Our pale red faces

Posted on March 22, 2019 by

From today’s Telegraph:

But who’s this “we”, exactly?

Ah, right. Of course, we all remember our joy when Britain won the Ashes in 2005, and the contrasting despair when Britain was pumped out of Euro 2016 by Iceland. (All those people you seem to recall jumping up and down with joy, laughing and putting Iceland flags on their Twitter avatars? Tourists. All of ’em.)

Still, we always had Britain’s unforgettable World Cup victory in 1966 to cling to (even if Britain didn’t manage to qualify for the 1974 or 1978 tournaments), or that dramatic last-gasp victory for Britain in the 2003 Rugby World Cup, or the time when Britain crushed the French at Agincourt in 1415.

And that’s not to mention all the modern-day sporting triumphs of Britain’s Andy Murray (Dunblane) and Laura Muir (Inverness), of course.

Ah, wait, we think we get how this works now.

203 to “Our pale red faces”

1. Yerkitbreeks

“Send the Jocks over “. We’re dispensable ( Scots troops 1st War death rate 17%, English and Welsh 6%

Says it all .

2. Richard Smith

Not forgetting the likes of Eve Muirhead…

3. Fergus Green

Wings Over Britain

4. Alastair Ewen

John Lennon said it best: “I read the news today, oh boy. The BRITISH Army had just won the war.”

5. Donald anderson

Who’s this “we”, exactly?

Thaim.

6. galamcennalath

Brits, wha hae wi Wallace bled,
    Brits, wham Bruce has aften led,
    Welcome tae yer gory bed,
    Or tae victorie.

… ye reckon?

7. Morgatron

Media ethnic cleansing . John Logie Baird, and Sean Connery both born and bread in Kent. Alexander Fleming , born Datford , not Darvel, Robert the Bruce, Uttoxeter . Kenny Dalglish , Hackney . The list goes on and on……

8. Fraser Reid

too fukkin’ funny…..”they” still don’t get it after all this time…..

9. Arbroath1320

Apparently Scruffy Fluffy was right then.

Scotland does NOT exist so I guess we are all Red, Whits and Blue British through and through.

Aye right!

THAT will be the day!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_OIRUr4R7GQ

10. Josef Ó Luain

@ Alastair Ewen

“English army”

11. Astonished

o/t I’ve had a thought, it is usually british nationalists who excel at stupidity and failure on Scotland’s behalf i.e.:

James Kelly msp, Alex McLeish and Muriel Gray (twice).

I am sure there are others.

P.S. McLeish MUST go.

12. Artyhetty

Just like Thomas Telford of ‘England’, James Watt, of ‘England’, John James Waterston,( gets no acknowledgement, so in a different category) James Hutton, of ‘England. That’s if they get a mention at all. Hutton is usually ignored maybe because he discovered the small matter of the age of the Earth. There are others too. Surprised Walter Scott is allowed to be Scottish, but then he was a bit of a unionist?

Scotland, you are not even allowed to have it acknowledged that you have had or do have people of outstanding ability in sport, the arts or science.

Your culture and identity have been appropriated by your neighbour, unless it’s really bad news, or a character with a Jimmy hat on.

Scotland, maybe take a leaf out of England’s book, claim their achievers and achivements as Scottish. Plonk Saltires on the pictures of winning teams etc. It’s what they do, Butchers apron is plonked on Scotland.

13. Davo

This is the reason I have no interest in athletic events. I just can’t watch my fellow Scots wrapped up in the butcher’s apron.

14. galamcennalath

2011 Census England and Wales

English as a sole identity 57.7%

British as a sole identity 19.1%

British as a combined identity 29.1% (which includes Welsh & British)

A majority of English folks see English as their sole identity. Unfortunately, because of the ethnic baggage which comes Englishness, most incomers to England consider themselves British.

So it looks like ‘British’ is a concept a majority in England reject.

15. Ottomanboi

All that wonderful, backs to the wall misery Mr Clark and a mal-functionng democracy to boot, truly there’ll always be an England……as long as Scots have British/English passports.

16. SilverDarling

I think he genuinely doesn’t realise what he saying. His world view is that ‘Britain’ is what England decides it is and England speaks for ‘Britain’.

Astonishing though that he gets guff like that past an editor. Unless that is the view of the editor too.

Are we getting a new crop of Englandspainers speaking for us, or are they the same ones as before?

17. Artyhetty

One thing we could do is refer to British Nationalist Scots like Mundell as ‘of England’. There must be a fairly long list of them, who deny their Scottish roots. So and so, ‘of England’. A. Darling, ‘of England’. G.Brown, ‘of England’. R.Davidson, ‘of England’.

Surely it’s what they’d want anyway!

18. Robert Peffers

And never forget that great English victory. The retreat at Dunkirk.

19. Welsh Sion

True story.

A few months after the 2016 Euros (where ‘we’ – Cymru reached the semi-finals), I attended a social evening here in England that featured a raffle.

The MC announced that one of the prizes of the raffle was a genuine “Euro 2016” football. You should have seen his face when I asked him if it had been signed by all Members of the Icelandic national team.

They surely don’t like it up ’em!

20. Welsh Sion

Yerkitbreeks,

I don’t dispute the heroism of all those who took part in World War I, be they Scots or otherwise – my own great uncle was killed in April 1918 in North East France, having come over with the Australian Imperial Forces (AIF) via Patagonia and North West Wales – but I think your % for Welsh casualties is incorrect. To an Anglo view of the world, ALL Celts (Gaels and Brythons) were/are dispensible. John Davies quotes 40,000 Welshmen as having been killed during the Great War.

Ditto for the French and their Breton counterparts. The story goes that a French General visited his troops on the Front Line. He mistook their Breton response to his question of where they wanted to be as follows.

Soldiers: An gar, mon Generale (At home, General)
    General: Ahh, oui. A la geurre, mes amis. Tres bien ! (Ahh, yes. In the war, my friends. Very good!)

As to the original piece, aye right. We too get this usual English/British tripe – and have had it for years. You remember those ‘British football hooligans’ of the 1980’s?

And did you hear? – Britain won the Rugby Union Grand Slam this year.

21. manandboy

While Vince Cable, on camera, says that Theresa May said to him “the people voted for pain”.

I guess being English/British is pretty painful most of the time. As in Brexit time.

https://www.mirror.co.uk/news/politics/brexit-theresa-said-people-voted-14172850

22. Republicofscotland

The media and the British government have ignored Scotland as a nation for decades or longer. We are North Britain, who occasionally gets agitated, but we know our place.

Hopefully our place will one of independent sooner than later.

23. Robert Peffers

And here is our very own Gordon Brown in the British, Err! United Kingdom Err! English Parliament:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xoBV2wui3EM

24. ALANM

Anyone checked the listings for stv tonight? They’ve got English live football followed by English recorded football followed by English retired players’ football. This has all the hallmarks of a sinister plot designed to brainwash us into believing that we’re all English together. What better way to neutralise the threat posed by a second independence referendum?

25. Welsh Sion

For galamcennalath @ 1.37 pm:

For Two out of three inhabitants of Wales consider Welsh to be their national identity

https://www.nationalia.info/new/9698/two-out-of-three-inhabitants-of-wales-consider-welsh-to-be-their-national-identity

26. Lenny Hartley

Well Wishart did witter on about the Nation refererring to the UK the other day in Parliament. If so called Indy supporters in positions of power call The UK a Nation and we all know that the UK is England, who can blame the Journalists?

27. Bob Mack

The terms English and British seem interwoven. Especially after some sort of setback.

Amazing how Scots become English or British post victory, but remain Scots post defeat.

It is of course propoganda at its finest.

The simple truth is that England in general does not think of Scotland as a country in its own right. It is a part of their country and that means Engerlund. Some have become enlightened I am delighted to say but many more remain oblivious.

Erasing the national identity is the name of the game, but I wonder how many English ,Irish or Welsh would accept it so readily if we denied them their heritage ?

28. manandboy

England is not just another country – its another World ; one in which Scotland doesn’t belong.

For example, in the British Unionist media, Scotland and the rest of the UK are treated completely separately.

https://www.mirror.co.uk/news/politics/brexit-already-been-cancelled-heres-13896286

“Brexit has already been cancelled – and here’s why they’re not telling you
    March 29 was a Brexiteer threat to bring people in line, and it has utterly failed.”

29. Republicofscotland

“ALANM says:
    22 March, 2019 at 1:53 pm
    Anyone checked the listings for stv tonight? They’ve got English live football”

I’d say there are very few actual Scottish programmes on terrestrial tv. Even STV now streams ITV content.

