1. R-type Grunt

Just one of our possible futures.

2. Capella

m.youtube.com/watch?v=jra3By2DCic
    Bullingdon boys – born to trash every expression of common decency. Well captured Chris.

3. Michael McCabe

The End Is Nigh.

4. David Hind

The problem is a lot of scottish voters know that is the way it is,but they can’t get the guts to step forward and vote yes to free themselves.

5. todayinscotland

I’m Going With Plan B (Not That One)
    Are We The Bad Guys?
    I Am #YesDespite

todayinscotland | The Referendum Blues
    https://todayinscotland.wordpress.com/

6. geeo

Yet another to add to and further fuel the Chris Cairns
    legend.

It is my 48th birthday today, it will be my daughter’s 19th birthday on the 24th of September, i am sure there is something important happening in between these 2 events which will affect both our futures, her more than me.

My daughter will become a qualified primary school teacher in 3 years from now.

I look at the 2 scenarios for her future and one is of hope and being part of educating a new generation of Scots youngsters growing up to take this amazing country into the future and realising the dream we all want Scotland to have as an independent country with the humane values towards those less fortunate, and a sense of doing the right thing for Scots, yet still being a compassionate country and people towards others less fortunate elsewhere in the world.

The other Scenario does not even bear thinking about.

Yes for the future, a fairer and more equal future for the older amongst us but more importantly, a better future for those who come after us.

We who vote Yes can grow old/older and leave this world secure in the knowledge we made a difference to our country and left an amazing legacy for those who followed after us, and all we had to do, ultimately, was to put an X in a little box to secure that future for us all still here and all who follow.

YES X

Simple as that !

7. thedogphilosopher

At last a post that allows insomniacs to register a prompt response! Political satire has always been a good indicator of democratic mood, and this ‘cartoon’ captures a moment in time perfectly.

What’s more is the fact that the whole Yes movement is full of ideas, promise, honesty, confidence, optimism, energy and hope for the future. It appears to have become a gravity well for creative and gifted people from all walks of life. Perhaps this describes perfectly what Scotland is in the process of becoming in comparison to the Other side who are almost bereft of any of these qualities, trapped as they are in the past with only trembling and fear to comfort them.

Prosperity not Austerity. Vote YES!!!!!!!!!!

8. Johnny

Yeah, tonight I stood amongst way too many easy, complacent ‘why do we need to change. I don’t like borders’ fucks. The one thing I liked was that lots were complacent, the two people I cared about most informed me they were yes (and one told me that he wished his no-supporting friend had turned up for an inevitable debate with me…..because I was PRIMED…..and now feel I should rant at other audiences!) and I saw one Yes sticker on Jordanhill to none (though I am now taking blank windows to mean cowardice and in that one area to mean no probably….because of the balls I heard tonight).

9. Faltdubh

Happy Birthday Geeo! And all the best to your daughter’s studies.

I’m 30 years old.

We’re going to win this.

We have 1 million on the declaration. 4.1 million voters, what’s the most turnout, 80%? we need about 700,000 more and if 37% of Labour voters are currently planning on voting for a Yes.

Well, I dunno, but we are a kick in the arse away from doing it.

Believe folks.

Tonight, a pal who I’ve not spoken to in about 2 years – just through life really, no airs or graces, he’s been busy, etc, an e-mail, I’ll excuse the sending time of 01:45, but

“You were right. Always. I can’t believe I argued with you about it. I’m voting Yes, ya wee cunt”

The last bit is a joke (we’ve always shared).

This guy is a great guy, but a true Blue Unionist through and through, we’ll see if he sobers up or not, but he’s feeling it.

I think we’re going to do this. BT are scared, they really are!
    I have 2 pals on the dark side – one is a scardy cat ”We cannae do it” etc yet still wants us to have a Scottish fitba team, the other was texting me tonight saying he thinks Yes will ”sneak it”.

They are SHITING it folks!!

And to stay on topic, the cartoon is tremendous!

We need to print these all out, this is our future if we refuse to back our own people.

We aren’t even too small. We’ll be an average sized country if we vote Yes!

Let’s do this!!!!!

10. geeo

Geeo…..born 23/8.

W.Wallace..died 23/8.

Just saying like ! Lol

11. geeo

Hmm…talking of ‘shitting’ over Scotland..this is utterly disgusting.

http://m.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/scottish-independence-faeces-smeared-on-yes-shop-1-3518239

12. macart763m

Happy Birthday Geeo and all the best.

A million signatures and a month to add a few more. We can do it. 🙂

Nice one Chris. Now if we carry Boris over to the nearest silage pit, then let go…

13. steven Seagull

Henry goes to the Whitehouse-BBC news 5-04-2001.

The creepy wee bawbag said that he was “impressed” by George Bush.

