We didn’t imagine this, then

Posted on April 28, 2015 by

Waking up bleary-eyed this morning at 6.45am, we reached over to switch on Good Morning Scotland, just in time for the news headlines round-up. This is what we heard:

(Good Morning Scotland, BBC Radio Scotland, 28 April 2015)

We honestly thought in our semi-awake state we might have dreamed it.

But no, this really was the lead headline of the morning:

“Labour and the Conservatives both counter the rhetoric from the SNP leader Nicola Sturgeon.”

And that was all of it. That was what the state broadcaster felt was a fair and accurate summary of the main story of the day, whatever it was (we didn’t know, because we’d just woken up). From there the show moved on to traffic news and a report of Apple’s latest profit figures, followed by an interview with a market analyst on the same subject. There was no explanation of which “rhetoric” had been “countered”.

Next up we got a piece about Polish border guards and Russian bikers from Belarus, then the imminent execution of drug smugglers in Indonesia. By now a full 15 minutes had passed since the “summary” and we were onto the main 7am news bulletin, where we finally got to the alleged story, which was that Labour and the Tories had “hit back” about comments in Nicola Sturgeon’s three BBC interviews yesterday.

No actual quotes from anyone (even unnamed spokespeople) in either party were given, and no refutations of any of the claims were offered.

We’ll leave you to your own judgements.

1. 28 04 15 13:33

We didn’t imagine this, then | Speymouth

135 to “We didn’t imagine this, then”

1. Betty Boop

BBC, the State propaganda machine. Just fit in any negative comment about your opponent and it will stick – so they think!

2. Bugger (the Panda)

The night shift had signed off on the headlines and by order have to include an anti SNP headline.

They hadn’t a clue, stuck that in to fulfill the quote and buggered off leaving the incoming day shifters to rework it?

3. Craig Patrick

It’s simple, refuse to purchase a TV license and remove their “right of access” to your property.

4. Justin Kenrick

the more they scaremomger
    the fewer scared mongers remain

we’re watching them digging a hole
    but we’re not falling for it
    they soon will fall in it

5. filius

That is some mind control bullshit

6. Fiona

So…..they have a contract to mention any mainstream party’s press release as a lead story on the news: but they don’t have a contract which says they must discuss it when it is totally content-free?

Or what?

7. Fiona

@Craig Patrick

You do not need a license to listen to the radio

8. scotsbob

The reduced number of TV licences taken out in Scotland since the referendum must be beginning to bite.

(This, of course, is because of the huge switch to watching catch up TV I should add)

9. boris

I listened to the broadcast this morning. I suspect there should have been a handover but the other person didn’t turn up so they just harped on about BP only making 12bn profit and not being able to afford a stand at the oil company trade meeting in Aberdeen.

10. YesMeansYes

I have since the referendum campaign, become increasingly angry at the BBC Scotland for its bias and the enthusiasm with which it demonises those who hold similar views to me. The point has been reached where I feel that those at Pacific Quay consider me and my family to be subhuman. Enough is enough.

I will be voting SNP on May 7th but thereafter I will not vote for any party that does not have a commitment to the abolition of BBC Scotland.

11. barry

Do you mean 7am instead of 7pm?

12. Quentin Quale

Is this what happens when Press Releases are read out as fact without even a cursory check by the people who read things out? If journos are happy to read this stuff out, then shame. If they are made to read this, worrying. Do they not have meetings between journos, editors and management anymore where the programme content is discussed and finalised?

13. Seasick Dave

I’m surprised that they said rhetoric and not lies or propaganda.

14. david boag

For me it was the word ‘rhetoric’ that jarred. Why was this word chosen? Was this from the Labs and Cons: or the BBC?

15. Auld Rock

I’m going to send them a very large ‘Drag-Line’ digger to help them dig their hole, though I must admit that they are doing a pretty good job themselves.

Auld Rock

16. MajorBloodnok

I sincerely hope that broadcasting become devolved in Scotland. Could be a lot of well kent hacks looking for alternative employment shortly.

17. Macart

An irrelevant summary from an increasingly irrelevant broadcaster.

18. john

Why are we ever surprised by the media’s total inability to be unbiased and fair or just plain honest in their reporting?

We haven’t i fear heard the worst yet.
    The increasing threat of a non conformist political party is becoming far too much for the establishment to comprehend and must be destroyed at every opportunity.

All press coverage suggests that the free and democratic politics of Scotland are irrelevant and meaningless within the UK.

We can only hope that the people of Scotland rise above the threats and browbeating.

19. galamcennalath

The BBC needs to bite the bullet, and employ some actual qualified and capable journalists!

Regurgitating newspaper stories and press releases just isn’t the standard required of a state broadcaster

And, that’s before we even consider sorted out the Labour and Union bias!

20. Cyril Matvech

6:31 PM yesterday #CBI guided radio BBCScotland gave a round up of Murphy and Davidson’s diaries ending with;
    “Nicola Sturgeon promised Jam Tomorrow”!

Another unacceptable and nasty attack on the Scottish people’s popular choice of Non-London controlled government. BBC do not like the current UK electoral system’s faults now that Scots have exploiting them. If 65% of Scotland choose SNP MPs, we may even get the Tories supporting AV voting system.

21. Dr Jim

They used to enjoy shouting that we were doomed

How’s that working out for them now

BBC will soon be SBC

Worms and turning come to mind

22. thorbor

The ends justify the means when it comes to bbc producer decisions, don’t interrupt their mistakes though just keep on highlighting them as unionist trolls

23. the Penman

It’s like they don’t understand what words like “rhetoric” actually mean, only the usage that politicians give them.