30. Boudicca

OT, Ian Blackford is on Any Questions tonight, Radio 4 at 8.00 pm, repeated tomorrow 1.15pm.

31. Capella

Don’t forget BREXIT (wish I could) or how England exited the EU.

32. HandandShrimp

Sporting humiliations are different from political ones I would contend. I can’t say I was out up nor down by the 3 0 yesterday.

Suez was a humiliation and it toppled a PM and pretty much heralded the end of Empire. May seems impervious to humiliation. She will cling wild eyed to power come hell or high water. Brexit is an utter shambles but then so is just about everything the UK government touches.

33. manandboy

In all walks of life and in every endeavour, it is often very important to know one’s limits. We have various sayings which describe this, as in ‘it’s beyond me’, or ‘I haven’t got it in me’, and ‘ I can’t go on like this’.

For three hundred years, The English Establishment, speaking through the political Ruling Class have been drumming it into Scotland that Independence and self-determination are beyond our capabilities.

If you were born in Scotland but hold yourself to be ‘British’, then you probably believe that Independence is just too much, too far, and too complicated for the poor, wee stupid Scots.

And still, Westminster keep on pouring on this abuse, this ‘gaslighting’, this brainwashing.

So, the question in these times is less about the impact of a No deal Brexit, important though that undoubtedly is, but on the more essential and fundamental, and is, ‘Have we got it in us to be Independent?’

The answer remains the same. Yes, we do – but we don’t believe it, because the ‘British’, our Colonial Masters, always put us down. So far.

Maybe this time. Surely.

34. yesindyref2

Britain 38 – 38 Britain

Britain wuz robbed!

35. Essexexile

And all that English oil which annoyingly is beneath Scottish waters…..

36. Breeks

A wee shout out, a careful thought, and a friendly wave to all our good friends in English Scots for YES. 😉

37. Capella

Or they just “disappear”. The BBC finds an Orcadian mapped the final part of the “North West Passage” but was disappeared because the Inuit told him about John Franklin’s fate, cannibalism. Not a subject for polite Victorian society.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-north-east-orkney-shetland-47611240

38. Ottomanboi

“The British are special. The world knows it. In our innermost thoughts we know it. This is the greatest nation on earth”.
    from Tony Blair’s resignation speech, 2007.
    Spoken like a true North Brit.

“The liar’s punishment is not in the least that he is not believed but that he cannot believe anyone else”
    George Bernard Shaw

You Englishmen, confronted by something abnormal, will always pretend that it isn’t there. If he can’t pretend that, he will look through the object, or round it, or above it or below it, or in any direction except into it. If, however, you force him to look into it, he will at once pretend that he sees the object not for what it is but for something that he would like it to be.
    James Agate (Diarist and critic)

39. Dan

I popped over the border to England the other day and noticed that Aldi had plenty of both Saltire and Butcher’s Apron branded produce for sale, but I didn’t notice any with the England flag.
    From what I’ve seen it appears England is either not confident enough to promote its own produce, or it doesn’t know which flag to use.
    They need their own #KeepEnglandtheBrand campaign.

For Castrol R enthusiasts I found this 3min vid of an old speedway race with England’s riders incorrectly flagged. It’s an example showing that confusion or misrepresentation with flags and national identity is not a new phenomenon.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QWbsJ6bd8K8

With No Deal still a prospect I’ll post this link again which mentions “a new UK logo”, wonder what it will look like…

http://web.archive.org/web/20181226053421/https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/protecting-geographical-food-and-drink-names-if-theres-no-brexit-deal/producing-food-products-protected-by-a-geographical-indication-if-theres-no-brexit-deal

40. gus1940

Isn’t it funny that following last week’s formal complaint to The BBC re lack of SNP representation on political programs this week SNP politicians have been all over said programs.

41. ScottieDog

Brengland

42. Yerkitbreeks

Welsh Sion. – unfortunately the stats I quoted didn’t separate but I have no doubt the Officer Class had the same attitude to Welshness

43. S.Perspective

Well even if said Telegraph had its categories right, this is humiliation on the scale of Suez and Dunkirk. At least the British didn’t entirely bring these upon themselves.

May‘s look-at-me-mummy has ended in her falling over her own feet.

44. Ken500

TV. Telephone. All Scottish invention, Telecommunication led on to the internet. Medicine engineering feats worldwide. Scotland invented them all Oil technology, renewables Scotland world’s ahead. A population of 5Million with a major place in the world. A 40million disporia with influence in the world. The Declaration of Arbroath. The ‘Enlightenment’ changing the world.

While Westminster secretly and illegally stole it all.

Now wasting more £Billions on the Westminster idiocy.

A Burley the Sky reporter has not got a clue. Ignorant incompetent.

Boycott Sky get rid of it. There are lots of other better sources. Including the internet.

45. Ken500

Russia saved the West in the 11WW. 26million died. 150Million people (USSR) have achieved self determination and self government since the 1990’s. The Russia (USSR) population has halved.

The Westminster absolute liars want to start a war with Russia who only wants peace and quiet. All quiet in the Western Front,

The Westminster lying unionists incompetents, useless crooks and deviants, would have started a war on the Russian border. Trump would not go along with it. Told Johnstone to get lost. The only thing Trump has not done is start a war with Russia. Even he is not daft enough.

Enough is enough when will Westminster see the back of the useless unionists incompetent , thieving liars.

Scotland is on the way to Independence. Thank goodness. Going it’s own way. Thank goodness for the SNP Gov standing up for Scotland.

46. Ken Clark

I caught a bit of Jeremy Vine’s show this morning while channel hopping.

Question to viewers was, “Are you embarrassed to be British?”

More accurately of course, given our absence from the decision making process, “Are you embarrassed to be English?”

Reminded me of the riots in England being headlined as, “Britain’s shame”.

An English guy, working in Dundee during Euro16 hated the Icelandic thunderclap. I informed him it was inspired by a chant performed by fans of Motherwell FC. His response was; I may be paraphrasing, “Thanks a f’n lot, that just makes it worse!” If I’d known it was my humiliation too I would have been more sympathetic. 😉

No doubt he will be mourning “our” humiliation in Kazakhstan along with Sky’s Kay Burley.

47. Lenny Hartley

Ken55 u forget the Fax Machine which before the emergence of the Internet and Email was the main communications tool for Small to Medium businesses. larger corporation had their own telex messaging services but with its limited character set and lack of ability to attach files meant that Fax was also used by larger corporations. I remember in 1981 organising the installation of around 25 group 3 fax machines at a cost of near ten grand each for the company I worked for European offices. (And we had a global telex messaging system which I managed. .
    Fax invented by Alexnder Bain of Wattin near Wick in 1843 , he also invented the Electrical Clock.

48. Graeme McCormick

It’s time to a bit more gown up.

Let’s just tell everyone Britain is Pish!

49. manandboy

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/av/uk-politics-47662527/brexit-extension-we-are-at-the-moment-of-decision-may

In this presentation, Theresa May gives herself a lot of emphasis, with the frequent use of the ‘I’ word, as indeed she often does. She refers to the agreement which ‘I’ negotiated with President Junker. In effect, she is concentrating on the message that she, and she alone, is fully in charge of the British side of the exchanges and negotiations. No other person is mentioned. To judge solely by what she says, Mrs May apparently does not act in concert with anyone, not her Cabinet, her deputy, nor her Attorney General, or even her Special Advisors. Her tone is unmistakeably ‘crafted authoritarian’. She is in charge, and things will be done her way. Further, she comes across as rigid, unbending and determined. Again, I suspect these are practiced under tuition from her ‘communication experts’.

So what are we to make of all this. Well, to start with, it is all pretence. Mrs May is ‘keeping up appearances’, like someone standing perfectly still and smiling, after stepping onto very thin ice.

So the show goes on as we are all, again, led tiptoe on May’s merry dance across the ice of Brexit.

We all know by now that it’s only a matter of time, and we’ve known for so long, that it is a complete bore. And, frankly, that’s mainly because she has herself become a complete and utter bore. That’s what happens when someone sets off on an odyssey of endless lies and every kind of deception and pretence.

50. Robert Louis

England = ‘Britain’ = England.

That is how it is. That is how it has always been, old chap, don’t you know. Uppity jocks just ‘have a chip on their shoulder’, and should be proud to be ‘british’ English.

51. geeo

DUP not backing treezas deal next week….hold ma popcorn, my sides are spltting here. ..:-)

52. Jockanese Wind Talker

DUP have ALWAYS wanted No Deal @geeo says.