In another dry boak Sunday Post inducing interview.

He went all couthy labour inferiority supplicant.

” Ahm jist a wee naebody, fae Bendoor, Clashmaclangers. A puir creamed masel, that the maist awesommennesses gadgie in el mondeo. Telt me a wis braw laddie ,dude like”.

That’s how I read the keech.

The original is oot there.

Aw they labour ("Quizmaster" - Ed) ("Tractor" - Ed) colonial wanks as FM.

Fkn stumours.

Shameless bastirts.

Sold aff six thousand square miles of our territorial waters….Alang wi ssslimy sssnake Reid.

-Je me souviens-

14. donald anderson

Death to the White Eyes.

15. Bugger (the Panda)

‘Morning all from a somnambulant ursine

No more evening coffee for me.

I see the sun is rising on a bonnie day for our movement.

Something is going to break, soon and be another game changer.

I can smell it in my bamboo waters.

16. Wp

stephen Seagull, very well put. If McLeish thinks we are all waiting with baited breath for him to come out for Yes he is mistaken. The giveaway of 6000 square miles of our waters won’t be forgotten. But his term in office was.

17. heedtracker

26 days future PM BoJo.

18. Ken500

Who cares about McLeish, another trougher.

Motherwell Vid. Brilliant

Who says women aren’t getting involved?

19. Grouse Beater

Remarks suggesting things will change after the 18th September fail to acknowledge attitudes have already changed.

The plebiscite debate has been a great educator. Too many of us know the truth and the facts to retreat into subservience.

The British political system will never be the same again no matter the outcome of the Referendum.

20. galamcennalath

Another great cartoon showing it like it is.

Perhaps the biggest problem in this whole campaign has been the underlying fact that lots of people, Scots and English, seem unaware of the extect to which Scotland has been carrying the rest of the UK financially for decades.

You still hear it, from the old person who gets their news, views and outlook from the MSM, “We couldn’y afford it” … right through to Michael Portillo saying in front of Tommy Sheridon that Scots are subsidised.

Thing is, both ends of the spectrum and many in between actually believe the ‘subsidy junkie’ smear.

Yea, “English Taxpayers are fed up”, they actually believe THEY are being ripped off.

There is no way we can pursuade those elsewhere of reality prior to negotiations, but we can pursuade fellow Scots who need educating!

21. Muscleguy

Nice one Chris, though to my eyes the ‘rider’ resembles Michael Fabricant more than BoJo. Though Fabricant would be a much more banal evil as PM.

22. macart763m

@BTP

You get that feeling too eh? Things do appear to be stacking up nicely for a final push. You can feel it in the street. Big day in the toon today as the local YES branch will be out and about. Last Saturday we had BTs loan table in the high street. This week I expect to see a sea of blue and white smiley faced YES campaigners going from one end t’other.

I’m working but I’ll be going out at lunch to join in the fun. 🙂

23. mato21

The burden Hamish is carrying is being exposed to the wider world

http://www.japantimes.co.jp/opinion/2014/04/04/commentary/scotland-a-nation-not-a-region/#.U_g6N890z4j

24. Thepnr

Great cartoon Chris. Reminds me of when I was an apprentice in the Caledon shipyard. I had a sore back and took a day off, the gaffer didn’t believe me obviously and asked “so why was your back sore?”

“Cos your never aff it” was my reply 🙂

O/T Bruce Wallace posted a link to a cracking video of the Jim Murphy roadshow last night. Hopefully he feels humiliated today and will give up his charade.

If you haven’t saw it yet, well worth watching. The Yes voice is getting stronger and we will not be cowed.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wPL1tbjD

25. heedtracker

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/aug/22/hsbc-chairman-warns-scottish-independence-capital-flight#start-of-comments

26 more days of proggresive liberal Graun. Captiol flights mean absolutely fcuk all. “We’re moving your banks to Lomdon so come on everyone, sell you house and move to London. You’ll love it.

26. Black Douglas

@Thepnr

That’s one brilliant video 😀

Did I see a guillotine being assembled in the background?

Only the scarlet pimpernel can save them now.! 😀 😀

27. macart763m

‘loan’?

LONE. Doh!

28. galamcennalath

@ Thepnr

Well, NoBetterTogether and “warmonger” “red tory” Murphy don’t seem very popular in the Labour heartland, do they!?Let’s hope it translated into votes.

29. heedtracker

Watched Edwina Currie titter about her teenage grand daughter that has vote in Scotland on BBC breakfast time grot. They were monstering the teenage Indy ref vote via a daily Heil cartoon but Edwina says it’s nice because it’s al very peaceful as “we don’t do violent uprisings here, we’re diffrent that way” as the Middle East descends further into a hell on earth created by Edwina and her fellow noble and true democrats in Westminster. They can always use Trident on ISS.

