolved governments, says UN
    https://archive.fo/syNSm

259. Dr Jim

Me @10:27am

I meant Ian Duncan Smith, twit that I am

260. ronnie anderson

Nana its Blink blink no wink wink aw the tears faw doon tae ( an their real tears no a emoji wans Lol )

261. David MacDonald

Figures are skewed and dont take the Farages Brexit supporting cohort into account. Still a good set of figures

262. Welsh Sion

Soon be June … the end of May …

263. Clapper57

@ Marie F @ 5.28pm on 21 May

Hi Marie…good post and your analysis of this is certainly a plausible theory in the context of the political establishment being instrumental in constructing a web of deceit to undermine democracy.

However by Tory pro Brexit politicians recklessly choosing to play with fire ,while not as yet having control of the ultimate conclusion to all of this post Brexit ,and indeed the ability to extinguish it , then they, the pro Brexit Tory party MP’s, have perhaps underestimated that Farage and others like him can , if they want, continue to fan the flames by inciting more division, hatred and conflict post Brexit…. these Tories are perhaps trying too hard to control and manipulate the narrative and Brexit agenda but sometimes a master plan can end up a nightmare scenario that spirals out of control…..and have they considered if they can they contain and control America’s ambitions on a post Brexit UKOK ?

The Tories in Scotland , if they were not so over obsessed with acting like a parochial village council , could at least make an effort, fake or real, to the false narrative being presented by a one policy party such as The Brexit party. Instead they stay on message re “No second Indy Ref and let’s make the best of Brexit etc etc and this is to their detriment as it is obvious to any rational person that their preferred target, the SNP, is not the obvious enemy to Scotland or it’s people….but the rela enemy tis the one they choose to ignore.

Oh what a tangled web we weave when first we practice to deceive.

264. Davosa

Wells is a moron in the long line of Conservative morons – too may to list but think of Fraser Mundell, Loathsome, Raab the list got on and on

265. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Figures are skewed and dont take the Farages Brexit supporting cohort into account. Still a good set of figures”

You may have somewhat missed the point.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.