A. To see it’s flat mate.

2. Capella

Good idea. Not fair to hedgehogs!

3. Yesitis

A British nationalist triple whammy please…with relish.

Nice one, Chris šŸ™‚

4. Doug Daniel

Very witty, like it!

5. Alan McHarg

Excellent Chris… That’s my new years resolution too!;-)

6. heedtracker

Hootsman rallies SlabConDem bettertogether behind their hedgehog but says they’re not. The UKOK fraud goes on.

“GRASSROOTS No campaigners are planning to defy the leadership of UK parties by getting together behind a ā€œstop Alex Salmondā€ candidate in Gordon.

Despite the Conservatives and Labour ruling out a deal to thwart Salmondā€™s general election ambitions, local party activists say they will back the Lib Dem candidate Christine Jardine, because she is the former first ministerā€™s nearest challenger.
    Jardine, a former journalist, is defending Gordon for the Lib Dems following the retirement of Sir Malcolm Bruce.
    Although Jardine is defending a majority of almost 7,000, Salmond has been widely tipped to win the seat as Lib Dem support plummets and the SNP benefits from a post-referendum surge.

But the strong No vote recorded in the area has given local Better Together activists hope that they can work together to keep Salmond out.”

7. ronnie anderson

@ Chris Cairns, Haw Chris your gonna cost some parties votes, that Road Rollers no very enviromentaly friendly,is it running on Rid deziel.

Whit a start tae the new year,onward and upward Chris,mair power tae that pen o Yours.

8. fred blogger

absolutely brilliant.
    buoyancy.

9. Tattie-bogle

3 hedgehogs thats a lot of pricks

10. jimnarlene

Roll on……

11. drawdeaddave

Nice humorous analogy incorporating political feeling in Scotland. I prefer calling a spade a spade. Just steamroller those three pricks in 2015..

12. bob g

is the SNP environmental monster in this cartoon ?

13. Brian Powell

heedtracker.

Interesting that they would vote in a hopeless LibDem, who will very likely have no influence in Westminster. Looks like ConUKIP Gov likely.

Still the Tories will be pleased to see LibDems MPs and not even need to pretend to listen to them.

14. liz

Brought a smile to my face. Hope it comes to fruition

15. TJenny

Chris – so you found your pencil, but did you find your trousers? šŸ˜‰

Love the idea of the toon, but portraying the scurrilous unionist parties as wee hedgehogs, is making me feel sorry for them, and that will never do. So in my head I’m seeing them as slugs!

And talking about slugs, could someone, either by pencil or photoshop, put slugs and slime trails on that Tory road poster? (Which I saw a tweet saying it was a pic of part of the German countryside – oh, the irony!)

On the horizon could be queues at foodbanks, shops and factories with big ‘hiring on zero hour contracts only’ signs on them and lines of people queuing outside ATOS and coffins coming out the side door?

Or a bit too gruesome?

16. PC

But in those 3 parties, the pricks are on the inside!

17. setantamise

Slight problem with your home page Stu.
    I found the “Time for a Rest” cartoon by following a link from SCOT goes POP but when I go the the Wings home page it’s not there ~ I’ve refreshed the page several times to no avail

18. galamcennalath

Great cartoon! As always, catches the mood nicely. Sometimes not so nicely! Pear wee hedggie hogs!

Those three ran the most immoral, insidious, improper, and possibly illegal campaigns against democracy in UK living memory. Payback’s a bitch, as they say.

19. One_Scot

I donā€™t usually laugh out loud at cartoons, but I did at this one. I think itā€™s was the expression on the Tory hedgehogs face.

20. Lollysmum

Good cartoon Chris- great seeing the pricks between a rock & an even harder place šŸ˜‰

21. handclapping

Rip off of the Tories ‘Road to Austerity’! šŸ˜‰

Hats off! I really don’t know how you cartoonists manage week after week to get the mood right. Probably involves lots of research in the local hostelries buying drinks and listening to the craic

PS According to The Chamber of Genius trousers are not necessary (Rowlandson 1806 ri 1812)

22. Patrician

Well done Chris, another brilliant ‘toon. Glad you managed even if it is a day late šŸ˜‰

23. john king

“itā€™s was the expression on the Tory hedgehogs face.”

Don’t look one_ scot
    It looks like Oleg! (:(

24. Ian Brotherhood

What sound will these entities make when squashed?

SLab’s demise? A hippopotamus accidentally sitting on a blobfish.

Lib-Dems – a cleg hitting a 95-mph windscreen.

Tories – a knackered old sparrow having a heart seizure mid-flight in the depths of a huge forest.

25. Josef O Luain

Chris Cairns, the man who never disappoints.

26. ScottieDog

From E.F Schumacher…
    “Imagine that in 1864 Bismarck had annexed the whole part of Denmark instead of only a small part of it, and that nothing had happened since. The Danes would be an ethic minority In Germany, perhaps struggling to maintain their language by becoming bilingual, the official language of course being German. Only by thoroughly ‘Germanising’ themselves could they avoid becoming second class citizens.
    There would be an irrestistable drift of the most ambitious and enterprising Danes, thoroughly Germanised, to the mainland in the south, and what then would be the status of Copenhagen? That of a remote provincial city. Or imagine Belgium as a part of France. What would be the status of Brussels?…
    Imagine now that Denmark a part of Germany, and Belgium a part of France, suddenly turned what is now charmingly called ‘nats’ wanting independence. There would be endless heated arguments that these ‘non-countries’ could not be economically viable , that their desire for independence was, to quote a famous political commentator, ‘adolescent emotionalism’, political naivety, phoney economics and sheer bare-faced opportunism.
    How can one talk of economics of small independent countries? How can one discuss a problem that is a non-problem. There is no such thing as the viability of states or nations, there is only a problem of viability of people….
    You do not make non-viable people viable by putting large numbers of them into one huge community, and you do not make viable people non-viable by splitting a large community into a number of smaller…communities.”

