Tidings of comfort and joy

Posted on December 26, 2015 by

Scotland’s two best-selling newspapers on Christmas Eve and Boxing Day:

tidings

We suppose we should just be grateful that they don’t publish on the day itself. The “STARVING REFUGEE BABIES RAPED BY AIDS DOGS” story* they’d doubtless lead with might put people off their turkey.

*PAGE 4: READ ABOUT KHLOE KARDASHIAN’S PERFECT RESPONSE AS SHE TWEETED A PICTURE OF HER ARSE AND A SADFACE EMOJI

PAGE 5: JK ROWLING SLAMS VILE CYBERNATS OVER SICK ‘SATIRICAL NEWSPAPER HEADLINES’ ARTICLE MOCKING BABY-RAPE HORROR

PAGE 7: CBI BOSS – PEOPLE HAVING CHRISTMAS DAY OFF COSTS THE UK ECONOMY £17 TRILLION A YEAR

PAGE 10: HOW AN INDEPENDENT SCOTLAND WOULD BE UNABLE TO DEFEND ITSELF AGAINST AIDS DOGS

PAGES 15-16: FASHION SPECIAL: THE 20 BEST LITTLE BLACK DRESSES YOU CAN ALSO WEAR TO A GANGLAND FUNERAL

PAGES 22-40: REFUGEE BABY CRISIS WON’T AFFECT OUR PERFORMANCES ON THE FIELD, SAYS WARBS 

1. 26 12 15 11:43

Tidings of comfort and joy | Speymouth

97 to “Tidings of comfort and joy”

1. Donald MacKenzie

How do we defend ourselves against ‘aids dogs’ at the moment? Not sure I’ve seen much written on the subject.

2. Bill

Slow hand clap for the Sun & Daily Record for stressing a nation. It’s almost as if Murdoch is doing it deliberately.

3. James Sneddon

Looks at last one and waits for outrage from our friends at “FF’ as there is only 18 pages on the ‘teddy bears’ Seriously, your sense of humour hits the spot this dreich boxing day.

4. donald anderson

“Sturgeon and Salmond Ate My Aids Dog.”
    Anti Scottish office leak.

5. Coire

In a country where a large section of the population suffer depression, the corp media with their endlessly pessimistic and bleak spin on life surely must shoulder some responsibility.

6. Valerie

Aids dogs? Wtf? Cos there just ain’t enough dogs dumped at Xmas?

Has the Rev been hacked? How can any of that be real stuff?

7. Macart

Ayup, they’re a laugh a minute.

FFS.

8. bjsalba

This Newspaper will self destruct in …………

9. paul gerard mccormack

Lower than bottom feeders, or vermin and that is a real insult to catfish and rats.

or as they say in Hungarian, soft-brained pumpkin heads.

10. Grouse Beater

Sick journalists publishing a sick newspaper.

11. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Has the Rev been hacked? How can any of that be real stuff?”

(1) It’s not real. It’s satire. Hence “SATIRICAL NEWSPAPER HEADLINES”.

(2) Starting on New Year’s Day, saying “Have you been hacked?” will be an instant banning offence.

12. Marcia

Those headlines are a bit more cheery compared to what they normally print.

13. Dan Huil

PFP – Private Fraser Pessimism

It’s the last refuge of BritNat “journalism”.

14. HandandShrimp

Newspapers

…..loving sensationalism since 1609

(at least it wasn’t bad squirrel aids)

15. handclapping

That Marcia (11:26) has a really sunny disposition if she thinks that! 🙂

@Inner Bearsden snotty Urchin
    I’m fine thanks. The Rev and all you BtLers are doing just fine without me so there’s no need for me to say what somebody else as has said better. Of course there’s always john deMan but but you’ll never get rid of him.

Boxing Day is when one gives a present to those that have served you faithfully all year. Money is acceptable 😀

16. Effijy

We all know these thought vomit articles are just there for those unfortunate enough to think that newspapers have some form of obligation to morality and to present facts to their readership.

My dear old Mum continues to buy a newspaper, as she reads the
    intimations section and enjoys the crossword.
    The rest of it is pretty much just politically biased bile and goes completely unread.

Every day they sell fewer copies, every day they lose advertising revenues, every day they draw closer to their final editions.

On a positive note, praise be that Scotland has one political party that puts its people, and its future first.

The Rev and the WoS community at least provide one source of
    Truth, Justice and Compassion in this Westminster wasteland.

Seasons greetings to all of you wonderful caring people!

17. louis.b.argyll

The M9 ‘story’ is indeed ‘sad’, but not headline news.
    To decry another person’s grief-
    and shout it from the rooftops..
    is ‘sick’.

The Sun and Record ‘are sick’ and should be left in the gutter until they no longer pose a health risk to the rest of us.

IN THE SAME WAY AS WOMEN CAN BE OFFENDED BY TOPLESS/SEXIST FRONT PAGES BEING ON SHOW ON THE SHELVES..

