Toadies Of Toad Hall

Posted on February 18, 2016 by

Last night, MP Natalie McGarry made another heavily-qualified semi-apology to the popular abusive-tweeter enthusiast JK Rowling, because that’s how bullying works. (As far as we know McGarry has still refused Rowling’s demand that she make a sizeable donation to Rowling’s charity under threat of legal action.)

mcgarryjkr

One of George Orwell’s most-quoted lines is “Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed: everything else is public relations.”

We wonder who was trying to silence the torrent of drivel below, then.

jkt1

jkt4

jkt5

jkt6

jkt7

jkt49

jkt8

jkt9

jkt10

jkt11

jkt12

jkt13

jkt40

jkt14

jkt16

jkt21

jkt48

jkt17

jkt18

jkt52

jkt50

recorddestroy

jkt20

jkt22

jkt51

jkt23

jkt25

jkt26

jkr49

jkt46

jkt27

jkt28

jkt30

jkt15

jkt29

jkt31

jkt32

jkt33

jkt44

jkt2

jkt34

jkt35

jkt36

jkt37

jkt42

jkt41

jkt43

jkt45

jkt38

jkt39

We’ve often said that if we had JK Rowling’s money we’d have much better stuff to do with our time than hang around on Twitter desperately seeking the attention and approval of strangers.

But frankly, if you were getting this sort of blind, fanatical, simpering adoration from a media so fawning and obsequious that it would make the BBC’s royal correspondent Nicholas Witchell look like a hard-hitting investigative reporter – never mind six million unquestioning followers – every time you typed 140 characters, we can see why you wouldn’t want to give it up.

And when someone takes out more than 50 lawsuits against people who say anything critical about them, we also understand why journalists decide that it’s a lot safer just to crawl up Rowling’s back passage and lick for all they’re worth.

jkt47

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 18 02 16 15:43

Toadies Of Toad Hall | Speymouth

2. 18 02 16 17:36

Toadies Of Toad Hall | Jonah Engler | Scoop.it

241 to “Toadies Of Toad Hall”

1. Hamish McTavish

Ok, Stu, you’ve just made all of that up. There’s no real evidence. No front page of the Daily Heil there so, it can’t be based on fact.

2. Doug Daniel

Look at all these off-message journalists. Such incredible bravery.

3. Thomas William Dunlop

Money talks and justice walks…

4. Willie John

But does she tweet? Or has she a small island of tweeters doing it for her?

5. Bob Mack

So , basically she is a Twit–ter. Would anyone, and I mean anyone at all, pay her the slightest bit of attention if she was not as rich as Creosus?. Money talks and many listen. She probably has visions of being one of literature greats,but in 100 years who will remember her? Certainly immortality is what she is trying to achieve,but failing dismally. All I see is a self obsessed individual whose contributions to the charitable world are designed for self grandisement. Sad to say ,but that is my own view.

6. runswithdogs

Gah,,, the level of useless asinine garbage contained in the above “articles” makes me wanna run away from earth.

7. frogesque

Really, I really, really do not care what the madame of journalistic integrity writes or tweets.

8. David MacGille-Mhuire

Isn’t she all Pottered out, yet?

9. Iain

She was very, very lucky with HP (she got the idea of a school for wizards from Jill Murphy’s The Worst Witch) but she’s not a writer, and is obviously bored. She needs to get a job.

10. Murray McCallum

I wonder if all that crap counts towards their CPD in the Chartered Institute of Journalists?

Standards and integrity, frankly.

11. jimnarlene

Ho-hum, I think I’ll go and watch paint dry, far more interesting, nay important. Next…

12. Bob Mack

Do you ever hear of Warren Buffet or Bill Gates in our press. Two of the world’s most dedicated charitable icons. Buffet has given £18 billion of his fortune to charity,whilst Gates is around £24 billion.

Wonder how much of her personal fortune Rowling has given?

13. K1

I’m going to get personal here…Stephen Daisley is one of the most obnoxious people I’ve had the misfortune to encounter through Rev’s twitter, his blatant accusations and characterisation of those who aren’t up Rowling’s arse as somehow anti-english are not only utterly offensive and unfounded but completely shameful.

But then people like that have no shame, no sense of decorum in the public sphere and a completely twisted sense of their own self importance, what a sad wee man. And what a sad testament if any more were needed of the state of journalism in Scotland when people such as Daisley have a ‘voice’ within our civic culture. Ugly, ugly ugly Mr Daisley.

https://twitter.com/JournoStephen/status/700304784981651457

14. Thepnr

Help me out here. Who is J.K. Rowling?

15. Papadox

Who or what is JK Rowling! Should I have heard of them, what is their claim to fame?

16. Brian Powell

Americans may feel conflicted over a Brit, JKR, putting her wealth and support behind the British State in opposing self determination for a small nation.

After N MacPherson’s revelation that he, as top of the civil service, saw his clear duty not to be impartial, but work wholly for the British State, along with Cameron’s speeches and the Treasury papers, it all shows it was the British State against Scottish Independence.

To Americans the conflict may come from considering all the support they gave to the Republic of Ireland and the republican minority in Northern Ireland against the British State, but they host the theme park bases on JKR’s .characters, and support her wealth directly through buying the books.

The same wealth that worked against Scottish Independence.

17. Croompenstein

If I remember right the ‘Furious Scottish Cyber Nat after the Rugby World Cup Defeat’ was your good self Stu.. 😀

And how shit is the American rapper if Jakey Trolling comes out with utter pish like that…They hatin’ WTF Jakey

18. Inkall

Has anyone asked her jakeyness why her international children’s charity only operates in England (and Wales?) in the British Isles? I’m presuming something to do with charity registration and percentage of donations going towards wages being too high but it would be interesting to hear why she thinks they don’t operate in Scotland.

19. osakisushi

Journalists, particularly Scottish MSM journalists, are perhaps better described as “Uncle Tom” rather than “Yoons”. Their lazy style of blindly accepting “Perfect Response” press releases rather than actually doing any work has become embarrasing.

Goodness knows how Stu managed collate all the drivel above. I stopped viewing them after the first couple. It was reading a twittle exchange the female concerned had with a Scottish journo earlier today did the penny finally drop as to this Uncle Tom behaviour.

20. Croompenstein

we also understand why journalists decide that it’s a lot safer just to crawl up Rowling’s back passage and lick for all they’re worth

Whoever is up there has just found Daisley’s shoes 🙂

21. Macart

@Thepnr

Writes kids books, I think.

22. Camy

So much shite and so little time

23. G. H. Graham

I’ve been deeply inspired by Trolling’s compendium of wisdom on Twitter so have nominated myself to honour this 21st century giant of literary intellect by sharing some of my own rarely published musings …

“Walked to the fridge to get butter. Spotted some dried on HP in the salad crisper. Silly me, scratched the polycarbonate cos I used a No. 2 woodman’s chisel.”

“Cleaned my glasses last night. Spent ages staring at Uranus through the attic window before I had the sudden urge to get some Cyclizine from the medicine cabinet.”

“Think I’ll eat something for dinner after I’ve vacuum sealed this last Pretzel.”

“My cat’s arse is dirty. I should have gotten a giraffe.”

“It’s raining again. Grass is getting wet. Maybe I’ll bury grandma tomorrow?”

24. Auld Rock

Ignore her, she’ll hate having her oxygen cut-off.

Auld Rock

PS Even though it’s very tempting I’m not suggesting anyone throttles her. People like her have lttle else do do with their time apart from counting their money and using it to threaten costly legal cases.

25. geeo

I have just one question.

What the hell was all that about? !!!

JK Rowing is in my opinion, a person who is beneath my contempt due to being an egotistical bully.

Harry Potter is terrible. Tried to read the books and watch the films, but after a short time my brain put my body into a comatose state to stop me going any further.

She can take me to court if she likes, not had a day out in ages….?

#awayandshitehen.

26. Petra

FGS! Trumpeting detailed information, to millions, about her bowel movements now! Constipated at one end and constantly spouting verbal diarrhoea from the other. Seems that she’s capable of doing anything to get attention.

With this focus and more so public announcement about her bowel movements JKR seems to have regressed or is ‘stuck’ at Freud’s 2nd stage of child development (Anal – 1 – 3 years of age) which is linked to many kinds of mental disorder from phobias, obsessions, compulsions and delusions. In line in fact with her stating that she suffers from / has suffered fears, phobias and obsessive-compulsive personality disorder (OCPD). Delusions? Of grandeur?

‘Freud: The anal phase can manifest itself later in adults in authoritarian and rebellious personality ….

Money is also a symbolic substitute of faeces, deriving from being a substitution of gold, a substitution of faeces. So playing with money in the adults is an acceptable substitution for the unconscious desire to play with faeces …..

Freud asserts that the sadomasochism arises from the regression to the anal phase of the infantile sexuality where both active (sadistic) and passive (masochistic) form can be exhibited. The capacity of pity is not yet developed during this period and hence the nature of sadomasochism therefore can emerge in these adults. Again, the conflict between the sexual desire and the pity feeling can lead to some forms of neuroses. Repression of the impulses generated by the anal phase sexuality can cause a neurosis with symptoms in the bowel region…’

https://ccrma.stanford.edu/~pj97/SigmundF.htm

27. Clapper57

Read a headline ” JK shuts down Troll “…thought perhaps she had bumped “Friend” aka the spoof twitter a/c Brian Spanner…alas no.. it was directed at a Scottish gentleman who dared to advise oor Nat to tell “the radge ( JKR) to bolt”.

Note JK told The Independent ( Ha ! ) aboot standing up tae bullies HaHaHaHaHa…..nae irony either.

However I did note both Dawn French and Kathy Burke also retweet Spanner tweets….Kathy even said to him after an exchange on Twitter ‘love you’ wtf.

Obvs they think this is a spoof a/c ( because they know who is behind it ) cause no way can I see that both Kathy B and Dawn F ever condoning anyone calling a female a c**t.

If they do think okay to use this word , even in spoof a/c under a pseudonym , then like other famoose females who follow and retweet him then they too must be prepared to condone this term being used , in JEST of course , towards them. I’m sure they will find it just as funny when tables turned and this joke term (c**t) is directed at them and other Spanner female fans.

Unless they are collectively thick as shit .

28. Itchybiscuit

It just makes me wonder how many times she sat in a cold house thinking to herself, ‘See when I’m rich and famous, they’ll pay. They’ll ALL pay’.

29. Robert Bryce

There’s something sinister about a person who holds so much sway over quite literally millions of people.
    Not in a governmental way but in a “Your so f*****g great and we’d do anything for you” way.

To find journalists (I use the term loosely) in this group hanging on her every tweet is quite disturbing.

30. Giving Goose

I’ve got a pet dog turd called Jakey.
    It smells badly…

31. Wellreadned

I like the way the most frequently asked question in the past two weeks towards any Scottish journalist has been “who is Brian Spanner?”

They respond to this with variations of “Shut up, nobody is interested, it doesn’t matter, I’m bored, this is boring, stop talking about this, please God, why won’t lots of people stop being interested in this thing which nobody is interested in”

This is especially pronounced when Jamie “Solero Girl” Ross does it, considering how he makes his corn from stalking the marginal Scottish Resistance fruit and nuts.

