To keep links with the world

Posted on March 19, 2017 by

No 9: Mark, until recently from London.

Previously:

(All clips via the always-excellent Phantom Power Films.)

84 to “To keep links with the world”

1. T.roz

Brilliant, Mark must be involved at a high level in the scotref.

2. Effijy

The First Minute of the Marr Show on EBC announces that Ruth Harrison is the most poplar political leader in the UK????

What out and out F***** nonsense, from the State Propaganda Channel!

Do wonder what crap Kim Jung Un will spout?

Can I have a Tenner on SNP Bad?

Pathetic!

3. Macart

The most popular?

Bwahahahahahahahaha! snfff! Bwahahahahahahahaha!

No, but seriously. He’s seen the images from the Scottish Tory conference, right?

4. Chris

So these are great! I’m an Australian living in the highlands and am also a EU citizen, I find them really encouraging. I was thinking that would it be worth putting a few on prime time tv soon before a referendum is even given a date to start a conversation? Or would that have very little returns. Also, I’m a primary teacher in Inverness if there is anything I can do to help just write. Thanks for all your hard work on this site.

5. Robert Louis

These videos of NO to YES, are inspirational. I personally can no longer fathom the mentality of Westminster and the media that seem determined to play along with it.

It is like the UK is now being run by a brexiteer death cult.

6. Thepnr

Just watched that earlier this morning and thought straight away what another great wee film it was from Phantom Power.

To get these out so quickly and include sections of the FM’s speech is brilliant. These guys are really on the ball.

We though need to use them, they are not for personal gratification to make us feel good about ourselves. So show them to any family or friends as much as you can. We have the info they don’t so share it with them. No to Yes will open many eyes, like the Wee Blue Book these short videos could be our game changer.

A masterstroke but we need to use them. Show just one person today and we may have one more on board. Show ten people and I guarantee we will have five on board.

Please use them as they will be very persuasive. We can win this.

7. Marie Clark

Welcome aboard Mark, pleased to have you with us.

8. Macart

Another great vid and a big welcome to Mark.

9. Brian McHugh

Great video from Mark.

Its a shame the Auto subtitles on this series are frequently inaccurate.

10. Hamish100

Another great video!

On GMS katy Grant again – avowed unionist and ex bbc hack – avowed unionist.

Fairness all around?

I should add that the BBC coverage of the snp conference was probably the worst yet. The actual time set aside was risible , the camera work was as if a trainee was in control panning the audience at hyper speed.

BBC control has set its stall out already

11. DerekM

After all the organised lies and hate campaigns against us it is inspiring when our message reaches beyond our wee but hill and glen.

Welcome to Scotland Mark and thank you for allowing your thoughts to be shared with the people 🙂

12. gordoz

A very warm welcome to Mark and his family interesting take on the failing UK and real possibilities for Scotland to avoid catastrophe.

13. yesindyref2

It’s a very strong message to the rUK “Move to Scotland, bring your family, bring your business”. I’m delighted to see that some great people like Mark don’t bother wating for the invite! Scotland is indeed, not full up. I was delighted to hear Sturgeon use that line.

The only problem is we’re poaching the rUK’s best people …

14. Nana

Liking these videos very much. Welcome to Scotland Mark.

15. rongorongo

We see Mark wondering around the New Town – which is hardly a hotbed of political radicalism. Polls aside for a moment, it really possible to feel the political tectonic plates shift under a country?

I was interested to hear Tory minister Guto Bebb write about this after a visit to the British/Irish council meeting in Edinburgh on March 9th-10th. He said:

“My brief visit to Edinburgh left me somewhat despondent because I felt the same way as I do when I leave Dublin. For me Dublin is somewhere which is recognisable but very different. That is fine in the context of the capital of an independent country but it should be a warning when visiting a city which is a crucial part of the UK. The sense of nationhood in Edinburgh is palpable. For a long time it has been satisfied within the UK. Even in 2014 a majority saw themselves as British and Scottish. Is that changing though? My gut feeling is yes and that should be a cause for regret to all of us.”

I wonder where he went and who he talked to that gave him this idea? The places that give a litmus test to such a feeling is much more the salons of Herriot Row than it is the bars at the foot of Leith Walk. The real test is to listen in exactly the sorts of places where somebody like Guto would like to hang out.

On the eve of the 2014 referendum I remember walking from the street in Newington into the Queens Hall. The streets had been alive with a buzz of people who seemed to be Yes supporters. But in the theatre (to see folk Singer Kate Rusby) there was no buzz. Only a sort of quiet trepidation; a rather older audience looking worried. No voters, basically. That night they were the representatives of the city as a whole.