27. Chic McGregor

Another good one Chris.

Alternative caption.

“Just think lads, if Yes had won, traffic would be driving on the right in Scotland. How styoopit would that have been?”

28. Tackety Beets

Thanks Chris , brill as always .

Thez nae enuff hedehogs , eh pricks tho’

29. De Valera

Brilliant as ever. Please let this happen, it’s the only thing that can make up for September 18th. (Until 2016 anyway).

30. Natasha

Ian Brotherhood, 9.13pm
    Blobfish again, Ian? šŸ™‚

31. Sazzy

Brilliant cartoon – well done!

What is a hedgehogā€™s favorite flavor of chips? A: Prickled Onion!

šŸ˜‰

Talking of a prickly subject.. Donald Trump in Scotland? Uhoh…

http://thisisnews.co/2015/01/02/not-quite-yet/

32. mogabee

Love this…not too sure about the ominous black clouds, hope they’re heading for Westminster!

33. think again

That’s what happens when you turn your back on reality.

34. Kenny

In five years’ time, after another half decade of austerity and gideonomics, that cartoon could very well apply to the whole of the UK — if the SNP play it canny in Parliament and also field candidates in English elections (or at least form an alliance with the Greens, PC and SF).

35. heedtracker

@ Brian Powell, its up to all Scottish haha media now to take up the vote SlabConDem heavy lifting and all lead by the BBC. Project Fear 2 but this time they won’t have say President Obama wading into an actual UKOK GE in Keith and Huntly, or say the tory boy at Deutsche Bank was it who shrieked that Scotland running Scotland will kick off a 1930’s great depression and so on. They might all put the boot again but it looks its all up to conmen and propagandists like sweaty Brewer and co to save teamGB from AlicSamin.

36. Kenny

All this talk of a Lab/Con alliance… Labour are just going to get stabbed in the back once again by their bluer brethren… one almost starts to believe that they are some sort of masochists and that LABOUR LIKES IT UP ‘EM!

37. Tackety Beets

A few Green comments .

The driver spotted the Hedgehogs and opened up the throttle .

Ronnie ,
    Rid Deziel maks the same rik

38. heedtracker

Rancid old Guardian kicks off their 2015 teamGB says vote Labour or else Scotland, wonder who they’re going to phone up and bettertogether court but they don’t mention the SLabConDem alliance though. Funny that.

“Murphy said Labour would heavily court those 190,000 voters this month, with personal letters, phone calls and doorstep canvassing: most were older Labour voters in the Glasgow area, where the yes vote was heaviest but where Labour holds a large majority of Westminster seats.

ā€œThey voted yes, largely because they wanted rid of the Tories and wanted change,ā€ Murphy will say. ā€œNow they can decide whether to vote Labour to get rid of the Tories or to vote SNP and keep the status quo. At the general election these will be the most important voters in the UK.ā€

Labourā€™s analysis was released as the SNP launched a counter-offensive with newspaper adverts showing opposition benches in the Commons covered in tartan to underscore its hopes of taking a swath of key Labour and Lib Dem seats

39. Barontorc

Not a criticism Chris – more a wee suggestion that the hedgehog should not be compared to these odious toads, rats, vipers etc., but why not have oor ain wee michty lion there with a big brush shooin the aff the road and oot of existence?

40. ScotsCanuck

… Tres drole, mon brave !!

41. Robert Peffers

@galamcennalath says: 4 January, 2015 at 6:02 pm:

“Great cartoon! As always, catches the mood nicely. Sometimes not so nicely! Pear wee hedggie hogs!

Well!,galamcennalath, if it makes you feel any better, hegdehogs, like Westminster, are hoatching with parasites.

Lousy, verminous and they sleep for long periods every year.

42. caz-m

Does anybody know if Gary Anderson, the new World Darts Champion, is a supporter of Scottish Independence?

Or is he a ProudScotBut…

It was a great game of darts though.

43. caz-m

The Lib/Dems, Tories and Labour have ALL merged into one big Party of the Establishment. Their orders from the Establishment are to make London tick. All else is irrelevant.

44. Mealer

If the unionist parties openly ask voters to vote tactically to keep Salmond out,it will be a major step forward for the independence campaign.

45. Ken500

Unelected, unemployable Murphy/Dugdale will be the first to go. Go and get a job troughers. Pigs at the trough turned into bacon. Fried. Toast. Same old, same old lies. Yet folk fall for it. Don’t be fooled a third time. People voted for Devolution 35 years ago and are still waiting. Westminster secrecy, lies and corruption.

46. IAB

Make it so

47. Ken500

Dugdale finds it amusing that Oil revenues have fallen because of the 11% (Ā£2Billion) a year tax increase from Westminster in 2011. Helicopters are falling from the sky because of lack of proper guideline being ahered to because of Labour/Unionist policies. No Inquiry because of the Westminster cover up, secrecy and lies. 2009 Crash in which people died as a result of Labour/Unionist policies. Bond Brothers sold out in 2011 for Ā£250Million without any liability, because of Labour/Unionist policies. Dugdale is a liar.

The Middle East is in turmoil because of Labour/Unionist policies. Millions have died or been displaced. There are now 2.5million Syrian refugees. Unionists complain about the migration they have caused for the last 100 years in the Middle East, especially with their support for apartheid Israel. A failed State.

48. heedtracker

Big vote no or else Guardian boost for our next FM Murphy https://archive.today/Ux3OY. Its very weird how these guys detest Scottish democracy like this but do they have faith in Murphy with all that talent and lack of ruth:D

“The referendum campaign has had a cathartic effect with Labour plunging to 26%, a full 17 points behind the SNP. In the space of two months a listless Labour party seems to have lost more than a third of it support north of the border. Murphy is a talented and ruthless politician, but again the task is daunting. Even if he managed to claw back to 35% in the next four months and the SNP slipped to 38%, the SNP would equal Labour with 28 seats, a force at Westminster comparable to the likely strength of the Liberal Democrats.