Daisley…well, that’s just tragic.

32. Cloggins

This summing up defines both twitter and the tweeter. Serious people have a life, not a twitter account.

33. yesindyref2

There’s a lot of things you can say in a general context.

“The characters are fine but they write a very shallow author.”

“I wouldn’t write a book criticism on anyone who had a small island of lawyers”

“I’ve blocked my keyboard so it can’t write the name of any money bullies”

“Some people can win a fight but lose any real friends if they ever had any. which seems to be exceedingly unlikely.”

“I like sincere genuine people but unfortunately this isn’t one of them”.

“Money can’t buy you love”.

“Who?”

“She’s a real nowhere woman Sitting in her nowhere land
    Making all her nowhere plans for nobody “

34. Iain More

I find the Press and Media quite disturbing in its sycophancy of JK Rowling. It also for me borders on mass hysteria of the kind from another era.

35. Clapper57

Wellreadned says:

18 February, 2016 at 4:02 pm

“I like the way the most frequently asked question in the past two weeks towards any Scottish journalist has been “who is Brian Spanner?”

Yes indeed , however same question not only ‘infrequently’ being asked but ‘never’ being asked by Journalists themselves….perhaps that raises another question .

36. One_Scot

She is definitely Queen of the shitter, sorry, my bad, damn predictive text, I meant twitter.

37. Thepnr

@Macart

Thanks for that, a childrens author eh? Getting old but I think I remember now.

Wrote some books about a Train Spotter eh, or was that Irvine Welsh? Deluded.

38. Dr Jim

Lick for all they’re worth:

That’s just great, sums up the media to perfection, sod all really to do with Jakey it’s the depths to which the so called news reporting “Journalists” have sunk in order to fill their gossip columns with inches of drivel about somebody who wrote a kiddy’s book and made a lot of money from it, but more importantly is a Labour party donor and must be championed because lots of kiddies like the book

World renowned scientists, engineers, great thinkers, innovators flog their guts out to further mankind and what do we hear about?

A woman who threatens folk with legal action if they don’t appreciate her greatness
    The world’s gone Doo Lally

Scotland’s in the middle of a fantastic transformation from a wealthy persons playground of poverty into a modern dynamic technological beacon of light and it’s thanks to Scotlands electorate waking up and giving their support to a party who’s grinding out a future for us all under horrific pressure from all media and the “UK”

But this childrens book writer’s toilet habits are of the utmost importance to the sales of “Newspapers”
    Should it be any wonder to anybody in the entire world that Scotland is sick to the back teeth of The British Imperialist attitude, it’s media, and supporters of those institutions, and it’s nothing to do with ethnicity it’s to do with how objectionable and offensive these people are

IT’S COMING YET FOR AW THAT…. SNPx2

39. Charles

…my brain has just vomited inside my skull.

40. Petra

So much tweeting going on!

But has anyone noticed if JKR and her Unionist support team, including journalists, STV correspondents and so on, have been tweeting about the Regimental Blues launching a campaign of targeting councillor surgeries and council offices warning councillors that they will monitor “every meeting you sit in, every vote you cast and every move you make” if they failed to back down over plans to commemorate the Irish Easter Rising of 1916?

Or the Unionist Bears targeting journalists warning “If you lose your business, your money, your home, your husband or wife, your children or your freedom, don’t say you weren’t warned!”?

Or encouraging others to target by posting personal details, addresses and mobile numbers of North Lanarkshire councillors, online?

Or the fact that ”dozens of threats from loyalists have previously been recorded by the National Union of Journalists in Scotland.”

Forget about tweeting has anyone noticed if any of her ‘media’ cronies, such as Daisley, have mentioned any of this on STV or the BBC? Threatening our Democracy, Freedom of Speech worst still the lives of innocent children. No?

What happened to the Joanne Kathleen Rowling that purports to care so much about the well-being of children? Does that not include Scottish children?

Seems that her bowel movements are of greater import now and the whole scenario stinks right enough.

41. handclapping

Its difficult to say what I think about her as Stu is also on twitter but at least Stu didn’t give Gordy Brown £1,000,000 for reducing child poverty when all Gordy had done was make the rest of us so poor that the “poverty level” had to fall and so there were less children under it.

42. Inverclyder

We need to remember she’s as talented as Kanye West.

I’m Brian Spanner.

No. I’m Brian Spanner.

43. Roseanne

This woman is the biggest bloody troll on Twitter! Can’t everyone just do a massive ‘block’ on the troll?

44. Thepnr

@Dr Jim

Don’t think I’ve ever said this before and maybe overdue.

Great post, thanks 🙂

45. Kenny

If you want writing, here is some REAL writing:

“O Paris! Of all citeis principall!”

As fresh today as it was almost 500 years ago — and typical of (the then independent) Scotland’s love affair with Europe, which lesser writers would love to substitute for UKOKism.

46. Bob Mack

O/T,

Just heard Angela Haggerty is doing column for Sunday Herald as from this week Spears still out in cold..

People power wins.

47. Dorothy Devine

Blimey! That was a surfeit of shite right enough!

48. Walter Scott

She works very hard at keeping herself in the news. How does she find time to write her awful books? Even my bairns think she’s a pish writer. Reverend Stuart, will you please stop talking about that appalling freak. That deranged, simpering puss is way past its sell by date

49. ArtyHetty

Oh christ, just looking at all that made me feel sick.

Why is the rich waste so much of the planets resources, get away with creating crap and are worshipped for it, it’s all very sickening.

Still, rather be poor, with real creative talent and a conscience, than a rich troll with a rather ugly demeanour.

50. dmw42

I think her tweets are plagerised

51. orri

Why assume that Spanner is male?

Also why point to multiple writing styles as evidence of more than one person behind the account?

Perhaps the key is that we’re looking for a female with the minimal writing skills needed to create different speech patterns for her characters.

52. Breastplate

Breaking news
    Today JK Rowling farted, she was 50 years old.
    There will be a private ceremony with friends and family.

53. Wellreadned

Daisley’s tongue must perpetually taste like Jakey’s anal passage.

He can probably guess what she has had for dinner each night by this point.

Still, makes a change from him going around with a moothful of Jim Murphy’s bumhole – that guy was a veggie. Daisley was probably getting bored of a liquid diet.

54. Brian Powell

Reading all the stories about her, I keep wondering what JKR might look like. Anybody got a photo?

55. Proud Cybernat

I know I really shouldn’t but I actually feel some sympathy for JKR. FGS, JK – you do not need ANY of this. Get yourself OFF TWITTER and get yourself a life! Heaven knows you can well afford it, girl.

Pre-IndyRef#1 I would, on occasion, chuck a few bob into the charity buckets of the British Army soliders that would patrol Buchanan St. in Glasgow. They were out again today. I was about to donate and then I remembered the “Bouncy, bouncy brigade” at that god-forsaken football stadia in the south of Glasgow in the run-up to the vote. I thought to myself, “No chance!”

Still feel some guilt about that decision today. Hmm – something to think about for me…

56. arthur thomson

She is an irrelevance. If she wasn’t leading her ‘fans’ by the nose then someone else would be.

57. Thepnr

I have to wonder about Ms Rowlings motivation for engaging with politics on Twitter. Fair to say she may have strong opinions on the benefits of the Union but to share them with her 1.5 million followers seems a bit odd.

How many of those followers worldwide are even remotely interested in UK internal politics that she tweets so often about?

Of course I have no idea as to this number but as she is a writer of childrens books I can reasonably argue that many followers are children or the parents of children that have read her books.

I can only guess that many of of followers will be screwing their faces up if a Brian Spanner tweet comes anywhere near their timeline, yet she chose to follow such a person. A rare accolade indeed going by the number she follows.

To me at least, it is very bizarre behavior, regardless of the old adage “No publicity is bad publicity” this does not always hold true. Bigger figures than Ms Rowling have fallen victim to this in the past.

The Scottish electorates fight for Independence from Westminster rule is a fair one and one it seems that now 50+ of voters in Scotland agree with this. Where once there may have been some affection, there is now disdain and dare I say it, ridicule amongst many Scots.

Maybe best stick to fiction and magic Ms Rowling, politics may not be your strong point.

58. Breeks

Who cares?

Seriously. Is it my perspective which is so fkd up? Or are we really getting worked up about a squabble between two women on Twitter?

If there is this outcry over such a mind numbingly dull “she said / he said” tiff on Twitter, can you imagine the outcry if an angry mob of SNP activists took it upon themselves to forcibly occupy goverment buildings like the October Revolution? Or storm some UK bastille like the French in Paris? Or tip all the Tea we can find into Leith harbour like the US did in Boston? Surely the press would go into meltdown. Good Lord, such acts of wanton defiance might even start a revolution…

I guess we’re not quite ready for that. The only revolution this threatens to provoke is turning over and going back to sleep. Is that unfair or disloyal to the cause to say so?

What is expected of me??? Must I run out and “not” buy an Harry Potter books? Consider is done. I don’t actually own any. How lucky was that?

We have 1000 years plus of Scottish history and events both marvelous and tragic which reverberate down the centuries and yet the most immediate chapter in the great Scotland story sees us dwelling on this.

I don’t want warfare, bloodshed or violence. No lynchings, martyrs or people disappearing. I’m not even missing the beat of a drum,…but I thought we’d be seeing something more than this.

59. Thepnr

I see the odd troll appearing with headlines for tomorrows Mail and Record.

60. Macart

@Thepnr

😀 LOL ‘train spotter’

Seriously though, never read any of em and I’ve only watched half of one of the movies (under duress). Couldn’t tell you anything about the woman, but on the evidence of what I’ve seen via the meeja, social and otherwise, I’m fairly proud of that fact.

Not a bod I’d want to become any more familiar with.

61. Jimbo

I don’t see any real tweeting wizardry or badass wit in those so-called put-downs, conversation shut downs. I guess some people just like to brown-nose celebrities.

Just imagine if Bob Hope, that master of one liners, was alive and tweeting today.

62. Wellreadned

When even Ross Beardy Person from the uber-unionist D**** R***** is commenting on your craven, Smithersesque grovelling it is probably time to calm down with the sycophancy, eh Daisley?

For an experiment, try tweeting Daisley’s “anti-English” comments back at him but replace English and Scottish with Israeli and Palestinian. Be interesting to see how long it takes him to start squeaking his pathetic outrage after that. Probably a pico-second.

63. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“FGS! Trumpeting detailed information, to millions, about her bowel movements now! Constipated at one end and constantly spouting verbal diarrhoea from the other. Seems that she’s capable of doing anything to get attention.”

You get that that’s a piece on a satire website, right?

64. john-d

She does realise she shits and pisses like every one else?

65. Mosstrooper

And yet,strangely, I find myself unmoved and bemused about this Jakie person. Does she appear in any newspapers. Is she related to the princess Diana of French tunnel fame?

I read some of her Twattery and do you know? I almost laughed. Was one supposed to be amused?

So many questions and so few answers.