Last night I was in the Festival Theatre, just down the road. This time it was to see Elvis Costello’s sell out show. It is now about 40 years since Declan McManus started to give the world a collection of songs with seductive melodies but with a clear anti-imperialist, anti-fascist themes in their lyrics. But now he, and all of those who remember that time, are older: here with children and grandchildren; hair greying or not at all. We are in an gilded opera house in a posh part of town. What’s the mood?

Costello banters with the audience between songs – but makes it clear that he is a fan of Scottish Independence and that he is a despiser of May. After a brilliant 2 1/2 hour set he ends with “Stamp the dirt down”. This is a song from back in the 80s that looks forward with delight to the day when Thatcher would be finally dead. He was prompted to revive it after seeing his 90 year old mother wait on a trolley in a corridor to receive hospital treatment. This is not a song that a Conservative supporter – or a unionist – is going to be happy to lend their approval.

So how will the rather older, rather more establishment Edinburgh audience react to this?

There is a very slight pause and then Costello got a standing ovation from everybody.

Tectonic plates, people.

16. alexicon

Ruth says Nicola Sturgeon should look after the wishes of all of Scotland on the Andrew Marr show, while she ignores Scotland voting to stay in the eu and gets behind T. May’s hard brexit.
    Hypocrisy of the highest order.

17. Socrates MacSporran

Just watched Davidson on ‘Andrew Marr’. Now, in the intro Marr possibly told a lie, when he said the Ruthsfuhrer: “was Britain’s most-popular political leader”.

I recalled James Kelly on Scotland Goes Pop running poll results on the popularity of leaders. Nicola came top by one method of calculating, Davidson top on another; however, to my mind, the means by which Nicola came top was arguably the superior measure of “popularity”. So, you could argue, Marr was telling porkies.

Now, the Ruthsfuhrer was, this being the BBC, allowed to spout her lies and misconceptions, but, fair’s fair – she showed the SNP how you deal with BBC interrogators, and the method is this: you-simply-keep-talking-quickly-not-pausing-forbreath-ever-and-you-keep-speaking-until-you-have-made-the-point-you-wish-to-make.

BBC interrogators, with the exception of that Ferguslie Park ruffian Andra Neil, being well-brought-up and civilised chaps, will allow you to have your say. You then ignore their counter-points; again, being well-brought-up and polite, they will, again Neil apart, let you off.

A bit disappointed in Ruth Wishart, I had hoped she might have pulled-up Michael Crick on the absolute shite he spouted in midweek.

18. uno mas

Very clever of Nicola to mention the Rugby Team right at the start of her speech.

There needs to be a rapprochemont between the independence campaign and the rugger buggers.

Also can some one help me out here, my hearing is not so good these days but did Ms Sturgeon compare us independentistas with that tribe of pygmy people who live in the rain forest and hunt for food with bows and poisoned darts?

The Wee Arra People!

Oh Dear…Sigh,

I´ll get my coat shall I?

19. Grouse Beater

Excellent work, an articulate speaker, a cheeky smile, another winner, Phantom. Uplifting each one, the impact doesn’t diminish.

With the greatest of respect, might I suggest a different backing theme to alternate with each new candidate for Yes and avoid conformity and add surprise.

International law does not recognise the construct “once in a generation”. (GB)

Your weekend reading:

The truth about Scotland’s rights: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-eCM
    Four more for Infamous Ledger: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-iY
    A gem of a very funny horror movie: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-eGf

20. yesindyref2

In that one poll Davidson had the highest gap – by 1 – between satisfied and dissatisfied as leader of the Tories.

Sturgeon was 1 less in the gap as FM of Scotland. But her approval rating was a lot higher than Davidson – a lot of people has no opinion about Davidson (probably didn’t know who she was), whereas most people ahd an opinion on Sturgeon.

But there was another poll a week or two later, which gave Sturgeon a bigger gap. What’s it called, something like an approval rating. It is the one though which is most commonly used.

I hope you understand that posting – damned if I do.

21. Ken500

Nicola (pro rata) is the most popular politician in Scotland. Lying useless Marr of the delusion BBC is comparing apples and pears, and trying to get away with it, without qualification. Once again a journalist in common with many politicans can’t count or do maths. Or make relevant comparison or inform accurately. After this performance the Marr/BBC programme just becomes even more unpopular.