“My granny used to shag the prime minister of Great Britain”

30. steven Seagull

This ice bucket challenge bollox is extremely dangerous.

I lost a young friend in 1977 who was 16 years old. She jumped into a cold pool, and suffered a fatal cardiac arrest.

I live in inland Andalucia. Temps way above 30 degrees over the last 6 weeks. Very hard on us Scots.

Cold showers/bathing/pool are essential, but only after gradual immersion of extremities.

This is anither wan ae they dumbass stunts, that dopey clownshoe tories like Dickwad Darling’s puppets fink is Koool!

I respectfully recommend that Mr Salmond should abstain from this pathetic freak show with his usual dignity, and sound judgement.

-Je me souviens-

31. JimnArlene

A picture is worth a thousand words, this one says it all.

32. galamcennalath

OT McLeish is only interested in selling his book…

http://newsnetscotland.com/index.php/affairs-scotland/9631-rethinking-our-politics-the-political-and-constitutional-future-of-scotland-and-the-uk

“A victory for YES or NO in this referendum will inevitably reflect a lack of real consensus about the best way forward” …. he’s just a professional fence sitter.

33. Dorothy Devine

Where is the pigswill which is our media going to go, whatever the vote?
    There are few honourable exceptions to that description but for those who know that they are trying to manipulate the vote in favour of ” no” – where is their reward and who delivers it?
    I feel so enraged by the past few years of spin , spite and shite that I will find it hard not to take some action.

34. Socrates MacSporran

Perhaps it is the in-built pedantry which goes with being a retired newspaper sub-editor – fromback in the days when nespapers had competent sub-editors: but.

Chris’s very funny cartoon is anatomically incorrect – the lion’s tail would not be where Chris has drawn it, were BoJo to be indulging in a pastime which is (allegedly) widely-practiced, with sheep, in this wonderful upland East Ayrshire parish where I live under the handicap of being: “the only Gay in the village”.

I am only Gay in the respect that – I prefer women to sheep!!

35. galamcennalath

@Dorothy Devine

Cameron was dragging his heels about press regulation. Perhaps the payback is being seen during this campaign and then assisting the Tories in 2015.

36. Thepnr

@Dorothy Devine

spin, spite and shite

I like it, perfect description of the crap presented as fact.

37. Caroline Corfield

Socrates. I think the lion is giving a piggy back to Boris. Like what you do with small children who have become tired on long walks. Nothing more dubious than that. Boris is obviously up past nap time and nanny is nowhere around, so Hamis has been helping out, but now it’s time for Boris and his friends to properly grow up, stand on their own two feet and take responsibility for their own decisions without someone to carry then when it all goes wrong.

38. WantonWampum.

to thepnr – THANKS FOR THIS LINK

After over 40 years in the trenches it is wonderful to see passionate “YESSERS” in Motherwell.

Whoever said Scottish women don`t CARE.?
    View this.
    OUTSTANDING.

39. Nana Smith

Anyone know if it is true that the union spokesman in Govan shipyard has announced he is backing YES.

40. Mosstrooper

Things ARE moving. After a week sans computer the engineer appeared and commenced to work his magic.

During much button pressing he suddenly said ” I see you are a yesser,how do you think it will go” (I guess he saw the posters on the window and the two saltires flying in my front garden) Oh we’re going to win I reply. ” so do I ” he replies, “I had my doubts but now I’m a definite yes” After a wee pause and some more magic with my computer he says ” I wish “I could get some posters for my car and house windows”

Well he left me with a bundle of window posters,car stickers YES newspapers, leaflets etc. and a great big smile on his face.

We are doing this.

Now to finish my coffee and off out to deliver more newspapers then to the Wallace day march from Johnstone to Elderslie.

PS. I know of three definite YES houses how have no posters in their windows. It is the feart factor so be doubly delighted when you see any.

41. goldenayr

Brilliantly succinct as usual Chris.

One thing though,next time,could you use the national animal of Scotland,the unicorn.

Johnston,or whoever,would be definitely improved by its horn being rammed up their jacksie.

42. The Rough Bounds

”You’re intending to vote No? It’s amazing how you manage to stand up without a spine”

43. WantonWampum.

Chris Cairns does it again.

BoJo – banal,blind,blonde,biased,bloated,bigoted,balloon,banjaxed,binned.

44. Thepnr

@goldenayr

Hamish the lion is the Wings mascot. He will ROAR us to victory and a YES on 18th September.

45. les Wilson

Good cartoon, riding on Scotland’s back, spot on!

46. laukat

O/T – For anyone who is in the NHS and in Glasgow today there is a NHS for YES event on at 10.30am at the battlefied Rest next to the Victoria Informary. Nicola Sturgeon and Patrick Harvie are in attendance and it should get the TV cameras in attendance so the bigger the crowd the better!