66. HaggisHunter

She is a scary character. Full of hate at the thought of Scotland running its own affairs, then there’s the bullying and manipulation, kind of Jim Murphy-ite but smarter.

67. yesindyref2

@Breastplate
    If she did that it seems all those fawning journalists would be rushing around for a sniff.

68. DerekM

Not the crazy second rate children`s book writer again,who is she threatening to sue this time.

69. yesindyref2

OT
    Just in case anyone tries to tell you council budgets are being cut 5.2%, no idea where that originated but wouldn’t surprise me if it’s via some contorted per capita graph or something, I archived this from COSLA itself (just in case) which shows them claiming 3.5%, but acknowldeging on that page the £250 million which makes it 1%.

http://web.archive.org/web/20160218173133/http://www.cosla.gov.uk/news/2016/02/undeliverable-then-undeliverable-now

70. Wellreadned

@HaggisHunter

She isn’t scary in the slightest. She writes fairy tales for children. And Unionists.

I got vaguely trolled by her fan base on Twitter ages ago. Mainly this consisted of people who, in the words of Irvine Welsh,have wanked themselves blind desperately seeking a pat on the head from their idol. Sometimes she throws the simple-minded wee dorks a biscuit.

It wasn’t intimidating at all.

71. gerry parker

@Macart

“Writes kids books, I think.”

Wot – like Sarah Ferguson?

72. bjsalba

JK is a tiresome troglodyte.

73. Macart

@gerry parker

According to Thepnr, something about train spotters. Well, there’s a train involved somewhere.

Wait, Sarah Ferguson writes? 😮

74. heedtracker

I’d be genuinely concerned about her power over Scots to vote how she tells us, if she was an actual great writer.

Imagine say writers and thinkers like Gore Vidal, Norman Mailer, Henry Miller, Don DeLillo and Philip Roth attacking Scottish democracy, instead of this filthy rich bullying clown and UKOK hackdom ofcourse?

75. Valerie

Social media is a wondrous place. Depending on your choices, you can mix with like minded folk, exchange ideas, learn and expand your mind.

On the other hand, it has spawned an army of attention whores and narcissists, seeking company that will feed their bottomless pit of need. They are so fucking special.

There is already an industry springing up analysing this now public behaviour.

Mad world.

76. Helen Ross

Beware there is a bot out there making numerous Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them lists and sticking you on them. Have had to remove myself 9 times in 24 hours from them, different Twitter handle involved each time for the listmakers. Query: is it a publisher’s stunt or something worse?

77. woosie

Who cares?

This rollin jakey thing; I’ve never read any of her books, as I’m an adult, don’t care how much money she has (though it seems she wants us all to be aware), and think anyone who uses twitter has a dark, huge void in their life.

I opened an account a couple of years ago, to see what it was all about, but never got the point of hearing the view of anyone who craves approval. I closed it after the Natalie McGarry incident.

Not interested hen.

78. Tam Jardine

A land populated by 2 classes- the chosen ones marked out by birth and all the rest of the lumpen proletariat who lead lives of ignorant drudgery… they attend different schools and barely interact. As written from the perspective of the illuminati.

It all seems a little less fantastic and a little more like the UK today.

Natalie McGarry rose in my estimations for calling all this hypocrisy out and was predictably lambasted for it. Her qualified apology was presumably completely unnecessary from a legal perspective as the claim she defamed JK was absurd. So she made her peace- as was her perogative.

I have yet to hear an apology for attempting to extract money from McGarry under the threat of legal action or condemnation of the abusive troll(s) who uses the spanner twitter account. Presumably as one of the proles Natalie McGarry is subject to the strict letter of the law whilst as a member of the higher caste JK is able to hover over us all with impunity.

My hope is that the tweets of JK’s followers are never picked up on by a hostile alien civilisation as they would certainly give the semi-misguided impression that earth is full of preposterous halfwits who could be crushed in the space of an afternoon.

79. Clive Scott

Can we all please just ignore the silly fantasist that is JKR.

80. Capella

The Rosa Kleb of the Unionist movement.

81. frogesque

@ orri 4.40.

High functioning schizophrenia will do it. All you have to do is keep the eggs in the same box separate, they can still talk to each other.

And, before anyone starts, my sig other has bouts of psychosis, voices and bipolar. She functions extremely well and has worked within many mental heath groups for over 40 years. She has never once asked for pity or unwarranted attention.

82. Scott Borthwick

I note the tweet referred to in Time (‘This may be J.K.Rowling’s best tweet ever’) is actually plagiarised.

Hmm…

83. Sooz

Money can do terrible things to a person. It can give her (or him) ideas above her (or his) relevance.

84. Petra

@ Rev. Stuart Campbell says at 5:11 pm …..

“FGS! Trumpeting detailed information, to millions, about her bowel movements now! Constipated at one end and constantly spouting verbal diarrhoea from the other. Seems that she’s capable of doing anything to get attention.”

”You get that that’s a piece on a satire website, right?”

Sorry I never noticed Stuart, Duh! In saying that most of it’ll apply anyway.

85. call me dave

@Clive Scott

I’m with you 100%

PS:
    From Stonehaven ‘Pneumodesmus newmani’

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-35607160

Wearing a ‘vote labour’ badge I thought I heard someone say. 🙂

86. Marcia

A football thread would be far more interesting than her and I dislike football.

87. mealer

Yep.Mags Curran lookalike.

88. HandandShrimp

The banality of the press makes the Eurovision song contest look like the cultural high point of the human race. Quite why JK wants to be involved in such nonsense baffles me.

89. Kirsty

I usually laugh at the corpmedia these days – they’ve become so irrelevant they’re almost beyond parody. Plus their angry fist waving at not getting the *respect* they feel they deserve has been brilliantly entertaining. But this…this is just full-on weirdness. Saying they’ve jumped the shark, doesn’t even come close.

As for Rowling, I think we’ve already given her too much of our time, so I’m going to resist commenting on her. Reading these headlines though, I’m wondering if the unionist journalists are using her the way they did things like their own journalistic integrity, any hint of impartiality or competence at their jobs. Not to mention institutions like the BBC, the civil service, etc.

Let’s face it, how many of us will ever believe or even pay attention to another word they say now? They’ve been so keen to try and stick it to us *Nats* that they’ve destroyed the reputations of many of the institutions/people that they claimed they loved and that made us “Better Together” in the process. I’m starting to wonder if she’s just another useful idiot that they believe is a *national treasure* that might sway people away from democracy for Scotland. So they’re using her like they did the BBC, the civil service, their own profession, etc. not caring about the damage it will do to her reputation, to try and score points…Or maybe they really are just this weird! 🙂

90. heedtracker

She probably gets a warm glow off of stuff like sticking it to SNP MP’s but this is what she’s actually doing to Lab

“After losing the general election by 6.5 points, Labour is now trailing the Tories by an average of 10 and by as much as 14, according to one survey. At no point in the post-1945 era has it performed so poorly in opposition. The Conservatives now regularly achieve the 40 per cent share that many regarded as impossible without a transformation of their brand. The transformation of Labour has proved enough.”

Not UKOK helping any more JK?

91. ClanDonald

I told my elderly (and usually respectable) mum about Rev Stu telling JK Rowling to fuck off on twitter and she said “Good. It’s about time someone told her to fuck off.”

😀

Rowling isn’t as popular as she thinks in Scotland. She really isn’t. Most folk would realise that giving a million quid to a political party that roughly 80% of us dislike would make them pretty unpopular.

She doesn’t. She thinks we dislike her because she’s rich and amazing and so very, very important.

And for that reason she thinks she can look down her nose at us and hold us in contempt. Her adoring followers just encourage her; “Oh look aren’t Joanne’s sneering put downs ever so clever, isn’t it wonderful how she holds half of the Scottish population in utter contempt!”

It’s all a bit sad really.

92. heedtracker

Oops that Lab poll quote’s from here, archive.today wont work at my work.

http://www.newstatesman.com/politics/uk/2016/02/polls-spell-doom-labour-do-jeremy-corbyn-or-his-opponents-have-plan

93. Gary45%

Just watched last night’s “Scotchland 2016” – did anyone else catch it ?
    Professor Drew Scott telling us that if we all vote to leave Europe, that lots of new powers will come back to Scotchland NOT to the UK Government (such as fisheries etc.).
    Desperate to avoid the Scotland “stay” / England (UK) “leave” and IndyRef2 scenario or what ??

As far as the Poor mans Tolkien goes.
    WHO GIVES A FLYING FUCK what she says, McGarry stop apologising, take her on or keep quiet, Scotland needs politicians who should not take any of this kind of shit, especially from hasbeens.

94. Thepnr

@heedtracker

What you saying? You actually work? Well blow me! Just kidding HT 🙂

95. JGedd

I discovered recently that we have only one Harry Potter book in the house, the first in the series I believe, given to my youngest son while at primary school. By the time the film came out, he had lost all interest, having quickly grown out of it and moved on to more complex and sophisticated literature. You might think that JK Rowling’s adult fans could do the same.

(By the way, as a piece of trivial information, following Slavic practice re female names, Ms Rowling is JK Rowlingova in the Czech Republic. Made same son smile when he saw that in a bookshop in Prague.)

96. Sunniva

Why does she never part her lips when she smiles? Does she have rotten teeth or something?

Or is it just to look smug and smarmy?

97. Marcia

HandandShrimp

Don’t tell me she is now singing in the Eurovision Song Contest. If she does I shan’t watch, having watched all contests since 1959. 🙂

98. heedtracker

Thepnr says:
    18 February, 2016 at 7:22 pm
    @heedtracker

What you saying? You actually work? Well blow me! Just kidding HT

I do! I walk behind Severin Carrell telling him, “You are a god Severin,” over and over and over:D

99. Thepnr

@JGedd

Just in case, I thought I might mention that a first edition J.K. Rowling could fetch 20 grand or so if from the 90’s.

Wouldn’t want you throwing that old one in the bin in disgust 🙂

100. Robert Peffers

JKR is just one of the main reasons I don’t bother to use Twitter. I wouldn’t follow the utterly obnoxious woman down a fire escape from a burning building.

101. JGedd

@Thepnr 7.32pm

You mean it’s actually worth something? It was at the bottom of a box since we were having a clearance recently. At least I think it’s still at the bottom of a box…

Wait, stop that bin lorry!

102. ClanDonald

Just clicked on A1’s link (above) to Daisley’s tweet where he and Rowling snigger at Scots who they think hate JK because she’s English.

Good grief, what a pair of arrogant, sneering idiots.

103. Robert Peffers

@gerry parker says: 18 February, 2016 at 5:36 pm

““Writes kids books, I think.”

Wot – like Sarah Ferguson?”

More like Prince Charles I suspect.

104. Thepnr

Against my better judgement but fuck it.

Here’s the Andy and Sarah sketch from Spitting Image.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xujHlWzWW98

Wonder why BBC don’t make shows like this no more 🙁

105. gerry parker

@ Robert.

Was he at the denial of plagiarism thingy too?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Budgie_the_Little_Helicopter

106. Kenlike

Bernstein and Woodward eat you heart out!

Seriously, does modern journalism amount to little more than monitoring social media accounts.