Nicola’a ratings in Scotland are 50%+ Davidson’s rating in the UK. Are 20% The majority do know or recognised who she is and care even less. After this poor performance, they will care even less. Same as the support for the Tory Party in the UK. 20% Non Democratiic mandate. The deficit in UK/Westminster politics. Non democratic. Low mandate. The lying BBC at it again. Without qualification. Extremely poor reporting and standards. Breaking journalistic standards and regulations. With impunity and non qualification or censor.

22. fionan

Welcome, Mark and family. I think this has been the best No to Yes story yet. Mark seems very happy with his choice, he has come here to be part of Scotland, and doesn’t have that irritating trait shown by some of his countrymen in assuming he knows best about all things Scottish.

He is an asset to Scotland.

23. Flower of Scotland

Watched this last night. Phantom films are doing a fantastic job. Shared it immediately on Facebook and twitter.

He managed to get a view living on the outside of Scotland. He is so welcome here!

Unfortunately I’m surrounded by English folk, nice , but very Unionist and don’t think like Mark.

24. HandandShrimp

Hamish100

Grant’s defence of Osborne’s avarice was little short of grovelling sycophancy. Being an MP is a heavy duty job if you do it properly. Being editor of a newspaper is also generally considered a full time job. His other 4 roles for which he is also recompensed handsomely begs one hell of a lot of questions. Is he ever at Westminster for anything other than key votes…or does he misuse the pairing system to get around that too?

Just plain outrageous. The Tories seem to be hell bent of gathering bad news around themselves, just as they did in the 90s.

Never watched Struth on Marr – her gritted teeth, scowling face stuff bores me rigid.

25. Glamaig

Its great to meet people like Mark. I know other people like him too, who moved up here because theyre scunnered with the way things have been going over the years in England. People like him, quiet, thoughtful, reasoned, friendly, and principled are a great asset to this country.

26. Dr Jim

The depth of my historical knowledge could be plumbed by a pencil so I need folk with more savvy than me to answer this

How can Theresa May use a 500 year old English law to apply new laws to the UK when the UK is only 300 years old

This question applies to the Great repeal bill (I feel like a twit just writing that stupid phrase) which is called the Henry V111 bill and I’m legally and historically out of my depth on this one, but it don’t sound Kosher to me

27. yesindyref2

Onyways an interesting MacWhirter in the SH “The surest way to secure independence? Tell Scots they can’t have it”, some of which I disagree with, but this is interesting:

Opinions are hardening as Brexit does. Significantly, the Herald and the Scotsman, which both supported the Union in 2014, condemned Theresa May’s rejectionism, insisting that the PM cannot supplant the Scottish Parliament as the source of democratic authority in Scotland. The Scotsman opined that her position was “reckless” and “deluded”; the Herald that it was “untenable”.

Who knows, the Express, the Mail and the DT might end up being the only rags that support the eye-watering Onion. Not sure about the Mail either 🙂

28. Bob Mack

I watched Davidson this morning with utter disdain. I, in fact, watch most Unionist politicians in the same vein. The Unionists attempt to portray Scotland as failing in the scheme of things. They say we are letting down our citizens in terms of education,health and security. They constantly pour out this line of attack ,and yet they are quoted rather than challenged by anyone.

Simple comparison in any field of public life reveals significant differences in the quality offered by both governments.

The health service in Scotland is often just failing to meet targets by a fraction whilst we all know what is happening in England.
    Crime in Scotland is at an all time low ,but the exact opposite in England.

Whilst our government gives extra cash to head teachers ,English schools are cutting courses and looking at making 6 teachers per school redundant.

Remind me. Which government if failing it’s people?
    Davidson. Liar and hypocrite.

29. Ken500

Dugdale and Davidson are two lazy, greedy unscrupulous individuals who are extravagantly paid with Scottish taxpayers money to lie and incessantly talk Scotland down. The fee is the bottom line. A waste of space and money.

30. Macart

Shock horror! Sky news misrepresents First Minister of Scotland.

Was there ever going to be any other kind of representation? Seriously?

So before folk go damaging their tellies, laptops, tablets and phones, I’d suggest chill pill, maybe some whale song tapes, or perhaps a good book.

The media is in full on propaganda mode. Doesn’t matter what the First Minister actually says, or how genuine the motivation. By the time its been meeja filtered it will bear little resemblance to the original words, context or intent.

Almost as if we never left indyref1 really.