24. Graham MacLure

Any mention of tractor production figures or 5 year plans Rev. Stuart?

25. John H.

Appropriately enough, my copy of G.A Ponsonby’s book “London Calling” arrived this morning. I don’t think he’ll be short of material for a second book.

26. Stevie boy

No one’s paying attention to their repetitive crap.. we’ve heard it all before.

Hardly even raises an eyebrow nowadays.

Down with the BBC.. what utter scum!!

27. Tom Platt

Public service political broadcasting seems to be dead in Scotland. Westminster supportive state propaganda has certainly taken over BBC Scotland.

28. T.roz

Disgraceful, the way it was delivered was also terrible. That sort of casual norm. They know that a huge shake up is on the way and broadcasting is going to face some much needed reform.

29. Dave the Squirrel

“And now a roundup of the headlines. Dear Leader Cameron and Lieutenant Miliband now have eighty-billion seats between them, the SNP have minus seventy-thousand, Gordon Brown saved the world again and Jim Murphy has now beaten Nicola Sturgeon at Connect 4 fifteen thousand times in a row.”

Might as well eh?

30. Macca73

This is utterly shameful that a state broadcaster who is supposed to remain impartial in such things and broadcast FACT has behaved in such a fashion.

They are in line on a long list of people who remain dangling by a thread.

You’re about to find out why should have done just that instead of making up what you wanted. Goodbye!

31. woosie

YesMeansYes;

I agree totally that the Empire Broadcasting Con must not be allowed to continue in an independant Scotland. I’d go further and ban any newspaper owned outwith Scotland, and any organisation – quasi-religious or not – promoting the union.

That said, did enjoy watching oor Andra on Daily Politics ripping the tory “5000 signature” phony document apart in front of some random chinless upper class twit.

32. itsme

For anyone who missed Kaye Adams’ “forensic dismantling” of NS this morning:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b05s7tlp

Is asking the leader of the SNP whether “the most effective way that you can lock the Conservatives out is to tell your supporters to vote Labour” the most asinine question of this campaign?

I’m sure that NS’s mask slipped at 33:40 with a gasp of exasperation…

And as to the tone? Judge for yourselves who’s the nippy sweetie.

33. MajorBloodnok

For the British Establishment, the end absolutely justifies the means, whilst at the same time they genuinely believe that they are acting honourably, objectively and with the highest of principles, not like the lower classes, all those uncivilised foreigners, and mere jocks. Hypocrisy is not an adequate word for it.

34. gillie

The BBC was never the same after ‘Muffin The Mule’ was pulled from our screens.

35. KEU

Forced myself to listen to this poor imitiation of an interview.There is a difference between informed well researched questioning and random sniping without any basis in fact. Sad, sad, sad radio journalism. Shame on Ms Adams and whoever whispered in her ear as she conducted this interview.
    Respect to our First Minister for demonstrating such good manners and remaining focussed in the face of such rudeness

36. galamcennalath

High in Nicola’s list of further powers we need devolved …. BROADCASTING!

It’s not that we want something reverse biased, that would almost as bad. We need UNbiased news and information, and we need a mechanism of ensuring it. An overseeing SBC Trust, like the BBC Trust, except doing its bloody job!!!!

37. heedtracker

Whoever that 6am BBC Vote SLab Scotland crew are, they’ve been the most raging anti Scottish democracy, anti SNP, pro red and blue tory nutters for years now. They clearly think they have the god given right to attack Scotland’s democracy but its an appalling corruption and dysfunction of public broadcasting.

On balance though, the creeps are an amazing alarm, if you’re needing to be up and at em at 6am. So thanks for that you lying malicious gits.

38. liz

Just listened to 15mins of Call Kay(e) and blood pressure is through the roof.

1st caller – getting rid of Trident, how will this protect us from a terrorist attack!
    Give me strength!

Let’s nuc the terrorists!

Kay(e) couldn’t sound any more contemptuous.

39. scottieDog

Yep I will never spend money on a TV licence again.

40. Capella

“As for the third message, it referred to a very simple error which could be set right in a couple of minutes. As short a time ago as February, the Ministry of Plenty had issued a promise (a ‘categorical pledge’ were the official words) that there would be no reduction of the chocolate ration during 1984. Actually, as Winston was aware, the chocolate ration was to be reduced from thirty grammes to twenty at the end of the present week. All that was needed was to substitute for the original promise a warning that it would probably be necessary to reduce the ration at some time in April.”

Are we all thinking 1984? Creepy BBC.

41. Macca73

Is that the same Kaye Adams which left the keys in her £16,000 brand spanking new MR2 only to have it nicked?

The same one that said during a broadcast “Oh Look he likes me!” when talking to the owner about a guide dog?

Oh aye sharpest tool in the box that one!

42. Nana Smith

Some time ago I gave my pal a printout of the blog below and she passed it around and has had good response now folks have had their eyes opened

https://lenathehyena.wordpress.com/2014/08/29/oh-what-a-tangled-web-we-weave-when-first-we-practice-to-deceive-bbc-scotland-and-the-labour-party/

I wonder if perhaps this info could be spread more widely?

43. galamcennalath

OT But good stuff. Derek Bateman blows EVEL out of the water ….

http://derekbateman.co.uk/2015/04/28/the-mother-of-parliaments/

44. Dal Riata

On whether you imagined something or not…

About a week before the referendum I was watching some programmme or other on Sky. The programme ended, then, instead of going straight to the adverts as per usual, and without any introduction or explanation, they showed Alex Salmond ‘singing’ Queen’s song, I Want to Break Free…! It had been done by cutting and splicing from various speeches he had given to make it seem that he was speaking/singing the overdubbed song. Weird. It was an obvious ‘jokey’ reference to the upcoming referendum. The adverts then followed.