As to the Wicked Queen, the fickle mob loves you – for now.

107. Eckle Fechan

Print all of that out, assemble into large canvas montage, get one painter’s pallet knife, apply fresh dog poo liberally in streaks at random, or spell out a couple of words like, say, “free speech”. When set and dry, fill in your Turner Prize application.

I’m feeling sick just skim reading the above.

108. CmonIndy

I find myself smirking at the front page headlines in the corporate media when waiting in the queue at local shop. I’ve also been seen to shake my head when someone buys a Daily Mail or Record. Pretty soon I will not be able to resist speaking my mind.

109. davidb

@ Thepnr

Em, the BBC never did. It was ITV that made it.

But more interesting is why Susan Calman is now on just about any BBC Radio 4 panel game. Perhaps its pooling and sharing…..

110. HandandShrimp

Thepnr

Think Spitting Image was ITV

111. Dave McEwan Hill

Petra at 4.26
    I do hope those suggesting the flying of the Tricolour to mark the centenary of the Irish Rebellion determine to do so and face down the anti-Irish bigots.

112. ewen

Total spanner, that Rowling, so she is.

113. Thepnr

@davidb

I should have known better. Ach well I’ll admit to my mistakes.

ITV are shite now as well by the way. All the same these broadcasters 🙂

114. Dave McEwan Hill

Sad to hear of the death of Walter McGowan, or “wee Wattie” as we knew him in Burnbank.
    He and his father turned out to support Winnie Ewing and the local SNP in the late 1960s in Hamilton. It was a real big deal to have a world champion at our events in Burnbank Burgh Hall.

115. yesindyref2

Correction to that council thing, 5.2% is the real of 3.5% cash, so taking off the £250 million makes it 1% cash, about 2% real – what Swinney says. Swine. err, me I mean.

116. Valerie

@ Thepnr

Thanks for that episode. Tears in my eyes.

Some of Spitting Image was spookily prescient as well. They really did read the political scene incredibly well.

117. Hoss Mackintosh

Well I suppose another likely consequence of Indy is JK will likely bugger off to Switzerland or some Caribbean Island.

Hmmm – the unforeseen benefits.

118. Proud Cybernat

Dear JK,

Just to be clear. First of all–we don’t hate you. Such a strong word. I think ‘dislike’ is more appropriate. But we don’t disike you because of your nationality. Many of us here love, or, at least, are very fond of the English, having many close relatives and friends from south of the border. How could it be otherwose?

No, JK–you are simply disliked here simply because of your politics. Nothing ore, nothing less. Your immense wealth has the power to subvert the natural progression of the Scottish independence movement.

Scotland is a country. Many of Scots in this country believe with every fibre of their being that the best people to look after and take care of this amaing country are the people who live and work here. Governance from Westminster simply is not working. If you want something done properly, you must know that that can only happen if you do it yourelf. And that is all we desire–to elect our own governments and govern ourselves. We totally do not accept governance by a party that this country of Scotland did not give any mandate to.

So, there you have it, Joanne. It is simply about democracy. And if you try tyo subvert democracy with wealth, then you are no better than the ‘Eastablishment’ that your own books so rail against.

You are presently on the wrong side of this debate, JK. There’s time to change. What you do not weant to be is on the wrong side of history.

And it’s comin’ for a’ that.

119. Grouse Beater

Here’s a lawyer who was happy to defend the power elite: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-4Mt

120. Robert Louis

I have said this before, but there is I think something inherently very sad, about this Joanne Rowling person. To have all that money, yet spend your days girning on a social media platform, supported by 6 million cloying sycophants you have never met, suggests to me that all is not well.

121. Thepnr

@Valerie

Thanks for that, just realised that I linked to the wrong clip. Must have been meant of course 🙂

Here’s the real Andy and Sarah clip.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hwm5Ykx57JI

122. asklair

There was a lawyer who stood up to challenge the power elite, sadly the establishment would not back him up. My all time favorite quotes came from him “two people would be one too many for my party.”

123. Bob Mack

Re Jk,

She marries a Harry Potter lookalike.

She gives him credit for stabilising and mending her troubled life. ( brian or brain spanner).Get it.

She never connects with him under his real name on twitter. Though she is in constant touch with Mr Spanner and everybody else.

They have the same friends and political acquaintances. Her best friend is Sarah Brown of Gordon fame.

Does Neil Murray have an alter ego.?

124. JGedd

Over on his blog just now, Wee Ginger Dug has his take on The Great Writer and her coterie of sycophants, with their pretence that it’s all about anti-Englishness. As usual, well worth a read.

https://weegingerdug.wordpress.com/ ‘Writers of fantasy dressed up as news’

125. scotspine

JK Rowling? Who gives a fuck?

126. Clootie

…enough!

Her ego doesn’t need anymore feeding.

127. stephen

Scotspine @ 9.41pm
    My sentiments exactly.

128. scotspine

Seen a reference to the Easter Rising above.

Was chatting to an Irish chap earlier this week. We were trying to organise a date for something and he commented (with a wry smile) that Easter was out this year, as it was an extra big celebration. When I twigged,I told him to piss off and not rub it in.

Not that I advocate a violent uprising, but I am envious that they had people willing to lay their lives down for their independence,and we have fuckers who still yet are willing to lie and dupe their own people into buying into this so called Union.

So, for all these tractors (who we know read wings), history will remember you..Its indelible.

129. HandandShrimp

“I’ll be battling for Britain. If we can get a good deal I’ll take that deal,” he said. “But I will not take a deal that doesn’t meet what we need. I think it’s much more important to get this right than to do anything in a rush…”

Sounds like Dave has been listening to Nicola. 🙂

130. Andrew

Sorry , off topic but what the fuck !
    BBC Scotland has spent the entire week on puppy stories and why it is not sensible to venture into the Scottish hills in winter, ffs.
    We have a bunch of areholes in Westminster sticking both fingers up at us re our so called devolved settlement yet all Reporting Scotland do is treat us like a bunch of retards ( no offence ment but a true analogy )
    We are hearing how big a battle the pork muncher is having in Europe but nothing about how he thinks my country should be treated regarding our so called devolved vow.
    It is so sad that so many people stil slurp up this detritus from our home media, my head is mince can the naw generation not see how royaly and litterly they are being shafted.

131. bugsbunny

Talking about Spitting Image, this is from 1984, and the first 30 seconds are as relevant today as the were over 30 years ago. It’s a pisstake of those old Audio advert where two cars nearly collide, with the Vorsprung Durch Technik saying being replaced with Deutchland Uber Alles.

Stephen.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9dUc-Vd2kok

132. Jim

Stephen Daisley:

‘I wonder what it is about English-born J.K Rowling, who was born in England, that cybernats hate so much.’

‘I wonder what it is about Scottish-born Scot, Muriel Gray, who was conceived in Scotland and born in a Scottish hospital in Scotland, that cybernats hate so much.’

133. Ian Brotherhood

‘Toadies gonna toad’…

or should it be

‘Toads gonna toady’?

Ach, ahm no writer like Jakey, so shut yer gubs an geeza toddy fur ma body.

134. heedtracker

Sounds like Dave has been listening to Nicola.

http://www.socialistsanddemocrats.eu/welcome

Gianni Pittella was on C4 news tonight very briefly but said that EU workers rights needed protecting, when whatever the feck Cammers is trying to get away with in his deal of the UKOK century, was put to him.

That’s what would be insane for Scotland to leave the EU with toryboy England, massive loss of rights and we’re totally at the mercy of UKOK toryboy City spiv London. Its pretty close to fascism right now, with immigration used to pull focus. Social media’s also full of what looks like UKOK toryboy money boosting Brexit. Or maybe its all just another Linton Crosby style coincidence.

Wonder if UKIP and co dare have the same vote tory 2015 giant billboards of Salmond the pickpocket on England’s wallet’s but this time with an immigrant, a Pole or a Syrian, or is it just Scots that can be slandered by toryboy world. “Dont let the immigrants grab your cash,” sort of vote Conservative style campaigning.

135. frogesque

STV Scottish news, first 10 mins and counting talking about Cameron and Europe. I gather we are tone grated to Ruthie afterwards.

And, bang on cue!

136. Thepnr

@heedtracker

Now behave yourself. Your coming all over as some kinda anti Cameron/Tory person. Get a grip man FFS. Your staring to sound all Anti-English!

Save your ire for the paddys/wogs/chinks/poles/pakies/ and all the other non British.

Not that you would ever hear a UKOK politician say such a thing of course.

#Hypocritestheworldover

137. Petra

Does anyone have any idea why Natalie McGarry brought this subject up again … felt the need to apologise again?

138. Onwards

>JGedd

Over on his blog just now, Wee Ginger Dug has his take on The Great Writer and her coterie of sycophants, with their pretence that it’s all about anti-Englishness. As usual, well worth a read.

https://weegingerdug.wordpress.com/ ‘Writers of fantasy dressed up as news’
    —-

Nice piece. It’s amazing how ignorant some otherwise intelligent people can be.

One of the things that really came out of this McGarry incident was the servile, fawning and defensive nature of Rowling’s media friends as they circled the wagons. Truly sickening.

And it was a nicely worded couple of tweets from the MP today. ‘Heavily guarded semi-apology’ is a good way of putting it.

She rightly apologised for using an incorrect screen-grab, but not for the main thrust of her argument: That JK Rowling is supportive of an abusive misogynist internet troll. Turns out this nasty Britnat ‘Brian Spanner’ character was her ‘best friend’ on twitter according to their stats !!

And after all her previous whining about nasty cybernats..
    The legal threats came from lashing out after being made to look like a total hypocrite.

That’s what will be remembered from all this.

139. geeo

I take it Ruth “tank commander” is the new pet on Scottish political programmes ?

Apparently she is going to bang on about the referendum until the SNP shut up about having one.

Ah well….we had a good bash at it i guess….??

Jeezo….stop the bus !!!
    Is that an SNP MP on Question Time ????

Someone gettin sacked for that cock up…!!

140. Col

Why does David Henderson of Scotland 2016 talk to you and I like we are 3 years of age? Come to think of it I don’t think he’s the only one to do it.

141. Robert Peffers

@frogesque says: 18 February, 2016 at 10:40 pm

“STV Scottish news, first 10 mins and counting talking about Cameron and Europe. I gather we are tone grated to Ruthie afterwards.”

Aye! frogesque, I was listening to her. That woman has really got a pure brass neck.

142. Big Joxk

Petra no doubt a lawyer leaning heavily on her hand. Jk knows a lot of big bad lawyers who will sue your ass if she loses face.

Number one trait of a sociopath is thin skin…just saying Jk.

143. Robert Peffers

Petra says: 18 February, 2016 at 10:54 pm:

“Does anyone have any idea why Natalie McGarry brought this subject up again … felt the need to apologise again?”

Yes, Petra, I have. I believe it is called Attempted Extortion under Scot’s law – better known as blackmail.

144. Robert Peffers

@geeo says: 18 February, 2016 at 10:57 pm:

“Apparently she is going to bang on about the referendum until the SNP shut up about having one.”

Poor Ruthie, for as a certain polat explorer once said, “I might be some time”.