..SO TOO SHOULD WE, BE ENTITLED TO REMOVE SUGGESTIVE AND OFFENSIVE MISCONCEPTIONS and place upside down or on a higher shelf.

The right wing agenda is splattered all over our newsstands and it is quite disgusting some days.

18. David Smith

Parody, it appears, is redundant in Scotland’s tabloid “journalism” these days.
    I think it reasonable to argue that any kind of tact, principle and humanity are also long gone from a section of printed publishing that makes Viz look like highbrow intellect. ?

19. thomaspotter2014

These disgusting rags must really be reaching the end of their chosen path(self destruction hopefully).

Seeing them this morning made me feel almost physically sick to my stomach.

Reminded me of the worst headlines of The’News’of the World and that takes some doing.

On the upside their miserable desperation to do Scotland down, being so blatantly all they exist for, signals that they are fighting a losing battle and amen to that.

I personally cannot wait for their demise,it can’t come soon enough,though I’m heartily cheered that this day draws closer.

Wouldn’t it be nice just to have a collection of fair, balanced,and not 100% doom and gloom saddos pushing their poisonous pish doon oor throats,day in and day out?

And have normal newspapers and media just for a wee change?

We need to rise above their daily downers and remember that another Scotland is and will be possible very soon.

After 308 years- we’ve not long to go now.

Not long to go.

Chin up and don’t let the bastards grind you down.

Have a nice day everybody-it might be raining but’s it’s good honest Scottish rain.

20. Calum McKay

Two weeks ago after the sad death of a decent all round man and journalist of the highest quality, the press were trying to bask in his reflected glory, ability and humanity of Ian Bell.

Point being, Ian was one of less than a handful of respected journalists with integrity in Scotland,.

The remainder punt out anti SNP manufactured garbage, ‘there”s been a murder”, Kim’s butt, Simon’s trousers, royal sprog or regurgitate labour press releases after a lunch time o’booze.

This stuff (apt description), pointed out by Stuart is typical, it is now being repeated by the state broadcaster in Scotland controlled by London.

No wonder a people manipulated by the press over years voted no. But as time passes, people are wisening up and seeing the so called Scottish press for what it is, a bunch of unionist trolls, licensed to print crap!

21. Bill Hume

Ha,ha,ha. Well done Rev. It must be quite difficult thinking up ‘headlines’ which are more outrageous than the daily ordure poured forth from the MSM.

Completely O/T. Have a good boxing day, well, better than mine. Mother in Law resides with us until 5th Jan…..and my wife has a broken leg…..deep joy.

Off to make a steak pie for dinner.

22. Smallaxe

Churnalism!

23. louis.b.argyll

Aye,
    …frustrating / tricky for Scottish Government to inspire the population into greater health awareness, self-empowerment issues etc.

These papers have a directly negative effect on the ‘who can we blame for bad behaviour’ within our lazy society..
    .. when blaming others (repeatedly) is the wrong route towards any solution.

24. Joemcg

No wonder scaring the shit out of the population and constant negativity won the day last year. We have been preprogrammed for decades reading this utter depressing tosh. (The real stuff!) until the MSM is not in our faces and influencing our people 24/7 we face an uphill battle.

25. jdman

handclapping
    “@Inner Bearsden snotty Urchin
    I’m fine thanks.”

To any who may not know who that is,
    it’s this guy
    http://tinyurl.com/hgo2m6e

26. galamcennalath

Sometimes people claim that the Corp Media subject us to a narrow biased agenda dictated by the Establishment. Crime, celebs, xenophobia, anti-poor, etc etc.. A mix of deflection from issues they would prefer we don’t consider too deeply, and shepherding towards group thinking on topics which keeps the masses quiet.

Comparisons are made with Soviet era media in Russia , or the output of the North Korean state broadcaster.

There is a big difference. Traditional Soviet media focused on good news!

‘Excavator production at the No3 Minsk factory is up for the third year running!’ … stirring and motivating stuff!

We get remarkably little good news, whether it be propaganda or genuine!

27. Conan the Librarian™

My favourite is the good old reliable “SNP Accused”. You know where you are with an “SNP accused” article, instead of this newfangled “SNP BAAD” approach.

28. louis.b.argyll

Maybe we need to picket for the truth. Instead of a cow in a supermarket milk aisle maybe.. A flock of sheep representing those still buying these rags.. Or.. just cow pats on the news shelves, masking the sm (oh wait, it’s, holidays).. Nice.

29. louis.b.argyll

Fairtrade news?

30. Dr Jim

Whit? Whit?

Is that no whit’s usually in them?

Maybe they’ll start the New Year with a clean sl ( Nah, somebody stop me)

31. Macart

I see Mr Gardham is up to his misrepresentative best in the Herald again.

