Your friends and neighbours

Posted on May 02, 2015 by

We know that politicians are allowed to lie in election literature, but we’re struggling to see how this isn’t fraud, which is something different altogether.

neighbours

Click the image to see both letters full-size.

We already knew that Anas Sarwar liked a bit of cut-and-paste, of course, but this is a higher level of deception. We’d drop the Electoral Commission a line and get their view on it, if we thought there was any point.

The only aspect of the whole desperate farce that really worries us is that if we know anything at all about Labour, “William” and “Caroline” probably have postal votes.

EDIT 10.33pm: Two more.

neighbours2

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 02 05 15 17:47

Your friends and neighbours | Politics Scotland...

2. 02 05 15 18:34

Your friends and neighbours | Speymouth

102 to “Your friends and neighbours”

1. blackhack

They must think we’re really stupid….oh wait a minute they do…

Do they not realise that we might have friends and family living in these areas and talk to them about the GE….
    Now if my friends and family shared and pooled (see what I did there) information on the election, we would see that an ass was lying to us…

2. Donald MacKenzie

Trying to think of something clever to write, but there’s not a lot you can say about this.

I think they’re engaged in a 3rd year secondary school project, ‘How would you run an election campaign?’ Sorry, that’s a insult to all S3 pupils.

3. Peter

Bet these start appearing in other constituencies too
    This IS fraud
    Two different people saying the exact same thing

4. Dinnatouch

I can’t enlarge it enough to see clearly, but I take it that’s a ‘printed and published by’ notice running up the right hand side of each letter?

Although they look hand written, I’m also assuming that Labour have got some nifty handwriting fonts for ease of printing.

5. Jamie Arriere

If you think that’s dodgy, have a look at the East Renfrewshire Tory candidate ‘manning’ a Labour stall in Murphy’s constituency

https://twitter.com/55depp55/status/594522177392762880

6. scotsbob

Surely if as many of us as possible write to the commission they can’t ignore this fraudulent deception.

7. Quentin Quale

Well that’s a new take on the old Nigerian 419 scam. But just like them you’ll never see the reward offered.

8. Lesley-Anne

Unfotunately this is not the only screw ball Anas Sarawr is throwing at the electorate.

I read on my partner’s Facebook page last week that Sarwar had been sending out his political bumph to the local electorate. Unfortunately, for the voters, they only received a notification from the Post Office that they had to go to the Sorting Office and pick up some mail that had £1.54 postage to be paid by the householder.

When the voter paid the £1.54 they received an envelope which, when opened, revealed a political bullshit leaflet from Anas Sarwar!

The person who had posted this on Facebook obviously stepped outside the Sorting Office and informed the long queue that had formed what they were queueing for. Needless to say no one else entered the Sorting Office for their wee *ahem* present. 😀

9. Sooz

It’s so transparently fake it’s laughable. Honestly, it’s like my trying to get out of games at school by forging a note from my mother and signing it “Her Mum”. Seriously. It’s got fake political stunt written all over it and it should be ridiculed to death.

10. FergusMac

As they say in Maryhill, these are the actions of a cad and a bounder!

11. Aceldo Atthis

Unbelievable.

On a brighter note, good luck selling Anas Sarwar in Kinning Park… hilarious.

He should go around the pubs.

12. crazycat

@ Dinnatouch

There is indeed an imprint up the right-hand side of each letter; so any recipient who actually reads this rather than binning it will potentially notice that the letter from their “neighbour” comes in reality from the Labour Party!

This seems extraordinarily cack-handed – the alternative, though, is to risk a £5000 fine if they leave out the imprint on something deemed to be “election literature”.

13. Pam McMahon

You are exactly correct. It will be used to explain the sudden massive postal vote majority for this Labour candidate, which can all already predict.

14. galamcennalath

Fraud on an industrial scale. We can expect to the Sunday papers to all be exposing this scam tomorrow. All with warnings … if you receive one of these letters you must ignore it!

And I can assure you all my pigs are all fed, watered and ready to take to the air.

Labour are going to get their vote halved. We all need to get out early and work our butts off make sure they get halved again for Holyrood 2016.

15. crazycat

ps – the presence of the imprint might prevent it from being fraud. If challenged by the Electoral Commission they could just point out that they’ve openly admitted it’s from them. If there is really anyone called “William” or “Caroline” in those streets (I note there is no house number), it might be personation, though. (Disclaimer – I’m not a legal expert and could be completely wrong.)

They presumably think people will be touched by a hand-written letter from a neighbour (!), but if I got such a thing I’d just be insulted that they thought I might fall for it. Could be splendidly counter-productive.

16. Andrew Haddow

I don’t think Mr Gardens or Ms Road are real people.