145. Marco McGinty

@geeo
    “Is that an SNP MP on Question Time????”

Aye, and he’s just put that arse Dimbleby in his place, regarding his much-loved Salmond-Trump connection lie.

146. Stephen McKenzie

Petra 10:54

“Does anyone have any idea why Natalie McGarry brought this subject up again … felt the need to apologise again”

I guess Natalie has felt she given it a sufficient “cool down” period and as far as she is concerned, after her recent clarification, that is now it. End Of.. Fineto..

I hope she has not considered paying a single penny to Lumino or whatever it’s called, after Rowlings extortion attempts.

It is now up to Rowling to make her move or not. If Rowling doesn’t start any action she has lost face, if she does she will be seen as a bully after an apology has been made.

Either way the damage has been done and Rowling’s reputation has been tarnished and state of mind put into question and no amount of tall trees round her house can hide that.

147. Patrick Roden

“JK Rowling gives the perfect response to the establishment types who are doing everything they can to prevent a genuine investigation into Westminsters child sex abuse scandal”

Nah!, aint gona happen, cos that would mean she really does care about the kind of age groups who buy her books!

148. heedtracker

Thepnr says:
    18 February, 2016 at 10:49 pm
    @heedtracker

Now behave yourself.

UKOK fact time, since the glory days of Major, Blair, Brown and now this current freak show, to what Scotland returned one tory MP, red and blue tories have either blocked vast amounts of EU legislation or diluted them to near worthless. All of it would have had massive improvements on UK working class living standards and quality of life.

Some gets through but clearly, hard core conservative UK wants to get rid of all of the EU regardless of the cost and they are using immigration and refugees to get the red and blue Out vote.

149. Jim

The Unionist cry:

We are Borg; we will add your biological and technological distinctiveness to our own. Your culture will adapt to service us. Resistance is futile.

150. Petra

@ Robert …. I still don’t get it. Has NMcG been forced in some way from behind the scenes to apologise online, publicly, again or did her latest apology relate to a tweet that we’re not aware of? Then again did this just come out of the blue?

…………….

Question Time: Dimbleby brought up the Alex Salmond invited Trump / golf course myth again. John Nicolson put him right and said it had nothing to do with the SNP rather it was Labour.

151. Gfaetheblock

Litigious English based writer attacks litigious Scotland based writer in defence of MP currently suspended from her party due to allegations of theft, who has apologised for her potentially slanderous statements shocker!

Scot gov should get police Scotland to get it’s ineffectual finger out of its arse and either charge or end the investigations against the SNP2.

What is the scotlish establishment trying to hide?

152. Effijy

Who cares about Jackie Rollin’ as she get one vote like you and I no matter how filthy rich she becomes.

With regard to the Cameron EU Pantomime, I think the story is as complicated as one of those old Black and White Wrestling Matches on our TVs.

Old Cammy is supposedly our chumpion fighting the good fight on our behalf, and the nasty foreigners are taking our money and not paying homage to “Great” Britain. (England).

He is taking a beating, it looks like the good guy is down and out, Low and behold, he comes back and against the odds, the bad guy lies down to keep the crowd happy and follow the script.

Cameron wins concessions!

Future EU immigrants will not be given benefits and family allowance will not be sent abroad! Only temporarily-Not!

Of course that will be the media headline.
    The plebs have no need to know, or consider, that all existing foreign welfare remains just as it is already.

Most EU immigrants do come to work and they do take jobs,
    They are not the problem.

I would much rather a united EU worked together to ensure that
    Amazon, Starbucks, Google, Apple, etc, etc, pay up their true level of Tax or they are stopped from trading altogether.

Does anyone think that faced with the prospect of having reduced but still massive profits, that these companies would walk away?
    Does anyone think that if they did walk away, some other entrepreneur wouldn’t set up a company that fills the gap?

We would gather £Billions every year, if these companies and the
    individual £Millionaires paid their Taxes and dues.
    With this money, we can afford proper welfare, a better funded NHS and a wealth of job creating infrastructure projects.

153. Valerie

@Effijy

I think Cameron is the laughing stock of the EU just now. All his lackeys shouting – huge strides, big concessions, fighting like hell – it’s all horseshit.

Al Jazeera and RT are running pieces from spokespersons of other EU countries saying, no deal!

The Emperor has no clothes. Stratford audience on QT whinging about their Borders, their sovereignty, no infrastructure to deal with refugees. I was cringing.

154. Valerie

BTW

Good piece in the Mirror about UK being rubbish for benefits compared to the other EU countries. The whole charade is built on UK being a Benefits paradise, and we have to reduce the attraction.

If it’s in the Mirror, surely the other countries know this league table, and will rightly tell Cameron to feck off?

The whole thing is a huge joke, while he canters around Europe.

155. Tam Jardine

Must say I am baffled by the audience on QT. Everyone can pull together and and get all indignant about Donald Trump. Its a great wheeze for the panel banging on about Trump and the it makes the audience feel a little better about our own politicians.

In the UK there is a real superiority complex- the subtext is very much: Americans are stupid- someone like Trump would never reach the heady heights of government over here. We are much too sophisticated to have the wool pulled over us, or respond to this dog whistle politics.

Amazing- I must be dreaming but for the first 30 minutes the entire debate has been focussed on how half the audience and even an intelligent panellist did not apparently know enough about the EU to cast their vote and the other half are voting to leave purely and simply because of immigration. There is nothing to be proud of in the way England (for it seems to be only England) is conducting this debate.

This is a UK that has an enquiry into the Iraq war we entered into illegally 13 years ago which is currently residing in a patch of very long grass while our guilty former PM swans about the world feathering his nest.

This is a UK happy to be controlled by 3 old Bullingdon boys and a cabinet filled with multi millionaires hellbent on transferring as much money from the general public into the coffers of the elite. Desperate to dupe and destroy the working poor, and humiliate and punish the unemployed.

This is a UK whose whose current prime minister is a national joke and whose next PM will either be Osborne or Boris. Our parliament protects paedophiles and attacks the most vulnerable members of society.

So it is all very well and very British to take the piss out of Donald Trump and by extension the American public but 57% of Stratford voted for a tory MP and UKIP pushed labour into 3rd so you’ve absolutely nothing to get all superior about.

The UK needs to sort itself out before it starts telling the Americans how to do politics. For if that discussion conducted between people who resemble audience participants at a Derren Brown gig is anything to go by- they may as well delegate the decision on the EU ref to a panel of media moguls and key players in the city of london.

156. Ian Brotherhood

Too many good comments tonight, but well said Effijy and Valerie.

Quite curious to see QT. No doubt the highlights will appear here in due course.

Aye, it’ll be sweet to see the Pig-Botherer General finally disappearing beneath a tsunami of Euroballs – Big Bojo will be there at the ready to shove him under if he doth protest too much.

He’s trying to make it another ‘Battle of Britain’? ‘Eh, well, actually, naw. Ye’re on yer tod. Ya fanny.’

*STOP PRESS* Mandelson’s just been on Radio North Britain At Midnight, praising Cameron to the, aherm, hilt. So that’s it then – he’s definitely fucked!

157. Thepnr

@Valerie

Sadly, your right it is a big joke. Who’s laughing though? Certainly not me, in a way I’m almost terrified. if the Tollies take us out of the EU what then?

No more Human Rights Act, no more EU Employment Directive.

We’re doomed, doomed I tell ya!

But who knows. This may just be the spark that lights the paper under the ignorants arse. It will be what it is.

I’m ready for it, in fact eager for it. Just another step on the road to Independence.

158. Robert Peffers

@Petra says: 18 February, 2016 at 11:31 pm:

” … I still don’t get it…”

Now I may well be wrong, but what I took from the apology was that it was a rather backhanded swipe at JayKay.

After all what Rowling claimed to be upset about was not about the screen grab that McGarry is apologising for.

Another thing is that it rubs JayKay’s nose in it that her best friend on Twitter is, arguably, now the best known abusive tweeter, at least in the UK.

Mind you JayKay herself is well on the way to taking that title from the Spanner, whoever he/she may be.

159. Dr Jim

The voters of Scotland have rejected Tory rule and policy for a very long time but this doesn’t seem to stop Kim Jong Davidson trying constantly to tell us we are all wrong and how she’s standing up for us all whether we like it or not

So why should the FM reject the idea of the offer, (not the Imposition) of Independence which the Nation may or may not want

The only one here who’s attempting to impose any policies or her will at all is Kim Jong not the SNP or Nicola Sturgeon (praise her name)

Kim Jong Davidson is a self centred typical Tory who knows what’s best, and even if she’s wrong, we certainly aren’t smart enough to be right, or given the choice

You’ll have no doubt noticed how much of a big deal she made out of the EU referendum not being the same as Scotlands self determination, except Fat Boy Cameron was the one shouting at everybody about how he was the only one who could offer the people of the UK a choice on the EU

So how come it’s OK for the English UK of Great Britain to vote on something but not the Scottish UK of Great Britain

Kim Jong Davidson really needs to get her story straight

Come to think of it there’s another couple of bits of the UK of Great Britain isn’t there, but I just can’t remember who they are again, anyway you never hear from them, wonder why not

I’ll away and iron my Kilt

160. Tam Jardine

Thepnr

I am sure it will be the trigger for independence mate… just you wait and see. The planets are beginning to align with the great work Swinney has been doing on painting the treasury into a corner with fiscal framework. The vow, once thought to be the great unionist play has turned into a stick to beat them with.

One thing I have yet to hear is anyone asking or demanding repeatedly of the No side that they rule out another EU referendum for a generation if they lose. I suspect that convention starts and ends with the SNP.

161. Thepnr

@Tam Jardine

Tam for your own good you really need to stop thinking like that. I mean some people might think your talking sense and then even start to ask you questions?

Tam, you don’t need that mate not with they wee bairns an ah. Fuck what’s the world coming too when people start questioning how it operates.

Take my word for it Tam, stay away from there, you don’t want a knock on yer door do yeh?. Nah, thought not, you just look after yer bairns right and forget all this politics shite.

All you doing is educating the great unwashed and you must know for sure. That’s the last fucking thing we want is for the great unwashed to become knowledgeable.

If you know what’s good for you, stop posting on Wings, have a wee glass of wine, give the missus a cuddle.

Just don’t tell people how to think for themselves. Got it 🙂

162. Robert Peffers

@Gfaetheblock says: 18 February, 2016 at 11:33 pm:

” … Scot gov should get police Scotland to get it’s ineffectual finger out of its arse and either charge or end the investigations against the SNP2.”

Why ever would they? First of all the police only investigate and prevent criminal acts. They do not decide who gets prosecuted.

That is the job of the Procurators Fiscal. Either the police have submitted a report and the Procurators Fiscal have binned it or the matter is still being investigated. However, several statements have been made that there are no suggestions of criminality by the two political figures.

The only legal actions that have been taken were against the lawyer. He who was struck off and, to the best of my knowledge, he hasn’t charged with anything illegal. It was the Scottish Law Society that took action against him and that was for professional misconduct – not for criminality.

” … What is the scotlish establishment trying to hide?”