47. galamcennalath

@The Rough Bounds

Spineless, indeed in many cases. Though common excuses are used. All No voters fit with 5 excuses.

– Self interest. Me first, in the best Thatcheresque tradition.

– Jingoism. I think being armed with WMD and going to war shows strength.

– Scotland is a region. I’m proud Scot but mainly British.

– Nostagia and sentiment for a Britain that never was.

– Ignorance. Get my info from the MSM. Too lazy to find out for myself.

As far as I’m concerned, that’s every No voter analysied and labelled.

48. HandandShrimp

Like the cartoon, it is very much in the style of political cartoons from the pre WW1 era. A classic.

49. heedtracker

Ryan Chrichton is one of the Press and Journals most aggressive vote NO journos up here, meant to add to his thing in that Independent mafia Aberdeen story. It’s probably front page P&J today. Crichton’s boss is worth at least £800 million.

Crichton interviewed council boss Barnney Crockett, who sent out the last ABZ council tax bill for Aberdeen with a letter from him persoannly telling everyone in Aberdeen to vote NO, before heading off on another round the world on the sucker tax payer “fact finding trip” Japan I think they went this time

50. goldenayr

Thepnr

Agreed,I just like the comic visualisation of the trougheaters getting rammed.

51. goldenayr

Hmmm…wonder how many trougheaters you can fit on a unicorns horn.

Jeez…far too early for such existentialism.

52. heedtracker

“A pound spent in Croydon is of far more value to the country than a pound spent in Strathclyde,” Johnson told the Huffington Post in an extraordinary interview this weekend. And in what was evidently an off-day for his internal censor, he went on: “You will generate jobs in Strathclyde far more effectively if you invest in parts of London.”

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2012/apr/30/boris-spending-london-economic-woes

Even phoney old Graun balks at Future PM BoJo. Come on Boris make some more dramatic interventions Gordon Brown style, the union nees you.

53. goldenayr

heedtracker

Are the mafia not called Labour in Scotland?

54. Chris Cairns

Dear Wingers (particularly any in Glasgow) – time for your weekly reminder of my Q&A at the Leiper Gallery next month … thanks for your support. http://goo.gl/hSs6mS
    That is all.
    Carry on.

55. Beeper

@Thepnr. Sorry, that Jim Murphy video doesn’t exactly fill me with pride about the Yes campaign.

Whilst I appreciate the sentiment and passion, I’m uncomfortable with the unorchestrated crowd rousing and antagonising on display.

Personally I would rather hear what he has to say so we can mock and challenge him.

56. heedtracker

How does investing in London create a job in Strathclyde? HS2 cost estimate £40 bn London to Birmigham, about 70 miles away and It takes an FoE reques to get them to admit that just for that section of their super fast rail line, Aberdeen and Dundee alone will pay nearly half a billion quid.

Every time I hear George Galloway from Dundee go, it’s all “nonsense on stilts” that FoE flags up and not just because Dundee’s about 70 miles from Aberdeen either. What would people say about a SNP Scots.gov announcing plans to spend at least £40 billion on a railway line from Dundee to Aberdeen.

57. Neil Moncrieff

O/T- Last night STV news showed a clip of GB doing his ‘oil’ speech. Now the oil is only worth £2.9billion per year, not the £3billion he said it was worth in the clip that WOS posted.

‘ Clunking fist’………….More like ‘clunking brain’

58. Wp

Looking forward to coming on here and one of you brilliant people have posted a poll showing Yes in front. Don’t think it will be too long now.

59. heedtracker

@ goldenayr, it’s certainly interesting how teamGB journalists are going all out monstering Scotland now. Aberdeen and mafia, aye right Chrichton. Yesterday’s P&J headline front page, “Jail house plan for hard-up NHS staff”

They closed the old prison in Aberdeen but the reality is, low pay NHS workers can’t afford insane rent costs, house prices are too high for average incomes and there’s been no social house building in Aberdeen for 4 decades. But it’s all done to begin hard up nurses, if you’re a far right propaganda machine like what ours is living in an old cell is the teamGB way. Rule Britannia.

60. pete the camera

@goldenayr says:
    23 August, 2014 at 9:19 am
    One thing though,next time,could you use the national animal of Scotland,the unicorn.

Johnston,or whoever,would be definitely improved by its horn being rammed up their jacksie.

Best left for the 19th with Cameron and Darling being chased out of Scotland by a Unicorn, of course after the 19th Unionists will be as rare as Unicorn’s

61. goldenayr

Wp

Canvassing returns put us in front,that’s from both campaigns.

Don’t expect polling companies to reflect that.They’re demographic are taken from telegraph,mail and record readers.