17. dav777

The small writing on the side says

‘Printed and promoted by James Adams on behalf of Anas Sarwar, both at 290 Bath Street Glasgow G2 4RE’

I got one from William today

18. Nodrog

You have to be impressed with the joined up writing – surely??

19. One_Scot

The only way they can win is by lying and fraud.

They did it in the referendum, and they always will. Why, because there’s nothing stopping them.

British politics and the British media is corrupt to the core.

20. Thepnr

I used to write my own sick notes so as I could skip school.

Eventually I got caught. Served me right.

21. Ken Rowan

Boy, that Mansion Tax they keep bringing up is going to go along way. Maybe Nicola Sturgeon will get one!

22. Sandra

Like the Libdems letter from ‘I’ve always voted Labour(or Conservative) before, but guess what….’
    It would be interesting to know if these people actually exist.

23. GrahamB

Dinnatouch at 5:21
    Election rules stipulate that all official material has to have the election agent’s details on it. That’s why we’re not allowed to hand out print-outs of gems from here or other blogs when we go round the doors.

24. desimond

Dont see how its fraud.
    Unless youre suggesting these people dont actually exist. If they do its a dreadful piece of election guff but all they had to do was be at 1 Sarwar surgery to justify use in such a dire letter. Usual Labour bollocks yes but fraud..doubtful.

25. bugmandan

Had something very similar come through my door from Margaret Curran’s office only it was signed “Bertie Auld”.

26. gillie

That is electoral fraud.

27. Joemcg

Maybe it’s the north of England bussed up paid for “activists” getting detention at HQ for not handing out enough leaflets and having to write out pre written letters from the blackboard?!

28. www.KenBell.info

At first I thought that Labour had produced a template and asked supporters to copy it out and send to neighbours and friends. I think that would be quite legitimate.

I see that it has a printed and published not on it, so it looks like official election material which is pretending to be created by a member of the public writing to a friend.

Not fraud, but a bit desperate.

29. thomaspotter2014

My yesser workmate told me his missus works as a carer in old folks care home and the proprieters were asking people to let them sign over on the auld yins voting arrangements so they can make sure all the poor souls vote the ‘right’way.ffs.

Make no mistake the stakes couldn’t be higher for these unscrupulous bastards.

Vote rigging and fraud is guaranteed

This election is even more dangerous to deep state and sometimes its what we don’t see that fcuks things up.

Be aware dirty tricks brigade are out in force.9

30. Grizzle McPuss

There is a basement somewhere in Glasgow where both William & Caroline – a pair of eloquent scribes – are kept captive and chained to a desk…

“Misery 2 – A politician’s delusion”

31. HandandShrimp

They are pretty damned desperate aren’t they?

They bring politics into disrepute by doing stuff like this. Is it any wonder that voters are cynical and disengaged.

32. Hoss Mackintosh

Yes, this is fraudulent and Illegal and looks to be coordinated by the Labour Party.

All election literature must have the party details and printer details in the small print.

Send any examples of this fraud to the EC and hopefully they will be fined and censured.

The Electoral Commission
    Lothian Chambers
    59-63 George IV Bridge
    Edinburgh EH1 1RN
    Tel: 0333 103 1928
    Fax: 0131 225 0205
    infoscotland@electoralcommission.org.uk

33. David MacDonald

Surely this counts as election campaign material? If so it must tell you which party it is from by law “promoted by the Labour Party” . So it must be proved that this is organised or they can get away with it.

34. Robert Llewellyn Tyler

Our Lib Dem friends in Wales are old hands at this. Different photos of different people in different constituencies, but word for word exactly the same crap. Fraudulent?

http://oclmenai.blogspot.com/2015/04/gohebiaeth-etholiadol-o-fydysawd.html

35. Kevin Evans

He’s my mp – I might have got that letter – I say might as any labour guff go right in my recycling bin

36. Nana Smith

Sorry to go off topic but I think you will find this interesting

http://blogs.lse.ac.uk/constitutionuk/2015/05/01/the-constitutional-implications-of-the-rise-of-the-snp/

37. Dair Allan

I got the Kinning Park one today which is kinda of strange as I usually class where I live as Ibrox. Maybe they ran out of funds to do as many different ones as they wanted.

Pretty pitiful behaviour. There needs to be a look at this, it’s close to personation in my view.

38. winifred McCartney

I received a letter not unlike this I reposted it using their Freepost Address having added comments where they were lying.

39. Effijy

I wonder if anyone on WoS has a contact in Clifford Gdns, or if anyone works with GHA Housing Association?

It looks like there are only 27 sheltered properties in there, and I think that most of the one bedroom units are occupied by widows.

Shame on me doubting Labour, but I very much doubt that there is a William in that very small enclave??

I also doubt that they would have the funds for a local mailshot?