49. caz-m

Ken500 7.36am
    “Helicopters are falling from the sky because of lack of proper guidelines being adhered to because of Labour/Unionist policies.”

Thanks for the re-assuring words Ken, I’m just about to get on one. LOL.

Wish me luck, fingers crossed and all that.

50. Barontorc

Anybody want to hazard a guess when BBC Jockland is going to mention the National’s headline? They tell us in detail what the English based rags (all of them) are spouting as part of the Mutt and Jeff show while all of the cretinous organisations set about forming Labour’s policy.

51. Tackety Beets

Nicola on GMS 8.15 this AM

52. Marco McGinty

Ed Miliband on BBC Breakfast, repeatedly spouting on about the Labour Party running a positive campaign for the GE, against Tory negativity, openly stating that the Tories are guilty of issuing false statements, blah, blah, blah.

As many others have already mentioned, he also sidestepped the question on coalition governments with the SNP (or UKIP), by stating that he only wants a majority Labour government.

The hypocrisy and lies of the Labour Party is astonishing

at times.But anyway, there could be good times ahead, because he has committed to campaigning in Scotland! Wonder what a certain Mr Murphy will have to say to that!

53. Ken500

All the affected gear boxes are said to have been replaced. So good luck with that and the jobs still being available with the cavelier 11% (Ā£2Billion) tax revenues being increased by Unionists in 2011, leading to a drop production, and lose of revenues. The Westminster Unionists are determined to ruin the North Sea/Scottish industry, threatening the livelihood of their constituents, so they can line their pockets at Westminster. Westminster, secrecy and lies.

54. Ken500

How do the crucial 10%+ of the US voters of Scottish heritage, view the intervention of the US government and collusion in secrecy and lies. Resulting in the deaths of millions worldwide.

55. Capella

Interesting comment on Renfrewshire Council trying to hand over council leisure facilities to a charity, hiving off common good fund at the same time.
    http://scottishstatesman.com/labour-council-to-transfer-control-of-key-amenities/

56. Muscleguy

BTW Rev Stu I know about houses not working. There I was making a New Year’s Day meal and the kitchen fluorescent bulb began to flicker then went out. Darkness apart from the oven light which was cooking the spuds. An initial camping light (battery) was used then replaced with a desk lamp and a head torch. The latter amused my wife no end.

57. muttley79

@caz-m

šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

58. ScottieDog

Ken500
    Let’s also not forget that labour discarded an industrial economy to instead build one based on personal credit. It didn’t work out too well in 2008, and yet their solution to a credit problem is to create more credit!

They can laugh at the current slump in oil price but that physical capital will still be there when it’s over. Unfortunately trying to explain the difference between capital and debt leverage to a labour Politician/voter is a bit like explaining quantum physics to a chimp as I found at the polling station on indyref day.

59. Sinky

Tackety Beets @ 8:33 am

On GMS Nicola coped with everything thrown at her.

A spare WBB for the first BBC TV interviewer to challenge Miliband / Murphy on why Labour refused to join a majority of non Tory parties to form a coalition. Vote Labour get Tory. Vote SNP get a stronger Scotland.

And ask Murphy how many Tory / Labour coalitions exist in Scotland after the 2012 council election?

Good quote in The National from Austin Mitchell, Labour MP for Grimsby,who predicted that the SNP would take seats from Labour and called Alex Salmond Britain’s smartest political brain.

http://austinvmitchell.blogspot.co.uk/2015/01/election-2015-or-election-1911.html

SNP.. stronger for Scotland.

60. Ken500

The Green campaign, masquading as LibDems against the Trump Development, the UTG project and the essential AWPR. Green campaigns secretly financed and supported by wealthy feudal landowners against the public interest and wasting Ā£millions of public money. Wealthy feudal landowners buying influence against the public interest, and wasting Ā£Millions of public money.

61. Nana Smith

Labourā€™s newbie Deputy Leader in Scotland is clearly not a poker player. ā€œI have no qualms whatsoever about working with the SNP,ā€

http://order-order.com/2015/01/05/amateur-hour-new-scot-dep-leader-blows-labour-negotiation/

62. Bob Mack

Such is my disgust at Westminster, that my desire for independence is becoming almost irrational. I no longer care if we are the richest or poorest country in the world, but I need a country where we make our own future whatever that may be.We will manage!! Excellent depiction of the fate I believe the three parties will experience in May.

63. X_Sticks

@Ken500

The Greens had nothing whatsoever to do with the anti-AWPR campaign.

RoadSense was a bunch of ordinary folk (a couple of whom are (or were) wealthy) who had been screwed by Tavish Scott and then Transport Scotland and the Scottish government.

I know. I was one of them. When your are faced with the destruction of your environment and the loss of half the value of your home you will fight an injustice as far as you can. That is what we did. Greens had no part in it.

64. ronnie anderson

@ caz m 8.02 safe journey home see you soon.

@ Capella 8.55. Another Nth Lanarkshire experement ( Time Capsule Coatbridge ) all in the name of Charity,(thats the selling point) to disenfranchise the people of Renfrewshire.

65. Dorothy Devine

I’m with you Bob and add the press and broadcast buggers and we have a full house.

Re Ms Dugdale and ” I’d be prepared to work with the SNP” where has she been ?
    Surely the Willies Bain maxim still applies?
    Surely all the ignorant insults delivered so frequently by Ms Lamont still apply?
    The ignorant ,puerile insults of the MSM still apply?

And very surely the SNP will not wish to work with such an airhead as Ms Dugdale.