To save folks the bother of visiting his guff, his representation of history is as follows:

The premise? SNP Bad is a bad thing and hampers scrutiny of the SNP govt. (ah know, but it gets worse).

a. Basically SNP Bad is an invention of the SNP in an attempt to divert attention of their governance.

b. The SNP are the only party and worst offenders when it comes to demonisation of other parties. The others apparently being so focussed on proper government policy n’ that I suppose.

c. Historically Scottish Labour leaders never paid much heed to the SNP.

d. With all these wonderful new gifted powers which will make our parly the most devolviest parly in the history of devolution scrutiny is more important than ever.

e. It lowers the tone of serious debate.

Now its the season of good will so don’t go off on one for heavens sake, but dang that piece by Mr Gardham is so full of inaccuracy, misdirection, misrepresentation and the biggest dose of poor me/soor grapes I’ve seen in some time.

So a party without a single friendly media voice or outlet has ‘apparently’ successfully undermined every party in our democracy and communicated their evil message how precisely to the electorate?

They created the SNP Bad meme and sold it to the public as a cunning and subtle strategy to avoid scrutiny and debase public debate or engagement…

FFS.

32. Valerie

Ooo errr, not looking for a ban, Rev.

I don’t see satirical on your post, hence my confusion, as these could be taken from any of the BUM papers.

33. Ken500

The ‘Prophets of Doom’

Never a good word to say about anyone, especially the Scottish Gov.

The MSM owned by tax evading Non Doms. Trash who support sanctioning and starving the vulnerable, so they can tax evade. Greedy pigs. Bribing public officials. Most of them should be in jail. No one believes a word they say.

Leveson should have been implimented.

34. Mental Paul

If we are unable to control these aids dogs then surely border controls would be inevitable for an independent Scotland. I didn’t see this in the white paper. What else has salmond been hiding?

35. Iain

It’s a fine thought that in less than nine years nobody’s going to read Scotland’s champion as it will have no readers left. Have a very happy and peaceful new year all the wingers.

36. Scot Finlayson

What turns journalists into miserable hacks ?

it is not only the ethics and standards of today`s hacks that are a problem it is the quality of their scribblings,

hacks seem to be employed not for their skill in writing but more for their lack of scruples and any vestige of morality.

37. frogesque

Like most folk I am heartsick tired of the negativity shitstorm over Scotland.

We have so much to be proud of, maybe time for a flash mob outside the Daily Misery HQ.

38. heedtracker

Newsstands anywhere in Scotland shops are like little gates to hell, with royals groveling or extremely creepy leching thrown in. If you buy English broadsheets like The Graun, its a total black out from Scotland or

http://wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/salmondbell.jpg

Lovely bunch.

39. schrodingers cat

@conan

you need to go to page 2 for the salmond accused article.

Salmond_accused_of_grandstanding_following_his_trip_to_Tehran/

Hogmanay always brings out a touch of nostalgia for the old campaigners 🙂

40. Croompenstein

‘Gers vs Hibs Showdown’ on the front f*ckin page!!

Really??

2nd division match, only in Scotland 🙁

41. Clootie

… I can remember horses pulling delivery wagons, gas lighting, trafficators, AA patrol men saluting you, wash houses, carpet beaters, wringers, trams in Glasgow…..and journalism

42. Socrates MacSporran

Might 2016 indeed be: The Year of the Sex Olympics?

For younger Wingers, this was a 1960s BBC2 play, which forecast a future world where a bunch of superior types, living in a London media bubble, poured-out a daily diet of porn and stupidity, to be gratefully ingested by the common herd.

Sound familiar?

Right now,between porn pedlars and the Unco Guid Holy Willie’s, with their daily mantra of: “SNP Bad”, I fear Scottish journalism is going to Hell in a hand-cart.

43. cearc

Conan,

A tragic change of emphasis, robbing you of your raison d’etre!

44. David

you forgot outside loos, beds and peevers, rounders and bogies, the rag man and onion jonny, coal briquettes the coal man and the coal bunker……the Coop and your divi, broken biscuits and brown paper bags, taking your bottle back and being paid for it and a penny dainty that lasted for ever, trolly busses, supporting your local footty team – Clyde winning the Scottish Cup and Newspapers to lite the fire and wipe your bum with……NOT a lot changed really

45. maxxmacc

These ‘newspapers’ are slowly dying out, but not fast enough. I think there is a possibility to emulate the success of the Metro, by utilising the same distribution network of buses and trains to reach the population. The trick would be to put a free, pro-Scotland newspaper out on a Saturday/Sunday which people could then get via their local form of transport.

It’s a business model which has succeeded well for the Metro, so why not for a pro-independence newspaper. The secret is selling the advertising space, but surely it could be achieved. It would help consin the DR and other rags to the dustbin of history.

46. call me dave

@Clootie

Aye and Napier Tables; miners rows with tin baths; A and B buttons on the phones and the CO-OP delivering your messages on a horse drawn cart… Oh wait! 🙂

Merry Christmas Handclapping!

