The talent pool

Posted on December 03, 2013 by

Well done to everyone who correctly guessed that our Mystery Guest last night was indeed Ruth Davidson. If you’d like to listen to Ruth’s 2009 demo reel for voiceover work which accompanied the letter, click the image below.

soundwave2

From that to the leader of a major Scottish political party in just two years. Hats off.

64 to “The talent pool”

1. Arabs for Independence

From a voice-over to the leader of the Scottish Tories in 2 years – how the mighty have fallen

2. annie

I can’t be the only one who finds her voice extremely annoying – she should have been pulled up by trades description act.

3. X_Sticks

My deity! She really has missed a trick hasn’t she? I couldn’t get past the body lotion. My imagination just went into overdrive.

Shame she’s got to waste her time with all those dry, unimaginative tory anti-independence press releases (although it seems to me that Paul Sinclair might be writing her PMQs rants as well as JoLa’s).

Some people are so desperate they’ll take any job.

4. Murray McCallum

“… to the leader of a major Scottish political party”

You are surely being too kind there Rev Stu.

I may be in a group of one, but I actually like RD’s voice. Pity she talks such …

5. handclapping

At least on the demo I could tell what she was on about, now its just drivel.

6. Les Wilson

Well I guess it really should be her true calling, rather than her current job. However, I am rather disappointed it was not Blair McDougall, as I soooo wanted to take the piss out of him !

7. caz-m

Yes, she seems to have climbed that Tory ladder rather quickly, doesn’t she.

You don’t think she had special “grooming” from Annaballs Goldie, do you?.

8. MajorBloodnok

Carry on caz-m, lawyers on standby. 🙂

9. Jingly Jangly

I didn’t realise she had so much talent!!!
    caz-m stop it you have ruined my day….

10. steviecosmic

It does shine a rather different light on the Leader of the Conservative Party in Scotland. I would expect a cease and desist order in the post presently.

One thing’s for sure, she has a great face for radio. Her dull lackluster tones, simply  bursting with Scottish cringe, are mind-numbingly  boring when not accompanied by that inimitable look of over-confident constipation that we’ve all come to know and love. It’s like a Garibaldi without the weird black bits.

11. seoc

The Tory ladder would not be an overpopulated area – lonely, even.
    However, the idea appeals to me. Moonlighting Ministers?
    Would you be interested in a timeshare after hearing A. Darling’s reasons to have one? What would A. Bliar sell? Camouflage outfits?

12. caz-m

“Yes” votes romping the money expert poll.

Keep it going.

http://www.moneysavingexpert.com/poll/02-12-2013/should-scotland-be-an-independant-country

13. MajorBloodnok

Sadly for Scottish Tories the talent pool is rather, well, shallow.

14. edulis

I certaily am in a minority of one. I find her quite attractive as a personality, despite the crap that she comes away with. There is a hint however that it is all a game at FMQs. When Alec comes back with one of his masterly put downs, she more often than not smiles (unlike her back benchers who groan at yet another disastrous performance.

15. M4rkyboy

She’s quite good.Clear,articulate,consistent…

16. montfleury

Give her a break – at least she was applying for a real job.

17. Iain

O/t I wonder if Bettertogether will be trumpeting the latest PISA education stats? Let me make a wild guess that if they do, it’ll be ‘See! Devolution works!’

‘Scotland leads the way in the UK in maths and reading, while England is ahead in science…
    The figures, published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), show 15 year olds in Wales scored 468 points on average, compared with 498 in Scotland, 495 in England and 487 in Northern Ireland.’

http://tinyurl.com/qfvh3l3

18. Morag

I’m with Murray.  I like it.  Nice, clear articluation, warm friendly voice, the enthusiasm maybe just a tad overdone but not too much, and most important, no veneer of Englishness to the voice.

She should have stuck to what she was good at.

19. Stuart Black

O/T, but there is a petition calling for parliament to debate UK hunger and the rise of food banks some of you may want to sign.

http://tinyurl.com/oww8luy

20. Les Wilson

Just a thought, do we know anyone in charge of the Holyrood sound system in Holyrood during FMQ’s, or has access to it? Rurthie’s dulcet tones from this would make a nice intervention don’t you think!!!
    Just joking of course I do not think anyone wouldd take that seriously, would they ?
    Please don’t, everyone would die laughing ! that would not be right now would it !