It was such a bizarre attempt at subliminal, nay blatant advertising/propaganda that I wasn’t sure if I had really seen what I thought I had. I questioned others, but they hadn’t been watching the same programme or had been doing other things.

Then, even closer to the day of the referendum, on finishing watching another programme on Sky, there was the same Alex Salmond singing I Want to Break Free ‘joke’ again!

I haven’t been able to corroborate any of this as I was watching unaccompanied and I left Scotland for some time very soon after the referendum.

So… did anybody else see that? Can a TV company actually do that – no introduction, no explanation, nothing except the ‘joke’ itself? Is it not blatant (subliminal) political propaganda? Yes, we all know that Sky were anti-Scottish independence, and remain so while also being a member of the UK’s rightwing anti-Scotland-having-any-voice-in-the-UK’s-democracy [sic] MSM, but does that mean that anything goes without recourse?

Anyway, please tell me someone else saw that and that I wasn’t suffering some kind of referendum overload madness?!

45. Bob Mack

What a difference leaving out “What they say is” makes,does it not.
    Think this was something you highlighted in your last article Rev.
    Sad bunch the BBC.

46. Ken MacColl

BBC Scotland is in freefall. They know it and, more importantly, we know it.
    Hostile interviewers abound although Kay(with an E) heads the list, with the Bradford women appearing to suffer genuine pain as she reported on the new Glasgow hospital. Can it be true that this was delivered within time and below budget?

47. X_Sticks

After two years of fruitless complaints to the bbc up to and including getting my MSP involved I gave up. Total waste of time.

I came to the conclusion that the only way to make my complaint felt by bbc Scotland was to stop paying their licence tax.

Now over 18 months and numerous threatening letters from their tax gathering wolves I’m still waiting for them to take me to court. Bring it on as they say.

At least it makes me feel better to know I’m not paying for their propaganda although it doesn’t stop me shouting at the tv or radio.

I’d be (mostly) happy to pay for the licence fee IF IT DIDN’T FUND PATHETIC QUAY. I refuse to pay to support the labour party in any way whatsoever.

48. Casper1066

I’m becoming dumb to it now, they could drop a nuke and I am not interested in anything they have to say. BBC or any MSM have to prove their competence and integrity to gain trust. Even the big main reporting companies, I find questionable. I think we should now who pays all these guys so we can judge.

49. Nana Smith

Check out how your mp has performed…

http://www.mpreportcard.co.uk/

50. heedtracker

it may also be the start of their Grand Coalition shyste, softening up. Certainly all kinds of Britnats, mainly blue Tory ones right enough are raging online for one, if polls hold. Polls that are rigged too apparently, by the SNP. Never underestimate the determination of that job for life mob in Pacific Quay.

51. The Rough Bounds

I never watch Reporting Scotland nowadays; I just can’t take the anger that builds up in me. However, I did see a tiny wee piece where Jackie Bird was giving the viewers a short rundown on what to expect ‘on tonight’s programme’.

I thought she looked dreadful. She looked, to me at least, like she hadn’t slept for 48 hours or had just received terrible news.

My guess is that she knows just what is coming and that she and her pals at BBC Scotland are likely to be out of a job before the end of the year and it’s having an effect on her health. I may be wrong of course, and it’s only my own opinion, but it’s how I saw it. Imagine being a fly on the wall in their canteen and seeing them talking about the latest poll figures; the atmosphere must reek with demoralisation and negativity.

52. Big Jock

Poor wee Wullie caught lying again!

http://news.stv.tv/east-central/318711-lib-dem-leader-willie-rennie-clocked-at-81mph-by-strava-app/

Big jock uses a GPS for running and they are 99.9% accurate for any use.

53. Nana Smith

Democracy Ed Balls style.

Balls – Labour will not work with SNP even if it means a second election

https://archive.is/OsRo9

54. K1

It’s just a simple excercise now, in word placing with no context. That’ll do them till next Friday.

Tories, Labour, words words words, Snp bad. More words, Nicola bad. Labour, Tories, words, big words, wee words…SNP bad. Some more words, more I say, more words needed! In the unlikely event of less words, we must ensure more words are found to increase the words needed to convey SNP bad.

55. Valerie

I don’t generally listen to Kayes drivel, but just listening to this morning’s from the link above.

I take it the country is only populated by unionists now? Do they not even try to even out the callers? Kaye certainly likes the sound of her own voice, despite having the FM on her show.

For the woman who is worried about terror attacks, and having our nuclear deterrent, should USA have hit the red button when we had a terror attack on Glasgow airport?

I seriously don’t understand the logic of having Trident, no matter how much I listen to the lovers of nuclear WMD

56. YesMeansYes

woosie says:
    28 April, 2015 at 12:56 pm

That said, did enjoy watching oor Andra on Daily Politics ripping the tory “5000 signature” phony document apart in front of some random chinless upper class twit.

BBC in London has its faults but in our case it is mostly a Metropolitan obsession and a naïve understanding of Scottish politics. Andrew Neil has taken apart a few Labourites including Jim Murphy. Evan Davis’ interview with Sturgeon was probing but respectful, allowing her to make her case and only interrupting when he wanted clarification. I watched an episode of a show called the Agenda. Nicola Sturgeon, Elaine C Smith appeared along with a former ambassador and a former SPAD. It was a little ‘populist’ but by the end of the show I knew what the 4 panellists thought and why they thought it. This never happens on BBC Scotland.