47. Conan the Librarian™

I mind when the Record had page three girls.

Now tits edit the thing.

48. ScottishPsyche

So the latest angle is to turn their own propaganda against the ‘victim’ with SNPBad.

Leasky bemoaning it was ever thus that government was ‘held to account’- if ever there was a more overused and tired phrase and speaks volumes that he feels they are doing nothing wrong.

The MSM perspective is becoming more and more tortured and distorted with time. Do they even know what is true anymore? I genuinely feel concern for anyone deluded enough to take them at face value.

It seems nothing will help except to start again from scratch. The sooner they are all gone the better.

49. Phronesis

Indymedia and new communicative spaces like Wings disrupting and reimagining media freedom- a new forum to discuss the function of state, the markets and civil society and rejecting the mouthpiece of profit and corporatisation aka the MSM.

Ex PM Blair led the way in containing the truth using the MSM as the messenger,

‘Our news today is instant,hostile to subtlety or qualification.Combine two ideas or sentiments together and mass communication will not repeat them , it will choose between them.
    To avoid misinterpretation strip down a policy or opinion to one clear line before the media does it for you.Think in headlines.’ (Rentoul, 2001. ‘Tony Blair ,Prime Minister’).

Of course that only works if you have a dumbed down electorate that doesn’t look critically beyond the headlines and is incapable of looking for the truth from other sources.And once people learn how to do that they are no longer interested in the level of journalism highlighted in these ‘news’papers.

50. Andy-B

I can’t believe people still read those shit rags, the Daily Record and the Sun have no credibility.

New Year resolution to convince and convert anyone I can away from reading the Daily Record. The London owned gutter rag has no place in a future independent Scotland.

51. Andy-B

Magnus Gardham, giving it the SNP bad routine.

https://mobile.twitter.com/gardhamht

52. Alex Montrose

The SNP BAAD Christmas Panto is set to run all the way till May, and beyond.

53. Valerie

McKenna also has one of his predictable smear pieces.

Interesting sounding headline, so I stupidly clicked through to read, a few paras down, repeated garbage about SNP failing on so many fronts, but nothing shakes their support.

It’s just this pathetic psychological warfare, and its so insulting, but it’s working well for us.

54. Cactus

Yeah, what was to stop both of them newspapers running with more pleasant, well-wishing ‘Seasonal Souvenir’ covers.. ye know with pictures of Santa, snowflakes, wise men and suchlike. Instead, they’ve got a case of the negative Noél.

Then again, turning from the festive cover to the inside page, could be too much of a good to bad effect.

Anyroad, next event up on the Scottish calendar.. Hogmanay!

55. Jack Murphy

From Journalism.co.uk
    Journalism [and BBC in Scotland] by Colin Meek,pre-referendum last year.
    Opening paras:
    “The Better Together campaign has effectively won the Scottish independence referendum: aside from the ‘wounded still to be bayoneted’. That was the claim made by Glasgow Labour MP Ian Davidson late last year. Nobody denies that politics can get bare-knuckle at times, but even by the standards of the bitter struggle over independence, that jaw-dropping statement has resonated in the campaign ever since.

Mr Davidson certainly intended to provoke the Yes campaign, but for many close to the issues north of the border, it wasn’t the arrogance of the prediction that was most astonishing. Instead, it was the fact that the use of such a violent analogy could be made, by the chair of the Westminster Scottish Affairs Select Committee, with so little attention from the mainstream press.

What would happen, they ask, if Angus Robertson or Nicola Sturgeon of the SNP drop a similar clanger? Rightly so, the fury would be deafening. But the comment was made by a Scottish Labour stalwart who is the embodiment of New Labour unionism, and it fell under the news radar.” [!!!!!!!] 🙁

Another para:”Scotland has transformed itself since devolution, but in many ways Scotland’s traditional media has stagnated. Remarkably, not one of the truly national daily papers sold in Scotland is owned north of the border. Even those based in Scotland are owned in England or the US – including the Scotsman and the Herald. When viewed in that context, there is little surprise that none of them support the Yes campaign.” 🙁

https://www.journalism.co.uk/news-commentary/is-traditional-journalism-broken-in-scotland-/s6/a555869/

56. Iain More

As if Xmas wasn’t stressful enough. Glad I avoid them. Ebenezer is a cheery bugger by comparison!

57. brewsed

Greetings and felicitations to fellow wingers.

I no longer register surprise, anger, dismay etc. at the [lack of] standards exhibited by some purveyors of so-called journalism. As a post indyref latecomer to Wings I have, hopefully, learned from the Rev dot Stu to read between the lines and take absolutely nothing written in the press at face value; there always appears to be either a hidden agenda or laziness and sloppy journalism – mostly reverberating to the sound of SNPBaaaad. While I can accept that the tabloids are barely a step removed from comics it is continually disappointing that the so called broadsheets only differentiate themselves from the gutter (press) when covering the same topics by using more and longer words.