Far as I can tell – nothing. No one has been charged with doing anything illegal as yet. The whole matter is only being aired by the Unionists and the Scottish media in what has become their normal modus operadi, i.e. acting like Chimpanzees throwing shite at innocent bystanders.

163. Still Positive.

The pnr @12.08,

Our FM said on Monday night in Clydebank Town Hall that how much worse would a Tory government be unfettered by withdrawal from Europe? It is bad enough now while still fettered to Europe.

Cameron is a joke and I am pretty certain most of the leaders of Europe hate him. Merkel’s speech to the German parliament saying she wanted the UK to remain is more to do with the size of economies than anything else.

Cameron was using the same arguments about getting a good deal from Europe as the Scottish Government is about getting a good deal from the UK.

164. Tam Jardine

Dr Jim

I have to take issue with you’re likening Ruth Davidson to Kim Jong Un. Although I am gravely upset over the human rights record in North Korea and wish that it would give up its nuclear weapons programme, I don’t remember Kim Jong Un campaigning against the independence of our country. In fact, if I recall he was one of the very few heads of state to come out publicly in favour of Scottish Independence on a number of occassions.

You slander a yes sympathiser with that comparison sir. I also note that North Korea, despite enduring sanctions, famine, floods, typhoons and droughts over the last 65 years still managed a population growth rate some 76 times that of Scotland despite us being all Better Together.

165. Tam Jardine

Thepnr

Aye- got it mate. Now. When is that bake off thing starting back up? And whats the jackpot on Friday’s euromillions? I could just zone out for a decade or 2.

166. Thepnr

@Tam Jardine

I can’t undo the fact I know you and respect you. My last post didn’t mean to make it personal, I’m sure you know I just wanted to make a point. I hope you laughed.

167. Tam Jardine

Thepnr

Indeed- a good point well made brother. Will catch up with you sometime soon I hope.

168. Toby

Re. Robert Peffers @ 1234am and the SNP2.
    Police Scotland could easily answer any FOI by saying ” Enquiries are ongoing and are sub judice” or ” A report has been made to the P.F/Crown Office and is sub judice” or ” We await instruction from the Crown Office” or ” There are no current enquiries being made in relation to these media allegations”.
    It is not difficult to respond accurately without compromising the integrity of the Police Service or providing any detail.
    I can understand why the Police Service might not want to provide information to a journalist, but surely the solicitors of the suspended M.P’s must have been able to ascertain whether their clients are currently the subjects of a criminal investigation.
    Technically the police do not ‘charge’ anyone. All prosecutions are at the instance of the PF/CrownOffice.

169. Robert Peffers

@Tam Jardine says: 19 February, 2016 at 12:01 am:

” … In the UK there is a real superiority complex- the subtext is very much: Americans are stupid- someone like Trump would never reach the heady heights of government over here.”

I had to laugh at that, Tam.

Here’s a wee potted history of a UK Political hecht heid ane.

Osborne is the eldest son of Sir Peter Osborne and heir to two ancient Irish Baronitsies. His father was co-founded the firm of fabric and wallpapers designers Osborne & Little. Which made him a fortune. His mother is Felicity Alexandra Loxton-Peacock, the daughter of artist Clarisse Loxton-Peacock.

Osborne was educated at independent schools: Norland Place School, Colet Court and St Paul’s School. In 1990 he was awarded a demyship at Magdalen College, Oxford, (A demyship is a form of scholarship at Magdalen College, Oxford). In 1993 he received a 2:1 bachelor’s degree in Modern History and was a member of the Bullingdon Club. He also attended Davidson College in North Carolina for a semester as a Dean Rusk Scholar.

He edited his House magazine at Oxford and, In 1993, intended to become a journalist He was shortlisted for, but failed to gain, a place on The Times trainee scheme, and instead did freelance work on the Peterborough diary column of The Daily Telegraph.

He then got a job taking telephone messages in the London NHS and entering the data of recently dead Londoners at an NHS Computer terminal.

Thinking to better himself he got a job in a well known London Department store where he re-hung towels, ties and other items displaced by customers.

Then it was off to Tory Party Head office to become a researcher until they could find him a nice safe Tory seat to contest., “And now he is the leader of the Queen’s Treasuree”, (apology to Gilbert and some other man.

A guy with a degree in, “Modern History”, (mow there is an oxymoron), and utterly nothing by way of experience in finance or accountancy is put in charge of the finances of the United Kingdom.

At least Trump actually made his own fortune – Ossie inherited his.

170. call me dave

Anger as secret papers show Thatcher’s cabinet ruled out public inquiry within hours of Lockerbie bombing

https://archive.is/PAMXI

Thatcher refused ‘demeaning’ request to seek sponsors for Edinburgh’s Commonwealth Games

https://archive.is/FaaQM

171. Thepnr

@call me dave

Unfortunately I can’t post on the Herald, blocked you see despite their fight for free speech and all that.

Anyway all I wanted to say was Thatcher was a cow.

172. Smallaxe

@ Thepnr

Now a dead cow,thankfully :-).

173. yesindyref2

That’s strange, not an article in sight on the Herald about the last ditch Swinney Hand talks, just one about Cameron.

Oh I get it, Cameron’s hogging the “English Breakfast” again.

174. Punklin

Missed much of this cos was out in the cold dark phishing rain for SNP x2. Also cos don’t follow Twitter.

I like JK Rowling’s books. Harry Potter series, all 7 of them helped my kids to read good quality children’s literature. I also enjoyed her later Galbraith stuff.

I think she’s a very bright woman who struggled to make it. Insofar as I understand tweets many of her comments seem smart put-downs of bigots and bullies of business and religious worlds.

I disagree with her politics. Her support for new labour and better together seem uncharacteristically ill-thought through. I was disappointed at her million pond donation to no campaign. Her wealth doesn’t seem to have helped her humanity.

I don’t think the Twitter spat with Ms McGarry matters much to most people. Perhaps It would have been better for the MP to have body swerved it but maybe that’s tweeting for you.
    Sorry to say but I find a lot of the comments here vindictive and unhelpful. Not why I and so many others are fighting for Indy.

175. jdman

Hoss Mackintosh
    “Hmmm – the unforeseen benefits.”

Eh, you could be onto something there Hoss, maybe Moan’ll f**k off to a Carribean Island as well, and some gossip magazine like eh “Get A life” will get some telephoto shots of her sunbathing topless!
    Noo that WID be braw! 🙂

176. jdman

Punklin
    “Sorry to say but I find a lot of the comments here vindictive and unhelpful. Not why I and so many others are fighting for Indy.”

Unpucker your face there pilgrim,
    people say what they think here
    doesn’t always suit everybody but hey that’s freedom of speech for you,
    whatcha gonna do eh?

177. Smallaxe

jdman

unpucker your face! Classic 🙂

178. Lenny Hartley

Robert Peffers @ 1.32

Trump did not make his own fortune, in fact if he had put the money he inherited into
    Stocks and share and sat back and did nothing he would be several times richer than he is now..

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/wonk/wp/2015/09/03/if-donald-trump-followed-this-really-basic-advice-hed-be-a-lot-richer/

179. HaggisHunter

Daisley and Rowling don’t mention their Hitler saluting anti-Scottish friends, who are in fact very real, unlike their fantasy of English hating CyberNats

180. Nana

O/T links

Swinney-in-crunch-talks-as-fiscal-deal-deadline-looms
    http://archive.is/EV6zE

Oban N. & Lorn (Argyll & Bute) vote result: SNP: 1113 CON: 609 IND: 608 GRN: 300
    The pretendy independent was a slabber

http://linkis.com/www.commonspace.scot/akZRX

http://www.thecanary.co/2016/02/18/veteran-bbc-journalist-slams-broadcasters-bias-junior-doctors-strike-much/

181. Giving Goose

Re Punklin

Yes, Jakey assisted some children to read.

However, considering that 1 in 5 Scottish children live in poverty, then by supporting Better Together and the Labour Party, Jakey put her considerable clout behind the concept of continuing child poverty.

There are no solutions to defeating Child Poverty by being a member of the UK.

Scotland can only defeat Child Poverty by Independence.

Jakey’s support for Better Together and Labour sends out a message that Scottish Children mired in poverty is a price worth paying for the Union.

Nice person that Jakey!

182. Almannysbunnet

Jakey is horrified to find that she can’t turn back time. All these fresh faced young SNP MPs must be driving the bitter old crone mad. No amount of money can change her bitter gurning phizog as it slowly morphs. She has seen her future and it is Curranesque.

There is still time for her to grow old gracefully but it’s running out fast.
    See, I can be a bitch too.
    http://www.everypoet.net/poetry/blogs/jewelphoenix/i_can_be_bitch_too

183. jdman

Amannysbunnet
    “She has seen her future and it is Curranesque.”

Whoa there’s a line and you crossed it buddy,
    your so far over the line the line is a dot to you,

no thats it, I cant…….
    WOHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

184. Almannysbunnet

I see Scots Gaelic has just been added to google translate. Handy.

185. Robert Kerr

@Almannysbunnet.

Hat doffed Sir!

But surely the photographs on the tweets advertise the excellence of Photoshop. The best touch-up Money can buy! (Oops not a double entendre)

186. gus1940

test

187. BJ

Thepnr says:

She’s dead. Rejoice

188. Dr Jim

@Punklin

You’re defending a woman you admit you don’t know, you don’t do Twitter so have no idea what she says or who she says it too, you say you and many others are fighting for Independence yet you seem unaware the very people you are fighting are people like Jakey who is a major donor to a political cause which says Scotland is not a country but a region of England

EVEL means the UK Parliament is now the English Parliament an invention to exclude Scotlands representatives

It’s not that Jakey herself is the issue it’s the Unionist press’s attention to her which allows her to behave and get away with the bad behaviour you are unaware of yet defend

I don’t know what your reasons are for wanting Independence but I’d like to point out to you this particular woman and her circle of magic friends would move heaven and earth to stop you, by any and all means, and do it unpleasantly

You have the power to knock a door, she buys people, and bullies and threatens them with legal action if they don’t respect her (unfair advantage?)

189. Robert Peffers

I wrote this last night but my keyboard packed in and I couldn’t post it until today. These are the actual known facts about the Michelle Thompson alligations. These are not yet, (as inferred by the usual suspects), “a case”.

I had fully intended to follow up with the actual known facts of the Natalie McGarry matter but my keyboard decided I could not do so.

Frank Mulholland, the Lord Advocate, told MSPs at the Scottish Parliament that officers would “follow the evidence” and that the issue of broadening the inquiry beyond the lawyer who acted for the SNP MP was “highly relevant”.

A Tory backbench MP, Andrew Bridgen, wrote to Kathryn Hudson, the Parliamentary Commissioner for Standards, requesting she should investigate if Mrs Thomson broke parliamentary rules over her property dealings.

Totally stupid action by an English Tory who obviously lacks the mental capacity to think things through. The Propert Dealings by Thompson were done before she became an MP so cannot have broken Parliamentary rules.

Mr Mulholland also said a thorough investigation about allegations of mortgage fraud against Christopher Hales, the struck off lawyer, who was acting for Mrs Thomson in her property deals before she became an MP was in progress. I cannot find a report he has been charged as yet.