The problem is ingrained bias within the current affairs team at PQ. By the time a Labour press release comes their way they have heard it from several sources through their grapevine. The BBC/Labour echo chamber makes these assertions ‘fact’ in their world. They genuinely do not see their own bias. Add to this the BBC links to British Intelligence; they are always going to be our enemies.

I sat through the referendum and the election campaign getting angrier and angrier. I am not a member of a political party and I did not campaign in the referendum or in this election. This may make me less exposed to the coal face politics, but I did not get angry at the Better Together campaign or with elected politicians, they behaved as I would expect them to.

BBC Scotland is my biggest political enemy, as it is not a legitimate player it needs to be taken out.

57. Cathie

can it be a rather clunky attempt at a subliminal message?

58. jimnarlene

To summarise, SNP bad.

59. Patrick Roden

Kaye was a joke! I mean she was basically trying to get Nicola to say that it would be best if Scots voted Labour, because this would keep the Tories out.

In other words Kaye was promoting Jim Murphy and the Labour Parties, main election slogan almost 100%.

When Nicola gasped and said ‘this is quite bizarre’ Kaye went quiet for a few minutes, so I think she must have got told to shut her trap by the producers, because she was getting it so wrong!

Nicola kicked her ass though, so it’s all good, but surely no one who supports the SNP and want’s the free and unbiased broadcaster that Scotland’s democracy needs, can now settle for anything less than Holyrood being given full powers to control over our own media, including and especially the BBC.

60. Nana Smith

Just seen this tweet, may be another vow or scare coming soon. Will people fall for it again.

https://twitter.com/ellecid76/status/592685589545246724

61. HandandShrimp

Apart from Bill Whiteford at the weekend I rarely ever listen to BBC Radio Scotland anymore. I don’t watch BBC TV news at all. The channel gets changed the moment it comes on. Corrupt, unreliable and biased. Not worthy of the name journalism.

62. bill telfer

Just after 9 oclock I heard a screeching Kaye Adams supposedly interviewing Nicola Sturgeon who was finding it difficult to get a word in edgeways. I just switched off when I heard Nicola having to say “If you let me speak three words before interrupting me I’ll give you the answer…”. I’d love to hear how they are briefed by the producers before Nicola is going to be on.

63. heedtracker

http://www.mpreportcard.co.uk/#mp/572

My MP is Anne Begg and she’s claimed £363,032. Christ on a bike that surely can’t be for one year alone.

Fudge me, neighbouring Frank Doran’s on same splurge fest £362, 875

http://www.mpreportcard.co.uk/?#mp/570

Because they’re worth It. 360+ grand a year is pretty tasty.

64. KennyG

“We didn’t know, because we’d just woken up.”

Left to my own judgement, I’d say, do the Wings team all sleep in the same bed?

65. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

Again, if you want to save hundreds of pounds yearly, and not pay for blatant unionist propaganda, you simply cancel the BBC’s TV Tax, don’t watch live TV and use the internet to catch up on TV programmes and current events.

Here it is simply explained with all the correct legal advice. 🙂

http://www.moneysavingexpert.com/utilities/tv-licence

66. carthannas

Kaye Adams was a bloody disgrace this morning with the First Minister. She’s just a pretendy journalist pretending to do a real journalist’s job. She couldn’t disguise the contempt in her voice nor the bias in her attitude. BBC Scotland is corrupt. It’s so blatant now that it’s not just SNP supporters that are aware of it. Kaye Adams? Pathetic.

67. Will Podmore

Patrick writes, “Kaye was promoting Jim Murphy and the Labour Party’s main election slogan almost 100%.”
    What are the facts? The LibDems say that if they hold the balance after the election, they will speak first to the party with the most MPs, as they did in 2010.
    The more MPs that parties other than Labour have, the fewer David Cameron needs in order to have more MPs than Labour. So voting SNP or any party other than Labour would directly help Cameron and Clegg to form another Tory/LibDem government.
    It may well be the Labour Party’s main slogan – it also is the truth, like it or not.

68. Sinclair Macleod

heedtracker says:
    28 April, 2015 at 2:07 pm
    http://www.mpreportcard.co.uk/#mp/572

My MP is Anne Begg and she’s claimed £363,032. Christ on a bike that surely can’t be for one year alone.

It’s for the length of the parliament. Still not bad to cover expenses. My MP averaged £60k a year.

69. MARY VASEY

Jeez, absolutely pathetic

70. David Wardrope

@Dal Riata

You aren’t going mad, I saw this ‘advert’ a few times. But if I remember correctly, I think there may also have been a flipside advert including Cameron et al.

71. Marie clark

Why is anyone surprised by this. We had it all throughout the referendum, and with the surge in the polls for the SNP they have hit the panic button, big style. I don’t listen to anything that the BBC has to say cancelled the licence months ago. Can’t say I miss it, the daily lies and misinformation was getting extremely tedious.

We know that it’s only going to get worse, but folk don’t listen anymore. The diehard Labour voters, well nothing will change them, so we just have to keep doing what we are doing.

Get out there and leaflet and talk to folk. There can be no let up between now and polling day. It’s a mercy that its only a few days away. Then let’s see what wriggling and conniving takes place to block the SNP having any say at all.

The break up of the union is happening now, who knows how long it will take to be totally wrent assunder. Rest assured independence for Scotland is coming.