62. Scot Finlayson

@steven Seagull
    Having had a cardiac arrest and been asked by a friend to do the IBC I politely told him that it could kill me .
    Anyone with a heart condition should think twice before doing it unless you have a defibrillator handy.

http://beyondcoldwaterbootcamp.com/4-phases-of-cold-water-immersion

63. EdinScot

Had dreamed of it but never thought id see the day that one of Labours heartlands Motherwell would give them it tight. It seems Scotland is awakening from its unionist nightmare. To see a Scottish electorate politically engaged is a sight to behold. It must be akin to a horror show for Labour. Lamonts astonishing jibe about Scots not having it in their dna to make political decisions bears that out.

Murphy is drowning in public. He held the only microphone but said the no sides voices wouldnt be drowned out, priceless! The no camp dont want to offer a microphone to the public as they know they have failed them and so will lose the argument. Murphy and co are having a tantrum on why cant the Scots public just suck it up like they used to and continue to vote for them so that Murphys personal gravy train can continue.

With one million signatures to the yes declaration and Labour getting spit roasted in West central Scotland, it appears that there is indeed an awakening taking place in Scotland. The media and the no camp know this hence ITNs distorted piece of events in Motherwell. The dam is about to burst and not before time. Brilliant stuff Motherwell now lets all finish the job by voting yes on the 18th.

64. seanair

Re Murphy at Motherwell–was that Ford Kiernan doing the commentary? Sounded very like him.

65. goldenayr

heedtracker

They should never have got rid of the public service housing,nurses halls,police/teachers/janitors houses etc.

66. tartanfever

Great cartoon Chris.

I was just thinking about Ferguson’s shipyard this morning after reading a piece on Newsnet.

Another Labour (or ex-Labour) union rep from the Jimmy Reid days calling on the Scottish Government to buy out the yard and put it into public ownership.

How about putting some pressure on Inverclyde and Glasgow council’s to do just that ?

After all, just last Wednesday they signed the ‘city deal’ which is worth £1.13bn to the area which is to be used for (this is from the Inverclyde council website)

‘The City Deal is expected to give the City Region a permanent uplift in its GVA of £2.2billion per annum (4.4%); generate 15,000 construction jobs during the construction period and 28,000 permanent additional jobs once construction is complete; and will unlock £3.3billion of private sector investment.’

http://www.inverclyde.gov.uk/news/2014/aug/inverclyde-signs-163-1-13bn-city-deal/

Looks like saving Ferguson’s fits the bill exactly.

67. EdinScot

Apologies. Meant to add first class cartoon with caption as ever Chris! Will be emailing to all and sundry as per usual. This caption captures what a no vote will mean and this ‘has’ to get out and through to as many of our fellow citizens as possible.

68. fred blogger

vote no, to keep them in the luxury to which they feel entitled!
    vote no, for further savage cuts, in welfare.
    vote no, for more foodbanks.
    vote no, to end the scot NHS.
    vote no, for a dismantled privatised education system.
    vote no, to be dumped on the scrap heap.
    vote no, for powers stripped from holyrood.
    vote no, and holyrood could be shutdown @ WM’s command.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uk0fSphm6GM&app=desktop

69. Johnny

O/T What a clown Murphy is. He doesn’t want any debate, if you don’t accept the gospel as preached by Murphy, you’re a ‘nationalist mob’.

70. heedtracker

@ goldenayr, that’s what our rulers call Marxism. Maybe Victorian jail cells are great accommodation for NHS staff. It’s quite a region is Scotland and Aberdeen, oil capital of Europe.

71. john king

Seanair says
    “Re Murphy at Motherwell–was that Ford Kiernan doing the commentary? Sounded very like him.”

what?
    like this you mean?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lww-EA2YZ9M

I thought it was him as well. 🙂

72. goldenayr

Re Murphy

Kirsty Wark on Newsnight on Thurs had Murphy running out a pub to talk to her.

Is this how he’s getting through his 100 days?

Getting pished and having double vision so that there’s at least 2 people listening?

Would explain all the shouty rants he’s had.

Alcohol fuelled aggression.

73. Jim Thomson

Had a surprise chat with our postie this morning. He saw the Yes placard on our front door and volunteered that he “liked seeing them”.

He added that 90% of his colleagues were Yes and the ones who weren’t, were concerned about what would happen in Northern Ireland if we voted yes (me neither) – Rangers fans apparently.

@Thepnr Jim Murphy link – cheered me up no end. How dare he go to Motherwell and expect a welcome. Totally shameless.

74. Flower of Scotland

Loved the cartoon! It went straight onto Facebook!

Mine host at the pub last night introduced me to a young Yesser! The pub owner was laughing and joking about my windows and YES saltire. He’s a NO but usually very stern with it! It feels easier, so I’m thinking that NOs are getting used to all us Yessers at last. His conversion …………?I’m working on it!!