As for the BBC – I cannot complain as I do not contribute to its funding. If you have not read this, you may find this interesting: http://bellacaledonia.org.uk/2015/10/19/the-view-from-nowhere-impartiality-objectivity-bias-and-the-bbc/

Cheers and best wishes

58. Andy Nimmo

I realise that this may come as a bit of a shock but psychopaths actually take immense pleasure in the suffering they cause to their victims.
    In Ukokland, psychopathy is now reaching epidemic proportions.

59. ross

…Atari 2600, He-man, 10p mixes with 10 sweets or 8 if there was a refresher, full football strips (socks didn’t cost a fortune like now), Glen somethings cavalcade, Ice cream vans that sold fags (wtf!!!lol), 4 channels, coat hanger arials (TV’s and cars), pornos found in bushes, Wimpy burger (thers still one in the Broch)…

60. galamcennalath

… wee B&W TV in a big wooden box, two channels, The One O’Clock Gang, ten bob notes, Fireball XL5, Hillman Husky, a fridge arriving in the kitchen, Ready Steady Go!, butcher’s travelling shop, the teacher’s Lochgelly 🙁

61. Valerie

I don’t remember my primary school teacher referring to his Lochgelly.

He had two belts called Rawhide and Black Magic. He sometimes gave the victim the choice, and the rest of the class had to watch the poor soul trying to choose.

A tad sadistic.

62. Bryan

So what are you going to line the bottom of your bird cages with and puppy house training when these rags go under, ‘The Scotsman’?

63. Skooshcase

The Unionist print media is doomed in Scotland. No matter what they do, or attempt to do, their existence will be flushed down the shitter eventually; even the most stubborn of shites eventually gives up its resistance to repeated flushings and makes its way down the waste-pipe.

Then, Scottish society will be able to breath without holding its nose to the stench of the Unionist media stinking out the country.

Independence will make that a certainty. Too bad we have to deal with the media filth until then.

64. Tam Jardine

Magnus Gardham states in the Herald (and Leasky has his back):

“SNP bad isn’t just a way of deflecting questions or criticism, it’s a way of mocking opponents who have the temerity to raise issues of legitimate concern. As such, it betrays a complacency bordering on arrogance and contributes to an infantilized political culture in which supporters and activists begin to resemble the fan base of a teen pop band.”

What I am reading from Gardham are the rantings of a lunatic. Nobody really put any credence in these other rags but the herald was a proper newspaper and guys like Leask and Gardham and Hutcheon have, in the opinion of this former reader destroyed the reputation of not just that old newspaper, they have destroyed the credibity of Scottish journalism.

And still the intention is to deflect, obfuscate, to rewrite history, to pursue a political agenda. Gardham is the Political Editor of the Herald. Try saying a wee phrase: “Magnus Gardham is a journalist of integrity, honesty, of impartiality who reports on politics in Scotland without fear or favour”… try saying that without laughing!

The guy is a complete fucking joke- he’s as partisan as a football mascot picking a fight with opposition supporters- the difference is that instead of wearing a man-size bear costume he is wearing the ill-fitting guise of a professional journalist.

Rarey have I read a piece as disingenuous. Gardham’s played a key role in making the Scottish press a joke and he wants to blame the SNP. I am glad the SNP BAAD thing is starting to get under their skin. The criticism of propagandists like Gardham will never cause him a moment’s reflection of course, and it will never force them to write the odd piece critical of slab or god-forbid in support of the Scottish Government.

WE are tribal? WE resemble the fan base of a teen pop band? WE are arraogant? WE deflect questions or criticism? He could be describing the Scottish Press Corpse. For gods sake, he is describing himself. Project much, Magnus?

The author of that absurd piece on John Nicholson and his crime of renovating a house- perhaps the worst piece of journalism ever put out in the Herald… (at this point Tam bursts blood vessel, gives up writing post and decides to watch the Octonauts instead)

65. Skooshcase

Notices number of comments made… Makes this one with no other reason than to be the 500,000th one… Sad, but true!

66. Fireproofjim

Skooshcase
    Well spotted. Half a million posts.
    What an achievement.
    Well done Stuart.

67. Skooshcase

Get in there!

Claim to fame: made 500,000th post on Wings Over Scotland!!

“Where were you, Skooshcase, when WOS received its half-millionth post?”

“Well, eh… I was right here writing the fucking thing… Ha-ha! So there!”

No need for modesty at such a monumental time in internet history!

Autographs will be saught… Pictures wil be taken… Books written… Movies made… 🙂

68. galamcennalath

Skooshcase says:

“The Unionist print media is doomed in Scotland. …. Independence will make that a certainty. Too bad we have to deal with the media filth until then.”