Main facts
    Retirement/sheltered housing
    27 flats. Sizes 1 bedroom. Includes mobility and wheelchair standard properties
    Non-resident management staff (7 days) and community alarm service
    Access to site easy, but less so for less mobile people. Distances: bus stop 20 yards; shop 50 yards; post office 0.5 mile(s); town centre 2.5 mile(s); GP 20 yards; social centre 0.5 mile(s)
    Both cats & dogs generally accepted
    Rent (social landlord)
    Info updated: 13/02/2007. Update infoAvailabilityCheck with Glasgow Housing Association – none notified to EAC.

40. iclare

Hahaha. Can’t say I’m surprised.

I lived in Kinning Park where you averaged 90 postal votes per close – allegedly.

I would head straight to the horses mouth on this one.
    I’m sure Junior will be able to produce these nice people he helped and put yet another matter to bed.

The man who waved that document stamped TOP SECRET on telly when getting a political kicking from Nicola.
    Loves his stamps and fonts.

41. FairFerfochen

You can just imagine wee Anas sitting typing this can’t you.
    Laugh is he had to use typeface replication software to make it “look authentic”.
    Sad little plastic politician…

42. macsenex

MrSarwar won’t require someone to open the shutters and put the lights on in his Scotland Street office pretending that its open. Hope the Parliamentary authorities check his office expenses. Game of charades !

43. Joemcg

thomas-not the infamous silent majority again? Fucks sake.

44. Effijy

I had another look at that very neat writing on that letter from “William”. For someone supposedly in elderly sheltered housing,
    the steadiness of the hand is remarkable?

I also googled Clifford Gdns and it sits in the Ibrox area of Glasgow and not Kinning Park as poor old Willie seems to think.

I’m sure his former MP, Anus Anwar must recall this old chap and I personally appeal to him to forward his full name and address as he may require treatment for dementia.

A telling sign not knowing where you live and thinking that you can write like a robot?

Thank goodness the NHS here is supported by an SNP government.
    If he lived in Wales, where Labour govern the worst performing NHS service levels in the UK, he might never get professional help.

45. HandandShrimp

This is not far short of the sort of tactics scammers use to try and steal your hard earned cash.

46. Davy

Ok both letters say printed on behalf of Anas Sarwar down the right hand side, but surely its fraud to claim these are letters from two different people when they are totally identical, apart from the signitures.

Report him.

47. Iain More

PV Jiggery pokery???? I am not sure I believe this. The author of article hasn’t responded to me.

http://labour-uncut.co.uk/2015/05/02/revealed-eds-night-time-dash-to-casa-brand-driven-by-postal-ballot-panic/#more-19683

48. Democracy Reborn

O/T (apologies)

James Kelly, Scot Goes Pop, re the most recent Survation poll : ‘Daily Record caught out misleading readers AGAIN. 59% of voters actually WANT another referendum within 10 years.’

Also, straightforward question : if there was Indyref tomorrow, how would you vote?
    Yes 49.4%
    No 50.6%

49. Croompenstein

@Nana Smith –

That has to be the most sensible thing I have read from London. It would be good if the UK MSM have a wee read at it. 🙂

50. Grouse Beater

Remember this?

“When Scotland votes No, Scottish Labour will be the big winners.”
    John McTernan

51. The Man in the Jar

I am waiting for the Labour leaflet made up of words cut from newspaper headlines like a ransom note. Desperation can drive some people to do stupid things.

Sarwar is a slimey wee toerag.

52. tartanarse

We can take the piss, but they got the result in September through the same fucking infuriating means.

We must continue to point friends and relatives in the direction of WOS, Bella and all other friendly sites.

53. galamcennalath

OT-ish

Just received a leaflet from Scotland in the Union. Printed in Doncaster.

“Use your vote wisely on 7th May

Some thoughts:
    DO find out who the strongest candidates in your area are. [visit website]
    ….
    DO vote for a party which respects the results of the 2014 referendum.
    DON’T vote for a candidate who will promote division and fragmentation.
    … Etc”

Son of BetterTogether/VotNoBorders alive and kicking!

Thing is, to me, the SNP do respect the referendum outcome, it’s the Unionists who seem to have real issues with respecting Scotland playing a part in the politics of the UK!

Also, who is busy trying to promote “division and fragmentation”? Sounds like Cameron to me!

My big questions is …. are these going out Scotland wide, or just targeting areas with tactical voting potential? I ask because this is a Tory-ish enclave in a previously safe Labour seat. Is it targeted or blanket cover?

54. One_Scot

Can you imagine if the SNP tried a scam like this, it would be front page news on the Daily Record.

I remember hearing a statistic that for every crime a criminal gets caught for, his has already got away with another twenty. I believe there is no limit to what these people will do to continue their selfish abuse of taxpayers money.

They are nothing more than a stain on society.

If we have any sense, we will clean them out on Thursday.

55. chris kilby

It’s not fraud. It’s just a remarkable coincidence. Probably.