31. Ken500

SKy constantly misreporting regurgitating journalists lies. Get rid of SKy. Lies. Hit them in their pocket for the poor reporting standards. The power is in the consumer’s pocket.

32. Scott Borthwick

Another great video. Thanks Phantom Power and Mark. So much optimism here.

I loved the location too. Gardner’s Crescent. Such an incredible mix of housing. The imposing Crescent looking over the artisan colonies and the spectacular Rosemount Buildings.

33. Glamaig

re media bias – I was not really involved in 2014 – I was always going to vote Yes but never been politically active and wasnt paying much attention during the campaign.

But I vividly remember one moment which was the start of a change, and it was when I saw the Wings poster in a Glasgow subway carriage. That made me sit up and take notice. What was it – 35 out of 37 newspapers were No? And you ask yourself why is that, when there’s so many Yes posters and stuff about, far more than there is No.

My point is its sometimes the simple wee things people notice that can be the catalyst for a train of thought or greater awareness, rather than an in your face argument.

Those posters werent up for long, were they? If we cant do them again, how about just wee cards we can leave lying about on buses etc, with a simple statement like that – that bored people will pick up and read – maybe the same statement – which will make people think about the media, and start that chain reaction?

34. Scott Borthwick

Dr.Jim, I’ve been pondering that very thing myself. My understanding was that the English parliament was dissolved. Henry viii laws should be defunct. I foresee a legal challenge.

35. Hamish100

Yip Sky news just now interviewing Ruth Davidson who has the best ratings of any politician in “the country”. She follows Dugdale –one in the same. Is Wullie next?
    Davidson is now full on brexiter.

36. Flower of Scotland

After two aggressive interviews but same questions and after tweeting Sophie Ridge about it I’m more determined than ever to get Independence.

The media seem outraged at Nicola Sturgeon. I’m back on to Euronews where they tend to be a bit less biased.

I’m beginning to think that the Media think it is their goal, not to report the news, but to persuade (no scrub that out) FORCE Scotland to stay part of Theresa May,s “precious” Union.

37. Glamaig

Bob Mack says:
    19 March, 2017 at 10:35 am
    “The Unionists attempt to portray Scotland as failing in the scheme of things.”

The best thing that never happened is the Scottish Six. The Unionists are inadvertently beaming into our homes the failures of services in England. People can see with their own eyes that ours are better than that. I hope so anyway. This slagging off our services is something that can backfire on the Unionists, if they take it too far people start to think, even if subconsciously, ‘does not compute’ and can be the catalyst for change like I was talking about above.

For me one of those moments was when they were going after the Transport Minister about the snow, trying to make out the forecast was worse than it was, when I had actually seen the forecast myself.

38. DerekM

@ Glaimaig

Aye there was even a song written about that advert.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ttH8BND1BzY

39. Macart

Y’know, no child is born to hate. Hatred is taught. It is encouraged, cultivated, deployed, experienced and then spread.

I reckon the media should take a bow. So far, they’re doing a bang up job.

40. Capella

Great listening to Mark’s calm appraisal of the independence debate. Very clever cutting in sections of Nicola’s speech welcoming people to Scotland who want to make this their home. These videos are so encouraging.

What an antidote to the aggressive drivel streaming out of the BBC ATM

41. Robert Kerr

O/T Help

I have no access to my digital subscription to the Sunday Herald for today via page suite. Stops at last week’s.

Has todays digital edition been issued? or is there a dirty trick? This edition should include SNP conference and Nicola’s speech.

Is the Britnat State censoring the Sunday Herald as well as the BBC?

42. Brian Powell

Interesting that Davidson and Dugdale get free hand in interviews with no direct chance to rebutt or discuss from SNP, but during the SNP Conference not only were other politicians and Unionist commentators on but Gordon Brown’s bolloxy intervention shown.

Overwhelming failure of MSM.

43. Flower of Scotland

Dr Jim.

I also don’t understand that.

I can’t understand this British Supreme Court either. Why have Scotland’s Law Lords allowed so much of Scotland’s power be ceded to a Supreme Court, set up by Tony Blair.

I still don’t understand how this Court could ignore our Attorney General and when they did, why were there no objections?

44. Hamish100

Re Dugdale and Davidson on radio and TV this morning. There particular — The FM doesn’t have a mandate tosh from the people is to help their chances in the Council elections. They dont care about local democracy but will try as the 2 main unionist parties to say to the brexiters (as both parties are for it) to vote for them.

They know a referendum is at the earliest Autumn of next year.