72. ronnie anderson

Scots have been a Inovative & Industrious race of People & contributed much to the benifit to the World. We now give the World the sham of the British Broadcasting Corperation,

Exposed as the British Bullshit Propaganda Machine.

The World is watching the Demise of the BBC,started where else SCOTLAND,& one day the People of Britain & the World will thank us.

73. Louis B Argyll

Do they think that chipping away at the edges of the truth is any less wrong than straight forward lying?

They turn debate and disagreement into fury and blind opposition, place values before reason.

Surely the BBC should be reflecting the positive reaction to SNP, possibly requiring a new vocabulary from the press … and not overplaying individual opinions from vested interests.

Champion the views of the common voter/viewer or you too will be seen as failing the people you serve.

74. Joemcg

Heedtracker-Re-Begg, probably get lynched by the PC brigade but why is she not an MSP? I observed her getting on my flight to London and what a carry on it was. It delayed the flight too. How many journeys does she make like this per year and what cost to the taxpayer? Wonder why she chose London considering her unfortunate disability? Not the wonga surely?

75. john j

Kaye Adams this morning was an absolute disgrace. For the first three or four minutes she just talked over and interrupted NS to the point that Nicola had to ask to be allowed to speak.
    The reason for this is not hard to find, presenters like her (I’ll not call her a journalist) make their living from broadcasting to the UK. Scotland is a backwater, as far as they are concerned the big money is all in London so you can understand why they’re keeking their pants at the thought of the gravy train hitting the buffers.
    Kaye is a typical working lass made good, probably with Scottish Labour family affiliations just like me, and just like the sorry disgrace that SLAB have become she’s only looking after her own interests.

76. Luigi

Nana Smith says:

28 April, 2015 at 2:03 pm

Just seen this tweet, may be another vow or scare coming soon. Will people fall for it again.

https://twitter.com/ellecid76/status/592685589545246724

Sigh, it was inevitable, I suppose. I wonder what the fluffy white bunny will be this time?

77. jackie g

My MP David Hamilton Midlothian

£292,444.00

Not the worst and most of it is travel and accomodation and some office costs.

This is the Dinasour 🙁 who said Nicola was the wee lassie with the tin helmet at the Slab party conference.

Thankfully he is taking retirement at this election unfortunatly he will have a nice fat pension 🙁

78. Chris

The BBC should be renamed the UBC- Unionist Broadcasting Corporation. I remember during the referendum Jackie Bird interviewing John Swinney and Charles Kennedy at the same time, Swinney got asked questions with real contempt from Bird and Kennedy got very rarely asked anything and was infact more impartial than Jackie Bird! Then the irony at the end- Charles Kennedy told the protesters outside the BBC not to “shot the messenger”!

79. desimond

Will Podmore

Are you now saying Vote Lib Dem get Labour?

Why bother with local MPs at all..just go straight Red or Blue on Ballot paper and please the Westminster fans

80. Joemcg

Jackie-£300k!!! Proves you don’t need a brain to become rich.

81. HandandShrimp

Can’t access Twitter here, what is the gist of the Twit?

82. call me dave

@gillie

Is that a double- double entendre you just made there?

Moved this post onto this thread as I have got a little behind… see what I did there gillie.

But seriously.

Radio 5 live 14:30 hrs headlines including the single phrase.

“Hatred of the English has reached astonishing proportions in Scotland”!

That’s all she said…had a look out the window..nope! My English neighbour just gave me a friendly wave, funny old world init!

Must tune into the 15:00hrs main news version. 🙁

83. flux_capacitor

I cancelled my proganda license in November. Currently using the PS3 as an entertainment hub (YouTube, catch up players, streaming, DVD/Blu-ray etc).

It’s may feel strange for the first week but to be honest I don’t miss it at all now. There’s always something else productive to do instead of vegging out and idly channel flicking through what is 99% garbage anyway.

84. Joemcg

Will-tell us who “won” in Scotland in 2010 and with how many seats. Have you not been paying attention? We want the SNP to hold the balance of power.

85. desimond

At some point its gonna get like Shawshank Redemption Opera scene..someone will lock themselves in the BBC studio and air the beautiful sounds of honest journalism to the smiling listeners

86. flux_capacitor

^^ type, should have been “propaganda license” sorry

87. galamcennalath

Will Podmore says:
    “The LibDems say that if they hold the balance after the election, they will speak first to the party with the most MPs, as they did in 2010.”

No. They first spoke with their preferred partners in 2010, Labour, who had less MPs.

Gordon ‘Federal’ Brown wouldn’t stand down as PM, so a deal never happened. Only then did the LibDems start taking to the party with the most MPs.

88. Luigi

Marie clark says:

28 April, 2015 at 2:26 pm

Why is anyone surprised by this. We had it all throughout the referendum, and with the surge in the polls for the SNP they have hit the panic button, big style. I don’t listen to anything that the BBC has to say cancelled the licence months ago. Can’t say I miss it, the daily lies and misinformation was getting extremely tedious.

We know that it’s only going to get worse, but folk don’t listen anymore. The diehard Labour voters, well nothing will change them, so we just have to keep doing what we are doing.

Get out there and leaflet and talk to folk. There can be no let up between now and polling day. It’s a mercy that its only a few days away. Then let’s see what wriggling and conniving takes place to block the SNP having any say at all.

The break up of the union is happening now, who knows how long it will take to be totally wrent assunder. Rest assured independence for Scotland is coming.