Note that Mr Mulholland has made no connection between Mrs Thompson’s property deals and whatever the struck off lawyer Christopher Hales was struck off for. The Scottish Law Society struck Hales off for professional misconduct and we do not yet know if this misconduct broke any laws.

Note also that The Lord Advocate did not name Mrs Thompson but, in response to a question by Conservative MSP, Murdo Fraser, that Police Scotland had a duty to investigate anyone suspected of criminality, The Lord Advocate said the Police have already stated that Mrs Thomson is not part of the current investigation.

Mr Mulholland made it very clear the inquiry was about Mr Hales, who was struck off after a disciplinary tribunal, and added, “Police Scotland have a duty in any criminal investigation to follow the evidence and where that takes them. “So, if during a police investigation evidence arises that other persons have been involved in criminality and fraud, or whatever crime the police have uncovered evidence of, then Police Scotland, I have complete faith in them, they will act and do the right thing as will the Crown.”

So where are the accusations coming from that Mrs Thompson is somehow involved? Not from Police Scotland, The Law Society or from the Procurators Fiscal?

They come from such as Tory MSP, Mudro Mr Fraser who wrote to Lorna Jack, chief executive of the Law Society of Scotland, expressing concern that it took a year to provide full details to the Crown Office and called on her to explain the delay.

Scottish Labour also claim the Law Society was under pressure after the Lord Advocate “inferred” it was the source of a delay in the police becoming involved.

While Jackie Baillie, The Labour Party’s public services spokesman, said: “We need an immediate inquiry into the communication between the Law Society and the Crown Office about this case, given the opportunities there were for further alleged fraud against vulnerable families during the delay. “It took a year after the lawyer was struck off for the Law Society to properly inform the Crown Office, but just six days for the Crown Office to order a Police Scotland investigation. Something doesn’t add up.

Aamer Anwar, Mrs Thomson’s solicitor, said: “We have advised Mrs Thomson that it would be inappropriate to comment on such matters and you will appreciate that she has already volunteered to assist Police Scotland with their investigation, despite no requirement to do so. Michelle Thomson maintains that she has always acted within the law.”

So there you go – The Law Society has said nothing about Mrs Thompson. Police Scotland says nothing against her and there are no indications the Procurators Fiscal or Crown Office accuse, or are investigating, Mrs Thompson.

190. BJ

Sorry, I was answering Thepnr@2:07am

191. call me dave

@Nana:
    Saw the result to elect Julie McKenzie SNP.

Was up there just a week ago and woke up one morning to see hundreds of SNP posters had appeared overnight on the lamposts.

Most impressive job, so well done all the SNP campaigners.

PS:
    Ruthie attacks Kezia as she eyes up 2nd spot…Aye right!

https://archive.is/hVkiu

Article too, suggesting 7 seats for the UKIP at…7%

Shurley schome mishtake? I hope ‘Scot goes Pop’ is correct.

192. Luigi

RE: The Oban N. & Lorn result:

The ex(?)slabber standing as an “independent” is a bit concerning. IMO the 2017 council elections will be crucial and if large numbers of slabbers start hiding under the “independent” cloak, then we could end up with a number of useless, unionist controlled councils in Scotland. Of course, the tories have been at this game for years, but slabbers posing as “independents” would be a worrying development.

We need to keep a close eye on this in the lead up to the 2017 elections. If the yoons cannot get elected openly, they will have no hesitation in trying the back door.

Watch em carefully.

193. Scott Borthwick

@Robert Peffers. Many thanks for the ‘modern history’ of the Osborne family.

I’m not sure I agree with the statement ‘At least Trump actually made his own fortune’. He inherited a large sum from his US government-backed slum landlord father Fred. He would also have been destitute in the early 1990s if he hadn’t been bailed out by the banks and US government who conspired to keep his head above water until he could list his company on the stock market.

Despite this, Trump claims he is a self-made man, and he never received assistance or a leg up from anyone.

194. Fergus Green

@ Call me Dave

A big thank you for all the links you post here. I don’t know how you have the stomach for trawling through the Herald and Scotsman, but I suppose someone has to do it on our behalf.

I salute you, my friend.

195. Bob Mack

@Punklin.

Sorry,but I have to agree with the others. This woman JK.deleberately tried to publicly threaten one of our MP’S. Why? The answer is she saw an opportunity to discredit Ms McGarry,and took it.

JK accepts much worse from her friends on twitter without raising an eyebrow. She has backed heavily,the side that would deny people the right of self determination,by donating a million pounds,and probably more to that end.

Whether she is a good writer I leave up to you,but politically she is my mortal enemy.

196. Dorothy Devine

Anyone seen the cartoon in the Independent?

Looks like there is a Dave Spanner as well as a Brian Spanner.

Both are untrustworthy.

197. galamcennalath

Back to the main theme of JKR.

Look at it all laterally. JKR has, somehow, managed to put together one of the most awesome public relations machines on the planet. No matter what, her brand seems untarnishible. Teflon coated for sure.

198. orri

Perhaps it’s wise to separate JK the writer from JK the person. Just as you might plausibly separate her praise for “Spanner” in raising money for her charity from her obvious knowledge of his online trolling activities.

As to her writing, I’ll confess that I actually enjoyed Harry Potter. There are some fundamental questions about the background to the books that don’t quite make it onto the screen. For a start there’s the whole question of slavery in regards to House Elves. The whole thing comes of very Blytonesque.

All this is is the typical celeb worship where being passably good in one area suddenly means your opinion counts in others. OK so some here genuinely didn’t like the books. That’s fine. I did. Still loath the woman behind them and won’t be reading anything else she comes out with.

199. Dorothy Devine

And there is another load of ordure from the young preppy , Torrance in the same online publication.

With the usual ignorant comments from twits inc.

200. chris kilby

JK Rowling Cures Cancer.

201. Fred

@ Robert Peffers, thanks for the Thompson info’ pal.

202. Grouse Beater

Were No voters cowardly? Define ‘coward’: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-4cr

203. Robert Peffers

@Punklin says: 19 February, 2016 at 5:24 am:

“I like JK Rowling’s books. Harry Potter series, all 7 of them helped my kids to read good quality children’s literature. I also enjoyed her later Galbraith stuff.”

That, Punklon, is your prerogative and a matter of taste. Personally I believe the woman to be a plagiarist and rather bitter and twisted – but that too is a matter of taste and my prerogative.

“I think she’s a very bright woman who struggled to make it.

Depends upon your standards of brightness and whether she did actually struggle to make it. I take it she is neither very bright nor was forced to struggle. She comes from a fairly well off family and chose to come to Edinburgh and, “struggle”. Perhaps much of the, “Struggling”, was down to creating a public image in order to sell books to kiddies.

“Insofar as I understand tweets many of her comments seem smart put-downs of bigots and bullies of business and religious worlds.”

Whoa! There!, Punklin. First of all a, “Put Down”, is made in response to someone else’s comments but Rowling is mostly the instigator in such matters and that means she is the attacker . The woman has made some rather bigoted and bullying tweets, has a long record of taking court actions against others where her wealth precludes the other person defending themselves, and is best friends with some of the most notorious, abusive, racist, misogynist posters on twitter.

“I don’t think the Twitter spat with Ms McGarry matters much to most people”

Clearly, by the reports in the media, it has mattered to lots of people and not just tweeters.

Sorry to say but I find a lot of the comments here vindictive and unhelpful.”

Strange then that you seem to greatly admire the author of childish fantasy fiction why has posted some of the most offensive anti-Scottish insults on Twitter and is best friends on that medium with the most abusive tweeter of them all.

204. Taranaich

J.K. Rowling is a close personal friend to Alistair Darling and Gordon Brown. She donated £1 million to Labour when Brown became Prime Minister, and wrote a foreword to a book of Brown’s greatest speeches. She donated £1 million to Better Together, which was run by her good friend Alistair Darling. She has spoken out against Israel product boycotts, which will surely please a great number of Labour’s affiliates in the Henry Jackson Society and Labour Friends of Israel. She called the IFS and “Scotland’s Choice” (written by Jim Gallacher, Iain McLean and Guy Bridges) “independent” and “impartial” in her supposedly open-minded statement on independence.

Of course, nobody seems to care about these connections when they make pronouncements on her heroic put-downs of independence, the SNP, or pro-independence individuals – not even the Tory press. They’re all one.

I’m sick of her. I’m sick of them.

205. Andrew McLean

Maybe she is ill, I think she is.

Therefor to be pitied not spited.

Such a mountain of limited ability, squandered.

Every time I hear her or read her drivel I am reminded of this song.

Nobody likes me, everybody hates me,
    I think I’ll go eat worms!
    Big fat juicy ones,
    Eensie weensy squeensy ones,
    See how they wiggle and squirm!

206. Iain

The bum papers such as the daily express score another own goal as their anti Scottish headlines inspire me to up my payment to the Snp. They must have no regard to their own future or be funded by the British intelligence services. It must only be a matter of time till they go the way of the independent.

207. Dave Wallace

“To learn who rules over you, simply find out who you are not allowed to criticise” – Voltaire

208. galamcennalath

After IndyRef1, key figures like Darling and Brown had the good sense to make themselves scarce!

No matter how Unionists and WM try to spin the result, it was bought with promises which were never intended to be honoured. I suspect that may become crystal clear very soon.

I doubt very much if Darling and Brown are actually hanging their heads in shame, however leaving the public eye would seem to be an admission that at least keeping their heads down might be a good idea.

Shame other BT saboteurs of democracy haven’t shown the same discretion!

209. Peter McCulloch

I get fed up with articles about JK Rowling.
    As far as I am concerned she gets too much
    publicity.

That’s why I was disappointed in Natalie McGarry’s engagement online about Rowling’s twitter friend.

It is best to starve her of the oxygen of publicity by ignoring her, also I have never read any her trashy books nor watched any of the films that were made of them.

210. Conan the Librarian™

OT

A severed foot has been found in a Bath park.

“Horrific remains found near vile cybernat’s address”

211. DerekM

@ Punklin

Punklin this has nothing to do with harry potter books this is about politics,JK has made her political bed now she has to lie in it if she didnt want this then she should have kept her nose out of politics.

I do wonder why celebrities get involved surely their advisors would caution them about entering the world of politics,as a celebrity you already have the celeb nutters following you about why they would encourage the most dangerous of people the political nutter to do the same is beyond me,bad advice imo.

212. Graham MacLure

Andrew McLean 10:38.

Or “Mair tae be pitied than scolded”?

213. Breeks

@ Robert Peffers…

This is Scotland. Known facts and actual justice are different points on the map.
    Our courts are preoccupied with matters of expediency and protocol and quite happy to forfeit justice in lieu of either. Our Courts are the proverbial scorpion who would happily sting you in the back mid channel.

Beneath the Law Courts, we have the quasi-judicial process of regulators, ombudsmen and watchdogs which is nothing but a placebo designed to fool the unwary into believing their grievance will be duly considered and properly set against a yardstick of diligent conduct. The system is thoroughly corrupt and typically infiltrated from root to tip by placemen sympathetic to the agency being regulated. They won’t be shamed when they pass their judgement, but you will be.