I just wish they would get back to their day job and recognise that politics is not for jokers.

45. Bob Mack

The Great Repeal Bill.
    John Red mod has already warned about this use of Henry 8 clauses stating it would be illegal internationally.
    This is going to be problematic for May. Scotland is still a legislature and therefore entitled to create new legislation over competencies which are devolved.

Let us say that the Scottish government creates a new” Act” enshrining EU law into Scottish law. Westminster would have to challenge. There are however examples of the Supreme Court accepting the creation of new legislation on devolved areas from Wales, who actually have no specific legislative power to create laws.

Scots law is outside the realms of the Treaty of Union. Though it is accepted that there has been joint legislation since the Treaty, the basic fact that Scots law has a separate identity has never been refuted.

Can you imagine the rage in England if Scotland creates legislation to keep EU law?

46. Glamaig

@DerekM
    thanks for that! its brilliant. I think I missed most of the fun in 2014 🙁

47. Effijy

There is a pole that says Ruth Jung Un is 1% more popular than Nicola.

Of course you need to add to the Equation that 99.9% of polls are funded by Westminster supporters who make clear that what they want the poll to say, and funnily enough, it generally says just that!

There may be some more honourable people commissioning these polls who don’t distort the findings, they just bury them.

Thanks to the Rev and his supporters, there are polls that are what they find, but you can write off all the rest.

What have they told us in recent times, we have Milliband as our Prime minister, Hilary Clinton is President, the UK will remain in the EU.

These polls are complete nonsense and only exist to see if they can persuade to vote with their preferences.

If you can find a Newspaper, Radio, or TV Channel that
    isn’t owned and or controlled by people who seek to control the information that you are allowed to receive, and then influence your thought process, you are not living in the UK.

I’m on a diet and there is a bar of my favourite chocolate in the larder. I had to throw a coin up to see if I should eat it. It took me 3 times before it landed heads.

Delicious!

48. Ken500

Davidson and Dugdale talking themselves out of a job. Talking Scotland down. An absolute embarrassment, total hypocrites. They will be voted out even further.

49. Orri

Not sure you can deny that, assuming it’s been polled, Ruth Davidson is on balance more popular than Sturgeon. How many people outside of Scotland have any real clue about Davidson? Far more will have heard of Sturgeon and her unwillingness to subjugate us to the will of the majority untill a more convenient time if ever.

Just read an extract about a speech May gave in Wales, http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-politics-39281368 , The prime minister told the Conservatives’ spring conference that Britons are “at heart one people” be they Welsh, English, Scottish or from Northern Ireland.

Which is slightly less objectionable than a previous report that instead of “Britons” she said “Four Nations” which in the context of rugby and Ireland would be ridiculous. Even the modified version is dangerously close to an argument against Scotland’s right to serf determination under UN laws as signed up to by the UK. Not a blatant denial of our distinctiveness as a people you understand. A removal of the inconvenient mention of nationhood though.

50. Ken500

Apart from the fact of having an irrelevant Poll of Davidson performance in the rest of the UK where she has a complete and utterly no mandate, and the majority do not know who she is and care even less. Only one of an unpopular political Party in Scotland. Nicola does have a mandate within the Union as a FM minister in Scotland elected by 50% of the vote, in a supposed to be equal Union. Some chance.

Brexit will finish the Tory Party and the UK off forever.

51. Liz Rannoch

Nicola Sturgeon was her usual impeccable self on sky – followed by K & R – taped it, haven’t watched K & R yet – think I know what it’ll be like.

Anybody know what this new poll is? Apparently says Indy only 46%.

Right now on Sunday Politics, apart from NS has had it, discussing a snap GE on 4th May. Yea, I know, I hate bbc too but I like to know what the enemy’s up to!

Welcome to all our new yesers – long may it continue!

52. Ken500

Pols should the majority in the UK over 50% agree that Scotland should be independent. There is agreement in the UK, that. Over 50%+ in both Scotland and England. That is one thing there is equal agreement on.

53. DerekM

Aye it was good times and bad times but the exciting thing is we are about to do it all over again and this time we are going to win.

Some of Jock and Ninja`s videos are just as relevant today as we once again face the same MSM rubbish.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wcHq5U_ZdiY

54. Lenny Hartley

Down in deepest Surrey with limited access, somebody saying Harrison more popular than Sturgeon, take with large pinch of salt, the last time they said that they were not comparing like for like ie the question was how to you think sturgeon is performing as first minister of Scotland and for
    Harrison how do u think she is performing as scots tory leader..