Even if, by some miracle, Project Fear works and the SNP are thwarted yet again next week, next year it all starts again, and again and again, until Scotland is independent. This is a war of attrition and each big battle greatly weakens the union. They can expend huge energy just trying to slow everything down, but it cannot be stopped now, let alone put into reverse. Like an unstoppable oil tanker about to hit the rocks, the union is coming to a slow, crashing end. I think many can see it coming now, but there is nothing they can do about it. Word has it they are already making plans to move their subs to Gibraltar – make of that what you will.

89. Crash

OT have a look at this graph. I think there might just have a problem in the UK with over representation.

http://i.imgur.com/I4sw9Vi.png

90. jackie g

Joemcg says: at 2:46 pm

Jackie-£300k!!! Proves you don’t need a brain to become rich

Not sure about the brains Joe 🙂 all i know is that he was a miner in a previous life.

Someone said a while back that he had gone from a boiler suit to an Armani suit.

The Problem is that Midlothian is staunch Labour so we are in for a fight not sure our guy will win.
    🙁

91. call me dave

The main news headlines on radio 5 live has altered its slant apparently it has been said by Farage. Some clarification then.

“Hatred of the English has reached astonishing proportions in Scotland”

Good old Auntie impartial to a fault. 🙂

Radio Scotland will set the record straight later I am sure ‘toodloo the noo’ will give us the goods.

92. Robert Kerr

There are two numbers for the SNP to focus on. Number of seats won and total number of votes cast for them.

Both matter. Legitimacy matters.

Good luck and make it happen.

93. Capella

So – what will the Big Surprise be on Sunday? Oooh it’s like Christmas.
    But will it be a carrot or stick?
    I think carrot.

It will have to be a “pledge” from Labour.
    What about “Vote Labour and we will deliver Devo Super Max within a few days of the election. Honest.
    signed
    Eds Miliband and Balls.

94. Macnakamura

Joemcg says:
    28 April, 2015 at 2:32 pm
    Heedtracker-Re-Begg, probably get lynched by the PC brigade but why is she not an MSP? I observed her getting on my flight to London and what a carry on it was. It delayed the flight too. How many journeys does she make like this per year and what cost to the taxpayer? Wonder why she chose London considering her unfortunate disability? Not the wonga surely
    :::::::::::::
    Elected in 1997, 2 years before scottish Parliament.
    Having a disability should not be a barrier to taking part in democracy.
    She should be criticised for many things but you have managed to alight upon one of the few for which she should not be.

95. G H Graham

Kay(e) Adams is no more capable than a one legged man in an arse kicking competition.

It’s probably best then to turn off the radio when this harridan takes advantage of the airwaves to screech like a parrot with its leg stuck in drawer of a filing cabinet.

96. Cadogan Enright

Rev – what about this? http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-punch-ali-didnt-throw/comment-page-1/#comment-2004739

You could set I it up like O / T

97. Bittie Glakit

Nicola must have great control to listen to these interviewers and not get annoyed.
    I wonder how she does it?

http://mistygee4.wix.com/-page-altered-images

98. Chic McGregor

Surely Balls and Miliband should have read the SNP their rights before condemning them. It would have been short and sweet:

“You have the right to remain silent…

That’s it.”

99. BrianW

So standard fare from then.. Meh!

100. X_Sticks

Capella says:

“So – what will the Big Surprise be on Sunday? Oooh it’s like Christmas.”

Maybe they’re going to throw us out of the union if we vote SNP 😀

101. CyberMidgie

@Joemcg 2:32pm

Regarding Anne Begg’s disability, you’re falling into the usual trap by focusing on the disability. The real question is this: “Why aren’t our vehicles and infrastructure designed so that everyone can use them just as easily, disabled or not?”

For example, you may have seen on some aircraft that cabin crew have folding seats, which are presumably just as safe as the normal ones, since they wouldn’t be allowed otherwise. Why not have groups of folding seats at the front and back of the cabin – next to the doors – so that they could be folded up to yield wheelchair spaces?

The wheelchair could be wheel-clamped to the floor to secure it, and seatbelt straps could be attached to secure the person in it. Job done.

Speaking as an able-bodied passenger, I’d happily take one of those folding seats, because they have four point harnesses instead of just a pathetic lap strap. So much safer.

102. Mark Harper

Please, please a piece about the atrocious Morning Call this morning where Kaye Adams verbal assault on Nicola Sturgeon.

103. bald eagle

john j

Kaye is a typical working lass made good, probably with Scottish Labour family affiliations just like me, and just like the sorry disgrace that SLAB have become she’s only looking after her own interests.

john or anybody that gets through to her shit show ask her about the valley and i bet she will be at your door before you can say are you there K with an E

104. Lanarkist

It seems odd to me this multiple personality disorder that Kaye has!

On radio she plays down to the audience, pretending to be quite simple, not really aware of the facts, not especially well read on any of the ‘difficult’ subjects.

Most obviously whilst denying all knowledge of the McCrone Report along with Tory guest Jackson Carlaw on show before the Indy Ref.

She has supposedly a Masters in Politics!

When on Sky Press preview she adopts a loftier approach and falls back on facts and figures whilst attempting some insight or fresh perspective and behaves with mutual respect and decorum.

Maybe she just assumes her audience in Scotland are all a bit simple and will respond to shouting whilst the metropolitan audience expects a bit more in depth input from their experts all said in a come hither Jim Murphy seductive tone.

Still trying to get on air and ask her if she has managed to read the McCrone report yet and for some reason never get the call back!

Seems strange that her research only includes the Unionist section of the library.

Ach well, not like anybody would notice the difference or outright bias up here in naive Scotland eh!