There is a lot we are going to have to put up with until we get this constitutional limbo of Unionist making sorted out!

Those who suggest IndyRef2 should be well down the line, perhaps not in the next Hoyrood parliament but sometime beyond, are leaving their country in its current unsettled state.

IndyRef1 evolved from StatusQuo versus Indy, into DevoMax versus Indy by polling day. DevoMax was always on the cards to win, and it did. However we now all know the offer was just another BetterTogether lie among many.

It could be said the settled will of the Scottish people at that instance was given. We said we wanted DevoMax. It was thrown back in the faces of the gullible fools who believed the promises and swung the vote, only just.

So now we are all disappointed – status quo has gone forever, DevoMax will never be delivered, and Indy is yet to be won. Cameron et al, thank you, not!

The situation is now DevoFA versus Indy. IndyRef1’s result has been declared null and void by the Unionists. We need to move on and build support for Indy.

And, with Indy will hopefully come a media fit for purpose!

69. Paula Rose

Damn damn damn

70. Kenny

O/T I always think it would be interesting to finally nail the “pooling and sharing” myth and show how Scotland has NOT benefitted from the union at all. In fact, when you bring in the Thatcher years, you will see that it was far beyond asset-stripping and more like the attitude of the USSR towards the defeated eastern part of Germany.

This would be quite a large project and I am not sure who is best to do it — the Cuthberts? In a way, it is really what the SNP should be doing (I think the new members would like to see the proceeds from their membership fees go towards things like that: for example, the McCrone report should be in every library at least and, at best, posted to every home in Scotland!).

Anyway, back to the “pooling and sharing” myth. I think it is not enough to just fall back on the time Alex Salmond in Parliament wrung out the confession that Scotland is a net contributor to the UK and always has been. We need to show that the oil wealth has been taken and nothing put back in return — for decades and decades. Figures are a very good and graphic way of showing what we *really* get out of being in this union.

71. uno mas

@Tam Jardine
    The guy is a complete fucking joke- he’s as partisan as a football mascot picking a fight with opposition supporters- the difference is that instead of wearing a man-size bear costume he is wearing the ill-fitting guise of a professional journalist

Outstanding piece of writing Mr Jardine and VERY funny.

@Skooshcase
    Woosh.. ball in bag of the onion bag goaaaaaaaaal.

Well done mate!

Slightly OT celebration however -:)

Don´t get out much is it!

72. Dr Jim

They dub her The Selfie Queen

Scottish so called “Journalists” gave the First Minister a selfie stick for Christmas and considered themselves smart and clever in thinking they had gotten one over on the her, but perhaps if those self same “Journalists” of no note were to look again at the Selfie’s Nicola Sturgeon took of that self important group of Scotland’s Bile Scribblers they might see something a little different from what they thought they were seeing

They might also take note of the fact that though they might hate the sight and sound of our Beloved Leader, she would have been mightily pleased that such a bitter bunch of Twats could be summoned so easily to her presence by the crook of her little finger, and that smile that spreads across her face (where they are concerned) is not one of warmth but something quite different

Ooh Aah you’re so Goood Big Boy

I wonder at the amount of times those Stalwart Scottish so called “Journalists” have paid a lot of money to fall for that line

Our First Minister made them do it again with ease, groveling droolingly at her invitation except this time They Didn’t Get No Satisfaction

So for other Journalists who were not invited, be of good cheer, you’re the ones she probably likes

73. Grouse Beater

“Wings just published its 500,000th reader comment”

We have to find that person and STOP HIM!

74. ben madigan

off topic – You’re all probably settling down with a nice glass of Scotch for the evening but I hope some of you will care to sample irish “Whisky” – a very short, prize-winning film for Boxing night!! Have a great evening, everybody

https://eurofree3.wordpress.com/2015/12/26/boxing-night-whisky-an-irish-tale/

75. The Rough Bounds.

Psychopaths are reckoned to number between three and four percent of the general population.

It would be interesting to see what the percentage of psychopaths there are in the employment of the Sun and the Daily Record. It has to be high wouldn’t you agree?

76. Skooshcase

@Fireproofjim (post 499,000… :-))

Thought there would be a rush on! You know like those who write ‘First!’ when they believe/hope they’ll have the first comment on an article BTL… I kind of lost my mind there such was the excitement of the moment…!

Nah… it’s all shits ‘n’ giggles!

What needs to be said is a huge big WELL DONE! to Stu for setting up Wings Over Scotland and making it such a popular site for all of us who believe in Scotland’s rightful self-determination.

That WOS is now over the 500,000 comments-number is phenomenal. Remember that is just the comments made; there are far, far more viewers and lurkers of this site who never comment, but come to read the exceptional journalism.

Biased and partisan? Of course it bloody well is! That’s the whole point, it has never claimed itself as being anything but! It is a haven away from the putrid lies and misinformation of the discredited Unionist mainstream media that is nothing but a blight on Scotland, a hostile force of evil against Scotland as an independent country in its own right and those who claim it as their home.