55. heedtracker

These get better and better.

Welcome to Scotland Mark, on the road to Scottish independence!

56. Robert Kerr

Another momentum killer on the internet Sunday Herald. Poll states support for independence less than at referendum.

I am getting very annoyed.

But keeping the heid. I know they are trying to rile me.

57. Legerwood

Dr Jim says:
    19 March, 2017 at 10:31 am
    The depth of my historical knowledge could be plumbed by a pencil so I need folk with more savvy than me to answer this

How can Theresa May use a 500 year old English law to apply new laws to the UK when the UK is only 300 years old

This question applies to the Great repeal bill (I feel like a twit just writing that stupid phrase) which is called the Henry V111 bill and I’m legally and historically out of my depth on this one, but it don’t sound Kosher to me””

…….

It certainly did not seem right to me either when I read it in the Telegraph online last night. (Link on previous thread)

May seems to see it as a way of sidelining the Hollywood or something.

Certainly not democracy as we know it should be.

58. Capella

The poll they’re referring to was one where different questions were asked. They asked if people thought Ruth Davidson was doing a good job of being leader of the Scottish Conservatives.
    They then asked if Nicola Sturgeon was doing a good job of being First Minister.
    That is a completely different question. So there is no possible comparison between the answers.

When they ask about popularity, Nicola Sturgeon wins hands down.
    You can lie with statistics though which is why the media love polls.

I think Scot Goes Pop dissected this poll some time ago.

59. Jack Murphy

OT. Apologies if this ‘news’ has already been posted.

Mrs May being urged to call a Snap General Election on 4th of May !

“…..In text conversations with the senior Tories, a source stated a May 4 poll could help the Prime Minister “kill at least two birds with one stone”.

“The Tories would be able to take SNP seats in Scotland in a bid to avert a constitutional crisis while also getting rid of the election fraud scandal,” the source said.

“Another general election would wipe the slate clean.”

Last week it was revealed that a dozen police forces have passed files to the Crown Prosecution Service over allegations that up to 20 Tory MPs broke local spending limits at the last election…….”

Sunday Express England:
    http://archive.is/q11UK

60. liz

@Chris, good idea but as you must have seen from the BBC non coverage of the SNP conference, we do not control mainstream TV.

The TV companies will ignore them.

Do think these No to Yes are inspirantional

61. joannie

US congressman Joseph Crowley on NI’regional BBC politics programme just now talking positively about Scottish independence.

Maybe he’ll have a word in Donald’s ear.

62. alexicon

Sunday politics.
    Andrew Neil says to Nick Clegg; How is T.May like Putin, she’s not interfering in other countries elections.!!!

Sophie Ridge, I like her;-) Says to an at ease tank commander: you are a more popular leader than Nicola Sturgeon.

They’re not going to quit with their subtle bias are they.

What makes me mad is yesterday an SNP MP was being interview by a hostile channel 4 news reporter who said that Scotland would lose 65% of their exports to the rUK.
    The SNP MP should have retorted back that the rUK will be losing over £62 billion of exports to Scotland also, if that was the case.
    A reality check here, as with the GERS figures that the SNP use and give credence to. The SG recently produced figures saying that Scottish exports to the rUK were around £50 billion without producing what the rUK export to Scotland.
    They’re making a rod for their own back.
    The SNP are making the same basic mistakes they did the last time and letting reporters etc, off with basic misinformation and lies.
    Get a grip.!

63. Undeadshaun

@Jack Murphy

Im not sure may will go for it.

Snp could say a majority of snp mps in that election would mean we are independent.

It would up the stakes and could backfire on May, costing her the pm job.

Plus to do it is a bit tricky on that timescale.

64. Effijy

FFS

BBC Bastard Brewer demanding that Patrick Harvey and the Greens have no right to supports SNP’s quest to have the next Independence Referendum?

Brewer demands that Harvey must come up with a better reason than he has, before backing SNP.

Did someone vote for Brewer, or the BBC?

Harvey explains that the Only Country involved in Brexit that doesn’t get any say in their future European trade
    agreement!
    Brewer has to move on now as he doesn’t have a justification on this point.

The Interrupter, the digresser, and the Westminster Shill
    that is Brewer the Skewer.

I can’t take any more of this promulgation of propaganda.

That’s the last time I ever watch this double speak crap!

65. heedtracker

That’s the last time I ever watch this double speak crap!