56. Al-Stuart

There are a multitude of acts that the above letters reported by Stu., may break. That’s the ironic thing about MPs – that they spend their lives creating a minefield of many laws.

Just take a look at the electoral law convictions reported on the Crown Prosecution website…

http://www.cps.gov.uk/news/latest_news/derby_local_election_fraud/

Admittedly this isn’t quite the same breach as that alleged by the evidently deceptive electoral (mis)communications above. It may just be a simple act of obtaining property by deception (in other words obtaining the position of employment as an MP by deceiving the public into doing something they wouldn’t otherwise do were they to know it is founded upon a lie or fraud, which this letter is).

I just spoke with a friend of mine who is a former police officer, and he strongly recommends that Police Scotland, and the Electoral Commission be informed as a matter of urgency about this.

If necessary, it is also possible to seek an ex-parte ( http://www.lectlaw.com/def/e051.htm )
    interim interdict ( http://www.inhouselawyer.co.uk/index.php/scotland-home/8180-commercial-litigation-in-scotland-fast-and-flexible ) from HM COURT stopping this letter in it’s tracks on Tuesday next week (Monday being a bank holiday) against Anas Sarwar and the “names” acting in concert with him to allegedly break electoral law or whichever legal infraction is more appropriate.

I know that Stu., is rightly cynical on whether reporting this sort of thing to the Electoral Commission would do any good. But reporting it to Police Scotland on Tuesday 5th May 2015, along with serving court papers on Anas Sarwar et. al., would send a strong message. As Anas Sarwar wants to be elected as a lawmaker, he should be far above the basic standard of law keeping. As the missives above show, he and/or his cohorts are allegedly well below that minimum standard, and possibly breaking electoral and/or other laws.

Not good enough.

Before contacting Police Scotland, maybe double check you have the right piece of lawbreaking as if you can quote the exact law that is allegedly being broken, then the police would be neglecting their duty to act if they tried to “persuade” any complainant against seeking these miscreants are brought to justice and ensuring the electoral and related fraud laws are being enforced.

Best wishes,

Alastair

———————————-

P.S. Replies from Rev Stu’s 99 Red Balloons Article:

Joemcg 30 April at 12:50 Spot on, but not half as mad as the £20,000,000,000 potential UK Govt., liability identified as a result of UK welfare reforms and austerity litigation. The ConDems and Labour are lying by the sin of omission. They were warned about that financial black hole in 2011: http://calumslist.org/treasury/

Dave Beveridge 30 April at 12.58. Thankyou, very kind. I agree with you that to try and change the MSM sticks in the craw, but it really does need to go in a more progressive direction to reflect what the electorate want and NOT what the ConDem/Lab Westminster politicians grab.

Robert Peffers 30 April at 1.50pm. Thankyou for that very interesting heads-up about Iain Duncan-Smith’s questionable CV. I mentioned it to a friend at Calum’s List and he also said thanks. Though from what I gather Duncan-Smith’s least worry is being had up in front of a judge for getting a job and money (pecuniary advantage) as an MP through alleged deception. It seems that Duncan-Smith is on the verge of a police investigation as he was warned a year in advance, in the House of Commons, that his welfare reforms were lethal. A year later Stephanie Bottrill walked in front of a lorry and ended her life because of his Bedroom Tax. The sheer volume of austerity deaths look like he will end up being questioned by the police on much more serious charges. How does that fit in with the Ministerial Code for being a future Secretary of State for Welfare? Evidence here: http://calumslist.org/calums-list/

57. BuckieBraes

Of course, there may well be a will.i.am in Clifford Gardens and a Caroline in Aikenhead Road, both of whom have mentioned some unspecified subject to Anas Sarwar, about which he could not have been more helpful. That’s the ‘get-out’.

Oh God, Thursday can’t come soon enough. Make it all stop!

58. Nana Smith

O/T Hope this video link works

Looks like Jim is planning a new career in busking.

http://www.facebook.com/634490439964372/videos/832290733517674/

59. Alex Waugh

Twisted, dishonest, misleading, arrogant, despicable, immoral? Yes, it is all of these, and more. But, unfortunately, the tiny, tiny, barely there “Printed and published by…”, rotated through 270 degrees and run up the bottom right-hand edge of the page, where readers don’t look, is probably enough to keep it legal, if not honest. There are ways to print things so that, to all intents and purposes, they are invisible and this is one of them but it is there, so they’re covered.