66. Luigi

Nana Smith says:

5 January, 2015 at 11:16 am

Labourā€™s newbie Deputy Leader in Scotland is clearly not a poker player. ā€œI have no qualms whatsoever about working with the SNP,ā€

http://order-order.com/2015/01/05/amateur-hour-new-scot-dep-leader-blows-labour-negotiation/

Cue the next Blue Tory line of attack on their red imposters:

“Milliband is planning to team up with the SNP to thwart English democracy”

If Ed responds by saying he will never work with the SNP (even if it means the Blue Tories retain power), then Labour are stuffed in Scotland. The Red Tories find themselves in an awfully deep hole, me thinks.

67. Stoker

Capella says:
    “Good idea. Not fair to hedgehogs!”

Hedgehogs or insurgents?
    šŸ˜‰
    Never mind, i’m sure Hamish will be along any time soon with his brush, freshly plucked from the erse of Wee Boaby Smiff, to clear away the road-kill.
    šŸ™‚

68. Ken500

The anti AWPR was supported and funded by a 14C feudal landowner who did not want the road near hs estate. Greens masquerading as LibDem Aberdeenshire councillors (along with wealthy landowners/councillors) blocked the road and campaigned against it for 10 years With the traffic problems getting more and more acute.. At enomous Public expense. Appeals etc. The Scottish Gov supported the road without their support it would not be built. The house owners were compensated, some got Ā£million, and they will benefit from the increased prosperity. They will be more jobs created, especially with the downturn in Oil.

Greens (some masquerading as LibDem councillors) also campaigned against the Trump Development, the extended Airport (they shut the airport) and the UTG Project, wasting Ā£Millions of public money in appeals and lost prosperity.

69. Stoker

Nana Smith says:
    “Labourā€™s newbie Deputy Leader in Scotland is clearly not a poker player. ā€œI have no qualms whatsoever about working with the SNP,”

Yes, Deputy Dug is indeed a very strange creature.
    During one of the live pre-referendum tv debates i remember her clearly stating that she was “not a dyed-in-the-wool Labour loyalist” or words very similar. If i remember correctly it was the debate which included 3 or 4 participants from each side, with Elaine C on the Yes team and wee Duggy Alexander on the No hopers bench. I might be wrong on which debate she said it, but she most definitely said it. Now she masquerades as a “Deputy” for Slabber.
    And they wonder why Slabber are falling apart.

70. Brian Powell

Blair McDougal just told me on Twitter that the 1000 new nurses Labour have promised, over and above whatever the SNP promise, will be paid for from the mansion tax across the UK.

As it would, if collected, raise around Ā£2billion he promised Ā£250 million would come to Scotland to pay for the nurses.

I asked, as the tax would rise about Ā£8million in Scotland, are the English happy agreeing to giving Ā£242million more to Scotland.

No answer as yet.

71. X_Sticks

@Ken500

I can’t speak about Green involvement in Trump or UTG. I did oppose both for various reasons.

As far as the AWPR goes you’re talking mince.

You and many others (except the property developers) are going to be mightily disappointed when you find that the large white elephant that IS the AWPR make no noticeable difference to the traffic in Aberdeen.

“Greens masquerading as LibDem Aberdeenshire councillors”

What sort of tinfoil hat nonsense is that?

72. alexicon

@Brian Powell.

Best telling Blair McDougal to go back to school and learn some basic maths because he seems to be adrift of what the Labour leadership are saying.
    Then again they seem to be adrift of reality too.

http://www.ft.com/cms/s/0/9930b896-5853-11e4-b331-00144feab7de.html#axzz3Nwzd8tnq

73. Meindevon

Daily Politics show on now…hardly mentioning Scotland. They think Labour might get enough to go ahead with a minority government on its own.

Loving those ukelect.co figures Nana.

74. Bugger (the Panda)

@ Ken500

http://tinyurl.com/n6ah9t8

75. Joemcg

Hate to burst the bubble but remember the spectre of postal votes people. They are probably being stuffed now with Red Tory votes.

76. Ken500

Mansion tax bribes. Scotland would be still putting down more than it gets back. Paying for Trident/Ilegal wars, causing migration, banking fraud and tax evasion in the City of London, paying more tax rates on it’s major industry than the rest of the UK tax rates. Losing Ā£1.5Billion which a tax on ‘loss leading’ alcohol would save. Paying Ā£4Billion repayments on money it doesn’t borrow spend.

Fiscal autonomy/Independence would give Scotland more revenues than any Mansion tax bribes. Ie enough for more than 1000 nurses.

Scotland raises Ā£53Billion +++ in tax revenues and has to follow a Westminster spending plan. Pays a higher price for the fuel and energy it produces.

The UK raises Ā£490Billion in tax revenues.

77. Bunter

Caught a read of The Sun in the barbers this morn and read a great editorial by Andrew Nicoll where he called out Slab on their vote No to save the NHS con , their two facedness and also the big lie of vote Labour to stop the Tories getting in.

I now see why its only the Clegg and Crighton of The Rectum who appear on BBC political programmes, despite their rag being second to The Sun for sales.

78. Ken500

GreenS (masquerading as LibDem councillors) MF (now a Green councillor) and DS (retired) blocked the AWPR for ten years, said it wasn’t needed. WW (green uni lecturer QC) even actively continued campaigning against the AWPR after moving to the NE of England. All were actively involved in campaigning against the AWPR, the Trump Development, UTG project and the expansion of the Airport. IF was a wealthy (14C) landowner (secretly) supporting and funding the campaign. Aberdeen CC voted against the AWPR for thirty years. Traffic chaos has been tbe result, with holdups averaging up to 2-3 hours at critical times. 20 years ago plans were cancelled and the funding withdrawn. Some people corresponded with Labour/Unionists councillors when they voted against it twenty years ago, before they were voted out. At critical times, many people have been unable to get to work.