With each Scots election, BBC vote Tory Scotland jobs for life, look less so. It must be quite an incentive, to destroy democracy, that just they just cannot kill off.

66. HandandShrimp

Effijy

I am pretty sure the Greens had a rock solid commitment to independence in their manifesto. Brewer is articulating the mindless pish that Murdo came out with the other day that Scotland doesn’t have a Government unless they have an absolute majority in a parliament specifically designed to try and avoid an absolute majority.

They spin and gyre all they want. It will be a 69 to 59 majority and that is a win in anybody’s book. They can girn all the want.

67. John H.

This morning on Andrew Castle’s radio show an American living in Vienna who comments on LBC occasionally, phoned in. According to him, the talk among his circle of friends and colleagues is that the UK at the moment resembles the Yugoslavian breakup. Andrew Castle was none too pleased. But, but, we have nuclear weapons, sixth biggest economy in the world etc.

68. Alan Mackintosh

Hand and shrimp,

or as Stu has pointed out on twitter, Greens arent needed to pass the vote. Yoons have 59 against Snp 63. Greens could abstain and it would still pass. Hmm, they havent thought this one out have they

69. Robert Peffers

No, Robert Louis, it is just as I’ve been describing all along for anyone who will read or listen.

Westminster first assumed for itself, (on no other grounds that that the then new, “United Kingdom of Great Britain”, Parliament sat in the same building as the former Kingdom of England Parliament), that it was the continuing Parliament of the Kingdom of England which had two English Dominions in Wales & Ireland.

There are no legal basis for such an assumption. The Old Parliament of the Kingdom of England is legally recorded as having sat and ended itself. The Westminster of 1707 was legally the parliament of the United Kingdom of Great Britain.

This all changed upon the introduction of devolution but Westminster then still assumed itself to still be the old continuing Parliament of the Kingdom of England but was calling itself the Parliament of the United Kingdom of Great Britain & Northern Ireland by that time.

However, by only devolving, by its own assumption, Westminster powers to Scotland, N. Ireland and Wales, Westminster had assumed to relegate the Kingdom of Scotland to being an English dominion like N. I. & Wales.

This, of course, also promoted Wales & N.I. to the same level as the relegated country of Scotland but also separated the two English dominions from the Kingdom of England but brought them under the rule of the now de facto Parliament of the country of England that was Westminster.

Their next assumption was EVEL that states Westminster is the de facto Parliament of the country of England that still calls itself the United Kingdom but now bars all other countries from interfering in the affairs of the country of England parliament that Westminster now assunes itself to be.

70. boris

In the early years of the BBC,the accepted way of steering clear of controversy or accusations of bias was to aim for political balance.

It was for the leadership of each party to choose who broadcast on its behalf.

The approach guaranteed exposure for the opinions of ministers and their shadows, while dissident voices were silenced.

Churchill never forgave the BBC for what he saw as the censorship of his views.

Years later, he would exact his revenge.

The way Churchill was mishandled provided a powerful warning of the dangers of the BBC believing it is being balanced by excluding the voices of those who do not represent their editorial policy.

Churchill’s frustration grew so great that, in 1929, he offered to pay the BBC to allow him to make a single broadcast.

When his offer was rejected, he complained that the corporation was “debarring public men from access to a public who wish to hear”.

Churchill complained to a young BBC producer who visited him on the day after Chamberlain returned home from Munich.

A memo records their meeting “Churchill complained that he had been very badly treated… and that he was always muzzled by the BBC”.

The producer was called Guy Burgess.

The man who would become his country’s most famous ("Tractor" - Ed) tried to reassure the man who would become its saviour that the BBC was not biased.

The legacy of their bitter personal feud was the end of the BBC’s monopoly and the creation of a brand-new TV channel.

Not for the last time, the BBC was punished by a prime minister who could not and would not forget how they had mistreated him two decades earlier.

History might be repeated after independence, by the establishment of a Scottish media to the exclusion of the BBC

71. Liz g

Dr Jim @ 10.43
    RE..The Henry VIII Law.
    It’s another mad subversion of power that for some strange reason the Westminster Establishment are so proud of,and,it would seem that the majority of the English Electorate have no notion of changing.
    As to how it can predate the Union and still be an active bit of legislation…..This is how I understand it, from some of the stuff I have read…..But please remember I am no expert just sayin how I have made sense of it in my head.

Anyhoo..
    The Law once it has been written remains the Law until it has been STRUCK down,by whatever means the current Law maker’s use.
    Obviously those ways and means of making Law’s were very different back in the day,but no matter how a Law came about, it’s there and it’s the Judge’s job to enforce it.