105. scunnered

brittish brainwashing corporation
    I too cancelled my licence last year
    every now and again a guy sneaks in and puts a letter through my letterbox telling me he had visited but I was out and he would be back and if i dont have a licence i should get 1 soon..he doesn’t even chap the door he just puts the letter through very quietly…ive been tryin to catch him but hes too quiet
    I even have the neighbours watching for him but hes elusive.

106. Wee Davie McGroo

i cannae wait until the GE. lets kick the unionist filth were it hurts the bampots

107. Johnny

Will Podmore:

Fraid not. If Labour get to 326 on their own or with SNP support makes no odds (and I will be represented by the person I want to be into the bargain).

If Labour cannot form a government with SNP and other support and the latter do win the sorts of seat numbers many are predicting, it will be because Labour have failed to win enough marginals from the Tories in England and Wales.

Unless there is a Grand Coalition, it’s about one bloc (Labour, propped up by others) obtaining more than another bloc (Tories propped up by those who’d support them). That’s the arithmetic that counts.

108. Now's the Hour

I too wondered about this. My reaction was ‘what rhetoric’? I couldn’t remember Nicola saying anything even remotely contentious, or anything that she hadn’t said before.

But no doubt the Biased Bullshit Corporation had to find something ‘controversial’ to dangle before the gullible.

Roll on the 7th tick tock

109. Gary45%

It was because of the way Jakey Burd interviewed Alex Salmond during the Referendum, we decided to cancel the TV licence.
    We only watch catch up TV nowadays, don’t miss live TV. and the internet on the TV is 1000000 times better than anything the EBC produces.

As said before, free yourselves from the licence, follow the rules and you won’t break the law.
    Simples.
    Gary

110. jcd

X-Sticks 3.29

There’s almost certainly going to be some kind of big splash between now and the 6th May to try to derail the SNP.

“maybe they’re going to throw us out of the union if we vote SNP” might just be what they think they could scare the misinformed and uninformed with by making it an actual “threat” instead of the usual we must keep our wonderful union bullshit.

111. Robert Peffers

@Justin Kenrick says: 28 April, 2015 at 12:18 pm:

” … we’re watching them digging a hole
    but we’re not falling for it. They soon will fall in”.

Well, Justin, they won’t fall in it. Wee Nicola set them in a circle and each one in the circle is throwing their next shovelful into the next guys hole, Err! excavation. So, it reality it is just the same shovelful of dirt going round and round and round in Labour circles.

Anyway, we were all expecting the unionist parties to start digging the dirt before voting day and we all have heard the same old dirty stuff before. It’s always just gone round in Labour circles.

I’ll get my coat!

112. gerry parker

““So – what will the Big Surprise be on Sunday? Oooh it’s like Christmas.”

A big bag of Liquorice All Sorts for everybody.

That should swing it for them.

113. Mo

Do we have any suggestions for someone to chair the new SBC ?

114. RobQos

In the run up to 2007 BBC Radio in Scotland used their sports programmes regularly to attack the SNP. I remember 2 of their ‘pundits’ eagerly bashing the SNP with no SNP reps or supporters able to counter. This happened on more than one occasion. So frustrating that there is nothing we can do to hold the media to account in Scotland and the UK. They are lawless. Freedom of the press in this country means they can do whatever they want with no accountability.

115. Fran

I heard it on the way to work and wondered the same, what rhetoric?

116. David

BBC Exec1: We need to dig a bigger hole for ourselves.
    BBC Exec2: Moar Hammers!

117. Clydebuilt

Nicola was on BBC TV last night …. And some egit’s “moan in” this morning. Does this mean we can look forward to MUrphy getting the same coverage next Tuesday just before the election ……wouldn’t put it past the J. Arthur’s

118. Conan_the_Librarian

Just watched Jackie Burd on Reporting Murphy.

Has she had a lip injection?

119. David

I totally agree with CyberMidgie at 3:31pm – “Why aren’t our vehicles and infrastructure designed so that everyone can use them just as easily, disabled or not?”

It’s the 21st century, FFS, and many buildings are still being designed and built with steps up to their front doors, instead of ramps. Just stupid.

Like CyberMidgie I’m able-bodied now, but as I get older that may change. Build things now so that everyone can access them, rather than have to retrofit buildings later on at high cost.

120. Chitterinlicht

Very very poor journalism.

Almost like they meant it.

121. Sean McNulty

That sounds like a BBC propaganda gearshift all right.

They can’t keep it going till next Thursday, though.

Can they?

122. JLT

Hello, and hope you are well. You are listening to ‘Good Morning Scotland’ from the BBC.

In today’s headlines…

Oceanic troops continue to face extreme resistanvce in Eurasia, while Eastasia continues to threaten Australasia. Our glorious leader and Big Brother, David Cameron has said from his home in the capital, Airstrip One, that only through perpetual war that peace can be achieved. This is part of the new campaign which see posters going up around the various cities in the UK where the catchy phrases of ‘WAR IS PEACE’,’FREEDOM IS SLAVERY’ and ‘IGNORANCE IS STRENGTH’ will help to boost morale, and prove that Britain and Oceania is moving forward in the right direction.

Ian Duncan Smith has revealed that production of food and certain benefits is up, while unemployment is down. Speaking from the office of the Ministry of Plenty. IDS said that ‘things were looking up for Britain and Oceania’.

The BBC has learned through the Ministry of Truth that Nicola Sturgeon, or as known by her party the SNP, Emmanuelle Goldstein, continues to speak out against the glorious future of Airstrip One with veiled threats of another referendum.