79. Luigi

X_Sticks says:

5 January, 2015 at 12:42 pm

@Ken500

I canā€™t speak about Green involvement in Trump or UTG. I did oppose both for various reasons.

As far as the AWPR goes youā€™re talking mince.

You and many others (except the property developers) are going to be mightily disappointed when you find that the large white elephant that IS the AWPR make no noticeable difference to the traffic in Aberdeen.

ā€œGreens masquerading as LibDem Aberdeenshire councillorsā€

What sort of tinfoil hat nonsense is that?

All I know about the AWPR is that the junctions will probably need to be remodelled within a year or two of opening. Some of the proposed junction designs are the most ridiculous I have ever seen. They won’t work the way they are supposed to – guaranteed.

80. ronnie anderson

Ah kin see some Wit photoshopping Chris’s toon on to Camerons long road poster.Mind ask permission from Chris.

81. Ken500

All comparable Cities in Europe have a pedestrianised city centre and a by pass road, which is pretty little to ask. Aberdeen/shire (a growth area) were underfunded 30% of all other local authorities funding for over 30 years by Labour/Unionist Cosla The Grampian Health Authorities were underfunded for over 30 years compared to all other Health Authorities in Scotland by Unionists. (trying to keep it secret).

82. Ken500

AWPR junctions could be amended. It’s a large project not written in stone.

Some Greens dishonestly join other political parties because they know they will not get elected. Then get elected and disregard the manifesto of their chosen political party. I.e. Lack of Party discipline.

83. Valerie

Great cartoon, Chris.

In other news, SNP press release sees Sandra White calling out Smurph on his membership of the Henry Jackson Society. Really hope how shocking his membership is, will be picked up by proper journos

84. Valerie

@Ronnie Anderson, that Tory poster is all over FB, with lots of good photoshopping, e.g. fracking wells, austerity etc.

Also, read that the road pic is from a German road!

85. Another Union Dividend

On Murphy’s Mansion Tax nonsense.

Has Miliband told voters in England vote Labour and subsidise Scotland.

As a non elected politician after May 2015 Murphy won’t have a say on Westminster policies and in event of Labour government it will be Andy Burnham who calls the shots on health matters.

It was Labour that introduced the current privitisation health reforms in England, and shadow health secretary Andy Burnham told Holyrood Magazine that we need to get back to a UK wide health policy, so don’t get too attached to your free prescriptions (Ā£8 in England), free eye tests (Ā£25 in England), free dental checkups (Ā£20 in England) and free personal care for the elderly (incalculable), because if you vote Labour as their days are numbered.

86. Clarinda

Valerie – 2:04

Would that not be the very same road on which Mr Cairns has perceptively placed three doomed Tiggy-winkles?

I gather the actual grossly photo-shopped German road was badly split and in poor condition – how apt.

87. Robert Peffers

@caz-m says: 5 January, 2015 at 3:41 am:

“The Lib/Dems, Tories and Labour have ALL merged into one big Party of the Establishment. Their orders from the Establishment are to make London tick. All else is irrelevant.”

I’ve news for you, caz-m, It always has been thus. The entire history of what was, “Albion”, before the Romans began recording British History has been dictated by elite ruling classes who treated the hoi polloi as slaves, serfs, or villeins, (that’s not villains). The Romans came for British minerals and for slaves. Their methods were to set up tax systems and then tax imports and exports. Hadrian’s wall was not to keep the Caledoniaā€™s out. It was to prevent smuggling. Furthermore, Roman Centurions took vows of celibacy. Which is why there was very little gene pool change after the almost 500 years of Roman occupation.

The Roman elite left and the south Britons invited the Germanic Tribes to come and protect them and to run their country. In effect they replaced one ruling elite with another and thus began, “Angle Land”, (England). There were then several other elite rulers up to and including the Normans. These Normans gave the south the feudal system where the King bestowed land to the Dukes who bestowed land to the Earls and so on down to the Lords of the Manor. Thus the Hoi Polloi have remained slaves to a greater or lesser degree until the present day. Note that genetic testing shows less than 5% of the English population actually have Anglo Saxon genes.

Today we still have the Royalty and the Aristocracy but in 1688 the Parliament of the Kingdom of England, (three countries), had the, “Glorious Revolution”. In which they deposed the monarch they shared with the still independent Kingdom of Scotland. Then they imported King Billy & Queen Mary of Orange, (but removed from them the Royal Veto over Parliament). Thus began the Jacobite Uprisings. It was NOT a rebellion as Scots could not rebel against a monarchy not their own and Scotland was still an dependent Kingdom in 1688. The English Parliament arrogantly imposed the English choice of monarchy upon Scotland and the Jacobite uprisings spanned the Treaty of Union until 1745.

So consider this. The three country Kingdom of England did not end the rule of the Royals and Aristocracy. Instead they just made the three English Kingdom countries a constitutional Monarchy and parliament thus assumed the role of the monarch & the lords. They did, after all, retain the House of Lords and thus continued the evil Feudal System including the imposition of Feu Duty.

In 1706/7 they imposed the Treaty of Union upon Scotland and just assumed that Westminster had and retained sovereignty over Scotland. They thus imposed the feudal system over Scotland. We still have the Royalty, the Aristocracy but in 1688 the Parliament of the Kingdom of England, (three countries), had the, “Glorious Revolution”. In which they deposed the monarch they shared with the Kingdom of Scotland and they imported King Billy & Queen Mary of Orange but removed from then the Royal Veto over Parliament. Thus began the Jacobite Uprisings. It was NOT a rebellion as you cannot rebel against a monarchy not your own and Scotland was independent in 1688.