A return to a hard Border gives them and their mates/family jobs with lots of overtime and a chance to bully and persecute Catholic’s.

53. Graham Peter King

Alastair Ewen says:
    22 March, 2019 at 1:09 pm
    John Lennon said it best: “I read the news today, oh boy. The BRITISH Army had just won the war.”

I’ve checked a couple of sources. They give “I read the news today, oh boy.’ as the first line of the first verse.

It’s the second verse that contains the lines
    “I saw a film today, oh boy
    The English Army had just won the war
    A crowd of people turned away
    But I just had to look
    Having read the book
    I’d love to turn you on”..

Make of it all what you will!
    But it is ‘English’ Army, not ‘British’.

54. robertknight

ENGLISH
    /?ñglíß/

adjective
    1. a generic term, variously relating to England, Britain/Great Britain, the constituent parts of the United Kingdom, its people or language.

noun
    1. the language of England, widely used in many varieties throughout the civilized world.

2. the people of England, (incl. Cornwall), Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales, Isle of Mann, Channel Islands, Gibraltar and other Crown Dependencies.

*Above taken from the ‘Glossary’ of the Beginners Guide to Journalism & Propaganda – British Empire Edition.

55. Gary45%

Best way to deal with it.
    A laugh and a smile.

56. Derick fae Yell

Theresa goes

Who is Prime Minister?

57. Robert J. Sutherland

Robert Louis @ 16:01,

You’re channelling that M&S wumman, RL. Please desist, it’s not good for your mental wellbeing! =laugh=

More seriously, I reckon the only genuine “British” are the immigrants, who don’t have a natural affiliation with any of the native species, and for whom the generic definition is the one that gives them their place. Some up here have already made a whole or part transition to “Scottish” – as reflected in their accents – but we need to have special consideration for the remainder. We need to win their support also for what’s (soon) to come.

58. Maria F

manandboy says:
    22 March, 2019 at 3:39 pm
    “So what are we to make of all this”

My personal opinion is that she (actually her handlers and the spin doctors that redacted her speeches) are already anticipating with the speech the moment she will step down to be used by the English establishment as the scapegoat to wipe a bit of the brexit dirt from the face of the tory party and they have been doing this for a while.

By constantly saying I, I, I, in the speeches and not “we”, she is focusing our attention on herself, away from the tory party I very much doubt this woman capable to write her own speeches, so I think it is again, her handlers and spin doctors who are trying to seed in our minds the idea that she is the only one to blame, she is the only one to be hold responsible for the whole brexit fiasco. But we know she is not. The whole party is to blame for this, and so is labour.

The tories are disgusting cowards, we know that. Look at Cameron running away like a coward, Mundell threatening to resign over and over again but not having the backbone to resign even once, Gove running like the plague from that position as Brexit secretary, Bojo stepping out when Leave won and after signing the Chequers agreement, Davis resigning from his position after achieving nothing and then blaming her, Grayling sending a junior minister to answer for his own shortcomings, May herself unable to address the voters and being restricted to staged events etc. This new authoritarian profile does not match at all nor with her previous performances nor with the current shower of tory cowards of recent years. They are all puppets. I am convinced she is already enacting the role of the scapegoat and the smokescreen that will “save” the cowards in the tory party from being totally wiped off their seats in the UK by taking the blame. She already is.

Why do you think Gove, Bojo, Davis and other tory cowards “resigned” so early on in the process? Because they did not want to be splashed with the brexit sht when it hits the fan, which will do soon enough. Perhaps that is the reason why even the spineless Mundel is uttering now something about resigning from the cabinet. May was always the disposable asset the tories had in mind for the brexit agenda and her only purpose was to bring brexit to fruition for the VIP taxdodgers and American fatcats. The current position of leader of the tory party and PM of a tory government pursuing a no deal brexit is too toxic and risky for any of the other more valuable “assets” of the tory party, that is why after all the blunders she has done she remains as leader of the party and PM.

I think her main mission is about to be accomplished, hence preparing for the last chapter of her mission: operation scapegoat.

59. Morgatron

Derek @4.25pm, to answer your question ,if Theresa goes who replaces her? I personally would like to see Bamber Gascoine fill her leopard skin heels, just for the name alone- Crazy Name – Crazy Guy

60. Bill

There’ll always be an England,
    As long as Scotland stands, It’s just through poor old Scotland that England’s wealth expands.

61. Jack collatin

If May, McLeish and Gerrard were entered in a Sack Race, who would be finished first?
    There is no such thing as ‘British’, or ‘Britain’.
    I have tons of English friends, ex colleagues, and relatives, who all consider themselves English, in a Union of 4 distinct nations.
    ‘British’ is used by the Colonial English Carpetbaggers to corral Scotland’s resources, oil, energy, gas, timber, fish, agriculture, into their ‘Union’s’ grasp.
    Our resources have been pillaged by the English Nation for 300 years.
    It stops now.
    I am aware that there are tens of thousands of English born, perhaps 100’s of thousands, who have done us the honour to move here, to settle, work, raise families, who support Scottish Self Determination.
    Thank you, New Scots.
    Equally, the stats from Indyref 1 seem to indicate that English born immigrabts voted No, swinging the result in favour of The English Empire.
    I posit; when we hold Indyref 2 and achieve self Determination, will 100’s thousands of English / British No-ers, pack up, and head South to the Motherland?
    I only ask.
    I am Scottish. I am a European.
    I am not ‘British’, or ‘Brenglish’.
    Their 300 year old hold on Scotland, the rape of our land, is over.
    This piece of drivel by a London hack says it all.
    Suez, Dunkirk, and Iceland thwacking the Poms.
    My insurance has just e mailed advising that I need a Green Card and :-

“The rules for driving licences are also changing. You’ll need one or more International Driving Permits, although you do not need an IDP for the Republic of Ireland. IDPs can be obtained from the Post Office, and currently cost £5.50 each. You can find out more here.”

And I’ll need a European Accident Statement form?
    How many tens of thousands of motorists will be making their way to ports next week end to holiday on the Continent?
    And some Dead Tree Scroll Hack rattles off a ‘nothing to see here’ piece of crap in the London Rags.

62. galamcennalath

When someone (perhaps when overseas) refers to me as English, I have standard response.

I smile, and say, “You X are always the same”, where X is a nationality other than their own.

They always come back, “I’m not X!”

Which gives me the opportunity to say, “And I’m not English”.

The point is very rarely lost on them.

63. Fireproofjim

Oh flower of Britain,
    When will we see your like again?

64. Socrates MacSporran

Maria F @ 3.39pm

Very good post, I think you pretty-much nailed it there.

65. Iron Man

Have a wee keek at the Euro qualifiers tonight to hear the English national anthem, God save the Queen. In my view they can keep it. 🙂

66. manandboy

Maria F says:
    “So what are we to make of all this”

“My personal opinion is that she (actually her handlers and the spin doctors that redacted her speeches) are already anticipating with the speech the moment she will step down to be used by the English establishment as the scapegoat to wipe a bit of the brexit dirt from the face of the tory party and they have been doing this for a while.”

Very well thought through, Maria. Your argument has a lot to commend it especially since it does fit the Brexit narrative as seen through the eyes of those in the Establishment for whom the Tory Party is simply a political lever with which to remain in power and in control of the money.

But still, we have yet to hear the sound of the penny dropping, either for the electorate or in Parliament.

67. IZZIE

O/T (AGAIN) Andrea Leadsom (she of the sour face) dissed the Article 50 petition but she can afford to do this with her majority. However I have been looking at how the percentages have risen with the numbers of petitioners and MP’s with less safe seats might be looking over their shoulders at the 7plus percentage of eligible voters who have signed.

68. ronnie anderson

Morgatron Morph to replace Tereza he’s ah bit more flexible

69. Dr Jim

If Britain is a country show me the *British* flag
    Every country has a flag so where on the map is this *country* of Britain

There’s a Union flag which means the same thing as the EU flag
    There’s the St George’s cross flag that represents England
    There’s the Saltire that represents Scotland
    There’s the Welsh flag for their people
    Northern Ireland have flag disputes depending on which side you’re on so I’m not getting into that one

But where is this *British* flag, how can anyone have the nationality of a country that doesn’t exist and how did the powers that be in Westminster conive to create such a fraud

70. Blair Paterson

A ., Darling is English born in London

71. manandboy

The EURef took place on June 23, 2016.
    Theresa May was elevated to the Premiership on July 13,2016.

In that period of 20 days, or rather during the pretend process to find ‘democratically’, a replacement for David Cameron, The Establishment Board, per the current projection, hatched their plan of how to avoid Armeggedon for the Establishment, and, at the same time, how to stage the recovery of the Tory Party.