It is not without some irony that WOS receives its 500,000th post BTL an article decrying the utter paucity of non-bias, impartiality and fairness in that which passes for journalism in Unionist mainstream-dominated Scotland today.

Here’s to the next half-a-million comments on WOS, which will, in turn, come to be. Hopefully, number one million will be made in an already-independent Scotland.

So, yes, great work, Stu! And, if I may say on behalf of all who comment here or merely come to peruse, thanks A MILLION for everything you have done, and continue to do, on behalf of us all towards that dream of an independent Scotland. May it come soon.

77. frogesque

Times tables by rote, pounds shillings and pence. Perches and chains, furlongs fathoms and dozens, a gross of verbs and a mile of adjectives.

Then I grew up and it was drawing boards, 2H pencils and a slide rule. Mechanics, Fluids and Thermodynamics with jellied brains on the floor while our heroes fought to save the pits and the big ships on the Tyne and the Clyde

We made the modern world, sent men to the moon, built Concord and the Forth Road Bridge. Programmed the first computers and listened to a huge dream in small folk clubs.

And we became 45, now grown to 50 and the dream did not and will not die.

So raise a glass, not just For Auld Lang Syne but for the future of our children and their children. Above all, for freedom!

78. Socrates MacSporran

So, it looks as if McKenna is getting first shot at filling the considerable gap left by the sad passing of Ian Bell.

He is, quite simply, not up to the task, and, if he is given a run in the gig, he will merely succeed in driving another nail or two into the Herald’s coffin.

79. uno mas

@ Dr Jim 5.22pm

Makes an excellent observation that Ms Sturgeon can now summon a full turn out of the media to a little end of term soiree when in the past they treated the SNP with thinly diguised disdain and contempt.

Indeed one of my favorite TV moments of GE election night in May was when in the wee small hours Nicola appeared at the count in Glasgow and the sight of Kirsty(butter wouldn´t melt in my mouth) Wark running after her with her wee microphone to try and get a sound bite.

Aye, how the mighty have fallen, eh Ms Wark?

80. heedtracker

If dudes like the above do actually fail to get the SNP out of Holyrood in May, they have to believe they are the crew to do it, so

SNP Scots.gov Scottish government in May, virtually all Scotland’s Westminster MP’s SNP, yet almost all Scotland’s government will be England/Tory. EVEL and UKOK historic The Vow fraud kicks in with Brexit looking more and more likely, as UK.gov, BBC led MSM monster Scottish democracy, as per usual, for the decades to come.

Some union. We go on listening to an ever more enraged toryboy BBC/media freak show in Scotland, bashing on and on about Michelle Thompson, cybernats, or the Forth Bridge, while Westminster governs Scotland based on the electoral mandate of Project Fear 2014.

81. Skooshcase

@Tam Jardine at 4:54 pm

Re Magnus Gardham:

“The guy is a complete fucking joke- he’s as partisan as a football mascot picking a fight with opposition supporters- the difference is that instead of wearing a man-size bear costume he is wearing the ill-fitting guise of a professional journalist.”

That’s bloody brilliant! As Farmer Hoggett said: “That’ll do pig! That’ll do.”

@uno mas at 5:20 pm

“Don´t get out much is it!”

By Christ, was it that obvious! 🙂

82. Ian Brotherhood

@Skooshcase (5.44) –

Well said there. Hear hear indeed.

83. Robert Peffers

@Valerie says: 26 December, 2015 at 2:37 pm:

” … It’s just this pathetic psychological warfare, and its so insulting, but it’s working well for us.”

I believe the only way the Unionist propaganda publications, like the Herald and Daily Record, can give themselves a little more time to remain on the news stands is to greatly increase the number of pages and also to reduce their prices to below that of the price of the lowest Pound Shop Toilet Tissue packs.

84. Iain

We shouldn’t really complain about all the lies, distortion of the truth and negative portrayal of Scotland as it is all working so well. Independence has never been so popular and it is inevitable, so maybe the British unionist media (bum) is secretly on our side.

85. Robert Peffers

@Valerie says: 26 December, 2015 at 4:29 pm:

“I don’t remember my primary school teacher referring to his Lochgelly.”

Oh! They all had their pet names for the tawse, Valerie. “The Lochgelly”, was the generic name.

Far as I can remember the only Manufacturer was, “John J Dick, Leather Goods, lochgelly”, and was the sole company.
    If there was any other manufacturer I’m not aware of them.

I have this reference in my notes : –

http://www.johndick-leathergoods.co.uk/the-true-history-of-the-lochgelly-tawse-memories.html

Along with a link that says you can still purchase a Lochgelly on line at : –

http://www.johndick-leathergoods.co.uk/the_lochgelly_tawse_online.htm

May be out of date, though.