Of more potential interest to anyone seeking legal redress is Murphy’s letter to pensioners (see Peter Bell’s blog) in which he states, “Now that the SNP has committed to ending the UK pension…” (sic) This is just the most outrageous of many lies and half-truths in this verminous piece of garbage and is clearly intended to frighten pensioners into voting Labour. Surely SOMEONE can sue this mendacious trougher? I know that political parties are allowed to lie until the cows come home in their advertising but this is a ‘personal’ letter signed by one person and addressed to the recipient by name and, having been mailed to their home address, does not fall in the public domain. I know lying is not a crime, though god knows I wish it was right now – at least for politicians – but is it not libel to accuse the SNP of such a thing? Is attempting to influence a person’s vote by falsehood and intimidation not a crime – it bloody should be! This shows a blatant intent to cause fear to private citizens. Could not one of the recipients who is a retired lawyer take this up? The costs could be crowd-funded. There has to be some way of shutting off Murphy’s spewing of falsehoods.

PS This is the polite version of my comment. The first one gave a much truer picture of the depths of my disgust but I have in mind the Rev’s injunction to play nice.

60. Paula Rose

Why don’t they use a real handwritten letter or use an easier to read font?

61. Thistle

OT

LIVE 7th May: Glasgow Emirates Arena #GE2015 We will be livestreaming through the night so please join us and let us know wht you think…

http://tvl.ink/ge15glasgow

62. Croompenstein

@Nana –

Another string to oor Jim’s bow, I was watching a classic film ‘In The Heat Of The Night’ and was stunned to see a younger Jim playing the part of the killer! .. what a guy

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_2LedoHwygE

63. Gavin

I am registered with the mail preference service and imagine many other wingers are too. Yet I have been getting lots of crap sent to me from the lib dems and the Tories. At first I put it straight in the bin but now I score out the address and write on it “unsolicited mail, return to sender” and put it back in the post.

Here in NE Fife the SNP & the Tories have been the most visible but the lib dems are nowhere to be seen. All of the leaflets I have received were delivered by the postman, one of which stated “don’t let salmond back into parliament”.

I didn’t know he was standing in NE Fife ???

The lib dems lost in NE Fife in 2011. History is about to be repeated.

64. K1

Thanks for that link Nan; The Constitutional Implications of The Rise of the SNP.

http://blogs.lse.ac.uk/constitutionuk/2015/05/01/the-constitutional-implications-of-the-rise-of-the-snp/

Very good read, and of course the arguments that the author (Aileen McHarg) makes in a personal capacity, are all in line with the overall arguments made by many on WoS regarding the position we find ourselves in with the outrageous stances being adopted by the msm and the Uniionist parties.

She sums it up in her last sentence:

“Happily then for the SNP, by treating it like a pariah, the Unionist parties seem determined to make its case for it”

65. Dal Riata

From Wikipedia:

“Common methods used in chain letters include emotionally manipulative stories…”

Poor, pathetic Labour in Scotland, reduced to nothing but scams and lies.

Congratulations, Jim Murphy, you and your backroom team must all be so proud.

66. Al-Stuart

Stu., the above documents are EVIDENCE of a clear breach of the Representation of The People’s Act 1983….

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/1983/2

SURELY IT IS ABOUT TIME MANY OF US USED OUR LEGAL RIGHT TO ENSURE DEMOCRACY IS NOT PERVERTED?

SO HERE IS THE LETTER OF THE LAW – DEMOCRACY RULES – LITERALLY

If/when reporting to Police Scotland, consider:-

Representation of The People’s Act 1983… Letter Writer/Originator/Source…

Section 106 False statements as to candidates.

(1) A person who, or any director of any body or association corporate which—

(a) before or during an election,

(b) for the purpose of affecting the return of any candidate at the election, makes or publishes any false statement of fact in relation to the candidate’s personal character or conduct shall be guilty of an illegal practice, unless he can show that he had reasonable grounds for believing, and did believe, that statement to be true.

(2) A candidate shall not be liable nor shall his election be avoided for any illegal practice under subsection (1) above committed by his agent other than his election agent unless—

(a) it can be shown that the candidate or his election agent has authorised or consented to the committing of the illegal practice by the other agent or has paid for the circulation of the false statement constituting the illegal practice; or

(b) an election court find and report that the election of the candidate was procured or materially assisted in consequence of the making or publishing of such false statements.

(3) A person making or publishing any false statement of fact as mentioned above may be restrained by interim or perpetual injunction by the High Court or the county court from any repetition of that false statement or of a false statement of a similar character in relation to the candidate and, for the purpose of granting an interim injunction, prima facie proof of the falsity of the statement shall be sufficient.

—————————

Representation of The People’s Act 1983… Letter Writer/Originator/Source…

Section 110 Details to appear on election publications.

(1) This section applies to any material which can reasonably be regarded as intended to promote or procure the election of a candidate at an election (whether or not it can be so regarded as intended to achieve any other purpose as well).

(2) No material to which this section applies shall be published unless—

(a) in the case of material which is, or is contained in, such a document as is mentioned in subsection (4), (5) or (6) below, the requirements of that subsection are complied with; or

(3) For the purposes of subsections (4) to (6) below the following details are “the relevant details” in the case of any material falling within subsection (2)(a) above, namely—

(a) the name and address of the printer of the document;

(b) the name and address of the promoter of the material; and

(c) the name and address of any person on behalf of whom the material is being published (and who is not the promoter).