What would be inescapable in their plan, is that the needs and wellbeing of the people of the UK were simply dismissed as being irrelevant and immaterial. What mattered above all else, was and is the survival of the Establishment intact.

One way or another , we will soon know for sure.

72. Scot Finlayson

The Lone Ranger and Tonto find themselves surrounded by hostile Indians.

The Ranger asks Tonto:

“What are we going to do, Tonto?”
    To which Tonto replies:
    “What do you mean we,pale face”.

73. yesindyref2

@galamcennalath
    I always say “No, I’m Scottish, that’s worse”. Always gets a laugh.

74. ALANM

@Iron Man 17:34

I’m old enough to remember the days when God Save the Queen was routinely played (accompanied by whistling and booing from the 100,000+ crowd) before all international matches at Hampden. That was back in the 1960’s. We then flirted with Scotland the Brave for a while before eventually settling on Flower of Scotland.

75. yesindyref2

Mmm, petition, 3.5 million now, Edinburgh North SNP is 15.54% but Bristol West Labour is at 17.73%.

Go Deidre Brock, chap the doors, you gotta win!

76. call me dave

I mind when GSQ at the end of all cinema performances!

Mini stampedes to get out (I was only wee) 🙂

Can’t remember when that stopped. 1960’s?

77. Nana

As I won’t be home tomorrow, I have posted lots of articles on the previous thread including one about the revoke petition which is worth a read.

78. Davie Oga

One of the best things about living in Ireland is no one ever asks if I am British or English. Just immediate recognition of Scottishness. Also, when filling out official paperwork, pps number, childs birth cert., company registration etc., I’ve never had any hassle for using Scottish as my nationality. I find it hard to imagine even the most pedantic Irish civil servant insisting on the use of British as a nationality as has been the case in my dealings with other countries (visa, work permit).

79. Lenny Hartley

Maria F , good post, what I have been thinking for some time.

80. Capella

@ Nana – thx – good reads for Friday evening! I particularly like the thoughtcontrol article on the Isos Mori poll results showing a completely yellow SNP Scotland. Looking good!

https://thoughtcontrolscotland.com/2019/03/22/breaking-new-sub-poll-suggests-major-snp-surge-to-55/

81. Robert Peffers

@Lenny Hartley says:22 March, 2019 at 1:57 pm:

” … Well Wishart did witter on about the Nation refererring to the UK the other day in Parliament.”

Well, Lenny, he does have a bit of an excuse as the dictionary definition of, “A Nation”, is a bit loose:-

“a large body of people united by common descent, history, culture, or language, inhabiting a particular country or territory.”

So I suppose the United Kingdom occupies a common territory but it sure as hell isn’t a country.

Its title does accurately describe it as a United Kingdom so as long as the two kingdoms are still united it is a kingdom and when Scotland announces the union is over it will return to being two kingdoms and two nations.

With the United Kingdom gone forever leaving the three country Kingdom of England and the single country Kingdom of Scotland.

That is until we sack the monarch and elect a President who will not have great powers but will have the job that the King/Queen of Scots had until we decided to become a republic. That job is defender of the people’s sovereignty.

82. mike cassidy

Another bit of research that fails to illuminate via the different parts of these islands.

I spoke to 40 UK-based Polish women about Brexit – here’s what I found

http://archive.is/ri3ue

83. North chiel

“ maria@0433 pm” , yes indeed May is as usual just the “ front person “ for the Britnat establishment/ Tory hierarchy . Her instructions are& have been crystal clear “ Get us out of the EU at any cost” ensure that “ the precious precious union is held firm” . Step down( as usual) when these aims are achieved ( or when we tell you) and thereafter proceed to the “ House of Lords, Baroness May”.
    Unfortunately , she is finding it impossible to square the circle of Brexit& the union. Her replacement if a “ hard brexiteer” might have to “ oversee” the break up of the U.K. ( Unless they decide that “ the precious precious union “ trumps Brexit? ) .
    PS . I recall a poster yesterday suggesting that a certain military base could be “ annexed “ by force following Independence by the UK military . Just a thought , as all UK military is “ crown forces” under “ our Queen of Scots” . Would a “ sovereign vote” in Holyrood to remove the monarch as Head of state in Scotland make them “ negotiate”??

84. Nana

@Capella, you’re welcome, adding more links as I find them.

85. Cubby

Dr Jim@6.00pm

It certainly is a fraud. There are many ways to burst the British/Britain is a country balloon. My favourite is to ask how many people have been convicted under British law. There is of course no such thing as British law. Only Scots law and English law. The more open minded usually then ask about Wales and Northern Ireland. The others just say I AM BRITISH.

The least self aware are those British who claim the EU is trying to create a country out of a Union.

86. mike cassidy

Not all the ‘over 65s’ are in favour of Brexit – Britain’s wartime generation are almost as pro-EU as millennials

http://archive.is/aB7Lh

87. Thepnr

MV3 will not go ahead next week after all if May doesn’t believe she can win. I really cannot believe this is happening and nobody is doing anything about this maniac.

https://twitter.com/bbclaurak/status/1109172031197724677

88. starlaw

While on a visit to the Ocean Road Victoria Australia with an Australian friend, he was asked by an elderly Chinese couple to take their photo, he pointed me out saying as I was the photographer I should take the pic I replied, without thinking “Aye Awe Richt” The Chinese gentleman looked at me in amazement and said ” you are not from here you are from Scotland, someday I go there”. Turned out he was a geologist and knew a great deal about Skye. Hope he made his visit.

89. Thepnr

May is definitely doomed, a lame duck Prime Minister that must go now.

More info from Peston on next weeks expected shenanigans.

http://archive.fo/d51f3

90. starlaw

Call me Dave 6;21

I to remember GSQ at closing time in the cinema and the stampede for the doors, there was always one solitary figure standing to attention amidst the clamour and mayhem as rank and file fled the premises.

91. Ian Foulds

Breeks says:
    22 March, 2019 at 2:37 pm
    A wee shout to English Scots for YES.

110% agree.

These good people however are a state apart from the British media, as they are intelligent, understand the situation and, like Scots, are intelligent and thoughtful.

92. Brian Doonthetoon

I took my son to some function in the Caird Hall. Might have been an Armistice thing but I can’t remember. He was around 9 at the time so would have been around 2000.

There came a point where GSTQ was announced and I said to Chris, “Don’t stand up or sing.” When he asked why, I said, “Because that’s the English national anthem and we’re Scottish.”

We weren’t the only ones who didn’t stand up.

93. Mike Cassidy

Anybody watching the England match?

1966 mentioned yet?

94. galamcennalath

Farage suggesting the revocation petition is being signed by Russian bots. I believe others are making the same type of claims.

Eh? Why would it be in Russia’s interests to cancel Brexit!?

Surely all who wish harm to the UK and EU would want Brexit to go ahead! And the harder and more damaging, the better!

95. call me dave

@Thepnr
    Thanks for those links:

I don’t think the Tories can get rid of her for a ‘year’ after her Tory leadership vote a while back?

She be planning an ‘El Cid’ departure or similar. 🙂

It’ll be interestingly/scary to see what actually happens.

This all started as a brilliant wheeze within the Tory party to get rid of the UKIP threat and it has come to this. 🙁

@Capella

I hope that sub sample thingy I read up the thread is on the mark.

@starlaw

The good old days 🙂

Back to the footie:
    HT 0-0 Partick and ICthistle.

Football but not as we used to know it.

96. Akkermann

What about the time 1980s? Liverpool lost to Aberdeen in a European match? “A bad day for Britain” was the headline.

97. Golfnut

@ North Chile.
    Good questions. I’ve never ever heard of Her Majesties forces being preferred to as Her majesty of England forces, I would be pretty surprised to find current or historical documentation referencing such a thing.
    I would have thought that should the Scottish Parliament assume executive power immediately, that all personnel and military equipment would come under the control of the SG as her Majesty Queen of Scots Government.
    Maybe the first question that needs to be asked, is which country will actually own the nuclear weapons. Maybe our negotiation should start with, ok, you can have them, but only if you remove them from Scottish territory.

98. velofello

Castrol R enthusiast? Well that sure got my attention. Thanks Dan.

99. Robert Peffers

@galamcennalath says: 22 March, 2019 at 8:04 pm:

” … Farage suggesting the revocation petition is being signed by Russian bots. I believe others are making the same type of claims.

Aye!
    Richt!

I’ve just been reading the text service news.

There is an item that states several experts, (memory says 4), have stated that it is extremely unlikely that bots have been used to boost the figures as the system is specifically designed to prevent just that.