The Treaty of the Union didn’t change any of that,all it did was to allow any Act’s of the New Union Parliament to carry the Force of Law.

All the Law’s that were in place in the individual Parliament’s in 1707 stayed in place,and mostly still do.
    The UK Parliament is run along English Law and where and when applicable, legislation has to be written to comply with Scot’s Law.

This only makes sense if the Law maker’s have land and interests in both countries,also (most importantly) none of this universal suffrage malarkey going on.

So aye it (Henry VIII) makes no sense but it is a real Law,and apparently has been used quite often to get around any awkward votes and such.

How I think it can be made to apply in Scottish law is because the Treaty agreement says that the UK parliament’s got the right to write Law’s for Scotland.
    And using a method of English law’s making,is a legitimate thing to do, because it’s not CHANGING a Scottish Law,it’s not writing something that CAN’T be written into Scottish law…..In fact it could be argued that Westminster is using a tried and tested method of writing Law,and the 1707 Treaty’s term’s and conditions allow them to make the new law apply in Scotland.

Hope that makes sense.

72. Ian

What strikes me most about these short films is how normal the people seem. Common sense and intelligence just shines through. I suppose that’s partly so noticeable because of the highly opinionated but shallow people that the msm likes to show.

73. Robert Graham

I am going to try and keep it simple for unionists .
    The scottish people dont want another referendum , OK who says they dont , the Unionists and all their media , my now thats surprising now isnt it , maybe if they keep hammering on about it might in their world become true ,
    A party with One Mp and with the support of roughly one fifth of the electorate backing them suddenly become the voice of the scottish people , Aye f/kn right that really makes sense dosnt it.
    Even with all the media on their pocket we haven’t went away , if i were them i would be really f/kn worried , it isnt working .

74. Roboscot

A snap Westminster election will make no difference to the Scotgov’s mandate for a referendum as it comes from the Holyrood election.

75. Orri

If they want to play silly buggers with mandates then there has been a poll that satisfies the Green’s over a million in favour of another referendum. The 2016 Holyrood election gave that to them and the SNP.

76. Liz g

Roboscot 1.47

Don’t? think we have much too worry about with a snap Election.
    I was more concerned that May would try for a snap Referendum in May at the council elections.
    Taking the…. Let’s get this sorted route,for stability it needs? to be done and dusted.
    She certainly had an argument for it,but thankfully not now.

77. Orri

For a party or parliament insistent that the final say on a legally binding referendum lay with them to ignore a majority of MPs being elected on a manifesto specifically including another referendum would be contradictory to say the least.

Pre devolution the only road to such a referendum would have been such an electoral win in Scotland. The ways things are going we’ll be in a weird nowhere land with no way for a mandate to hold a referendum anywhere near the hands of the people of Scotland.

78. geeo

Nicola Sturgeon is FM of Scotland.

Davidson is not, and never will be, despite her claim to fame being making the tories as popular as 22%……2% LESS than thatchers tories…!!

79. Ghillie

Hey! Wellcome Mark and all your family = )

Well said!

Again, well done Phamtom Power Films = )

80. Ian McCubbin

All of these are good. So to keep the message going as I have a busy week and was busy at #SNP17. I have posted on Twitter along with previous one on asking the right question.

81. PJ

This Irish former resident of Scotland can well appreciate Mark’s sentiments. Scotland is going to become a magnet for talent.

It can’t happen soon enough.

82. Artyhetty

Excellent, welcome to Scotland. Nicola Sturgeon’s speech on Saturday was so inspiring. So many, also south of the border, really do not want to be taken back,10,20 or even 100’s of years.

All of these films are gems,to share. Thank you to those involved in the making, and those people featured,well done.

83. Kat hamilton

Well done mark..measured, articulate and on board with reality that Scotland is weighing up its allegiance to the uk….I would like some date to show that auld reekie is moving towards a more balanced approach as it’s viewed, quite rightly as firm unionist ground..has there been any movement towards yes …it’ll be a tough nut to crack and contributed significantly to the no vote in 2014…how can this be addressed when many areas are well to do, southern English residents, and other proud but scots who won’t disturb the status quo…always been a city that’s got a Jekyll and Hyde complex…wanting to be scottish, but uk symbolism throughout…I.e.north British hotel hitting you in the eye when you venture out from Waverley…can’t see a Damascus conversion here anytime soon or is this overly pessimistic…
    Y

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.