75. pete the camera

@goldenayr says:
    23 August, 2014 at 10:06 am

heedtracker

They should never have got rid of the public service housing,nurses halls,police/teachers/janitors houses etc.

Most of the sell off in Tayside were done under the Labour tenancy at no 10

76. goldenayr

pete the camera

The sell offs were linked to their council house sales.

“Sod the poor gits getting ripped off,swim in the mullah”

77. Juan P

Vote no and save Haltwhistle from losing it’s status as the town at the centre of Britain.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-28841108

That’s me convinced.

78. heedtracker

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/aug/22/scottish-independence-yes-campaign-pop-up-shops#start-of-comments

Terrific Blair MacDougal con here too. Also how the core of Bettertoghether campaign, all of the UK media pretends it’s not involved, merely reporting the facts and NOT going hell for leather to destroy Scottish democracy completely, the cowards.

Sayeth lonely campaign leader MacDougal

“But if the yes campaign is defined by its enthusiastic volunteers, the no campaign is far more calculating. Treating Scotland as a single seat means Better Together is focusing on far more forensic methods, said McDougall, a veteran Labour strategist who ran David Miliband’s party leadership bid in 2010.

His job is to protect the no vote’s majority, by focusing all their efforts on swing, undecided voters, not the already converted nor the hostile. “You cannot do without the enthusiasm and energy of our activists but as a campaigner, you owe it to your activists, you owe it your campaigners, to make sure you’re using them in the way which is most effective for the cause they believe in.”

Bliar’s elect Dave not Ed campaing bombed too but he didn’t have the BBC/STV jumping to his evey wish and command, probably still have lost to Ed though.

79. Thepnr

@Flower of Scotland

Haha. You spend more time in the pub than me! Such a nice lady too 🙂

80. Albalha

Hello folks,

A wee plug for the Referendum TV fundraiser, yesterday Pat Kane got George Foulkes to admit independence was ‘tempting’, the last tomorrow on Sunday has Derek Bateman, Angus Roxburgh, Chris Law who is ploughing around Scotland in the Blue Goddess, cartoonist Greg Moodie, and the folks behind the soon to be opened Referendum Cafe.

It’s staffed by, in the main young volunteers, who’re otherwise doing their bit to get a Yes. All contributions, resends etc welcome.

Organised by myself and Ivan McKee, and, fair to say, we’ve both been doing what we can to deliver a Yes.

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/referendum-tv-venue-41-edinburgh-fringe/x/2349839#home

81. Thepnr

@heedtracker

Blair McDougall fought for and supported Dave Miliband. Ed Miliband won.

Blair McDougall is a loser, professionally and personally.

82. john king

JuanP says
    “That’s me convinced.”

What that clown doesn’t realize is that when we get independence we wont stop being part of Britain, we wern’t in the UK when the Romans came but the island was still known as britain, the guys an idiot.

83. john king

who’s gaun tae Leith?

84. kendomacaroonbar

@ John King

Where are the starting the measurement from ?

85. kendomacaroonbar

they

86. john king

Lands end to john o Groats

87. john king

“Start with the longest north-south line with a centre on land through the British Isles, and its halfway point is Haltwhistle. From that point, every geographic opposite compass point has an equidistance from Haltwhistle – north-south, east-west, north north-east, south south-west.

88. Thepnr

@john king

Are you going to Leith John?

89. john king

Just getting ready now

90. pete the camera

@goldenayr says:
    23 August, 2014 at 10:28 am

pete the camera

“The sell offs were linked to their council house sales.”

Not them all, the staff houses owned by NHS Tayside were sold off on the cheap

91. heedtracker

@Thepnr, Bliar ran the Vote Dave not Ed campaign. Dave lost as he’s too Blairite apparently, which means not much now really other than it’s a Blairite Bliar Macdougall trying anything end everything to shut down Holyrood, irony much.

He probably thought he couldn’t lose even with just the BBC in Pacific Quay behind him. What will he do next? Lords maybe, they take any and all raging hypocrite from red Tory party now, that buffoon John Prescott was about the worst teamGB hypocrite around.

92. Thepnr

Arrghhh tempted. Got some stuff to do first. Depends on that 50/50 at the minute though heart tells me YES. I’ll try.

93. I G

HELP – not having paid a huge amount of attention to previous postings re logistics and distribution of WBB…

I’m looking for about 300-500 hard copies of the Wee Blue Book. Can anyone point me in the right direction for placing an order? If that’s not possible, I can share a print run with someone or take their excess. Happy to pay.

Intention is to distribute to family, friends and door-to-door in Dunkeld and Birnam.

94. galamcennalath

Juan P says:
    “save Haltwhistle from losing it’s status as the town at the centre of Britain.”

Which all goes to show they just don’t get it, do they?