100. Meg merrilees

Listening to Any Questions on R4.
    Ian Blackford has been interrupted three times already on separate occasions – unusual for Johnathan Dimbleby.

SNP getting show stopping cheer when it has been explained that the SNP supports Revocation of Art. 50. – Blackford says there have to be cross-party consultations.

101. John from Fife

O/T. Sorry about this but am I the only one concerned about the SNP attitude to a PV and revocation of Article 50 and the consequences for Indyref 2.

102. stewartb

Lenny Hartley @ 1:57 writes:

“Well Wishart did witter on about the Nation refererring to the UK the other day in Parliament. If so called Indy supporters in positions of power call The UK a Nation and we all know that the UK is England, who can blame the Journalists?”

Agreed!

Then Robert Peffers @ 6:58 pm says in reply:

“Well, Lenny, he does have a bit of an excuse as the dictionary definition of, “A Nation”, is a bit loose:-

‘a large body of people united by common descent, history, culture, or language, inhabiting a particular country or territory.’

So I suppose the United Kingdom occupies a common territory but it sure as hell isn’t a country.”

Disagree! Mr Wishart has no excuse. And as I read his contribution, Lenny was not talking about ‘country’ but about ‘nation’. Even ‘proudScotbuts’ singing Flower of Scotland refer to Scotland as a ‘nation’ in distinction to the Tories – those who govern us in Westminster – who now and for a long time lump Scotland into their ‘one nation’.

As I have posted in a previous thread, we should be aiming for consistent usage of terms in discourse about Scotland’s status. Every opportunity should be taken by our pro-indy political leaders in Westminster debates and in media interviews to make pointed references to the UK ‘state’, the kingdoms of Scotland and England, the countries within the UK, the nations within the UK and the Queen of Scots.

103. Thepnr

I’ve been following the news about the supposed Brexiter protests that would bring the UK to a standstill with Go Slow protests on many major motorways. It doesn’t seem to have gone too well.

Another well publicised one was a threat to blockade Brittany ferries tonight out of Plymouth. Don’t all laugh at once.

https://www.plymouthherald.co.uk/news/local-news/brexit-demonstrators-plan-disrupt-brittany-2677264

104. Bill Hume

I have a sneaky suspicion that Nicola Sturgeon is playing this rather well. The tortured twists and turns of Brexit have some way to go yet.
    There will be more foetid water under the Westminster bridge before our path to independence becomes clear.

Who will blink first?

I suspect it will not be the First Minister of Scotland.

105. Lenny Hartley

Starlaw, never mind the cinema, when i was a young boy in the early sixties, we had the only telly on the street, on a saturday night our living room became a pop up cinema house i always wondered why my dad went to the toilet at the same time every saturday night , yup GSTQ was played every night on the telly and all the neighbours would be standing to attention.!

106. stonefree

@ call me dave at 6:21 pm
    “Can’t remember when that stopped. 1960’s?”
    I remember it being play at the end of Performance” which was 1970, and I’m certain it was played at the end of Starwars 1977

107. Welsh Sion

Did you hear the latest news?

Britain won the Rugby Union Grand Slam last week.

108. Thepnr

God Save the Queen was played every night at the close down of BBC1 right up until 3 October 1997.

109. Phronesis

Another British design that Scotland can leave in the hands of the cartel at the heart of the British Parliament when Scotland asserts its autonomy .It’s not a particularly intelligent economic approach is it – the money laundering matrix that supports anonymity for criminals.

“It’s increasingly clear that UK property is one of the favourite tools of the criminal and corrupt for stashing and laundering stolen cash. This analysis reveals the alarming scale of the UK’s secret property scandal,” said Ava Lee, Senior Anti-Corruption Campaigner at Global Witness. 
    Forty percent of the identified properties are in London. Cadogan Square in Knightsbridge, an affluent neighborhood of Victorian homes bordering Hyde Park, hosts at least 134 secretly owned properties. About 10,000 properties are in Westminster, home to the British Parliament…

The Draft Registration of Overseas Entities Bill Joint Committee was formed to report on a draft bill which would establish a public register of the owners of overseas properties that own or purchase land in the UK. The overseas properties would be required to identify their beneficial owners and report that information to the register. 
    The UK pledged to create such a register at the Anti-Corruption Summit in 2016, but thus far the promise has not been kept’

https://www.occrp.org/en/daily/9397-report-us-132-billion-of-uk-property-is-registered-in-tax-havens

110. Lenny Hartley

Dan and Velofellow, re Castrol R surely not enthusiest but addict ? Remember back in the seventies listening to the Isle of Man TT sounds stories on LP of all the exotic works racers of the sixties with a camping gaz stove with a pot filled with some Castrol R in it bubbling away giving off that incredible aroma to add to the atmosphere. For those not in the know, Castrol R was a mineral (Castor bean) based Oil that was used in competition engines, although most racers of Classic or Vintage bikes dont use it these days due to its propensity to gum up the works, many add a tablespoon or two into each tank of fuel to get that aroma,

111. yesindyref2

@Welsh Sion
    Britain beat the British Isles to get the grand slam 🙂

112. yesindyref2

Just watched the Outlaw King at last, very good 🙂

(yes, I know it’s not 100% historically accurate, it’s a movie. But then how much of history really is 100% historically accurate? Not a lot and they’re a’ deid)

113. galamcennalath

” ‘Trait0r to England’: Ian Blackford harassed by Brexit supporters in London “

http://archive.is/2UoPo

He’s in good company. Isn’t that what was said about William Wallace?

[doesnt archive well]

114. John

” Brian Doonthetoon says:
    22 March, 2019 at 8:18 pm

A fairly good discussion taking place NOW!”

Thanks Brian, I joined in after I saw your link and enjoyed the end of the debate which finished at 2100. Good content.

115. Bob Mack

I’m hearing Ian Blackford and Stephen Gettins had to abandon a proposed interview outside Parliament after protestors harassed them ,calling them—–wait for it—-("Tractor" - Ed)s to England. I’m still chuckling

116. call me dave

Very good open meeting there on ‘livestream’ with Dr Philippa Whitford on implications for the health service /Brexit.

Had the footie on split screen no sound… and watched the meeting Glasgow YES. Excellent and encouraging too.

PS: 2-1 Caley Thistle

PPS:

@stonefree

Jings! Star wars.

Are yea sure it wisnae the theme from the Empire Stikes back? 🙂

I remember taking both my sons to a Star Wars trilogy in Glenrothes cinema all three films back to back with two intervals and a picnic box meal thrown in. Superb! All day event.

But my backside suffered dreadfully.
    Star Wars… almost the best cowboy film ever. 🙂 🙂

117. Meindevon

Thepnr @ 8.42pm

Yep there was more ‘chaos’ caused by the prospect of ‘chaos’ than what actually happened. Our visitors cancelled due to possible ‘chaos’ on the M5 and people working in local businesses around Exeter services were leaving early to avoid the ‘chaos’.

The rolling road block was ten lorries (10 people?) which went 15 miles with a police escort causing more ‘chaos’.

Hilarious.

118. Robert J. Sutherland

Bill Hume @ 20:47,

I agree, Bill. Playing a difficult hand in uncertain times, and yet playing it cool.

Recently she repeated her familiar mantra “we need certainty…”, but then added (and I paraphrase) “but uncertainty is also a kind of certainty”.

Just a few words as qualification, but I thought that highly significant.

I feel that something is definitely afoot now, and we’ll see it soon.

119. Welsh Sion

Yesindyref2,

You forgot the Wops and Frogs! 😀

120. Robert Peffers

@stonefree says: 22 March, 2019 at 8:48 pm:

” … I remember it being play at the end of Performance” which was 1970, and I’m certain it was played at the end of Starwars 1977″

Matter of fact it used to also be played on the TV at closedown every night. Cannot remember if STV played it or not but BBC certainly did. If memory serves this only stopped when there was no set close down time.

121. Ghillie

On top of the obvious and ongoing kleptomania around Scotland’s achievements, there can be no comparison between the triumphs and disappointments in sports and the far-reaching devastation and shame that is the Brexit clusterbourach!

122. galamcennalath

GSTQ on the TV last thing. I can remember my mother pondering on more than one occasion, did daft folk actually stand to attention in their livingrooms!?

123. yesindyref2

@Welsh Sion
    Bloody Johnny Foreigners! Anyway, France belongs to England and Italian tanks have 4 reverse gears. Which would actually be very useful, but that’s another story.