21. msean

So,it’s official,we are not too stupid.Quite the opposite it seems.mmmm

22. John White

She really should give up the day job.

23. Doug

“I certainly am in a minority of one. I find her quite attractive as a personality, despite the crap that she comes away with”

I would have to back this up. I knew her (albeit 10 years ago, working with the TA) and she was a nice lady, good fun, very personable.  As to caz-m’s comments re: Auntie Bella, I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT YOU MEAN. Her parliamentary research assistant at the time was another fellow officer cadet and a nice guy, did speak of his boss on occasion.

24. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“You are surely being too kind there Rev Stu.”

Well, Tories still easily outnumber Lib Dems, Greens and independents put together at Holyrood.

25. Wayne

I think we have found the perfect job for Ruthie once we vote YES next year, she can get a job doing the voice over for the Scottish dubbed version of Dr Who, because as all these English people will now be foreigners, we might need some help with the lingo…:p

26. caz-m

Some of you really have terrible minds.

In “grooming” by Ms Goldie, I was meaning she taught her to be articulate, demure, polite and ladylike.

I can’t imagine what some of you thought I was meaning.

OH how awful!!.

27. cearc

Same job really, voiceover for Cameron.

28. MajorBloodnok

Regarding the opposition talent pool, it struck me that it was somewhat like the Mediterranean – shallow and full of sh!t.  Oh my!

29. Erchie

I think my assessment of her voice is coloured by hearing it labour on the same script that Ms Lamont just murdered week after week at FMQs.

Shorn of that, it’s, alright I suppose

(Could we pay Ms Davidson to record the voiceover

“Time to play ‘Who’s saying NO!’ the game where Cybernats guess which BritNat is speaking!”

30. Torquil Houghmagandie F-fflufington--Smythe

O.T.
    Greetings fellow Teuchters.
    It has been brought to my attention, and we scions of the upper echelons of the master race require such reminders, unlike the pond life below us who manage to think for themselves, as I was saying it has been brought to my attention [memo to self] careful Torquil repeats like that and folk might think that you are using the same script writer as Johhan Lammont that the sainted Tony has been rumbled by the mighty mogul of bum fodder fame as to have taken his role as godfather to unacceptable limits, mark you, the  old chap may have been killing two birds with the one barrel, as we sportsmen say  what ho. however if umbrage has been taken Tefelon Tony may be getting full  value for the twenty four hour protection that we his grateful fellow citizens are paying for,     

31. MajorBloodnok

@call me dae

We’d probably still have them, they just wouldn’t be able to claim them as ‘British’ inventions… actually, I thought it was the Chinese that invented everything.

32. Tattie-Bogle

Could be worse JoLa could have stuttered her way through that 🙂

33. call me dave

MajorBloodnok
    True, true.

This is scary.(England means UK)

http://www.usdebtclock.org/world-debt-clock.html

34. call me dave

I see the poll has a wee disclaimer.  Nothing about the ‘better togther’ surge at midnight but implying the YES have been at it!

You can only vote once from same ip address.

Aaaagh!

35. Seasick Dave

Major

The Mediterranean Sea has an average depth of 1,500 m (4,900 ft) and the deepest recorded point is 5,267 m (17,280 ft) in the Calypso Deep in the Ionian Sea.

36. call me dave

I see the comment section of the poll has a few brave YESers fighting the usual tripe.
    http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.php?p=63912252#post63912252

37. Dave McEwan Hill

Sadly she sounds exactly the same at FMQ.

38. desimond

Rumbled…

I live in Scotland (4800 votes)

Yes to Scottish Independence

3092 votes (64%)

No to Scottish Independence

1687 votes (35%)

I’d abstain

21 votes (0%)

Note: The ‘I live in Scotland’ vote started rising rapidly late Monday evening. Most of the additional votes were ‘yes’ (beforehand, ‘No’ had been winning). Our suspicion is there’s been an email/social media campaign to get ‘yes’ votes – so please take this result with a pinch of salt.

39. Seasick Dave

They’ll be needing buckets of salt in September 2014.

40. John H.

@Stuart Black. Petition signed.