(4)Where the material is a document consisting (or consisting principally) of a single side of printed matter, the relevant details must appear on the face of the document.

(5) Where the material is a printed document other than one to which subsection (4) above applies, the relevant details must appear either on the first or the last page of the document.

(7) The Secretary of State may, after consulting the Electoral Commission, by regulations make provision for and in connection with the imposition of requirements as to the inclusion in material falling within subsection (2)(b) above of the following details, namely—

(a) the name and address of the promoter of the material; and

(b) the name and address of any person on behalf of whom the material is being published (and who is not the promoter).

(8) Regulations under subsection (7) above may in particular specify-

(a) the manner and form in which such details must be included in any such material for the purpose of complying with any such requirement;

(b) circumstances in which—

(i) any such requirement does not have to be complied with by a person of any description specified in the regulations, or

(ii) a breach of any such requirement by a person of any description so specified is not to result in the commission of an offence under this section by that person or by a person of any other such description;

(c) circumstances in which material is, or is not, to be taken for the purposes of the regulations to be published or (as the case may be) published by a person of any description so specified.

(9) Where any material falling within subsection (2)(a) above is published in contravention of subsection (2), then (subject to subsections (11) and (12) below)—

(a) the promoter of the material,

(b) any other person by whom the material is so published, and

(c) the printer of the document, shall be guilty of an offence and liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding level 5 on the standard scale.

(10) Where any material falling within subsection (2)(b) above is published in contravention of subsection (2), then (subject to regulations made by virtue of subsection (8)(b) above and to subsections (11) and (12) below)—

(a) the promoter of the material, and

(b) any other person by whom the material is so published, shall be guilty of an offence and liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding level 5 on the standard scale.

(11) It shall be a defence for a person charged with an offence under this section to prove—

(a) that the contravention of subsection (2) above arose from circumstances beyond his control; and

(b) that he took all reasonable steps, and exercised all due diligence, to ensure that that contravention would not arise.

(12) Where a candidate or his election agent would (apart from this subsection) be guilty of an offence under subsection (9) or (10) above, he shall instead be guilty of an illegal practice.

—————————

Representation of The People’s Act 1983 – Anas Sarwar/His Agent …..

Section 66B. Failure to comply with conditions relating to supply etc. of certain documents

(1) A person is guilty of an offence—

(a) if he fails to comply with any conditions imposed in pursuance of regulations under rule 57 of the parliamentary elections rules, or

(b) if he is an appropriate supervisor of a person (P) who fails to comply with such a condition and he failed to take appropriate steps.

(2) P is not guilty of an offence under subsection (1) if—

(a) he has an appropriate supervisor, and

(b) he has complied with all the requirements imposed on him by his appropriate supervisor.

(3) A person who is not P or an appropriate supervisor is not guilty of an offence under subsection (1) if he takes all reasonable steps to ensure that he complies with the conditions.

(4) In subsections (1)(b) and (2)—

(a) an appropriate supervisor is a person who is a director of a company or concerned in the management of an organisation in which P is employed or under whose direction or control P is;

(b) appropriate steps are such steps as it was reasonable for the appropriate supervisor to take to secure the operation of procedures designed to prevent, so far as reasonably practicable, the occurrence of a failure to comply with the conditions.

(5) A person guilty of an offence as mentioned in subsection (1) is liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding level 5 on the standard scale.]

—————————

COME ON WOS TEAM, LETS DO SOMETHING HERE TO COUNTER THE DIRTY TRICKS THAT THESE MISCREANTS ARE GETTING UP TO. NO POINT IN MOANING AFTER THE ELECTION IF THERE IS SOMETHING WE CAN DO NOW. I FOR ONE WOULD WELCOME POLICE SCOTLAND ASKING MR SARWAR AND HIS AGENT TO VOLUNTARILY ATTEND HIS LOCAL POLICE STATION SO HE GETS HIS DODGY AGENTS AND ACTIVISTS TO OBEY THE LAW.

67. David Smith

Fraud and deception. Everything you’d expect from a party that walks hand in hand with organised crime in the West of Scotland…

68. Nana Smith

@Croompenstein

Ah the old movies are the best.

Whenever I see Jim I think Lurch from the Adam’s family.