(for the unwary, that’s a kind of joke – see context of article)

124. yesindyref2

@Golfnut
    Finally replied on a previous thread (Great Coincidence).

125. Welsh Sion

On the subject of National Anthems at Closedown on BBC1 – BBC 1 Cymru had “Land of My Fathers” AND some plaintive, repetitive dirge. We always use to belt out the first and switch off before the second.

What did Scotland have?

126. Robert Peffers

@galamcennalath says: 22 March, 2019 at 9:41 pm:

” … GSTQ on the TV last thing. I can remember my mother pondering on more than one occasion, did daft folk actually stand to attention in their livingrooms!?”

It wasn’t just played they broadcast a photo of Lizzie.

BTW it also used to be played at the end of the Wireless Broadcasting at night.

127. Cubby

GSTQ

After meeting a nice N Ireland girl on holiday in my teens I was invited over subsequently to see her in Strabane. I remember being surprised when watching television at her parents home GSTQ suddenly started on the TV and everyone jumped out their seat and stood to attention for the duration. It just seemed absolutely weird to me. I stuck to my seat.

The next day her family were a lot cooler towards me. She explained that they now thought I was a Catholic and could I please just stand for GSTQ if it came on again. I didn’t.

I had no time for sectarian crap and no time for Royal family worshipping either. I guess that’s part of the reason I can’t stand people like Clegg of the Record importing their views into Scotland.

128. Liz g

Ghillie @ 9.39
    Yes… That’s the thing the Burly woman ( not to be confused by Ruth the mooths Burly men… Or is it…?? That’s a conversation way above my pay gade.) tried to portray.
    Sport is not politics… Why on earth would some team result for Scotland be relevant to a political correspondent??
    Bread and Circuses come to mind…
    Scotland is more sophisticated than that,and that she didn’t know this is telling!

129. auld highlander

galamcennalath at 9.41

Aye, the dafties next door were singing their heids aff at the start of their match in the 2014 world cup. After that we let rip with FoS on high volume at every sporting opportunity.

I can still see the silouette of some daft groik standing to attention as we leapt over the seats in the stampede for the exit.

As for May, will she feign illness and disappear into obscurity?

130. ronnie anderson

Given whats happened to Ian Blackford all the SNP MPs should buy body cams & send their expenses forms via Tereza May’s office

131. Capella

OT – The Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body has published its Sexual Harassment Policy. FAQ section too.
    https://www.parliament.scot/abouttheparliament/110510.aspx

132. Thepnr

This is an interesting video news report on Brexit from channel 4, it’s 16 minutes long and the whole thing is well worth watching but if you don’t have time to watch it all skip straight to 9:40 in for the Anna Soubry interview.

That is one impressive woman certainly in comparison with Theresa May.

https://www.channel4.com/news/what-happens-after-brexit-delay

133. Meg merrilees

Robert Peffers

GSTQ is still played on BBC R4 every night jut before 1.00am – the frustrating thing is that if you listen really closely, one of the trombone players splits the same note very night. One would have thought he would have been replaced by now!!!

( it’s in the phrase Happy and GLO -rious, long to reign,….

134. Meg merrilees

Thepnr

thanks for the link to the Plymouth newspaper.

Brilliant – just been reading the various reports about Pro-brexit protests. 12 people turned up to disrupt the Brittany ferry sailing, and two drivers on the M5 ‘go slow’ protest were fined by police for driving too slow – 20mph- on the Mway.

When interviewed one of the women said ..’if all 17 m people who had voted for brexit turned out, we would bring the country to it’s knees.’ …. Why?

135. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Thanks for posting that CH4 clip.

More convinced than ever that Soubry is the one to oust May. Sumbdy’s got to do it, sooner the better.

136. galamcennalath

Cubby says:

… absolutely weird …

I remember a similar revelation, except the other way. I was brought up in the country and sectarianism just never featured. I was aware of its existence, but never saw its ugly face.

At uni in Glasgow in the early 70s I became friends with a girl during lab sessions. We ended up good friends. Totally platonic relationship. She was actually engaged to guy who worked in Ravenscraig. I got invited round to her parents in Holytown for tea one night. I knew she was Catholic and considered it an irrelevance.

I found myself deep into a sectarian world. Quite clearly I was the first/only non Catholic friend their daughter had. I got the impression her family felt they lived in an enclave with hostiles beyond the boundaries. Everything was described in them and us terms. And they couldn’t quite understand where I fitted into their worldview. A real eye opener me at the time. There was another divided Scotland I barely knew existed.

137. CameronB Brodie

Cultural chauvinism is rooted in path dependency and sustained through biopsychosocial processes. Human cognition and decision making are largely emotionally based, hence “Project Fear”. It is democratically immoral for one culture to undermine another, either consciously or unconsciously.

Emotion, Biology, and Culture
    https://pdfs.semanticscholar.org/cbf2/52ae04cfc567635074d16395ead2f62bac96.pdf

Emotion and biological health: the socio-cultural moderation
    https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5673072/

Critical History of the Acculturation Psychology of Assimilation, Separation, Integration, and Marginalization
    blog.glorialopez.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/Rudmin2003CriticalHistory.pdf

Competition- and Identity-based Roots of Anti-immigration Prejudice among Individuals with and without an Immigrant Background
    https://www.rips-irsp.com/articles/10.5334/irsp.155/
    ftp://194.153.101.105/Faculty/licht/MAPD.pdf

138. Meg merrilees

John from Fife @ 8.30 pm

go to Joanna Cherry’s twitter feed. Someone asked her to clarify that an indy ref 2 supporter should have no qualms about signing the revoke Art. 50 treaty. She absolutely encourages it. ( about 7 tweets down the the page)

https://twitter.com/joannaccherry

139. Meg merrilees

Petition almost on 4 million now

140. ben madigan

GSTQ on the TV last thing – was too young to remember it. My bedtime was long before the end of BBC programmes!

141. Ken Clark

I see the Secretary for the UK in Scotland is threatening to resign… again!

I blow things out my nose with more substance than David Mundell.

142. Thepnr

@Meg merrilees

If you want to post a link to a specific tweet then if you open that tweet yourself then you will have the direct link for that tweet in your address bar to cut and paste.

https://twitter.com/joannaccherry/status/1109149966075863040

143. yesindyref2

I love the innuendo in this

https://twitter.com/NicolaSturgeon/status/1109085745686474752

I’ll be proud to speak at the @peoplesvote_uk march tomorrow. Scotland voted to remain in 2016 but people across the UK must have the chance to get out of this Brexit mess. Whatever Scotland’s future – I hope independent – it is in all of our interests for UK to be in the EU.

Or rUK …

144. Golfnut

@ Yesindyref2

‘re other thread comment, thought I would post here since its well down the thread.

Yep agree pretty much, Grippen all the way, though I think we would be back of the que for the E/F, plenty of surplus E version with upgrades would probably meet our immediate requirement. Have to admit I was a little depressed at the suggestion of 2 Type 26 in the White paper, we don’t need global combat ships. 4 to 8 missile Corvettes like the Russian Tarantul, floating missile platforms. Ok they are a bit slow at 14 knots but you get the idea.

Anyway off to bed, hope you get to defender.

145. Thepnr

@ben madigan

GSTQ didn’t end until 1997 on BBC1 so I’m guessing your a good bit younger than most of here then LOL.

146. Robert J. Sutherland

Meg merrilees @ 22:31,

I agree that it’s absolutely the right move to make for now (and signed-up accordingly before the site crashes), but do wonder when our friends in SCER will finally give up all hope of a UK-wide solution and come over unambiguously to indy as the only realistic way forward for us.

147. Dan

@ Lenny and velofellow

Ok, my name is Dan and I got enthusiastically addicted to Castrol R as a young’un… and I’ll even admit, I did inhale!

My first exposure to “R” was more than likely pre-teens in Edinburgh at Powderhall where it was probably mixed with dope.
    Since then I’ve smoked litres of the stuff, I didn’t care if it was a 2 or 4 stroke engine, if it ran it needed lubrication, and I could get a hit if I used that bean based oil.
    I’ve got it all under control now but I still seek and create the aromatic stimulation whenever the opportunity arises.
    Last year on a bike run I deliberately didn’t overtake a group of classic scooter riders for over 5 miles as we made our way up a glen, just so I could sniff the combustion residues that hung in the air as I followed them. I’ll even add a wee drop to the fuel of my lawnmower to take the edge off the horrendously mundane aspect of cutting my grass.

To get back on topic, the “British” (English) bike industry like so many others has diminished over the years. I imagine the demise of all these manufacturers and their products that workers would once have been proud to be associated with will have had a negative psychological affect on many. It can’t be easy dealing with that loss of prestige.