41. Edward

So was THIS (the demo tape) her qualification to be a political leader?

42. Jamie Arriere

I’ll confess that I, too, don’t mind the sound of her voice – and hope there is a long career in radio waiting for her. She has done a lot better than the other BBC reporter who left at a similar time – David Kerr – who stood for the SNP and sank without trace.

43. Yesitis

I also think she has a nice sounding voice. I think Ruth missed her real vocation there and only had to go and spoil it all with those darn meddling Tories.

Och well.

44. MajorBloodnok

Seasick Dave said: The Mediterranean Sea has an average depth of 1,500 m (4,900 ft) and the deepest recorded point is 5,267 m (17,280 ft) in the Calypso Deep in the Ionian Sea.

Sorry, I meant to say Irvine Bay, but my finger slipped. 😀

45. Cauld Tattie

Re: moneysavingexpert poll 
    It now has a wee proviso that because so many in Scotland voted yes the result “should be taken with a pinch of salt”  !!!

46. Morag

It thinks there was a social media campaign to get Yes votes.  It’s right.  What it fails to appreciate is that there was also a social media campaign to get No votes.  That’s the interesting part.

47. TheGreatBaldo

Sadly for Scottish Tories the talent pool is rather, well, shallow.

More of a talent puddle surely ? 😉

48. Seanair

Re education comparisons, BBC England tv at 1.00 pm news did everything possible to avoid saying that Scotland had higher marks than England in Maths and reading. Poor Wales got hammered to distract viewers from the above.

49. Stuart Black

@John H, ‘petition signed’.

Good man…

50. Lanarkist

Slightly O/T, seems employees at Dundee Council have been issued an e-mail edict stating it is against the law to talk about or discuss the Independence Referendum. Wonder what law that relates to? It could relate to conditions of contract or bringing the Council into disrepute but it would be interesting to hear from actual employees about the wording used and the general reaction to the edict!

Some teachers at Madras School in St. Andrews are telling pupils that Independence is stupid and that we are all Better Together in the Union during Social Ed classes. (Could be another class), but in class votes the majority vote no, no option to consider other information or point of view given. This is rather worrying given that next year 16& 17 year olds get to vote without the opportunity to get information balance on the subject.

51. K1

@morag (1.13pm)

Exactly my sentiments!

52. Ken500

Without PR it would be,’Just the two of Us’. The shrill voice havering in Holyrood is a turn off.

Switch over or turn off.

53. Morag

After hearing her dulcet tones announce that over 80% of people in Scotland don’t contribute to the economy, she could sound like the sirens themselves and I’d still loathe her.

54. Dan Watt

I never realised Biggars had a music school as well?

55. Dramfineday

1) Petition signed SB
    2) Ruth has fairly nice tones and no doubt is humorous in her own way but the picture I get in my head is Action Krankie – and she can be very krankie at times too!

56. naebd

She’s certainly got Scottish Radio Voice nailed. lulz.

57. Hetty

She sounded a bit try hard to me, not very natural sounding, very annoying. 

58. Craiging_619

When she introduced Clannad it all went a bit ‘Accidental Partridge’.

59. john king

Finding it hard to understand why a party (UKip) which has NO representation in Scotland getting 15 minutes of airtime from Scotland tonight and giving that slimeball (Lord) ha ha Monckton the courtesy he received from John Mckay was quite sickening.

60. john king

copy of a complaint sent to STV

“Can anyone please explain to me why a party which has absolutely no representation in Scotland gets 15 minutes airtime on Scotland tonight? and the deference given to that man Lord? Monkton by John Mackay  was truly sickening I sincerely hope this company will lose its fixation with London centric views and focus on the real story before its too late for you and this country (who coincidentally pay your wages, no veiwers no advertising revenue)
    DO YOUR JOB”

61. Craig

I hate her tone at FM Questions.

62. Ken500

‘Talent Pool’

The dirt aye sinks to the bottom.

Unionists in Disarray. The infighting has started. ToryUnionists kicking out. Every Tory/Unionists will be out.

63. Ken500

15 mins of UKIP that will have been a turn off.

In the Aberdeen bye-election every vote cost UKIP £1700. Fools and their money. There was a demonstration against their leader by his fellow country men.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.