Overriding both, we have not one but two parliaments of MP’s empowered to change laws which are unfair or dysfunctional. Our champions eh? The voice of the people. Pass me a bucket.

Sadly, I know from repeated contact with all three, that having a legitimate grievance backed by known facts is absolutely no guarantee of justice.

The only course left open for me to seek redress for my various grievances is to seek the empeachment of those MP’s who have abdicated their responsibilities to address my grievances, and yet doing so requires a complaint to a standards ombudsman appointed by the body I hold in such contempt. I know the outcome before I even start, and its no accident the chain of chinese whispers now seems so long and convoluted from the simple act of justice I once sought so very long ago.

Where can I go for justice? The Press? Don’t make me laugh. Scotland has no Press. Our press industry is the living embodiment of life in the Union, where a vital Scottish industry is quietly usurped and dismantled in stealth to be replaced by a utopia for enemy propagandists who can say what they like with impunity. Scotland loses to make the Union stronger. No change there then…

I am personally left to suffer the layers of corruption and injustice heaped upon me and my business, trapped in stasis with a wagonload of known facts which are utterly meaningless. Worse still, I see the gormless faces of MSP’s who should have come to my defence openly cavorting with the very organisations I know to be corrupt and untouchable. Corrupt or gullible? I know not which, but I certainly have nobody left to appeal to.

I am no longer moved to outrage. Not any more. I realise it is a difficult ask to ask someone to take a stand against something that is rotten and corrupt when it is so much easier to look the other way, but I find it a lonely place to be. I am resigned to it now. But I am also changed by it all. When Scotland puts forth Ministers of the calibre of Fergus Ewing, Paul Wheelhouse, and yes even John Swinney, (aye, j’accuse the lot of you), and expects them to stand up for Scotland’s interests, I don’t question their loyalty to Scotland, but their caliber. They were each bowled asunder by my mundane little problems, problems backed as they were by known facts and truth.

Despite knowing how rotten our media are, our press and media have no fear of these men; much the same way as these men could set justice to one side through having no fear of me. It’s all about being untouchable rather than justice.

I have the greatest fear that Westminster, and I mean the real power of Westminster – not the puppet show that makes the headlines, will take the SNP apart like a schoolboy pulling the legs off a spider.

There are elections in less than three months, and the Unionist TV monster is already licking its lips. It believes it has nothing to fear. I am beginning to fear it might be right.

Known facts? Tsk. The only thing I have learned these past ten years or so is just how gullible I was ten years ago, to believe that truth and justice would prevail in the long run. Cue the Gerard Butler quip from 300 film – This…is…Scotland… just before you are kicked into the pit.

214. Dr Ew

She turned me into a toad…

215. Sinky

Great gain for SNP in yesterday’s Oban council by election.

SNP 42.3% (+11.5)
    Conservatives 23.2% (+14.1)
    Independent 23.1% (n/a)
    Greens 11.4% (n/a)

Labour couldn’t even find anyone to stand.

216. Dr Ew

…I got better.

217. orri

This has everything to do with both her books and the films made from them. They are what put her in the public eye and lend credibility to her bullshit pronouncements. If they aren’t to your own personal taste then fine. However stating that they are rubbish simply because their author is acting like a bully undermines your credibility.
    That credibility is what matters as it colours what else you go on to say. JK Rolling is demonstrably someone who condemns the behaviour of what seem to be nationalist trolls whilst at the same time being publicly friendly with what seems to be a unionist troll. What does surprise me is that Warner Brothers, who I’m sure have an interest in all this, aren’t getting involved to tell her to cool it just in case it has an impact on the sales of her new books. Certainly there seems to be a lot of damage limitation going on based on her attempts to shut people down.

218. Bob Mack

@Breeks.

Surely you realise that a major part of what we are fighting to achieve is a different way of doing things.

Many years ago myself and my wife took a case to court which lasted on and off for several months. No lawyer would touch the case because they all told us that precedent was quite emphatic on the issue and we would lose. We were up against not only several individuals,but also the State.

We won.

Law is not always about the obvious. It does however follow accepted principles. If you undermine those, then you can win.Keep your chin up.

219. Robert Peffers

@Andrew McLean says: 19 February, 2016 at 10:38 am

“Nobody likes me, everybody hates me,
    I think I’ll go eat worms!
    Big fat juicy ones,
    Eensie weensy squeensy ones,
    See how they wiggle and squirm!

Ye missed oot the second verse, Andrew.

I’ll bite aff the heids.
    An sook out the juice,
    An throw the skins away.
    A’body wunners hoo a live
    Oan wurms three times a day.

Wonderful! I haven’t heard that one for at least 35 years.

220. Vambomarbeleye

What is it with the initials JR!
    Just finished watching Outlander on the Droid box. In the final scene herself was fairly shouting at the tv. Thought I was going to have to put chicken wire over it. I made sure my broadsword was well hidden before bed as she tends to dream in technicolor.
    I can see why it wasent shown before the vote.
    If you haven’t watched it then do. You can also get it in the Amason box and stick thing. I also believe it’s out on DVD. Plus there is all the books.
    So if there is birthdays etc coming up. There you go especially if they were no voters.

221. Robert Peffers

@Breeks says: 19 February, 2016 at 11:23 am:

“This is Scotland. Known facts and actual justice are different points on the map.
    Our courts are preoccupied with matters of expediency and protocol and quite happy to forfeit justice in lieu of either. Our Courts are the proverbial scorpion who would happily sting you in the back mid channel.”

While I appreciate your sentiments, Breeks, and endorse them to some degree, I must point out there are great differences between criminal law, and civil law, (and that includes property laws).

222. Anagach

Dr Ew says:
    She turned me into a toad…

Lucky she did not turn you into a Troll, we are still waiting for BrianSpanner1 to get better.

223. Jack Murphy

Thanks for the links Nana at 8:02 am,particularly this one from The Canary:-
    http://www.thecanary.co/2016/02/18/veteran-bbc-journalist-slams-broadcasters-bias-junior-doctors-strike-much/

“Meirion Jones is an award–winning investigative journalist and a veteran of the BBC. He worked on the Today programme, World at One and PM before becoming head of investigations for Newsnight.
    A year after leaving the organisation, Jones has spoken out about BBC bias, slamming the organisation’s coverage of the junior doctors’ strikes – and much more besides.”!!

“This pro-government BBC bias, he suggests, has been particularly clear in the coverage of the junior doctors’ strikes:

Newsnight, to its credit, ran a MORI poll showing 66% public in favour, 18% against.
    But on the day of the action Today [BBC Radio 4] trawled for anti-strike patients, and the BBC News at Ten ran two negative voices from ordinary people, and no-one in favour.” [!!!]

Almost sounds as if it could be the BBC in Scotland. 🙁

224. Nana

@Jack Murphy

Here’s where I first read the Merrion article. The canary link reminded me of it

http://politicalscrapbook.net/2016/02/former-investigations-chief-slams-bbc-for-pro-government-bias

and here’s another

http://gijn.org/2016/02/15/how-the-bbc-abandoned-investigative-reporting/

225. The Rough Bounds.

Jings! This, a’ this stuff aboot that wummin is awfy boring. Hoo can we no jist ignore it?

226. Robert Peffers

@Anagach says: 19 February, 2016 at 12:01 pm:

“Lucky she did not turn you into a Troll, we are still waiting for BrianSpanner1 to get better.”

You know, Anagach, when the JKR story first broke I posted that Spanner could well be JayKay herself and one of her tweets could well have been an admission by her that she was.

I was promptly, and soundly, lambasted for my troubles by certain well respected Wings ladies.

Now! – if you’ve ever had your lamb basted by certain well respected ladies who regularly comment on Wings, you’d know for sure it ranks with being broken on the wheel, confined to the iron Maiden or telt, “yer tea’s in the dug”.

All fates, so they tell me, far, far worse than death itself.

227. Petra

@ Andrew MacLean at 10:38am …….. ”Maybe she’s I’ll ….. therefore more to be pitied not spited ….”

I think you’re right Andrew. She’s mentioned her miserable teenage years, bullying, having few friends, suffering from anxiety, fears, phobias and OCPD. In her twenties she was diagnosed as being clinically depressed following admissions of being suicidal. In her 30’s, after making millions, she said that she’d reached one of the lowest points in her life. No mention since then of any of the aforementioned but that’s not to say that she is now emotionally / psychologically ‘robust’.

It could be that her ‘twitter friends’, adoration of millions, is filling a void at some level. Knowing that there are people who don’t like her at all, such as many Independence supporters, will upset her or more than likely absolutely enrage her. She, her psyche, won’t accept that this is due to her having a nasty, bullying, attention seeking, manipulative personality so the ‘cover’ is that it’s because she’s English. She then ‘uses’ her media cronies to broadcast the racist hyperbole to appease her narcissistic rage and in doing so creates a very dangerous cabal.

She’s ‘put herself out there’ and if she ever oversteps the mark and clearly shows how obnoxious she is the tables could turn on her with millions ultimately detesting her. Being unpopular and skint are two of her greatest fears. It’s doubtful that she’ll ever lack financially but may find herself being a lonely old woman with many enemies, few friends and never really knowing if they are true friends at all.

Robert is right when he says that she came from a well to do family; not poor at all. And when she left her husband after a year or so of marriage she went to stay with her sister and brother in law in Edinburgh. Her sister a lawyer. Her brother in law owner of a cafe / coffee shop one of which she sat in whilst writing HP. The rags to riches story is just another myth …. fantasy.

If she was an ordinary person one would probably feel heart sorry for her however she’s not. She’s extremely wealthy, powerful and is using her authority and money to bully and intimidate. Worst still using her millions of followers, at the click of a mouse, to attack her opponents. More than anything she’s been using, continues to use, her celebrity position to politically influence the well-being of a Nation. So no I for one don’t pity her at all especially as she has the resources to get much needed help.

228. Proud Cybernat

Listening to Radio 2 Euro debate right now. About 90% of those calling in (all from rUK) are in favour of Brexit. Unbelieveable!

229. David McCann

To paraphrase Oscar Wilde.
    “The unspeakable in pursuit of the unreadable”

230. galamcennalath

Vambomarbeleye says:

“Outlander … DVD …. if there is birthdays etc coming up. There you go especially if they were no voters.”

Aye, any No voters who like this swashbuckling pseudo historical stuff might just be influenced by it!

A lot of them are gullible, this we already know! 🙂

231. Greannach

She really is an odious piece of work.

232. Gary45%

My last ever comment on the poor mans Tolkien.
    We had the complete H. Pothead DVD set.
    When “it” showed its colours at the Indy Ref, we took them into a local charity shop(A Scottish one)so they could make some money from them.
    Tolkien still rocks after all these years.
    SNPx2

233. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Petra:

Your comment at 12.32pm…

A very good analysis, which rings bells.

234. Punklin

Thanks for interesting responses to my earlier comment. Broadly agree with the political points but still think personal nature of attacks counter-productive. Also gotta say canvassing trumps posting every time…

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.