69. Phronesis

Meanwhile… although health care is mercifully devolved to Scotland a letter has been written to the new incoming UKOK secretary of state for health by the BMJ.It eloquently articulates why SG should be praised for protecting the founding principles of the Scottish NHS. Whilst the NHS in Scotland is struggling with the same population demographics,staffing and resource issues it is still a nationalised health service that SG have made a priority to maintain despite their limited economic powers.
    The letter draws attention the 30 year programme of the privatisation of NHS England, the true funding deficit (£30 billion) and the importance of the social determinants of health-again something that is well understood in Scotland and could be addressed adequately if Scotland had control over its entire economy. Perhaps this will help WM focus on the abomination of the Trident spend…

http://www.bmj.com/content/350/bmj.h2296

70. Peekay

I think this from the Electoral Commision guide for candidates and agents might be relevant

Using imprints
    What is an imprint?
    1.30 An imprint should be added to all campaign material and, in the case of printed material, must be added by
    law to show who is responsible for its production. It helps to ensure that the campaign is transparent.

What do you need to include?
    1.31 On printed material, such as leaflets and posters, you must include the name and address of:
    •the printer
    •the promoter
    •any person on behalf of whom the material is being published (and who is not the promoter)

1.32 The promoter is the person who has authorised the
    material to be published. If the promoter is acting on behalf of a group or organisation, the group or organisation’s name and address must also be included.

71. Al-Stuart

Apologies for the length of the last post. Though Stu., has highlighted what might become a very important subject. The ramifications for Sarwar and his associates are severe.

In SHORT, if you are minded to refer Mr Sarwar/his associates for inquiry into ALLEGED misconduct to Police Scotland…

Report a crime call 101

Simply quote (for starters) the simplest alleged lawbreaking – failure to put the correct authour/originator details on an election communication-

Let Police Scotland know you are filing an allegation of electoral lawbreaking against Mr Sarwar and/or his associates (with the evidence that appears at the top of this page) in BREACH of the

“Representation of The People’s Act 1983. Section 110 Details to appear on election publications.”

At the very least, Mr Sarwar WILL BE REQUIRED to remedy this electoral breach.

72. JLT

Apart from the insidious nature of both letters, I must admit, that I admire the handwriting on the right hand letter. Beautiful style of calligraphy.

But that aside …bad boy Anas. ‘You’ve been a naughty, naughty boy’ as they would say in the Life of Brian.

73. Jim Stirling

When you see the name Sarwar on any kind of election document you can all but guarantee that mischief is afoot, as they say the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree

74. seanair

Surely our new friends in The Sun would be interested in this scam? And the other lies from Murphy.

75. Chris

This Anas Sarwar is a dodgy character

76. Simsoer

Sarwar at it as per usual. What crime is he committing? I don’t understand.

77. SquareHaggis

Disclaimer:

I take absolutely no responsibility for posting the above link /|\ but fully expect it to be brought up and used against me should I ever become a member of a political party in the next 3 years.

78. Ian Brotherhood

Big tough SLabbers, frightening our senior citizens. But it worked last time, right?

‘Legbreaker’ McTernan and his ilk would do well to remember that Scots don’t like bullies, and don’t like being associated with them. Many folk didn’t consider that ‘our’ Scottish Labour politicians could possibly be as bad as Blair’s New Labour boot-boys with their deregulation, banker-massaging, warmongering and general bawbaggery. But their eyes started opening on Sep 19th and have been getting wider in disbelief and disgust ever since.

SLab tough? Nah.

(Why does Jim Murphy rub his eyes when he gets up in the morning? Cause he’s got nae baws tae scratch…)

79. Rock

Where are all those “independence supporting” lawyers when you need them?

Chalks?

We plebs can see this as a clear fraud.

But lawyers, the vast majority of whom are the lowest of the low in my view, including the lawyers at the rotten to the core Electoral Commission, see this as perfectly legal.

All we will be able to do next Friday when 25+ unionist MPs have been elected from Scotland will be to look for that illusive evidence of vote rigging.

Does anyone here still believe that the referendum was not rigged? Well, wait till Friday and rethink.

80. Paul D

galamcennalath,

I had a similar double sided A5 leaflet purporting to be from “United Against Separation” encouraging me to vote for the most popular Unionist candidate.

Interestingly, in relation to Al-Stuart’s comments, it has the printers details from Leicester. However, it also only says “Promoted by Andrew Skinner on behalf of United Against Separation” but doesn’t give an address which would appear to breach the aforementioned Act.

81. Thepnr

@Nana Smith

I so love your contributions on this site. Your a gem. xx

82. Cadogan Enright

@Paul D

well scan it report him – see post of 6.05 = an email would take 5 mins 🙂

83. Robert Peffers

@Sooz says: 2 May, 2015 at 5:27 pm:

“It’s so transparently fake it’s laughable.”

This one may not be political, I wouldn’t know. It is quite laughable. I had my hearing destroyed by exposure to a ships guns while actually inside the below decks gun base. I have difficulty, particularly with headphones and phone handsets. As I’m now a widower I live alone so bought myself a Fax/phone/answer machine.