86. yesindyref2

@Tam Jardine
    Yes, the Glasgow Herald was a justifiabley proud paper, and so was even the Herald though by renaming itself it kind of turned its back on its origins.

One of the reasons, perhaps the main reason, I still post there at times is in the vain hope one or two of the so-called journalists will read my posting and perhaps it will trigger some recognition in the dim dark receseses of what apparently passes for their brains, that there is some justice and accuracy in what I write. And they will reform.

ambtition: a strong desire to do or achieve something

I’ve always been of the opinion that we as a human species should have ambitions beyond our ability to achieve or bring about. I guess I just described one.

87. yesindyref2

@Skooshcase
    Congratulations!

88. Robert Peffers

@Bryan says: 26 December, 2015 at 4:47 pm:

“So what are you going to line the bottom of your bird cages with and puppy house training when these rags go under, ‘The Scotsman’”

Nah! I’m going to use The BBC’s Debt Collector Threatening Letters.

89. Simon

“STARVING REFUGEE BABIES RAPED BY AIDS DOGS”

Surely you mean “STARVING BABIES RAPED BY REFUGEE AIDS DOGS”

90. Skooshcase

@yesindyref2 at 7:18 pm

Aw, Shucks!

Naah… The half-millionth post might have been better a reflection of WOS had it been one of intellect, depth and passion relevant to either the topic of the article or about Scottish independence itself… but… it iznae!

Think of it like this. That tap-in into an unguarded net is still worth the same as a 30-yard volley into the top-corner. It doesn’t look so good, but it’s only the result that matters! 🙂

91. Robert Peffers

@Kenny says: 26 December, 2015 at 5:17 pm:

“O/T I always think it would be interesting to finally nail the “pooling and sharing” myth and show how Scotland has NOT benefitted from the union at all.”

Och! Kenny, some of us have been pushing such facts for many decades. Trouble is even dyed in the wool nationalist supporters do not seem to be believing it, in spite of much evidence being offered.

Right here on Wings we have had the Cuthberts, John Jappy and our own dear Rev Stu posting facts for us to propagate.

Here’s one from the Rev Stu that is still on wings under the, “Reference”, link at the top of every page : –

http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-historical-debt/

and here’s another there rubbishing the taught history of the Darien Expedition :-

http://wingsoverscotland.com/weekend-essay-skintland-britnat-mythology-and-the-darien-scheme/

As I keep attempting to get across, we really need to know the real historic facts and pass them onto anyone who will listen.

Here’s a few :-

The Normans, (it is short for Norsemen), were just another branch of the Anglo Saxon Germanic tribes the South Britons invited into south Britain after the Romans left.

There was no Union of the Crowns in 1603. That’s why the South Britons needed to force a Treaty of Union in 1706/7.

There was no Jacobite Rebellion, they were uprisings against English rule. Scotland was still an independent Kingdom in 1688 when The Kingdom of England held its Glorious Revolution and deposed THEIR monarch. Scots could not rebel against a Monarch not their own. The so called Jacobite Rebellion was still seeing English troops Killing non-combatant Scots at Culloden in 1745.

Do the sums – The forced Treaty of Union was signed in 1706/7 and the war was still being fought at Culloden in 1745. 1745 minus 1706=39. They were still, “pooling and sharing”, by killing Scots non-combatants at Culloden 39 years after we were supposedly two equally sovereign partners.

The Darien Expedition was an English engineered con trick. England and the Netherlands agreed to 50% fund the expedition but pulled out at the last moment and then, “The Shared”, Monarchy banned the Royal Navy and Queen’s Soldiers assisting the expeditioners.

There’s more, much more, it has been con tricks since the Romans left South Britain, (and they were also guilty of re-writing history).

92. jackie

brilliant, was just in from a nightshift so thought I would have a wee look on Wings, love the post but the comments are better, laughed out loud with some of them, congrats Stu and best wishes 🙂

93. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi yesindyref2.

This may be of interest to you…

http://dundee3js.freeforums.org/the-balaena-t9.html

94. yesindyref2

Hi BDTT
    Ah that’s the name “Balaena”. I’d seen references to the whalers when looking up the Scotia.

Scotland was actually granted rights over Antarctica in the 1998 Scotland Act apparently by mistake. I did see the Scottish Government were talking about giving them back, not sure if it happened or not.

Ironic the connections between Scotland, Falklands, South Georgia – and Argentina. I suspect not a lot of people know that.

95. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi yesindyref2.

The thing that gave the shiver a spine to clamber up was the finding out that my Great-Grandfather was 2nd Engineer on The Balaena.

A strange sense of connection with our history.

Spooky…

96. louis.b.argyll

Bbc Scotland news trailer/promo is decidedly negative, mentioning police control room closure in Inverness.

How many times per day is this played?

Why not a line about improved health stats?

They think we are soft in the heed. Mfs

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.