148. geeo

galamcennalath

22 March, 2019 at 10:25 pm

…….

Similair lines story from my youth.

I went out with a girl from strict catholic family when i was 15/16, i say family, but for that, read PARENTS (not so much her)

I was her first boyfriend, and the very first time i met her parents, they ask outright if i was a catholic.

I already loathed religion by even this young age, i remembered reading something about how many wars/conflicts were going on in the world at that given time and over 80% were based on religious disagreement, so of course i said, no, i do not have any interest in religion whatsoever, but showing decency and humanity to each other is what counts, right ?

Well, apparently wrong !

I was informed, bluntly, that even if i was a protestant, that would be better than nothing, as at least i would still be a christian..

I informed them that was the LEAST christian thing i had ever heard, and surely went against christian teachings.

And left.

Good job her parents never found out what happened to their rather rebellious daughter when they were at chapel, is all i am saying….!!

149. Still Positive

The pnr @10.10
    and Ian Brotherhood @10.23

Well done agree with you both.

150. Cactus

Theresa Theresa Theresa.

Whit hiv ye done..?

151. K1

Cheers Nana, much appreciated 🙂

152. yesindyref2

@Golfnut
    Yes, last time I looked, the Gripen E/F was pretty well booked up to 2030. But the C/D have been modified and can take Meteor too, and last time I looked there were hundreds kept in store, just waiting for iScotland 🙂

153. CameronB Brodie

Dan
    Brexit is very much about globalisation, geo-politicts and the loss of perceived prestige. A lot of the developed world is experiencing similar social stresses, so England is not exceptional in it’s exceptionalism. It does appear to somewhat socially extreme in it’s political culture though and to have gone “full retard” concerning Britain’s political economy.

154. AndyMcKangry

Nice one geeo @1104pm, think I knew her as well!!
    Having been enlightened over the years by Robert P on all things constitutional, does anyone else think that the road we are now on is leading us to a point where the Scotgov will declare, officially, what we already know, that Brexit has broken the Treaty of Union, and it clearly has, and will announce the date for IndyRef2 as an excercise in ratifying the dissolution of the Union??
    On a constitutional basis Scotland should have nothing to do with any further re-runs of an EU referendum. The sovereign people of Scotland voted 62% to 38% to remain, if England wants to vote again, let them.
    The Scottish government has gone way beyond “The Call of Duty” to save the UK.
    Time for Scotland to re-take it’s rightful place in the world.

155. ben madigan

@ Thepnr who says:

“GSTQ didn’t end until 1997 on BBC1 so I’m guessing your a good bit younger than most of here then LOL”.

I personally may well be younger (or older). Whatevs.
    Take your pick. Place your bets.

Ben Madigan is ageless like the rocks, hills and mountains, glens and seas, lochs and rivers that make up our identity.

And is committed to Scottish independence

156. Liz g

ben madigan @ 12.17
    Aye well ye sound like me…
    And it’s ok tae say..
    We remember this stuff fae sittin in oor pram!
    There’s naebiddy here that wull say different!!!!

Ye mibbi want tae rethink claming yer “Rock like” right enough,it has a wee bit mair connotations than ye wid think.
    Jist mind…Ah can explain it to ye,but I cannie understand it for ye… So caw cannie my friend.. 🙂

157. Liz g

Hey Cactus..x

158. sandy

GSTQ.
    We used to play this years ago at local dances. 99.9% went down well.

159. sandy

As a quickstep.

160. Molly

Maria F , I was actually talking to my better half about Theresa May the other night and why she is so persistent/ bloody minded in her pursuit of her Brexit deal.No one is completely Teflon coated.

A couple of years ago there was a spoof programme on about the leadership of the Tories (between Michael Gove and Boris J). Although as I say a spoof, Theresa May was portrayed as aloof, cold, monosyllabic and promoted from nowhere right before Gove and Johnson’s eyes.

Perhaps she was selected by those in the background exactly because of her personality traits to see through whatever the outcome of the referendum or more importantly,given her rhetoric about immigration to appeal to all those UKIP voters.

Who ever replaces Theresa May will already have been discussed and although the usual suspects of Gove,Johnson, Rudd probably fancy their chances, my money is on someone like ? Johnny Mercer.Cant be linked to the Brexit shambles, I think former military , youngish and like Cameron would give the impression of a new start away from all the stuff of the previous 2-3 years.

Whoever it is, two things are certain, it won’t be the front runners jockeying for position and they’re still all Tories so I’ll never vote for them anyway

161. manandboy

Article 50 was triggered on March 29 2017. It was done, apparently, without any serious consideration of the consequences. However, there is a reason for everything.

Perhaps the same people who authorised Mrs May’s elevation to 10 Downing St., were in a hurry and couldn’t delay. Perhaps the introduction of new EU Tax laws in early April 2019 created an urgency which those involved in UK organised Tax evasion were not prepared to face.

Ponder this, Mrs May has done virtually nothing since becoming PM. This is why she has no answers for the EU when she attends their meetings. She has done no work and has made no plans. Why? Perhaps because to leave the EU was the only plan, and that could be achieved by doing as little as possible.

Throughout Brexit, hardly a single person in the UK has not been thoroughly perplexed by the shambolic conduct of Brexit by Mrs May and her ‘team’. But now we are able, with hindsight, we are able to better piece things together. The benefits of hindsight are increasing as the more reflection is increased in the absence of hard facts and clear plans.

More and more people are coming to the conclusion that Mrs May’s ‘handlers’ have had a plan from the beginning to save The Establishment and only the Establishment. Had Mrs May’s concern been for the wellbeing of the UK, then she and her Govt. would have been busy since July 2017, working hard to ensure an outcome which was right for everyone in the UK. But it must be obvious to everyone that that just hasn’t happened at all.

Brexit looks more and more like the ultimate ‘Privatisation’ for the neo-Liberal elite. A project to make the rich wealthier still, while selling the UK down the river.

The avalanche continues on down toward the town, where many are still asleep.

162. Benhope

Today was the last day of the public inquiry into the Coul Links golf course development north of Embo in east Sutherland.

The area has seen almost zero investment over the past 50 years and the huge county of Sutherland is a blind spot as far as Highland Council and HIE investment are concerned.

The local community councils and businesses are in favour of the development to create jobs and support the tourism sector.

The coallition of objectors includes the RSPB and SNH plus other conservation bodies.

All the experts and academics who have lectured us over the past four weeks on ecology, ornithology, butterflies and strange flies have one thing in common ;none spoke with a local accent.

If you are a local resident in favour of the project, you are paying your taxes to support SNH who are now paying very expensive QCs to oppose new job opportunities in your local area.Something not right there!

Has the well funded RSPB become too big for it`s boots as it always seems to oppose on and offshore wind farms, against local support in many instances. Who exactly do they represent? I was a member once but now think they are very much a malign influence in the north of Scotland.

163. Cactus

Hey Liz, ah learned something new today (marn.)

Then aye understood whit ah jist learned…

Back in Bonnie Balfron! Xx

164. Liz g

Cactus @ 2.26
    We are always learning..
    Will ICU Sunday..
    … Cause it wull be good..
    Gillian knows… Aye??

165. Cactus

Aye aye Liz, starters at Dow’s…

Then we proceed 2 Freedom Sq.

12 two 1.

166. Cactus

SCOTLANDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD2019!

SAY YES..

YES!!!

167. Cactus

Hey Glasgow, been away frae ye again, in ra Scottish countryside, tis aye.

Whisky be welcome anna huvnae even said le fuck, yet…

Ah ha ha ha, with iScottish LOVE 2019.

168. sandy

Aside.

Work colleague of mine some years ago was going out on his first date with this pretty young girl. On going to her home to escort her out, as was her prerogative, she was running late . After being cross-examined by her dad, the conversation was drying up. Thinking hard for something to say, he remarked on the wonderful picture hanging above the fireplace of a handsome male astride a huge white charger alongside a river.
    No date that night. All was not lost however as they have been happily married for 30+ years with a family of three, all real Scottish voters & neither Celtic or Rangers supporters.

169. Cactus

Tis cool like, ah dinnae need tae swear, any mair THIS nite.

It’s just me and Alexa rite NOW… i is coming. SO is CC.

The get out was good in Edinburgh last night, bout 8pm.

We made a shot within Pitt St Studios, groovy cools.

A bath, a bedroom and a beyond scene.

The catering was cool… mah favourite bit was the pea, coconut and coriander soup

170. Cactus

SO many SALTIRES to be a worn an flowin’ THIS TIME Sunday this.