Meanwhile the Ministry of Love continues to monitor the dissidents of the ("Tractor" - Ed)ous website Wings Over Scotland as they continue to fraternise with Emmanuelle Goldstein in a bid to not only breakup Oceania, but weaken her enough so that Eurasia can dominate sea lanes, as well as the airspace around our glorious nation.

In sporting news, Rangers will seek today to see if they can play their two games in the playoffs by giving season ticket holders free access to both games as a reward for their loyalty.

The time is 7.58am. Now coming up …’Call Kaye’. Today’s program will feature….

123. Rikki Ferguson

Is it not about now the main parties bring in help from world leaders who offer serious comments condemning Nicola Sturgeon for her attempts to break up the Union through the back door…………?

124. JLT

‘Tractor’ous …LOL …good one!! A nice play on words. Like it!

125. Clive Scott

Listened to a bit of the fatuous Kaye Adams this morning with Nicola who I thought handled herself magnificently and made Kaye sound even more stupid than we already know she is.

126. Patrick Roden

Will Podmore:

Your problem my friend is you are 40 years out of date.

There may have been a time when a Tory or Labour MP in Scotland made a big difference, but what Scotland has learned that time was in the past.

A vote for the SNP, is a vote for people who are only interested in promoting what’s best for Scotland, rather than the feeble fifty, who stood by and watched Scotland industries being torn apart, and did nothing.

My point though was that Kaye is a BBC employee and therefore should not be promoting the Labour lie that voting Labour is the only way to keep the Tories out, because as you know, if there’s an anti Tory majority in the HOC and they all agree to lock the Tories out, that is the best way to ensure the Tories will not govern.

And to expect any party to say that voters should vote for their main rival, is plain stupidity on a scale that is hard to believe, and surely the dwindling number of people who pay the licence fee, have the right to expect better quality than was offered by Kaye.

127. Rock

Robert Kerr,

“There are two numbers for the SNP to focus on. Number of seats won and total number of votes cast for them.

Both matter. Legitimacy matters.”

Certainly not the number of votes because a “first past the post” election is undemocratic.

We are hoping for independence supporting Socialists and Greens to “lend” their votes to the SNP in this election to defeat the unionists.

We must not claim their support as votes for the SNP.

128. Effijy

If you complain about BBC Bias and haven’t signed the petition below, you only have yourself to blame!

https://you.38degrees.org.uk/petitions/independent-enquiry-into-bbc-bias-regards-scottish-independence-referendum

129. Sandra Wilson

This is a damn disgrace but then why would I be surprised? These “journalists” are so biased, they don’t realise they are biased. At least stand up and be counted for your biased approach. The world must look on in wonder.

130. carthannas

I hope that Kaye Adams is watching Bernard Ponsonby on STV just now. A challenging interview of the First Minister but: polite and allowing her time to answer and no clue as to his personal opinion. Which is why he’s fronting a major news programme and Ms Adams is confined to Radio Scotland’s Labour house magazine and news review programmes at the dead of night.

131. Christian Wright

Will Podmore: “The more MPs that parties other than Labour have, the fewer David Cameron needs in order to have more MPs than Labour. So voting SNP or any party other than Labour would directly help Cameron and Clegg to form another Tory/LibDem government.
    It may well be the Labour Party’s main slogan – it also is the truth, like it or not.”

Still hawking that trope, Will? No chance you’ll do some actual research first to get a clue? No?

Thought not.

The incumbent PM gets first dibs at forming a government regardless of whether his party is the largest of the 10th largest.

“Does the party with the most seats form a Government?

In order to form a Government, a party must be able to command a majority in the House of Commons on votes of confidence and supply. This majority can include support from other political parties, whether or not there is a formal coalition arrangement.

In a situation of no overall control the Government in power before the General Election gets the first chance at creating a government. If they cannot do so, the Prime Minister will resign.”

http://www.parliament.uk/about/how/elections-and-voting/general/hung-parliament/#jump-link-0

132. Christian Wright

@ Will Podmore – It will be clear from the foregoing that whether or not Labour is the largest party offers no operational advantage.

Labour largest party? Tories get first try at forming government.
    Labour second largest party? Tories get first try at forming government.

Does largest party in a hung parliament get to form the government? NO. The party that can command the confidence of the House gets to form the government – that is the pastry that can put together a majority.

The number required for a majority in a vote of confidence, is the ONLY metric of import in the formation of a government.

133. Christian Wright

Ask Kaye – listened to every second of the programme so you don’t have to. Hectoring, she’s just not the brightest bulb on the Christmas tree.

Some of her questions were asinine. Two were cosmically dumb (paraphrasing):

“How is the FM going to feel if, as a result of the SNP contesting this election, the Tories slip in through the back door?”

“Shouldn’t Nicola be advising voters IN SCOTLAND as well as the rest of the UK, to vote Labour, to maximise the chance there would be a Labour government?”

Now, it did occur to me I was misinterpreting her meaning, but after careful consideration – nope, that did seem to be her meaning.

134. Will Podmore

Christian, the rules are changing. Nick Clegg has now confirmed what we already knew, that if the LibDems hold the balance after the election, they will speak first to the party with the most MPs, as they did in 2010.
    He said, “The party with the greatest mandate from the British people – even though they haven’t got a majority – seems to me, to us, to be the party that has the right to try to assemble a government first.”
    The more MPs that parties other than Labour have, the fewer David Cameron needs to have more MPs than Labour. So voting SNP or any party other than Labour would directly help Cameron and Clegg to form another Tory/LibDem government.

135. Natasha

@Will Podmore
    I see you’re on the afternoon shift again.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.