The English Parliament arrogantly imposed the English choice of monarch upon Scotland and the Jacobite uprisings spanned the Treaty of Union until 1745. So consider this. The three country Kingdom of England did not end the rule of the Royals & aristocracy. They just made the three English Kingdom countries a constitutional Monarchy and parliament assumed the role of the Lords and also kept the House of Lords. They thus continued the Feudal including Feu Duty.

In 1706/7 they imposed the Treaty of Union and assumed that Westminster retained the feudal system over Scotland. As I began this post – Parliament is designed to depute the elected members as our feudal overlords under the guise of being our elected servants. The truth is they remain the masters and the electorate remain the servants. Note how the leaders of all the Establishment unionist parties are mainly from the same elite background. So, just as I said when I began this post – Parliament is designed to depute the elected members as our feudal overlords under the guise of being our elected servants. The truth is they have remained our the masters and we, the electorate, remain the servants. Note how the present leaders of all the Establishment Unionist parties are mainly drawn from the same rich elite background?

Now anyone care to prove me wrong? Before you do consider how many times Cameron says, ā€œMy Government, My country, the British Armed Forces and so on. However, the legal standing of everything is actually, ā€œHer Majesty’s Government, Her Majesty’s Treasury, The Royal Navy, Air Force and the Queen’s Soldiers. The Royal Mint and not to forget such as Her Majesty’s Stationary Office and Her Majesty’s Subjects. Now about that removed Royal veto over parliament? Think about it folks. I kid you not.

88. Stoker

A toast to the wee chap in the black velvet coat!
    šŸ™‚

89. bald eagle

good afternoon wing-dingers

whats the scores on the doors

quick question if kezia is the dug

is the smurph the dugs baws

90. Fred

It’s not a German Road that Cameron needs, it’s a Yellow Brick Road.

91. Meindevon

Murphy’s pledge to use English mansion taxes for Scottish nurses just appeared in the telegraph. Can’t wait to see the comments. Hehe.

Sorry can’t do the archive link thingy. Maybe someone else could, cheers.

92. Black Douglas

@cynicalHighlander

https://archive.today/C0y2C

And so it begins

The same story on the EBC šŸ™

93. Papadox

@Robert Peffers 2:36 pm

Very informative Robert, I have always thought and believed what you state in your post but never had the ability to put it on paper as you have done. Thank you sir.

We (the serfs) are allowed 1 minute out of every 5 years to put a we cross on a piece of paper to select who will be our lords and masters for the next 5 years. So they can impose the Elites wishes on the “serfs” and say it’s a democratic process. The system is putrid and you can trace the ruling class threads that run through the generations of parliamentarians. The common parliamentarians are allowed to steal from the trough, while the true rulers get to play at the gold table.

If you think they are going to let it go easily after hundreds of years of conning the peasants then we need to think again.

94. JPFife

I’m sure other alert readers have spotted this, second quoted paragraph below of great interest?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-30681487

“Elsewhere, Scottish secretary and Lib Dem MP Alistair Carmichael promised new powers allowing 16 and 17-year-olds to vote in Scottish Parliament elections would be transferred to Holyrood before the UK election.

He also said “good progress” had been made on a bill for Scotland’s new devolved powers, which will be put on hold until after May.”

95. Jim Thomson

@Clarinda 2:22pm

Here’s the link to the stock photo

http://www.istockphoto.com/photo/country-highway-7813413?st=4398129

Looks like they’ve really done a seriously poor photoshop job on it. I’d be asking for my money back if I was Gideon.

96. Nana Smith

From SNP….

Labour sums ‘simply don’t make sense’

Labour have shown that they cannot be trusted with Scotlandā€™s finances or Scotlandā€™s NHS after cursory scrutiny saw their spending claims fall apart.

Despite claiming that a mansion tax would generate Ā£1.2 billion across the whole of the UK, Labour in Scotland have claimed that they expect to see Ā£250 million come to Scotland from the policy ā€“ more than 20 per cent of the total revenue raised.

The amount of additional funds transferred to Scotland under the Barnett Formula would depend on what proportion of this sum was spent on devolved areas ā€“ but even if Ā£1.2 billion was spent in full on devolved areas Scotland would receive far less than the Ā£250 million Labour in Scotland has claimed.

Meanwhile Labourā€™s promise of recruiting additional nurses has been described as a welcome desire to follow the SNPā€™s lead. Since the SNP took office, the number of whole time equivalent (WTE) qualified nurses and midwives in Scotland has increased by around 1,700.

Commenting, SNP Westminster Leader Angus Robertson MP said:

ā€œLabour may have a new leader in Scotland, but it seems that their policies remain as nonsensical as ever.

ā€œWhile Labourā€™s desire to follow the SNPā€™s lead in recruiting more nurses is welcome, their sums simply donā€™t make sense.

ā€œEven if every penny of the money Labour expects a mansion tax to generate was eligible for Barnett consequentials, it would see Scotland gain far less than what Jim Murphy is claiming.

ā€œAll Jim Murphy is showing with these ridiculous figures is that he cannot be trusted with Scotlandā€™s finances or Scotlandā€™s NHS.

ā€œSince the SNP took office, the number of qualified nurses and midwives in Scotlandā€™s NHS has increased by around 1,700 and the SNP is already committed to passing on Barnett consequentials from health spending to Scotlandā€™s NHS, so this announcement does not promise any new money whatsoever.

ā€œWhile Labour tries to pull the wool over peopleā€™s eyes by claiming it will spend the same money over and over again, we have delivered real progress for Scotland.ā€

Labour claiming a mansion tax will raise Ā£1.2 billion across the UK can be viewed at http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/mansion-tax-london-mps-cal

The claim that Scotland would receive an additional Ā£250 million can be viewed at http://www.scottishlabour.org.uk/blog/entry/scottish-labours-first-elect

97. Capella

@ Robert Peffers. Great to see you’re back again with your historical perspective.
    So the monarch in London is not, in fact, the Queen of Scots. The House of Lords has no jurisdiction in Scotland and the Houses of Parliament do not represent us in any commonly understood democratic way. OK. where do we go from here?