Hey Glasgow!

Hey Edinburgh!

Hey Dundee!

Hey Perth!

Hey Inverness!

Hey oor Islands!

Hey Europe!

Hey! Hey!

Hey U!

Welcome to the Freedom Square of Scotland 24/03/2019.

171. Cactus

Bastian’s meets Coriander wtf:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1p4EcsA8nRg

THIS book is not for you.

Brexit is TNS.

172. Cactus

Dedication to Falkor:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7QdLc9Fz4dI

He has his wings.

173. Cactus

Whit dae ye think about THIS Equestrian Time in the year of ’18:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o8h-46yFO98

Presented waeoot comment.

174. Cactus

Had tae do it…

https://howmanydaystill.com/its/latest-brexit-19

Watch the clock.

175. Cactus

Come and join us for the drive, Glasgow…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=02Y7j8-wdDA

Finnieston to Partick via Dumbarton Rd.

Look out for the KG on yer RHS.

Ah’ll be yer tour guide 🙂

THIS is Glasgow.

WATCH.

176. Cactus

Try a drive in the Drum, Glasgow:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I0m5MDyiUHA

Mon the Kinfauns!

Oor Drum knows.

Trams comin’…

177. Cactus

Get yer motor runnin’…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8qWYZTIXhbw

Head out on.

Have an excellent day Inverness 23rd March 2019!

178. cearc

Mornin’ cactus. Have a grand weekend, wave a flag for me.

179. Cactus

THIS is probably the best one.. caur Lovers:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kO2DmTnXlDA

Just like the current PM… Scotland will never vote Tory again. 😉

But we will always shout out Yes!!

That much we choose.

180. Cactus

Mornin’ cearc xx

Rarin’ tae go babe.

Who’s a comin’ with me Apollo 9 hehe? 🙂

181. Cactus

To explain:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wbdWt3UDXhs

Once more and once again.

“Juice it up!”

182. Brian Doonthetoon

Here’s something for you, Cactus.

“I wish I were a spaceman”…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ifS2nP53Zs

183. Cactus

Aye never knew THIS existed…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_JWE9x0twn4

What are they doing?

They’re Loving it!

184. Cactus

XL5, ah’ll take it Brian, cheers bro 🙂

185. Cactus

This morning’s Cairnstoon could be about…

1) Theresa May
    2) Hamish saying something
    3) The UK

186. Cactus

Over to you.

187. yesindyref2

What some of us might like to know, young Cactus, with all this talk of Balfron and a change of nightly pace is this – did you get yourself a lumber?

188. Ken500

Try off topic

The smug arrogant SKy ‘presenters’. Videotape and lies. Boycott SKy there are plenty of alternatives, especially the Internet.

It was UK/US who funded ISIS. There would not have been ISIS without U.K./US funding. They have blown the Middle East to bits for years. Disgraceful, appalling illegal behaviour. Illegal wars costing £Trns and killing millions. The Westminster bloodbath caused by the unionist psychopaths. A wasteland of once thriving communities. Beautiful countries destroyed.

Rally at George Square 24th Sunday. Tommy Sheridan et al. Many people are going. Show support.

189. Cactus

Hey KenD, if yer projectin’… ah’ve been tae off-topic aweready ahn ahm back bud.

You cool wae that good dude like.

Ah’ve had a crack on Oliver Notwell 2.

Get in there yerself dude, cheers D.

190. Cactus

Marnin’ yesindyref2 ~

Ah didnae get lucky wae any lumber in the capital city.

But ah did back in the B.

Ah placed several pieces of cut lumber on the open fire… we also have a cracking jukebox in this here place. 🙂

191. Kangaroo

Petition at 4,000,239

192. Kangaroo

Starlaw @ 7:37pm

The gentleman in question was undoubtedly an Australian of Asian extraction, possibly originally from China.

All welcome no matter from where they hail.

It’s the poeple who have a superior attitude that get short shriff and a kick up the posterior.

193. Lenny Hartley

Dan, if you went to Powderhall you will be into Speedway, did you ever meet Tony Coupland from Middlesborough, he managed a few teams back in the day, one of my friends, met him through Road Racing, (Scarborough)

194. Dave McEwan Hill

sandy at 3.54
    These were the days indeed. As a wee fenian bee I was part of a little group (other names Quigley and McGuire) known as “the Holy Trinity” painting Orange Lodge banners. We got sixty quid for each of them which was the equivalent of our teacher’s monthly salary in those days.

I did an 8 x 4 painting for the Orange Halls in Cathedral Steet with the guy on the white horse you mention. (Gave him a hump and the cavaliers facing up to him across the Boyne were a handsome bunch).
    We gave it up when some group wanted a Lee Harvy Oswald memorial banner (I kid you not).

I had married a wee proddy by that point to the nervous concern of both sets of parents but that’s worked out all right.

We have moved on. To a better place.

195. K1

Yes, I had put ‘defacto’ when I wrote that sentence and then took it out…which would have clarified my meaning better in terms of NS’s position in the Indy movement. Fair point though…she isn’t ‘actually’ the ‘leader’ as such, but she does represent all of us in the indy movement at present as well as Scotland on the whole as the FM, much in the same way Alex did when he was FM.

196. Dan

Hi Lenny, sorry for late response but it’s been a busy weekend and just catching up now.
    FYI I was only a bairn of around 10 or so when I attended the speedway at Powderhall so didn’t get to know anybody.
    The racing made an impression on me though, and over the years I’ve always had various bikes and cars that I’ve built or modified, and have been around motorsport until recently when I’ve let my licenses lapse as have no interest in competing anymore. Still occasionally mechanic on stuff though.

Just to follow up on my previous post re. lack of English branding.

https://wingsoverscotland.com/our-pale-red-faces/#comment-2444667

Well today I ventured further south over the border and popped into a Lidl in Alnwick.
    Jeezo, they are really pushing the Britishness, the glass entrance had two large and two smaller heart shaped Butcher’s aprons. the fridge was full of British milk, a lot of the overhead price boards had wee heart shaped BA flags on them too. Didn’t see a single England flag on any produce.
    I obviously wasn’t going to be buying much in there with everything adorned with BAs, so quickly grabbed some Guinness and got in the car and headed north back to Bonnie Scotland.
    I may take a loonydook in the sea later this week to properly cleanse myself of such Britnattery…

Just find the disparity in branding on either side of the border really odd. There is a clear difference so it is being done for a reason.

197. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Dan at 5:49 pm.

“Lidl in Alnwick”.

You typed,
    “the fridge was full of British milk”

Lidl in Dundee sell ‘British Filtered Milk” with a UJ on the label. On closer inspection of the label, we find it is produced by Müller in East Kilbride.

I buy it, because I am a solo household and this stuff has a long ‘use by’ date. On Friday in Lidl, I noticed that the ‘bottles’ were dated for 7th and 11th April.

Onnyhoo, as we are well past the ‘off-topic’ rule for pages I’ll just point out that our family sporting visits were, from around 1966 onwards, on Sundays to the Cowdenbeath Raceway for the Formula 2 stock car racing. Then they introduced the bangers, which was fun.

Our favourite driver was Gordon McDougall, No 41, who went on to take over the running of the sport at Cowdenbeath. He had a very unique car.

I’m sure more punters turned up on a Sunday for the stock car racing, than turned up on the Saturday for the fitba.

198. Brian Doonthetoon

I should also point out that as far as I can see, all the other milk products in Dundee’s Lidls carry the Saltire on the labels. Just the one with the UJ.

199. Dan

Hi Brian. The point I was attempting to make is that in my experience Lidl in Scotland have Saltire hearts stuck on the entrance doors and windows, but in England they have Butcher’s aprons and not St George’s Cross hearts.
    The BAs were everywhere in that store. You ken that Chewin the Fat sketch where they say “You’ve taken that too far”, well it was like that, almost cringeworthy to see for any rational person.
    I think this is part of the whole issue where England is still confused about its identity, hence they should be promoting #KeepEnglandtheBrand.
    Like us, they do produce some rubbish politicians, but also some decent scran which I would be far more likely to procure if it was branded with the English flag rather than the divisive Butcher’s apron.

200. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Dan.

As many have commented here and elsewhere, the problem seems to be that in England, “England”, “Britain” and “The UK” are taken to all mean “England”. This would explain the use of the UJ to advertise “English” produce.

I blame the UK (English?) establishment’s education system for this ignorance.

201. Haggishunter

Scotch gits have ruined this part of England!
    I was told that by a Brit Nat once, used to share a lift with him, he got telt that night tae sling his hook.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.