Britain is an island off the coast of Europe. It ain’t going anywhere soon, well not in the next few million years. So the location of Haltwhistle is going to remain the centre of said island even long after the human race has disappeared, or evolved into something else.

But wait, in the detail they change their minds, it’s the centre of the UK now, which of course is something completely different.

95. john king

Im looking for wbb’s dont know how many I need probably a couple of dozen, anyone going to Leith with them?

96. Michael McCabe

I am going to Leith. Hopefully see some of you there.

97. john king

Just watch for the wings advert on my T shirt, not hard to spot. 🙂

98. donald anderson

Wikipedia says another town 70 miles south in Lancashire also claims to be the centre of the world.

Her is the discussion hoe Indy will affect Haltwhistle. They don’t seem to bothered.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-28841108

99. Robert Peffers

Very well done, Chris.
    It highlights a very salient point. The answer to that question has never been in any real doubt and to date they have put up with, “ THIS, for 307 years. Methinks they may have an ulterior motive for having done so and an even bigger motive for fighting so very hard to continue doing so in the face of a Scottish onslaught to stop them having to continue, “Supporting”, Scots with their tax contributions. Isn’t that what they call an oxymoron?

100. john king

I dont know about an oxymoron Bob , but you would need to be a strong as and OX to carry that MORON. 🙂

101. Fireproofjim

OT
    Re the so called “ice water challenge”.
    I have emailed the executive office of the Scottish Government pleading that AS should not do this.
    He is FM of Scotland, for goodness sake, and does not need to do this silly and perhaps dangerous stunt just to end up looking as foolish as Alastair Darling.
    I can’t see it gaining a single extra Yes vote, and he has much better things to do with his time.
    Please contact the exec office if you feel likewise.

102. Croompenstein

@Fireproofjim – Agreed, they have tried and tried to belittle to office of First Minister of Scotland and I would be very disappointed if Alex is railroaded into this. OK for a backbench passenger to do it as he has no power and is unlikely to be in any position of power soon I only wish it had been stale pish they threw over the Flipper.

103. Karmanaut

@Juan P

I saw that link the other day. I was wondering how, in the even of a yes vote, the Scottish Government were planning to detach Scotland from the rUK and relocate it geographically, thus removing our country from the island of Great Britain and thereby depriving Haltwhistle of its status as the town at the centre of that island. Very odd.

104. Yesitis

Another cracker, Chris.
    We`ve already come too far to go back. The only land is ahead of us now.

105. bald eagle

WHITE MANS BURDEN

WEARING A YELLOW SUIT AND LOOKING LIKE A BANANA

106. P.R.D.

I do not get the “White Man’s burden” title!!!

Are white men a burden to Scotland?

107. Graeme Doig

P.R.D

Stu referring to the fact that Scotland has been been abused and cheated out of it’s inheritance by the WM establishment and made to feel like they were doing us a favour by ‘looking after us’ .
    And all the time it is Scotland who has been carrying them. Just like many a past colonial struggle with the establishment. Countries being used and abused to line the pockets of the rich and powerful.
    No more !

108. Graeme Doig

Or, indeed, Chris. Not sure who thinks up the leader.

109. les Wilson

I just watched Murphy’s Motherwell debacle, a couple of things. I was very much surprised at the lead taken by the women, strength to them.

While being a “little” uncomfortable about what was going on, the truth is, if you go against your own people in order to feed your own purposes ie cushie well paid job etc etc.
    You will undoubtedly fall prey to this kind of reaction, especially with those struggling, just what could he expect? the game is up.

Murphy had a choice, he has thrown himself in with a corrupt Westminster who are beset on crushing a democratic process in Scotland.
    This shows just how low labour in general Scotland has sunk at this time. People are adjusting to this. They better all get used to it.

Because their worst nightmare is coming true.

110. Juteman

Re the title. Isn’t that Kipling?
    How it was a burden to civilise all the natives in their colonies? Something like that anyway.

111. les Wilson

The bucket challenge an absolute NO NO, Salmond would be made to look stupid no matter how dignified he was.
    It is just a BT trap to ridicule him, every photo, every bit of trimmed video, would be designed to go against him. The MSM would have a hay day.

He will see and know that, and, I am sure will not happen, and quite rightly so. They are clutching at straws.

112. les Wilson

oops where did hay come from, Field Day!

113. P.R.D.

The bucket challenge an absolute NO NO – A trap of self humiliation. Salmond should counter challenge on the condition that NOOK go and boil their heads.

114. Robert Peffers

@Ken500 says: 23 August, 2014 at 7:13 am:

<i“Who says women aren’t getting involved?”