So I have a message informing callers I have bother with phones and give details of how I can be contacted. For a long time now I get messages but they are obviously from a machine as they ring and my machine answers.

Now a human either listens to the message, hangs up and contacts me by FAX, text or email or, if a cold caller just hangs up. These ones, several times every day, just launch into a spiel like blah! Blah” Blah! press button 1 if blah! blah! then Press button 2 … So I’ve got their machine talking to my machine and expecting an answer.

I had my step son listen to the messages as although I cannot follow the words I can compare tones, (my problem is frequency sensitive). He tells me it is different companies but the voices all sound like the same person, but Six/seven times a day? Must be a standard voice on a particular brand of programme or machine.

He tells me they usually have a press button to be removed from their call list but why bother? If they want to waste money, I don’t mind. If it’s some poor sod on zero hours being paid to deal with the selected button presses and paid on the number of calls made I’m glad for them and I can’t even get annoyed as I cannot hear the ring tones.

84. crazycat

The William and Caroline letters do bear an imprint, so they are not in breach of electoral law (in that regard, anyway).

The presence of the imprint rather undermines their claim to be from people’s neighbours, though. Makes all that “handwriting” rather pointless.

Other literature which has been described above as having partial imprints might be worth reporting.

85. Paul D

Cadogan Enright,

Been doing my own digging and it seems the relevant current act is Political Parties Elections and Referendums Act 2000 and the notes from the Electoral Commission are in:
    http://www.electoralcommission.org.uk/__data/assets/pdf_file/0004/166225/fs-imprints-npc.pdf

Looks like they are in breach so a complaint will be winging its way to the EC tomorrow. The chances of them doing anything is miniscule but it is worth a punt nonetheless.

86. Nana Smith

@Thepnr

Aw thank you Alex!

Lately threads have moved on so fast I think some of my links have been missed. But I’m hoping my post at 6.09 is not as it deserves to be read.

87. Nana Smith

Lord Ashcroft has tweeted the link below.

I would not normally link to anything tory but here it is for what its worth.

http://www.conservativehome.com/platform/2015/04/crimestoppers-launches-a-major-new-initiative-to-combat-electoral-fraud.html

88. Robert Peffers

@Nana Smith says: 2 May, 2015 at 6:09 pm:

“Sorry to go off topic but I think you will find this interesting

Thank you again Nana Smith. I found the article not only interesting but probably the most even handed assessment of the situation I have yet read. Professor McHarg is to be congratulated. So I did.

89. Fiona

@ Nana Smith

Very interesting article. Thanks for the link

90. toady

Similar font faux handwritten letter addressed to “dear friend” signed ” very best wishes, Jim” outlining his achievements and warning “Labour will tax the megarich and tackle the cost of living for the decent majority. Every vote for anyone else helps the Tories” received today in Renfrewshire North. Imprint is there but possibly not even 2mm high!

91. John D aka Nkosi

” I know that political parties are allowed to lie until the cows come home in their advertising”

Why should they be allowed to do that? The trades description act I believe covers misrepresentation in advertising. Is it not illegal to do so?

92. Alex Waugh

John D at 1:02am

I and many others have complained to the Advertising Standards Authority many times, especially during the referendum, and been told categorically that political parties’ election materials are exempt from having to be Legal, Decent, Honest or Truthful. Yes, I know, stinks doesn’t it? One of the most urgent reforms needed in Britain – hard on the heels of the abolition of the vipers’ nest of placemen, parasites and paedophiles that is that feudal relic, the House of Lords – is reform of the laws covering what politicians and the MSM can spew into the public domain. I’m not talking about curbing freedom of speech; they can have any opinion they like, no matter how hateful. I’m talking about having a legal process to formally call them out on provable lies.

93. Tamson

Highly unlikely choice of ‘most likely first name’ in Sarwar’s constituency! But then I suspect he knows he’s struggling with the Asian vote – they’ve had enough of the Sarwars. To a lot of people, represent the very sort of government corruption they emigrated from.

94. Effijy

Picked up a letter from some Asian Politician claiming to be prince with cash flow problems. If I send him my vote, he can keep is sycophantic nose in the trough, and in return I will be given jam on a daily basis, somewhere in the future, maybe. lol

95. Robert Graham

Thanks to whoever posted the link to the electoral commission I have just sent a query to them regarding the quote on the labour Uncut Website that labour election agents have been sampling and collating postal votes it’s there for all to see sorry I can’t post a link it’s part of the story about miliband visiting Russell brand

96. Mark Macleod

I too received similar correspondence from ‘neighbours’ in England (Liverpool, Manchester & Newcastle). I have no idea if these are pseudo names or if they are genuine. I’m sure if SNP done something similar the MSM would be all over it like a rash. Should you require, i have proof of the letter sent to me a few weeks back.

97. Dave the Squirrel

Pests. Pests and a complete nuisance. That’s all

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.