98. Nana Smith

Journalists[if you can call them that] seem to have taken to the term insurgents with relish. Bloody cheek!

Fending off insurgents, main parties limp towards closest election in memory

http://uk.reuters.com/article/2015/01/05/uk-britain-politics-idUKKBN0KE16Y20150105?rpc=401

99. Midgehunter

I actually quite like being an insurgent, it makes me want to get the tweezers out and pull on the nose hairs of SLAB politicians… šŸ™‚

100. Karmanaut

Murphy’s 1000 extra nurses.

Milibrain has promised Ā£2.5bn per year extra into the UK NHS, raised partially from mansion tax (Ā£1.2bn), so the Barnett consequentials of this should see Scotland get around Ā£250m extra.

It would then, presumably, be up to the Scottish government to decide where that money was spent. They could spend it on nurses and other NHS services if they wanted to.

Cameron has promised to “ring fence” NHS spending in real terms, which (while not stated specifically) suggests an extra Ā£12.7bn over 5 years if it is to keep pace with current spending. (So, about Ā£2.5bn per year, if the Guardian is correct).

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/oct/01/david-cameron-nhs-budget-pledge-2015-election

Again, the Barnett consequentials are Ā£250m. And again, presumably, it would be up to the Scottish government to decide where that money was spent.

I just don’t see where Scottish Labour comes into it at all.

101. thoughtsofascot

@Bunter

Caught a read of The Sun in the barbers this morn and read a great editorial by Andrew Nicoll where he called out Slab on their vote No to save the NHS con , their two facedness and also the big lie of vote Labour to stop the Tories getting in.

I now see why its only the Clegg and Crighton of The Rectum who appear on BBC political programmes, despite their rag being second to The Sun for sales.

Easy one. There is an unnaturally cozy relationship between BBCjockland, the Daily Rectum and the Red Tories. The Sun may be a Murdoch paper, but that’s exactly why the BBC don’t like it. He hangs above them like a specter, waiting for that moment when the Tories finally decide to privatize the BBC.

102. Harry McAye

Sky News have been running a feature on the election build up today, featuring a graphic I thought was GB minus Scotland as I naively believed they were just concentrating on England today but incredibly that narrow wee bit at the top is meant to be Scotland. I also caught some reporter refer to SNP votes in the North. Yep, got it once again No voters thank you, we are just North Britain now.

103. boris

The Scottish electorate has a choice. Elect any of the foregoing and suffer the brutal imposition of unfettered austerity far worse than experienced over the last 5 years. OR Elect a powerful group of SNP MPā€™s who, in opposition will strongly defend Scots providing temperance to the aforesaid austerity measures, extracting from government concessions rightfully due to Scotland.

http://caltonjock.com/2015/01/05/austerity-2015-2020-at-least-get-ready-to-rumble/

104. Ken500

Westminster mis-spending and inappropriate policies in Scotland, result’s in a Ā£20Billion+ deficit being allocated to Scotland – money which Scotland neither borrows or spends? They are to give Scotland Ā£250Million. Doesn’t quite add up. Labour/Unionists balance sheet. Not very good at Maths.

105. handclapping

Looking at Referendum pics, just noticed that if you read what it says on the placards, it says “Vote NO Scottish Labour“.
    I’ll drink to that šŸ™‚

106. bookie from hell

best tweet seen today

labour pledge proclaimers to walk 1500 miles

107. Albaman

@Robert Peffers,
    Aye, and when “William the Bastard”, finnished his nationwide stock taking, which the AngloSaxons rightly called it “The Doomsday Book”, because they knew what was coming, aye, nothing less that ethnic cleansing !!, at least 98% of the AngloSaxon land owners were removed, and the Norman’s and their followers were installed, Job done by that bastard!.
    But here’s the thing to bear in mind, the Norman’s NEVER left, they are still here today, and guess where you’ll find where there genetic trail would lead you to!, aye, the so called ruling classes, and they are there in all walks of our life’s, telling us we are too wee, too stupid, too poor, Ect .

108. manandboy

The group of people who decide the outcome of any General Election in the UK will already have met – not to discuss the result, but the strategy.

With low levels of support for the two main Unionist Establishment parties in England, and the shit ready to hit the fan in Scotland, the power brokers will know that the usual toolbox of propaganda and ballot rigging will not suffice.
    There is still too much risk because the voters are angry and restless for retribution.
    Securing the right result is going to require a bit more.

All the Referendum tactics will be in play at GE15, including the false bribe just before the 7th, but we should expect a little extra.
    The stakes are still close to max.

The worst case scenario will be if the next WM Government does not have overall control at Westminster without the SNP. This is what the men in suits will try to avoid at all costs.

This is the reason why a lot of London money will be poured into unionist Murphy’s campaign to keep unionist Labour afloat in Scotland.

The result in Scotland will be the most strategically important of the lot. For the Unionist Establishment,
    power MUST reside exclusively in England, at Westminster.

The Referendum result MUST be kept INTACT.

It’s up to us to make sure it doesn’t.

109. You and My Comb

Labour are claiming that SNP are not passing on the full amount of money received to the NHS and are quoting the IFS. What’s the basis of the IFS claim?

110. Alex Clark

@manandboy

I think you make a very good point about how strategically important the vote in Scotland turns out to be and that this has already been recognized.

No doubt we will find out for definite in the coming weeks.

111. Alex Clark

No place for the SNP in the televised debates for example?