I’ve been around the independence movement a long time. It is my contention that women, and particularly Scottish Women, have always figured prominently in politics. They just mainly don’t shout so loudly about it. Think Mary Queen of Scots, Winnie Ewing, Margo McDonald, Nicola Sturgeon, Annabel, Baroness, Goldie, Ruth Davidson and even Mags Curran and whats her name again – Err! Err! Oh! Aye yon – Johann Lamont. All prominent in Scottish politics but all exceptions to the rule of doing so quietly. I never attended a meeting yet when women were not there in numbers but who usually were quietly going about the business of doing the actual hard work of running the meetings the mainly male members did the talking and shouting at such meetings.

So my advice is to listen very carefully to the quieter voices in the debate – they often have the better things to say and often keep quiet about them until they are certain of what both sides of the debate really stand for.

115. Footsoldier

Off topic but I think we should hijack No Thanks by promoting “No thanks, vote Yes”.

Anyone know of an update on the printing of the WBB to which we donated?

116. Fireproofjim

Juteman
    Yes it was Kipling, urging the US to take up the colonisation of the Phillipine Islands after the Spanish -American war. About 1898 I believe.

117. WantonWampum.

Do SLAB scabs like Lantern Jaw Jim Murphy,Krash,Flipper,Curran,JaBa,Lamontable and Ian Davidson really think they have a future AFTER Sept 18th.?

Do they really think we will ever forget their serial treachery versus the people and children of Scotland.?

Do they ever THINK – period.

In 2007 Krash Gordon CHOSE the 300th Anniversary of the Act of Union of 1707 to shift Passport Processing from Glasgow – to Belfast.

Freedom`s just another word for nothing left to lose.

118. Nana Smith

@Footsoldier

WBB fundraiser stands at present £57,344

119. Robert Peffers

@P.R.D. says: 23 August, 2014 at 12:22 pm:

“I do not get the “White Man’s burden” title!!! Are white men a burden to Scotland?”

Just in case you were not being ironic – check this out : –

P.R.D. says:
    23 August, 2014 at 12:22 pmI do not get the “White Man’s burden” title!!!

http://www.thefreedictionary.com/white+man's+burden

120. BuckieBraes

@Footsoldier
    Astonishing but true – a unionist-inclined relative of mine is evidently confused by the ‘No’ and ‘Yes’ options, and thinks a Yes vote is a vote for the union.

I’m not going to say anything!

121. donald anderson

BuckieBraes

I have nominated the Queen for the water challenge.

122. Thepnr

@ken500 & Robert Peffers

Yes

Women are getting involved and with young women like these two representing Scotlands future, I think the future will be in the right hands.

If you can spare 10 minutes of your life then you should use it watching what the youth many of our country think and believe in.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dr3Ula7hOiU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ETWcfeTYHFA

123. handclapping

Another great toon Chris. I’m sorry I’ll not make your gallery in Glasgow but I hope all the West Coast Wingers do.

What with the bedroom tax, threats to the NHS and foodbanks should Hamish not be looking a bit grimmer?

124. Patrician

Chris, another great cartoon this week.

125. P.R.D.

@Robert Peffers,

But the Scots were not outside the phenomenon of “White Man’s burden”, the caption only works on the level of a cultural cringe, that cringe and rejection of the historical part of the Scots identity would lead an independent Scotland into cultural crisis and then alienation thus forcing Scots to seek cultural substitution in the dominant global corporate culture – the very culture that Boris Johnson espouses.

126. Rory

This is brilliant,

127. Rock

Darling and co will get a massive cold shower on 19th September. He was just practising.

First Minister, continue to behave like a statesman and don’t get involved in gimmics.

128. donald anderson

The FM will get slated and AD made a hero. If he refuses he has to do it. Tony Blair did a comedy sketch for charity and it was quite good. He is a born actor,

Alex should do it and for his nominations name; HM Queen and Yohann Lmn0nt and get Jackie Baillie to do a dip in Loch Long and mate with the trident.

129. Croompenstein

Jackie Baillie to do a dip in Loch Long and mate with the trident

FFS donald we would end up with this..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h_T2aZ2rJb8

130. steven Seagull

@ Scott Finlayson
    Les Wilson
    Croomp
    Fireproof jim.

Aye buds.

A squalid attempt tae humiliate the FM.

A fkd up video nae doubt.

A donation is sufficient.

We will not have our institutions debased.

Sort of a wanky woo type of bbc shite, that has knobends like steven fry/emma thompson/boris jonnybag, presenting.

Utter fkn caca.

I’m annoyed by Mcavoy though, who stated that he would stay oot of the referendum.

I think he has gone conti/tennant/big yams dopey bra burd moaner/diddy bike bloke ("Tractor" - Ed) fae embra.

“The Butchers apron” -“El delantero de la carniceria”

-Je me souviens-

131. ScotsCanuck

Chris, brilliant (as usual) … Hamish, attack … use yer claws boy !!!

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.