112. Jamie Arriere

The ‘thousand more’ satire is beginning :

Slab to pledge to make the Proclaimers walk 1,500 miles (courtesy of @endless_psych on Twitter)

113. Lollysmum

@ Alex Clark
    ‘No place for the SNP in the televised debates’

No Alex-there won’t be because they know that Nicola would impress the national electorate. Look at the way she destroyed Galloway’s arguments in the referendum debate & he is known as a ‘bruiser’ in debates or hustings.

They can’t afford SNP to have the oxygen of exposure because it will show up the WM based parties to be the liars they are. They have spent the last 30 years lying to England & Wales about the Scots & their supposed hatred of the English. That hatred has been manufactured by WM for their own purposes to ensure that we won’t make common cause in the public interest.

Also bear in mind how well Alex was recieved on Question Time from Liverpool. He made mincemeat of the other panellists & the audience loved him. That’s why they don’t want him in WM either because he can challenge them publicly & it can’t be covered up as all proceedings are recorded in Hansard & publicly available.

The only way they think they stand a chance of winning votes is if they deny SNP a platform.

Bookie from hell
    Best tweets for me today was the ones from SNP members using #inSturgeonts & #inSturgeoncy hashtags thus making a mockery out of what was intended as an offensive label ascribed to SNP by WM. They really don’t like it when voters take their words & put them to their own uses.

I’m an #insturgeont in heart of the enemy camp, as is arthur thompson wahay šŸ™‚

114. Robert Peffers

@Papadox says: 5 January, 2015 at 3:59 pm:

Very informative Robert, I have always thought and believed what you state in your post but never had the ability to put it on paper as you have done. Thank you sir.”

Actually, Papadox, I garbled it a bit. I was working three computers at once. Answering email on the wee netbook, editing a video on the main desktop and in between trying to write that potted history on the laptop. I repeated part of the story by a cack-handed cut & paste from the spell-checker.

It is surprising what comes to light when reading history with an open mind. Here’s a strange couple of wee facts for examples. “Scotland Yard”, (recently sold by the Met), was so called because it was originally the independent Scotland’s embassy in London.

Another fact is that the Royal Bruce family owned an area of land that is now part of London’s Civil Service area of Whitehall.

The truth is often unrecognized by being out in the open. I was once asked to do some secret work at Rosyth Dockyard during Navy Day, a normally closed for all Dockyard work weekend. On the day we found ourselves working on a prototype missile launcher under a canvas area fenced off from the rest of the yard by scaffolding. This area was supposed to be a dock gate caisson under repair.

So we sat there amid thousands of visitors hidden away among the crowd putting a missile launcher through it’s paces. Things are often not what they seem.

115. Robert Peffers

@Capella says: 5 January, 2015 at 4:27 pm:

“@So the monarch in London is not, in fact, the Queen of Scots.

Well of course she is, as a direct descendant of the old Scottish Monarchy. The point is that under Scottish law the monarchy are not sovereign. This was declared in the Declaration of Arbroath. I quote it here : – (The declaration here speaks of King Robert Bruce), ā€œYet if he should give up what he has begun, and agree to make us or our kingdom subject to the King of England or the English, we should exert ourselves at once to drive him out as our enemy and a subverter of his own rights and ours, and make some other man who was well able to defend us our King; for, as long as but a hundred of us remain alive, never will we on any conditions be brought under English rule. It is in truth not for glory, nor riches, nor honours that we are fighting, but for freedom ā€” for that alone, which no honest man gives up but with life itself.ā€

This is a basic statement of Scottish law. The Monarch is chosen by the people as the, “Protector of the people’s sovereignty”. He/she can be sacked by them if considered not to do their job. This is also the basis of the Scottish Claim of Right.

“The House of Lords has no jurisdiction in Scotland and the Houses of Parliament do not represent us in any commonly understood democratic way.

The fact that the people of Scotland are legally sovereign means that no one can rule us without our express consent, And that’s the problem, Capella, The English parliament assumed in 1688 that English law applied also to the still independent Kingdom of Scotland and by the English Parliament deposing King James II of England this also deposed the King of Scots. Hence the Jacobite Uprisings. Then the Scottish landowners, (parliamentarians), sold our birth-right by signing a Treaty of Union in Our Name. Which by even modern standards would have been declared illegal.

Even then the Treaty was a bipartite deal between two equally sovereign kingdoms, (the English part of which had already annexed both Wales & Ireland). How then can an rUK exist when one of only two equal partners dissolves the Union? Explain if you can how a United Kingdom of two kingdoms can exist when one leaves? When did any other kingdom ever join the Union? Wales is still an English Principality and Ireland was annexed by England in 1542 by the Crown of Ireland Act. The partition of Ireland did not create a new kingdom of Northern Ireland.

“OK. where do we go from here?

We obviously have a sound case to leave the union if a majority of the sovereign people of Scotland vote to do so. We do not require to legally ask either her Majesty nor her English Parliament to do so. Remember that the Three country Kingdom of England is a constitutional monarchy but that monarchy is not sovereign under Scottish law. Lizzie rules the Scots only by their legal and sovereign consent.

116. Capella

@ Robert Peffers
    This is a basic statement of Scottish law. The Monarch is chosen by the people as the, ā€œProtector of the peopleā€™s sovereigntyā€. He/she can be sacked by them if considered not to do their job.
    But the monarch was not chosen by the people of Scotland but by the Parliament in England. Hence the Jacobite wars.
    It could be argued that, by interfering in the referendum at the request of David Cameron, the monarch did not act in the interest of her Scottish subjects, but acted in the interests of multinational corporations which David Cameron represents.
    I was agnostic about the monarchy during the referendum campaign. But now I am republican. What is the point of a Head of State who acts against your interests?

117. Alan Mackintosh

Had forgotten about this Stu. Nobody who saw this at the time actually considered that the three hedgehogs would be the individuals rather than the parties. Perhaps Chris should start playing the Lottery…

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.